You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/metamorworks

'About 70% of immune cells are in the gut': 5 reasons why you should look after your gut health

There has been a strong focus on gut health in recent years.

WE KNOW HOW important it is to look after our heart, liver and other organs for our overall health and wellbeing, but what about our gut?

Research in recent years has shown that our gut health can affect us in more ways than we’ve ever known, from our immune system to our brain. 

“Gut health has become really popular over the last 10 years or so,” says Aoife McDonald, a dietician at The Digestive Health Clinic. “That’s due to advances in scientific research, where they’re actually able to see through DNA sequencing what bacteria and other things are in the gut, when that couldn’t really be done before.”

We spoke to Aoife to find out exactly why we need to pay attention to our gut health, but first, let’s get our terms straight:

“In gut health, there are two terms which are used interchangeably, although they’re slightly different. Gut microbiome refers to all of the bacteria in your gut, plus all their genetic material. Then there’s gut microbiota, which just refers to the microbes (microorganisms) in the gut.” 

Got it? Read on.

1. Gut health can affect your energy levels

“Gut health is important for your energy levels,” says Aoife. Even if you follow a healthy diet, your gut needs to be functioning correctly in order to ensure that you are absorbing and digesting food correctly.  

“If your gastrointestinal (GI) tract isn’t working properly, then you’re not going to be able to extract energy and protein etc from your food.”

shutterstock_1105520444 Shutterstock / Anna Kucher Shutterstock / Anna Kucher / Anna Kucher

2. Having ‘bad’ bacteria in the gut can affect your health

“We know from research that the more diverse your gut microbiota is, the better,” says Aoife. “If people have too many of the ‘bad guys’ or bad bacteria in their gut, they’re more likely to develop certain diseases or conditions.”

“Diet can have a big impact on gut bacteria, so looking after your gut through diet and other things – like sleep – can help you get the best microbiota you can.”

The more plant food you’re eating, the better. 

3. A healthy gut can stop the wrong things getting into the bloodstream 

So we know about the ‘bad’ bacteria in the gut, but how do we encourage the presence of ‘good’ bacteria? “What the microbes feed on is mainly fibre, so that’s why we encourage people to have a high fibre diet, if they can tolerate it, because that’s what the microbes like,” explains Aoife.

shutterstock_326988029 Shutterstock / Tatiana Bralnina Shutterstock / Tatiana Bralnina / Tatiana Bralnina

“Humans don’t have enzymes that can break down fibre, so it gets all the way through to the large intestine, and that’s where the gut bacteria are and they ferment it or eat it. That’s how you feed the ‘good guys’.”

“After fermenting the fibre, then the most common thing they produce are short chain fatty acids. These are very important and they help towards improving inflammation in the body. They kind of are a food for the cells lining the gut, so that can keep the gut barrier strong, which can prevent the wrong things getting into the bloodstream.” 

We also know that Omega 3 can contribute towards feeding the good bacteria.

4. Your gut is closely linked to your brain

Have you ever felt worried or stressed, and then gotten an upset stomach? That could be because of the link between your brain and your gut.

“Your gut and brain are connected,” says Aoife. “So if someone’s nervous and has an upset stomach before an exam, that can mean there was a communication between the gut and the brain. Your gut has its own nervous system and it is directly connected to your brain. So if your brain is feeling something, your gut can feel it and vice versa.”

shutterstock_1188695488 Shutterstock / ViDI Studio Shutterstock / ViDI Studio / ViDI Studio

5. Your gut plays a key role in your immune system 

“About 70% of your immune tissues or cells are in the gut or lining the gut,” says Aoife. “We know that gut health is often linked to immunity. So if someone is suffering from digestive problems, they may be more likely to suffer from infections or the common cold. Their immune system can be affected in that way. That could be to do with if they’re not eating a diverse diet and therefore their gut is suffering, and their body isn’t able to produce the immune cells effectively.”

Fortunately, gut health is something people of all ages and stages of life can improve. “We’re born with DNA which you can’t change, but we know that we can change the gut microbiota,” says Aoife.

Looking to improve your gut health? Aqua Biome is an easy way to help look after your gut every day. It’s designed for a healthy microbiome and contains an optimal Omega blend to bring diversity to your microbiome which, in turn, can lead to benefits including improved energy and immunity. Find out more about Aqua Biome here

10 Comments
    Mute Luther Cooper
    Favourite Luther Cooper
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:14 AM

Eh….why the vow of celibacy so.

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:39 AM

A bit rich coming from the head of a celibit cult.

Mute beachcomber
    Favourite beachcomber
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:00 AM

Sometimes the hypocrisy is dumbfounding isn’t it!

Mute beachcomber
    Favourite beachcomber
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:01 AM

The same celebit cult that will tell married couples how to deal with relationship problems.

Mute Helen Stoker
    Favourite Helen Stoker
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:31 AM

Spot on !!!

Mute Boyne Sharky
    Favourite Boyne Sharky
    Feb 13th 2015, 10:23 AM

Methinks someone’s laying the ground works for one Hell of an excuse…

Mute The Man of Arán
    Favourite The Man of Arán
    Feb 13th 2015, 2:43 PM

*celibate

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:15 AM

What about the choice to have lots of children and then treat them like shyte?

Mute Helen Stoker
    Favourite Helen Stoker
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:27 AM

Your name suits you …..did the Pope not say Catholics do not have to breed like rabbits ??????

Mute Colin Moran
    Favourite Colin Moran
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:32 AM

My name? Ooooohh…I get it. I think you might mean ‘moron’ instead of ‘Moran’. If you’re going to slag someone off at least get it right Helen. Or are you just stoking up trouble, ya Stoker?

Mute robby rottenest
    Favourite robby rottenest
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:18 AM

Imagine the shite he’d come out with drunk?

Mute Richard Cynical
    Favourite Richard Cynical
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:53 AM

I’d say he is half cut most of the time robbie

Mute robby rottenest
    Favourite robby rottenest
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:04 AM

Communion wine?

Mute Caillte
    Favourite Caillte

Yes… because the world isn’t already over populated enough.

Mute Maurice Bourke
    Favourite Maurice Bourke
    Feb 13th 2015, 10:13 AM

To be honest the world isn’t overpopulated despite what all the fear porn on the subject says.

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant

Devoting yourself to a life of celibacy is grand, though.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:35 AM

Pope’s guide to being a good person in two easy steps, based on his pronouncements of the last two weeks:

1) Have children

2) Beat them (in a loving way) when you finally realise you’re not equipped to bring up children

Mute Daragh Cassidy
    Favourite Daragh Cassidy
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:09 AM

Sometimes it takes a pretty selfless person to realise they may be selfish to have a kid.

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:47 AM

I know plenty of childless couples who are quite content without children. I think most of the time its not a selfish decision but a responsible one. Sometimes its not even a decision, they are happy with their lot and want to keep it that way

Lets face it when a child comes into a relationship its like putting a bomb under it. Its feckin mayhem!

Mute James Joseph Superior Power
    Favourite James Joseph Superior Power
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:48 AM

So he thinks that straight cupples are selfish for not wanting children and gay cupples are selfish if they do. He thinks that a straight cupple having a child is a gift from God and a gay cupple having a child is child abuse. O sorry I forgot he is celibate and never had a child. Shur isn’t that what qualifies him to know. Just like his predecessors qualifications enabled them know that the right thing to do was to sell of the children of un married mothers the highest bidder. But Shur listen lads and ladies the Pope knows best.

Mute Chauncey Gardiner
    Favourite Chauncey Gardiner
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:34 AM

It all started out so well Francis….

Mute Gwendoline
    Favourite Gwendoline
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:26 AM

What does he have to say about the people who can’t have children or have them and then they are taken away to be little angels?

Mute CitizenSmith©
    Favourite CitizenSmith©
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:15 AM

Men in frocks shouldn’t talk about “having” children, that’s what normally gets them into trouble

Mute trickytrixster
    Favourite trickytrixster
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:22 AM

He hasn’t been to Africa recently I’m guessing

Mute David Wa
    Favourite David Wa
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:28 AM

Is it worse if i don’t have kids, or have kids but don’t beat them? The Catholic Church really needs to clarify these issues.

Mute Shannon Cassidy
    Favourite Shannon Cassidy
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:14 AM

Well he said it’s ok to slap your child as long as it is somewhere it cant be seen soooooo…

Mute I invented the @
    Favourite I invented the @
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:16 AM

How on earth does he keep that suit clean..must require more than 2 dry cleans a year

Mute Swanky Joe
    Favourite Swanky Joe
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:22 AM

He uses DAZ.

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:41 AM

They should make something of that. “When washing away the sins of the world is not enough, you need Daz.”

Mute Diarmuid O'Connor
    Favourite Diarmuid O'Connor
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:45 AM

Dirt doesn’t stick to the pope, it moves and gets hidden by cardinals and bishops.

Mute Suzanne Mc Aleenan
    Favourite Suzanne Mc Aleenan
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:20 AM

How dare he. We chose not to have children it was our choice and not selfish we had our own reasons. I’m disgusted.

Mute Dave barrett
    Favourite Dave barrett
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:24 AM

And to sell children run by the religious orders wasn’t selfish. Hypocrite

Mute markdunnecork
    Favourite markdunnecork
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:35 AM

Another load of bull from the Vatican

Mute Smiley
    Favourite Smiley
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:34 AM

Would that be papal bull?

Mute Derek Smalls
    Favourite Derek Smalls
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:59 AM

“Don’t be selfish, everyone – you must have children …but, hey, don’t breed like rabbits either! When you have children, you can feel free to beat them as much as you feel the defenceless human beings ‘deserve’ …but only in a ‘beautiful’ way that doesn’t harm their dignity”.

That just about sums up the great man’s last three messages.

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:27 AM

His church needs a steady stream of sex slaves and laundry operators to survive!

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:21 AM

Pope call himself selfish!

Logic of the RCC.

Mute Liam Coyle
    Favourite Liam Coyle
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:46 AM

What a lecturing hypocritical arse wipe (yes I’m in a relationship that’s chosen not to have kids and with good reasons).

Mute Brian Casey
    Favourite Brian Casey
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:15 AM

Its none of his business

Mute George Grey
    Favourite George Grey
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:24 AM

It’s best not to have children because of the shite his angry god created!

Mute Dave barrett
    Favourite Dave barrett
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:49 AM

Someone has been listening g to Stephen fry

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:22 AM

The ‘hipster-pope’ thing was fun for a while, but he needs to shut his noise hole now.

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:32 AM

At least If you choose not to have kids at least you won’t be able to beat them your holiness.

Mute Luther Cooper
    Favourite Luther Cooper
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:51 AM

Easy for him to say living a life of luxury. He doesn’t have to worry about how he’s gonna feed or clothe kids. Self righteous a hole

Mute Dominick Lodola
    Favourite Dominick Lodola
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:27 AM

Well he should know.

Mute richard fennessy
    Favourite richard fennessy
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:37 AM

Ah they loves the kiddies they don’t wNt a shortage

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:23 AM

As a very happily man with no children, the Pope’s views no longer are of relevance to me.

People can choose to have children or not to have children. It is their own choice and not the business of the Pope.

Having children is an immensely responsible and difficult undertaking. I’m full of admiration for their commitment and sacrifice when they are good parents.

Affordability is a major factor. If we live in an anti child society, where Government policy towards families with children are so harsh, this is a deterrent factor.

Even a non parent like me knows the cost of crèches and child care. Will the Pope tell the Government to develop pro family policies?

For now, we pay higher taxes than if we did have children, thereby providing some assistance but not enough assistance. Childless couples should pay even more tax. Society benefits from children but not all of us are suitable to be parents.

Mute Frank Dowling
    Favourite Frank Dowling

“Childless couples should pay even more tax” HUH? red thumbed ya right there Anthony

Mute Mark Fitton
    Favourite Mark Fitton
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:17 AM

For a long time now, the popes, and the catholic church, views have had no relevance to me also.

Mute Gill Hogan
    Favourite Gill Hogan
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:56 AM

What a pathetic old man

Mute Emma
    Favourite Emma

A lot of you are completely missing the point. If you’re Christian and you choose not to have children it is selfish. I choose not to have children because I am selfish. I don’t want the expenditure, the effort or the sleepless nights. If you’re not Christian then his message doesn’t really apply to you.

Mute Dave barrett
    Favourite Dave barrett
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:48 AM

If you found yrself pregnant in the morning what would you do Emma since you don’t want children

Mute Gwendoline
    Favourite Gwendoline

Emma, I’m Christian and God has chosen not to bless me and my husband with children. Am I selfish? I don’t think so.

Mute Mjhint
    Favourite Mjhint

Emma this mans hypocrisy is beyond measure. How can a man that has never had sex been in an intimate relationship or had a child have an opinion on it. He is speaking from a position of ignorance.

Mute Derek Smalls
    Favourite Derek Smalls
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:27 AM

The decision not to have children is actually quite selfless in most cases, I would imagine.
    Furthermore, the pope’s comments are quite insensitive to couples who can’t have children but would like to.

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:39 AM

Emma is right people. This is what he is supposed to say. If you are not catholic just ignore it. Religions are all about removing personal choice. This is just another example of that. Nothing new here, nothing surprising. Just ignore and move on. It doesn’t apply unless you are catholic and if you are this is what you signed up for

Mute TheDoctor
    Favourite TheDoctor
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:56 AM

Actually Catherine, some eejit encouraging his followers, most of which are poor people from less developed countries, affects everybody. Not just catholics.

Mute Catherine Sims
    Favourite Catherine Sims
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:22 AM

No you are wrong. It doesn’t. He has already said catholics dont need to breed like rabbits. Islam encourages reproducing and allows youth take a few wives in order to do that. Religions always encourages reproducing and maintaining the numbers of the faithful for the next generation. Equally we have the state in China telling families for years they could only have one child. Essentially reproducing should be the concern on the twould people concerned. If you are going to criticise the Pope then equally you should criticise Islam and a lot of other religions also. If you are worried about over population. Also.if you are worried about a third party getting involved in a couples decision to reproduce then you need to also include China in that criticism. Poor people are also entitled to.reproduce and traditionally having several children is necessary to ensure you have someone to look after you when you are old. Many children didn’t make it past infancy. So there are cultural and practical reasons for many poorer people reproducing. Also mostly it boils down to lack of availability of contraception.

Mute TheDoctor
    Favourite TheDoctor
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:50 AM

No, I’m not wrong.

Mute Emma
    Favourite Emma
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:58 AM

The difference is having the CHOICE. I am capable of having children I just choose not to. It is absolutely a selfish choice. Ask any couple why they choose not to have kids and you’ll get the honest answer – money, holidays, nice things. I’m the exact same way, I am selfish in not wanting to have children. The man is bang on the money.

Unpopular opinion, but then again the truth is generally unpopular.

Mute Emma
    Favourite Emma
    Feb 13th 2015, 10:00 AM

Derek, please detail how, if you have the means, choosing not to have children is selfless?

Mute Emma
    Favourite Emma
    Feb 13th 2015, 10:01 AM

Also Dave, different situation. The topic is about choice and choosing not to have a child, not about abortion – which you are clearly trying to bring about.

Mute Dee Kiernan
    Favourite Dee Kiernan
    Feb 13th 2015, 1:46 PM

I have been married for over 15 years, my husband and I both have good jobs and have the “means” but neither have the maternal/paternal instincts, should we have kids because we can afford them?

Mute Ed Appleby
    Favourite Ed Appleby
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:55 PM

Maybe your “god ” is then?

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:29 AM

Usual bollocks from the corpse-on-a-stick cult!

Mute B
    Favourite B

Ya wouldn’t be suggesting the use of artificial contraception now woulda!

Mute Kieran Harvey
    Favourite Kieran Harvey
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:03 AM

I actually agreed with his original comments about (occassionally) smacking children, but he’s totally lost his marbles this time round. In Ireland you need to be on combined gross salary of at least €80k (or else on the social welfare goldmine career) just to provide bare essentials to a family of 2 kids. Most don’t earn that much.

Mute B-Egan
    Favourite B-Egan
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:08 AM

The church would be advised to shut its mouth on this one with their record of selfish acts primarily against children

Mute Colm O'Leary
    Favourite Colm O'Leary
    Feb 13th 2015, 10:25 AM

Pot, kettle, black comes to mind. All they are worried about are bums on seats and pennies in collection plates. Well, if he’s that worried and its SO selfish, why doesn’t HE go off and knock out a few kids for the cause?

Mute Pandorly
    Favourite Pandorly
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:46 AM

Oh, rather than waiting until I’m ready to have children, until I have the means to support them and the maturity to rear them in a happy environment so that they’ll have the opportunity to grow into balanced, healthy adults, I’d better just breed like a rabbit because a celibate Argentinian in a dress is saying I’m selfish. I’ll also hit them on their bodies to discipline them, it’s beautiful because I don’t humiliate them that way. I’d also love to shoot myself straight in the face in public as a statement about how the Catholic Church is getting so much media attention for just being a mental old man right now and yet a crazy girl shooting herself in the face to convey the futility of it all would probably get two lines and be forgotten about. Why do we continue to indulge this insanity.

Mute Rob Mahony
    Favourite Rob Mahony

He is right. It is selfish. However nothing wrong with being selfish and doing what is best for you.

Mute sarah
    Favourite sarah
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:20 AM

NOT having children isn’t selfish. If you put serious thought into such a huge decision, and decide you cannot bring a child up in the best possible way, you are being selfless. Ultimately YOU lose out on something so wonderful. However if you feel you cannot afford a child/give a child all the emotional, mental and physical needs etc, and therefore doesn’t go on to have one, in my view you are nothing but responsible and selfless!

Mute TheDoctor
    Favourite TheDoctor
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:54 AM

In a world that is way over populated as it is, I would argue that having children is probably the more selfish act.

Mute Barbara Atkinson
    Favourite Barbara Atkinson
    Feb 13th 2015, 12:25 PM

What do you call this pope whose housing and protecting Pedophiles?

Mute Ewan Scott-Douglas
    Favourite Ewan Scott-Douglas

Am I finding the irony of this coming from a man who has taken a vow of Celibacy and is probably a virgin ??

Mute Mark Fitton
    Favourite Mark Fitton
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:21 AM

Reminds me slightly of “Every sperm is sacred” song from Monty Pythons “The meaning of life” film!!

Mute Darren Mullen
    Favourite Darren Mullen
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:40 AM

Don’t you just love taking marriage and parenting advice from those who haven’t had either, it’s like being in a plane with screaming children and someone who has never had kids asking if you could shut them up.

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:45 AM

Having children is as selfish as not having them really. Leave it to the celibate lecturers though to tell the Irish sheeple whats best!

Mute Juan Venegas
    Favourite Juan Venegas
    Feb 13th 2015, 11:20 AM

You had a good run Francis, but at the end of the day a pope is a pope.

Mute Eilish Deegan
    Favourite Eilish Deegan
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:07 AM

I think that when ur in a hole ,u should stop digging .

Mute James Carpenter
    Favourite James Carpenter
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:46 AM

Easy for him to say, he does not have any children

Mute Paul Ryan
    Favourite Paul Ryan

Remind me, how many kids does Pope Frankie have again?

Mute Barbara Atkinson
    Favourite Barbara Atkinson
    Feb 13th 2015, 12:21 PM

So this pedophile ring leader who is housing the majority of the worlds pedophiles and won’t hand them over to the police is now advising us on whether we should or shouldn’t be having children??? Didn’t he also quote something about its ok to smack kids as long as it isn’t in the face!!! This coming from a man who has never had children and goes around in a adult size baby gown?

Mute Dave O'Reilly
    Favourite Dave O'Reilly
    Feb 13th 2015, 8:19 AM

It is selfish but there’s nothing wrong with being selfish sometimes.

Mute Just Gina
    Favourite Just Gina
    Feb 13th 2015, 5:56 PM

That’s ok. I’m selfish, I’m atheist and you’re just a weird dude in a dress.

Mute Vincent O Mahony
    Favourite Vincent O Mahony
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:05 AM

Hmm.. Children do enrich your life for sure but everything in moderation!

Having lots of kids made sense when life expectancy was shorter and we didn’t have the medicines, technologies and societal advances that we have now.

Seems that CC ideology was developed in a very different time and needs to catch up.

But then this Pope did also say something like not to be breeding like rabbits. Maybe he is somewhere in between then.. but where exactly? I think some clarity and specificity on his position would be welcome for the millions that follow the CC – look at the poor catholic countries with population challenges – they may be getting confused by different messages.

For me having 2 kids in my thirties is my ideal scenario.

Mute Atticus the Accuser
    Favourite Atticus the Accuser
    Feb 13th 2015, 12:16 PM

The honeymoon is over for this P. R Pope and now we begin to see his true underbelly. Greedy generation? How many billions have the Vatican got? How many churches worldwide and how many masses daily with up to three collection plates! Now who is being greedy?

How many children does he have? I know some of the Princes of the Church(modest name Jesus was all about the modesty) the Cardinals have a few sprogs but that’s all under wraps.

This guy thinks it’s OK to hit children! Is that a message that correlates with the alleged teachings of Jesus?

The sad thing is some people think this is God’s earthly representative but in reality it’s an old man who was elected by other old men who are allegedly celibate and believe the same dogmas of nonsense and belong to an organisation that makes the mafia look like saints.

Mute Mel Gavin
    Favourite Mel Gavin
    Feb 13th 2015, 1:39 PM

Could it not also be a very unselfish decision. Most of us end up wanting kids. However the world is already over populated, 7 billion heading for 9 billion mid century. We’re continually fighting each other over land, oil, gas, food (probably water)…let’s not kid ourselves that wars are just about religion. If a couple decide not to have a kid, surely this will reduce the future problems for other peoples kids.

Mute Roli Lowry
    Favourite Roli Lowry
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:37 AM

So how many children does he have???

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Feb 13th 2015, 1:33 PM

You’re selfish.

Translation: You’re not doing things my way.

Mute Edward Smith
    Favourite Edward Smith
    Feb 13th 2015, 1:42 PM

It is clear that the majority don’t agree with his ramblings

Mute Edward Smith
    Favourite Edward Smith
    Feb 13th 2015, 1:46 PM

I wasn’t finished, as I was saying: It is clear the majority don’t agree with his ramblings. That’s why it is hard to understand why the majority still say they are part of his church on the senses in this country. Boggles me…

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Feb 13th 2015, 9:45 PM

Edward your argument suggests they ever had a choice in the first place? Tell me who had the choice here that didnt immigrate, if you were born here you were forced into Catholicism thats kinda how this whole thing works, in spite of your own convictions. I gather youre religious but take me for example , Im agnostic – I leave others to their devices but I will speak up where those force their beliefs near me. Yet I cannot leave due to changes in canon law, Im guessing a result of clerical abuse findings. This is a country that has a majority support but because they call themselves Catholic. We are far from all practicing again whatever about your own convictions.

Mute Lester Jeffcoat
    Favourite Lester Jeffcoat
    Feb 13th 2015, 7:30 AM
    Mute Marie McCormack
    Favourite Marie McCormack
    Feb 13th 2015, 11:50 AM

Not getting kids is as selfish as is not getting a pet. If that’s the definition of being selfish, let it be so.

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    Feb 13th 2015, 1:31 PM

Why doesn’t he have any kids then? Or is there something we don’t know?

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Feb 13th 2015, 1:32 PM

Not a surprising statement. The man is cracked. It’s a qualifier for the position. You can be an angry cracked pope, like the one he replaced, or a kind and bungling old pope like ol’ Frank is.

Mute Sandra Turner
    Favourite Sandra Turner
    Feb 13th 2015, 5:15 PM

How many kids has he got himself?

Feb 13th 2015, 3:34 PM

It’s actually none of his business. Where are all his kids? Oh the irony.

Mute Aisling Farrell
    Favourite Aisling Farrell
    Feb 13th 2015, 10:37 PM

Well technically he himself chose not to have any!!

Feb 13th 2015, 5:17 PM

Priests, Monks and Nuns will wonder at this lol.
    I am waiting on Petrus Romanus…

Mute Sam O Nella
    Favourite Sam O Nella
    Feb 14th 2015, 10:17 PM

China and india are very selfless and they turned out fine

Mute JD/DC
    Favourite JD/DC
    Feb 13th 2015, 11:18 AM

Loving this new pope.

Mute Ordinary Joe
    Favourite Ordinary Joe
    Feb 14th 2015, 10:05 PM

Hahaha, and how many children does the Pope have?

Mute Olivia Dolly Dolan
    Favourite Olivia Dolly Dolan
    Feb 14th 2015, 8:48 AM

… this to me seems like another ‘off the cuff’ comment from the pope, maybe he should chat to his media section first before he has a run at the ordinary people that follow his church. But debate is always good…