You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

That drive-thru Ash Wednesday service took place this morning, and the photos are incredible

Ashes, get your ashes.

16991985_1250835488332167_7161646793090034179_o St. Patrick's Church Glenamaddy / Facebook St. Patrick's Church Glenamaddy / Facebook / Facebook

LAST WEEK, WE told you about St. Patrick’s Church in Glenamaddy, Co. Galway, and their plans to implement a drive-thru service for Ash Wednesday. For people on the go, you know yourself.

And it looks as though the whole operation went off without a hitch.

The church posted photos from the drive-thru service on Facebook this afternoon and thanked “all involved for the reverent, respectful manner in which the distribution of ashes was carried out this morning”.

16997774_1250833668332349_1296714960791027292_n (1) St. Patrick's Church / Facebook St. Patrick's Church / Facebook / Facebook

By the looks of things, loads of parishioners queued up to get their Ash Wednesday fix.

17021354_1250833881665661_8085165956551573331_n St Patrick's Church Glenamaddy / Facebook St Patrick's Church Glenamaddy / Facebook / Facebook

The church told DailyEdge.ie that they wanted to make the whole thing “as easy as possible” for locals.

16865174_1250834214998961_1201025010290176174_n St Patrick's Church Glenamaddy / Facebook St Patrick's Church Glenamaddy / Facebook / Facebook

And boy, did they.

16682001_1250834904998892_5844802659769773791_n St Patrick's Church Glenamaddy / Facebook St Patrick's Church Glenamaddy / Facebook / Facebook

Don’t have a window to roll down? No worries – they’ll come to you.

17022172_1250834648332251_624835752561916280_n St Patrick's Church Glenaddy / Facebook St Patrick's Church Glenaddy / Facebook / Facebook

The church said there was a “wonderful atmosphere” and noted that people were “very complimentary”.

Maybe it’s time for all parishes to follow suit?

DailyEdge is on Snapchat! Tap the button below to add!

Written by Amy O’Connor and posted on DailyEdge.ie

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2017/03/img2-thejournal-596.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-3266335" class="alignnone" /end]

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

66 Comments
    Mute Shane Freeney
    Favourite Shane Freeney
    Mar 1st 2017, 10:07 PM

Well Holy God

Mute OpenBorders
    Favourite OpenBorders
    Mar 2nd 2017, 1:08 AM

Picture #6 is why you have shite transport systems, shite healthcare systems, the politicians you vote for, The Iona Institute, shite broadband speed, shite roads, shite housing, shite schools and shite freeze-dried coffee.

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Mar 2nd 2017, 1:22 AM

What are you talking about?? Some working guy in a tractor? So what. Plus some great coffee in Ireland.

Mute OpenBorders
    Favourite OpenBorders
    Mar 2nd 2017, 1:26 AM

@jason bourne: Yeah, some guy working in a tractor, fml.

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Mar 2nd 2017, 6:40 AM

It’s all a bit Fr. Ted

Mute dstaffx
    Favourite dstaffx
    Mar 2nd 2017, 7:56 AM

Eh, picture 6 is why you can eat.

Mute Eimear Lavery ™
    Favourite Eimear Lavery ™
    Mar 1st 2017, 10:40 PM

I’m a pretty modern catholic (get my fill at weddings & funerals) but I think this is sweet in a way. An fair play to the priest. Bit of initiative- go on lad!!!

Mute Les McQueen
    Favourite Les McQueen
    Mar 1st 2017, 11:18 PM

So, a ‘modern Catholic’ is really an atheist?

Mute OpenBorders
    Favourite OpenBorders
    Mar 2nd 2017, 1:11 AM

@Eimear Lavery ™: There’s no such thing as a ‘modern catholic’ LOL! Unless you call belief in transubstantiation (look it up) or holy ghosts modern.

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Favourite Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Mar 2nd 2017, 8:34 AM

Most catholics in my experience don’t know exactly what they are expected to believe in.

Mute Johnny Tightlips
    Favourite Johnny Tightlips
    Mar 1st 2017, 10:21 PM

Ash me outside….how bout daaaat?

Mute Conor Lee
    Favourite Conor Lee
    Mar 1st 2017, 10:51 PM

Oh my god you just win the internet

Mute anthony marren
    Favourite anthony marren
    Mar 2nd 2017, 12:36 AM

Bravo johnny bravo lol

Mute sparky
    Favourite sparky
    Mar 1st 2017, 10:07 PM

Next up a drive through for holy communion and confessions..”I’m loving it”..

Mute DonaldsFriedChicken
    Favourite DonaldsFriedChicken
    Mar 1st 2017, 10:23 PM

That will never happen, more chance McDonalds will have a drive through.

Mute Tweed Cap
    Favourite Tweed Cap
    Mar 1st 2017, 10:29 PM

Three Hail Mary meals and a last supper special please.

Mute Kathleen Henderson
    Favourite Kathleen Henderson
    Mar 1st 2017, 11:06 PM

Now that’s service ….go among the people…I love it.

Mute Emmet O'Keeffe
    Favourite Emmet O'Keeffe
    Mar 1st 2017, 10:41 PM

Genesis 3:19
    ‘In the sweat of thy face shalt thou eat bread, till thou return unto the ground; for out of it wast thou taken: for dust thou art, and unto dust shalt thou return’
    A profound spiritual truth worth contemplating upon at any point in time.

Mute OpenBorders
    Favourite OpenBorders
    Mar 2nd 2017, 1:13 AM

@Emmet O’Keeffe: Not really, if I had a sweaty face I’d want a nice cold bottle of River Rock or Ballygowan, last thing I’d be looking for was a slice of bread to make my mouth even drier.

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete
    Mar 2nd 2017, 3:45 AM

What’s this, socialist product placement? Where are your values?

Mute Phil Swan
    Favourite Phil Swan
    Mar 2nd 2017, 6:31 AM

Great scripture but this drive through madness actually makes a mockery of the point of ash Wednesday. Where is the silent moment to reflect and consider God? Doing everything faster until there is no value in it is not something the church should be doing. Moving with the times isn’t always a good thing. The Christian church started off great and then moved with the times where they have become the richest people in the world abusing almost every corner of the world on the way because they were busy moving with the times instead of knowing the true heart of God.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Mar 2nd 2017, 7:21 AM

Totally agree. Thought you were supposed to go to mass as part of this. Seems ridiculous that the focus is on the ash rather than prayer and reflection. Not a churchgoer btw.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Mar 2nd 2017, 8:41 AM

You don’t have to be in a church to pray and reflect. That’s the whole point I would have thought.

Mute Eugene Comaskey
    Favourite Eugene Comaskey
    Mar 1st 2017, 10:28 PM

Was this a Cash for Ash job?

Mute Sinead
    Favourite Sinead
    Mar 1st 2017, 10:51 PM

Love it

Mute Paul Scanlon
    Favourite Paul Scanlon
    Mar 1st 2017, 10:34 PM

What load of ridiculous, archaic, ritualistic nonsense. Its amazing how religion reduces otherwise intelligent people to mindless drones.

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete
    Mar 1st 2017, 11:19 PM

Ironically you sound like you’re the one on the pulpit. I’m not religious so live and let live. I don’t question what gives others solace. If we all could find our own we wouldn’t need to frown upon those that do what helps them.

Mute Sean @114
    Favourite Sean @114
    Mar 1st 2017, 11:22 PM

Well said. Nothing worse than being preached to by an atheist who claims that he/she hates being preached to.

Mute Carpentoza
    Favourite Carpentoza
    Mar 1st 2017, 11:28 PM

Pete I agree, live and let live, however religion still permeates all parts of what mist be equal access irish life which creates inequality and the status quo is right to be challenged.

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete
    Mar 1st 2017, 11:29 PM

Challenge is fine. Belittling as above isn’t the same.

Mute rohail malik
    Favourite rohail malik
    Mar 1st 2017, 11:31 PM

As a muslim,i still felt the urge to dislike your comment as it was just utterly dissrespectfull with no valid points.Its also utter hypocrisy how you are preaching about how much you hate being preached to ….

Mute filthypete
    Favourite filthypete
    Mar 2nd 2017, 3:43 AM

@Sean one of the indicators of delirium is the inability to stay on topic……just saying. Woof.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Mar 2nd 2017, 10:02 AM

Sean
    The Catholic Church plays no role in the educational system, except in their own church owned Catholic schools.

They even tried to divest some of those schools back to the state but the parents vetoed it. They wanted to keep the Catholic ethos.

Mute Mary Lyons
    Favourite Mary Lyons
    Mar 1st 2017, 10:14 PM

So weird!

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Mar 1st 2017, 10:36 PM

You can knock the Catholic Church and the evil that goes on in the Vatican and to be honest it’s well deserved. But I was at Mass this morning and it was packed. It’s good to see there are many who still want to practise their Faith

Mute Paul Scanlon
    Favourite Paul Scanlon
    Mar 1st 2017, 10:42 PM

@Sinead Hanley: Is it good to see? Or is it sad?

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Mar 1st 2017, 10:47 PM

Just because they attend a service in Ash Wednesday is does not mean they are practicing their faith, many more rules to adhere to than attending mass.

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Mar 1st 2017, 10:47 PM

Paul. There are many sides to us. There is nothing “sad” in exploring our spirituality. It’s sad if you deny it.

Mute sparky
    Favourite sparky
    Mar 1st 2017, 10:53 PM

@ Sinead Hanley,do u deny all the other gods..it’s sad if you do, but you are right “There are many sides to us”..

Mute Carpentoza
    Favourite Carpentoza
    Mar 1st 2017, 10:54 PM

Going to mass because your granny and her granny did is not exploring your spirituality. It’s mundane indoctrination

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    Mar 1st 2017, 11:10 PM

Paul. Get up everyday and love God and do your best. He will do the rest. That’s what faith is..

Mute sparky
    Favourite sparky
    Mar 1st 2017, 11:24 PM

@ Sinead Hanley..what’s wrong with just getting up everyday and do your best..in my opinion given the lives some people live he for sure “ain’t doing the rest”..

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Mar 2nd 2017, 12:18 AM

@Sinead. If it was packed it must have been held in a confession box.

Mute OpenBorders
    Favourite OpenBorders
    Mar 2nd 2017, 1:19 AM

@Sinead Hanley: Hate be the one to finally break it to you Sinead, but you are brainwashed. There are deprogramming services available here in Ireland though. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jOTtvY_B6Do

Also watch ‘Holy Hell’ https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2f2BG43JW0o

You’re welcome.

Mute Siobhan Mckenna
    Favourite Siobhan Mckenna
    Mar 1st 2017, 10:15 PM

Glorifying that cult when it suits ha..

Mute Eye_c_u
    Favourite Eye_c_u
    Mar 2nd 2017, 1:01 AM

Each to their own. While I don’t believe in superstition I have to say it’s a good idea. Fair play

Mute OpenBorders
    Favourite OpenBorders
    Mar 2nd 2017, 1:44 AM

@Eye_c_u: It’s never a good idea to encourage active involvement in a cult.

Mute Les McQueen
    Favourite Les McQueen
    Mar 2nd 2017, 9:35 AM

It’s funny cos it’s true…

Mute Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Favourite Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Mar 1st 2017, 10:36 PM

Are you not also supposed to go to mass on Ash Wednesday?

Mute Dan Henry
    Favourite Dan Henry
    Mar 1st 2017, 10:15 PM

Feck

Mute Shane Bradley
    Favourite Shane Bradley
    Mar 2nd 2017, 12:23 AM

This is ala carte Catholicism! Convenience Food! Where will it go next? Perhaps Living Social vouchers? Communion Deliveries (a Religious section on Just eat.ie, Sunday Specials- 2 Masses for the price of one). It reduces the practice of the faith to token and meaningless gestures, posing as authentic religious expression.

The priests are fooling themselves if they think that by making it so convenient that church goers don’t even have to get out of their cars, they are facilitating the expression of faith. Rather they are totally deluding themselves (just as Catholic schools are in the vast majority of schools a total fallacy, when so few teachers and parents are active members of the faith community).

Other faith leaders, who understand the practice of the faith to be authentic has to be ‘inconvenient’ and cost (in time, presence and focus) must be laughing at the Catholic clergy’s race to the bottom and it’s desperate attempts to hold onto to the illusion Catholicism is still the religion of the masses in Ireland.

This absurd initiative would not have been out of place in an episode of Fr. Ted… it has the same comedic/mocking qualities.

Mute eileen boles
    Favourite eileen boles
    Mar 2nd 2017, 2:10 AM

@Shane Bradley:couldn’t agree more.

Mute Tom Thumb
    Favourite Tom Thumb
    Mar 2nd 2017, 7:00 AM

Agree with you on that one Shane. Pure mockery, though Fr. Paddy Mooney would have had more cop on. If people did not gave the time to stop and go into the church then it’s a sad day. If there was no ash being given out just a blessing would you have had as many people drive through. I don’t think so. “Werent you great t To get to mass this morning Mary”.. “ah shur it’s ash Wednesday the day wouldn’t be the same if I didn’t go “

Mar 1st 2017, 10:18 PM

Why is this a daily edge article ?

Mute OpenBorders
    Favourite OpenBorders
    Mar 2nd 2017, 1:45 AM

@Suzie Sunshine: Because Catholicism is a joke.

Mute matthew o reilly
    Favourite matthew o reilly
    Mar 2nd 2017, 8:10 AM

Open borders your religion is atheism & like most atheist your very intolerant.whether your a christian,muslim,jew or hindu people should be able to practice their faith without predjudice.there’s billions of people practicing one religion or another but they’re all wrong & your right.must be great to know everything.if your down in crumlin hospital with a sick child & your faith gets you through it .whats the harm.

Mute Ciaran Carroll
    Favourite Ciaran Carroll
    Mar 2nd 2017, 12:26 PM

@matthew o reilly: Haha Atheism is the opposite of religion

Mute derek carroll
    Favourite derek carroll
    Mar 2nd 2017, 11:27 AM

That would be a ecumenical matter ted

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Favourite Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Mar 2nd 2017, 8:31 AM

I’d say bertie ahern drove through 5 times. He was always a great man for the ashes.

Mute Brendan Keegan
    Favourite Brendan Keegan
    Mar 2nd 2017, 12:32 AM

What a pike of crap. Nothing wants religion any more but they still want to ram it down their throats.

Mute Kinsaleable
    Favourite Kinsaleable
    Mar 2nd 2017, 9:38 AM

What’s incredible about the photos?

Mute Seamus McErlain
    Favourite Seamus McErlain
    Mar 2nd 2017, 1:23 PM

Do they give green stamps?

Mute Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Favourite Micheal S. O' Ceilleachair
    Mar 3rd 2017, 8:50 AM

Ash thumb day!!