You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Former CEO of defunct Anglo Irish Bank, David Drumm. James Horan/Photocall Ireland

In pictures: The 8 men Drumm thinks should be involved in a banking inquiry

The former CEO of Anglo Irish Bank believes the Anglo tapes were “edited” to make it look like he and others mislead the Central Bank.

THE FORMER CEO of the now defunct Anglo Irish Bank has told IrishCentral.com that he’s not the only one who has questions to answer over the bank guarantee.

He has named eight others who he believes should also be part of the inquiry into what happened on the night of the €400 billion guarantee of bank debt.

Drumm told IrishCentral.com:

Patrick Neary, the Financial Regulator, John Hurley, the Central Bank Governor, and Kevin Cardiff, the Secretary General in the Department of Finance, former Taoiseach Brian Cowen TD, former AIB Chief Executive, Eugene Sheehy and AIB Chairman Dermot Gleeson, former Bank of Ireland Chief Executive Brian Goggins and Chairman Richard Burrows, and the representatives from Merrill Lynch who advised the Government and who are in a unique position to shed light on what exactly that advice was…

The former bank boss also believes that the public have the right to have a number of questions answered such as, who supported a guarantee and who was against it and why? He also said the public should know what alternatives were ruled out and what advice was received from Merrill Lynch?

He asks, “On what basis was it decided that a €400 billion risk was a better outturn for Ireland than simply funding the banks?” he asks.

Speaking about the leaked tapes to The Irish Independent, on which he features, Drumm says that they were selected by someone with an “agenda” and also “edited” by the paper to make it look like the former bank mislead the government and the Central Bank.

Here are the pictures of the eight men Drumm lists:

Anglo Tapes
1 / 8
  • Anglo Tapes

The former Bank of Ireland, director Richard Burrows. Photo: Eamonn Farrell/Photocall Ireland
  • Anglo Tapes

Former Taoiseach Brian Cowen. Photo: Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland
  • Anglo Tapes

Former AIB chief executive, Eugene Sheehy. Photo: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland
  • Anglo Tapes

AIB Cairman, Dermot Gleeson. Photo: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland
  • Anglo Tapes

Brian J Goggin, former Bank of Ireland Group Chief Executive. Picture: James Horan/Photocall Ireland
  • Anglo Tapes

Former financial regulator, Patrick Neary. Photo: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland.
  • Anglo Tapes

Former governor of the Central Bank, John Hurley. (Picture: Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland)
  • Anglo Tapes

Kevin Cardiff, secretary financial services Dublin. (Picture: James Horan/Photocall Ireland)

Related: Were the Anglo tapes handed over to the Nyberg banking inquiry?>
More: Anglo tapes ‘have not damaged our EU reputation’>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

81 Comments
    Mute Sgt Pepper
    Favourite Sgt Pepper
    Oct 4th 2015, 6:06 PM

Sorry lad. What is this obsession, Americanised obsession at that, with having a bloody audience when proposing? It’s so bloody corny. A proposal between the man and woman in private, or in front of friends and family is fine IMO. But needing to have a load of indiscriminate strangers, or on TV or radio, is just sad and needy.

Mute paul o wank xxx
    Favourite paul o wank xxx
    Oct 4th 2015, 6:30 PM

…. Or a man and a man, or woman and woman!

Mute Eddie Nugent
    Favourite Eddie Nugent
    Oct 5th 2015, 1:45 PM

Sgt Pepper is talking about real Marriage

Mute selfsustainable
    Favourite selfsustainable
    Oct 4th 2015, 6:20 PM

everything is a performance these days! look at weddings lately! it’s all about who can make the best entrance so they can post it on tinternet!sad!

Mute Una Lally
    Favourite Una Lally
    Oct 4th 2015, 7:34 PM

Seriously though any man who goes to these lengths is probably getting cucked behind his back by his partner.

Mute Bridget O'Hanlon
    Favourite Bridget O'Hanlon
    Oct 5th 2015, 1:57 AM

Lovely Una, what a romantic you are

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Oct 5th 2015, 8:26 AM

Jesus Una, not sure if I love or hate you.

Mute Anton Friendo
    Favourite Anton Friendo
    Oct 5th 2015, 10:42 AM

That’s just scary

Mute Eddie Nugent
    Favourite Eddie Nugent
    Oct 5th 2015, 1:44 PM

so true, shallow people

Mute Gráinne Rafferty
    Favourite Gráinne Rafferty
    Oct 4th 2015, 6:18 PM

Cringe of that…

Mute D H
    Favourite D H

And thsts what he came up with after 10 years??

Mute WJH
    Favourite WJH
    Oct 4th 2015, 6:14 PM

Spanner

Mute Leonie Gilsenan
    Favourite Leonie Gilsenan
    Oct 4th 2015, 7:14 PM

My worst nightmare.

Mute Stephen Harding
    Favourite Stephen Harding
    Oct 4th 2015, 6:08 PM

Cop on fella

Mute conor o brien
    Favourite conor o brien
    Oct 4th 2015, 6:24 PM

I’m surprised no body snatched the ring off him on grafton Street!

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB

Romantic …. Well I laughed hard at that suggestion…

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Oct 4th 2015, 6:36 PM

Now a tax on that sh!t I can agree with

Mute Richard III
    Favourite Richard III
    Oct 4th 2015, 6:28 PM

gobshyte

Oct 4th 2015, 7:16 PM

I’ll give him credit , it took some guts but I would’ve preferred something a bit more private and intimate .why does everything have to be the bigger , the better ?

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Oct 4th 2015, 6:19 PM

Some may find it corny or embarrassing but at least it’s a story with a happy content unlike most of the so called news about how big Kim kardasians but t is And isis atrocities. Good luck to them

Mute You're What?
    Favourite You're What?
    Oct 4th 2015, 7:22 PM

You sad, jaded, overly opinionated w@#Kers. The guy wanted to do something special for the woman he’s spent ten years and raised a little girl with and all you can do is bitterly attack. How pathetically sad all your lives must be that you need to try to drag someone down like this.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 4th 2015, 10:53 PM

What’s wrong with a candle lit dinner and roses?………ten years and a kid!….wedding day planned for 2044.

Mute Bridget O'Hanlon
    Favourite Bridget O'Hanlon
    Oct 5th 2015, 2:00 AM

You’re what, you’re absolutely right. I think the journal comment section should be re named ‘Vent your sad ass spleen here’

Mute TommyJung
    Favourite TommyJung
    Oct 4th 2015, 7:17 PM

Pass the sick bag.

Mute jack frost
    Favourite jack frost
    Oct 4th 2015, 6:09 PM

It’s romantic and different Fair play to him.

Mute Sgt Pepper
    Favourite Sgt Pepper
    Oct 4th 2015, 6:15 PM

It’s not romantic. It’s ego tripping nonsense. Not a hint of romance in it.

Mute Frank Greene
    Favourite Frank Greene
    Oct 4th 2015, 7:19 PM

Wedding Bell end.

Mute Babadook
    Favourite Babadook
    Oct 4th 2015, 6:33 PM

I’m sorry lad but you can not dance and I think that is a big part of your plan. Very embarrassed for you.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Oct 4th 2015, 7:42 PM

best part of that was the lad in the electric wheelchair and high viz bursting through the crowd at the end!!

Mute Meehawwl O'Buachailla
    Favourite Meehawwl O'Buachailla
    Oct 4th 2015, 8:56 PM

Flash mobs? Really? I thought they went out with the ice bucket challenge.

Mute Maz M
    Favourite Maz M
    Oct 4th 2015, 6:29 PM

aaaaaw…don’t be mean now lads ! that guy wanted to show his girl that he wants to spend the rest of his life with her. Just because he did it very publicly doesn’t make it any less meaningful .

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Oct 4th 2015, 10:54 PM

Do you not think it puts the other person under peer pressure?

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Oct 4th 2015, 8:01 PM

Personally I’d have called his cards way before this….ten years and a kid, Jaysus would never wait that long for solid commitment.

Oct 4th 2015, 7:36 PM

Best of luck to them.

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Oct 4th 2015, 7:45 PM

ahhh what a spaz

Mute dannyboy
    Favourite dannyboy
    Oct 4th 2015, 6:52 PM

brilliant, well done and the very best of luck

Mute Lis_Walsh
    Favourite Lis_Walsh
    Oct 4th 2015, 11:13 PM

Morto for them. It’s about as romantic as a saw movie.

Mute dannyboy
    Favourite dannyboy
    Oct 4th 2015, 6:52 PM

brilliant,..well done and the very best of luck..

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Oct 4th 2015, 9:28 PM

Hope he had a permit.

Mute Gash
    Favourite Gash
    Oct 4th 2015, 8:38 PM

Jaysus more bad news…..

Mute Maurice Quille
    Favourite Maurice Quille
    Oct 5th 2015, 12:05 AM

2 cans of Fanta a quick ride and and propose in the top floor toilets in the green shopping centre would have been more romantic.

Mute Tim Hayes
    Favourite Tim Hayes
    Oct 4th 2015, 11:22 PM

Good on you Bob, very well done. Don’t mind the ass holes there are allways those miserable gits who just can’t see it for what it is, a romantic proposal. Or maybe they are jealous, who cares. Much happiness to the three of you

Oct 4th 2015, 11:38 PM

Who’d be jealous of a tool?

Mute Tim Hayes
    Favourite Tim Hayes
    Oct 5th 2015, 1:18 AM

Why all the begrudgery. We seem to be a nation of knock everything, and looking at the comments there are some angry people out there

Oct 5th 2015, 3:47 AM

Begrudgery is being negative about other’s success. This isn’t begrudgery, or anger for that matter. The guy is a tool and people are calling him out for it. His deciding to make a big public gesture (obviously looking for attention) just to propose to his girlfriend bears this out. What’s wrong with a nice quiet romantic meal? Is he auditioning for some reality show or something? No. He’s just a tool.

Mute paddy kiely
    Favourite paddy kiely
    Oct 5th 2015, 6:14 AM

Lmao

Mute Tom Galvin
    Favourite Tom Galvin
    Oct 4th 2015, 7:52 PM

Autobiograpy, “Memoirs and Reflections – My Rags To Grafton Strreet Journey’ – SOON ON YOUR LOCAL BUKESHELVES.

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Oct 4th 2015, 8:46 PM

How original.

Mute Colm Kelly
    Favourite Colm Kelly
    Oct 5th 2015, 3:37 AM

OK you already have a kid together just chill out and get married

Mute John Fogarty
    Favourite John Fogarty
    Oct 5th 2015, 2:56 AM

omg I am so happy for him and his family and all his relations and friends they are beautiful people I hope they have a wonderful life…..

Mute Anton Friendo
    Favourite Anton Friendo
    Oct 5th 2015, 10:44 AM

“This is a pretty shyt flash mob. It’s in my living room, only my family showed up, and they’re just telling me to stop drinking”