You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Three teens require medical attention after assault in Waterford

Gardaí said the incident occurred at Earlscourt, Waterford last night at about 11pm.

GARDAÍ IN WATERFORD are investigating an alleged assault last night that resulted in three youths being hospitalised. 

Gardaí said the incident occurred at Earlscourt, Waterford last night at about 11pm.

A number of youths were involved in an altercation after which three required medical attention.

They attended Waterford Hospital for treatment. 

Gardaí have appealed for witnesses to the assault or anyone who can assist them to contact them at Waterford Garda Station on 051 – 305300.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

4 Comments
    Mute Irish Genius
    Favourite Irish Genius
    Mar 4th 2019, 10:20 AM

Why did no Irish media outlet investigate this, it’s a huge issue

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 4th 2019, 10:54 AM

@Irish Genius: Because any journalist who tries to hold power to account in this state in any meaningful way gets blackballed e.g. Gemma O’Doherty after she broke the story on Martin Callinan.

Instead we get spoonfed stories about leos socks.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Mar 4th 2019, 1:07 PM

@Irish Genius: I’d imagine because Ireland’s version of Donald Trump forbid it.

Mute Roland D Hay
    Favourite Roland D Hay
    Mar 4th 2019, 8:11 PM

@The Risen: You mean the Irish Katie Hopkins?
    Really clutching at straws.

Mute TamuMassif2019
    Favourite TamuMassif2019
    Mar 7th 2019, 12:15 AM

@Irish Genius: Friends of friends unlike FB lol.

Mar 4th 2019, 10:26 AM

Cue the list (also known as friends of kenny), who will make statements saying they were never lobbied by their “friend” kenny, and thats supposed to make it OK then!

Mar 4th 2019, 10:48 AM

I also think sandberg was playing them, being intentionally extra nice to them when they were supposed to be stern to facebook about their business.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny
    Mar 4th 2019, 10:13 AM

I’ve long said Kenny and the rest of the parasites are rotten to the core, I truly hope someday the truth comes out about what many politicians have done,not to be trusted whatsoever under any circumstances.

Mute Milk The Drones
    Favourite Milk The Drones
    Mar 4th 2019, 10:24 AM

@Jonny:
    It wouldn’t be a scandal by Irish standards.
    FG/FF would sell their Granny’s for a touch of US investment. No problem going to court with the EU on behalf of Apple and the annual tradition of cow towing to the US President in the White House every Paddys day. The 51st state and all of that.
    Winky winky backy slappy.
    Proudly promoting cronyism since 1926 with a hearty laugh.

Mute Kerry Wynne
    Favourite Kerry Wynne
    Mar 4th 2019, 10:16 AM

Of course they would, wouldn’t they? It is not as if there would be a paper trail to uncover what went on.

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Mar 4th 2019, 10:54 AM

As if they were going to say yes he lobbied us…. FFG Out…

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 4th 2019, 12:54 PM

Checked the Indo and other online “newspapers” this morning, not a dickiebird about this scandal. Rest assured were it someone remotely connected with SF it would be headline news for a week.

Mute Michael Nolan
    Favourite Michael Nolan
    Mar 4th 2019, 10:58 AM

Don’t know what’s all the gasp shock horror for this is the man that sold the country to the lowest bidder ..fn parasite.. .journalism in Ireland haha give me a break…

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Mar 4th 2019, 11:30 AM

@Michael Nolan: who did he sell us to … I think we still own Ireland last time I looked it up…

Mute Michael Nolan
    Favourite Michael Nolan
    Mar 4th 2019, 12:09 PM

@John Kelly: him and his mate noonan goldman sacs …vulture funds ….did nod off for a decade or 2 ..in a few years you won’t be able to buy a house .have another snooze check back when your proper rested

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 4th 2019, 2:50 PM

@John Kelly: The way FG have things running, soon enough, there won’t be a brick, a block, or a blade of grass owned by a native Irish person in the country.

Mute David Lawlor
    Favourite David Lawlor
    Mar 4th 2019, 10:12 AM

Sniffs the air cos there’s an awful smell of BS all of a sudden

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Mar 4th 2019, 10:23 AM

@David Lawlor: Of course there is. It’s always in plentiful supply here at The Journal.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Mar 4th 2019, 10:52 AM

Once again we have to turn to the UK newspapers to tell us whats happening in this rotten little state. Shameful.

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Mar 4th 2019, 11:31 AM

@The Risen: no we don’t… it’s a .uk spin pile of shite … rubbish journalism

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Mar 4th 2019, 12:52 PM

@John Kelly: ‘A UK pile of shyte” based on court papers? The only shyte is what’s coming from FG supporters

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Favourite Squiddley Diddley
    Mar 4th 2019, 10:15 AM

The ODPC enforces laws. I thought the alleged lobbying was at the law-making level?

Mute James Wallace
    Favourite James Wallace
    Mar 4th 2019, 10:23 AM

I’m not a fan of Enda Kenny or a supporter, but remember, this report just happens to come out now, from a pro Brexit anti Irish source. I’ll wait and see how it develops before I condemn Kenny on this issue. There has never been anything in his career to indicate he’s corrupt so even if he did do he most likely was thinking of jobs for the country, like he’s supposed to do.. If it happened, it’s a misjudgenent on his part, but in the interest of fairness let’s wait and see.

Mute Brendan Greene
    Favourite Brendan Greene
    Mar 4th 2019, 10:29 AM

@James Wallace: The Observer is a left-wing decidedly anti-Brexit newspaper with a high reputation for accuracy.
    Incidentally, it is also generally sympathetic towards Ireland.

Mute Pixie McMullen
    Favourite Pixie McMullen
    Mar 4th 2019, 10:31 AM

@James Wallace: Report actually comes out of Court documents in California, It`s not made up by an pro Brexit and anti Irish source though.
    Unless you are privy to info the rest of us aren`t.

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Mar 4th 2019, 1:31 PM

@Brendan Greene: James just got schooled…

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    Mar 4th 2019, 11:18 AM

Of course not blueshirts

Mute Peter Coen
    Favourite Peter Coen
    Mar 4th 2019, 11:47 AM

If it quacks like a duck,and walks like a duck, ITS A DUCK.

Mute Martin Brennan
    Favourite Martin Brennan
    Mar 4th 2019, 1:44 PM

Of course not blueshirts never would they seek to influence

Mute tweetforjunk
    Favourite tweetforjunk
    Mar 4th 2019, 11:24 AM

Well in fairness he did say ‘categorically’ so he must be telling the truth.

Mute Peter Cooper
    Favourite Peter Cooper
    Mar 4th 2019, 11:19 AM

It would be very hard to ask him anytime now he never in work if I don’t go to work I don’t get paid

Mute Ronaldo Blanc
    Favourite Ronaldo Blanc
    Mar 4th 2019, 4:18 PM

He was always alittle weasel cosying up to the Yanks and acting like Darby O Gill in the White House on Paddy’s Day.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Mar 4th 2019, 7:51 PM

@Jonathan Beatty:

“If he were innocent…”

Fair play Jonathan.

Get the slander in immediately.