You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

David Young/PA Images

8th time this year: ATM stolen by 'brazen thieves' in Derry

The latest ATM theft in Northern Ireland happened outside Dungiven in the early hours this morning.

POLICE IN THE North have appealed for witnesses to the latest ATM theft – the 8th so far this year.

The latest incident happened in the early hours of the morning outside Dungiven in Derry.

The robbers used a digger that was taken from a site a short distance away to rip the machine from the wall, causing substantial damage to the building.

The PSNI said it’s doing all it can to apprehend the people responsible for the recent spate of ATM thefts, but added that the key to preventing these crimes is information from the public.

Detective inspector Richard Thornton said: “Unfortunately,  the public and the business community are today waking to the news that another ATM machine has been stolen; that another business has been  targeted by these brazen thieves.”

While this is the 8th such cases in Northern Ireland this year, gardaí are also investigating recent ATM thefts in Monaghan and Cavan

Thornton said: “As in all of these ATM thefts, the actions of these criminals have not only caused immediate financial harm to the business targeted, but they have understandably caused fear in the community and impacted upon a vital service many local people rely on. 

We need people to report anything suspicious, including seeing any unusual activity or people in areas close to ATMs. For example, if you hear machinery late at night or in the early hours please let us know. If you see any cars being driven in a suspicious manner close to where ATMs are located, please let us know. 
No matter how insignificant you think it is, call us and we will investigate. It could be key to catching the criminals responsible

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

49 Comments
    Mute Colm Lyons
    Favourite Colm Lyons
    Apr 7th 2019, 12:17 PM

These lad’s have a track record

Mute John Thomas
    Favourite John Thomas
    Apr 7th 2019, 12:19 PM

@Colm Lyons: they’re digging a hole for themselves.

Mute Noel Doherty
    Favourite Noel Doherty
    Apr 7th 2019, 12:25 PM

@Colm Lyons: 18 tonnes whatya get, another day over and……off with another pass point

Mute David Garland
    Favourite David Garland
    Apr 7th 2019, 12:21 PM

Can anyone explain why Drew Harris is been escorted all the way to Dublin in a bomb proof PSNI Jeep with armed PSNI officers in it? Read on another site the jeep was wrote off at Garda HQ in the Phoenix Park.. Are armed PSNI officers allowed in the Irish State? Why are the PSNI escorting him if he’s now the Garda Commisssioner?

Mute Lurfic
    Favourite Lurfic
    Apr 7th 2019, 12:26 PM

@David Garland: who cares?

Mute Ionatán Mac Ainmhire
    Favourite Ionatán Mac Ainmhire
    Apr 7th 2019, 12:52 PM

@Lurfic: A lot of people, for starters Gardai. Our own police force are not a loud carry guns so what makes it right for a foreign police to do so.

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Apr 7th 2019, 1:01 PM

@David Garland: He is supposed to be met at the border by members of the An garda Armed respsone unit. But for some reason they were never sent dispatched. So for a one off the armed psni car was escorted by a marked garda car. I do like the way garda on duty at the gate pressed the emergency button to active a barrier that nearly flipped the car. Good women doing her job very well.

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Apr 7th 2019, 2:39 PM

@Ionatán Mac Ainmhire: You’ve obviously never seen an Gardaí armed response unit, if it was guns Harris wanted he could’ve gotten them to escort him.

Mute Billy McNamara
    Favourite Billy McNamara
    Apr 7th 2019, 4:14 PM

@Ionatán Mac Ainmhire: “Allowed”.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Apr 7th 2019, 9:33 PM

@David Garland: that sounds like a better story than the one in this article.

Mute Martin O'Reilly
    Favourite Martin O'Reilly
    Apr 8th 2019, 2:48 PM

@Roy Dowling: It turned out to be an Irresponse Unit. It seems the P.S.N.I found a bucket at the scene and are looking in to it!

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Apr 7th 2019, 12:37 PM

Easy.

Set a mechanism which
    1) sets off a huge volume coloured staining smoke.
    2). Also ignites the money compartment to burn like magnesium.

End of thefts.

Mute Renton Burke
    Favourite Renton Burke
    Apr 7th 2019, 1:18 PM

@Niall Sheridan: how about getting rid of cash altogether? stop all robberies.

Mute BreadBasketCase
    Favourite BreadBasketCase
    Apr 7th 2019, 1:33 PM

@Niall Sheridan: how is there no GPS on an ATM?

Mute Quentin Moriarty
    Favourite Quentin Moriarty
    Apr 7th 2019, 4:06 PM

@Niall Sheridan: put them inside the shop at the back

Mute Billy McNamara
    Favourite Billy McNamara
    Apr 7th 2019, 4:32 PM

@Renton Burke: How about asking these people who leave diggers so close to ATM’s a few questions?

Mute Mark Keaty
    Favourite Mark Keaty
    Apr 7th 2019, 12:21 PM

Money for old rope the ATM robbing trade these days. Seems easy peasy with little chance of being caught. Roll up in the early hours with a JCB, hammer away to your hearts content, enjoy a cup of tea and a sandwich until bingo, ‘Open Sesame!’, load up the crock of gold on the stolen get away jeep and its craic agus ceoil all the way home to the party house. Yeeehaaaa!

Mute James Reidy
    Favourite James Reidy
    Apr 7th 2019, 12:33 PM

They have to be entered into the Guiness Book of Records at this stage! Ha Ha

Mute Ole dan tucker
    Favourite Ole dan tucker
    Apr 7th 2019, 1:44 PM

I fear all these atms are being robbed for a reason, to finance paramilitary activities of an even more sinister nature, they are planning something bigger

Mute Rooney
    Favourite Rooney
    Apr 7th 2019, 1:56 PM

@Ole dan tucker: I thought the same myself seems to be a large spike these thefts lately.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Apr 7th 2019, 2:01 PM

@Ole dan tucker: Yes… J.C.B. is disbanding.

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Apr 7th 2019, 3:35 PM

@Ole dan tucker: Precisely ——But you’re not supposed to say that!

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Apr 8th 2019, 8:37 AM

@Ole dan tucker: like paying canvassers for the local elections maybe

Mute Martin O'Reilly
    Apr 8th 2019, 2:56 PM

@Ole dan tucker: Yes an atomic bomb has been rumoured!

Mute Damo.f
    Favourite Damo.f
    Apr 7th 2019, 12:30 PM

Law and order is gone. Should be shot on point. Might deter any further attempts.

Mute James Reidy
    Favourite James Reidy
    Apr 7th 2019, 12:37 PM

@Damo.f: C’mon man have u such a short memory, whem the banks screwed us Irish people 2008. a dose of their own medicine.

Mute Stephen
    Favourite Stephen
    Apr 7th 2019, 12:47 PM

@James Reidy: What about the businesses that are destroyed by these criminals..shops ripped apart..and communties will be left with out the service of ATMs…your justification is shallow

Mute Darren Farrell
    Favourite Darren Farrell
    Apr 7th 2019, 12:55 PM

@Damo.f: what if it was young people that made one mistake would u shoot him would u want ur son to be shot

Mute Ted Murray
    Favourite Ted Murray
    Apr 7th 2019, 1:01 PM

@James Reidy: __ A dose of their own medicine? Who do you think is going to pay for the cash shortfall, not to mention the damage done to someone’s business premises?

Mute James Reidy
    Favourite James Reidy
    Apr 7th 2019, 1:24 PM

@Stephen: obviously YOU were not not at the receiving end of banks! ( i was) they showed no mercy, blessings of god on those guys.

Mute Damo.f
    Favourite Damo.f
    Apr 7th 2019, 2:22 PM

@Darren Farrell: No id bring my son up with better morals than that. And if he did go down this path in life and was made pay for his actions then he’d have only himself to blame.

Mute Martin O'Reilly
    Apr 8th 2019, 3:00 PM

@Ted Murray: Hopefully the British tax payer?

Mute Adam O'hEidhin
    Favourite Adam O'hEidhin
    Apr 7th 2019, 3:30 PM

8 ATMs in 3 months and no leads. No points for guessing who’s at this. Most likely fundraising prior to Brexit.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Apr 7th 2019, 12:22 PM

It is the hole in the wall gang that are responsible.

Mute Josh Hanners
    Favourite Josh Hanners
    Apr 7th 2019, 3:21 PM

Surely they must have some sort of anti-theft devices fitted to these ATMs. GPS tracking, ink bombs….?

Mute P Mc G
    Favourite P Mc G
    Apr 7th 2019, 3:04 PM

This is just comical at this point!

Mute Gavin Beaufort
    Favourite Gavin Beaufort
    Apr 7th 2019, 5:06 PM

Why a tracking devices not concealed in the Cash machines? Would be very cheap and effective

Mute john
    Favourite john
    Apr 7th 2019, 5:29 PM

Ye must be in dream land everyone knows who’s doing these robberys. That digger can make some noise I drive one and it’s loud how no1 has heard anything is amazing. Ah well money for ole rope

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Apr 7th 2019, 8:08 PM

@john: Good Republican’s greatest asset is the strictly enforced omerta code that exists in that part of the country. The penalty for breaking it is usually death by torture.

Mute Martin O'Reilly
    Apr 8th 2019, 3:03 PM

@John Mc Donagh: Great! Give machosist’s
    a fair crack of the whip by God!!

Mute Andrew O Grady
    Favourite Andrew O Grady
    Apr 7th 2019, 12:33 PM

The will kill the goose that laid the golden egg, or go to the well once too often !

Mute jamesdecay
    Favourite jamesdecay
    Apr 7th 2019, 12:47 PM

@Andrew O Grady: too many cooks spoil the broth

Mute Doire
    Favourite Doire
    Apr 7th 2019, 7:41 PM

The lads in shop should just drop an iphone into them and then use find my phone app. But the PSNI no doubt would be looking an Iphone XS max on a 24 month contract that would be expensive and everyone will blame stormont or brexit or both. Back too drawing board.

Mute Darren Farrell
    Favourite Darren Farrell
    Apr 7th 2019, 12:54 PM

Authorized Telling Machine
    I wonder if these ATM could tell who is thinking of stealing them

Mute Damien McGrath
    Favourite Damien McGrath
    Apr 7th 2019, 5:22 PM

This is getting embarrasing for the police…

Mute FoxandSquirrel
    Favourite FoxandSquirrel
    Apr 7th 2019, 7:48 PM

Wouldnt the bank with all its billions have the wherewithal to have tracking devices embedded in each ATM? Must be a pretty lucrative business stealing ATMs

Mute Liam Mernagh
    Favourite Liam Mernagh
    Apr 7th 2019, 11:12 PM

Why cant the banks install uptodate monitored alarm system on the ATMs instead of the stupidity if looking for witnesses long after the event.
    The stupidity and complacency of our so called betters is astounding at times.

Mute Aidan Clarke
    Favourite Aidan Clarke
    Apr 8th 2019, 10:54 AM

I’m astonished by this. What a joke the banks are a trigger to dye the money if atm is tilted 5 degrees would solve this problem years ago. Get off your lazy arses banks

Mute Hugh Mc Donnell
    Favourite Hugh Mc Donnell
    Apr 8th 2019, 1:14 PM

Its hard to believe the these track diggers and low loaders are left unlocked.All a little to convenient now.I wonder is there a share of the spoils for the owners. The kingscourt robbery had to have been seen as a certain public house had a few customers staying after hours and they came out to watch the commotion.