You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A fracture in the ice at the front of the Ross Ice Shelf in Antarctica.

Antarctica ice platform nearly four times size of UK ‘at risk of collapse’

A new study suggests that more than 900,000 square kilometres of floating ice shelves could split if fractures on their surface are submerged.

A PLATFORM OF ice surrounding Antarctica which is nearly four times the size of the UK is at risk of collapse, according to a new study.

It suggests that more than 900,000 square kilometres of floating ice shelves could split if fractures on their surface are submerged due to the effects of climate change.

Such a sudden loss of the supportive structures could raise sea levels around the world – with previous studies suggesting they could rise by a metre by the year 2100.

A team involving geoscientists from the University of Edinburgh used a process called hydrofracturing to analyse satellite images of the area.

Dr Martin Wearing, of the university’s School of GeoSciences, was among those taking part in the study.

He said: “We’ve seen in the past that the sudden collapse of ice shelves can trigger rapid acceleration of the glaciers that flow into them, and, in turn, sea-level rise.

“We have found that stresses within vast sections of Antarctica’s ice shelves are sufficiently large that they could collapse if, as climate models predict, surface melting increases substantially in coming years.

“We hope our use of machine learning is a first step towards further applications of AI [artificial intelligence] in the analysis of the ever-growing quantity of data from the polar regions.”

The findings suggest around 60% of the ice-shelf area supporting the main sheet is vulnerable.

Increased surface melting from the weight of the water could enlarge fractures in these sections, according to the team.

The study, published in the journal Nature, was led by researchers from Columbia University in the US.

It also involved Utrecht University and Google, with the work supported by the National Science Foundation and the Dutch Research Council.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 54 comments
54 Comments
    Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Sep 25th 2019, 5:56 PM

they did this in the uk over 20 yrs ago – the only difference it made was that response time were slower and ‘smaller’ crimes went un-investigated due to a lack of manpower at local level ,instead of getting an officer at your door to deal with an incident ,you got a ‘crime number ‘ from someone in a call centre , it was up to YOU to ‘check up’ on the ‘progress’ of the case, al that happened was that people stopped reporting ‘minor’ incidents like shed break-ins, car thefts ,street robberies etc , and those in charge of the police force were able to say that ”reported crime numbers were down ” and so deemed the move to regional offices a success . in reality -crime numbers were rising but no one was reporting them as they new it would be a waste of time doing so . what is needed is MORE gardai at local level -not fewer !

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Sep 25th 2019, 6:15 PM

@Eric Davies: I thought the whole idea of the restructuring was to increase the number of garda and Sargents as there would be less admin and the reduction in high level salaries would be reinvested in local level gardai, hence the number of local gardai would increase, would it not?

Mute Oliver Jumelle
    Favourite Oliver Jumelle
    Sep 25th 2019, 6:19 PM

@Eric Davies: and that’s when the Tony martin incident took place!!

Mute Dorothy
    Favourite Dorothy
    Sep 25th 2019, 6:33 PM

@Eric Davies: yes I got a crime number in Cardiff Wales and that was that

Mute Honeybee
    Favourite Honeybee
    Sep 25th 2019, 8:40 PM

@Vocal Outrage: It didn’t work when the divisions in England/Wales were reduced, there are 20,000 fewer officers now,the divisions in England/Wales rank 27 out of 31 in an International survey of the number of police officers per 100,000 population

Mute DaMoons
    Favourite DaMoons
    Sep 25th 2019, 10:05 PM

@Honeybee: you are right. And guess what, we are ranked even lower.

Mute Eric Davies
    Favourite Eric Davies
    Sep 27th 2019, 10:42 AM

@Vocal Outrage: thats how it was sold to people -but its not how it turned out – stations that were 20 or so miles apart were ‘amalgamated’ into one – some where even in different counties (lancashire and cheshire for instance) leaving one of the communities without proper cover – when shift changes took place officers had to be at the station for their ‘sign on’ briefing – by the time that was done it meant no officers being available in the non stationed town for over an hour sometimes 2 – also any incidents reported in the town where there was a station would get priority with regard to manpower as they were closer to the station … i know former police officers who were serving at the time and it messed up the entire system .

Mute WoodlandBard
    Favourite WoodlandBard
    Sep 25th 2019, 4:59 PM

Also a list of where Krispy Kreme donut outlets will be opening up soon.

Mute Mark Spain
    Favourite Mark Spain
    Sep 25th 2019, 5:36 PM

@WoodlandBard: hilarious

Mute SFNutters
    Favourite SFNutters
    Sep 25th 2019, 9:32 PM

@Mark Spain: they’re shite donuts.

Mute Kieran Cronin
    Favourite Kieran Cronin
    Sep 25th 2019, 4:55 PM

our fine ruc

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Sep 25th 2019, 5:01 PM

@Kieran Cronin: yawn

Mute HONEY BADGER180
    Favourite HONEY BADGER180
    Sep 25th 2019, 5:33 PM

@Kieran Cronin: Your stone must have needed cleaning that’s fine. Now crawl back under that stone. Stay their clown.

Mute Aging Lothario
    Favourite Aging Lothario
    Sep 25th 2019, 6:01 PM

@Kieran Cronin: Muppet

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Sep 25th 2019, 8:46 PM

@Kieran Cronin: I, for one, believe the Chief Constable is doing a fine job.

Mute Conor Nolan
    Favourite Conor Nolan
    Sep 25th 2019, 6:16 PM

The Cities of Galway, Cork and Dublin are Regional HQs – Kilkenny is upgraded to include its very own ‘Regional Chief Superintendent’ while both the Cities of Limerick and Waterford are ignored? By most accounts both Limerick and Waterford have a higher inner-city crime rate then the entire County of Kilkenny. Something politically amiss here even though I think Commissioner Drew Harris is a breath of fresh air in the corp and the right person to lead the organisation.

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Sep 25th 2019, 7:32 PM

@Conor Nolan:

because there is an eastern region covering from meath to waterford. Kilkenny would be in the middle of that. seems logical to me.

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Sep 25th 2019, 7:50 PM

@Tim Pot: it does seem strange that. the regional HQ for the Eastern Region is in Kilkenny, I can understand the geography of that one, but the divisional HQ that covers Kilkenny itself will be in Waterford

Mute Tim Pot
    Favourite Tim Pot
    Sep 25th 2019, 8:04 PM

@Vocal Outrage:

Its the same for the others, example the western region the regional hq is galway, the superintendant monaghan yet the monaghan division hq in drogheda. Its just about finding the right balance between local and central governance. I see no issue.

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Sep 25th 2019, 8:14 PM

@Tim Pot: I guess so, I don’t think the army have their overall HQ is the same location as the HQ for the region it’s in, so perhaps that’s a better practice to avoid undue interference from the regional chief super or something

Mute George McCarthy
    Favourite George McCarthy
    Sep 25th 2019, 9:56 PM

Wenger out

Mute Paul Dooley
    Favourite Paul Dooley
    Sep 26th 2019, 12:20 AM

Anyone else see the ad for the fine transit there boss

Mute James O Brien
    Favourite James O Brien
    Sep 26th 2019, 6:22 PM

Joke simple as

Mute Councillor Bill Clear
    Favourite Councillor Bill Clear
    Sep 26th 2019, 10:06 AM

As kildare and meath have the lowest number of guards per population this is not good news. We need kildare meath wicklow and louth to be a region on their own. This will lead to these regions losing more guards to other regions. This is not a good idea.