You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The road to Gormanston train station. Google Maps

Two arrests made in connection with attack that left two teens hospitalised

Two 17-year-old boys from Laytown reported being assaulted and required treatment at Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital, Drogheda.

GARDAÍ INVESTIGATING AN assault on two teenage boys last Sunday have arrested two teens in connection with the attack.

The attack occurred in the early evening on Sunday night.

Gardaí responded to a call of a disturbance on the roadway leading to Gormanston Railway Station. Two 17-year-old boys from Laytown reported being assaulted and required treatment at Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital, Drogheda.

They were allegedly assaulted by a large group of young men. The alleged attackers were described as both black and white youths and they were accompanied by females who witnessed the assaults.

The groups boarded the train in Balbriggan and got off at Gormanston.

Two teenage boys were arrested for the attack today in the Balbriggan area. They are currently being detained at Ashbourne Garda Station.

Gardaí said the investigation is ongoing.

Read: Two teenagers hospitalised after attack by a large group of men

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

14 Comments
    Mute Shaun Gallagher
    Favourite Shaun Gallagher
    Nov 18th 2024, 6:21 PM

Any journalists out there to ask a few hard questions at all. We need Vincent Browne back

Mute Tony Gleeson
    Favourite Tony Gleeson
    Nov 18th 2024, 6:23 PM

@what about pension who paid tax a prsi all there life

Mute Criostoir Mac Raghnaill
    Favourite Criostoir Mac Raghnaill
    Nov 18th 2024, 10:27 PM

@Tony Gleeson: Who is doing anything about the Bonkers Pension System inflicted on people who only get a percentage of the 12 euro introduced in the budget together with living with a reduced contributory pension

Mute Kevvy kerrr
    Favourite Kevvy kerrr
    Nov 18th 2024, 6:14 PM

Wow MM doesn’t have a fig roll with the 11 o clock coffee, riveting. Strange comments are closed on the fact genocide joey is adamant the world is dragged to the presipice of WW3 & he wants Europe & NATO involved too……… Surely there’s some in the democrats that’ll stop this escalation until 20th Jan when an actual President with a mandate takes control

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Favourite Frank Mc Carthy
    Nov 18th 2024, 6:17 PM

@Kevvy kerrr: frightening developments for sure!! People talk about the ‘dawn’ of peace but it’s worth remembering it’s always DARKEST just before the dawn

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Nov 18th 2024, 6:32 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: Where is this magic phone call? He said he wouldn’t even have to be in office.. would have it sorted in 24 hrs he said. Why is The President of Peace leaving all this unnecessary death and destruction to happen when he has the power to make it stop with one phone call.. Ohh.. that’s right cause he’s full of siht just like you Ken..

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Nov 18th 2024, 6:34 PM

@Brian: brenny, you’re aware the INAUGURATION OF PEACE isn’t until jan20th right?????

Mute Kevvy kerrr
    Favourite Kevvy kerrr
    Nov 18th 2024, 6:36 PM

@Frank Mc Carthy: wasting time there Frank, thats one of brennys “new” stock

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Nov 18th 2024, 6:42 PM

@Brian: The Maga crowd have gone nuts since election day. You’d imagine a dog would calm down once it finally caught it’s tail. But no; they’re rabid.

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Nov 18th 2024, 7:14 PM

@Louis Jacob: ” Before I even arrive at the Oval office.. shortly after we win the presidency, I will have the horrible conflict between Russia and Ukraine settled” Poor Ken, Frank, Kevvy, Buster etc… cant even keep up with the B/S his “president of peace” spouts. We have to wait until inuargation now apparently for the magic phone call.. lol

Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Nov 19th 2024, 5:25 AM

@Brian: His low brow followers will believe anything!

Mute Nigel Hayden
    Favourite Nigel Hayden
    Nov 18th 2024, 6:14 PM

But he’s definitely taking the biscuit

Mute Michael o connor
    Favourite Michael o connor
    Nov 18th 2024, 10:04 PM

@Nigel Hayden: that developers money was accidentaly lodged into the private bank account of his wife!

Mute Phillip Smyth
    Favourite Phillip Smyth
    Nov 18th 2024, 6:29 PM

Jammie dodgers.

Mute Freda Peeple
    Favourite Freda Peeple
    Nov 18th 2024, 6:37 PM

Everyone knows elderly lizards don’t eat biscuits.

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Nov 18th 2024, 6:41 PM

@Freda Peeple: who paid the bill today

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Nov 18th 2024, 7:47 PM

@Alan Moloney: Expenses I guess

Mute Michael McGrath
    Favourite Michael McGrath
    Nov 18th 2024, 6:27 PM

Here we go again another cycle of lies and empty promises to get elected. Also can anyone tell me if an escalated war breaks out in the Ukraine involving does the American election result get canned in favour of an emergency govt seeing as we can’t comment on a man with obvious dementia steering the world towards WW3 The yanks are the best ever at starting wars on other sovereign territories

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Nov 18th 2024, 6:31 PM

@Michael McGrath: NO there’s no ‘canning’ the overwhelming victory for republican party…… scary that jan20th is now so far away…. fingers crossed Joe’s last throw of the ‘dice’ doesn’t lead to thousands more unnecessary deaths

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Nov 18th 2024, 6:33 PM

@Michael McGrath: Jesus, the well is deep, and the conspiratorial thinking fashionable.

Mute Michael McGrath
    Favourite Michael McGrath
    Nov 18th 2024, 9:21 PM

@Louis Jacob: No it’s not it was mentioned by a lot of people a while back maybe in the context that the election might be cancelled if the conflict was escalated to NATO countries, I was just asking the question if it was a possibility that it could happen now considering that’s quite an escalation the US president telling the leader of another country to attack another with weapons “given” to them by the US

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Nov 18th 2024, 6:18 PM

Poor lad fair play no diabetes so

Mute KTH
    Favourite KTH
    Nov 18th 2024, 6:33 PM

Politicians would say mass to get elected… When elected, they reveal they were atheists the whole time.

Mute Tommy
    Favourite Tommy
    Nov 18th 2024, 6:55 PM

Lads I’m scared that Joe B…..x is going start Nuclear WW3 as he clearly isn’t thinking straight about the consequences and Kamala must have fell out with him after the post election

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Nov 18th 2024, 8:10 PM

RTEs Miriam o callaghans brother with him you couldn’t make it up wonder what way will the RTE debate go!!!!!!!!!!

Mute Frank Mc Carthy
    Nov 18th 2024, 8:18 PM

@Kevin O Brien: my money is on whoever have the 750€ Million windfall to RTE will get an easy ride of it,lol

Mute Bertie
    Favourite Bertie
    Nov 18th 2024, 7:13 PM

Porridge is not a healthy breakfast, it’s a sugar rush, bacon is a highly processed food full of chemicals

Mute Clare Power
    Favourite Clare Power
    Nov 18th 2024, 7:23 PM

@Bertie: oats are slow release energy…you know you tube is not a good source of info…I have 2 dieticians in family btw

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 20th 2024, 12:56 PM

@Bertie: Porridge is a very healthy breakfast. If you add sugar that is your choice. Honey is better and bacon if lean is also very health. Our meat unlike say the US is not full of chemicals.
    That is what I have learned from dieticians!

Mute SV3tN8M4
    Favourite SV3tN8M4
    Nov 18th 2024, 6:56 PM

Wow, that’s one piece of PR Propaganda by this journalist. O Callaghan being given a free ride by the Media. Any journalists have the balls to ask O Callaghan why he turned down a Junior Ministry offered by Micheal & why he is going for election again if he is turning down Ministries. The lies & empty promises are pissing people off at this stage, don’t vote any of these frauds in, use your vote as a protest & for radical change, rather than putting a man who has been at the top table for 17 years, being Taoiseach & Tanaiste, bankrupted the country & denied bailing out banks & has left us with a massive Housing crisis, Rental crisis, Cost of Living crisis, Health crisis, Immigration crisis, a mess & working families barely surviving, the guy should be in jail.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 18th 2024, 7:46 PM

@SV3tN8M4: more of your propaganda nonsense – it is a news report on todays FF election campaign – you know, basic stuff about who was there, where they were, who they met, questions asked, answers given……blah blah blah

Mute Michael o connor
    Nov 18th 2024, 10:09 PM

@SV3tN8M4: I’ve e mailed Jim O Callaghans personal secretarys numerous times as to how many days Jim has signed into the Dail, and then has left to practice as barrister in the high court? They have refused to answer me. Could any journalist ask him this please?

Mute Gary Kearney
    Favourite Gary Kearney
    Nov 20th 2024, 12:58 PM

@Michael o connor: You can get the details from Dail Eireann!

Mute Alan Moloney
    Favourite Alan Moloney
    Nov 18th 2024, 6:40 PM

What FF need to do is put money in the working man wallet is that two hard to do after Al the country is a washout with money

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Nov 18th 2024, 8:38 PM

Why are FFG not making BOI pass on the ECB interest rate cuts to variable mortgage holders is it because the bank lobbyist is an x fine gael Man

Mute kevin rock
    Favourite kevin rock
    Nov 18th 2024, 8:53 PM

No ! But he’s been taking the biscuit for the last 30 years

Mute Michael o connor
    Nov 18th 2024, 10:02 PM

Couldn’t afford the jammiest dodgers once all that developers money was taken back out of the personal bank account of his wife?

Mute Brian Hunt
    Favourite Brian Hunt
    Nov 18th 2024, 9:49 PM

Me’Hole Martin hasn’t told the truth in 30 years and longer!

Mute Shaun “Rumplestumplestillskin”
    Favourite Shaun “Rumplestumplestillskin”
    Nov 18th 2024, 8:47 PM

Wow these vampires know how to stay in the shade while they suck the citizens dry

Mute Oh Mammy
    Favourite Oh Mammy
    Nov 18th 2024, 10:23 PM

How could you trust, let alone vote for, a yoke that doesn’t even ate a bickey?