You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Gardaí at the scene of Frederick Street last week. Sean Murray/TheJournal.ie

Taoiseach slaps down proposal to ban people taking photos of gardaí on duty

Leo Varadkar said he wanted to give assurances today that such a measure is not being considered by government.

TAOISEACH LEO VARADKAR said he is not in favour of banning people from taking photos of gardaí while they are on duty.

Minister for Justice Charlie Flanagan said over the weekend that he would be in favour of legislation that would ban photographing of gardaí in the course of their duties.

However, in the first Leaders’ Questions of this Dáil term, the Taoiseach dismissed the suggestion, stating:

“There are no government proposals to restrict people from taking photographs or making videos. That would be a restriction on free speech and not something I would support.”

The comments come after events last week, where activists from the Take Back the City group were evicted from the building they had been occupying on North Frederick Street in Dublin.

A number of gardaí were photographed by both activists and journalists – including by this publication – with their faces covered at the scene.

In the subsequent days there was criticism of the decision by the gardaí involved to wear fire-retardant balaclavas during the operation.

One Facebook page on Friday claimed to have used facial recognition software to identify one of the gardaí involved. In the comments under the post supposedly identifying him, several people used threatening and abusive language.

Proposed ban on photos

On Sunday, gardaí said that supports had been put in place to protect the welfare of a Dublin garda following “online threats”

The Garda Representative Association (GRA) has proposed legislation that would make it an offence to photograph a garda while they are carrying out their duties.

When asked whether he was favourably disposed towards this proposal, Minister Flanagan said: “I am”.

“I acknowledge the fact that gardaí need to show identification and this is an issue that arose last week and I too was somewhat concerned at images of balaclavas on the streets of Dublin.

“It was disturbing. In fact the resonance of that particular clothing goes right back to a dark period in our history. I didn’t like to see it. However I understand there are circumstances in which the gardaí for their own protection need to have fire-retardant masks as part of their uniform.”

When asked whether this proposal about a ban on photographing gardaí was something he was prepared to bring to government, he replied: “Yes, I think it’s something that can be favourably looked at.”

In subsequent tweets, however, Minister Flanagan attempted to clarify his remarks. He said that he believed “transparency is vitally important” and that he supported the use of body cameras for gardaí.

He did add, however, that the “uploading of images of Gardaí undertaking their duties on social media and consequent threats and intimidation is totally unacceptable”, and that’s why he’s concerned. 

People Before Profit’s Richard Boyd Barrett called on the Taosieach today to repudiate the “unbelievable suggestion” by the justice minister that the police should no longer be recorded in the conduct of their duties.

He stated that it “amounts to censorship of the press and the public in terms of their right to oversight of the sort of heavy-handed policing tactics we saw on North Frederick Street?”

Varadkar said protests should be peaceful, there should be no violence and they should take place in accordance with the law.

“I want to reassure people – press photographers, individual citizens and protestors … there are no government proposals whatsoever to do that,” he added.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

38 Comments
    Mute Dave.
    Favourite Dave.
    Sep 18th 2018, 4:50 PM

The Minister of Justice is a dinosaur in the stone age with suggestions like that, I think the Garda is a tuff job, however outright banning of photos and filming of them in there duties is about the most dictatorship thing I have heard from the Irish state. I honestly, can’t believe the man came out with this suggestion and is meant to be representing public interests? He needs to go, he is useless to be honest, little interest in the job, and clearly just saying things to try please people and sitting it out for his pension. The Garda and public should want a Minister for Justice who comes out with pro active suggestions and is engaging with the commissioner and public for change in the Garda and in particular the failing Justice system. What exactly has he done so far? Nothing at all.

Mute Shane Corry
    Favourite Shane Corry
    Sep 18th 2018, 4:57 PM

@Dave.: After these comments they should be asking for his resignation. Clearly no regard for the impact of what he was suggesting.

Mute Shane Corry
    Favourite Shane Corry
    Sep 18th 2018, 4:57 PM

@Shane Corry: “his” being Charlie Flanagan I’ll add.

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Favourite Anthony Gallagher
    Sep 18th 2018, 4:46 PM

Good man LEO ,you know what side your bread is buttered on ,clever boy ,poor old charlie ,its time he went out to grass .

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Sep 18th 2018, 4:44 PM

This will make people take even more photos and videos now

Mute Tony Maguire
    Favourite Tony Maguire
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:06 PM

@Peter: that’s like saying, if we build a Hospital people will start having accidents…

Mute ObsidianShine
    Favourite ObsidianShine
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:27 PM

Leo has some sense at least..

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Sep 18th 2018, 6:20 PM

@ObsidianShine: Leo fears the people when they stand up for themselves. We need much more of it.

Mute Pól Ó hAodha
    Favourite Pól Ó hAodha
    Sep 18th 2018, 4:46 PM

Just come down hard on people attempting to dox the guards online.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Sep 18th 2018, 6:21 PM

@Pól Ó hAodha: Any bullying online shouldn’t be tolerated.

Mute Dot Com
    Favourite Dot Com
    Sep 18th 2018, 6:38 PM

There is a group trying to link accountability to online bullying. The fact that what people say online may be closer to reality than any red C pole is what’s behind this, Journalism and RTE state radio have lost their place in affecting opinion.

Mute Danny Rafferty
    Favourite Danny Rafferty
    Sep 18th 2018, 6:46 PM

@Dot Com: Your last comment is delusional.

Mute Dot Com
    Favourite Dot Com
    Sep 18th 2018, 9:23 PM

@Danny Rafferty: That’s only your opinion, The facts back me up.

Mute SteoG
    Favourite SteoG
    Sep 19th 2018, 2:02 PM

@Dot Com: Where is the evidence for your opinion about facts. Perhaps the delusional state you accused others of lies elsewhere.

Mute marg fitzgerald
    Favourite marg fitzgerald
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:41 PM

Charlie hankering for Blueshirt era.

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Sep 19th 2018, 8:39 AM

@marg fitzgerald: It was a smokescreen to cover up balaclava wearing garda. maybe if he hadn’t tried to hide his face and acted like a bully.

Mute ciaran kehoe
    Favourite ciaran kehoe
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:00 PM

Correct decision. Will the thugs with the hoodies & scarf’s on their faces also be made to show their faces while protesting

Mute sixmile
    Favourite sixmile
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:57 PM

@ciaran kehoe:

“Thugs an hoodies” you’re talking about the guards, right?

Mute Kevin Cottor
    Favourite Kevin Cottor
    Sep 18th 2018, 7:10 PM

@ciaran kehoe: No because the incidence of intimidation of cops is a rarity compared to intimidation of citizens by cops for their political views. Also people protesting are not being paid by the state for doing a job and are more than entitled to wear whatever they want.

Mute ciaran kehoe
    Favourite ciaran kehoe
    Sep 18th 2018, 9:16 PM

@sixmile: No actually the so called peaceful protestors.

Mute ciaran kehoe
    Favourite ciaran kehoe
    Sep 18th 2018, 9:18 PM

@Kevin Cottor: Why the need to hide their faces if they are not breaking the law

Mute Ruaridgeback
    Favourite Ruaridgeback
    Sep 19th 2018, 10:53 AM

@ciaran kehoe: Thugs don’t usually possess the “social conscience” required to give up their time, risk being branded as “thugs” by ignoramuses, and set themselves up as potential targets for “Garda Harassment,” do they?

Mute Karen Delaney
    Favourite Karen Delaney
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:23 PM

Finally Leo says something I actually agree with.

Mute Graham Light
    Favourite Graham Light
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:22 PM

No way …..I wonder how many senior civil servants and PR consulants missed lunch before they told Leo what to say.

Mute Laura Crowe
    Favourite Laura Crowe
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:58 PM

The only time I ever heard the like of it was in Dubai where it was not permitted to take photos of the Emir’s palace or grounds.

When I read the story today about not taking photos of Gardai on duty it felt in that moment I was transported back to that regime.

Mute I'm not wavy gravy
    Favourite I'm not wavy gravy
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:31 PM

What an absurd suggestion in the first place. Next they’ll be introducing the Stazí.

Mute Brendan Harney
    Favourite Brendan Harney
    Sep 18th 2018, 4:59 PM

Good man leo

Mute Greg Blake
    Favourite Greg Blake
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:20 PM

@Brendan Harney: common sense really, either poor old Charlie didn’t think it through, or it was just silly kite flying. That’ll go on his debit column.

Mute Tony Kennedy
    Favourite Tony Kennedy
    Sep 18th 2018, 7:20 PM

Varadkar as usual tested the water and knew that there would be uproar.

Mute JesusMoreBullshit
    Favourite JesusMoreBullshit
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:32 PM

Specialist units should not be photographed.

Mute Joey Navinski
    Favourite Joey Navinski
    Sep 18th 2018, 5:45 PM

@JesusMoreBullshit: what if a member of a specialist unit is kicking the lard out of a pensioner and you’re the only witness and you have a camera? What would you do then?

Mute Angela Lavin
    Favourite Angela Lavin
    Sep 18th 2018, 6:32 PM

@Joey Navinski: eh – maybe intervene!!! What good would recording an assault be? I’d prefer if someone would try to help me rather than record me being assaulted…. & if they couldn’t help then maybe they could use their phone to call for help

Mute Graham Light
    Favourite Graham Light
    Sep 18th 2018, 9:14 PM

@Angela Lavin: But if you intervene then you are arrested for disrupting the course of justice.

Mute Stephen Rogan
    Favourite Stephen Rogan
    Sep 18th 2018, 8:40 PM

Citizens have every right to create their own chain of evidence when dealing with the police. Although many gardai are good people doing a good and important job, there are some that misuse the power they have and do not follow the rules they are supposed to uphold. Technology goes some way towards being able to hold those gardai accountable.

Mute wattsed
    Favourite wattsed
    Sep 18th 2018, 8:31 PM

Fair play so, time now for the Garda to have personal cameras so they can record the abuse they encounter and which should be admissible evidence if needed.

Mute john doe
    Favourite john doe
    Sep 18th 2018, 6:42 PM

Good on you Leo

Mute Barry Foster
    Favourite Barry Foster
    Sep 19th 2018, 2:20 AM

Charlie Flanagan should be put put to grass for making such a ridiculous suggestion and throw out Alan Kelly also for agreeing with him.
    Gardai need to be held accountable and if it’s necessary to video or photograph them – then so be it. They can console themselves with all their allowances and perks.

Mute Karl
    Favourite Karl
    Sep 19th 2018, 10:55 PM

@Barry Foster: only job on the world that gets paid and perks? Thought it was a common aspect of employment