You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Photocall Ireland

Why are people saying 'Down with Arthur's Day'?

The event has gathered a lot of critics, as well as supporters – but why do people dislike it?

BY AOIFE BARRY AND PAUL HOSFORD

EARLY THIS WEEK, legendary Irish musician Christy Moore announced the release of his new single – an anti-Arthur’s Day song, no less.

With lyrics that pull no punches, it’s an unflinching look at the holiday that the folks behind Guinness – Diageo – created back in 2009 to be celebrated worldwide.

Arthur’s Day 2013 will be held on 26 September and will see over 1,000 musicians perform at 500 free indoor music events in all 32 counties.

Ostensibly the event was begun to celebrate the 25oth anniversary of Guinness, and Moore’s main issues with it are the fact it is advertising for a globally-famous company, and that it is focused on alcohol.

(ChristyMooreOfficial/YouTube)

The lyrics to his song leave us in no doubt about what he thinks, as he refers to the day as a “happy, clappy advertising scheme”. Moore’s isn’t a lone voice in the wilderness – Mike Scott from the Waterboys has also lent his vocals to the choir singing about their dislike of the day.

A Song for Arthur’s Day features on an EP to be released by the Waterboys on Arthur’s Day itself.

The song ends with this line: “Down with Arthur’s Day”.

Not altruistic or philanthropic

But what are others saying about the day?

Suzanne Costello is the CEO of Alcohol Action Ireland, the national charity for alcohol-related issues. She says that the day is a “well-resourced marketing campaign”.

“Arthur’s Day is neither an altruistic nor philanthropic initiative. It’s a very well-resourced marketing campaign to increase the sales of Diageo products,” says Costello.

“The reality is that alcohol, and not music, takes centre stage on Arthur’s Day, which is an alcohol marketing event that serves exactly the same function as the alcohol industry’s sponsorship of sports and arts events, which is to increase awareness of an alcohol brand, sell more of that alcohol and, ultimately, increase shareholder profit.

Costello also hit out at the encouragement of revelers to “drink responsibly”.

“There has clearly been nothing ‘responsible’ about drinking behaviour on Arthur’s Day in recent years, with a reported 30 per cent increase in ambulance call-outs in Dublin city centre alone following the event last year, and much like any weekend night in Ireland this is now another opportunity to see our excessive drinking habits laid bare.”

No matter what the attempted positive spin put on alcohol consumption by those who sell it, the fact remains that people will die of alcohol-related illnesses in Ireland on Arthur’s Day – just as they do on every other day.
They will be some of the 88 who die because of their drinking every month. 2,000 hospital beds will be filled in our hospitals on Arthur’s Day by people with alcohol-related illnesses, many of them the young men and women among whom rates of alcohol-related liver disease are rising at an alarming rate.

Creative advertising

The issues with Arthur’s Day have also been brought up in years past. At a Dublin City Council meeting in November 2010, a motion on Arthur’s Day was referred to the Strategic Policy Committee on Arts.

However, the council has confirmed to TheJournal.ie that there had been no change to cleaning schedules in the wake of last year’s event.

“There was no significant littering issue at last years Arthur’s Day event.  Any clean ups were  conducted within existing resources,” said a council spokesperson.

Cllr Professor Bill Tormey described Arthur’s Day as a “brilliant example of creative advertising which I admire”, but said “societal damage comes first”.

In 2010, Dublin City Council said it would no longer be associated with the day through the use of its logo on advertising and marketing material.

Columnist Eamon McCann wrote in the Belfast Telegraph about his opinion on Arthur’s Day this year, describing it as a “scam” that “targets” young people because of the music it features.

In September 2012, comedian Colm Regan also wrote about Arthur’s Day, calling it a “trick” pulled by Diageo “convincing Ireland to care that Arthur Guinness existed”.

Tourist attraction

Niall Byrne of Nialler9.com, the prominent Irish music blogger, told TheJournal.ie that he thinks the Irish “don’t need a festival to celebrate Guinness”.

“A festival centred around a drink is hardly what we needed,” he said.

Arthur’s Day is a marketing campaign first and an obviously hugely successful one at that. The Irish don’t need a festival to celebrate Guinness – we do that every week anyway.

Byrne believes “we get the things we deserve and as a nation, we don the Leprechaun hats all too easily for the day without coercion”.

The big draw to the day – besides the alcohol – is the music, with national and international bands playing in a range of venues around the country.

Byrne points out that there are some quality musical acts, such as Bobby Womack and Janelle Monaé this year, which gets a positive reaction from people involved in the music industry.

“But then you remember previous years: the jammed pubs not used to hosting acts of this calibre, the early drinking that leads to early evening displays normally seen late on a weekend night,” he pointed out.

“Arthur’s Day has never really been a pleasant experience for me personally so I try to avoid it. But maybe it’s not for me anyway. I’ve gone for the music while trying to avoid the marketing which is pretty impossible really.”

He wonders about the reliance of foreign acts to pull in the crowd and whether the Irish acts chosen get paid much. “I do wonder whether the majority of people care about the music on the day,” concluded Byrne.

A Facebook site and Twitter site have been set up to promote Anti Arthur’s Day – but despite the negative feelings around the day, people will be celebrating it in their droves.

What the vintners say

Padraig Cribben of the Vintners Federation of Ireland said this week that, generally, publicans are on the fence about the day, saying that it doesn’t give the boon at the tills that one might expect.

“I think it is becoming more of a celebration of some of the cultural activities, it was perceived as otherwise than that but it looks like Diageo is changing the emphasis on it,” he said.

“It’s something that I suppose is welcomed by some publicans and not welcomed by others who would see it as someone else’s party and they’re expected to pay for it.

“Overall, in the context of drinking in a given week, I don’t think you’d see a significant spike because of Arthur’s Day, maybe a spike on that particular day but then a corresponding dip on Friday and Saturday,” he concluded.

What Diageo says

A statement from Diageo said that Arthur’s Day “has always supported and promoted emerging Irish music and brought them together with the best of Irish and International artists on the day”.

It said that Diageo “takes its corporate and social responsibilities very seriously and implements a strong responsible drinking awareness campaign around Arthur’s Day”, providing advice to pubs.

It also co-operates with local authorities and other public authorities, including An Garda Siochána, “to ensure everyone has safe and enjoyable day”.

We also promote responsible drinking and discourage alcohol misuse year-round through our support of drinkaware.ie and other resources for consumers.

Read: Temporary cut-price pints are illegal, Department affirms>

Read: Lead singer of The Stunning slams Arthur’s Day ‘smugness’>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

156 Comments
    Mute Peter Ryan
    Favourite Peter Ryan
    Sep 22nd 2013, 8:50 AM

Its fake, cringeworthy and its Diageo making a fool of people.

Mute Bruce
    Favourite Bruce
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:02 AM

Ah but sure we like having the craic…

Diageo have just tapped into our love of drink.

The best way to fight Diageo is to boycott their products for the day. They will soon pull the plug when the revenue dies.

Mute Joanne Champ
    Favourite Joanne Champ
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:10 AM

I agree Peter. I find all the Facebook updates, ‘to Arthur!’ even more cringeworthy

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute David Keogh
    Favourite David Keogh
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:46 AM

To be fair, you have the choice to simply not “like” the facebook pages and not go out on Arthurs Day. Im not an advocate of the day, I wont be doing anything for it, but I dont see the problem with it if it makes some people happy! Evidently, it does, considering every pub is full on this random day of the year. However random it may be, its still a boost for the Irish economy, its still increasing tourism and its still lifting us, even marginally, towards a more stable economy!

Mute Dmc
    Favourite Dmc
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:51 AM

Guinness family helped supply the British military with trucks during 1916 rising.

Mute Anton
    Favourite Anton
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:55 AM

How? Those paying for their tickets for “Arthur’s Day” won’t go out some other night instead. They’ll go to a pub where the taps of non-Diageo beers – including, say, those of actual *Irish* craft brewers – have been covered, at Diageo’s insistance. People buy Diageo beers, and the money leaves the country…

Mute john cleary
    Favourite john cleary
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:58 AM

@david Keogh
    Pure bullshit.

Mute David Keogh
    Favourite David Keogh
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:58 AM

Anton, are you really suggesting that the hundreds of thousands of people that go out on this one random day of the year would have went out on another night anyway, without Arthurs Day? I highly doubt that many of them would. I also doubt that the bulk of tourists coming over for it would bother to come if it wasnt taking place. And no, the money doesnt simply leave the country. Every drink thats bought in Ireland is taxed.

Mute David Keogh
    Favourite David Keogh
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:59 AM

In what context John? Your comment doesn’t exactly give us any insight!

Mute Anton
    Favourite Anton
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:34 AM

Yes, David, I’m suggesting exactly that. Most people I know go out once night a week, or one night a fortnight, or whatever, depending on circumstances… for those going out for Arthur’s Day, that’ll be their night out and they’ll stay in the rest of that weekend. There’s a recession on, people don’t have the money to go out two or three times in a week.

Do more than a handful of diehard music fans (who’ve got an inside track of who is playing where) actually visit Ireland for Arthur’s Day? (Don’t they do it in orher countries too?)

Yes, every drink is taxed – but all Diageo profits, after tax, leave the country. It’s a British multinational listed on the UK and NYSE.

Mute Stephen Walsh
    Favourite Stephen Walsh
    Sep 22nd 2013, 11:05 AM

Guiness Family also bequeathed St. STEPHEN Green, Iveagh Gardens, Farmleigh house to the city of Dublin and were one of the first and only firms in Ireland to offer a pension and health care to its employees… I can forgive them a few trucks!

Mute Nelly
    Favourite Nelly
    Sep 22nd 2013, 11:10 AM

Whoever came up with the idea is an advertising genius.wether you agree with it or not its grown to be a massive global event.

Mute David Keogh
    Favourite David Keogh
    Sep 22nd 2013, 11:42 AM

Anton, that may be the case with the people you know. However, where I work, theres allot of foreign employees. None of them ever come out for drinks with us. Every one of them is heading out for Arthurs Day because in their opinion “its Irish”! They wouldn’t go out otherwise! Most people visiting Ireland don’t visit it for the music. The number of Americans coming over for it will be huge, again, because they want to be part of “being Irish”..It doesn’t matter why theyre coming over, the fact is that the only time more Americans come to Ireland is St. Patricks Day. They will come over and spend money on allot more than just alcohol! All the hotel rooms getting filled on an otherwise quite day will help allot of people to keep their jobs! Last year the Irish economy grew by 0.4% as a result of Arthurs Day. Thats from the CSO, not Diageo.

Im not arguing where Diagio are from or that they take their profits out of Ireland, but they still hire around 1500 Irish staff directly, along with indirectly keeping so many thousands of Irish people in their jobs. Think of all the Irish farmers supplying the 80 million litres of milk for Baileys every year, or all the barley growers across the country who are able to put food on their table thanks to the amount of guinness getting consumed on Arthurs Day. All the otherwise empty pubs that will be hopping, even just for one day each year! Arthurs Day goes much further than simply the profits of a UK based company leaving the country!

Again, I dont plan to go out and celebrate it, but I still think its a great idea in terms of increasing income in the country and boosting the moral of some people.

Mute Anton
    Favourite Anton
    Sep 22nd 2013, 12:19 PM

“Last year the Irish economy grew by 0.4% as a result of Arthurs Day.”…

Best laugh I’ve had all morning – thanks David!

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Sep 22nd 2013, 12:58 PM

I for one will be looking forward to Arthur’s Day. But I guess there’s people out there who think big bad corporates shouldn’t be allowed make money. It’s your choice whether you take part of not. If you don’t want to take part that’s fine, but keep your cribbing for other things; this is a non issue IMO. Bit of music, few Guinness, bit of Craic; I don’t see what the issue is.
    As for drunks ending up in hospital, that’s a separate issue and TBH one would be some fool to end up in hospital over drink. That’s not Diageo’s fault.

Mute Ciara Kennedy
    Favourite Ciara Kennedy
    Sep 22nd 2013, 4:21 PM

yes its called ‘Marketing’, ye may have heard of it

Mute T-shock
    Favourite T-shock
    Sep 22nd 2013, 5:48 PM

Why shouldn’t people be able to go out and do things in their city any night they choose?

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    Sep 22nd 2013, 8:58 AM

In my opinion Arthur’s day will go down as the greatest PR stunt ever carried out (successfully) by any company in the world

Mute bacoxy
    Favourite bacoxy
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:06 AM

Listerine invented ‘halitosis’ as a name for bad breath in order to sell mouthwash… that was a pretty good one.

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:09 AM

To Halitosis!!!

Mute Fergal Kelly
    Favourite Fergal Kelly
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:16 AM

Coke getting millions of people who would never normally drink it to buy their product, by simply printing their name on the label is also pretty amazing. So simple and effective.

Mute BlueSkyThinking
    Favourite BlueSkyThinking
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:24 AM

Cellulite is another good example of a made up condition to market a product. It’s just fat.

Mute Diarmaid Twomey
    Favourite Diarmaid Twomey
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:33 AM

Ya the coke one is ingenious, but not only do ppl buy it but every time you log on to Facebook another person is sharing their name and cokes brand with the world, you know, just in case we forgot!

Mute David Keogh
    Favourite David Keogh
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:48 AM

No it not!

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Sep 22nd 2013, 11:15 AM

Coca Cola creating the modern day version of Santa Claus (in his red suit) is probably the best one ever.

Anyway, even if it is a marketing stunt it allows people to see quality acts in different bars around Dublin on a random night in September. No harm in that.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Sep 22nd 2013, 2:19 PM

Hail to Sis…

Mute Anti-Arthurs Day
    Favourite Anti-Arthurs Day
    Sep 22nd 2013, 4:13 PM

Problem is we, the Irish, will also go down as the greatest collection of saps.

But only IF we continue to let them do this.

Mute Diarmaid Twomey
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:11 AM

I don’t like it cause it’s a cheap marketing stunt by a listed company who are no more Irish than Barack Obama, preying on a stereotype to ply their trade and show the Irish up as being suckers for a binge! Stick Arthur’s day where the sun don’t shine!

Mute YourName
    Favourite YourName
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:13 AM

You mean O’Bama?

Mute Paul Harvey
    Favourite Paul Harvey
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:24 AM

Sure St Patrick wasn’t Irish either but we still like to wear leprechaun hats and get pissed on that day. Lighten up everyone more Irish begrudgery sure maybe deaigeo should pack up and go somewhere else.

Mute Diarmaid Twomey
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:36 AM

You’re right Paul, I can hear our founding fathers and the men and women of 1916 say it now: “Lighten up ye begrudgers, sher didn’t we give up our lives so some multinational could manipulate ye to expose a stereotype for financial gain”. Gimme a break, you can’t even spell diageo ffs!

Mute YourName
    Favourite YourName
    Sep 22nd 2013, 8:57 AM

Pure Plastic Paddy stuff. We really are a nation of morons a lot of the time.

Mute Anton
    Favourite Anton
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:08 AM

“Arthur’s Day is neither an altruistic nor philanthropic initiative. It’s a very well-resourced marketing campaign to increase the sales of Diageo products,” says Costello.

This.

The first one – brilliant advertising idea. All subsequent ones (where “Arthur’s Day” changes date every year to land on a more “night-out-friendly” day) – Diageo marketing stunt. Diageo are a UK-based multinational with no ties to Ireland except owning some breweries and distilleries here.

I may well toast Arthur’s memory on his birthday, if I remember – but if I do, it’ll be with what he made: an Irish stout or porter. So probably an O’Hara’s stout or Leann Folainn, or a Galway Bay Porter, or an 8 Degrees Brewing porter, or… one of the many other actual Irish porters or stouts or ales that Diageo would love to drive out of business…

Mute YourName
    Favourite YourName
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:16 AM

Think I’ll have a lovely bottle of Metalman Ale. Brewed all of about 150 yards from me front door.

Mute Patricia Mc Cann
    Favourite Patricia Mc Cann
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:19 AM

Well said Anton.

Mute Anton
    Favourite Anton
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:29 AM

Metalman’s IPA is awesome. Love it. I’ve tried the Smithwick’s Pale Ale and couldn’t finish the bottle… Diageo need to hire a master brewer or five…

Mute David McAvinue
    Favourite David McAvinue

They’re not fond of the craft brewers are Diageo – they have it in for the little guys.

http://www.brewdog.com/blog-article/diageo-v-brewdog

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Favourite Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:29 AM

That blog makes for sobering reading.

Mute Peter O'Halloran
    Favourite Peter O'Halloran
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:51 AM

Lets ditch Arthurs Day, and lets just call it Beer Day!

Mute YourName
    Favourite YourName
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:53 AM

Terrified of competition. Brewdog make some excellent beers. 5am Saint is among the tastiest ales available.

Mute David McAvinue
    Favourite David McAvinue
    Sep 22nd 2013, 11:06 AM

Agreed- it’s beautiful and a mile better than anything Diageo sell. Great to see more Irish brewers appearing, although our licensing laws are scandalous. Young guys here would be arrested for trying to do a brew dog- I.e. Start selling craft beer at farmers markets. Costs 70k for a license apparently. In the UK your local council can give you a license for a nominal charge.

Also I’ve been hearing stories about the tactics used by big brands to keep the craft beers out of pubs, which is a shame.

Mute Christopher Browne
    Favourite Christopher Browne
    Sep 22nd 2013, 12:01 PM

And most of the breweries they own are being closed, ending brewing heritage and creating unemployment in several towns across the country.

Mute Salvage Guy
    Favourite Salvage Guy
    Sep 22nd 2013, 8:55 AM

It’s embarrassing that people fall for ultimately what a group of marketing people tell you to do.

Mute Mitch Cumstein
    Favourite Mitch Cumstein
    Sep 22nd 2013, 11:08 AM

Due to lack of funds I’ll wait til Dutch Gold day.

Mute silentbob2012
    Favourite silentbob2012

If a tobacco company tried the same advertising technique, how quickly would it be banned? Benson & Hedges Day anyone? Smoke sensibly?
    Give up yer auld corporate phoney promotions Diageo.

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin

Tobacco doesn’t grease the wheels of Irish life at all levels quite so effectively, so people can afford to be a bit more sympathetic to Diageo.

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    Sep 22nd 2013, 8:53 AM

People should drink Murphys or Beamish that day as a protest.

Mute Anton
    Favourite Anton
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:12 AM

Why? They’re both Heineken brands. Heineken is just another Diageo.

If you want Irish beers, visit beoir.org – there are dozens of delicious stouts, ales and lagers available made by small craft brewers that are actually Irish owned and run – all money involved stays in the Irish economy.

Mute Peter Ryan
    Favourite Peter Ryan
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:30 AM

pity that website doesnt actually sell the beer

Mute Anton
    Favourite Anton
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:57 AM

True – but their free app does help you find it ;-)

Mute Michael Gazda
    Favourite Michael Gazda
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:00 AM

Anton, thanks for that link. When I first visited Ireland 12 years ago, and then moved here a bit over 3 years ago, I have to say one of the most surprising things to me about the pubs was that most (but not all thankfully) seem to only have to same 5 or 6 beers on tap. I had for some reason thought that Ireland would have a bigger variety of craft beers on tap and generally more support. Then someone told me that everyone sells what Diageo tells them to. I’ve found a lot of great Irish craft beers in bottles, would be nice to see them on tap in the pubs, and would be nice to walk into different pubs and see some variety each place. But I guess if you’re just trying to drink your face off, then this might not matter.

Mute Anton
    Favourite Anton
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:42 AM

You’re welcome :-) Yes, most off-licences will have a decent range of bottled Irish craft beer. Getting it in pubs and restaurants is harder, but in Dublin at least, it’s getting easier. 12 years ago there was just the Porterhouse and the Bull and Castle (if they were even open then?) – now there are three Porterhouse pubs, the Bull and Castle, WJ Kavanagh’s, L Mulligan the Grocers in Stoneybatter, Against The Grain, the Black Sheep, Brewdock, the Beerhouse, JW Sweetman… and they’re just the craft beer pubs I can think of offhand; many other pubs will have a tap or two of craft beer, or at least bottles, along with the generic tasteless yellow fizzy lager and other assorted Diageo/Heineken crap.

Outside the big cities, it’s harder, but with local craft brewers springing up all over the place, hopefully in a few years you’ll be able to get at least one local ale in most pubs.

Mute Baz Madden
    Favourite Baz Madden

The day is a complete farce… The sooner it’s kicked to the curb the better…

Mute bacoxy
    Favourite bacoxy
    Sep 22nd 2013, 8:55 AM

I think people see it for what it is… a new excuse for a piss up. Its a bit of craic and sure valentines day is exactly the same… its made up too.

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Sep 22nd 2013, 2:32 PM

Exactly. I can’t understand why people get offended by same. It’s good for tourism, musicians and it creates a buzz around the city. The way some people go on you’d swear Diageo were trying to brainwash people. Enjoy it for what it is.

Mute Bryan McCoy
    Favourite Bryan McCoy

I’m always amazed how a commercial drinks company can get the country to celebrate their brand and allocate a day to do it. What is even more astounding is that people participate in it and by doing so, fully support it. Well done Christy! Where are the politicians? They are quite rightly quick to condemn toddlers in tiaras affecting 100 people but very slow to condemn this ridiculous day affecting 10000′s

Mute Derek Richardson
    Favourite Derek Richardson
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:08 AM

Oirish people are that silly they.ll have a bertie day thrown in for good measure

Mute Robin Pickering
    Favourite Robin Pickering
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:41 AM

The politicians are in the Dail bar.

Mute Dave Mac
    Favourite Dave Mac
    Sep 22nd 2013, 8:56 AM

The X-Factor Sheep, do as the telly says.

Mute ronan califf
    Favourite ronan califf
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:03 AM

Who really gives a shit? If you don’t agree with it then don’t have anything to do with it. Simple.

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:07 AM

It’s hard not to have anything to do with it when ambluance calls are up 30% and our streets become littered with filth and vomit for a day or so afterwards. The stereotype of the drunken paddy is further enforced worldwide.

It’s not a harmless day of people having harmless fun. The negative effects of this day affect all of us even if we choose to ignore the celebrations.

Mute Rob Grimes
    Favourite Rob Grimes
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:00 AM

Wow people really take life too seriously, it’s a bit of a laugh and Craic and an excuse to get out of the house for a few drinks and listening to some live music and shout stupid slogans! People do the same thing every Saturday, what’s the big deal? Just because one of the best marketing teams in the world have pulled it out of the bag again

Mute Olwyn Lydon
    Favourite Olwyn Lydon
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:06 AM

Well said Rob. If ya don’t like it, don’t partake, simple. But don’t begrudge the happy people their fun.

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:37 AM

The problem is it doesn’t happen on a Saturday, meaning all of the usual effects of mass alcoholism – increased hospital visits, for example – happen in the middle of that particular week as well as at the weekend. People aren’t begrudging anyone their fun; they’re begrudging Diageo’s manipulative marketing techniques.

Mute Peter O'Halloran
    Favourite Peter O'Halloran
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:48 AM

Totally agree, but if it was another company like Cadburys promoting a night out for people to listen to live music – would there be outcry that they are promoting obesity ?

Our drinking habits and their change rest closer to home …. not one night promoted by Diageo

Mute Anti-Arthurs Day
    Sep 22nd 2013, 3:53 PM

Well you could argue Peter, and I do, that Arthur’s Day is such a symbol of all that is messed up with our relationship to alcohol and alcohol marketing that for our own societal evolution and self esteem we actively have to ditch it.

Mute Anti-Arthurs Day
    Sep 22nd 2013, 3:58 PM

Rob, I take €3.7bn in costs to the Irish economy annually due to alcohol seriously. I take having my Irishness hijacked and redefined by drink marketers seriously. I take the damage inflicted on folks by Arthur’s Day and the culture it promotes seriously. If you don’t, that’s fine, be the marketers’ tool.

Mute Eric McTibble
    Favourite Eric McTibble
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:15 AM

How gullible as a nation we are. Very well orchestrated by diageo and their marketing people. Our taxes will pay for the hospital bills and clean up charge as well. I know on that particular day they won’t get a cent from me. Hope everybody else also refrains.

Mute Simon Eales
    Favourite Simon Eales
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:14 AM

The music aspect of this event is a great idea and for most is the main draw. Seeing a famous band or artist play in your local pub is a memory to cherish forever. But 4 years on I can’t seriously believe that any sane people would still fall for the gimmick of “toasting” Arthur at 6pm. If Diageo really cared about the “cultural” aspect then they should rebrand it as a Live Music Day, there is no reason whatsoever we should continue to popularise a brand of alcohol by pretending that Arthur was some sort of saint. What image does it send to tourists of Irish people worshipping an alcohol company? Why don’t you interview tourists on the night to see what they think of the whole charade? Also it should be moved to Friday or Saturday instead of promoting another unnecessary night of drinking.

Mute Tokidoll
    Favourite Tokidoll
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:34 AM

I bet any tourist asked would think it was great

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:27 AM

Tourists don’t have to live in Ireland and pay, through their taxes, for the already overburdened health services that struggle to deal with a random midweek night of boozing.

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Sep 22nd 2013, 2:24 PM
    Mute Adam MacGiollarnath
    Favourite Adam MacGiollarnath

For f*cks sake its not often we have free music and a good buzz around town for a day! If nothing else it gives us that and we could do with more of that!

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:14 AM

You can have free music and a good buzz around town anyday.

If you need alcohol to have a good buzz them perhaps you should seek help.

Mute Adam MacGiollarnath
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:20 AM

Jaaaaaysus….I shoulda known better than to comment in this place!

Mute John Doyle
    Favourite John Doyle
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:42 AM

Typical Irish against the big bad drink company, but I wonder how many of people here will pop down to the IFSC in the next few weeks.

Mute Claire Kane
    Favourite Claire Kane
    Sep 22nd 2013, 12:04 PM

Actually, if you look hard enough, you can find a good buzz and free music in town every day. Go to Tower Records on a Friday evening. Go to any pub between Eden Quay and Camden Street any day of the week and you’ll find that. Walk down South William Street on a Friday at half 5. Stroll down Grafton street on a Saturday afternoon. What about culture night? That had NOTHING to do with a brand and it celebrate Ireland’s fruitful culture, largely for free. Dublin is heaving with culture 24/7 it’s just a shame that some people don’t see it unless it is shoved in their face by a global brand.

Mute Adam MacGiollarnath
    Sep 22nd 2013, 8:16 PM

Thats great!……if youre from dublin….

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    Sep 22nd 2013, 8:52 AM

I would rather we made 4/20 a national holiday

Mute Bruce
    Favourite Bruce

4/20?

Mute Tesla Tower
    Favourite Tesla Tower
    Sep 22nd 2013, 8:59 AM

Agreed

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:00 AM

4/20 is an old stoner reference to the perfect time to smoke weed. Thus April 20th is a sacred day in many a stoner’s calendar where we celebrate all things good in the world, smoke some weed, eat some bacon and gwnerally have a good time without hurting anyone.

To blaze up at 4:20pm on 4/20 is truly one of life’s most invredible feelings.

Mute Robin Pickering
    Sep 22nd 2013, 1:02 PM

Still Hitler’s birthday, no matter how many times you remove my comment.

Mute Stephen Mc Elligott
    Favourite Stephen Mc Elligott
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:04 AM

Ya can’t please this nation at all because they don’t want Irish based products making money yet give out about the Irish economy and the fact there is no jobs. A campaign like this helps this company make money to create jobs whilst putting Ireland on the map also and keeping us in the hearts and minds of the world as a great country to come visit which only further helps Ireland’s economic growth.

And most of all…..it’s just a bit of Craic. I think Arthur’s day is a good laugh and very good marketing idea for Guinness and so what?

Mute Bruce
    Favourite Bruce

Ah come on. … that is so lame.

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:09 AM

Diageo is not an Irish company.

Most of the world’s supply of guinness comes from Nigeria.

Mute Baz Madden
    Favourite Baz Madden
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:13 AM

That’s all well and good, but the only Irish thing about Guinness is that it is produced in Ireland… It is controlled by a British company, and it’s most likely that all their profits are extracted out of Ireland… We have a lot more better things to put us on the map than this in my opinion

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:32 AM

Back to a previous comment, if you want to go out and have ‘The Craic’ and still support genuine Irish companies creating and supporting Irish jobs order one an Irish craft beer.

Before anyone asks, I have no link to any beer company, Irish or otherwise

Mute Peter Carney
    Favourite Peter Carney
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:46 AM

well that and the fact that Authur Guinness and his family were Irish.

also did you know that Stephens Green was donated to the state (after a full restoration) by the Guinness family.

the Guinness family were doing philanthropy before it was trendy to do so and although Authur’s Day clearly is a marketing ploy by a MNC that own the Guinness brand.. there is no harm in remembering an Irish pioneer of craft beer and industry and thoughtful self-directed philanthropy.

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:59 AM

The best way then to honour him would be to celebrate small craft brewers

Mute Peter Carney
    Favourite Peter Carney
    Sep 22nd 2013, 11:12 AM

well, I reckon that the best way to honour Arthur would be to drink his stout.

regarding “small craft beers” – do you stop drinking them once they start selling over a certain amount?

I say drink whatever the fe&k you enjoy drinking – artisan or otherwise. And remember* that most of us were conceived with the help of Arthur :)

(*you don’t have to actively think about your conception)

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Sep 22nd 2013, 2:20 PM

And it tastes like flat Coke…

Mute Anti-Arthurs Day
    Sep 22nd 2013, 3:48 PM

Yup, correct, Arthur was a Methodist and genuinely believed in doing social good for the ‘common man’ within the constraints of social thinking at the time.

What we have now with Diageo and the Arthur Guinness Fund is essentially a multi-national corporation clapping itself on the back and expecting us to do the same for chucking a few euros in its own charity and getting huge marketing benefits as a result.

Arthur must be spinning.

Mute Gráinne Duggan
    Favourite Gráinne Duggan
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:45 PM

As far as I know, Arthur Guinness was Church of Ireland. Just a small point of information…

Mute Graham Mace
    Favourite Graham Mace
    Sep 24th 2013, 1:54 PM

That’s not the worst idea in the universe! Small breweries can provide employment and a better tasting product than the Megacashboozeco corporations like Diageo. Craft beers are hugely popular in the UK and don’t appear to be abused in the same way as the big brewers’ products.

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:45 AM

In Ireland alcohol is the opiate of the masses.

Alcohol keeps the people passive, quiescent, disengaged from social and political activism and content merely to whinge about bad government and bad governance.

Mute Suzanne Kenny
    Favourite Suzanne Kenny

I thought it was a clever interesting idea the first year as it was the 250th anniversary. Since then I just see it as diageo seeing us as a sales mans dream buying into any excuse to drink.

Mute Tokidoll
    Favourite Tokidoll
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:49 AM

I don’t think people are giving Arthur’s Day fans enough credit. Everyone knew it was a marketing ploy from day one! What’s with the all the Emperor’s Clothes style revelations a whole 4 years later?!

I don’t partake and I’m not coming out on one side or the other, I just can’t believe how people are going on like the marketing aspect is some kind of important and hitherto unknown discovery, and that people are fools who need to be enlightened!

Mute Briny Boy
    Favourite Briny Boy
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:14 AM

It should be renamed the ‘Cringe Festival’.

The worse part of it is seeing some total spanner who doesn’t even drink Guinness pictured holding up a pint with a big mad grin on his face roaring ‘To A****r’.

Mute Maurice Byrne
    Favourite Maurice Byrne
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:43 AM

The musicians and the music used to promote Guinness Day has been expertly data mined by The company under the guise of the arthur guinness projects campaign.

3 million Euro was used as a carrot to get musicians, artists, food operations and sports people to divulge their fan base, support base and supporters to the A G marketing machine so they could better understand what made people support and encourage art, music, food operations and sports.

The reward to the punters will only be revealed on Guinness Day and as far as I understand from my friends in the music business, most of the “vote for me once a day” campaigns have not managed to attract the hoped for funding.

Guinness Day should be seen for what it is. A marketing machine appealing to the weak willed, by the insensitive, for the purpose of profit. And no other reason.

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:04 AM

Hey its like any event in the Irish calendar, We’ll go on the razz for the opening of an envelope, its what we do and always have done. It’s clever marketing by diageo and at least initially is a good evenin out! Toss off Christy Moore, he took his craic off the booze like anyone else and if anythin it made him and his career. So take a hike with your tea an bizkits…I for one am gonna be f’d up!
    To Arthur!!

Mute bacoxy
    Favourite bacoxy
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:11 AM

True dat… sure his song delerium tremens is like a comedic ode to alcohol. I respect Moore and he is battling alcoholism so his position is understandable but it does seem like the few trying to spoil it for the many. If you don’t like Arthurs day then don’t go out… prob solved

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:33 AM

I although you may think everyone has free will and can decide whether to take part in Arthur’s Day, the reality is many people are socially pressured into drinking more than they need or want to. Corporations like Diageo know this full well and take full advantage of it.

Mute Dagda
    Favourite Dagda
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:40 AM

Toss off Christy Moore! Ah, I’d rather not.

Mute Anti-Arthurs Day
    Sep 22nd 2013, 3:39 PM

Er, problem not solved. Alcohol related problems are costing the economy an estimated €3.7bn annually and we spend around €5bn on booze so no way does the tax generated cover the cost. So who’s ruining what for who and what exactly are we celebrating?

Mute Anti-Arthurs Day
    Sep 22nd 2013, 3:45 PM

We go on the razz because we are constantly subtly and not so subtly told to go on the razz by the drinks industry. They spend over €70m between advertising and sponsorship in Ireland each year – why do you think they are doing that if the Irish have some in-built fondness for getting plastered that people in other countries don’t have?

The idea that the Irish drink is one manufactured by the drinks industry, not the Irish.

Mute **eefs**
    Favourite **eefs**
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:45 AM

Only Ireland would create a fake holiday just to endorse alcohol. This country is an embarrassment. There is so much more to our culture than alcohol.

Mute margaret
    Favourite margaret
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:07 AM

Nobody forces anyone to put a drink to their mouths. Christy Moore is an insufferable advocate for all things PC. Although he is entitled to his opinion, I think diageo must be thrilled with him. The PR he had engendered is priceless, and there is no such thing as bad publicity. Christy should have thought that one through.

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:21 AM

Haha here here!

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:30 AM

Unfortunately whenever you criticise anything you generate more publicity for it. But that’s the price Christy Moore pays for having a conscience. Fair play to him for speaking out.

Mute Jazz O'Gorman
    Favourite Jazz O'Gorman
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:39 AM

Arthur’s Day is a national disgrace. Another day on the calendar to promote and celebrate alcoholism.

Mute Del Bionic
    Favourite Del Bionic
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:53 AM

My band are playing twice on A**h***s Day, same last year & the year before, most of the bands i know have a gig (or two) on a fairly uninteresting thursday in September.
    Christy Moore doesn’t need the money, I do.
    Sick of all this moaning, it’s marketing scam like everything else, that’s how these people roll.
    You don’t like it?, don’t support it.
    If people go out & get so pissed they end up in hospital or starting fights, that’s their own immaturity, learn how to drink.
    Let’s just ban alcohol.
    Let’s boycott New Years Eve & Paddy’s Day.
    Boo f**king hoo.

Mute RP McMurphy
    Favourite RP McMurphy
    Sep 22nd 2013, 11:42 AM

I’m still laughing at Christy Moore giving out about alcohol!!! How many of his own songs mention and celebrate drink, it’s wonderful effects and the many brands he has sampled! How many concerts did we attend, with him perched on stage in a pool of beer and spirit sweat!!!!What a knob!(even if I do love his music!)

Mute tomeenoldstock
    Favourite tomeenoldstock
    Sep 22nd 2013, 12:00 PM

Before the chieftains could start to play, 7 creamy pints came out on a tray.

Mute Robin Pickering

The lease for the land that St. James’ Gate stands on was signed December 31st, 1759. Why not have Arthur’s Day on December 31st each year?

Mute El Cuffo
    Favourite El Cuffo
    Sep 22nd 2013, 11:56 AM

Because it’s Arthurs Day (his birthday) not lease sign day.

Mute Robin Pickering
    Sep 22nd 2013, 12:21 PM

Good point, but was he born on a different day each year?

Mute El Cuffo
    Favourite El Cuffo
    Sep 22nd 2013, 12:26 PM

Far as I know, they don’t know when he was born giving them license to play. Even Wikipedia says 1724/1725. They have no month or day

Mute Ken Dunleavy
    Favourite Ken Dunleavy
    Sep 22nd 2013, 11:22 PM

Because it’s ar- Thursday

Mute Blacksod63
    Favourite Blacksod63

Probably the best PR stunt ever

Mute Louise Callan
    Favourite Louise Callan
    Sep 22nd 2013, 11:54 AM

I lived on south William street the very first year Arthur’s day happened. I was in work and in my way home had to pick my way through near-unconscious people lying in the rubbish bags along the street and even on the steps to my apartment. This was at 5 in the day. I’ve avoided it ever since.

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Favourite Martin O Donnell
    Sep 22nd 2013, 11:13 AM

Bit rich from Christy who in is hey day had no issue singing about sessions and the like and drinking on stage……

Mute Anti-Arthurs Day
    Sep 22nd 2013, 4:03 PM

I’d be more inclined to take the opinion of someone who has seen the rough end of alcohol seriously over the self serving spin of Diageo and their marketers any day Martin.

Fact is, what he says is actually backed up by hard data from independent scientific research – he nailed the issue in that song.

Mute Merrion Counselling
    Favourite Merrion Counselling
    Sep 22nd 2013, 11:38 AM

Pt 2. sed. Maybe you already know these facts and are quite satisfied as that all is well as far as responsible use goes.   However, all evidence, empirical and anecdotal, would encourage one to believe that there is precious little so called responsible use of your product. I believe that your product/s are regularly and systematically abused by the majority of your consumers and that, in fact, this abuse is encouraged by you through slick marketing and clever promotion. One only has to think of that marketing whizz ‘Arthur’s Day’ to understand that the relentless pushing of your product,  while at the same time paying lip service to ‘responsible’ drinking, is in fact your main concern. I further believe that it is the same slick marketing that is behind the oblique phrase ‘responsible drinking’ leaving as it does, the whole notion of safe drinking open to interpretation. For example, if I drink twelve pints of  your product every night of the week but never beat up my wife I can convince myself that I am a responsible drinker. It seems to me that if you were truly interested in your product only being used responsible then you would at least promote the message that 7-8 pints of your product is the most anyone should drink in a week. But of course, we both know you’d never do this for if your product was consumed in such ‘responsible’ quantities you’d go out of business.   Yours,   Declan Fitzpatrick, Dir. Merrion Therapy Service, Dublin 2.

Mute Sean Bambi Keeling
    Favourite Sean Bambi Keeling
    Sep 22nd 2013, 12:13 PM

Yes it’s a marketing scam but it’s actually genuinely a great marketing scam.

Mute Marty O' Neill
    Favourite Marty O' Neill
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:03 AM

People, including Christy Moore, have a choice, either go & celebrate it (You actually don’t have to consume alcohol????), or not???? Stop jumping on the “Anti Corporation-Anti Alcohol” bandwagon & mind your own business!!!

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:25 AM

He also has a choice not to keep silent about things he cares about. Maybe he doesn’t like a massive drinks corporation taking a nation of alcoholics for a ride and causing an increase in drinking and all the consequences that go with it (injuries, for example), all the while masking it as some sort of ‘cultural event’.

Mute Irish Red
    Favourite Irish Red
    Sep 22nd 2013, 9:32 PM

Marty, I don’t want to go and celebrate this made-up occasion. I don’t want any part of it. I do however, wish to attend my course next Thursday evening in Temple Bar, without having to avoid aggressive drunks and dodge the vomit on the pavement – like last year. It was truly chaos last year and I can only hope it will get less popular and less people will be out for it this year.

Mute Alan Burke
    Favourite Alan Burke

Look at the size of that chap’s forehead

Mute El Cuffo
    Favourite El Cuffo
    Sep 22nd 2013, 12:05 PM

The problem with Arthurs Day isn’t that it’s an event ran by a drinks promoter that is promoting alcohol, that’s what all the brands do, if you go to say Oxegen, you’ll only be able to buy Heineken or related drinks the brand owns.

The key here is that

1) People seem to think that if they go out on Arthurs Day they must obey social groups and drink Guinness, the pubs don’t stop serving other brand, why not drink what you want.

2) People start drinking at 6pm and drink hard all night. Again I don’t understand this, by the time your favourite act comes on you could be blotto. Why can people not go out an have 3 or 4 drinks and go home merry of a Thursday.

3) Irish people seem incapable of going out and not drinking. For such a “social” people we require a lot of social lubricant just to go out and enjoy an evening of music. Why not go out and enjoy the great music without drinking. That’s going to hit an alcohol brand far harder in the pocket.

If people start taking more responsibility for their own actions and stopped blaming Guinness for an advertising campaign or Coke for putting a name on a bottle as the reason they go and mindlessly buy products, we’d have a far better society. Nobody is making you go out of a Thursday night. Nobody is making you buy Guinness. If you think for yourself and act sensibly, you can have a good night, not line the pockets of Diageo and not end up in A&E.

There’s a lot of great music to be seen.

Mute John McClave
    Favourite John McClave
    Sep 22nd 2013, 12:15 PM

Well said but the haters here have to blame everyone else for their issues with life and mascarade it as doing good for society. I know they will claim I’m ignorant for my view but you know what – I don’t care.

Mute John Lawless
    Favourite John Lawless
    Sep 22nd 2013, 12:29 PM

Actually, the participating pubs are only allowed sell Diageo brand drinks on that evening, so you can’t drink whatever you want.

Mute El Cuffo
    Favourite El Cuffo
    Sep 22nd 2013, 12:36 PM

In the official big venues maybe. In the standard pubs. No I’ve been around and there’s been more than Guinness flowing.

Mute John McClave
    Favourite John McClave
    Sep 22nd 2013, 12:36 PM

Not true

Mute Simon Anthony
    Favourite Simon Anthony
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:46 AM

Diageo Day!

Mute Rhonda O Shea
    Favourite Rhonda O Shea
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:27 AM

Seriously. People have way too much time on their hands…….

Mute ThomasFrancisMeagher
    Favourite ThomasFrancisMeagher
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:26 AM

Enjoy it if you want. Ignore it if you want. Some people just aren’t happy unless they have something to whinge about.

Mute Merrion Counselling
    Favourite Merrion Counselling
    Sep 22nd 2013, 11:34 AM

Email I sent to Diageo on Friday Pt!  Dear Sir/Madam,   I am pleased to note that your company promotes what you call ‘Responsible Drinking’. I am at a loss however to understand just what this means. I notice this phrase is tagged onto the end of all alcohol advertising and for some time have speculated as to just what is meant by it. Also, I wonder why that particular phrase is used. I mean, could not a more specific wording be found to advise people on just how much alcohol they should drink. There are of course medical guidelines as to the ‘safe’ use of alcohol for men and women – is that what you mean by ‘responsible’.   As we all know there is a near epidemic of alcohol abuse in Ireland and many expert commentators in the field of addiction claim that the problem is getting worse. It would appear therefore that your message is not getting through, but perhaps that’s naive of me. One sure way to find out I suppose would be to examine your profits. Surely you would know from your sales figures whether or  not your consumers are using your product ‘responsibly’. For example, if we assume that by responsible drinking you mean sticking to the medical advice – 21 units (7-8 pints) for men and 14 units (4-5 pints) for women per week – then your sales figures, based on the number of adults using your product – and I’m sure your excellent marketing people can provide those – would indicate just how responsible or otherwise your product is being used. cont…..

Mute John McClave
    Favourite John McClave
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:51 AM

Once again the kill-joy anti everything that’s not their agenda crowd are winning over complaining because people actually enjoy this. Here a big tip if you don’t like Arthur’s day stay at home. The fact the journal even have this article written in the way it is shows how lazy the media and journalists in Ireland are. Did ye all have the same lazy lecturer? The majority of Irish people are fed up with this liberal PC agenda but not one journalist I have read reflects that. We don’t need a revolution against our politicians we need it against the pretenders of journalists

Mute Paraic Collins
    Favourite Paraic Collins
    Sep 22nd 2013, 11:47 AM

Ah, a glaring typo there journal.ie. 25o???

Mute Martin Pine
    Favourite Martin Pine
    Sep 22nd 2013, 11:35 AM

Time we had an Incitement to Intoxication Act, making Diageo 100% liable for all medical and psychiatric costs to the community generated by their products. Yes, 100% liablity, plus possible punitive damages, fines etc. Die Diageo, Die!

Mute marian doherty
    Favourite marian doherty
    Sep 22nd 2013, 1:43 PM

It’s just a diageo day nothing else simple plugging of there company

Mute Colin C
    Favourite Colin C
    Sep 22nd 2013, 11:58 AM

Hate it.

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Favourite Martin O Donnell
    Sep 22nd 2013, 10:45 AM

To Arthur

Mute Linda McConn
    Favourite Linda McConn
    Sep 22nd 2013, 3:46 PM

I love Christy’s newest well-observed rendition! There’s no question that Arthur’s Day is a well formulated marketing activity sponsored by one of the world’s biggest drinks companies.

However, this day is an opportunity to showcase Dublin providing the city with a reason to attract visitors to its pubs, restaurants, hotels and shops!

Rather than looking for reasons to knock an event we should actually be glad to have as part of our annual events listing we should be talking about the core issue – the relationship between the Irish and their drink. If this event was held anywhere else in the world the treat of great bands and
    musicians on one’s doorstep would be enjoyed alongside a sociable intake of alcohol. Having travelled to other European cities, San Sebastián most recently, it is clear that cities can celebrate with back to back city events (with alcohol consumption) without negative publicity around anti-social behaviour or hospital admissions.

Dublin must compete for visitors with cities far prettier, cleaner & safer than ours. Our people, our nightlife and our culture are among the key reasons people visit & like Dublin over other locations. We need more events like Arthur’s Day, not less.

Should we curtail all social activities because of a minority who cannot handle their alcohol intake? Should we continue to watch Dublin homogenise before our eyes to the cry of conservatism repeatedly wheeled out to fix deeper issues – ineffective parenting and policing?

Mute Ellen Greaney
    Favourite Ellen Greaney
    Sep 22nd 2013, 3:54 PM

What’s the big deal it’s just a day to break up the norm. Yes it’s just a big commercial ploy but then so is valentines paddy’s Christmas ect. but just use it as a excuse to get all your mates together, and if you don’t normally drink Guinness then don’t. If we dedicate a day to making pancakes I don’t see why we can’t dedicated a day to having a piss up!

Mute Naoise Kinsella
    Favourite Naoise Kinsella
    Sep 24th 2013, 12:56 AM

Did anyone ever see that Simpsons episode in which marketing executives try and conjure up a fake holiday in order to get money, and then they come up with the idea of ‘love day’…Arthurs day is essentially our love day.

Mute John Coogan
    Favourite John Coogan
    Sep 24th 2013, 9:37 PM

All in the name of a bit a craic!!!!
    Should be called ‘national alcoholics day’ cut the crap! Are the marketing monkeys finished with the drinking irish and ….’lets get drunk its St. Paddy’s day’?..this arthur day is just an enabler for one more alcoholic to get out of the house and down the pub!

Mute Graham Mace
    Favourite Graham Mace
    Sep 24th 2013, 1:48 PM

“Arthur’s Day” – my arse!!
    Diageo’s cynical marketing ploy is simply an embarrassment to the nation. It’s reinforcing negative stereotypes of pissed-up paddies to the rest of the world, who are laughing AT us, not with us. Ha, Ha!! Drunken Irish, no wonder they can’t run their finances etc etc.

This is another example of our people being f***ed by a big money corporation. Enough, already.

Mute Paul Winter
    Favourite Paul Winter
    Sep 23rd 2013, 3:15 PM

Teetotal Christy on his anti drink crusade with a dreadful song how sad

Mute Producer
    Favourite Producer
    Sep 22nd 2013, 1:52 PM

Its Arthurs day, drink puke, shame memory loss, broken families soaken in a booze filled day. Hurray, great. Its Arthurs day. People are only learning that the other 364 days of the year is known as F#ck Arthurs day. Pass it on.

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Sep 22nd 2013, 1:20 PM

What about having a No Arthur’s Day once a week- costs nothing – just avoid all Diageo products. Arthur’s day would end at once!

Mute Who's Yer Man
    Favourite Who's Yer Man
    Sep 24th 2013, 3:54 PM

I have no love for Guinness and them being synonymous with Ireland. They play up to the Irishness when it suits them, specifically when we trot out a pint of the black shhhtufff for visiting dignitaries.

Remember the Guinness Hurling ad from some years ago? If there ever was evidence that Guinness could not give a hoot about their feigned Irishness, the hurler taking the free wasn’t even Irish, with no history of Irish ancestry, and had to be trained to hold the hurley. We have a country full of GAA players, and they couldn’t find one guy or girl to take a free in front of a camera?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZoPM4RwOCW8

People who say “Ah shure it’s no harm”, I sincerely hope alcoholism never effects your family.

Mute Emma
    Favourite Emma
    Sep 23rd 2013, 7:10 AM

Because they’re working Thursday?

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Sep 23rd 2013, 9:29 PM

It’s all about selling more pints to more Paddies.
    Just like selling firewater to the Indians!