You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The Cross Guns area of Phibsboro, where the incident occurred today. Google Maps

Infant, 1, dies after falling from 6th-floor apartment

The child passed away at Temple Street Children’s Hospital after falling from a sixth-story window in Phibsboro.

AN INFANT has died after falling from the 6th floor of an apartment block in Dublin.

The incident occurred at about 4:20pm, at the Cross Guns Bridge area in Phibsboro.

The child was taken to Temple Street Children’s Hospital but was pronounced dead a short time later.

Gardaí have asked witnesses to the event to contact Mountjoy Garda Station at 01 666 8600.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

74 Comments
    Mute Michelle Byrne Keane
    Favourite Michelle Byrne Keane
    Aug 3rd 2012, 6:10 PM

Tragic :(( RIP

Mute Sandy
    Favourite Sandy
    Aug 3rd 2012, 6:10 PM

Oh no! So sad. RIP.

Mute Joe Butler
    Favourite Joe Butler
    Aug 3rd 2012, 6:17 PM

bless R.i.P.

Mute Dave Mc Evoy
    Favourite Dave Mc Evoy
    Aug 3rd 2012, 6:18 PM

May he R.I.P.

Mute Leah Richardson
    Favourite Leah Richardson
    Aug 3rd 2012, 6:36 PM

This is a terrible tragedy and as much as I do not wish to demean the loss of this young child’s life, I have to wonder where were the parents? How does something like this happen?

Mute Betty-Lou maguire
    Favourite Betty-Lou maguire
    Aug 3rd 2012, 6:42 PM

How terrible it should not be possible for windows to open out to the degree a child can fall out tragedy for the parents
    I see the usual trolls are out red thumbing condolences

Mute Sinead Kiely
    Favourite Sinead Kiely
    Aug 3rd 2012, 6:54 PM

This type of comment doesn’t help.
    Condolences to the parents and family

Mute Tomy Iona
    Favourite Tomy Iona
    Aug 3rd 2012, 7:13 PM

I’m sure there will be an investigation into this which I hope will answer your ill-timed question.

Poor child and poor family to have to go through this loss.

Mute Abi Dennis
    Favourite Abi Dennis
    Aug 3rd 2012, 7:30 PM

Have you ever spent a good bit of time around 1 year olds? Once they learn to climb all you have to do is turn your back for a minute for something to happen.

Mute sarah curran
    Favourite sarah curran
    Aug 3rd 2012, 8:04 PM

leah you obviously don’t have children so maybe you don’t realise that you only have to turn your back for one min and children can get up to all sorts its impossible to keep your eye on them every second of the day. such a sad incident my condolences to the family i can’t imagine what they must be going through. all high rise buildings and upper lever windows should have to have a safety catch on them so they can only open so far.

Mute Ciaran Cosgrove
    Favourite Ciaran Cosgrove
    Aug 3rd 2012, 8:54 PM

Why would you say that

Mute Vinny Healy
    Favourite Vinny Healy
    Aug 3rd 2012, 9:52 PM

Something like this (and it happens all over the world) happens by accident full stop

Mute stephen rogers
    Favourite stephen rogers
    Aug 3rd 2012, 10:48 PM

Young much?

Mute Sean Slevin
    Favourite Sean Slevin
    Aug 3rd 2012, 10:55 PM

I’m with Betty on this with the question why is it possible to open a window this much on a 6th floor.
    The attack on Betty was uncalled for. Attacking for something that wasn’t said.

Mute Niall Mckenna
    Favourite Niall Mckenna
    Aug 4th 2012, 12:15 AM

Jesus Leah, as a parent myself I think that such a tragedy can occur in the blink of an eye. you could be the best most caring parent in the world yet turn your head for literally a second and the unthinkable happens to your most precious.
    I am going out on a limb here but would wager this was a terrible accident that could happen to anyone. I think comments like yours are uncalled for at such time. sympathies to the family.

Mute Neil McAuley
    Favourite Neil McAuley
    Aug 3rd 2012, 6:24 PM

Just heard on the news that the toddler was critical and now this. Terrible news.

Mute GoGo99
    Favourite GoGo99
    Aug 3rd 2012, 6:30 PM

How the hell does this happen????

Mute Westmeath
    Favourite Westmeath
    Aug 3rd 2012, 6:20 PM

So Sad. R.I.P

Mute Sean Fitzgerald
    Favourite Sean Fitzgerald
    Aug 3rd 2012, 6:29 PM

Terrible for the parents, RIP

Mute Joe Butler
    Favourite Joe Butler
    Aug 3rd 2012, 7:07 PM

whats with all the thumbs down?? have some f-ing respect. sad f***ers.

Mute Shaunagh Ginty
    Favourite Shaunagh Ginty
    Aug 3rd 2012, 6:39 PM

Poor little thing RIP

Mute Betty-Lou maguire
    Favourite Betty-Lou maguire
    Aug 3rd 2012, 7:47 PM

I was not suggesting any neglect by the parents rather that building regs should ensure that technically windows cannot open out at floor level as is the case in America after Eric clapton son was killed in similar accident. It was your assumption I was blaming the parents which I was not

Mute Sinead Kiely
    Favourite Sinead Kiely
    Aug 4th 2012, 2:02 AM

Apologies Betty-Lou, my comment was directed at Leah and not yourself. Error when clicking on reply.
    I actually agree with your comment re windows.

Mute Bernadette Dunne
    Favourite Bernadette Dunne
    Aug 3rd 2012, 6:48 PM

R.I.P. Little x x Deepest Condolences to the parents Family and friends

Mute Michael Kelly
    Favourite Michael Kelly
    Aug 3rd 2012, 7:41 PM

Why do people always get angry at the inappropriate red thumb brigade? Forget them they are not worthy of comment. RIP to the baby, there is nothing more to say at this time.

Mute Olivia Lowndes
    Favourite Olivia Lowndes
    Aug 3rd 2012, 7:11 PM

Poor lil angel :( R. I. P. my thoughts are wit all his family xx

Mute Luke Collins
    Favourite Luke Collins
    Aug 3rd 2012, 7:51 PM

RIP little man.. However I do believe all windows at height should have sufficient mechanisms in place which prevent them opening wide enough for a child to get through

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Aug 3rd 2012, 6:49 PM

Such a shame . May he R I P . Condolences to the parents and family.

Mute Laura Moran.
    Favourite Laura Moran.
    Aug 3rd 2012, 9:28 PM

As a mother to 2 mischievous boys I know that it only takes the blink of an eye for a child to get into danger, and unfortunately accidents can happen. Tragic for the family x

Mute Jamie Pope Joyce
    Favourite Jamie Pope Joyce
    Aug 3rd 2012, 10:30 PM

No disrespect to anyone, but if the child was one year old, why was he on his own playing at an open window out of the arms or buggie of its mother at an opened window, I think a few questions should be asked

Mute Jamie Pope Joyce
    Aug 3rd 2012, 10:30 PM

Still my condolences to family

Mute Leah Richardson
    Aug 3rd 2012, 7:46 PM

Yes, it may be considered ill-timed to wonder how this happened. But when is a good time? As I have said, it is a terrible tragedy and my deepest sympathies go to the family at this time. The opinion that I was trying to articulate was whether this was a situation that could have been avoidable. It is not trying to take away from the sad loss of a young life.

Mute Tom Mc Carthy
    Favourite Tom Mc Carthy
    Aug 3rd 2012, 8:31 PM

Well I for one don’t think one of the first reports that extended family/friends might read should be attacking the parents. GIve it 24 hours.

Mute Tomy Iona
    Favourite Tomy Iona
    Aug 3rd 2012, 8:32 PM

Maybe after the family have buried their child? Maybe give that time at least?

All your question does is cast aspersions over the parents at a time of tragedy. It adds nothing to anything and there will be an investigation into this which will establish if there was any responsibility anywhere. Why not just let that happen – you’ll get your answer then.

Mute Sinead Kiely
    Favourite Sinead Kiely
    Aug 3rd 2012, 9:20 PM

Seriously Leah … Put a lid on it.

Mute Sinead Kiely
    Favourite Sinead Kiely
    Aug 3rd 2012, 9:21 PM

Seriously Leah … Put a lid on it

Mute Darragh Ó Bradáin
    Favourite Darragh Ó Bradáin
    Aug 3rd 2012, 9:44 PM

Very articulate, Sinéad.

People are entitled to ask questions or disagree with certain opinions.

Mute Petr Tarasov
    Favourite Petr Tarasov
    Aug 3rd 2012, 10:52 PM

@Darragh

Defending your woman? Maybe you could both show respect to this family and keep quiet.

Mute reds
    Favourite reds
    Aug 3rd 2012, 10:54 PM

@leah- It may be more appropriate to ask those kind of questions to a circle of friends rather than on this article where relatives of the child may see.

People are going to ask those sort of questions but just have a little more consideration.

Mute Sinead Kiely
    Favourite Sinead Kiely
    Aug 4th 2012, 1:32 AM

@ Darragh
    Obtuse comments and questions like Leah’s and your own are not what this family want to see. This family has to live with this for the rest of their lives – no matter who or what was at fault. Show some compassion

Mute Tomy Iona
    Favourite Tomy Iona
    Aug 4th 2012, 10:44 AM

For anyone looking for answers to how this type of thing happens, rather than continuing here; maybe google other incidents like this which happen surprisingly often. This happened yesterday, I don’t know how anyone would expect to get answers about this particular case so soon anyway.

Mute Les Rock
    Favourite Les Rock
    Aug 3rd 2012, 7:53 PM

No is just not the time for questions Leah. No matter how well meaning, i understand your point. God rest the little angel. R.i.p. little guy. Deepest sympathy to his family.

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Aug 4th 2012, 1:25 AM

Where was god when he fell out of the window?

Mute Sinead Fox
    Favourite Sinead Fox
    Aug 4th 2012, 1:56 AM

your some fool, your one of these smart lads that doesn’t like God being mentioned yet when something goes wrong it’s all Gods fault.
    God bless this poor family, every parents worst nightmare became a reality for them today, my heart breaks for them. may he rip

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Aug 5th 2012, 11:08 AM

SF, you should always be careful when you call someone a fool, especially when you spell “you’re” as “your”. Nothing is “god’s fault” as he/she doesn’t exist. My point was to point out the obvious paradox when people talk of praying to god because someone died that their god could have saved.

Mute Lisa O' Leary
    Favourite Lisa O' Leary
    Aug 3rd 2012, 7:38 PM

Terrible. The same exact same thing has happened in Dundee today also. How tragic.

Mute Leah Richardson
    Aug 3rd 2012, 9:40 PM

Sinead Kiely, as I have said twice now I was in no way trying to cause offence by what I said. All I was doing was trying to understand how this (possibly avoidable) situation happened. I’m not attempting to place blame anywhere. I know at this time some people may feel that it is an inappropriate time to do so however this is a free forum and we are all entitled to express ourselves without fear of personal attack from other commentators. I apologise if anything I said has caused upset. It was not intended. At the end of the day, a little soul has left this Earth and all we can do is pray for her.

Mute Stephanie O'Loughlin
    Favourite Stephanie O'Loughlin
    Aug 3rd 2012, 8:40 PM

rip poor little thing. God be good to the family at this terrible terrible time. my thoughts are with them. nobody should have to bury their own child.

Mute Darragh Ó Bradáin
    Aug 3rd 2012, 8:18 PM

I think now is as good a time as any to be asking questions. Things like this don’t just happen.

So many stories of accidents with babies/infants always start with “I only took my eyes off him for a second”. That can never be an excuse for an accident with a young child, no matter what anyone says or alludes to.

This is clearly a tragedy. A one-year-old baby is dead. My condolences to the family. But it is only human of us to ask questions about how or why such a tragedy could take place to begin with.

Mute Niall Boylan @ Night
    Favourite Niall Boylan @ Night
    Aug 3rd 2012, 8:38 PM

Yes it is a tragedy and yes if you take your eye off them for a second accidents can happen but the poor child was one . I’m confused as to how a one year old can be out of a parents arms , safety of a play pen or unsupervised for even that one second.

Whoever attacked the previous comment for asking a very obvious question must not have children or you would understand exactly why she asked the question . We all know it’s tragic and have no understanding of how the parents must feel but when the dust settles it helps to know why it happened so (a) we learn to avoid another loss and (b) is somebody responsible for the loss of life .

Losing a child is the saddest thing that can happen to any parent and I hope they can get through the difficult time .

Mute karla carroll
    Favourite karla carroll
    Aug 3rd 2012, 8:45 PM

Sweet dreams little one,

Mute kelly whelan
    Favourite kelly whelan
    Aug 3rd 2012, 10:42 PM

rip poor baby. probably just been inquisitive like any other. thoughts are with his parents

Mute iwantjustice5
    Favourite iwantjustice5
    Aug 3rd 2012, 10:55 PM

R.I.P little baby. It would answer you all on here better to say a prayer for the little baby and his family, instead of making a fight out of it over thumbs down or up for that matter! … The Journal.ie should change its rules; by only allowing thumbs up or down if a person comments on a storey!

Mute William Grogan
    Favourite William Grogan
    Aug 4th 2012, 1:28 AM

Say a prayer to the god who could have saved her???

Mute Leah Richardson
    Aug 3rd 2012, 11:49 PM

@reds-My initial question was purely trying to establish the facts of the tragedy. Not to place blame. I don’t know how many times I have to apologise for any offence I caused. It was NOT intended. I have the utmost sympathy for the family at this time. I have attempted to remove my comment as I did not realise how it would be misread. Can we all just please focus on the actual fact that a life has been lost and stop attacking each other. Thank you.

Mute iwantjustice5
    Favourite iwantjustice5
    Aug 4th 2012, 12:08 AM

Leah, dont worrie about all the thumbs down, if you had wrote some thing else you would prob still get thumbs down and attacked, i usto read and comment (A LOT) on the Journal, but i gave it up for the very reason for been thumbed down and attacked for nothing, you can not please some people, i read the journal the odd time, tonight is my first time back on it in a long time and its still the same here nag nag thumb down! so good luck journal plenty of other good sites on the web!!! Best Wishes Leah.

Mute reds
    Favourite reds
    Aug 4th 2012, 12:23 AM

Yes I know you don’t mean any disrespect as it is a question that a lot of people will ask and you don’t need to apologise to anyone here, but just be a little more cautious of what you post on sensitive articles as you don’t know the circumstances surrounding it or who may be reading.

I don’t think you meant any harm!

Mute Marist '59
    Favourite Marist '59
    Aug 3rd 2012, 10:42 PM

This is a very sad but preventable tragedy. Although I live in a two story dwelling, now that I have young grandsons visiting, I have fixed childproof window stops to all upstairs windows. There are various websites selling stops suitable for all types of windows. Similarly, people should be aware of the dangers of cords dangling from window blinds.nCondolences to the parents and family of this little girl.

Mute Edel Mc Donnell
    Favourite Edel Mc Donnell
    Aug 3rd 2012, 9:12 PM

Just heard on the news that it was a little girl,very very sad.thinking of her family,may she rest in peace.

Mute jonathan oleary
    Favourite jonathan oleary
    Aug 4th 2012, 12:57 AM

For all you door knobs commenting why a window should be able to open so far on such a high level- the reason is simple if a fire or any other emergency the fire and rescue teams can evacuate tru the windows and actually save lives, rip to to poor infant , the parents of this child no matter how good or bad they are will question they’re actions for the rest of their lives as anyone would, kids get up to mischief, that’s what kids do

Mute Olivia Brennan
    Favourite Olivia Brennan
    Aug 4th 2012, 10:01 AM

Im actually boiling reading some of these comments, such a terrible tragedy and idiots here rushing to cast blame. I bet those of you rushing to critise the mother dont have children yourselves, as is usual on here people scrambling to cast judgment on things they know nothing about. Those of us with children (me included) would shiver and think ‘there but for the grace of God goes me’. I feel nothing but sympathy and heartbreak for that mother. None of us know the circumstances but those of with children know that it only takes a split second and, despite what one person here siad it is IMPOSSIBLE to watch them every second. I have toddlers and am terrified of things like the upstairs windows, water or safety when cooking and am always vigilant. I have locks on all upstairs windows. But just yesterday I had my children out in the evening and my husband had opened the windows in the upstairs front rooms. When we got back my husband was working in the garden and I brought my children straight upstairs to get ready for bed, I didnt know that the windows were open. I went into the bathroom with my one year old and then went into one of the front rooms where I found my 3 year old sitting on the windowsill beside the open window. I got the fright of my life and I dread to think what might have happened had it been my one year old who had wandered into the room. That is how easy it happens.

So those of you jumping on the back of this poor childs parents, save your breath. No doubt there will be no one blaming them more than themselves and we cannot even begin to imagine the pain and agony they are suffering. God rest this poor little child.

Mute Darragh Ó Bradáin
    Aug 4th 2012, 10:39 AM

Olivia, what I’d be “boiling” about in this situation is the loss of an innocent 1-year-old girl’s life, not a few comments posted on an open forum.

I don’t think my opinion, or anyone else’s, is more or less valid based on whether any of us has children or not. The issue here is the very tragic loss of human life. You don’t need to be a parent to question why this could have happened.

Mute G Charles Osborne
    Favourite G Charles Osborne
    Aug 3rd 2012, 7:15 PM

Living up to your name anyway. You don’t know the circumstances. Not the place for idle speculation and rash, unfair judgement. Those people just lost their baby. Rest in peace.

Mute Angela Coll
    Favourite Angela Coll
    Aug 4th 2012, 1:54 AM

RIP little Angel, thoughts and prayers with the family such an awful thing to happen :(
    As the mother of a 20 month old I know sometimes you feel like you need eyes on the back of your head, it’s SO easy to take your eyes off them for a millisecond and find them up to mischief

No one here knows what happened so I don’t think we should judge the possible rights or wrongs of those that were minding her
    A little angel is dead, a mother & father are no doubt heart broken & inconsolable tonight
    The judgements can wait for the official investigation surely?

Mute Colm O'Cúirce
    Favourite Colm O'Cúirce
    Aug 4th 2012, 12:57 AM

Why would people red thumb RIP comments, freaks trolling the Internet with nothing better to do. Let’s see how many red thumbs I get. Bellends.

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    Aug 4th 2012, 12:10 AM

rip poor baby xxx my heart goes out to this poor family stop trying to find blame. tragic accidents will always happen you may try to justify your views with nonsence. i just pray none of us experience the devastation of this family. god bless.

Mute Bernadette Dunne
    Favourite Bernadette Dunne
    Aug 4th 2012, 12:38 AM

Well said Joanna instead of questions and looking for answers. Why not think of the Loss and devastation and bewilderment of their most treasured a baby. If anyone on here lost a small child you will understand what parents go through without all the Joe Blogs suggesting that there is more than a very tragic accident Give respect and sympathy not ridicule
    Rest in Peace little angel x x x

Mute Jamie Pope Joyce
    Aug 4th 2012, 12:33 AM

As many people can unlike my comment as they like, but I am right in what I said, at the end of the day a one year old child is dead and someone is at fault, hate to sound so inconsiderate but i believe I’m right in what I said.

Mute KeithFaherty
    Favourite KeithFaherty
    Aug 3rd 2012, 10:34 PM

RIP. My thoughts are with the family.

Mute Sandra Ronan
    Favourite Sandra Ronan
    Aug 3rd 2012, 11:28 PM

Rip so sad taught’s and prayers are with the family

Mute Grainne Fay
    Favourite Grainne Fay
    Aug 4th 2012, 11:19 AM

I cant get this poor lil baby out of my head and the other one a few months back that died too. I have a two year old son and live on the top floor I never let him out of my sight but incase I said ill get safety locks for the windows. Couldnt find them in smyths/argos had to order from amazon. They should defo be easily bought in Ireland. Rip poor lil soul!

Mute Éamonn Mac Lochlainn
    Favourite Éamonn Mac Lochlainn
    Aug 4th 2012, 3:36 AM

@Gavan Reilly – you might want to note that this story is listed in the sidebar under ‘Most Popular’. It may be an idea to suggest to ye’re web team to re-word this tab to ‘Most Read’ or something similarly neutral. Just a suggestion…

Mute Niamh Okelly Odoherty
    Favourite Niamh Okelly Odoherty
    Aug 4th 2012, 11:16 AM

R.i.p little angel reading the comments above and I’m annoyed at some of the comments and agree with others but wasn’t the government supposed to deal with the matter of high rise window openings after the tragic death of another toddler earlier this year over near crumlin hospital so people don’t blame the parents it’s actually a fire and safety issue all apartment blocks were supposed to be checked and safety locks put on the windows

Mute finbar m
    Favourite finbar m
    Aug 4th 2012, 9:25 AM

R.I .P little man and my prayers are with you and your family , one of the most tragic thing for a parent to go through everyone else will forget ,, but your thoughts will never be far from your child