You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

French police issue photo of suicide bomber as Europe remains on high alert

An international football match and a concert have both been cancelled in Hannover, Germany this evening.

Updated at 20.25

FRENCH POLICE HAVE released a photo of an unidentified suicide bomber from Friday night’s Paris attacks.

The unnamed man, who detonated his suicide vest outside the Stade de France during Friday’s attacks, was fingerprinted in Greece in October but his identity remains unclear.

Police have appealed for any witnesses with information as to the man’s identity to come forward.

It was near this man’s body that a passport belonging to a Syrian regime soldier was found. That soldier was killed several months ago.

Meanwhile, France has launched a fresh round of air strikes on the Islamic State’s de facto capital of Raqqah in Syria.

At the France versus England game at London’s Wembley Stadium this evening both sets of fans joined together in singing the French national anthem Le Marseillaise in unison.
https://vine.co/v/iu7pUwMiOlF

This evening, two major events have been cancelled in Hannover, Germany, due to credible terror alerts.

The Germany versus Netherlands international friendly was cancelled after police received ‘concrete evidence’ that a plot was in train to detonate an explosive device at the stadium.

In the same city, the 14,000 capacity TUI arena was also evacuated before a scheduled concert could take place.

Earlier

German police earlier said that three people had been arrested near the western city of Aachen in connection to the Paris attacks.

The dpa news agency reported that the three were arrested in the town of Alsdorf, just northeast of the city.

“We have received indications that one of the fugitives related [to the attacks in] Paris may be staying in our area,” a police spokesman told the news service.

Separately, it’s reported investigators have identified two safe houses that may have been used by Friday night’s attackers.

A room at the l’Appart city d’Alfortville – a hotel in southern Paris - was booked in the name of Salah Abdelslam from 11 to 17 November, according to The Guardian.

Jonathan Rugman of Channel 4 News, quoting local radio, reports that DNA matches of six attackers were found in one of the rooms of the hotel.

The other safe house location is in the suburb of Bobigny – near the Stade de France.

French newspaper Liberation claims that suicide bomber Brahim Abdeslam – brother of on-the-run Salah – booked the house last week.

Car found

French officials said a car found in northern Paris with Belgian licence plates could be linked to Friday’s attacks.

The black Renault Clio with a shattered front passenger window was discovered near the commuter train line that links to the Stade de France, a site targeted by three suicide bombers.

It’s unclear how the window was broken. It’s the third car identified as having possible links to the Paris attacks.

Additional reporting Cianan Brennan. With AP 

Originally published at 12.57pm

Read: Is Ireland adequately prepared to defend a terrorist attack? 91% say No

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

107 Comments
    Mute Keith Wizzy
    Favourite Keith Wizzy
    Dec 28th 2017, 6:28 AM

The ‘campaign’ was an attempt at smoke and mirrors spin to take our attention away from the real issues.

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Dec 28th 2017, 6:43 AM

@Keith Wizzy: Please do expand Keith. Not sure how €500M in fraud isn’t a “real issue”, but I’m sure you aren’t just using shallow rhetoric as thumb-bait.

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Dec 28th 2017, 8:10 AM

@MK76: $30 million is the real figure, blown up to $500 million since thatcherite Leo showed up.

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Dec 28th 2017, 8:27 AM

@Misanthrope:

Can you back that up or did you just make it up

Mute Tom Molloy
    Favourite Tom Molloy
    Dec 28th 2017, 8:30 AM

@Keith Wizzy: €500,000,000 is a real issue. We badly need it for health services.

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Dec 28th 2017, 8:37 AM

@Misanthrope: 30 million was the estimate a few years ago and during a period of higher unemployment

Mute Donal Hanley
    Favourite Donal Hanley
    Dec 28th 2017, 8:52 AM

@Misanthrope:
    Total NONSENSE

Mute Harry Roberts
    Favourite Harry Roberts
    Dec 28th 2017, 8:59 AM

@Misanthrope: rubbish. The €500 million is way too low. This country is a welfare magnet for every chancer and his family in the EU. And every bogus asylum seeker in the world.
    We are the easiest country to enter and the hardest country to be deported from. Thanks to the soft liberal underbelly.

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Dec 28th 2017, 9:34 AM

@Harry Roberts: produce evidence and we might get investigators out if we have any

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Dec 28th 2017, 9:38 AM

@Tom Molloy: how do you think the health system would benefit from that phantom figure? Even if it was real, throwing money at the health system is useless when nobody in power has a clue what to do with it.

Mute Martin Critten
    Favourite Martin Critten
    Dec 28th 2017, 9:57 AM

@Joe Phillips: all pales into significance when considering the discounts taxpayers sponsored for vulture funds. How about that for housing n health.. There are those that bleat on about welfare and miss the bigger gamers who are a far bigger drain on their pockets, who have this government in their pocket.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Dec 28th 2017, 10:14 AM

@Martin Critten: exactly, Martin, and that’s their sole objective. The disgusting people point their fingers at the poorest and clap the backs of the real criminals

Mute Father Hody Commody
    Favourite Father Hody Commody
    Dec 28th 2017, 10:18 AM

@MK76: How exactly is an ‘estimate’ ‘absolutely accurate’?

Mute TheHeathen
    Favourite TheHeathen
    Dec 28th 2017, 10:36 AM

@Father Hody Commody: Around 41 million was saved. But that just doesn’t work for the idiots like Harry Roberts above. I’ve never seen so much hyperbole in one comment. Take a bow there you clapping Thatcherite sheep.

http://www.broadsheet.ie/2017/04/25/the-real-figure-stands-at-e41million/

Mute Patabake Kennedy
    Favourite Patabake Kennedy
    Dec 28th 2017, 11:17 AM

@Martin Critten: Noonan said it was nothing, in the big picture, when he gave away two hundred and eighty million, due to leprechaun economics.

Mute Neville Hayes
    Favourite Neville Hayes
    Dec 28th 2017, 11:30 AM

@Misanthrope: They must have got the Gardai to help them come up with the 500 million figure

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Dec 28th 2017, 12:18 PM

Regina Doherty, lol, another example of FG incompetence.

Mute Harry Roberts
    Favourite Harry Roberts
    Dec 28th 2017, 1:31 PM

@Paul Coughlan: go down to the local welfare office and educate yourself. Or maybe you’d prefer to stew in your own ignorance

Mute Harry Roberts
    Favourite Harry Roberts
    Dec 28th 2017, 1:40 PM

@TheHeathen: clapping sheep? That’s some imagination you have there lad.
    Go down to the local welfare office and educate yourself. Or maybe you’d prefer to stew in your own ignorance.

Mute Niall Quinlan
    Favourite Niall Quinlan
    Dec 28th 2017, 3:01 PM

@Harry Roberts: Since when have social welfare offices become schools? Seriously I’m intrigued, is this true????

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Dec 28th 2017, 5:54 PM

@Keith Wizzy: Like their own pensions, holidays and pay???

Mute Harry Roberts
    Favourite Harry Roberts
    Dec 28th 2017, 6:36 PM

@Niall Quinlan: don’t be such a wally.

Mute Niall Quinlan
    Favourite Niall Quinlan
    Dec 28th 2017, 6:45 PM

@Harry Roberts:

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Dec 28th 2017, 7:46 AM

I would have preferred if Leo had run a campaign that highlighted
    “Bank Fraud cheats us all” all 60 Billion of it.

Mute Ranty McCrank
    Favourite Ranty McCrank
    Dec 28th 2017, 9:48 AM

@Aine O Connor: €66 billion plus interest. And we still use the exact same reset Ponzi fractional reserve no accountability scheme today. Ministers with no idea of what they were signing (no financial instrument training in St Patricks teaching school or the Kings Inn solicitor training unfortunately) commited treason due to ignorance and intentional misguidance by the ECB.

I think the majority of the nations citiznes would really like all fraud to be tackled and punished whether it is banking, political, welfare payments.
    Accountability will not be tolerated by our national politics and civil service.

Mute Chris Finn
    Favourite Chris Finn
    Dec 28th 2017, 9:59 AM

@Aine O Connor: would you also include the welfare fraud as well as the bank fraud? They’re both shocking

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Dec 28th 2017, 11:13 AM

@Chris Finn:
    Big difference between 500 million and 60 Billion. Bankers who lent money recklessly were rewarded with big fat pensions and lump sums. It’s up to the Dept. also to put systems in place to minimize the opportunities for people to commit fraud. People who are caught pay the penalty. Bankers got away with bringing the country to its knees and our grandchildren will still be paying for it in years to come.

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Dec 28th 2017, 11:31 AM

@Ranty McCrank:
    Whatever happened to Ethics and Honesty.

Mute Ranty McCrank
    Favourite Ranty McCrank
    Dec 28th 2017, 11:40 AM

@Aine O Connor: We live in the age of liars Aine.
    Liars are not punished by the population.
    Indeed in the old days there would have been riots and collapsed governments but today we are sedated with unlimited media entertainment and alcohol.

Mute Patabake Kennedy
    Dec 28th 2017, 12:06 PM

@Ranty McCrank: And fluoride as well.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Dec 28th 2017, 12:23 PM

@Aine O Connor: Divide and Conquer politics, get the middle classes to despise the working and lower classes and vice versa. Its Fine Gael policy. Ask Fred Flotsom if you don’t believe me ;-)

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Dec 28th 2017, 12:42 PM

@Frank Cauldhame:
    You could be right, I don’t believe in class distinction. Everyone deserves respect, whatever their circumstances.

Mute Niall Quinlan
    Favourite Niall Quinlan
    Dec 28th 2017, 12:52 PM

@Aine O Connor: me neither, we all have to wipe our bums occasionally, fairness is all we want but it ain’t gonna happen on Leo’s watch.

Mute Ranty McCrank
    Favourite Ranty McCrank
    Dec 28th 2017, 6:21 AM

You can be sure the screaming opinions of the minority entitlement socialism crowd will drown out the majority working tax payers disgust at this waste and theft of their tax payments and social service reduction.

Mute Datuk Don
    Favourite Datuk Don
    Dec 28th 2017, 7:42 AM

@Ranty McCrank: 100 percent

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Dec 28th 2017, 9:32 AM

@Ranty McCrank: are you suggesting that all claimants caught for fraud are lefties and that the innocent right wingers are not. I think you should widen your horizons and get a life.

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Dec 28th 2017, 9:35 AM

@Ranty McCrank: the most nonsensical comment I’ve seen here in a while and you’ve already got your seals clapping in agreement. Convincing, lads

Mute Ranty McCrank
    Favourite Ranty McCrank
    Dec 28th 2017, 9:42 AM

@Joe Phillips: In what way is it non nonsensical Joe? – please give us some details.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Dec 28th 2017, 9:43 AM

@Ranty McCrank: BS, blaming all SW recipients for incompetence is typical Right wing trash talk and Leo loves you guys.

Mute Chris Finn
    Favourite Chris Finn
    Dec 28th 2017, 10:02 AM

@Stephen murphy: he’s not blaming all. He’s blaming the ones that legitimately are fraudulent – i think we can all at least agree that legitimately cheating welfare is a sc”mbag lowest of the low activity when that money could be put into homelessness or health.

Mute Ranty McCrank
    Favourite Ranty McCrank
    Dec 28th 2017, 10:25 AM

@Stephen murphy: Can you quote me where I “blamed all SW recipients for incompletence”? When school yard name calling and animal metaphors are the response it is obvious expressing a frustrated defense against what you know is true is what’s going on.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Dec 28th 2017, 11:45 AM

@Fred Croydon: Funny, it’s the hard right that’s been in power since the inception of the state. The corruption and fraud overseen by the hard right makes SW fraud nothing in comparison.

Mute Niall Quinlan
    Favourite Niall Quinlan
    Dec 28th 2017, 4:49 PM

@Dave Doyle: Fred Flotsam would have got a job in Hitlers cabinet.

Mute Marc Power
    Favourite Marc Power
    Dec 28th 2017, 5:51 PM

@Ranty McCrank… ah you poor martyr.. my heart bleeds for you carrying the needs of all of us on your shoulder. And yes I’m being sarcastic as i can’t take your holier then tho attitude seriously

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Dec 28th 2017, 6:46 AM

“I don’t know that I won’t be running a similar campaign next year”

Don’t be getting any big ideas about yourself there Regina. You’ll do exactly as Leo’s multi-million Euro marketing gurus tell you to do. The Aardvark has your back pet.

Mute David Huston
    Favourite David Huston
    Dec 28th 2017, 8:28 AM

@Tweed Cap: Hers hoping Regina, Leo and friends are out on their arse$ before too long.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Dec 28th 2017, 8:29 AM

@Tweed Cap:

And Tweed, you will comply like a good citizen and do exactly as FG want you to do too.

Mute Stephen murphy
    Favourite Stephen murphy
    Dec 28th 2017, 9:45 AM

@David Huston: Who’ll replace them, FF/SF/L and they’re no different.

Mute James O'Brien
    Favourite James O'Brien
    Dec 28th 2017, 6:49 AM

The only thing Accurate here is them and their lavish wage and pensions which is fleecing us all..

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Dec 28th 2017, 7:12 AM

We don’t see any publicised campaigned to cut out the larger €70+ million lost through complete continuous cock-ups made by the Department of Social protection do we?

No. Why?

Our glorious dear leader was the head of that department for the years preceding when the amounts lost, for each year, actually rose and continue to rise under the new lying replacement.

No. None of their far large financial costing cock- up are publicised or media mentioned.
    That would be an admittance to the nation that that bigger costly mistakes have been made and they are failing to address the larger problem, successfully.

…So the Fine Gael state propaganda continues for our glorious leader and his elite.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Dec 28th 2017, 11:47 AM

@Unitedpeople: Or NAMA whose loses amount to 18 BIllion and counting. The fraud and corruption surrounding NAMA and the well connected is never brought up or accounted for.

Mute Patabake Kennedy
    Dec 28th 2017, 1:35 PM

@Unitedpeople: North Korea are on the plinth of democracy compared to this lot that rule our green isle.

Mute Denis Crowley
    Favourite Denis Crowley
    Dec 28th 2017, 7:49 AM

Pot calling Kettle black here. I regard the USC as legalised theft of my income. As is the property tax. To shore up thieving lying bankers who destroyed our economy and are still deceiving and lying to our public accounts committee. How can this government take the moral high ground, when all they have done lumped the responsibility on us. You lead by example. We have no leadership, just a cosy consensus. Nama was a holding ground for developers, who were paid during the downturn. This is just a diversion. The reality is far more was stolen from our economy through the actions of an unaccountable elite. So carry on arguing here lads that is what they want, as they plan a nice holiday somewhere exclusive with your money.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Dec 28th 2017, 8:23 AM

@Denis Crowley: thankfully we don’t need developers anymore. Your view on USC as legalised theft is wrong – much as it annoys me. Banks have paid back some debt already. Anglo we have borrowed most of it yet. AIB still owe a fortune whilst handing out big redundancies. But most of borrowed money was to pay to keep the lights on. The amount of tax collected increased each year even as more lost jobs. We will have a chance to vote the non permanent government out shortly enough

Mute Denis Crowley
    Favourite Denis Crowley
    Dec 28th 2017, 1:44 PM

@lavbeer: I can see your viewpoint and like most people I am willing to pay my way for a better society. However the failing was not the working people, but the system we pay into. The regulator failed along with the parties in power. We just picked up the bill as they gave themselves pensions and pay rises. So it is a reward for incompetent stewardship of our economy and therefore theft. Why should we pay those who failed us ? I want justice and good governance, all we are getting is socks and self righteous consensus. So I will be voting for change and I want to see jail terms. The problem is all the evidence has probably disappeared. They had enough time to do it.

Mute Niall Quinlan
    Favourite Niall Quinlan
    Dec 28th 2017, 5:35 PM

How about scrapping USC which was introduced as a temporary tax and reverse the decision to give the banks a 20 year corporation tax exemption.

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Dec 28th 2017, 6:46 AM

So those fraudulently claiming welfare are cheats? If not, then what are they?

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Dec 28th 2017, 7:06 AM

@MK76: “aren’t cheats”

Mute John Dman
    Favourite John Dman
    Dec 28th 2017, 7:35 AM

@MK76: if he’s so anti fraud, why was one of the first things leo did as taoiseach was to bring the corrupt Michael Lowry back to the government power table, with a secret Deal? #moriartytribunal #denisobrien

Mute MK76
    Favourite MK76
    Dec 28th 2017, 7:58 AM

@John Dman: But what’s you’re opinion on welfare cheats?

Mute Misanthrope
    Favourite Misanthrope
    Dec 28th 2017, 8:11 AM

@MK76: the minister herself has been established as a welfare cheat.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Dec 28th 2017, 7:02 PM

Rampant corruption going on amongst the top echelons of society going unpunished is hardly setting a good example to those struggling due to austerity measures.Whats your opinion on this?

Dec 28th 2017, 6:43 AM

The way the dept calculates the fraud figure is a farce. No wonder they came up with 500 million if a person was caught in January and the dept inflates the figure by saying if they were not caught in jan, they’d have got away with it in Feb, mar, etc for the next six months, and that’s their official calculated fraud figure.

Mute John003
    Favourite John003
    Dec 28th 2017, 7:10 AM

@Adrian: However if they were not caught then they would have gone ahead and cheated the system….The 6 months figure seems reasonable assumption…

Dec 28th 2017, 7:30 AM

@John003: it appears the 500 million is heavily dependent on the time it takes them to catch and convict a fraudster. If it only took them a few weeks instead of a few months to go through this process, the 500 million would be drastically reduced.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Dec 28th 2017, 8:18 AM

@Adrian: and if they got away with fraud and cheating for 12 months – the figure could arguably be higher. Stop defending the cheats.

Dec 28th 2017, 11:35 AM

@lavbeer: I hope I was showing the inefficiency of the dept and how they are trying to use it to their advantage to inflate the numbers.

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Dec 28th 2017, 7:05 AM

The €500 Million figure is absolute lying crap.

Even state department official have confirmed that they are outrageously inaccurate.
    They have also confirmed that the amounts lost by the departments themselves through wrong payments is actually much larger each year for the last three years in particular – but you don’t see any of this mentioned in the North Korea style, Fine Gael propaganda.

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Dec 28th 2017, 7:26 AM

Politicians like varadkar alway look down but never up.

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Dec 28th 2017, 7:25 AM

You want the REAL truth? Not more Fine Gael lies?

Here it is: https://goo.gl/2Ln2sk

Mute Barry Somers
    Favourite Barry Somers
    Dec 28th 2017, 7:37 AM

@Unitedpeople: yeah, excuse me if I don’t take United Ireland serious. One of your core issues is fluoride. You claim fluoride causes cancer on your site.

Plus feck off with your quackery

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Dec 28th 2017, 7:57 AM

@Barry Somers: We suggest that people do their own independent research – not just accept either our view or an opposite side.

Speaking of quackery, we have a leader that says he doen’t know Scientology is a cult – despite it calling his lifestyle an abomination and it practising world recognised bogus medical quackery – and Leo fails to see this even as he’s a doctor?

Time for more to take those political blinkers off.

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Dec 28th 2017, 8:45 AM

@Barry Somers:

1. Ireland since 2015, is now the only country to mass drug with Fluoride.

2. We are being mass drugged which by even out own laws. is illegal. Check out just to begin with, the Non-Fatal Offences Against The Person Act 1979 – and that’s before we get to EU laws also on human rights.

3. Speaking of laws – maybe that’s part why Fine Gael, Labour and Fianna Fail won’t let Ireland sign the International Covenant on Economic, Social, and Cultural Rights (ICESCR) ???

4. Someone else’s views: https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/fluoride-in-our-water-are-we-brushing-with-danger-26123011.html

Just some more facts that can be independently checked.

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Dec 28th 2017, 8:47 AM

@Unitedpeople: Ireland since 2015, is now the only country to mass drug with Fluoride IN EUROPE – all the other EU states for legal reasons alone – besides also medical – have abandoned the practise.

That would tell many something. Well, at least those willing to greater see and hear, that is.

Mute David Dickson
    Favourite David Dickson
    Dec 29th 2017, 2:38 AM

@Unitedpeople: I haven’t drank tap water here the last 35 years. I was more concerned about the lead pipes then but the fluoridation of the water keeps me off it now. Mad country poisoning people.

Mute Paul Coughlan
    Favourite Paul Coughlan
    Dec 28th 2017, 8:40 AM

Of course she would have run the same campaign. Isn’t she FG. Doesn’t she espouse right wing politics. Revenue declare people and entities who have not paid taxes in full. The annual amounts here are a lot less than €500m. Release the information on the welfare cheats to show the amount is correct. Otherwise stop using amounts which cannot be other than treated as estimated

Mute Cindy Crawford
    Favourite Cindy Crawford
    Dec 28th 2017, 9:19 AM

Expenses receipts of government ministers & their lackeys need to be vigorously checked.

Mute Jarlath Murphy
    Favourite Jarlath Murphy
    Dec 28th 2017, 8:35 AM

Tax Avoiders Cheats Us All.

Mute paddlingAlong
    Favourite paddlingAlong
    Dec 28th 2017, 10:39 AM

Welfare fraud is an issue, one that comes 10th after corporate tax fraud, corporate tax dodging and the inability to tax wealth.

Mute Horace
    Favourite Horace
    Dec 28th 2017, 9:44 AM

The “welfare cheats” campaign was just another example of FG’s divide and conquer tactics. They have us all moaning, bitching and fighting over scraps whilst they make off like gangsters (which they are). Shame on anyone who falls for it.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Dec 28th 2017, 10:22 AM

@Horace: Rubbish

Mute paddlingAlong
    Favourite paddlingAlong
    Dec 28th 2017, 10:39 AM

@Horace: bang on

Mute Datuk Don
    Favourite Datuk Don
    Dec 28th 2017, 7:44 AM

Are the cheats being prosecuted ?

Mute oh i dunno
    Favourite oh i dunno
    Dec 28th 2017, 2:55 PM

@Datuk Don: yes with suspended sentences

Mute Nollaig Elliot
    Favourite Nollaig Elliot
    Dec 28th 2017, 8:46 AM

I am sick to death of all this bullshit. If you are claiming dole by fraud you are a cheat, straight up, and more than likely a bum too. There are plenty of jobs available now yet people still wanna just cheat the system and sit around and blame the government for everything. I know as much as the next person our government is shit, but I go to work every day and have a good life because I wrk hard for it. It’s really that simple. If you need change in your situation only you can do it ffs.

Mute David Grey
    Favourite David Grey
    Dec 28th 2017, 11:08 AM

Sounds like an awfull lot of support for welfare fraud. I happy pay taxes but to support services not entitled cheats and that includes bankers

Mute Damien McGrath
    Favourite Damien McGrath
    Dec 28th 2017, 11:09 AM

That 500 m in fraud would give us all a nice cut in USC(something we shouldnt be paying )

Mute Jim Hartnett
    Favourite Jim Hartnett
    Dec 28th 2017, 11:31 PM

Reading through the comments here is it any wonder how we are the laughing stock of many other countries. Hundreds of millions has been wasted in ‘tribunals’ whose only goal was to keep the entitled classes from ever being criminally investigated for their antics. A Garda college where up to 50 bank accounts were used to siphon money to accounts in a retired Gardas name and a private boating club was funded by public monies which just happened to appear in a bank account connected to no-one in particular. A canteen in said establishment run by a private, former Garda, contractor where the staff were paid from public money. A child protection agency that conspired to label an honourable man as a paedophile so that they could shut him up from complaining about a recording database that accounted for more breath tests than there are drivers. We have a rogue banking system run by criminals, my opinion, who simply plucked figures from their collective arses and a compliant body politic who were in the pockets of the same bankers. The same banking system that has for years stolen money from its customers and driven many of them from their homes and sadly, in far too many cases, into their graves. I could go on but you know the drift.

Yes, we need to have a zero tolerance to fraud, but when the bar/restaurant of the very houses of legislature have to write off the food and alcohol bills of the people who inhabit those houses because they couldn’t be bothered to pay them, we are on a hiding to nothing.

It wasn’t any leftie or social welfare recipient or single mother that destroyed the economy of this country. It was the well connected who never had to suffer from the indignities caused by their actions. Divide and conquer has been mastered by the political parties, even those such as Labour claiming to be on the left. The Republic is dead, long live the Republic.

Mute Aine O Connor
    Favourite Aine O Connor
    Dec 28th 2017, 11:56 PM

@Jim Hartnett:
    I agree with every word you wrote. Well done.

Mute Paddy
    Favourite Paddy
    Dec 28th 2017, 10:27 AM

Quick deflect social welfare fraud isn’t an issue!!

Mute oh i dunno
    Favourite oh i dunno
    Dec 28th 2017, 12:19 PM

I doubt this liberal feminist is going to take on the single mommy scam.

Mute Socky Varadkar
    Favourite Socky Varadkar
    Dec 28th 2017, 9:01 PM

I don’t regret running campaign, my blood boils when the riff raff have support like this, louts don’t get up in the morning. I work hard to ensure the people of Ireland are looked after, while they lower the value of our property in their hoodies loitering!! Millennials are the worst

Mute Alois Irlmaier
    Favourite Alois Irlmaier
    Dec 28th 2017, 5:53 PM

And who are the bad boys and girls then or do they not want to name them???

Mute Stuart Doherty
    Favourite Stuart Doherty
    Dec 28th 2017, 6:55 PM

Imagine how much the Gardai, schools , hospitals, homeless would benefit from €500m ….