You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Irish soldiers to finally be awarded medals for Siege of Jadotville - 55 years on

The decision was taken at Enda Kenny’s last cabinet meeting today.

IRISH SOLDIERS FROM the Siege of Jadotville will finally receive bravery medals – almost 56 years after they fought.

The decision was taken at Enda Kenny’s last cabinet meeting today.

In 1961 when the United Nations intervened in the Katanga conflict in the African Congo, a contingent of 155 Irish troops were sent to the Congo on the peacekeeping mission. A Company were sent into Jadotville after a Swedish company pulled out.

Their battle was effectively swept under the carpet and the medals board at the time denied them the honour of being awarded medals.

The Siege of Jadotville PA Wire / PA Images PA Wire / PA Images / PA Images

Today’s decision was made after fifth year pupils at Galway Community College lobbied politicians.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny said, “I am very pleased to announce this decision to award medals to the men of “A” Company.  This fully recognises their bravery and courage during the unique circumstances of the Siege of Jadotville.

The UN peacekeeping operation in the Congo was the first time the UN deployed a significant military force and it was also one of Ireland’s earliest UN peacekeeping operations.

‘Just teenagers’ 

While Commandant Pat Quinlan was 42, the bulk of the troops were just teenagers. Photos of the men before the siege show them with regulation blue helmets askew and rifles in their hands.

Tadhg Quinn was 19 when he fought at Jadotville, he told TheJournal.ie that they didn’t have enough food, ammunition or water for the siege. At one stage, they were sent jerry cans of water – but they were petrol cans that hadn’t even been cleaned out.

The also spent months in captivity after the siege and were only allowed one spoon of liquid each.

download Wikipedia Wikipedia

Last year The Siege of Jadotville was released in cinemas before moving to Netflix.

Northern Irish actor Jamie Dornan played Commandant Pat Quinlan.

Netflix UK & Ireland / YouTube

Read: “It should never have happened”: Irish soldiers’ forgotten battle told in Siege of Jadotville>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

49 Comments
    Mute Kevin Carey
    Favourite Kevin Carey
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:15 PM

Best toy show in years so far. Lovely moment with Keano

Mute Nino Gaggi
    Favourite Nino Gaggi
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:23 PM

*Drools*

Mute Nino Gaggi
    Favourite Nino Gaggi
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:23 PM

That was not meant to be a reply.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Nov 30th 2013, 12:49 AM

You would say that now.

Mute Louise G
    Favourite Louise G
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:39 PM

Did you see the man in the audience grab the one direction doll from the ladys hand when Ryan threw them out? Madness!!!

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:55 PM

The amount of free stuff they got and nearly have a fight over a one direction doll that costs €24.99 disgusting behavior.

Hope some one sticks up the clip on you tube… It will go viral..

Mute Mac Mock
    Favourite Mac Mock
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:57 PM

And he done it with a smile – i had to rewind !!
    Ps – it was literally the only bit of the show i watched

Mute Nino Gaggi
    Favourite Nino Gaggi
    Nov 30th 2013, 12:00 AM

Up there with that moment when the anal retentive one Pat Kenny’s chair made a fart sound and he got audibly and clearly embarrassed.

Mute Gillian Foale
    Favourite Gillian Foale
    Nov 30th 2013, 1:14 AM

Couldn’t believe it! That doll was hers, he actually yanked it from her and you could see by her reaction he hurt her hand. Thrilled with himself he was too.

Mute Stephanie O'Loughlin
    Favourite Stephanie O'Loughlin
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:22 PM

Why do I get the feeling that a lot of those complaining about how cringe worthy this or that thing is tonight will have forgotten all about it by next year and duly tune in again? Admit it, the toy show is an institution and Ryan is doing grand.
    Doing a live show that length working with kids must be quite challenging. And after all…it sort of is about the kids, isn’t it. Just connect to your inner child and enjoy it. If that does not work…there’s always the off button.

Mute Seán Pádraig Ó Donnchadha
    Favourite Seán Pádraig Ó Donnchadha
    Nov 30th 2013, 9:29 AM

I missed it live but recorded it and watching it now, I think it’s as cringey and as brilliant as always. I really like Ryan as the presenter because he genuinely seems to enjoy playing with the kids. Pat Kenny always seemed uncomfortable around the kids. You can’t help but smile when you’re watching it!

Mute Alan O'Donovan
    Favourite Alan O'Donovan
    Nov 30th 2013, 10:38 AM

I don’t see anyone complaining…judging by the comments this years toy show seems to be a resounding success. In my opinion no other presenter in Ireland can do what Tubridy did last night, he is a natural on the toy show.

Mute Mac Mock
    Favourite Mac Mock
    Nov 29th 2013, 9:26 PM

I once got a set of batteries for Christmas -

with a note on it saying “toys not included.”

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Nov 29th 2013, 9:40 PM

I got a wooden rocking horse…it got wood worm and had to be put down

Mute Mac Mock
    Favourite Mac Mock
    Nov 29th 2013, 9:41 PM

Oh gee !

Mute John Carolan
    Favourite John Carolan
    Nov 29th 2013, 9:42 PM

Did you hear the one about the wooden horse?………wooden shite.

Mute Tony Clifton
    Favourite Tony Clifton
    Nov 29th 2013, 9:49 PM

As much as I hate tubridy fair play to him singing at the beginning

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Nov 29th 2013, 9:59 PM

haha reminds me of that bit in Friends with Phoebe ‘When I was a kid I had a barrel.’ ‘A barrel for a dollhouse?’ ‘No just a barrel!’

Mute David Kirwan
    Favourite David Kirwan
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:52 PM

Ya know, it looks like there were a few cutbacks this year. No headline band, a set that was more sparse than normal and yet, it was all the better because of it. Back to basics and it worked.

Mute David Keogh
    Favourite David Keogh
    Nov 29th 2013, 9:34 PM

Anybody else watch that train wreck of a show on TV3 earlier? They really shouldn’t even try compete with the Toy Show!

Mute Pa Jama
    Favourite Pa Jama
    Nov 29th 2013, 9:40 PM

The lack of studio audience made it feel really odd…

Mute Jessica Carroll
    Favourite Jessica Carroll
    Nov 29th 2013, 9:47 PM

And Alan’s accent kept on changing! Cringe!

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Nov 29th 2013, 9:57 PM

sounds gas! missed opportunity not letting Vincent Browne present.

Mute Kevin Rooney
    Favourite Kevin Rooney
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:00 PM

Vincent would be total a grinch

Mute Roy De Meo
    Favourite Roy De Meo
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:01 PM

Which scrooge removed my comment?

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:01 PM

I know, exactly haha! Vincent Browne is the bleedin pride of this country.

Mute annie
    Favourite annie
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:09 PM

Probably because you insinuated that Alan Hughes is a pedophile on a comments thread about the Toy Show, troll somewhere else now, there’s a good lad.

Mute Nino Gaggi
    Favourite Nino Gaggi
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:19 PM

I did no such thing. I made a lighthearted, jokey, throwaway comment that anyone with half a brain wouldn’t have taken seriously.

Let me guess. Over 45 and new to the internet?

Ya boring old fart.

Mute Nino Gaggi
    Favourite Nino Gaggi
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:34 PM

Fergal about it.

Mute RE 3
    Favourite RE 3
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:44 PM

BOSCO!!!!!!!!!!!

Mute Maz
    Favourite Maz
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:07 PM

That’s made my year! I’m off to collect every battery I have……

Mute The Hungry Boards
    Favourite The Hungry Boards
    Nov 29th 2013, 9:47 PM

For those about to moan about it, spare us. There’s an on/off button on both your tv and phone.
    Enjoy the show !!!

Mute David Grealy
    Favourite David Grealy
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:06 PM

The lad demonstrating the train set has the best accent ever!

Mute Nino Gaggi
    Favourite Nino Gaggi
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:08 PM

I thought it was Sean Og O Hailpin.

Mute Tim Higgins
    Favourite Tim Higgins
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:26 PM

Nino in all fairness Sean is from cork and that lad had the thickest Kerry accent I ever heard.

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Nov 30th 2013, 12:46 AM

so he does

Mute James Patrick Smith
    Favourite James Patrick Smith
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:46 PM

Aul Bosco this generation of kids are like WTF?

Mute Zoë Georgina
    Favourite Zoë Georgina
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:47 PM

I actually got too excited when I heard Bosco say hello. I actually cried. I now feel really embarrassed.

Mute heelqueen
    Favourite heelqueen
    Nov 30th 2013, 1:06 AM

I have to say alexandra was the most annoying child ive ever seen. Harsh but true

Mute Paul Radburn
    Favourite Paul Radburn
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:19 PM

As usual the upper classed brats get to be on the show, I really hope there’s a place for the special needs children

Mute Paul Radburn
    Favourite Paul Radburn
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:26 PM

My prayers were answered, they did a special for the special needs kids, thanx

Mute Nino Gaggi
    Favourite Nino Gaggi
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:36 PM

What a way to speak about children oh pontificating one.

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Nov 30th 2013, 12:46 AM

Good on Robbie for showing up , little lad was made up!!

Mute Dearbháile Callan
    Favourite Dearbháile Callan
    Nov 30th 2013, 12:06 AM

Really enjoyed tonights toy show best one in years… Loved the moment Keano came on , and Bosco just brilliant.. only fault I thought the Irish Made Toys should have had real air time …

Mute Frances Faller
    Favourite Frances Faller
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:23 PM

Its a fun show, great to see the children enjoying themselves they will remember it for years.

Mute Nora McGrath
    Favourite Nora McGrath
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:46 PM

It’s over and my eyes and heart are still recovering after Mary’s video. But now it’s OFFICIALLY Christmas so time to listen to Shane and Kirsty…

Mute Roy De Meo
    Favourite Roy De Meo
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:00 PM

Thank God Pat Kenny isn’t hosting anyway. The anal retentive one always looked like he was one step away from screaming at one of the kids or giving them a belt.

Mute Snow Elf
    Favourite Snow Elf
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:48 PM

My mother wasn’t too impressed by the cups song, her response: “I’ll not miss a bit of ya”

Mute Nino Gaggi
    Favourite Nino Gaggi
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:05 PM

Damn girl…..

Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:42 PM

Nearly a fight over one direction doll…

Mute RE 3
    Favourite RE 3
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:02 PM

A twerking monkey!!

Mute Paul Murray
    Favourite Paul Murray
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:27 PM

A lot of men getting excited over the One Direction toys being thrown. Wierd

Mute Aideen Preston
    Favourite Aideen Preston

Quick take a drink! There’s a child making me feel inadequate!

Mute Paul Murray
    Favourite Paul Murray
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:16 PM

Jesus that age band are shite.

Mute B
    Favourite B
    Nov 29th 2013, 9:51 PM

He should tell the child that the doll was made in China by another child……..

Mute B
    Favourite B
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:50 PM

You’re Ryan Seacrest…
    These children are so americanised. Do we have any Irish children in Ireland.

Mute Nino Gaggi
    Favourite Nino Gaggi
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:04 PM

Practically every single Irish celebrity that moves to Britain/America develops an English/American accent within several years.

Anthony Hopkins, Tom Jones, Sean Connery and Michael Caine all still have their accents.

Go figure..

Mute B
    Favourite B
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:11 PM

The storyteller kid from Kerry is not americanised.
    And now we have some gangsta rappers from Cork. Americanised is back.

Mute B
    Favourite B
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:58 PM

All over: http://youtu.be/epgXuMB1sF8 * I’m off…………….

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Nov 30th 2013, 12:58 AM

Apart from mine ?

A few.

Yes

Mute Garry Mac
    Favourite Garry Mac
    Dec 2nd 2013, 8:41 PM

Americanised? Because they are using their own Cork accents, slang and wrote a song about the possibility of Santy driving a sulky? That’s fairly gangsta alright… Let me guess you’re in your 60s?

Mute Gillian Keogh
    Favourite Gillian Keogh
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:40 PM

That cup thing was amazing!!

Mute Nino Gaggi
    Favourite Nino Gaggi
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:42 PM

That girl had charisma and presence.

Mute Paul Murray
    Favourite Paul Murray
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:07 PM

That was a lovely shhhhhhhhtory.

Mute Keelan O'neill
    Favourite Keelan O'neill
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:15 PM

How can you look at a telly stuck up to a corner like that?

Mute Nino Gaggi
    Favourite Nino Gaggi
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:58 PM

What part of America is Claudine from?

Mute Susan Gibson
    Favourite Susan Gibson
    Nov 30th 2013, 2:49 AM

Did anyone else notice Tubirdy’s upskirt assault on poor Minnie Mouse??? Shockin’.

Mute Anna Gallagher
    Favourite Anna Gallagher
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:55 PM

The kids are such fun, all I say about Tubb’s co presenter is ‘Watch this space’

Mute Eoghan O'Reilly
    Favourite Eoghan O'Reilly
    Nov 30th 2013, 12:59 AM

well done to fergal from knockbride done cavan proud!

Mute Ciaran Behan
    Favourite Ciaran Behan
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:10 PM

Loving the live blog.

Mute Roy De Meo
    Favourite Roy De Meo
    Nov 29th 2013, 9:41 PM

Tubridy needs to work on his cardio.

Mute Monty Wuggy
    Favourite Monty Wuggy
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:34 PM

Fergal has more charisma and personableness than Tubs.
    Anyone else think RTE should make a prudent business move and hire Fergal?

Mute Vanessa Walsh
    Favourite Vanessa Walsh
    Nov 30th 2013, 3:50 AM

What great commentary! Well done!

I was in the audience and it was the best experience ever! What an amazing bunch of people that are part of the Late Late (toy) show team.. can’t compliment them enough! Job very very very well done.. :-D :-D

Just BRILLIANT!

HI HO HI HO TIS OF SHOPPING I WILL GO.. WITH AN O2 CARD HERE.. A EUROSPAR CARD THERE.. AN A ARGOS PLUS WOODIES OOOOOOONE TOOOOOOOO…. Y’UP! ;-) ;-)

Mute Gillian Doyle
    Favourite Gillian Doyle
    Nov 29th 2013, 9:53 PM

Ryan Tubridy = better call Saul put through taffy pulling machine :)
    & am not entirely sure he hasn’t been at the mini bar LOL.

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Nov 29th 2013, 9:49 PM

Give it a rest, in the nama jaysus.

Mute Pa Jama
    Favourite Pa Jama
    Nov 29th 2013, 9:39 PM

Ah Tubbers is singing. Want to turn off but can’t look away!

Mute B Cuneen
    Favourite B Cuneen
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:06 PM

Tubridy “people on the bridge contemplating life” ,very appropriate talking about a kids toy

Mute John Carolan
    Favourite John Carolan
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:33 PM

Were the camera men on the sauce today?

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Nov 29th 2013, 9:56 PM

Ruined already by that singing eegit. I thought the Toy show was supposed to be heartwarming not disturbing!

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Nov 29th 2013, 9:59 PM

Tubs not the little girl! I ain’t that cruel!

Mute Monty Wuggy
    Favourite Monty Wuggy
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:24 PM

Lovely racial stereotype from Ryan, there.
    He is insufferable.

Mute Nino Gaggi
    Favourite Nino Gaggi
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:39 PM

What did he say?

Mute Nino Gaggi
    Favourite Nino Gaggi
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:21 PM

Really.

It’s okay for Emer to make a joke about the girl’s weight in the article but it isn’t ok for me to do it in the comments section?

Kind of hypocritical.

As I EXPLAINED, again it was a lighthearted comment that anyone with a semblance of cop on wouldn’t have taken offense to.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:24 PM

Sorry, where exactly did I make a joke about anyone’s weight? Disgraceful accusation to make.

Emer

Mute Nino Gaggi
    Favourite Nino Gaggi

” Aoife is our first to toy tester. We’re guessing they’re not veggies in her house:”

You miss my point, Emer.

Not saying that’s offensive. Just saying, my comment was no more or no less offensive than that.

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:28 PM

Your comment was flagged as offensive several times and was deleted. Let’s move on and enjoy the show.

Mute Mac Mock
    Favourite Mac Mock
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:44 PM

Haha – veggies :-)

Mute davey p
    Favourite davey p
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:26 PM

Eh, they called the pigs sausage and rasher, they dont sound like veggies to me either

Mute Carr Barnes
    Favourite Carr Barnes
    Nov 30th 2013, 7:44 AM

Emer was referring to the names of the pigs not the child’s physical characteristics.

Mute Nino Gaggi
    Favourite Nino Gaggi
    Nov 30th 2013, 1:54 PM

My comment was misconstrued too.

Mute RE 3
    Favourite RE 3
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:09 PM

I swear the jumper gets worse every year..

Mute davey p
    Favourite davey p
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:21 PM

I think its supposed to get worse

Mute Nigel O Keeffe
    Favourite Nigel O Keeffe
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:33 PM

Toy show?..more like x factor!sitting here with my 6yr old girl and 10 yr old boy..dissapointed doesent even come close!

Mute B Cuneen
    Favourite B Cuneen
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:10 PM

I know toys are given to charity but i really dislike the smyths toys experience,toy shops are not meant to be superstores,they are basically warehouses and they have a monopoly on the industry.

Mute Ally
    Favourite Ally
    Nov 30th 2013, 2:16 AM

Am.. I ate too much sweets… It’s 2am and I’m regretting it!

Mute Gavin Hughes
    Favourite Gavin Hughes
    Nov 30th 2013, 2:28 AM

It was a great show. Its the kids who make it what it is.

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Nov 30th 2013, 2:36 AM

I actually still have the fisher price record player in the above list Emer shows. Only a few weeks ago I gave it to my own 2 year old :) I’m missing one record

Where did you get the pic of it Emer?

Mute Maggie Cullagh
    Favourite Maggie Cullagh
    Nov 30th 2013, 2:28 AM

Rte player Never worked once for me from overseas ,changed 24hour clock etc, il be deleting that rubbish app!

Mute Zoë Georgina
    Favourite Zoë Georgina
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:11 PM

Campaign for Christmas number one anyone?

Mute Bertrand Dierckens
    Favourite Bertrand Dierckens
    Nov 30th 2013, 9:20 AM

Great show, would’ve liked more mention of Irish toys – delighted to see little red fairy door from The Irish Fairy Door Company in the background, deserved a mention though.

Mute Nino Gaggi
    Favourite Nino Gaggi
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:37 PM

The way Tubridy said hello to that girl. *Cringe*

Mute Julia Gelezova
    Favourite Julia Gelezova
    Nov 29th 2013, 11:17 PM

Aw geez you guys, I wish I took a decent photo now :/ I feel Todd deserves better representation

Mute Michelle Mc Loughney
    Favourite Michelle Mc Loughney
    Nov 30th 2013, 11:47 AM

Aw really enjoyed it. There were some lovely kiddies on it. In a non creepy way. Obviously.