You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Army almost called in to protect banks during the crisis

Simon Coveney said the country was “bust”.

PLAY YOUR PART The Army Reserve are looking for Defence Forces / Facebook Defence Forces / Facebook / Facebook

THE ARMY WAS almost called in to protect Ireland’s banks during the depths of the financial crisis, Agriculture and Defence Minister Simon Coveney has said.

Coveney told Newstalk the public didn’t realise how close to the edge the country was during the worst phase of the economic recession, which took hold in 2008.

He said Enda Kenny had been briefed that the army may need to be called in to protect banks in case they ran out of money.

“We were losing about 1,000 jobs a week in the economy, the country was bust.”

The Taoiseach was getting briefed by the Central Bank that actually he needed to have a fall-back position whereby the army may have to surround banks to protect them because we could literally run out of money. That is how close to the edge we were as a country because of political mismanagement in the past.

During the interview Coveney defended Kenny, saying he had led “from the floor” after years of “political mismanagement”.

Ireland’s economy might be picking up, but workers’ earnings are still going backwards

‘The IMF did not sufficiently tailor its advice to countries during the crisis’

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 126 comments
126 Comments
    Mute Maria
    Favourite Maria
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:30 PM

All I want to know is did the IRA move sex offenders beside my house beside my children. It’s a simple question to ask. Mary Lou are you going to answer this?

Mute John B
    Favourite John B
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:36 PM

But….. But…… But…. But….. Water charges…… But….. Tax……

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:49 PM

Why are people making a link between possible child abuse in Sinn Fein and the water charges? I would have thought they are completely separate issues are they not? Unless maybe one was trying to make honest protesters feel guilty for joining an upcoming protest perhaps?…

See 48 more replies ▾
    Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:54 PM

But but but tuam mother and child home. ..but but but symphisiotomy survivors being left to die before renumeration. But but but Bruton sitting on the Ansbacher file. ..but but but

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:55 PM

Where is that Maria? Right beside your brand new twitter account?

Mute poisonivy
    Favourite poisonivy
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:00 PM

Yeah I’d like to know that too @thetruth. I’d like to know why almost *every time* FG have been pushed by SF on matters concerning water charges they use victims if sexual abuse as shields to deflect questions they don’t want to answer. It’s on both sides

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:01 PM

Maria the FG shill. Welcome (again) to twitter.

Mute Sally Song
    Favourite Sally Song

Excatly maria, Sinn Fein have behaved as they always have, low life thugs!

Mute The whistler
    Favourite The whistler

All i want to know is when did “expelling people” suddenly become “moving people to”?

For a while I lived next door to drug dealers who were expelled from the north by the provos. At no stage was I under the impression that the IRA had somehow procured the house next door and then moved drug dealers into it

Maybe that’s because I’m not thick or disingenuous. Which one are you Maria?

Mute poisonivy
    Favourite poisonivy
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:03 PM

Sorry @niall

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:08 PM

Convenient isn’t it. The last bastion of a scoundrel

Mute Real Democrat
    Favourite Real Democrat
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:08 PM

Spot on Maria, Mary is up her deflection tactics again. S F have no respect for your opinion or democracy.
    Ignore the SF bullies & keyboard warriors on this site they just love listening to themselves. They are slowly turning the floating voter away from SF

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:09 PM

Sally song another fake account

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:09 PM

Maria

You poor misfortune !! All that worry that you are carrying!!

Statistics would tell you that you should worry more about family .. I’ll light a candle for you #sosorryforyoumyheartisbleedingforyou

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:10 PM

Everything that gets slung at sf is boosting them in the polls. People are not stupid anymore

Mute Sam Bartell
    Favourite Sam Bartell
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:10 PM

Why not ask the same of joan burton? How many offical ira nembers are now in her ranks? After all isnt 1 of labour jnr ministers married to a convicted ira killer?

Mute Sally Song
    Favourite Sally Song
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:12 PM

Fake account? Explain!

Mute Sabrina
    Favourite Sabrina
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:29 PM

No one is saying that the North doesn’t have trouble or didn’t have trouble with the IRA but here in the ROI there has been more cover ups about abuse and rape then anywhere else. Leave the north to deal with there problems and the ROI need to deal with our problems. The north shouldn’t even be spoken about in the Dail. It has nothing to do with us

Mute tom murphy
    Favourite tom murphy
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:30 PM

Apart from the trolls when did you lot start to believe the department of justice in this country.

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:33 PM

Maybe that’s why Lady Justice wears a blindfold?

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:59 PM

Sabrina,only when it can be used to try dirty sf who majority of sitting TDs weren’t even out of nappies then. But when Irish people up north called for help from our government chicken shits sat back and let them fend for themselves. The Irish in north could sue fg ff etc.. for abandoning them. Imagine if Irish government had balls then probably would never have gotten so far as it did with the deaths that occurred. Just a thought.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:01 PM

That’s right whistler, if there was clear evidence of guilt, in any crime, it was either – GET OUT – or get shot – they weren’t “sent” anywhere. That’s they way it was in the community I lived in.

Mute PSOB
    Favourite PSOB
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:06 PM

This is in no way an attempt to deflect from the arrest of NI’s Sinn Féin Chairman earlier today. Just sayin’.

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:15 PM

Who is deflecting here. You are. Just cause you can’t comment on the case on journal. If he is guilty let it be proven and let him be charged etc.. if not guilty then will people leave it alone. Doubt likes of you will. Mary Lou asked a question. This has nothing to do with chairman of sf up north. Back in your box

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:16 PM

Amazing all the fake accounts here recently,
    Like good little Fine Gael drones they must obey Herr Kenny!! Who in turn obeys Angela!
    When are we getting our new party and a leader who will take no crap from Germany!
    One more scandal and this anti-Irish coalition will be brought down,defending corruption after scandal when in fact they should be running the country like we elected them to do.

Mute Sabrina
    Favourite Sabrina
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:19 PM

fUVE That’s so true but I cant work out why Joan, Enda and Mary Lou keeps on bringing up the abuse in the Dail. It has nothing to do with the Dail. They sit there and think of ways to get people on their side. I was never one for all this politics didn’t understand it and didn’t want to. But the last 2 years hell I know about it all now. There is not one TD in this that would offer you help with anything. I may just have to come clean to a reporter about my abuse and blow the whole Dail apart even tho I signed a contract that I wouldn’t make it public and the money I got for keep quiet I still have never spent a penny of it. Tell ya watch this space

Mute Maria
    Favourite Maria
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:22 PM

I am not a FG member and I voted independents in the last election it is a simple question I just want to know where these people went. Is that too much to ask from any political party? A straight answer???

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:24 PM

Yer “just sayin”….. because yer an orange bigot

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:25 PM

No one was “sent” anywhere!!!

Mute Sabrina
    Favourite Sabrina
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:25 PM

Maria I’m a Sinn Fein member so don’t worry about who you voted for. Q the red thumbs. Like No party can be any worse then what we have now

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:38 PM

Dave – Dr Goebbels Propaganda Agency , has been retained by Fine Gael’s Headquarters to buy into every available Fake Twitter Accounts , using fake Republican names and Photos .

The Blueshirt Fascists are seriously under pressure .
    They will probably be burning down bookshops and certain free speaking “uncontrolled” publications next !!!!

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:44 PM

Sabrina. A FF/FG government would be worse than we have now.A lot worse.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:54 PM

Maria, I’ll say it again – no one was SENT anywhere.

If someone was found to be responsible for abuse, or any other crime, they were told to get out – and don’t come back – if yer seen here again you’ll be shot – and that was the end of it.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:56 PM

That post was to SOB

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen

Your not a million miles off there Kerry,we may as well have just voted in Merkel and be done with it.We won’t have much longer to wait though!The single most despised party in my living memory will eat themselves soon when they realise we’ve nothing left to feed them.

Mute Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Pádraig Ó Braonáin

That post was to SOB

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:58 PM

And when people were put out – found guilty by a kangaroo court – im quite sure the ruc/psni were aware of it, as were the gardai if those found guilty made their way to the south. @Maria. Is your neighbour from the north? Did he arrive unexpectedly and in suspicious circumstances? Has he been behaving inappropriately around children? If so, get in contact with the gardai.

Mute Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:59 PM

Sorry to everyone, for my double posts, and also in the wrong position, not sure what happened.

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:02 PM

Why is it every time a SF member gets asked hard questions SF provoke the suspension of the Dáil?

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:03 PM

So you were happy that the drug dealers were moved to the mother ship?

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:05 PM

They were sent out.

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:06 PM

SF have a particular skill for propaganda. They learned well from Dr Goebbels

Mute tom murphy
    Favourite tom murphy
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:15 PM

Fuve
    More like just the truth

Mute tom murphy
    Favourite tom murphy
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:16 PM

Bobby Story was 16 in 1972

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:22 PM

The lads who beat up the mcconville kid were the same age as him.

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Favourite Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:31 PM

In case you missed it, Thomas – SF were the ones asking the hard questions.

Mute tom murphy
    Favourite tom murphy
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:34 PM

Thomas
    I think you’re closer to the mothership then anybody else here enjoy your trip

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Nov 27th 2014, 11:15 PM

Hey Sabrina sorry to hear that. Horrible horrible thing to carry and hide. Friend of mine was raped by her uncle for years.She told me when I was fifteen. And don’t know if she ever did anything about it. Blow it all wide open girl. If you are ready and feel you need to. All abusers should be brought to justice and named. I would say for Mary Lou it is probably a bit of point scoring but also anger and upset being a mother herself. I know I would if I suspected the government ( justice department may have ignored) while on other foot fg lab accusing sf of knowing stuff. And had some power to speak up. The fg Labs ff accusing sf. Is so obviously only complete point scoring because when sink fein weren’t a threat there wasn’t a murmur about them.

Mute Sabrina
    Favourite Sabrina
    Nov 27th 2014, 11:51 PM

Thomas the only way the Dail goes wrong is when Barret is sitting in his baby highchair and when he cant get his own way he throws his toys out of the pram. He really needs to be sent to the nursing home. He has always had a thing about any Sinn Fein member and he cant stand Mary Lou. He doesn’t have a problem with Joan and lets her run her mouth every single time even when her time is up. He is too old to be there.

Mute Sabrina
    Favourite Sabrina
    Nov 27th 2014, 11:54 PM

Fuve
    If I was to talk about it I would go to Mary Lou and let her use it against Enda no one wants this out in the public. I would say by tomorrow all my comments will be removed. I hope that your friend found some peace and is able to get on with her life. There is no justice in Ireland.

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Nov 28th 2014, 12:14 AM

We all saw them girl even if removed I wont forget you. She seems to be happier now. I know whole family blanked him. Couldn’t say if they took any further. I hope you fin or found peace and live long happy life full of love and good people for the rest of your days : ) hugs x I reckon Mary Lou would be good kind person to bring it to. Oiche mhaith :)

Mute Tom Red
    Favourite Tom Red
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:23 PM

Mary Lou McDonald shoots herself in the Foot yet again…..
    Its a very bad habit she has….

Mute Dara McGann
    Favourite Dara McGann
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:31 PM

It’s amazing how if you go back three months a lot of people outside of her party were saying she should be running SF…wouldn’t trust her now, she’s down herself to be too irrational when crossed. Probably fell on the sword so Gerry can stick around

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:46 PM

Isn’t astonishing that Government is trying yet another cover up ?
    After Shatter was “resigned” , we were promised “Transparency” from the New Justice Minister Fitzgerald and Taoiseach Enda !
    But what do we get ? Just the same old cover-ups , innuendo and downright porkies !

This Government are on the point of collapse – one could see it in the shattered faces of An Tanaiste and the always inept Ceann Comhairle today .

We are very close to the inevitable General Election having to be called , in utter disgrace !

This will probably come to a head post Right2Water March, on Dec. 10th , to Dáil Éireann !

See 24 more replies ▾
    Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:49 PM

Another scandal now Kerry will speed up the impending doom

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:51 PM

Ciarrioch,

Why in God’s name would FG/Labour call an election now?

Allowing for the fact that they are not the brightest bulbs in the lampshade, it would be suicide.

No, as the old saying goe,s they will hang together or hang seperately.

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:51 PM

But they will hang

Mute PSOB
    Favourite PSOB
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:59 PM

SInn Féin members have never shot anyone in the foot.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:10 PM

Ah will you quit the stupid dopey comments – yer not in the least bit funny.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:24 PM

Padraic – he is very funny, but the funniest things are those closest to the truth.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:29 PM

With the tension levels , Justin , at their present “High” , rumour has it that An Tanaiste is already readying to pull the plug on FG , by virtue of the abuse level that their Public Representatives are getting !
    One only has to go on to the Labour Facebook Page to see the level of arranging the deckchairs on The Titanic is going on , where there is a continuous string of abuse being fired at The Party , by now Ex Labour Party Voters !

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:32 PM

PSOB – Your other FG Troll Twitter Account was obviously blocked – so now you must be running out of options in Blueshirt Fascist FINE GAEL !!!!!!!

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:54 PM

PSOB is only provisionally amusing.

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:57 PM

Shock horror – Ex FF voter who has account blocked attacks amusing commentator for using a resurrection account from his own rrssurectrd account and best form of abuse available is to refer to the colour of his shirt.

Mute PSOB
    Favourite PSOB
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:11 PM

An Ciarraioch, I have never met Official Shinnerbot, nor have I ever been a member of his organisation. I do know he had a comrade: Fear Ciarraioch.. any relation?

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:20 PM

Not sure,she might have a smoking gun here ..
    Kenny “hoist with his own petard”.?

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:42 PM

Mary Lou : Tanaiste, I have a constituent asking me can I help her with the progress of an allegation I made, could you answer a question please?
    Tanaiste : well firstly I would like to thank all the previous protestors for protesting, no sorry, the ones that didn’t protest, but stood beside the actual protestors, but understand why we need to bring this woeful tax,, no sorry , necessary charge to fix to fix the water infrastructure……..
    Mary Lou : Tanaiste please answer the question
    Tanaiste : well firstly I would like to thank……the bond holders, they were really lovely and nice and gracious people to lend this money…and we should pay them back because that’s what you do when people loose bets…and I’d like to thank chauffeurs
    Mary Lou: Ceann Comhairle, can you please ask the Tanaiste to answer the question
    Ceann Comhairle : let me look at the situation again, because I didn’t hear it while it was transpiring in front of me, let’s have a tea break.

Ceann Comhairle : my final answer is I can’t decide… So let’s resume ( as SF TD suggested ) … And SF can bring it to CPP (oh tg I will stay out of papers now)

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Nov 27th 2014, 11:10 PM

How come Mary Lou suddenly has compassion for victims of abuse having rejected other victims because their harrowing experience was managed away from justice by her shadowy handlers?

Did she smell some votes?

She is starting to strain the thin thread of sincerity that her furrowed brow portrays at every camera opportunity.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Nov 27th 2014, 11:11 PM

Dear FG / PSOB – Still FAKE TROLLING for The Blueshirts – pretending to be someone else ???????

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Nov 27th 2014, 11:15 PM

Who do you troll for Ciara? Your prolific output for Sinn Fein is verging on diarrhoea.

Has Mary met with Maria Cahill yet or other survivors of republican justice, or is she filtering her inbox for other more convenient victims, unconnected with her dirty legacy?

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Nov 27th 2014, 11:18 PM

John… How many victims of sexual abuse did the Tanaiste or Taoiseach meet? Of the hundreds, how many?

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Nov 27th 2014, 11:19 PM

Is meeting victims the new soul cleanser? Is that how Sinn Fein wash their hands these days?

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Nov 27th 2014, 11:29 PM

Simple disgusting Fact… There used to be a certain thinking that it was ok to abuse children, not only in this country but in most modern countries. Up until fairly recently, it was brushed under the carpet.. . Now it has been realised, and everybody realises the extent this horrific abuse occurred. And we all agree it will not be tolerated evermore.
    I’m all for bringing justice against child sex a users, and the type of justice that would make h-ll look like a holiday camp.
    But I have to say…. Holding current members of society/groups responsible for actions carried out by evil yokes, years ago is a step to far for me. And that goes for anyone in the religious/political/civilian

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Nov 27th 2014, 11:34 PM

Soul cleanser you ask…. I don’t know…ask Enda…does his soul feel cleansed after meeting A abuse victim? Your own question even belittles the plight these people went through.

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Nov 27th 2014, 11:57 PM

Anyone who red thumbs me for objecting to child sex abuse needs to be seen to.

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Nov 27th 2014, 11:58 PM

You seem to be contradicting yiurself Jenni. So do we hold to account those who were in positions of responsibility when the abuse happened or everyone who currently holds responsibility previously held by others who did not act?

Mute jenni
    Favourite jenni
    Nov 28th 2014, 12:26 AM

Thomas, when, and I’m not saying if, abuse was carried out as much as it was, 30 ,40,50 years ago it should have been stopped then. Unfortunately it wasn’t, so although there was some revulsion against it, it didn’t really hit the headlines until 10-15 years ago. Now that is no excuse in my mind.. Any perp should be treated like dirt on the street. But now we all know about it, now we are a new generation.. We can punish the few b**tards that are still here.
    I don’t see any point in making this a political agenda, all sections of society were doing it.. There is no right answer.
    I would just like a political forum to be just that…
    Signed
    Jenni
    Abused when I was 14

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Nov 28th 2014, 1:50 AM

Jenni my sympathies and I hope you are getting all the support you need. I don’t think there was revulsion 50 years ago. I think there was ignorance and disbelief. And an inability to deal with it. I think it was only when Bishop Casey was exposed that people were empowered to speak out. But the people in power then were from that ignorant and disbelieving generation. It took them a long time, too long, to respond. But they did respond and everyone can moan and complain about the nature of the response, and without in any way trivialising the issue you only have to listen to Joe Duffy to hear how much people love to moan. The problem was so widespread and so enormous and is still being uncovered that the State (and this is not party political – no matter what party was in power the challenge would be the same) has struggled to manage. The Sinn Fein element of this is inevitable. They ran large parts of Northern Ireland with brute force and rough justice. Only now is it coming to light that they dealt with sexual crimes as well. The problem for them is that the man at the top then is still at the top and they cannot admit their role without condemning him. And when you think about their politicisation of the issue when they were attacking the government, it is inevitable that they will face a counter reaction. And they cannot deal with it. I agree with you, the individual cases should be private, but SF can make this all go away if they say Yes we did this and that.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:29 PM

This man was questioned by an Garda Siochana and admitted to molesting young boys in his care – a file was made and sent to the DPP and a government Minister.

How was it then possible for this file to be forgotten, overlooked, lost, or whatever the hell happened to it – how is that possible? Who made the decision to – do nothing?

It makes one wonder what else is lurking in the deep underbelly of this sad little state, ready to jump out an re-shock us all over again.

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:44 PM

I shudder to think.

Mute David Thomas
    Favourite David Thomas
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:00 PM

An Irish government accusing someone of been complicant in child abuse. Does anyone else get the irony?

Mute PSOB
    Favourite PSOB
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:02 PM

Hopefully future BBC Spotlight programmes will reveal more from the underbelly of this sad little Free State,

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:09 PM

Does anyone else think it’s unbelievable that a sex abuse victim would approach Mary Lou for help, of all people, given the way Mary Lou stonewalled Mairia Cahill?

Mute Eoin Mac Cárthaigh
    Favourite Eoin Mac Cárthaigh
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:14 PM

Well Cahill went to Meehole Martin and Edna Kenny- funny considering their track record with historical sex abuse cases involving state complicity.

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:18 PM

She went to them as a last resort because of the way SF treated her

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:36 PM

Dermot,
    Do you not think the reverse applies in this case?
    I mean isn’t it just possible that the victim approached SF because of the way she was treated by the authorities here. The authorities… Interesting word… It used to mean agencies like the police, but thanks to Enda we have to get used to the idea of going to politicians before we waste police time.

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:45 PM

Well said Eoin,Fine Gael are playing political football with these people and like the citizens of our country who voted them in will be discarded once they get their German appeasement train running on full steam again.
    “it’s immoral and unjust to tax a persons home”. Spoofers!
    “Labours way or Frankfurts way”.Spoofers!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 28th 2014, 12:23 AM

THE D.P.P. …. That’s the term from this one The D.P.P. ….ANSBACHER ANYONE ?

Mute Paddy Hannigan
    Favourite Paddy Hannigan
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:07 PM

The offical denial from the DoJ happened way too fast.They didn’t even have time to properly investigate the claims.This will come back to bite them as usual.

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:55 PM

Agreed Paddy. The old saying ‘nothings true until its been officially denied’ has held true with this government, and the speed of this denial certainly does cock an eyebrow. Lest we forget the whistleblowers report that hung around the DOJ, or the aansbacher report that did the same in richard brutons office.

We may well see another public servant be blamed.

Mute PSOB
    Favourite PSOB
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:03 PM

Agreed. Sinn Féin takes slightly longer to deny things.

Mute Ignoreland
    Favourite Ignoreland
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:12 PM

DoJ denials: Clearly they’re lying!
    SF denials: This is a media/government conspiracy!! They’re completely innocent and will be vindicated!!

You’re all hypocrites.

Mute PSOB
    Favourite PSOB

The DOJ should follow SF’s example of transparency, accountability and truth telling.

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor

Lol

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:36 PM

Use your real name psob,you do sound like a little Fine Gael coward hiding behind the fake account.

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:45 PM

PSOB – Are the FG Trolls like YOU , still working this late at night ?

Hope that you are getting DOUBLE TIME from DR GOEBBELS Fascist Agency ?

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:09 PM

Check the twitter a/c name. Its shinnerbot after getting himself/herself banned again and using another fake account.

Mute tom murphy
    Favourite tom murphy
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:24 PM

Silent majority is also on this list of shinnerbot tweets

Mute Hugh Cavanagh
    Favourite Hugh Cavanagh
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:54 PM

Dave
    What about Mr Kerryman a former SF Councillor and then WereJammin and all of the other Shinners who use electronically generated names or hide behind nom de plumes?
    There is genuine fear among people that writing anything critical of Sinn Fein might get your legs broken or worse and even a Fine Gael TD stated as much. She announced in the Dail that she would give the Gardai a list of Republican paedophiles living in the State rather than name them as she was too afraid to do so.
    In these circumstances I wonder what Shinners have to be afraid of other than their exposure as Shinners?

Mute Dave cullen
    Favourite Dave cullen
    Nov 27th 2014, 11:18 PM

Hugh,
    Go asleep,the threads finished,just like your Fine Gael party.night and God bless.

Mute PSOB
    Favourite PSOB
    Nov 27th 2014, 11:32 PM

Comrades WereJammin, Ciarraioch, Murphy and Cullen, I am not, nor have I even been, a member of Official Shinnerbot’s twitter account. There is no proof, just don’t ask the dogs on the street.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Nov 28th 2014, 12:57 AM

Curry can Coca Cola Gerry! Bet you’ll wish you were back up with us racist b;)€&s instead of wasting away with the incompetent brown envelope brigade in the Dail.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 28th 2014, 1:33 AM

Hugh there isn’t a genuine fear among people if you write anything against Sinn Fein – you are in trouble …what there is in the pensioners minds of this State is that the State is to be feared – because when our pensioners were children their friends disappeared to letterfrack and other places and some never returned and those that did were never the same -

Mute Ivon Itchie Saq
    Favourite Ivon Itchie Saq
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:29 PM

Wait she actually lied and couldn’t substantiate her claims well I never a TD wouldn’t do that especially Mary Lou

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:48 PM

It’s only a matter of time until Mary Lou’s game will be up. You see, in a socialist state like small ireland, you cannot make outlandish promises to the have not’s and then still balance the books. Nobody likes Enda, but he will be reducing the marginal rates of tax over the next few years. The tax that hard-working people of this county pay….

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:34 PM

This maria girl should seriously wade out of the political arena and media circus and take her allegations of abuse to psni and the yards. If the abusers rapists are even still in Ireland. Since no sf TD is accuse d of rape or had anything to do with moving rapist or abusers anywhere then she should stop making slanderous statements. The stupid tit for tat in dail is ridiculous. How ever since Mary Lou was actually stating a case that us in our jurisdiction and fg are actually in charge then hers are valid questions. When fg ff lab ask questions about alleged rapists or abusers in ira it is not valid as not our jurisdiction and sf do not run psni( then ruc) up north. Also should not be allowed to accuse sf members of knowing of it or of helping any get away or hide. Now shut up and let police up north garda investigate.
    Mary Lou was right. Fg TDs etc.. wrong. Maria time to start just trying to get justice if that’s what you want. Stop going to media and having a go at sf. Cause you are damaging your case and looking less like victim and more like you have a different agenda.

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Ivon Itchie Saq
    Favourite Ivon Itchie Saq
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:44 PM

What you must be talking about another story this is about Mary Lou making allegations and being found out save your rant for another story

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:48 PM

Nope had my comments correct. No ranting here. Mary Lou is right to ask the question.

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:52 PM

P.s I had this linked to different comments above. Unfortunately attached to those comments.

Mute James Darby
    Favourite James Darby
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:58 PM

This is nothing to do with Mairia Cahill.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:20 PM

James, it has everything to do with Maria Cahill – because its fast becoming clears that this government is only interested in supporting rape victims that are from the six counties, even a dissident republican as Maria is/was….. but any other poor victim is just plain outta luck or even threatened to go away and shut up or “we’ll fight you”.

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:59 PM

Worried about how the SF house of cards is looking Fuve?

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:00 PM

What is a dissident republican o braonain? One who has a different opinion to thecetetnal leader if the spotless past?

Mute Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:05 PM

No Thomas, YOU and your party are worried about the 10th of December – and it shows.

Mute Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:19 PM

What are you on about Thomas? Maria is, or was or still is, a dissident republican e.g. one that is against the peace process basically.

btw I have some understanding for their point of view considering the disgusting behavior of the Dublin government.

Instead of assisting in the peace process, Dublin is selfishly battling with those that are trying desperately to hold the whole thing together.

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas

I don’t have a party, just a couple of drinks in the pub and an opinion.

Mute Pádraig Ó Braonáin
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:21 PM

oíche mhaith.

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:24 PM

He will fu*k.!
    Only for high earners.

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:34 PM

I think you will find Sir that many so called dissidents are in favour of the peace process but disagree with the official SF account of it and the pretense that goes with it and their names are blackened by SF in an effort to silence them.

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Nov 27th 2014, 11:21 PM

No quite happy with sf and their house. If proven otherwise which I highly doubt then guilty should be kicked out of sf. I am very confident in my support for sf and Gerry Adams.

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Nov 28th 2014, 12:00 AM

So you approve of tye way he shielded a rapist who has since been convicted?

Mute paddy mulligan
    Favourite paddy mulligan
    Nov 28th 2014, 7:09 AM

this all perfectly proves SF/IRA cannot be trusted, their evil ways are clear for all to see

Mute Maurice Slater
    Favourite Maurice Slater
    Nov 28th 2014, 1:48 PM

Fuve, your command of the English language is appalling.and by the way Jerry Adams TD has every thing to do with moving rapist and abusers and peados to the south, just ask his brother.

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:46 PM

This debacle in the Dail nearly every week is costing us taxpayers money. my proposal is if the Dail is adjourned then all TDs of the party that cause the adjournment will lose a day’s pay and expenses.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:36 PM

PP are you pushing the socialist party.. or whoever?

Like FG/Lab are you also desperate to stop the rise of Sinn Féin?

Why are you one here trying your best to split the opposition parties?

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:38 PM

PP…..Don’t do a Joan on me…answer the questions!

Mute tom murphy
    Favourite tom murphy
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:55 PM

Denise
    What’s the point in having leaders questions if the questions are not being answered, maybe this will point it in the right direction. And take the CC out of the equation, in relation to this pro government stance, and put more emphasis on the government to answer the questions from the opposition side of the house.

Mute tom murphy
    Favourite tom murphy
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:04 PM

PP is trying to split all party’s he is a Paul Murphy follower and is standing himself under the same banner at the next general election. Analysis pp does not care about the water charges, child abuse,or anything else this is just a means to an end for him.

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 28th 2014, 12:29 AM

Denise the pay and expenses are only the cover …. they have to be high so that they don’t look poor – there’s way more money involved in the whole thing than that ……. I do like your suggestion though , although in fairness to the Dail in its attempt to copy the former colonial masters they have turned the notion of achieving anything other than an ego-trip for the better actors to be beyond a system that is really only a pantomime for the bewildered !
    Some days it’s like you’re back in mass again and the drone of the reader is softly lulling you into a comatose …which is perhaps its desired result.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Nov 28th 2014, 12:59 AM

If they don’t answer the questions that are asked then what is the point in SF addressing them? As for FF they are just useless – they don’t seem to ask any questions of the government. Why don’t they just join FG now and be done with it. They’ve abandoned their republican heritage too recently.

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Nov 28th 2014, 9:20 AM

We are well used to scandal after this present government.

Mute Paul Gurney
    Favourite Paul Gurney
    Nov 28th 2014, 11:44 PM

Dame edna us twice the drama queen mary lou ever was…quote 1 meaningful contribution he has made in the dail that didnt involve mud slinging at sinn fein

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:33 PM

Have to say it was quite an achievement today, Joan Burton actually managed to use accusations of an abuser who has nothing to do with SF whatsoever to score tawdry political points against them in the Dail. There must be victims of abuse and their families the length and breadth of this country who viewed her display today with disgust.

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:39 PM

Ah the apologist-in-chief flickers meekly on the dark. Your princess told lies. Address that and save your spin.

Mute Justin Gillespie
    Favourite Justin Gillespie
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:56 PM

WJ,
    Burton never mentioned SF by name, she spoke about “republicans”. I don’t know what Mary Lou & the others were getting so het up about.

Granted the government are tearing the arse out of turning every issue into a dig but when they are presented with so many easy to hit targets you can hardly blame them

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:57 PM

Justin she said “you party and the republican movement”

Mute PSOB
    Favourite PSOB
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:01 PM

Have to say I agree with Were Jammin. Sinn Féin are the real victims once again.

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:27 PM

PSOB do you actually think you are funny?

Mute Pádraic Ó Braonáin
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:37 PM

Don’t do a Joan on me…answer the questions!

Mute Mike McAllen
    Favourite Mike McAllen
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:47 PM

He’s funnier than a dour, brainwashed fanatic like you could ever hope to be, Padraic.

Mute paddy mulligan
    Favourite paddy mulligan
    Nov 28th 2014, 7:14 AM

cult is getting kicked around the Dail, Shinners are just going to have to learn some manners :D

Mute Wayne Scales
    Favourite Wayne Scales
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:33 PM

She asked a question based on a query from a constituent,it’s a normal activity in the Dail as far as I know

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 28th 2014, 1:34 AM

Great name !

Mute Charles Rex
    Favourite Charles Rex
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:36 PM

Maryloo throwing diversionary porkies pies around? who’d a thunk it?
    I sincerely hope these peoples queries are satisfied. They deserve nothing less than some small degree of closure.
    Shame maryloo made a haims of it.

Mute paddy mulligan
    Favourite paddy mulligan
    Nov 28th 2014, 7:21 AM

marys new motto ‘if in doubt, get kicked out’

Mute Sabrina
    Favourite Sabrina
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:53 PM

What about all the abuse and rape that happened here? Does Joan not care about that. What is it, if you don’t see it with your own eyes it hasn’t happened. Ashamed of the government, Ashamed to be Irish. Oh and don’t forget that the government paid those of us that went through the redress board and had to sign away our rights to go public about the abuse, so throw money at us and it will go away.

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:58 PM

Sabrina. If this was the other way around, i can guarantee Barrett would not have suspended the Dáil

Mute Sabrina
    Favourite Sabrina

Of course he wouldn’t. Did you see how long he let Joan talk even where her time was up Bias or what. Sick of the whole thing.

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:11 PM

Exactly. I think the position should be independent

Mute thetruth
    Favourite thetruth
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:52 PM

Amazes me how the same fg schill voices come out as soon as there is an anti sf article. Government media office doing a great job. Shame every mud slinging operation seems to be boosting s.f. instead of damaging them.

Mute Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Favourite Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:33 PM

I don’t see why the government engages in this type of thing. It would be better if they did their jobs and used their obvious skill in communicating scandals to the people to communicate policy. But instead their lack of skill in coherent communication to the people ends up in large scale anger and protests.

Fine Gael and Labour are a toxic brand anyway so nobody believes a word they say and we’d nearly all do the opposite of what they say because people have no faith in them. RIP FG/LAB party at the election in Spring 2015.

Mute Pól Mag Shamhrain

http://www.labour.ie/press/2014/11/26/fresh-questions-for-sinn-fein-over-ni-expenses-sc/

Like this for example.. Why is a Labour TD putting up stories about Sinn Féin on the party’s official website?

Couple of quotes there too one of which:

““Only a few weeks ago we were subjected to the gross hypocrisy of seeing Pearse Doherty and Gerry Adams fly off to a $500 a plate fundraiser in New York, missing important Dáil business in the process. That has now been compiled with highly questionable financial activities by the party in the North.”

I am trying to be impartial but how many expensive functions have FG and LAB had in the past couple of months that cost more than e350 a plate? How many Mercs have this government bought since they took office which broke their promise to economize transport costs and take buses? He makes it seem like gov TDs and Senators sit every single day. Wasn’t there a Labour politician absent the day Enda needed a member of government to get his majority on the Banking Inquiry?

Mute Fiachra Maolmordha
    Favourite Fiachra Maolmordha
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:35 PM

Why is a Sinn Féin TD putting up stories about Fine Gael and Labour on the Sinn Féin website, Pól? http://www.sinnfein.ie/contents/32410

Mute Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:44 PM

When I clicked that link I really thought I was going to see something that was at lease comparable.

http://www.sinnfein.ie/contents/32410

Click it again Fiachra and read.

Then look at the article on the Labour website. Objectively look at the differences between what I provided and what you provided….you may even see my original point.

Mute Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:51 PM

Looking through the Sinn Féin website (something I admit to have never done before) I see a lot of questioning of the government’s policy. The article you provided Fiachra was about the same information that a member of the public questioned on Twitter and was called a “Moron” by an elected Fine Gael TD only a day or so ago.

Can you please provide me a link to where Sinn Féin have put up:

“Fine Gael TD calls punter moron over disagreement on government Unemployment figures?”

No wait….its only Labour and Fine Gael that partake in gutter propaganda isn’t it?

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:59 PM

Another meltdown for the department of Minister for Justice, where’s whistle-blower when you need one. “or that any such report has been sitting on her/his desk”, when did I hear that before I think the guy’s name was Alan. Anyway if anyone is going to get to the bottom of it , its Mary Lou .

Mute Mike McAllen
    Favourite Mike McAllen
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:50 PM

Do you believe everything you hear, or just everything Mary Lou says?

Mute Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:17 PM

So basically Mary Lou brought an allegation of child abuse that was covered up by successive governments i.e FG/LAB/FF that implicates the current Minister for Justice is continuing to coverup the past?

Sounds like the Maria Cahill carnival that was paraded around the Dáil for weeks by the government. Makes you wonder whether FG/LAB are any better than Sinn Féin to be honest?

Mute Ham King
    Favourite Ham King
    Nov 27th 2014, 7:55 PM

Ah, Domhnall Ó Lubhlaí, founder of Coláiste na bhFiann. Good memories of twice daily ‘parades’ which consisted of singing Amhrán na bhFiann, whilst admiring the tricolour with a military-like stance.

Mute Fergus Moroney
    Favourite Fergus Moroney
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:32 PM

Mary Lou trying to cover up once more the Shinners culpability on sex abuse.

Mute Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:27 PM

Which interests you a Fine Gael supporter more:
    1. Abuse by members of the IRA?
    2. Abuse of children in state care that has been covered up for decades by FF/FG/LAB?

Its all the same. It should be treated equally and stamped out. Not paraded around the media for gain. Heaven forbid if the government and opposition dealt with things within their remit like the economy or child poverty?

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:13 PM

Good on you ,Mary lou.

Where are the activists that were out in Trinity the other night ? Why aren’t they protesting outside Sinn Fein offices throughout the country ? Do they care about abuse victims ? I don’t think so ! #itssadthatthevictimsarebeingusedandabusedagain

Mute Bluemist
    Favourite Bluemist
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:08 PM

They SF did not want to talk about the 700,000 pounds sterling for there research unit in Belfast

Mute Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:14 PM

http://www.labour.ie/press/2014/11/26/fresh-questions-for-sinn-fein-over-ni-expenses-sc/

Michael McCarthy Labour TD wants to know too. On the Labour offical website I might add.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:31 PM

700,000 over 10 years for 36 MLAs. A bargain at less than 40 quid a week for research. Maybe Irish Wasters should have signed up this company and saved 80,000,000 in the last tear alone.

Mute Pól Mag Shamhrain
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:40 PM

The average cost of a water meter is e35
    The average cost of installing a water meter is e300.

I agree M Bowe. Something doesn’t add up to be honest…..in ten years time we’ll probably find out that this money ended up in a number of Cayman Islands accounts. But no FG/LAB want us to focus in on the £700k SF figure. silly me..

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:13 PM

What research? But it’s okay it’s only 8.6 M of the queens shillings appropriated for the use of the party seeing as how robbing banks and killing cops would see you called a dissident by the Archpriest St Gerry and his sacred consort Maria Loser.

Mute Pól Mag Shamhrain

Ever hear of the links between the Labour party and the republican movement Tom?

Mute tom murphy
    Favourite tom murphy
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:54 PM

McCarthy is a gob shite

Mute PSOB
    Favourite PSOB
    Nov 28th 2014, 12:03 AM

It’s not SF’s fault it paid 700k over a decade for research it never got.

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Nov 28th 2014, 12:07 AM

Was that what was being researched?

Mute Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Favourite Watcher-on-the-Wall
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:37 PM

Instead of all the drama, why couldn’t Joan have made these statements in her response, like she’s supposed to?

Mute Tony Daly
    Favourite Tony Daly
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:12 PM

The Dail squabbles. Punch and Judy knock socks off each other. The suffering of the disadvantaged is ignored while the egotists in all political partiesbash each other. Tragic. These are our representatives. Drowning them would be a small mercy. Tales of hijacking and silly overstatement. Truly the people don’t deserve this. For the squabblers, this is a substitute for actually doing anthing real.

Mute whynotme
    Favourite whynotme
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:14 PM

Good night people ..Stay safe !

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:10 PM

So who did receive this Garda internal review. What is the point of these reviews if no one outside Garda reads them or is aware of what they contain. Now after Sinn Fein raising it in Dail the minister has ordered her department “to contact Garda authorities to indentify any information that might properly be put into the public domain and which might be shared with victims and their families”.
    But sure it only a government agent review and this government only reacts to BBC spotlight “reports”!!!!

Mute gerrymiah
    Favourite gerrymiah
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:25 PM

Let me state first that I am not a w ofSinn Fein. I was watching leaders questions today on the T V . Mary Lou asked a legitimate question of Joan Burton today and she gave the reason why she was asking the question. Burton did the usual huffed and puffed and didn’t answer the question. In the course of her answer she said she knew nothing about the case. As time went on in the tooing
    and froing between herself and Mary Lou she was able to quote a lot about the case and made what
    I thought was an unwarranted attack on Mary Lou.

Mute David berry
    Favourite David berry
    Nov 27th 2014, 8:52 PM

Are they ever goin leave shinners alone getting beyond a joke now

Mute gerry campbell
    Favourite gerry campbell
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:36 PM

Between Adams, and McDonald, Sinn Fein are being now seen for what they are, we should be greatful to them. Talk about the height of hypocracy in the wake of revelations that they flooded us with perverts themselves.

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Nov 28th 2014, 12:06 AM

A Shinner telling untruths about child abuse, I’m shocked!

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Nov 28th 2014, 1:03 AM

And how honest were you being stephen, when that taxpayer footed the bill for that ridiculous amount you charged for basic web services for your FF colleague?

i also noticed you taking part in that student protest in trinity during the week. You kinda stood out as the middle aged bloke protesting with the the 8 kids. What are you studying there?

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 28th 2014, 1:43 AM

Remind me not to cross you if I ever do Were ….. very impressive put-down !

Mute Siobhan Meade
    Favourite Siobhan Meade
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:57 PM

God Thomas Aquinas what a statement so take you do approve of women and children being used for politican gain what more can I say to someone so vile that does approve it if you read comment properly I said it should be addressed but in private but obvious u think tds should jeer heckle smirk on a matter so serious sad person

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Nov 28th 2014, 12:11 AM

I think Sinn Fein should be held to the same account as they have held others. But SF dont like being held to account. Not one bit.

Mute Siobhan Meade
    Favourite Siobhan Meade
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:26 PM

Why can’t all tds just respect the victims of abuse and deal with like adults not kids in a playground disgraceful antics all around any one trying defend this and score political points and fling accusations back and forth need to look hard at themselves if a td has an issue discuss it in private with who ever and stop using victims who are probably at home watching dail seeing tds jeer heckle smirk at each other just for political gain shame on all

Mute Siobhan Meade
    Favourite Siobhan Meade
    Nov 27th 2014, 9:31 PM

Don’t forget red thumb means you disagree with my comment so if you want to red thumb I will take it you think victims should be used for political gain….

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:14 PM

Oh we had better not red thumb you then because ehatevercwe do we must avoid addressing the abuse of women and children for political gain.

Mute paddy mulligan
    Favourite paddy mulligan
    Nov 28th 2014, 7:02 AM

More lies from mary lou, does she ever stop telling lies?

Mute Tom O' Dwyer
    Favourite Tom O' Dwyer
    Nov 27th 2014, 10:56 PM

This is totally unacceptable from both sides to use survivors of sexual abuse to their own political gain. Joan Burton nearly made me sick today making a play of the question she was asked but Mary Lou is no shining light either. The brass neck of her to speak in behalf of those affected by state responsibility after refusing to answer to those affected by perverts within the republican movement. Why I wonder did she not use the normal route as a public representative and write to the DOJ first seeking clarification. She is also guilty of game playing. I hope she realizes that her chances of being the next leader are dissipating rapidly!! It’s no wonder End a the fool hasn’t made another stupid statement yet!!

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 28th 2014, 1:41 AM

even the Government themselves have produced a report that the D.O.J. is highly secretive , stonewalling etc. The civil service and its true loyalty and notion of duty of care is probably why Marylou went to the Dail with the question…….
    That or the whole thing is just to keep people talking about anything except Irish Water and Bondholder’s Plan Eire

Mute Dermot Ryan
    Favourite Dermot Ryan
    Nov 28th 2014, 1:47 AM

Note to Enda’s Advisers ..(sorry couldn’t be bothered converting to latin or german)

When you open a can of worms in Ireland you loose control !
    Would have told ye sooner but, hey – you’re the smart ones aren’t ye ?
    Off ye go now and see what brought down Albert’s Government and then go and see what a republican party promising to abolish an odious charge like rates etc. does for an election…

Mute David berry
    Favourite David berry

Wat has tat got to do with dail debates