You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

GALLERY: The last weekend of the Ballinasloe Horse Fair 2012

Traders and locals say the crowd at this year’s fair – one of the oldest of its kind in Europe – was down on previous years.

THE CROWDS may not be as big as before, but the Ballinasloe Horse Fair still brought out big crowds for its closing weekend.

Traders and locals say the crowds were down on previous years, but still reported a healthy attendance at what is one of Europe’s oldest horse fairs.

Ballinasloe Horse Fair 2012
1 / 16
  • Ballinasloe Horse Fair 2012

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

16 Comments
    Mute Paul Ryan
    Favourite Paul Ryan
    Oct 8th 2012, 2:30 PM

The Ballinasloe Fair, a great place to start looking if you’ve had a dog stolen over the past year!!

Mute Dave Kavanagh
    Favourite Dave Kavanagh
    Oct 8th 2012, 5:53 PM

Or a horse.

Mute Declan Mannix
    Favourite Declan Mannix
    Oct 8th 2012, 3:05 PM

careful lads, or pavee point will be on complaining.

Mute shadow75
    Favourite shadow75
    Oct 8th 2012, 2:27 PM

Scrimination boss

Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy
    Oct 8th 2012, 3:15 PM

Wonder at the condition of animals at these fairs !

Mute Chris Neville
    Favourite Chris Neville
    Oct 8th 2012, 4:06 PM

Plenty of Inspectors at the Fair these days.

Mute Mark Sparky O Shea
    Favourite Mark Sparky O Shea
    Oct 8th 2012, 3:46 PM

they horses were all in good shape and plenty of inspectors down there

Mute Dec Byrne
    Favourite Dec Byrne
    Oct 8th 2012, 11:25 PM

Not true, there was lots of dogs in dire straits and in need of urgent veterinary help. Some animal welfare people had to resort to buying the worst cases from the “owners” to get them treatment, also not enough inspectors there at all and the guards wouldn’t act without the inspector being present. Also some of the dogs they managed to rescue had chips from hungry and other foreign countries when they got checked by the vet later on. An absolute disgrace

Mute John F
    Favourite John F
    Oct 8th 2012, 7:45 PM

I’d say a lot of them TRAVELLED very far to get there.

Mute john joe kinsella
    Favourite john joe kinsella
    Oct 8th 2012, 4:57 PM

its great craic once theres no trouble, and in fairness the cops have kept a tight enough lid on it in recent years, ever since the full scale riot on the green, the same year when the hardwares were sold out of Slashooks!

Mute Mark Sparky O Shea
    Oct 8th 2012, 2:57 PM

was there last week it was great

Mute Dec Byrne
    Favourite Dec Byrne
    Oct 8th 2012, 11:30 PM

The comments stating that the animals were in good condition and that there was enough inspectors there are grossly misleading. What you saw was volunteers to help inspectors but on one of the days he never even bothered showing up. The volunteers had to resort to buying the animals in the worst conditions as the guards wouldn’t act without the inspector being there. Some of the animals had chips from other countries including hungry and France when checked by a vet later on. An absolute disgrace

Mute Gerard Behan ®
    Favourite Gerard Behan ®
    Oct 8th 2012, 2:20 PM

Up the Dubs

Mute Sarah Gavin
    Favourite Sarah Gavin
    Oct 8th 2012, 10:25 PM

Shit

Mute Mark Sparky O Shea
    Oct 9th 2012, 6:52 AM

ah here leave it out bug deal if they were chipped in a different country i walked that fair on Sunday the 30/9/12 and saw no animals that needed attention from a vet or inspector as a horse owner my self i would not tolerate cruelty now as for paper work that’s down to the local council to sort out as i have to have a passport a licence and a chip for my horse

Mute Dec Byrne
    Favourite Dec Byrne
    Oct 9th 2012, 9:26 AM

How do people get drugs into the country or humans? It’s called smuggling. My statement above is true, I didn’t say all the animals I said there was neglect going on. There was even a fella Bella left to wander on it’s on round the r, the volunteers asked around and were told to take it if they want it, real responsible ownership. This all happened on Sunday last