You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Micha Klootwijk via Shutterstock

Attempted armed robbery at Saggart bookmakers

A 34-year-old man entered the bookmakers last night, apparently armed with a handgun, and demanded cash.

A MAN HAS been arrested following an attempted robbery of a bookmakers in Saggart, Co Dublin, using what is believed to be a handgun.

At approximately 9.15pm on Saturday, a 34-year-old man entered the bookmakers on Main Street, Saggart, apparently armed with a gun and demanded cash.

No shots were fired and no injuries were reported.

The suspect fled the premises empty-handed and was subsequently disarmed and arrested by a member of An Garda Síochána.

The suspect is currently detained at Clondalkin Garda Station under the provisions of Section 30 of the Offences Against the State Act, 1939 as amended.

A second male involved in this attempted robbery fled the scene. Investigations are ongoing.

PSNI hunt for ‘bogus detective’>
Attempted armed robbery on Dublin ATM>
Man arrested after attempted armed robbery at Arklow post office>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

21 Comments
    Mute Shane Hayes
    Favourite Shane Hayes
    Jul 7th 2013, 2:51 PM

According to other irish news it was an OFF DUTY Garda. Think the journal should correct the headline to reflect that!! #neveroffduty

Mute Barbara Ledwidge
    Favourite Barbara Ledwidge
    Jul 7th 2013, 3:43 PM

Correct. Off duty and retired I believe. Brave men, deserve great respect :)

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Jul 7th 2013, 5:17 PM

You can’t be off-duty and retired; you’re either one or the other.

Mute Barbara Ledwidge
    Favourite Barbara Ledwidge
    Jul 7th 2013, 5:34 PM

Oh picky picky, I heard there were two of them, father and son, could be wrong

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Jul 7th 2013, 6:09 PM

It’s not being picky, it’s being correct. No other source reports two off-duty or retired gardaí being involved, so where are you getting this from?

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Jul 7th 2013, 2:37 PM

Let’s not forget the shock and fear that the staff behind the counter suffer when some thug points a gun at them.15 years at least he should get, also well done to the Garda.

Mute Archie McLoughlin
    Favourite Archie McLoughlin
    Jul 7th 2013, 3:02 PM

Ive had guns, knives and needles used against me in my time in xtravision. Makes you mad stressed for days after.

Mute Mongo
    Favourite Mongo
    Jul 7th 2013, 2:44 PM

Probably somebody out on bail at the time

Mute Paul Doyle
    Favourite Paul Doyle
    Jul 7th 2013, 4:39 PM

Who- the guard?

Mute Darragh
    Favourite Darragh
    Jul 7th 2013, 2:21 PM

Fair play to the garda for arresting the guy with s gun. Very brave. Just a shame his colleagues are inept at catching the bankrobber with the pen.

Mute nidgeweasel
    Favourite nidgeweasel
    Jul 7th 2013, 2:35 PM

Rats out

Mute Dublinjonny
    Favourite Dublinjonny
    Jul 7th 2013, 2:18 PM

He took a gamble and lost

Mute simonjblake
    Favourite simonjblake
    Jul 7th 2013, 3:30 PM

I heard he just didnt want to fill out the forms.

Mute Paul Corrigan
    Favourite Paul Corrigan
    Jul 7th 2013, 3:39 PM

Simon…someone types that every time there’s a robbery story…EVERY time!

Mute john ferguson
    Favourite john ferguson
    Jul 7th 2013, 7:10 PM

I heard the guard was a big feckin ejitt.

Mute Paul Wallace
    Favourite Paul Wallace
    Jul 7th 2013, 2:39 PM

You wouldn’t get that carry on in Balinteer

Mute Mark Heehee
    Favourite Mark Heehee
    Jul 7th 2013, 3:21 PM

Why is that Paul? Are there no bookies in Ballinteer?

Mute Eddie
    Favourite Eddie
    Jul 7th 2013, 6:32 PM

Listen to the new Anglo recordings. We have just all been robbed now and where are the arrests? Hero.

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Jul 7th 2013, 8:49 PM

Even money they catch the 2nd guy

COOM
    Mute COOM
    Favourite COOM
    Jul 7th 2013, 5:48 PM

Hummmmmmmm

Mute Jason Bradley
    Favourite Jason Bradley
    Jul 8th 2013, 9:57 AM

Probably just trying to get some of the money back that the banks ripped off from the irish people except the wa#@er bankers wont do time for it

Video Player is loading.
Current Time 0:00
Duration 0:00
Loaded: 0%
Stream Type LIVE
Remaining Time 0:00

1x
    • descriptions off, selected
    • captions off, selected