You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

CCTV video shows pensioner's bank card stolen while distracted at ATM

Thousands was taken from his account within hours.

Dominic Wilkinson / YouTube

POLICE IN THE United Kingdom have released video footage showing a pensioner being distracted at an ATM and his bank card stolen.

As much as £23,000 was taken from the man’s bank account within hours of the card being taken.

The incident happened when the 93-year-old man was withdrawing cash from an ATM in Grantham in Lincolnshire earlier this week.

In the video, a man can be seen distracting the pensioner, while another swaps his card in the machine. He did not realise the swap had taken place until he attempted to use his card a few days later.

Detective Inspector Simon Bromiley, who is leading the investigation, said:

What is quite clear from our enquiries so far is that these three men were very-well organised in their deception and very selective about their victim.
They watched the gentleman as he came into the bank and then carried out this despicable and callous theft.

Read: Failed ATM robbers make a right mess and one sets himself on fire

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

61 Comments
    Mute Cosmo Kramer
    Favourite Cosmo Kramer
    Dec 19th 2015, 2:03 PM

How can any bank allow 23k to be withdrawn through bank machines within a few hours?

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Dec 19th 2015, 2:25 PM

Anything over this gentleman’s agreed daily limit should be covered by the bank. Granted there might be an argument not to cover up to that but there’s no way he should be out above and beyond it… On a side note.. Don’t think this sort of thing won’t happen the elderly here as banks try to close counter service.. Bank of Ireland, I’m looking at you….

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Dec 19th 2015, 2:58 PM

Was talking to an elderly lady that had something very similar happen to her in Dun Laoghaire. Luckily she only had €1000 or so in her account that was all taken. The covered the loss.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Dec 19th 2015, 10:34 PM

This story doesn’t make sense.

Mute Mary Cull
    Favourite Mary Cull
    Mar 4th 2016, 9:21 PM

Here in UK you can only draw £300 daily.

Mute Babadook
    Favourite Babadook
    Dec 19th 2015, 2:04 PM

There some shower of c@nts. Good footage,someone will give them up.

Mute cholly appleseed
    Favourite cholly appleseed
    Dec 19th 2015, 3:02 PM

If this was ireland. Wallace, daly and Maureen o sullivan would probably offer cash bail for these degenerates

Mute Josephine Sweeney
    Favourite Josephine Sweeney
    Dec 19th 2015, 3:18 PM

Bucharest?

Mute P. Ennis
    Favourite P. Ennis
    Dec 19th 2015, 8:50 PM

Stupid comment

Mute manny luke
    Favourite manny luke
    Sep 3rd 2016, 10:14 AM

Hack genius!!! We are certified hackers that can render many services!!!
    Get in touch with us today
    we render service such as:
    University grades changing
    How to hack Paypal, MasterCard, credit card untraceable
    Facebook hack, Twitter hack, Instagram hack
    Erase criminal records hack
    Email interception hack
    Hack computer remotely
    Wifi easy hack
    Email accounts hack
    Hack into any GOVERNMENT AGENCY WEBSITE
    Control devices remotely hack
    Bank accounts hack
    Hack WORD-PRESS Blogs
    Untraceable Ip and all degree of hacking.
    this is your best chance to get there
    Contact us today via: you can contact them through their email address; worldofatm.hacker@yahoo.com

Mute Alan Chapman
    Favourite Alan Chapman
    Dec 19th 2015, 2:06 PM

how in the name of jaysus can anyone take 23,000 from an account within hrs and no red flag being raised …went shopping last week and after a few hefty sales ..my credit card company we’re in contact to verify my identity.

Mute DMcE
    Favourite DMcE
    Dec 19th 2015, 2:48 PM

That’s because you are spending the credit card company’s money, not your own.

Mute seanie
    Favourite seanie
    Dec 19th 2015, 4:43 PM

lol

Mute AARO-SAURUS
    Favourite AARO-SAURUS

Vermin. Do these people not have parents and grandparents themselves.

Mute Obi Wan Kenobi
    Favourite Obi Wan Kenobi
    Dec 19th 2015, 3:28 PM

They’d probably do the same to their parents and grandparents

Mute Teddington
    Favourite Teddington

Shocking how simple it was for them!

Mute pat
    Favourite pat
    Dec 19th 2015, 2:20 PM

Here’s hoping the bank take the hit and lodge 23K back into his A/c

Mute Rowe
    Favourite Rowe
    Dec 19th 2015, 2:07 PM

Su(mbags.. They probably travel from town to town if not country to country thieving.

Mute Arthur Pewty
    Favourite Arthur Pewty
    Dec 19th 2015, 2:48 PM

93? God I hope I’m as sprightly as he looks for 93. fair play to him

Dec 19th 2015, 2:27 PM

How did the bank allow €23,000 to be taken out in a few days? I hope the bank is liable for part if not all of it. That poor man’s trust in strangers will be shattered. Horrible, horrible people.

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Dec 19th 2015, 2:38 PM

Not even a few days but over a few hours….

Mute Missyb211
    Favourite Missyb211
    Dec 19th 2015, 2:07 PM

What a horrible thing to do, especially to an elderly man. Those 3 men were obviously working together.

Mute The cat's well out
    Favourite The cat's well out
    Dec 19th 2015, 2:09 PM

Jesus you think?

Mute AllseeingI
    Favourite AllseeingI
    Dec 20th 2015, 12:41 AM

Well done for arriving at a conclusion that was already drawn to in the article

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy
    Dec 19th 2015, 2:13 PM

S(umbags.

Mute Paul Mc Manus
    Favourite Paul Mc Manus
    Dec 19th 2015, 2:43 PM

I’d love 10 minutes with these f**kers. They’d have to eat food through a straw for the rest of their lives while sitting in a wheelchair.

Mute John Joe Collins
    Favourite John Joe Collins
    Dec 19th 2015, 3:37 PM

Are you planing on doing all this with your light saber? Also They have to be registered just like drones come January…..

Mute Paul Mc Manus
    Favourite Paul Mc Manus
    Dec 19th 2015, 5:12 PM

Haha haha your lack of fate disturbs me. (I’m 42 and still a bloody kid!!!!) Lol

Mute jonathan sandvoss
    Favourite jonathan sandvoss
    Dec 19th 2015, 2:28 PM

Did they not need a pin?

Mute DMcE
    Favourite DMcE
    Dec 19th 2015, 2:50 PM

I presume they watched him enter it.

Mute Kj bar
    Favourite Kj bar
    Dec 19th 2015, 2:49 PM

I always thought (in ireland anyway) that the max cash you can withdraw a day from a ATM is €600?

Mute Paul Mc Manus
    Favourite Paul Mc Manus
    Dec 19th 2015, 5:13 PM

It was done over a few days apparently. He did realise his card was gone till then. But still!! Serious amount of money even in that amount of time.

Dec 19th 2015, 9:16 PM

It was done within a few hours .the banks should have rang the man . sickening altogether .

Mute Andrew Deegan
    Favourite Andrew Deegan
    Dec 19th 2015, 2:53 PM

Clear picture of the heartless b@st@rd

Mute Ed O Malley
    Favourite Ed O Malley
    Dec 19th 2015, 2:45 PM

Disgraceful.. These guys target the vulnerable in society and need to be locked up.. Such cowardly and calculated behaviour

Mute Slim Browne
    Favourite Slim Browne
    Dec 19th 2015, 2:15 PM

Awful people ; is that acceptable Mr Journal

Mute AllseeingI
    Favourite AllseeingI
    Dec 20th 2015, 12:41 AM

Right shower of chunts

Mute Maureen Stanford
    Favourite Maureen Stanford
    Dec 19th 2015, 3:10 PM

Sc,,m bags they are the lowest form of sc,,m They are only fit to live in the gutter

Mute Stephen Devlin
    Favourite Stephen Devlin
    Dec 19th 2015, 3:39 PM

The very reason I leave very little money in any accounts with an ATM card…

Mute neo1
    Favourite neo1
    Dec 19th 2015, 5:23 PM

Sneaky cowardly filth..as said above that’s good footage so hopefully they will be caught

Mute Scorpionvenomm
    Favourite Scorpionvenomm
    Dec 19th 2015, 8:06 PM

He’ll be caught and when he is I hope the police sort him out in a nice way in a cell, as the justice system is a joke like here.