You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Man arrested over fatal shooting of Declan O'Reilly

Declan O’Reilly was fatally wounded in the shooting on South Circular Road on 24 September.

A MAN IN HIS 20s has been arrested this morning in Dublin by Gardaí investigating the murder of Declan O’Reilly who was shot dead on South Circular Road on 24 September.

O’Reilly received serious injuries in the shooting which took place near Griffith College in Dublin and was taken to St James Hospital where he was later pronounced dead.

A dark-coloured car was seen leaving the scene and was later found on fire at O’Curry Avenue.

The man arrested by Gardaí was taken to Kevin Street Garda Station where he can be detained for up to seven days.

Related: Fatal shooting on Dublin’s South Circular Road>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

3 Comments
    Mute Nigel Murphy
    Favourite Nigel Murphy
    Feb 2nd 2014, 9:02 AM

Jasus this lad is takin emigration to a hole new level

Mute Poonam Anil
    Favourite Poonam Anil
    Feb 3rd 2014, 6:18 AM

Send all the Irish there

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    Feb 10th 2014, 6:50 PM

What are the odds, Of an Irish person hitting a pothole on their first day?

Mute Gowanoutathat
    Favourite Gowanoutathat
    Feb 2nd 2014, 9:03 AM

Feckin ejits ! The radiation alone will kill a human in months. Dozens of automated missions have to carried out first.
    Spend the 6 billion on trying to make earth a better place to live.
    We’re wrecking this planet, what gives us the right to start wrecking another .

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    Feb 10th 2014, 6:54 PM

We wrecked it already, why do you think we’re here and wrecking this place!

Mute Stink Eye
    Favourite Stink Eye
    Feb 2nd 2014, 9:09 AM

Was really enjoying reading this until I saw “55 kilometre voyage”. That’s not really that far now is it.

Also, in the fifth paragraph “it’s not a simple as that” should obviously be “it’s not as simple..”

I really enjoy the Journal, but I just can’t fathom how the journalists / authors of the articles make so many errors.

May I suggest when proof reading, do it out loud so you hear how it sounds.

Mute duckduckduck
    Favourite duckduckduck
    Feb 2nd 2014, 9:03 AM

$6bn for the project, $12bn for the CEO and $24bn for the new board of Mars. $48bn for eighteen staff, their pay, pensions, cars and bottles of water.

Thats $234bn including consultants fees.

Mute David Brennan
    Favourite David Brennan
    Feb 2nd 2014, 9:52 AM

This is the issue I have with this project. Ok people have to get paid for providing a service or their time, but I’m sure someone in this grand scheme is looking at the profit margin.
    So sending 4 people to mars is ambitious and I’d like it to happen but not at the expense of life over money, this is totally pre meditated. If these organisers are really motivated to make history they will do it for nothing. If mankind is really motivated to go to another planet then why don’t we band resources together? Why do it this way, one way trip, TV show… It’s big brother and the public get to VOTE who goes, I can’t believe it is a movie plot!!

Mute James O Donoghue
    Favourite James O Donoghue
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:16 AM

That’s valled socialism. As far as I can see did not work too well for the USSR in the space race. You do need to invest and you fo make it back ten fold in technological advancements. This Mars mission is alot of crap it will not happen.
    We will see a mission but funded by a state. The likes of nasa will. But it will not be one way. Uproar sending astronaut to death so it must be return trip. Alot of work involved and nasa won’t have the funding unless China threaten America’s space dominance

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    Feb 10th 2014, 6:53 PM

Money would be better spent, solving problems here first and then you can Star trek anywhere after that!

Mute Rui Sousa
    Favourite Rui Sousa
    May 1st 2014, 6:44 PM

If you look around there’s been lots of money thrown at existing problems, some were solved other not really. It is not always solved by money. $6B will not make a dent on existing budgets to ‘solve existing problems’ and might do some good to create a future for mankind in space.

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Feb 2nd 2014, 9:02 AM

55 kilometres – I would jog that!!

Mute Tom Colgan
    Favourite Tom Colgan
    Feb 2nd 2014, 9:25 AM

Lifespan of 1year? So we’re sending 20 people on a death mission

Mute Cathy Murphy
    Favourite Cathy Murphy
    Feb 2nd 2014, 10:16 AM

Can we nominate people?? There’s a few people it can think of that I’d love to send ;-)

Mute fusha2020
    Favourite fusha2020
    Feb 2nd 2014, 9:57 AM

Do you think that’s how Adam n Eve really got here??

Mute alanobrien
    Favourite alanobrien
    Feb 2nd 2014, 9:11 AM

Will ya ever go way you’s can’t handle the world they love in let alone a new planet

Mute Tiger Lyon
    Favourite Tiger Lyon
    Feb 2nd 2014, 9:19 AM

Any chance they might persuade gilmore and kenny to go.

Mute Emmet Walsh
    Favourite Emmet Walsh
    Feb 2nd 2014, 9:45 AM

Maybe we can persuade you to go too?

Mute Ben Frank
    Favourite Ben Frank
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:03 AM

In theory it sounds great to get away from earth and the dreggs of humanity, to go and live with other good people on another planet, and not be held back by the things that hold back humanity here. I honestly wouldn’t be making a big deal over whatever nationallity these guys are. They are soon to be Martians. I would assume these guys are leaving any sort of twisted nationalism behind them and starting over from scratch. Sounds great, but I rather not live in a box for the rest of my life. At least they will be remembered for millenia to come, which is more than what I can say for the rest of us

Mute michaelmartin
    Favourite michaelmartin
    Feb 2nd 2014, 9:50 AM

Maybe Michael o Leary will fly there

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Feb 2nd 2014, 10:26 AM

Hed only go as far as one of its moons.

Mute patrick
    Favourite patrick
    Feb 2nd 2014, 2:02 PM

Much as it’s nice to say he was chosen from almost a quarter of a million applicants, fewer than 3000 bothered to pay the application fee when it came down to it…

Mute Helen Duignan
    Favourite Helen Duignan
    Feb 2nd 2014, 10:04 AM

Only an Irish man?

Mute random
    Favourite random
    Feb 2nd 2014, 1:28 PM

The rovers they describe laying the groundwork there sound implausible to me. It needs to be able to clear areas of ground, pile earth (or, eh, soil) on top of habitats, cart heavy equipment around, and also assemble equipment (such as connecting hoses and deploying solar panels). So a solar powered robot JCB essentially. It’s a far cry from any of the rovers that have made it to Mars so far! And since all they appear to have is concept art, they would appear to need to design and test this thing in full before the planned launch in 2020.

It’s an interesting idea anyway. Maybe if they did succeed in getting enough people and equipment there they’d be able to develop the industry necessary to return, so the trips would no longer be so one way.

Mute John Curry
    Favourite John Curry
    Feb 2nd 2014, 1:50 PM

I had a rover 75 once. Couldn’t build for sh*! and the head gasket blew.

Mute Rui Sousa
    Favourite Rui Sousa
    May 1st 2014, 6:47 PM

Completely agree with you on the infrastructure needed to build a viable colony. It would be much heavier then solar-powered rovers. I frankly believe Mars One will never get the funding to go further than training the crews, but that would be a plus already. We’ll probably need Musk’s Mars Colonial Transports to carry tens of colonists at a time plus their heavy machinery to succeed.

Mute skoda
    Favourite skoda
    Feb 2nd 2014, 11:37 PM

If its a one way it has to be suicide.

Mute Manus O Lorcain
    Favourite Manus O Lorcain
    Feb 2nd 2014, 5:43 PM

But What if you wanted to go out for a
    kick a round!