You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Fianna Fáil TD Dara Calleary who resigned as Agriculture Minister earlier today. Photocall Ireland

'A thundering and lightning disgrace': The nation's anger after Oireachtas Golf Society event

RTÉ’s Liveline received calls from members of the public expressing anger and disappointment over the event.

THE ANGER OF people in Ireland today is best told through the words of callers to RTÉ radio’s Liveline this afternoon. 

It’s been an eventful day in the Irish political sphere, beginning with a ministerial resignation from Dara Calleary this morning. A slew of apologies and party whip removals have followed as the day progressed. 

Last night, the Irish Examiner first reported that 81 people attended an Oireachtas Golf Society event in Clifden, Co Galway on Wednesday. Stricter public health measures had been imposed by government the day before. 

Several politicians and senior members of society attended the event, including Calleary, EU Trade Commissioner Phil Hogan and several senators and Supreme Court judge Seamus Woulfe

The Examiner alleged that up to 10 people were seated at each table. 

The event appears to have breached public health guidelines, which state that no events, parties or gatherings involving more than six people should be held indoors. Gardaí are investigating the incident. 

The story has even generated coverage abroad in the New York Timesthe Guardian and the BBC among other publications.  

James Charity, an independent councillor, earlier said it was arrogant for people to attend the event the day after new restrictions were introduced, adding it “smacks of ‘one rule for them and another for us’”.

“I am appalled to see the good name of our county once again dragged into the spotlight for all the wrong reasons by the antics of a Fianna Fáil government and one of its ministers,” Charity said.

This sentiment was echoed by callers to RTÉ’s Liveline this afternoon.

Veronica from Galway was the first Liveline caller. Her brother-in-law passed away in recent months and she was unable to physically attend his funeral.

“I sat outside the church… and I sat in the car and waited there. I couldn’t go into the church and be with my sister and family,” she said.  

“I am livid at this and I cannot put it into words how angry I am. These are the people that are supposed to be representing us on the ground.

“My biggest issue is with the people who went in there and had no thought for the welfare of the people in the country,” Vernonica added. 

57-year-old Thomas was also personally affected by Covid-19 restrictions. His mother died in March and his family was unable to hold regular funeral proceedings.

“She literally died on her own in a nursing home, no one around her, no family. I’m still suffering every day thinking of this and it just enrages me. These people need to sit up and listen to the people of Ireland.

“I am just in total shock here… I’m disgusted,” he said upon learning of last Wednesday’s event.

There [were] 12 people at my mother’s funeral, and it wasn’t even a funeral. We all just stood in the graveyard, waited until the coffin was in the ground and looked on. 

“I couldn’t even hug my sister, my brother.

“Every one of them that was there should go… I listen to my bosses in work, why can’t they listen to their boss?”

“All the apologies in the world won’t help it.” 

Another caller, Paddy, described the incident as a “thundering disgrace”. 

A later caller named Bernie cited his comment and added: “I am saying it’s a thundering and lightning disgrace for the behaviour of our public representatives.”  

She said she was “angry” and “frustrated” with the recent revelations. 

Political response

Today, politicians who were not in attendance took to Twitter and the airwaves to express their disappointment and anger. 

In a statement on Twitter, Tánaiste Leo Varadkar said the event should not have been held.

“Funerals, christenings, weddings, family holidays and other really important family occasions have been foregone to protect each other and the most vulnerable,” he said.

“As representatives we should lead by example.”

As party leader he removed the Fine Gael whip from Senators Jerry Buttimer, Paddy Burke and John Cummins after they attended the event. All three senators apologised. 

Minister for Higher Education Simon Harris also condemned politicians’ attendance at the event.

The former Health Minister wrote on Twitter: “We have all worked so hard for so long. People have sacrificed so much. I am struggling to put words on how shocking & upsetting I find what has happened.”

The Taoiseach Micheál Martin earlier today removed the Fianna Fáil party whip from Senators Paul Daly, Aidan Davitt and Niall Blaney after they attended the function 

Fine Gael Senator and leader of the Seanad Regina Doherty called the event a “stunning lapse of judgement” and called on Phil Hogan to apologise to the public for attending.

“The very least that needs to be done is a recognition that it was wrong and it shouldn’t have happened,” she told RTÉ radio. “What I would love to see is an apology.”

Speaking on RTÉ’s Today with Sarah McInerney, Dr Gabriel Scally said he was “shocked” politicians and other senior figures in society attended the event.

Scally is the President of Epidemiology and Public Health at the Royal Society of Medicine. 

I’m very shocked. I think it’s a terrible event and I’m very saddened because the battle against Covid-19 in Ireland has, until very recent times, been going extraordinarily well. 

“The message it gives out is ‘do as we say, not as we do’, and that’s not good enough for public leaders. No matter what post they hold in civil society, whether it’s an elected post or an appointed post like a judge, this is absolutely wrong.” 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 115 comments
115 Comments
    Mute john
    Favourite john
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:18 PM

All off us working hard though this paying taxes get notting great

Mute LangerDan
    Favourite LangerDan
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:57 PM

@john: “Upheaval”. Don’t get me started. Imagine the upheaval of all those who lost jobs still trying to balance a mortgage and family. Peak FG vote buying nonsense.

Mute Alan Hughes
    Favourite Alan Hughes
    Nov 19th 2020, 8:09 PM

@john: you get a wage and most likely spend the same amount per month on mortgages, food, loan repayments whatever your circumstances are….this is clever as the students are unlikly to save it. They will spend it immediately in bars restaurants and shops boosting trade, it’s a business stimulus package poorly explained.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Nov 19th 2020, 8:18 PM

@john: these students would usually have worked in bars and hotels at weekends and throughout the Christmas period. That’s all gone, and you now want their lives to be even harsher? So much for “we’re all in this together.” And then people wonder why I’m getting sick to my back teeth of the typical Irish attitude of “kick ‘em when they’re down” and “let’s stab them in the back.” John, you are a divided Ireland personified.

Mute Ger Murphy
    Favourite Ger Murphy
    Nov 19th 2020, 8:37 PM

@john: For what???? So they can rent an airbnb and get p1ssed with their mates and spread covid. What a load of b0llix. Give it to front line health care workers.

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Nov 19th 2020, 9:06 PM

@Ger Murphy: yes Ger I agree

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Nov 19th 2020, 9:07 PM

@LangerDan: I know and there the people that the government should help

Mute Denise Kinsella
    Favourite Denise Kinsella
    Nov 19th 2020, 9:26 PM

@Ger Murphy: cop on. Not every student is young and out to get pissed. Myself and the hundreds of other mature students who struggle throughout the year because we chose to go back and better ourselves are thrilled to be getting something to make things a little easier. Maybe I might actually be able to buy myself a few necessities that I havnt been able to over the last 2 years, seeing as there is little to no help for mature students
    Your comment is ridiculously near-sighted and downright ignorant

Mute M
    Favourite M
    Nov 19th 2020, 9:28 PM

@LangerDan: Most people kept their jobs and have never in their lives saved more money than this year because there’s nothing to do and nowhere to spend it. I feel sorry for students, what the hell are they supposed to do? They can’t socialise wuthout getting pilloried and there’s no holiday work for them. Those of us grown up with families and mortgages have no such excuses.

Mute Big Smokey
    Favourite Big Smokey
    Nov 19th 2020, 9:30 PM

@john: honestly the dumbest hot take of any situation I’ve seen this week. How narcissistical do have to be to spit on students (paying full fees, 3 grand, for online college) for getting a once off €250?

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Nov 20th 2020, 10:40 AM

@Brian Ó Dálaigh: Why are students being paid 250 euros each costing in total 50 million. The state has consistently failed to abide by the European Courts ruling in 2014 and compensate the victims of sexual abuse in national schools which would have cost 28 million.

Am I missing something here?

Mute Jurga Moylan
    Favourite Jurga Moylan
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:22 PM

Nurses have to take to the streets for a fair and just pay increase (restoration) and they government handing out to people who never asked for it. What a complete waste of money

Mute Forest Hump
    Favourite Forest Hump
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:33 PM

@Jurga Moylan: massive waste, this is a grab for younger voters most likely

Mute Denise Kinsella
    Nov 19th 2020, 9:34 PM

@Jurga Moylan: you do realise that this payment will also include student nurses, don’t you! Unbelievable.

Mute Citygal
    Favourite Citygal
    Nov 19th 2020, 11:05 PM

@Jurga Moylan: doesn’t have to be one or the other, pay restoration and 250 for the students should both happen. Don’t have to be bitter!

Mute Peter O Donnell
    Favourite Peter O Donnell
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:17 PM

€250 for house parties, yipee!

Mute Peter O Donnell
    Favourite Peter O Donnell
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:24 PM

@Peter O Donnell: clearly, I’m taking the mick. This is a disgrace.

Mute Elle
    Favourite Elle
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:41 PM

@Peter O Donnell: If you read the article you will see the money will be going into the pocket of the universities, not the students pocket directly.

Mute Lydia McLoughlin
    Favourite Lydia McLoughlin
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:43 PM

@Elle: I read students who don’t avail of susi grant can reduce their payments by €250 or give to the universities so it may well go to students or their parents pockets.

Mute D Mems
    Favourite D Mems
    Nov 19th 2020, 8:04 PM

@Lydia McLoughlin: and those that do get a SUSI grant get an additional €250, so @Elle is wrong

Mute Lady Mary
    Favourite Lady Mary
    Nov 20th 2020, 3:57 PM

@Peter O Donnell: Peter – you got far more thumbs-up for the house party idea :)

Mute Brian Dunne
    Favourite Brian Dunne
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:23 PM

Anything for the tax payers?

Mute barry moore
    Favourite barry moore

@Brian Dunne: ya a huge bill.

Mute Lisa Quinn
    Favourite Lisa Quinn
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:25 PM

Oh.ok.i work harder than my student child.guess her rent about to go up 250 quid for December.

Mute Optimus Prime
    Favourite Optimus Prime
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:42 PM

@Lisa Quinn: I like your thinking. :-)

Mute David Law
    Favourite David Law
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:28 PM

Sure most of them are getting the covid payment for their part-time jobs. Why is this necessary?

Mute Optimus Prime
    Favourite Optimus Prime
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:19 PM

Whyyyyyy? For what? We always doling out money in this country.

Mute a politicians promise is as good as a lie
    Favourite a politicians promise is as good as a lie

@Optimus Prime: buying their vote

Mute Maureen Monaghan
    Favourite Maureen Monaghan
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:30 PM

And what about people completely out of work or on short term work supports with mortgages and families to support?? Will they get a once off Christmas payment? A lot of those students are probably getting the PUP and then they get this?? Sorry but that’s a joke.

Mute Denise Kinsella
    Nov 19th 2020, 9:27 PM

@Maureen Monaghan: some students have families too you know.

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Nov 20th 2020, 10:44 AM

@Denise Kinsella: Some being the operative word here.

Mute Denise Kinsella
    Nov 20th 2020, 11:00 AM

@Teresa Ryan: so? Some people (e.g. you) apparently just like to whinge, moan and begrudge others getting a measly amount back from the thousands that they pay in fees. You’re unbelievable

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Nov 20th 2020, 11:13 AM

@Denise Kinsella: At a cost of 50 million euro to the taxpayer of which I am one. You are not a taxpayer. You have been a nett receiver of taxpayers money all your life. Yet your paw is out in pepertunity asking for more.

You’re unbelievable.

Mute Denise Kinsella
    Nov 20th 2020, 12:11 PM

@Teresa Ryan: no – your asin1ne comments are nothing more than a display of your own lack of intelligence and misinformation. You have wrongly judged several people here (whom you dont even know) and it just shows you up for what you truly are. C you next tuesday.

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Nov 20th 2020, 12:35 PM

@Denise Kinsella: Who are the several people I have wrongly judged. Now you are resorting to lying.

Now you are calling me a C you next Tuesday. I hit the nail on the head by stating that you are not a taxpayer, just another self entitled person with their grubby little paw out demanding more iof the hard pressed taxpayers money.

It’s insulting that I have to contribute to your education when you lack even the most basic of intelligence.

Mute Denise Kinsella
    Nov 20th 2020, 2:44 PM

@Teresa Ryan: hhahahahahahahhahaa. You’re not even worthy of am intelligent reply you troll.
    So go on then – seeing as you seem to know all about me, you can kindly tell everyone what age I am, how long I have been in education for, my work history, how many prsi contributions I have made seeing as you seem to know so much to make such an arrogant statement:-)
    You absolute cockwomble

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Nov 20th 2020, 3:14 PM

@Denise Kinsella: How long have you been in education? Given your posting history, I’d say your perpetually confined to junior infants.

I’ll let the rest of your gibberish go.

Mute Denise Kinsella
    Nov 20th 2020, 3:22 PM

@Teresa Ryan: hahahaha. So there you have it. Everyone can see you’re nothing more than a jumped up judgemental old hag living in perpetual bitterness and misery. Have a good life with your cats.
    Hiding behind a fake profile with no picture and more than likely a fake name. Speaks volumes about you really…..your response just illuminates nicely how much of your comment is based on your own internal misguided assumptions and all I have to do is sit back and laugh at how easy you make it for peoppe tense through you. Lol

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Nov 21st 2020, 1:38 AM

@Denise Kinsella: hee, hee, hee, now you’re frothing at the mouth.

Wipe you gob and stop your dribbling.

Mute Denise Kinsella
    Nov 21st 2020, 7:18 AM

@Teresa Ryan: tis the season to be jolly, TROLL-lol-lol-lol-lol, lol lol lol lol.
    Path3tic and sad. Nice to see you stick to your usual low standard :-) I’m so glad you’ve made all these comments so please can see exactly what you’re like. The fact your such a self-serving bitter wagon is probably the main reason nobody else has bothered responding to any of your comments :-) lol hilarious.
    Your inability to actually contribute anything of worth is just illuminated in your ridiculously judgrmental, ch1ldish and juvenile comments. What a failure

Mute Eddie Michael
    Favourite Eddie Michael

That overpriced printer is working overtime …

Mute Lorcan OReilly
    Favourite Lorcan OReilly
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:43 PM

Take the 250 enjoy , please ignore the fact that registration fees are now what 3k a year when they were around 750 in 2008.

Mute Cynical
    Favourite Cynical
    Nov 19th 2020, 8:03 PM

@Lorcan OReilly: For all the people complaining, why not me or others, why not let the disenfranchised receive something for once?

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc

Harris’s generousity knows no bounds.

Mute Patrick Geraghty
    Favourite Patrick Geraghty
    Nov 20th 2020, 6:02 PM

@Paul Mc: yes it does… The boundary is the tax payer

Mute cillian
    Favourite cillian

And the part-time students that work full time?

Mute Alison Maguire
    Favourite Alison Maguire
    Nov 19th 2020, 9:06 PM

Ok well I’m a mature student final year undergraduate and single parent of 3 children. This 250 will make a huge difference to my family.

Mute Denise Kinsella
    Nov 19th 2020, 9:30 PM

@Alison Maguire: same as me, I’m also a mature student (only I have one child) and this will make a huge difference to me. The judgemental, nasty, divisive comments here show exactly what is wrong with this country.

Mute Michael Mc Carthy
    Favourite Michael Mc Carthy
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:32 PM

It’s a bribe for compliance, nothing else.

Mute Mary Nugent
    Favourite Mary Nugent
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:38 PM

@Michael Mc Carthy: stop the claims if they fail, their course got compo in 2020 I’d say my Daughter will get it.

Mute John Lyons
    Favourite John Lyons
    Nov 19th 2020, 8:55 PM

@Michael Mc Carthy: compliance? What do you think students are going to do with a windfall €250?

Mute Jen Gordon
    Favourite Jen Gordon
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:44 PM

Oh this is a kick in the teeth. Essential worker from the start… got it end of March as an essential worker… still have symptoms fatigue and brain fog – didn’t get paid for time off between my ECG and test but college students getting a Christmas bonus ?!? What in the name of ****

Mute SmallbutMighty
    Favourite SmallbutMighty
    Nov 20th 2020, 1:45 AM

@Jen Gordon:if you are off work due to illness to are entitled to sick payand protected under employment laws , students get nothing when they are sick except perhaps failing their and cant reapply for susi so have to give up on their career, whats your point.

Mute Vanessa
    Favourite Vanessa
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:39 PM

3rd level students don’t have the most money at hand. I don’t begrudge them.

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:45 PM

What a complete joke of a government.. Why exactly are they getting this?

Mute Jen Gordon
    Favourite Jen Gordon
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:47 PM

@Vanessa: I do I’m working through the whole pandemic while you and your child enjoyed the nice weather, I got it in work,I paid for a Gap twice while on unpaid sick leave I had an ECG two ambulance visits and used my animal leave instead of sick leave because I don’t get paid. Enjoy your windfall

Mute Vanessa
    Favourite Vanessa
    Nov 19th 2020, 9:46 PM

@Jen Gordon: I don’t know why you think that I don’t work. As a matter of fact I had also barely opportunity to take PTO. But yes, I have spent my freetime with my child.

The students paid far more than 250 quids fir a service which couldn’t properly provided. In fsirness I don’t even think that education should be linked to fees at all.

And that’s me… working and paying tax through the whole pandemic

I don’t begrudge them for getting something, I rather wished that you would have gotten more. That’s the difference.

Mute Citygal
    Favourite Citygal
    Nov 19th 2020, 11:10 PM

@Jen Gordon: what makes you think Vanessa didn’t work during the whole pandemic? Lots of assumptions in your response there! There should be more supports for people on your situation of course but that should be in conjunction with this support for students, it doesn’t have to be one or the other.

Mute Fr.Todd Unctious
    Favourite Fr.Todd Unctious
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:29 PM

This is ridiculous.

Mute NOlivesmatter
    Favourite NOlivesmatter
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:35 PM

This govt and the opposition are pandering to the “yoof” future voters what with hate speech aka thought crimes, free council houses for D.P. after just 3 bloody months whilst Irish born and bred are homeless and Irish families been waiting years for a house and trying to over turn 79% of voters over the citizenship ref aka anchor baby scammers…..those in power NEED to stop listening to what is “trending” online and too the “woke” gen. and go back to yah know, normal middle centre ground legal voters, who get causes and elections won and lost!

Mute Declan Mc Carthy
    Favourite Declan Mc Carthy
    Nov 19th 2020, 9:51 PM

The €250 is not being paid directly to the Students but as a credit off future fees. Poor journalism. I have two going to college, it’s an expensive process so this gesture is greatly appreciated.

Mute Machiavellian
    Favourite Machiavellian

They don’t need cash, they need interaction. Get them back on campus you joker!

Mute Virus-free Turkey
    Favourite Virus-free Turkey

What the fcuk is going on?
    They announce taxing the PUP and then give it away to students the very next week.
    They reject waiving nurses registration fees and then… (we’ll see next weeks folks). Isn’t this just sooooooo exciting!

Mute Spbeak
    Favourite Spbeak
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:50 PM

Such a joke. Third level students do not need that – homeless people do FFS!

Mute David O Brien
    Favourite David O Brien
    Nov 19th 2020, 8:26 PM

I too have been working through the pandemic and to be honest with you this doesn’t surprise me one bit. The amount of businesses that might go and will go out of business can the money be used to help them?

Mute anne
    Favourite anne
    Nov 19th 2020, 8:13 PM

Really can’t understand this payment to a hugely subsidised cohort of young people ! No problem in giving this to the students from deprived areas or low income families but to think every student will get e250 is ridiculous! What about giving these monies to the voluntary charities for Xmas. It looks like a FG attempt to lure younger population…it won’t work!

Mute Declan Leonard
    Favourite Declan Leonard
    Nov 19th 2020, 9:10 PM

This is a flipping farce. Why do I bother my bollox?

Mute Barry Larkin
    Favourite Barry Larkin
    Nov 19th 2020, 8:44 PM

Off licenses getting another bonus

Mute John Lyons
    Favourite John Lyons
    Nov 19th 2020, 8:59 PM

@Barry Larkin: that’s very cynical! As if students would waste €250 on drink….

Mute Mos
    Favourite Mos
    Nov 19th 2020, 9:16 PM

Still nothing for the Self Employed over 65′s …. who were employed in the leisure business

Mute Jack Cass
    Favourite Jack Cass
    Nov 19th 2020, 9:20 PM

Ah! the FFG magic money tree is working overtime.

Mute Carol Cunningham
    Favourite Carol Cunningham
    Nov 19th 2020, 8:32 PM

Our government is just throwing money down the drain. My husband has a rich client, who had to close his business: he are not getting over 7,000 a WEEK for loss of earnings, to sit on their asses (and not even Irish) sorry but is this what I am paying my taxes for, for years. We will never recover from this. And no, students should not be getting this payment

Mute Carol Cunningham
    Favourite Carol Cunningham
    Nov 19th 2020, 8:34 PM

@Carol Cunningham: Correction: ‘Now getting over 7,000 a week’

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Nov 20th 2020, 10:48 AM

@Carol Cunningham: Why is he getting 7 ,000 per week.

Mute Carol Conway
    Favourite Carol Conway
    Nov 19th 2020, 8:27 PM

Fantastic. And at the beginning of the Recession they *doubled* our college fees and reduced the student grant. Did the Irish Government suddenly start caring about young people? And what about those of us left behind when they didn’t care? What do we get? A slap in the face, evidently.

Mute Kieran Hayes
    Favourite Kieran Hayes
    Nov 19th 2020, 8:10 PM

Priming them for the Universal Basic Income in a few years

Mute Adam Sheridan
    Favourite Adam Sheridan
    Nov 19th 2020, 8:24 PM

@Kieran Hayes: hopefully. Tax the rich and the big corporations and there would be more than enough money to go around to make sure everyone has a roof over their heads and food on the table.

Mute John Lyons
    Favourite John Lyons
    Nov 19th 2020, 9:00 PM

@Adam Sheridan: I’m guessing you’re not rich?

Mute Vanessa
    Favourite Vanessa
    Nov 19th 2020, 9:47 PM

@John Lyons: Are you?

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Nov 19th 2020, 9:49 PM

@Adam Sheridan: The thing about rich people is they can easily afford to move if you start slamming them with taxes. Same with large corporations, they will just relocate to more business friendly shores. Why do you think most of them are here to begin with ? Our witty banter and ceile music or our generous corporation tax rate ?

Mute Derek Lyster
    Favourite Derek Lyster
    Nov 19th 2020, 10:04 PM

@Tommy Roche: they’re here for the craic

Mute John Sleator
    Favourite John Sleator
    Nov 19th 2020, 8:10 PM

2020 just gets better and better

Mute Rose Margaret
    Favourite Rose Margaret
    Nov 19th 2020, 10:43 PM

€250 for most students to go on the razz! What are the forgotten people of Ireland (pensioners) getting?
    They have not been mentioned in any Covid subsidiary scheme what so ever.
    It’s as if grandparents and people of a certain age no longer exist in Ireland 2020.

Mute Barbara Foley
    Favourite Barbara Foley
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:50 PM

If your child is studying an undergraduate or postgraduate course in the UK, will they also get the €250 refund announced by Minister Harris. How will it be refunded to them. How does one go about proving your child is studying in the Uk. Patricia

Mute John Lyons
    Favourite John Lyons
    Nov 19th 2020, 8:57 PM

@Barbara Foley: no

Mute Tommy Roche
    Favourite Tommy Roche
    Nov 19th 2020, 9:37 PM

@John Lyons: Yes, apparently. “Funding worth €50 million, which was announced as part of Budget 2021, will give the financial assistance to all domestic and EU full-time undergraduate and postgraduate students”. The UK are still in the EU until Dec 31st.

Mute Emer Caffrey
    Favourite Emer Caffrey
    Nov 19th 2020, 7:48 PM

It will be taxable at some stage

Mute FaunFaun
    Favourite FaunFaun
    Nov 19th 2020, 10:00 PM

What bumper paycheck are frontline workers going to get from the government?

Mute Karin Murphy
    Favourite Karin Murphy
    Nov 20th 2020, 9:28 AM

These young people will be contributing to the Irish economy very shortly making our country a better place to live in. By 2050 they’ll be paying towards the thousands and thousands of pensions that will need to be paid due to all of us living longer than ever before, give them a break, they’re amazing young people :) :)

Mute Teresa Ryan
    Favourite Teresa Ryan
    Nov 20th 2020, 10:56 AM

@Karin Murphy: Ha, ha, ha, ho, ho ho and a couple of tra la las. The little runts won’t ever pay tax in Ireland as they will off to Australia when the immigration ban is lifted. Australia needs up to 200,000 thousands immigrants every year and the loss of immigrats this year has stagnated their economy. When things are back to normal and the immigration gates open again, the young Irish will once again flock to Australia.

What’s the Irish government going to do about that?

Mute Seeking Truth
    Favourite Seeking Truth
    Nov 20th 2020, 8:45 AM

Will plan to use this to help pay next term’s fees for my daughter. Every little helps….

Mute Chris O'Sullivan
    Favourite Chris O'Sullivan
    Nov 19th 2020, 8:50 PM

At this rate if the government were in charge santa would be delivering coc k punches for Christmas

Mute paul mccoy
    Favourite paul mccoy
    Nov 20th 2020, 10:03 AM

250 euro that will be handy for the beer then.

Mute The Guy is Here
    Favourite The Guy is Here
    Nov 19th 2020, 10:10 PM

The middle income tax payer, gets drained once again.

Mute FaunFaun
    Favourite FaunFaun
    Nov 19th 2020, 9:59 PM

Crazy. Where’s all this money coming from? …. Sadly it will be the youth of this country who’ll be paying it back, forever.

Mute Maurice Dodd
    Favourite Maurice Dodd
    Nov 19th 2020, 11:35 PM

Chitty chitty bang bang child catcher buying votes

Mute Úna O Connor Barrett
    Favourite Úna O Connor Barrett
    Nov 20th 2020, 9:24 AM

A big slap in the face to family carers who get nothing and are meanstested.

Mute Are You For Real
    Favourite Are You For Real
    Nov 19th 2020, 10:27 PM

This is a bloody disgrace! What about us paying tax? The €250 will be going on house parties with covid rates skyrocketing

Mute Mikki James
    Favourite Mikki James
    Nov 20th 2020, 1:28 PM

Has anyone tried to buy a laptop for €250? Put us students on the PUP like everyone else, or put them on the €203 a week we have had to live off as mature students.

Mute Denise Kinsella
    Nov 21st 2020, 7:21 AM

@Mikki James: they wouldn’t be long about shutting up with their whinging and moaning. Such a nation of begrudgers. I’d love to see half of them even trying to get by on what us mature students do.