You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo. Niall Carson/PA Images

Glock pistol and MDMA tablets worth €360,000 seized in Dublin

Three men were arrested, and they can be held for up to seven days.

GARDAÍ IN DUBLIN have arrested three men and seized a quantity of drugs along with a gun following an operation yesterday evening.

Members of drug units based at Sundrive Road and Crumlin garda stations searched a residence in Ballyfermot as part of efforts targetting local drugs distribution networks.

During the search, MDMA tablets worth an estimated street value of €360,000 along with a Glock pistol, ammunition and cash were seized. 

Three men (aged in their late 20s, 30s and 50s) were arrested by investigating gardaí.

They’re currently detained under Section 2 of the Criminal Justice (Drug Trafficking) Act 1996 and can be held for up to seven days. 

Gardaí said investigations are ongoing and further updates would be provided when available. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

20 Comments
    Mute Fionn Darland
    Favourite Fionn Darland
    Jun 5th 2020, 10:14 AM

Well done Gardaí again. Another bust. This lockdown has some upsides after all. It seems to be letting the Guards get on with cracking some serious crime.

Mute Thomas Meaney
    Favourite Thomas Meaney
    Jun 5th 2020, 5:40 PM

@Fionn Darland: doesn’t it just go to show if we had a well resourced force the amount that could be achieved. Also add to that an appropriate amount of prison spaces coupled with a judiciary that was in touch with reality. I think we’d all love in a country akin to utopia

Mute John Mc Donagh
    Favourite John Mc Donagh
    Jun 5th 2020, 11:11 AM

Fair play to the Gardai——–Now IF ONLY the courts would do the job that pays them so well!

Mute Daff. Myers
    Favourite Daff. Myers
    Jun 5th 2020, 1:39 PM

@John Mc Donagh: the courts can only impose the sentences that exist within the legislation. Drug dealers at that level and those handling thankfully don’t fare too well at sentencing. I do personally think the sentence for large scale drug dealing should be an automatic 40. Only the legislators can make that happen though.

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Jun 5th 2020, 10:23 AM

I think it’s fantastic that there’s been so many seizures lately of drugs, guns, criminals cash etc….. let’s hope it’s followed up by harsh, real and adequate sentences, they have those responsible, so let the punishment fit their crimes! For too long now our communities have been suffering at the hands of greedy, anti-social, community destroying lowlifes. There’s more good in our communities than bad, time for the relevant authorities to stand with those communities and protect our children’s futures.

Mute Fionn Darland
    Favourite Fionn Darland
    Jun 5th 2020, 3:57 PM

@Niall Binéad: Yes.. .. and let’s keep the Special Criminal Court for the real bad boys who like to intimidate witnesses!

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jun 5th 2020, 4:10 PM

@Fionn Darland: yes, unfortunately we need it to deal with the kind of ruthless people it was set up to cater for.

Mute Sean Salmon
    Favourite Sean Salmon
    Jun 6th 2020, 1:40 AM

@Fionn Darland: there are loads of ways to protect the identity of jurors if there was a genuine desire to do so. Tha SCC is a court for speedy convictions of both criminal and political cases where the normal rule of law and justice can and is disregarded. When a judge tells a protected witness that he is a liar and a perjuror but that his evidence will be accepted as gospel. What are we to make of that?

Mute michael connick
    Favourite michael connick
    Jun 5th 2020, 11:18 AM

Why are they seizing all the good drugs wheres the heroine seizures.

Mute Stephen Deegan
    Favourite Stephen Deegan
    Jun 5th 2020, 11:37 AM

@michael connick: Heroin. The only person that seizes the heroine in the hero.

Mute Daniel Finucane
    Favourite Daniel Finucane
    Jun 5th 2020, 4:52 PM

@Stephen Deegan: is.

Mute Maalouf
    Favourite Maalouf
    Jun 5th 2020, 12:22 PM

Someone didn’t get the memo that Forbidden Fruit festival was cancelled wha!!

Mute Kenneth Hayden
    Favourite Kenneth Hayden
    Jun 5th 2020, 1:14 PM

@Maalouf:
    So it was forbidden fruit then!

Mute Joe Toner
    Favourite Joe Toner
    Jun 5th 2020, 10:39 AM

Business as usual!

Mute King B
    Favourite King B
    Jun 5th 2020, 11:11 AM

Why would you move that amount of party drugs during lockdown when there’s no appetite for the party drugs at the moment? Brain dead idiots!!

Mute MickN
    Favourite MickN
    Jun 5th 2020, 11:50 AM

@King B: No appetite, you nuts?

Mute Barry Teehan
    Favourite Barry Teehan
    Jun 5th 2020, 11:59 AM

@MickN: I think he has been on the calf nuts !

Mute King B
    Favourite King B
    Jun 5th 2020, 1:57 PM

@MickN: I don’t know about you but I don’t know many people that would want to take yokes or mdma in a gaf on their own. They’re known as party drugs for a reason and there’s no real parties. You’d always get a few obviously but why take the risk.
    If you’ve nice coke or some nice weed then you’d clean up.

Mute ÓDuibhír Abú
    Favourite ÓDuibhír Abú
    Jun 5th 2020, 2:46 PM

@King B: Why take any.!!!

Mute Tomaldo
    Favourite Tomaldo
    Jun 5th 2020, 3:48 PM

@ODuibhir Abu, for enjoyment