You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PA

Oath of allegiance to Charles III during coronation is ‘tone deaf’, UK anti-monarchy group says

People across the UK and overseas realms will be invited to swear allegiance to Charles.

PLANS TO ASK the UK public to pledge their allegiance to King Charles III during his coronation next week have been branded “offensive, tone deaf and a gesture that holds the people in contempt” by a pressure group.

Charles’s coronation will include the first Homage of the People – a modern addition to the ancient ceremony that will see people across the UK and overseas realms invited to swear an oath of allegiance to the king.

Graham Smith, a spokesman for Republic, which campaigns for the abolition of the monarchy and its replacement with a directly elected head of state, said: “In a democracy it is the head of state who should be swearing allegiance to the people, not the other way around.

“This kind of nonsense should have died with Elizabeth I, not outlived Elizabeth II.”

“In swearing allegiance to Charles and his ‘heirs and successors’, people are being asked to swear allegiance to Prince Andrew too.

“This is clearly beyond the pale,” Smith added.

The Archbishop of Canterbury said it was hoped the significant change to the historic service will result in a “great cry around the nation and around the world of support for the King” from those watching on television, online or gathered in the open air at big screens.

It replaces the traditional Homage of Peers in which a long line of hereditary peers knelt and made a pledge to the monarch in person.

A spokesman for the Archbishop, the most senior bishop in the Church of England, said the homage is “very much an invitation rather than an expectation or request”.

He added: “It’s simply an opportunity offered by the Archbishop so that, unlike previous coronations, those who wish to join in with the words being spoken by the Abbey congregation could do so in a very simple way.

“For those who do want to take part, some will want to say all the words of the homage; some might just want to say ‘God Save The King’ at the end; others might just want it to be a moment of private reflection.”

76 Comments
    Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Apr 30th 2023, 6:08 PM

As a democratic republican I find the idea of taking the knee , sadly repulsive

Mute Roger Bond
    Favourite Roger Bond
    Apr 30th 2023, 6:23 PM

@William Slevin: As far as I know the UK has a TV licence too and you will go to jail there if you refuse to pay..

Mute Dave Ryan
    Favourite Dave Ryan
    Apr 30th 2023, 6:41 PM

@William Slevin: ah sure you just do what ya want laws are for everyone else obviously…. plenty of lawless nations ya can move to if ya don’t like the laws here ….the fact that your even comparing constitutional laws in Ireland to British monarchy says it all …. your probably one of these Irish nationalists that walk’s around in an English premiership football team jersey…

Mute Denis O 'Brien
    Favourite Denis O 'Brien
    Apr 30th 2023, 6:51 PM

@Robert Halvey: no one is being asked to take a knee

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy
    Apr 30th 2023, 7:13 PM

@William Slevin: you should really educate yourself on the whole tv licence/court/jail thing. It’s kinda embarrassing but not unsurprising that you misrepresent reality.

Mute Emmet Murphy
    Favourite Emmet Murphy
    Apr 30th 2023, 7:43 PM

@William Slevin: You want Irexit, to follow the Brits out of Europe and I’d say you’d kiss Charles ring too? (Not his ring finger) A lot of Irish laws, are almost the same as the UK’s and we are a Republic for good reason.

Mute David Terry
    Favourite David Terry
    Apr 30th 2023, 8:12 PM

@William Slevin: Fake news!

Mute John McGovern
    Favourite John McGovern
    Apr 30th 2023, 9:55 PM

@Dave Ryan: And you’re not able to understand the difference between Your and You’re.

Mute Breandán Ó Riain
    Favourite Breandán Ó Riain
    Apr 30th 2023, 10:31 PM

@William Slevin: You have ruined the comment section for a lot of people. Thank you!

Mute Breandán Ó Riain
    Apr 30th 2023, 10:43 PM

@William Slevin: can you please shush for a little while?

Mute Ian Donovan
    Favourite Ian Donovan
    Apr 30th 2023, 6:36 PM

I’d say a fair number of people will definitely swear something at him but not allegiance.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Apr 30th 2023, 6:44 PM

I’d imagine that the many lords and ladies who’s families have lived on splendid estates here in Ireland since the plantation would like the chance to pay homage to the crown that granted them their lands and titles

Mute Lynda
    Favourite Lynda
    May 1st 2023, 12:04 PM

@Sean: You are just looking for “the other” people to hate.

Mute Eamonn O'Regan
    Favourite Eamonn O'Regan
    Apr 30th 2023, 7:07 PM

Within living memory for many of us we were treated to the spectacle of our senior politicians kneeling to a certain J. C. McQuaid…

Mute John O Mahony
    Favourite John O Mahony
    Apr 30th 2023, 7:25 PM

I will bow to no man/woman. Allegiance to country is fine but not to a fellow human

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Apr 30th 2023, 9:35 PM

@John O Mahony: avoid marriage like the plague!

Mute John O Mahony
    Favourite John O Mahony
    Apr 30th 2023, 9:47 PM

@alan: I did

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Apr 30th 2023, 6:20 PM

Talk about a non story…

Mute Denis Rathsallagh Brady
    Favourite Denis Rathsallagh Brady
    Apr 30th 2023, 7:01 PM

Yet another inbred King in European royalty.

Mute Cable Stayed
    Favourite Cable Stayed
    Apr 30th 2023, 7:12 PM

You have got to love the irony of the person complaining about imperialism and then using the phrase “beyond the pale” ….bit of a faux pas there :)

Mute Rob Duggan
    Favourite Rob Duggan
    Apr 30th 2023, 6:31 PM

All royalty is, ilegimate?

Mute Denis O 'Brien
    Favourite Denis O 'Brien
    Apr 30th 2023, 6:53 PM

I’ll be watching it from beginning to end! Fabulous ceremonial and pageantry. The only European monarchy ( there are 7 others) which still has a religious coronation. Lighten up folks!

Mute William Slevin
    Favourite William Slevin
    Apr 30th 2023, 6:57 PM

@Denis O ‘Brien: I guess certain people just reject the concept of monarchy and all it stands for…enjoy it yourself but don’t expect others too…

Mute 2thFairy
    Favourite 2thFairy
    Apr 30th 2023, 7:49 PM

@Denis O ‘Brien: while I agree that no one does pomp and pageantry better than the Brits the actual coronation itself is nothing but an ego inflating exercise of a very rich man. How dare he ask people a lot worse off than himself to pledge allegiance to him. Why encourage subordination?

Mute Denis O 'Brien
    Favourite Denis O 'Brien
    Apr 30th 2023, 8:35 PM

@2thFairy: every British monarch has ad a coronation. What makes you think Charles and more ego inflated than any other? Or indeed the sometimes grand ceremonial with which president ts are installed?

Mute Emmet Murphy
    Favourite Emmet Murphy
    Apr 30th 2023, 9:31 PM

@Denis O ‘Brien: Elected heads of state,swearing in ceremonies are done to benefit the people and not the person concerned!

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Apr 30th 2023, 6:48 PM

Funny how it’s the life long dole heads that are opposed to the monarchy!

Mute Emmet Murphy
    Favourite Emmet Murphy
    Apr 30th 2023, 9:32 PM

@Paul: The King gets a lot of dole from the Government and doesn’t need it!

Mute Marg FitzGerald
    Favourite Marg FitzGerald
    Apr 30th 2023, 7:46 PM

North Korea !

Mute Michael Flanagan
    Favourite Michael Flanagan
    May 1st 2023, 5:56 AM

The Monarchy is totally irrelevant today.
    Charles should get a real job and not be sponging off the taxpayers

Mute briar
    Favourite briar
    Apr 30th 2023, 8:00 PM

No nay never
    No nay never no more
    Will I play the wild rover
    No never no more

Mute William Slevin
    Favourite William Slevin
    Apr 30th 2023, 6:43 PM

@roger bond”@William Slevin: As far as I know the UK has a TV licence too and you will go to jail there if you refuse to pay..”

And your point is in reference to mine is?….

Mute Dave Ryan
    Favourite Dave Ryan
    Apr 30th 2023, 6:57 PM

@William Slevin: your issue is with laws obvusly…id say your good fun at a demonstration with your gopro filiming anyone in a uniform…. another telephone tough guy ….

Mute Alanjturing
    Favourite Alanjturing
    Apr 30th 2023, 6:26 PM

When in Rome…

Mute William Slevin
    Favourite William Slevin
    Apr 30th 2023, 7:32 PM

@Paul Clancy:”@William Slevin: you should really educate yourself on the whole tv licence/court/jail thing. It’s kinda embarrassing but not unsurprising that you misrepresent reality.”

My god man then please educate me…..that or stay quiet because you’ve just said noting their other than confirm what I said…jeez seriously what point are trying to make other than trying to sound smarter than me which is easy to do and yet you failed at even that…makes me question your ability to actually think constructively…

Mute Paul Clancy
    Favourite Paul Clancy
    May 1st 2023, 8:17 AM

@William Slevin: I’ll help ya so. No one in the country goes to prison for not having a Tv licence. You may follow up the rest yourself.

Mute William Slevin
    Favourite William Slevin
    Apr 30th 2023, 7:00 PM

@dave ryan:”@William Slevin: your issue is with laws obvusly…id say your good fun at a demonstration with your gopro filiming anyone in a uniform…. another telephone tough guy ….”

Look at your safe a good little loyalist of the government and civil service…what makes you think I’m a telephone tough guy lol

Mute William Slevin
    Favourite William Slevin
    Apr 30th 2023, 8:00 PM

@Emmet Murphy:”@William Slevin: You want Irexit, to follow the Brits out of Europe and I’d say you’d kiss Charles ring too? (Not his ring finger) A lot of Irish laws, are almost the same as the UK’s and we are a Republic for good reason.”

Ah your gas man emmet lol…I’ve wanted ireland out of the eu since my early 20′s I’m now in my late 30′s ssssh that’s a secret….so long before I knew britain wanted to leave I want ireland to leave…and unlike you I don’t ireland to follow anyone since I know you’d love to lick merkals hoop…

Did you even understand the last part you just said…you said we have laws the same as britain and theirs a reason we are a Republic…I’ll let you stew on that..maybe you might realise its rediculouse we still have english common law as the basis for our law instead of our own brehon law…but sure you love yar wins hoop I’m sure ya love his ring to kiss lol

Mute Emmet Murphy
    Favourite Emmet Murphy
    Apr 30th 2023, 9:42 PM

@William Slevin: Our laws may be similar, our heads of state are elected and we are a Republic. But your posts, say a lot about you and your level of education. Sad man!

Mute William Slevin
    Favourite William Slevin
    Apr 30th 2023, 9:42 PM

@John O Mahony:”@William Slevin: did you, you make a lot of noise for an empty vessel”

A gurgle or two ;) did you get the vaccine for the vaccine passport? Just curious because alot of people what ever they think of not bending the knee…they do it alot…especially during the pandemic…

Mute John O Mahony
    Favourite John O Mahony
    Apr 30th 2023, 9:48 PM

@William Slevin: my medical history is none of your business

Mute John O Mahony
    Favourite John O Mahony
    Apr 30th 2023, 9:51 PM

@William Slevin: speak for yourself as you seem to be bending to everyone’s comments,

Mute William Slevin
    Favourite William Slevin
    Apr 30th 2023, 11:22 PM

@John O Mahony: really am I bending to anyone’s comments by interacting with them…oh you mean because you think I should be antagonising…instead of arguing in good faith and actually try meet people half way…I should be like you always just ready to attack and not stop…

No thanks…I’m here for honest discussion in good faith….

Mute John O Mahony
    Favourite John O Mahony
    May 1st 2023, 12:09 AM

@William Slevin: you wouldn’t know good faith if it bit you. All you do is waver off the topic.

Mute William Slevin
    Favourite William Slevin
    Apr 30th 2023, 7:14 PM

@Eamonn O’Regan:”Within living memory for many of us we were treated to the spectacle of our senior politicians kneeling to a certain J. C. McQuaid…”

Yes that was equally as repugnant…are you in favour of a monarchy?

Mute William Slevin
    Favourite William Slevin
    Apr 30th 2023, 6:54 PM

@dave ryan:”@William Slevin: ah sure you just do what ya want laws are for everyone else obviously…. plenty of lawless nations ya can move to if ya don’t like the laws here ….the fact that your even comparing constitutional laws in Ireland to British monarchy says it all …. your probably one of these Irish nationalists that walk’s around in an English premiership football team jersey…”

Nice profile pic ; ) you know it’s dangerous to assume about people on the internet because it could make you look like a fool…like this no, I’ve no interest in football are anything english or british…have I watched english TV sure I suppose you got me their…but an english jersey ha not a chance…no british symbols will ever touch my body…I’m guessing you an irish republican defence forces personnel wouldn’t be wearing english symbols now would you? Or are you just pretending your in the defence forces with your profile pic?…I dunno because I don’t just assume…

Now to address your remarks re law did I ever mention we should be able to do what we want….no…I said victimless crimes…but sure you would be arguing in bad faith and dishonesty would you?

What’s your point in comparing a monarchy and a democratic fascist state…both has people obeying a central authority…the people not being free…or are you one of those people who stand for freedom and call the them freedom? If so not very irish of you…

Mute Dave Ryan
    Favourite Dave Ryan
    Apr 30th 2023, 8:10 PM

@William Slevin: i ware the same uniform that my father before me wore ….and i serve the state ….the democratic state of the Irish republic as set out in the constitution under free election…..ya may not agree with the law’s passed down or the way they are enforced but for most anarchist’s like yourself ya won’t agree with any form of law unless it’s all out anarchy…so why not do something about it …signe the dotted line put on a uniform and serve your country…. that’s if you’re able for it ….i think your the kinda of person that just wants to sit on the sidelines of history and shout….and that ok if its all your able for…we always need people on the side line’s

Mute William Slevin
    Favourite William Slevin
    Apr 30th 2023, 9:44 PM

@emmet murphy:” @William Slevin: Our laws may be similar, our heads of state are elected and we are a Republic. But your posts, say a lot about you and your level of education. Sad man!”

Another insult you were doing so good up until then…then you failed…again!!! It’s disappointing…

Mute choir203
    Favourite choir203
    May 1st 2023, 1:01 PM

I wonder will Michelle O Neill swear allegiance to Charlie in Westminster Abbey in her visit to pay homage to The Honourary Colonel of The Parachute Regiment on Saturday.

Mute Rory Wilson
    Favourite Rory Wilson
    May 1st 2023, 5:16 PM

I don’t feel strongly about the British people pledging allegiance to their King, [as long as they don't expect me to do likewise]
    However, look at Americans, they pledge allegiance to two yards of linen and don’t think it strange!

Mute Rory Wilson
    Favourite Rory Wilson
    May 1st 2023, 6:13 PM

@Rory Wilson:
    Whatever about his asking people to pledge allegiance to him, I feel he missed an opportunity to change his crowned name,
    (they don’t have to keep their christened name – his grandfather didn’t!)
    Let’s look at the omens from his predecessors:
    CHARLES I: Had his head chopped off by a discontented parliament,
    CHARLES II:
    A notable philanderer, frequented brothels, died of a mysterious disease, whose last words were,: “Pray do not let poor Nelly starve!” (Nell Gwynn, sometime actress and lady of the night),
    CHARLES III???

Mute William Slevin
    Favourite William Slevin
    Apr 30th 2023, 11:23 PM

@Breandán Ó Riain:”@William Slevin: please go away”

No xD

Mute William Slevin
    Favourite William Slevin
    Apr 30th 2023, 10:40 PM

@John O Mahony:”@William Slevin: speak for yourself as you seem to be bending to everyone’s comments,”

Could you elaborate…or are you just making a baseless claim…care to give an example…

Mute Breandán Ó Riain
    Apr 30th 2023, 10:59 PM

@William Slevin: please go away

Mute John O Mahony
    Favourite John O Mahony
    May 1st 2023, 12:12 AM

@William Slevin: you have replied to ever comment made. Thus you are bowing to what others write. You need to get a life my fried and stop your daily nonsense

Mute William Slevin
    Favourite William Slevin
    Apr 30th 2023, 8:31 PM

@David Terry:”@William Slevin: Fake news!

Do you just like failing in your responses to people on here…is it a kind of masochist kind of thing for you?

Mute William Slevin
    Favourite William Slevin
    Apr 30th 2023, 8:40 PM

@Dave Ryan:”@William Slevin: i ware the same uniform that my father before me wore ….and i serve the state ….the democratic state of the Irish republic as set out in the constitution under free election…..ya may not agree with the law’s passed down or the way they are enforced but for most anarchist’s like yourself ya won’t agree with any form of law unless it’s all out anarchy…so why not do something about it …signe the dotted line put on a uniform and serve your country…. that’s if you’re able for it ….i think your the kinda of person that just wants to sit on the sidelines of history and shout….and that ok if its all your able for…we always need people on the side line’s”

You really don’t learn from making assumptions of those online you interact with do you lol…

I in fact signed up for the defence forces for a job but only be told I was to old at the age of 26 which was the upper end of the age limit, back in 2011..so their you go wrong again…

As for me being an anarchist sure you could say that as in the tradition of our ancestors the gael…but here’s a bit of education anarchy is the absent of law but the absent of an absolute central authority but law still exists its just not centralised…about the only true and functioning work anarchy was that of our ancestors who had law…

Look if you want any actuall discussion about law I’m happy to discuss it with you…

Mute BLD Games
    Favourite BLD Games
    May 1st 2023, 10:59 AM

Harry’s step father is asking a lot of his subjects with this imo

Mute William Slevin
    Favourite William Slevin
    May 1st 2023, 8:39 AM

@paul clancy:”@William Slevin: I’ll help ya so. No one in the country goes to prison for not having a Tv licence. You may follow up the rest yourself.”

This article by the independent says other wise, seriously look things up before you try and deride someone when you don’t have a clue yourself…you also get a conviction…

Independent.ie/irish-news/411-people-jailed-last-year-for-not-paying-their-tv-licence/30235625.html#:~:text=Some%20183%20offenders%20were%20jailed,couple%20of%20days%20in%20jail.

Copy paste it into your browser

Also here is a link to

citizensinformation.ie/en/consumer/phone_internet_tv_and_postal_services/tv_licences.html

You sure want to keep telling me how wrong I am on this with your arrogance?…

Mute Martainn
    Favourite Martainn
    May 2nd 2023, 6:41 AM

Non news story I’m afraid. The British public were “ invited “ to join in with these words. The BBC changed it to ask. There is no such thing in the UK as swearing allegiance other than for a select group , ie ; police /armed forces /MPs etc.

Mute William Slevin
    Favourite William Slevin
    May 1st 2023, 8:47 AM

@john o mahony:”@William Slevin: you wouldn’t know good faith if it bit you. All you do is waver off the topic.”

The discussion on topic began on bending the knee…which were all forced to do under threat of violence…and I’m not talking about infringement of another’s rights…I’m talking about the rake of legislation simply to control us…so pointing out yes you do bow down 1, to your fellow voters and two the politicians and the gardai…

I wasn’t having a go at you but tried to get you to realise what you said isn’t true not because your a lier but just that your wrong in your thinking…

As for your comment I’m bending my will by replying to people’s comments that’s nonsense as I choose to respond to them…

Mute John O Mahony
    Favourite John O Mahony
    May 1st 2023, 10:19 AM

@William Slevin: idiotic thinking

Mute John O Mahony
    Favourite John O Mahony
    May 1st 2023, 10:24 AM

@William Slevin: I have a freedom. Of choice in all the above. I choose to follow the laws of the land. I choose to vote.i have yet to come across legislation that controls me. Freedom of choice is still legal in this country. So no I don’t bend to none. Logical attitude and thinking. Not so far right nonsense

Mute William Slevin
    Favourite William Slevin
    May 1st 2023, 6:51 PM

@John O Mahony: your freedoms are restricted fir the greater “good”…you do not have the freedom of choice to own a tv, to own a pub, to own a dog, to fish and so on…you need permission…if you need permission you are not free and you submit to those men and women who give you permission…you submit to their authority…get it now you are not free…you are a subject of the law, who makes the law the legislatures who are the legislatures agents of the state…you are a subject of the state as the state has the power to create legislation which you are subjected too unless the constitution is changed…until then you are a subject that bows to the authority of the state and its agents…you do not have the freedom of choice only the choice they allow you to have…

Mute John O Mahony
    Favourite John O Mahony
    May 1st 2023, 7:00 PM

@William Slevin: that is pure B.S. I have a choice to abide by the law or break it. I am free to leave the country if I wish. Grow up we live in a civilised society not one of extremist views like your thank god .

Mute John O Mahony
    Favourite John O Mahony
    May 1st 2023, 7:08 PM

@William Slevin: you have gone from allegiance to the king.,to covid, to our constitution do you even know what you are tak8ng about. As for the above no one stops you from buying any of the above you are free to by them, I don’t need a license to fish, as they say plenty of fish in the sea. So I have had enough of you B.S. have a good evening and don’t forget to bow. Lol.

Mute William Slevin
    Favourite William Slevin
    May 1st 2023, 8:33 PM

@John O Mahony: lol have a good enough you subject of the state you lol seriously have a good evening… :D