You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/CASTALDOstudio.com

'Invincible' bacteria will make common diseases untreatable

Scientists say when the gene becomes global it will mean doctors will not be able to treat common diseases like pneumonia.

MEDICINE’S FINAL LINE of defence against deadly disease has been breached, raising the spectre of a global epidemic, scientists say, after finding bacteria resistant to last-resort antibiotics.

The discovery could herald a virtual return to the Dark Ages, with doctors unable to control common germs like E Coli, rolling back centuries of medical progress.

“These are extremely worryingly results,” said Liu Jian-Hua, a professor at China’s Southern Agricultural University and co-author of a new study.

Liu and his colleagues found a gene, called MCR-1, that allows bacteria to become resistant to a class of antibiotics known as polymyxins, which are used to fight superbugs.

The gene, which was detected in common but deadly bacteria such as E Coli and K Pneumoniae — the cause of pneumonia and blood diseases — effectively makes bacteria invincible.

Most worryingly of all, the gene is easily spread from one strain to another, said the study, which was published in The Lancet Infectious Diseases journal, prompting warnings they could have “epidemic potential”.

Until now, rare cases of resistance occurred only through mutation in individual organisms, severely limiting transmission.

The World Health Organisation (WHO) has already warned antimicrobial resistance may result in “a return to the pre-antibiotic era,” where even small infections — or cuts — could prove fatal.

Animal to human 

The superbugs were detected during routine testing of pigs and chickens in southern China, where animals were found to be carrying bacteria resistant to colistin, a drug widely used in livestock farming.

A team of researchers then examined E Coli and K Pneumoniae samples collected from pork and chicken sold in dozens of markets across four provinces.

They also analysed lab results from patients at two hospitals in Guangdong and Zhejiang provinces.

More than 20% of bacteria in the animal samples, and 15% of the raw meat samples, had the tell-tale mcr-1 gene. It was also found in 16 of the 1,322 specimens taken from hospitals.

The lower infection rate among humans almost certainly means that the resistant bacteria passed from animals to humans, the study found.

It said that while mcr-1 was “currently confined to China” it was like to spread globally.

“This is a worrying report, as polymyxins are often the last resort antibiotic to treat serious infections,” said Laura Piddock, a professor of microbiology at the University of Birmingham.

Equally worrying is that this type of resistance can be easily transferred between bacteria.

Nothing to fight disease 

Other types of drug resistance — such as for tuberculosis – show that “this likely paves the way for it to spread throughout the world,” she added.

Some 480,000 people contracted multi-drug resistant tuberculosis in 2014, according to the WHO. The disease killed 190,000 in the same year.

Professor Timothy Walsh of the University of Cardfiff, who collaborated on the study, told the BBC News website antibiotics could soon become useless.

“If MRC-1 becomes global, which is a case of when not if, and the gene aligns itself with other antibiotic resistance genes, which is inevitable, then we will have very likely reached the start of the post-antibiotic era,” he said.

At that point if a patient is seriously ill, say with E Coli, then there is virtually nothing you can do.

The study will renew debate about the use of colistin in animal husbandry, researchers said.

“The finding that this type of resistance can be shared by different bacteria — irrespective of whether from food, an animal or a person — is further evidence that the same drugs should not be used in veterinary and human medicine,” Piddock said.

- © AFP 2015.

Read: Resistance to antibiotics could be causing unnecessary deaths in Ireland>

View 43 comments
43 Comments
    Mute chinaski
    Favourite chinaski
    Nov 19th 2015, 7:59 AM

That’s a nice cheerful story I’ve just read first thing in the morning…. Doomed, we’re all doomed!

Mute Old Gabby Johnson
    Favourite Old Gabby Johnson
    Nov 19th 2015, 8:46 AM

We won’t get out of this life alive that’s for sure.

Mute The Thinker
    Favourite The Thinker
    Nov 19th 2015, 9:37 AM

In great part caused by those who take antibiotics for unnecessary reasons, and not finishing prescriptions, causing the mutations and increase in resistance. This is potentially a lot more dangerous to the global population than any terrorist attacks, however it’s something that most aren’t aware of.

Mute Kevin Xling
    Favourite Kevin Xling
    Nov 19th 2015, 10:29 AM

Did you read the article? This is all due to the huge quantities of antibiotics used in meat production.

Mute Ladude
    Favourite Ladude
    Nov 19th 2015, 10:32 AM

It’s going to put us humans in check. After all we just take take take take. Absoutly destroying the world.

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Nov 19th 2015, 3:27 PM

Nature has a history of purging the top players in the food chain every few hundred thousand years.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Nov 19th 2015, 8:02 AM

With an over reliance on antibiotics for practically everything from s sore throat to mrsa, it’s no wonder this has happened. Antibiotics should always be the last option prescribed and not handed out freely by doctors.

Mute Jake Behan
    Favourite Jake Behan
    Nov 19th 2015, 8:12 AM

That’s one aspect of the problem. The bigger issue is with the agriculture industry, I can’t remember the statistics off hand, but the agricultural industry use a significant portion of the available antibiotics to treat their livestock. These farms can then become a breeding ground for drug resistant bacteria.

Mute Ollie O'Cleirigh
    Favourite Ollie O'Cleirigh
    Nov 19th 2015, 8:20 AM

Jake, over 80% of antibiotics produced in the world today are used for empirical treatment of intensively farmed animals. We are literally eating ourselves to death.

Mute John Magee
    Favourite John Magee
    Nov 19th 2015, 8:09 AM

Boiled 7up …ye be grand.

Mute Blind Faith
    Favourite Blind Faith
    Nov 19th 2015, 9:56 AM

It’ll take a bit more than a drop of 7up & a rub of Sudacream to sort that lot out.

Scary apocalyptic times we’re living in.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Nov 19th 2015, 8:15 AM

I’ve been doing my bit by not taking a single antibiotic since childhood. The rest of you have destroyed my good work by running to the doctor every time you sniff.

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Nov 19th 2015, 8:18 AM

Farming practices have an awful lot to answer for. It is disgraceful that they can get away with feeding anti-biotics by the shovel full to intensively reared animals.

Mute Ross Stewart
    Favourite Ross Stewart
    Nov 20th 2015, 12:55 AM

They get away with that and a hell of a lot more cos people want cheap meat whenever they want. The same people who give out about vegans ‘judging them’. Red thumb away.. Just try not to think about it too deeply

Mute Clare Murphy
    Favourite Clare Murphy
    Nov 19th 2015, 8:35 AM

I hate to break it to anyone, but this isn’t anything new we don’t already know. 2 years ago I contracted ecoli 0157 from a farm. I’m afraid no antibiotics could fight it and I spent a long time in hospital letting it ‘flush out’ as it were. Lots of drips and nexium for the stomach and morphine for the pain. Antibiotics do nothing for ecoli. This is researched time and time again, as I found out when I looked into it having just about surviving it.

Mute D'unredactable
    Favourite D'unredactable
    Nov 19th 2015, 1:11 PM

VTEC 0157 is a particularly nasty dose due to its virulence and pathogenicity but most other non-verotoxin yet entro-pathogenic E.coli are still readily treatable with clinically relevant antibiotics………for now!!

Mute Clare Murphy
    Favourite Clare Murphy
    Nov 19th 2015, 1:44 PM

Yeah took my kidneys & liver a long time to be somewhat normal again. Still not the best of it 2 years later. That’s good to know though about other ecoli bugs. I wouldn’t wish it in anyone

Mute Trea Lynch
    Favourite Trea Lynch
    Nov 19th 2015, 8:04 AM

That has me eyeing my left over Chinese take away suspiciously this morning

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Nov 19th 2015, 3:28 PM

Bit of salad cream on it… be grand.

Mute Gillian Weir Scully
    Favourite Gillian Weir Scully
    Nov 19th 2015, 9:08 AM

Decided not to worry about any scare stories otherwise I would be terrified about everything happening in the world.

I am going to relax and live my life to my best ability.

Mute Dr Richard Lee Kin
    Favourite Dr Richard Lee Kin
    Nov 19th 2015, 8:02 AM

In the future even gum disease will kill you

Mute Mary O'Connor
    Favourite Mary O'Connor
    Nov 19th 2015, 9:54 AM

This has been on the cards for the last 10 years and we have been warned by the scientific community. Climate change has also been highlighted by eminent scientists as a global threat . It’s time for the world to wake up and stop regarding leading scientists as geeks in lab coats. These people have no agenda and are working tirelessly to solve our problems. Wise up and listen!

Mute Ciaran
    Favourite Ciaran
    Nov 19th 2015, 8:42 AM

Bloody Muslims again !!

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Nov 19th 2015, 8:04 AM

Scary stuff. Probably inevitable.

Mute Oliver McLoughlin
    Favourite Oliver McLoughlin
    Nov 19th 2015, 8:34 AM

Haven’t we already discovered the next phase of antibiotics to challenge the mutated bacteria.? Why all the scaremongering?

Mute Stuart Keogh
    Favourite Stuart Keogh
    Nov 19th 2015, 8:56 AM

Up the prices

Mute Christmas lettuce
    Favourite Christmas lettuce
    Nov 19th 2015, 8:29 AM

Nothing a bitta seven up can’t fix

Mute SCO Electrical
    Favourite SCO Electrical
    Nov 19th 2015, 8:13 AM

Did they try lime wash??? That stuff cleans all!

Mute SHANKSGHOST
    Favourite SHANKSGHOST
    Nov 19th 2015, 9:13 AM

It it not that long ago the it was announced that new antibiotics could be conjured up from the soil in the ground. Whether that is true or not I wouldn’t listen to half of it now , your can’t eat this now or drink that cause it will kill you and now medicines too. I wouldn’t mind but most of the feckers that come out with this cr*p are the cause of it in their laboratories . Yes they have found cures and treatments but for each one found how many deadly bacterias have been created

Mute Dan Higgins
    Favourite Dan Higgins
    Nov 19th 2015, 8:05 AM

Nothing a bit of fire wouldn’t fix!

Mute Andrew
    Favourite Andrew
    Nov 19th 2015, 12:54 PM

Good job I saved those iodine tablets.

Nov 19th 2015, 1:32 PM

Iodine was an old antibiotic, you never know???

Mute Amy Shoebridge
    Favourite Amy Shoebridge
    Nov 19th 2015, 11:50 AM

Time to go vegan and build a bunker, although maybe death would be preferable…

Mute Philip Cooper
    Favourite Philip Cooper
    Nov 19th 2015, 8:09 AM

A small bit of domestos in a drip. Be grand.

Mute D'unredactable
    Favourite D'unredactable
    Nov 19th 2015, 12:36 PM

It did Paul McGrath no harm……apparently!

Mute Philip Cooper
    Favourite Philip Cooper
    Nov 19th 2015, 8:08 AM

A small bit of domestic in a drip. Be grand.

Mute ConcernedCitizen
    Favourite ConcernedCitizen
    Nov 19th 2015, 12:11 PM

It’s a much bigger threat than global terrorism.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Nov 19th 2015, 10:07 AM

More bollocks!

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Nov 19th 2015, 8:08 AM

Oh

Mute Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Favourite Patrick J. O'Rourke
    Nov 19th 2015, 11:57 AM

I conspire to theorise it’s an alliance of religions behind this to enforce their beliefs on society.

Mute flappycrap
    Favourite flappycrap
    Nov 19th 2015, 8:12 AM

Yes them bugs n viruses could wipe the human race out, no jack, not the human Race could wipe us out, them bugs, viruses ya know?

Nov 19th 2015, 1:30 PM
    Nov 19th 2015, 1:31 PM