You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Balbriggan Garda Station Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Second sum of money goes missing from Balbriggan Garda Station

A garda spokesperson confirmed that this was a separate incident to the €9,000 that was discovered stolen from the same garda station last month.

A SECOND SUM of money, that was being held at Balbriggan Garda Station as part of evidence to a crime, has gone missing.

A garda spokesperson told TheJournal.ie that a “criminal and disciplinary investigation” has now been launched to determine where the money has gone and how it went missing.

The spokesperson confirmed that this was a separate incident to the €9,000 that was discovered stolen from the same garda station last month.

A detective superintendent has been drafted in to investigate the disappearance of the €9,000 in cash that was being held in the north Dublin station after it was recovered moments after a robbery at a shop in Lusk on 19 January. When gardaí subsequently attempted to return the money to its owner a tear was discovered in the bag and €9,000 was missing.

The gardaí’s internal affairs and professional standards units are also looking into the matter of the first theft.

However, the garda spokesperson would not say if the same detective would be in charge of investigating the theft of the second sum of money.

Read: Garda held over missing €9,000 from Dublin garda station released >

More: Detective investigating missing money from Dublin garda station >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

65 Comments
    Mute Ted Power
    Favourite Ted Power
    Apr 27th 2013, 3:28 PM

Well at least it’s only missing and not stolen!!

Mute the truth hurts
    Favourite the truth hurts
    Apr 27th 2013, 3:36 PM

An underpaid police force are more prone to corruption and abuse of position.

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Apr 27th 2013, 4:02 PM

Nobody going to offer up the usual “the money was just resting in my account”?

See 22 more replies ▾
    Mute Boy Russell
    Favourite Boy Russell
    Apr 27th 2013, 4:18 PM

It’s a bloody disgrace! To serve and protect my ass!

Mute The Polar Bear
    Favourite The Polar Bear
    Apr 27th 2013, 4:19 PM

To serve and protect is the motto of the los angeles police dept.

Mute stayfrostynatty
    Favourite stayfrostynatty
    Apr 27th 2013, 4:19 PM

LMAO!!!!!!

Mute Boy Russell
    Favourite Boy Russell
    Apr 27th 2013, 4:28 PM

@The Polar Bear – I know this, but ‘to serve & protect’ is part of being a police officer, full stop.
    I see the people are quick to jump on the ‘how dare you say that’ train but my opinion is that it’s a bloody disgrace and I’m not going to sit here and say ‘oh well’ – It’s the likes of this ‘stealing’ that has my/our country the way it is.
    Lets face it, it’s not some burglar chancing his arm at breaking entry to a secure Garda station and knowing where to find cash in evidence bags!! If it is, God bless him/her for his bravery and cuteness.
    Oh and from previous comments on here you may (or may not) notice that I commend our police force and think they’re one of the finest I’m Europe, if not the world!
    But this, this is out of order!

Mute The Polar Bear
    Favourite The Polar Bear
    Apr 27th 2013, 4:34 PM

Well you should wait until there is more information before you decided that it is out of order.

Mute Boy Russell
    Favourite Boy Russell
    Apr 27th 2013, 4:38 PM

@The Polar Bear – It is out of order, no matter what! Do you not think so?

Mute Justin Devaney
    Favourite Justin Devaney
    Apr 27th 2013, 4:39 PM

They should call the guards

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Apr 27th 2013, 5:18 PM

Boy Russell, which bit is a disgrace?

Is it the fact that the Gardai were successful in recovering this money in the first place?

Is it a disgrace that a garda investigaton and not an ombudsman investigation led to the identification arrest and subsequent suspension of the suspect?

Maybe the fact that out of approx 100 staff members in that station 99 of them are honest reliable people who fully assisted the investigstion which led to the arrest of a co worker?

Come down of your high horse before you fall

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Apr 27th 2013, 5:21 PM

@ boy, at the moment it has only been reported missing, a possibility does still exist that it is just that, misplaced, and not stolen. Although, odds are slim but better to reserve judgement all the same

Mute Boy Russell
    Favourite Boy Russell
    Apr 27th 2013, 5:52 PM

@Johnny – It is a pure success that they found the money. As I said I commend what and how their operations are often, if not always successful. But, All I’m saying is that it wasn’t so much a success for to take their eye off the ball after such a ‘success’ to let either a ‘cop or robber’ take away from the work that was done initially!
    As I said, (for the third time) it’s a disgrace, and not you nor some repetitive voice box is going to change my view!

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Apr 27th 2013, 6:15 PM

Didnt and dont want to change your view. You go right on ahead and focus on the negative im sure all the honest decent men and women in that garda station dont really care what you think.

Mute Boy Russell
    Favourite Boy Russell
    Apr 27th 2013, 6:22 PM

And in the station there are good and honest people/gardaí there. I have the utmost respect for An Garda Síochana, so don’t try to make it out that I don’t respect or have any pride in our police force because I do, Johnny!
    But Johnny, All I am saying is that I think it’s a disgrace that this happened to begin, and NOT that some broke cop decided to lift the cash!
    Under no circumstances have I implied this, Johnny Van fu##in’ Persie!

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Favourite Revolting Peasant
    Apr 27th 2013, 6:33 PM

the gardai take an oath which makes them unable to do anything wrong, sure everyone knows that!

Mute Joe OShea
    Favourite Joe OShea
    Apr 27th 2013, 6:38 PM

€56,000 per annum average salary, and yet this still happens to one of the highest paid police forces in Europe.

People on here try to use the pay argument, but they lost control of themselves in Donegal also – even at the highest management levels – and it took a a full blown independent tribunal of enquiry costing millions for the truth to emerge. Thankfully those who were being framed with planted evidence had the tenacity and financial resources to relentlessly pursue the truth.

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    Apr 27th 2013, 6:43 PM

@ Boy R,
    How much is one paid to “serve and protect your ass” ? :)

Mute Witszend
    Favourite Witszend
    Apr 27th 2013, 7:34 PM

An police force full of leveraged debt monkeys is different from an underpaid police force

Mute Boy Russell
    Favourite Boy Russell
    Apr 27th 2013, 8:37 PM

@ManOnTheStreet – Their oath perhaps, plank!

Mute Mike Murph
    Favourite Mike Murph
    Apr 27th 2013, 8:47 PM

Good save on the ol’ serve and protect misquote.

It’s easy to get worked up about the money being swiped, corruption, abuse of trust etc., but personally, I think it’s hilarious. How much did the phantom get this time we wonder? I’m more inclined to worry about the more obvious thievery that sheeplike we’re all so accepting of….. Water charges, universal social charges, property taxes, sceptic tank charges…

Red thumb me to death, but I want the phantom to keep on knocking stuff off and not just cash. No locker should be left unrifled, no unattended coat pocket un-investigated, no foil wrapped sandwich untasted in the communal canteen. The phantom’s signature move, his calling card most remain the rip or tear, leaving room for the niggling doubts. Does he exist at all?

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    Apr 27th 2013, 8:51 PM

@ Boy R,
    Just a wee play on your words, no offence meant!

Mute Joe OShea
    Favourite Joe OShea
    Apr 27th 2013, 9:17 PM

The raiders who stole money in each of these cases will have their cases thrown out as their defense will argue that none of the evidence being used against them can be trusted. These two cases are not the only ones – money is missing from other stations and reports are yet to emerge.

Mute Random Rob
    Favourite Random Rob
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:05 PM

Yes and what a fine job they do of that…….

Mute ciaran clarke
    Favourite ciaran clarke
    Apr 28th 2013, 5:57 PM

Their not exactly under paid.salary in the guards is pretty good.its just sheer greed and they think they can get wary with what they want.they think their above the law.look at what they did in Donegal,and how many guards have been colluding with criminal gangs.its a very thought job they have to do but they have a lot of rotten eggs in their force.

Mute Small Retort
    Favourite Small Retort
    Apr 27th 2013, 4:33 PM

Has no one told the boys you are supposed to rob the money before it goes into evidence and is formally counted?
    Amateurs.

Mute Dwickedchicken
    Favourite Dwickedchicken
    Apr 27th 2013, 10:12 PM

Rookie error.

Mute Derek
    Favourite Derek
    Apr 27th 2013, 3:38 PM

Sure it’s hard to live on a gardai wage! :P

Mute Brian Guilfoyle
    Favourite Brian Guilfoyle
    Apr 27th 2013, 3:45 PM

Just look out for the one patrol car full of breakfast roll wrappers…

Mute Jimmy
    Favourite Jimmy
    Apr 27th 2013, 7:19 PM

…I think Brian, what you meant to say is….patrol car being held together by breakfast roll wrappers…the ones I have seen lately certainly look that way!

Mute Nigel O Keeffe
    Favourite Nigel O Keeffe
    Apr 27th 2013, 4:27 PM

with apologies to oscar wilde
    ‘to lose one bag of money is misfortunate,to do it twice may be seem as carelessness’.

Mute Shane Mc Cluskey
    Favourite Shane Mc Cluskey
    Apr 27th 2013, 5:32 PM

The gardai are doing a terrific job. Putting lives at risk for the good of our community. I say well done lad and ladies. Just shows what the government have done to our police force, left them penniless and with no hope. PAY OUR POLICE FORCE NOW

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Apr 27th 2013, 5:36 PM

So it’s the governments fault that the money is gone “missing”

Mute Patrick Lyons
    Favourite Patrick Lyons
    Apr 27th 2013, 6:53 PM

You will never get promoted because it would appear that you are not that bright. Keep your head down and do what you are told.

Mute Dylan Prendergast
    Favourite Dylan Prendergast
    Apr 27th 2013, 5:10 PM

Always the same. Gardai are a joke. Behaviour of plenty leads to my no respect of them. Just dopes in a uniform. Not fit.

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Apr 27th 2013, 5:22 PM

Dylan you have no respect for them because its the way you were brought up. Dont blame a couple of bad egg gardai for your parents short comings

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Apr 27th 2013, 5:23 PM

You really should get off the fence, you should generalise, probably the best course of action

Mute Shane Mc Cluskey
    Apr 27th 2013, 5:51 PM

Well said Johnny

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Apr 27th 2013, 6:18 PM

of COURSE the gardai didnt do anything wrong! sure they are all great lads and no one ever gets a slap off a cop that didnt deserve it eh lads? hows the view at the bottom of that sand-pit there?

Mute johnny
    Favourite johnny
    Apr 27th 2013, 6:23 PM

Why then have the gardai arrested detained and suspended a garda if as you say the gardai never do anything wrong?

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Apr 27th 2013, 6:30 PM

in the words of the great Bart Simpson ‘the ironing is delicious’, i suggest a manipulation of the knobs on your sarcasm detector there johnny

Mute Raymond Depuis
    Favourite Raymond Depuis
    Apr 27th 2013, 6:55 PM

It’s going on in every profession, Gardai are human to. The money should not be held in a Garda station, it should be checked, logged, and put in a bank. Temptation should be taken out of the situation. Nothing is safe in a time of recession.

Mute Stewie Griffin
    Favourite Stewie Griffin
    Apr 27th 2013, 10:01 PM

True Raymond. it is happening everywhere in every town there are several cases of employees with sticky fingers. makes headlines as its gardai involved. Rightly so in this case as i do think as a guard its in public’s interest to know and to have an open and transparent investigation

Mute Dwickedchicken
    Favourite Dwickedchicken
    Apr 27th 2013, 10:15 PM

Yeah sure. Like the banks never robbed anyone.

Mute Hilary McDuffy
    Favourite Hilary McDuffy
    Apr 27th 2013, 4:58 PM

It just doesn’t add up !!

Mute Scobee Gough
    Favourite Scobee Gough
    Apr 27th 2013, 7:26 PM

Very fit hilary

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Apr 27th 2013, 4:34 PM

Has it gone missing recently or has the theft just been discovered?

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Apr 27th 2013, 3:57 PM

hahahahha nice 1!

Mute Shane Mc Cluskey
    Apr 27th 2013, 5:25 PM

Dylan prendergast, you are an uneducated small minded fool. Keep your comment to yourself please unless you have something constructive to say. An your opinions are not wanted. Do you have a job Dylan????

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn
    Apr 27th 2013, 6:27 PM

Very impressed with all the Sherlock Holmes’ on this post. The Garda have yet to confirm that a crime has been committed.

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Apr 27th 2013, 6:46 PM

And what is your theory watson.

Mute rocky
    Favourite rocky
    Apr 27th 2013, 4:07 PM

Not that surprised

Mute James Darby
    Favourite James Darby
    Apr 27th 2013, 11:21 PM

Apparently there was a hole in the bag. The gardai are looking into it

Mute Edelle Collins
    Favourite Edelle Collins
    Apr 27th 2013, 4:51 PM

That money was only resting in my account.

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Apr 27th 2013, 4:20 PM

next time ill mind the loot

Mute Flippermac
    Favourite Flippermac
    Apr 28th 2013, 9:05 AM

This has been going on a long time , I’m not saying all Garda are are on the take but a small amount are doing it years there was a case in my local station were a Garda was offering to quash drink driving charges for 5000 euros he was convicted and severed 6 mts to say that guards are under paid is a joke !!! We as a ppl are all suffering but that is not a excuse to steel from anyone

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Apr 27th 2013, 3:48 PM

Why don’t they give the money to Saint Vincent De Paul then problem solved.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Apr 27th 2013, 3:51 PM

Because it’s missing.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Apr 27th 2013, 3:55 PM

Denise. The money belongs to the people/business it was stolen from. Lets just assume that someone robbed you of the money you had to pay your bills with. And the Gardai caught the robber and recovered your money. And they gave it away to the Vinnies. You might be a little pissed off about it.

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Apr 27th 2013, 3:57 PM

the penny has a parachute

Mute anthony byrne
    Favourite anthony byrne
    Apr 27th 2013, 3:49 PM

An ins …. Naaa. …

Mute Random Rob
    Favourite Random Rob
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:07 PM

My question is how did someone so thick become a Garda ??
    Evidence bag would surely suggest that it’s an on going investigation.
    It’s no wonder criminals are running amuck all over the country

Mute poppin
    Favourite poppin
    Apr 28th 2013, 2:11 PM

Shock shock horror horror!!!!!!