You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Morning Memorials

Badges end funeral confusion

Ever gone to a funeral, but weren’t sure who the family members were? Save yourself the embarrassment with the help of Irish-designed nifty nametags.

FUNERALS ARE INCREDIBLY sad, but they can also be incredibly awkward – if you bump into a distant relative or old friend and can’t remember what their name is.

Now an Irish company, Morning Memorials, has come up with an answer to these embarrassing social situations: name tags.

These ‘name gems’ specify whether the wearer is a wife, husband, mother, father, son, daughter, brother or sister or other member of the family of the deceased.

The cost is less than €10 per family, said company owner Danny Morning.

He explained how they came up with the novel idea:

We have been supplying the funeral trade for about 12 years in various different countries and we always knew there was a problem there. Even in our own experience, at some funerals it was hard to tell the difference between the visitors and the family. People generally know one or two members of the family and don’t know the rest.

The company, which is based in Donegal, started to work on the name tags at the beginning of last year and filed a design registration in June 2010 – the tags are now patent pending. They are designed to be re-used three times.

“Otherwise it wouldn’t be a success if you could only use it once,” points out Danny.

Since the product launched a month ago, there’s been a great response to it, he said.

When asked if some people might feel embarrassed about wearing the tag, he said:

They will be more embarrassed if people walk past them and don’t recognise them or acknowledge them. Most funeral directors have told me over time that visitors to wakes and funerals actually sympathise with the funeral director because they’re wearing a dark suit.

The company, which employs 12 staff at its base in Donegal, also has two offices abroad – one in New Jersey and one in Milan.

Morning Memorials started off nine years ago creating plates for funeral directors to use on coffins and received European and American patents.

The name tags can only be ordered by funeral directors, who are invited to phone the company on 074 9129366.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

13 Comments
    Mute Josh Joyce
    Favourite Josh Joyce
    Feb 29th 2020, 5:39 PM

So good to have Simon centrally involved. I always find it strangely reassuring when somebody with minimal experience is involved in decision making

Mute Lily Martin
    Favourite Lily Martin
    Feb 29th 2020, 6:35 PM

@Josh Joyce: well then you are very lucky because it happens a lot ;)

Mute Josh Joyce
    Favourite Josh Joyce
    Feb 29th 2020, 8:19 PM

@Lily Martin:

Mute Sean Fahey
    Favourite Sean Fahey
    Mar 1st 2020, 4:27 AM

@Josh Joyce: Decisions on which journalist to murder doesn’t count as relevant decision making experience.

Mute Agenda21
    Favourite Agenda21
    Mar 1st 2020, 5:33 AM

@Sean Fahey: cop yourself on ye twit

Mute ben
    Favourite ben
    Feb 29th 2020, 5:28 PM

The election should be prosponed until this covid-19 mess is cleared up.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Feb 29th 2020, 5:30 PM

@ben: the election had already happened …..

Mute ben
    Favourite ben
    Feb 29th 2020, 5:41 PM

@Paul: any government forming ideas should also be prosponed.

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Feb 29th 2020, 5:42 PM

@ben: good! Something that’s extremely important for the island OF Ireland is been discussed on a health issue that affects all the people NORTH/SOUTH jointly. This should be road map for future development for all IRELAND. We are one island of 2 important traditions.

Mute ben
    Favourite ben
    Feb 29th 2020, 5:59 PM

@Bobby wilson: the orange order are not a tradition.

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Feb 29th 2020, 6:13 PM

@ben: oh! Yes they are, the green and orange two main traditions of the Island of Ireland..so you would refuse to except that. And do you believe in the reunification of IRELAND by the way.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Feb 29th 2020, 6:22 PM

@Bobby wilson: Great to hear you echoing Gerry Adams position so well.

“We need reminded again and again that our flag is Orange. Orange as well as green. Orange is part of what we are. That is our potential. And our challenge. To unite Orange and Green in equality and mutual respect.” – Gerry Adams

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Feb 29th 2020, 6:24 PM

@The Risen: those who don’t recognize the orange tradition on the Island of IRELAND don’t recognize reunification of IRELAND..

Mute ben
    Favourite ben
    Feb 29th 2020, 6:28 PM

@Bobby wilson: Well I for one can’t wait to see them matching down ó Connell Street ha

Mute Bobby wilson
    Favourite Bobby wilson
    Feb 29th 2020, 6:52 PM

@ben: and yes why shouldn’t they! o’connell street Dublin is the main street in the capital of Ireland. And in a new all new reunification of Ireland they will have every right to March in O’Connell st Dublin. same nationalists/republicans have the right to March around Belfast city centre which was won many years ago….in the famous break the ban protests ,the right to March in Belfast city centre which was right up to 1990s. so we denoy our Orange brothers and sisters in the capital of IRELAND…as I said do you believe in the reunification of IRELAND …please don’t gave me lecture on the Orange order as Belfast Catholic /Nationalist don’t go their with me.

Mute David Hughes
    Favourite David Hughes
    Feb 29th 2020, 9:12 PM

@Bobby wilson: you’ll be waiting some time for the “lads” to answer that one!!

Mar 1st 2020, 12:54 AM

@ben: wake up it’s already happened, where were you?

Mar 1st 2020, 12:55 AM

@ben: course they are

Mute Sandra Duffy
    Favourite Sandra Duffy
    Feb 29th 2020, 6:00 PM

Face masks are sold out everywhere. The local supermarket is struggling to even keep up with the demand for soap, hand sanitizer and tissues!

Mute Paraic
    Favourite Paraic
    Feb 29th 2020, 5:41 PM

Breaking: Newly elected Iranian MP has died from the coronavirus.
    http://www.basnews.com/index.php/en/news/middle-east/585200

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Feb 29th 2020, 5:49 PM

@Paraic: The virus is particularly hazardous to the elderly, most of Iran’s conservative rulers are elderly. The vice president of Iran contracted the virus, so have several ministers and MPs. The virus could change the political landscape in Iran and other countries. Here’s Covid-19 Mortality rate by age group:

https://i.imgur.com/mS8Ipc0.jpg

Mute ben
    Favourite ben
    Feb 29th 2020, 5:57 PM

@David Jordan: what will happen to there pensions?

Mute Sean O' Donovan
    Favourite Sean O' Donovan
    Feb 29th 2020, 5:59 PM

@Paraic: “No need for quarantine” they said. “Be grand” they said.

Mute Paraic
    Favourite Paraic
    Feb 29th 2020, 6:05 PM

@ben: Everyone’s pensions are at risk. Didn’t you see Wall Street crash this week?

Mute Paraic
    Favourite Paraic
    Feb 29th 2020, 6:13 PM

@David Jordan: True but that’s him in the photo. He was 56. Hardly elderly.

Mute Darren Lambe
    Favourite Darren Lambe
    Feb 29th 2020, 5:49 PM

So re-assuring

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Feb 29th 2020, 5:39 PM

“Italy reports 239 new cases of coronavirus and 8 new deaths, raising total to 1,128 cases and 29 dead.”

https://mobile.twitter.com/BNODesk/status/1233803627543908355

Mute Tinky Taylor
    Favourite Tinky Taylor
    Feb 29th 2020, 5:50 PM

@David Jordan: Also 105 people in intensive care.

Mute Anne Warren
    Favourite Anne Warren
    Mar 1st 2020, 9:48 AM

@David Jordan: here’s a brief overview on how the epidemic developed in Italy in 8 days that shook the nation together with an account of the Italian government’s strategy

https://eurofree3.wordpress.com/2020/02/29/one-week-that-shook-the-country-italy-and-the-coronavirus-epidemic/

Mute Colm Patrick Doyle
    Favourite Colm Patrick Doyle
    Feb 29th 2020, 6:52 PM

Taoiseach and Harris hold conference call with authorities in Northern Ireland

Mute Pád
    Favourite Pád
    Mar 1st 2020, 12:01 PM

Great Picture of Father Ted and Douglas!!

Mute JP Pilibin
    Favourite JP Pilibin
    Mar 1st 2020, 2:30 AM

Oh ~ Holy God ~~ Serious and Stupid Spinning a Bad Yarn !

Mute Keith O Hanlon
    Favourite Keith O Hanlon
    Mar 1st 2020, 9:53 PM

2 idiots

Mute Colm
    Favourite Colm
    Mar 1st 2020, 8:34 AM

Are they linking the outbreak to Sinn Fein