You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Trump arrives in Shannon in 2014. Sean Curtin

TDs to discuss banning Donald Trump from Ireland

Two petitions were submitted last month in the wake of Trump’s incendiary comments about banning Muslims.

TDS AND SENATORS will discuss two petitions calling for Donald Trump to be banned from Ireland.

The proposal will be addressed in coming weeks by the Joint Committee on Public Service Oversight and Petitions.

The panel, who deal with suggestions submitted directly from the public, will also address a petition calling for UFC champion Conor McGregor to be featured on the €1 coin when it meets today.

The Trump entreaties were submitted in December in the wake of the Republican presidential candidate’s hugely controversial comments about banning Muslims from America.

His remarks were met with outrage in the US and around the world, and even earned an indirect mention in Barack Obama’s final State of the Union address overnight.

Elaine Mernagh’s submitted petition is entitled ‘Ban Donald Trump from Ireland’, while one from Mr Aniq Jawad calls on politicians to ‘Ban Donald Trump from Entering Ireland’. Both are being examined to make sure they comply with standing orders.

What will happen?

The Trump and McGregor petitions are unlikely to make much progress beyond being briefly discussed by the TDs and senators who make up the committee, it’s expected.

The standing orders, amongst other things, dictate that a petition can’t be considered if it “contains the name or names of individuals”.

mcg

That said, both issues are likely to prompt some debate at the committee: several members chimed in with their two cents when the panel discussed a proposal to enter Father Ted’s My Lovely Horse in the Eurovision.

The petitions system, aimed at giving voters a direct influence in parliamentary business, was introduced in September of 2012.

Once considered by the committee, proposals from members of the public can be brought up with the relevant minister, the secretary general of the relevant department, or other officials.

The minister of the day can also be brought before members to answer questions on a given topic.

Speaking in the wake of Trump’s incendiary comments last month, Enda Kenny described them as “not acceptable” while Fianna Fáil’s Micheál Martin rounded on the government for literally rolling out the red carpet during the businessman’s headline-grabbing 2014 visit to Shannon and Doonbeg.

Read: A petition to get ‘My Lovely Horse’ into the Eurovision was thrown out by TDs. Here’s why…

Op-ed: From overhanging trees to pensions: Why the Oireachtas petitions committee is important 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

140 Comments
    Mute Darach Malone
    Favourite Darach Malone
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:48 PM

There are worse people than The Donald already living here never mind occasionally visiting.

Mute Jonny Rigley
    Favourite Jonny Rigley
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:53 PM

With the amount Trump has invested into Ireland (remember his golf course etc), there is not the slightest chance enda and the boys would go through with this

Mute gkrell
    Favourite gkrell
    Jan 13th 2016, 10:09 PM

There are bad occasional visitors too. What about the occasional visitors from Eastern European and Roma gangs who fly in seasonally to target Christmas revelers and steal their cell phones and come back in the summer to target tourists, knowing that if caught, their victims have a very low chance of turning up to any court case. What about the Moroccan child predator who flew into Ireland carrying a suit-case full of children’s toys who the police had to let on his way because he had a European passport. Let’s worry about our open borders to criminal scúm and Donald Trump because he annoys the PC sensibilities of some bleeding brain gobdaws.

Mute gkrell
    Favourite gkrell
    Jan 13th 2016, 10:10 PM

*and not Donald Trump

Mute Pius Flynn
    Favourite Pius Flynn
    Jan 14th 2016, 12:14 AM

If a convicted child predator attempts to enter the country the police do not simply have to let him go on his way. They have many options available to them, but of course listing them would not suit the hate mongers

Mute gkrell
    Favourite gkrell
    Jan 14th 2016, 12:46 AM

So why did the guards say they were powerless to stop a Moroccan child predator from entering the country with a suitcase full of children’s toys having been tipped off by the German police?

He is on the sex offenders’ list in the UK and has a criminal conviction there for attempting to lure a child away from his parents. He had previously fled a mental hospital in France.

http://evoke.ie/news/red-alert-to-parents-as-convicted-child-predator-arrives-in-dublin-with-a-suitcase-full-of-toys

Mute Joe Travers
    Favourite Joe Travers
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:33 PM

I’d love to ban the man from the solar system, but he is entitled to his opinions. As stupid as they seem.

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:36 PM

Sure, but being entitled to your opinions, and to air those opinions publicly, doesn’t mean you have to be shielded from any and all consequences of opening your mouth. That’s not freedom of speech.

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:44 PM

I don’t think we should ban the guy though, just maybe let’s not roll out the red carpet and golden harp next time. It’s a bit embarrassing.

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Monty Wuggy
    Favourite Monty Wuggy

This is ludicrous. As much I despise Donald Trump’s political views he has broken no law.
    If only there was the same eagerness to arrest war criminals from the Bush administration who actually did, indisputably violate international law. Bush visited Ireland and was welcomed with open arms by our government.

Mute bmul
    Favourite bmul
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:55 PM

He has outside the US, racist and anti religious comments are illegal in a number of countries.

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:08 PM

Banning him from the country would be wrong. But he should only be able to visit on a tourist visa with strict conditions, such as no campaigning, public speaking, press conferences, business meetings etc.

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:11 PM

Who did Bill Clinton rape? There was an allegation dismissed in 2001, but I don’t recall any convictions nor court proceedings against him for any kind of sexual assault.

Mute Louis Jacob
    Favourite Louis Jacob
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:13 PM

Most people only want freedom of speech for themselves.

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:19 PM

What’s a “potential terrorist”? Is that someone we have actionable intelligence on, or someone with suspiciously dark skin?

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:20 PM

Freedom of speech is not freedom from consequences of speaking. Yelling fire in a cinema, etc.

Mute proctor
    Favourite proctor
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:25 PM

He’s not entitled to his opinions not when they don’t suit the pc agenda

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:26 PM

Tell a Garda or the Judge to F3ck off and see how freedom of speech works then,

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:38 PM

Trump’s got a global platform to air his opinions. Nobody’s preventing him from speak, on the contrary he can blast his thoughts via megaphone across the whole world. He has more than freedom of speech. He has privileged speech.

Does that mean he’s entitled to have no negative reactions to his speech?

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:43 PM

I hear he has property outside our solar system alright. Wouldn’t phase him

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:47 PM

Matty

Read “The Clinton’s war on Women” by Roger Stone.

I see you looked it up and are referring to the first link you came across. i.e. wikipedia

The law doesn’t apply to elite criminals like it does to you and me. That’s why you havn’t heard about it and you can’t wikipedia it!

Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:50 PM

I wasn’t aware that slick Willie was accused of rape?

Mute thejynxeffect
    Favourite thejynxeffect
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:55 PM

Not many people are yet Paddy. In fact the Journal has just deleted my first comment so you don’t know about it. Meanwhile, Donald Trump said something that upsets people is major major news every single day

Mute Leighanna Rose Walsh
    Favourite Leighanna Rose Walsh
    Jan 13th 2016, 9:24 PM

The problem isn’t the fact that he holds those opinions, it’s that he has a vastly powerful platform with which to express them. Dozens, possibly hundreds of Muslims have been attacked as people ride the wave of the anti-immigrant hysteria he’s been drumming up.

Honestly, opinions are for people who aren’t affected by an issue. Do you think if you were a Muslim or Mexican American Trump’s white supremacy would feel like an “opinion”? Opinions don’t make people fear for their lives.

Mute Leighanna Rose Walsh
    Favourite Leighanna Rose Walsh
    Jan 13th 2016, 9:28 PM

thejynxeffect the problem isn’t that people are upset. I see this a lot when it comes to issues of racism, homophobia, transphobia etc. where people act like it’s just over “offence”. The people who say this have most often never been persecuted in their lives.

If Trump became president it would be disatrous. White supremacist sites have noted a vast increase in members due to trump supporters, to the point of having to fundraise for additional servers to support them. People WILL be killed due to reinforcing white supremacy in the US. It’s unavoidable. 2 Million people, at least, have died in the nebulous “War on Terror” which has blatantly only made the problem far worse. These are people massacred in no small part due to western imperialism and islamophobia.

It’s not about “upset” or “opinions”. You’re basically telling people to sit there and lose their rights or be killed because you aren’t particularly interested in hearing about their oppression.

Mute Eddie Nugent
    Favourite Eddie Nugent
    Jan 14th 2016, 2:04 PM

anti religious comments are not against the Law, as far as i know

Mute John O'donnell
    Favourite John O'donnell
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:51 PM

All that time off and this is the best they can come with .. Is there any hope for us.. Back to their foolishness in their doss house …

Mute steve white
    Favourite steve white
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:35 PM

members of the public came up with these

Mute Steve stevenage
    Favourite Steve stevenage
    Jan 13th 2016, 8:00 PM

The public came up with it ya muppet. Know your facts before you climb onto your soap box

Mute Ronan Cooney
    Favourite Ronan Cooney
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:53 PM

Perhaps the story here should be “Government waste yet more time and money discussing pointless shite “

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:15 PM

Its not the government, its a committee.

Its being discussed because people demanded it be discussed. Do you suggest the Oireachtas should just ignore peoples demands?

BTW, I don’t agree with banning him.

Mute Ronan Cooney
    Favourite Ronan Cooney
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:34 PM

And this committee would be funded via central government perhaps… Let’s not forget all this procrastination must be payed for on some level… I stand by my point

Mute Lorem Ipsum
    Favourite Lorem Ipsum
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:49 PM

Things that are funded by the government are not the government

Mute P-anti matter
    Favourite P-anti matter
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:34 PM

Try banning single lone sexually active Arab and north african male economic migrants first.

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:41 PM

Good idea. We’ll ask them at the border. Are you sexually active? Really? REALLY? Hmm, well if a young lad such as yourself is not sexually active then there must be something else wrong with you… say, how African are you? Well, you look pretty dark. Like, darker than I’d expect a Syrian to look. Denied!

Mute Vinnie_the_yute
    Favourite Vinnie_the_yute
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:55 PM

Sexist and racist. Well done Panti.

Mute P-anti matter
    Favourite P-anti matter
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:57 PM

I think you got my point Declan but sure I enjoyed your sarcasm. I’m a big fan of yours now. Take a few in yourself and good luck to you.

Mute P-anti matter
    Favourite P-anti matter
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:07 PM

Sexist ? Yeah well the females don’t perpetrator rape, so I’m not too worried about them. But you obviously don’t know me so cast yir dispersions buddy, I wont loose any sleep.

Mute P-anti matter
    Favourite P-anti matter
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:13 PM

@Vinnie @ Declan. …..A confidential police report leaked to a German newspaper reveals that a record-breaking 38,000 asylum seekers were accused of committing crimes in the country in 2014. Analysts believe this figure — which works out to more than 100 a day — is only the tip of the iceberg, as many crimes are either not resolved or not reported. The current spike in crime — includingrapes, sexual and physical assaults, stabbings, home invasions, robberies, burglaries and drug trafficking — comes amid a record-breaking influx of refugees from Africa, Asia, the Middle East and the Western Balkans. ………….take your heads out of your àrsès lads.

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:24 PM

I could accuse you of some crimes but that wouldn’t mean you actually committed any. Figures for convictions versus figures for the rest of the population would be of more use if you are trying to make a point.
    And women do commit rape, many Lesbians report being raped or stalked by former partners and women have been convicted of raping men, despite the stigma that would go with reporting such a crime.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:33 PM
    Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:38 PM

Also, take a look at this: http://www.hijra2ireland.com

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:41 PM

Life in Ireland allow integration into a Muslim community in a western nation without having to fear the pressure to assimilate into Irish culture.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:42 PM

Irish youth have grown up expecting a certain life style that doesn’t involve hard work and manual labor. Because of this, Irish natives will be reluctant to work in jobs that require such work and pay a modest amount of money. These jobs provide an excellent entry point for immigrants. Tax benefits: Immigrants to Ireland have a variety of options to receive aid from thestate, while enjoying taxation benefits and stipends that are awarded in case of job loss or other incidents. There are many ways in which one can maximize the amount of money that can be awarded by the state.

Mute P-anti matter
    Favourite P-anti matter
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:45 PM

@Matty. I disagree matty, it’s shows a worrying trend. Not to mention the time it takes to convict the accused after court processes. I’m also aware that females commit rape, but I havnt seen any reports of female Muslims raping men in any European City recently.

Mute socrates
    Favourite socrates
    Jan 13th 2016, 8:00 PM

FK sake! There “mission”is distressing

Mute Paul Debussy
    Favourite Paul Debussy
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:49 PM

Mr Jawad being in the country is arguably more of a worry than the possibility that Trump might visit again.

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:27 PM

Never heard of the guy, what’s he done?

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:27 PM

Get a petition together then, I would happily sign it. Just make sure you read the rules.

See 21 more replies ▾
    Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:34 PM

Why do you want to deport Aniq Jawad? Serious question- never heard of the guy before this petition.

Mute Paul Debussy
    Favourite Paul Debussy
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:39 PM

Declan, I don’t know who Aniq Jawad is. A carefree French-Canadian, perhaps!
    Nobody mentioned deportation except you, bub.

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:49 PM

Paul, you indicated his presence in the country is a worry. I’m just asking why it worries you?

Matty suggested a petition to ban him. Which, since he seems to be resident here, would mean deporting him.

Sorry if that wasn’t clear.

Mute P-anti matter
    Favourite P-anti matter
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:53 PM

@Declan Madsen. You’re the champion of free speech, once it’s no one else who’s talking. Google who he is since you’re commenting on here with no clue who or what you’re talking about. Educate yourself and come back with an educated opinion.

Mute Monty Wuggy
    Favourite Monty Wuggy
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:58 PM

Declan: It’s because he’s from Pakistan. Paul really is a nasty piece of work.

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:00 PM

I already Googled Aniq Jawad before I asked the question. Know what I found out? Squat. I got links to private Facebook profiles, an Instagram account full of some college kid’s selfies, a closed Twitter account.

So, I’m none the wiser. But it seems like you’re in the know P-anti, so help me out here.

Who is Aniq Jawad, why is his presence in Ireland a worry and why would some people like to deport him?

Mute P-anti matter
    Favourite P-anti matter
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:08 PM

@Declan. Do your own homework bud. I don’t have time to educate you.

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:10 PM

Right. You could have answered my question twice already instead of being evasive. Thanks.

Mute Paul Debussy
    Favourite Paul Debussy
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:11 PM

No problem, Declan.

I didn’t say I was worried about him being present in this country.

However, I would suggest it’s likely that Mr Jawad holds views that, if aired, would put the shits up any hippy punter around these parts. If that’s the case, that would make his presence here more worrying than any two day stopover that old Trumpy might indulge in.

Mute Paul Debussy
    Favourite Paul Debussy
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:12 PM

Monty, I have no idea where the man is from.

Mute Monty Wuggy
    Favourite Monty Wuggy
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:14 PM

Maybe you two should do your research.

It’s clear Aniq despises terrorism and sympathised with the people killed in Paris. Implying he may be a threat to Irish people simply because of his Pakistani heritage is pure prejudice.

https://www.instagram.com/p/-FAspmFB8N/?taken-by=aniqjawad98

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:17 PM

Paul, you said that his presence was arguably more worrying that that of Trump. So, to clarify, you yourself would see no reason to be worried about Mr Jawad’s presence?

On what basis do you suggest that it is “likely” Mr Jawad holds views which would put the shits up a hippy punter such as myself? The facts I know about him are that he raised this petition (which was also raised by Elaine Mernagh, whose presence and views have put no shits up any punters to date) and that he may (or may not) be associated with a worryingly cliched selfie-laden student Instagram account.

Mute P-anti matter
    Favourite P-anti matter
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:19 PM

@Declan. If you weren’t such a smart ársè earlier, I might have helped you out. In the world of information and technology, ignorance is a choice pal. Like I said, I simply don’t have the time right now to educate you. Sorry man.

Mute Paul Debussy
    Favourite Paul Debussy
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:29 PM

Monty, nobody mentioned Pakistanis at all up until this point except you. Relax a bit, buddy, you’ll live longer. :)

Are you sure that punter is the Aniq Jawad from the article?

Declan, given I only have a name to go on at present, I see no reason to worry about this punter yet.
    My suggestion was made on the basis that Mr Jawad is probably a Muslim and those dudes have lots of crazy ass-backward beliefs, therefore if Aniq Jawad is an actual Muslim then he too must have crazy ass-backwards beliefs. That would be valid cause for concern, yes?

Elaine Mernagh seems to be a hippy and so can be safely ignored.

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:35 PM

P-anti- when was I a smart arse? That time I wrote the sarcasm you “enjoyed”? Did you not really enjoy my sarcasm, P-anti? Did it wound you?

You talk a lot about my being a hypocritical champion of free speech. But here you are, pissed because someone asked “why?”.

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:43 PM

Paul, thanks for clarifying.

I had assumed he was some notable figure for some other reason- maybe a history of some less savoury activism. I suspect that a lot of people came to the same conclusion without checking. It’s easily done.

Needless to say, I disagree entirely with you. His name is not enough to cast those kinds of aspersions. His religion would also not be enough, if you actually knew it. This is just simple prejudice, not really worthy of further discussion.

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:44 PM

@P-anti, given that Paul has just admitted this whole thing is based on Jawad’s name being muslim-sounding, why were you telling me to Google it?

Mute P-anti matter
    Favourite P-anti matter
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:07 PM

@Declan. I made no comments on this man’s case, I just used sarcasm in reply to your post and reffered you to google. I’m defo a big fan of it now. Defo wins an arguement every time. If you want to know my opinions, I dont think he should be deported. Once his views are not smoke screan. I believe he condemns these terrorist attacks publicly so at the moment, that will do it for me.

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 6:18 PM

Perhaps a case of Poe’s Law? Sorry if it missed the mark a bit, but when I clarified to you that I had in fact Googled his name, you told me you weren’t going to do my homework for me. Hard to read that as sarcasm, even being liberal with the Poe.

No, it’s pretty clear that you made some assumptions about the topic and wished to imply you knew something that in fact you did not know. You’re doing a wonderful job of reframing it.

I welcome your clarified opinion on Mr Jawad. I will add that I don’t think Elaine Mernagh should be deported either, as long as her views are not a smoke screen. I hope you share that very bland sentiment too.

Mute P-anti matter
    Favourite P-anti matter
    Jan 13th 2016, 7:16 PM

I agree it’s a be very bland sentiment ! We friends now ?

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Jan 13th 2016, 7:55 PM

If Trump visits again I would hope the greeting wont be as vomit inducing as the last one.

Mute Mark Malone
    Favourite Mark Malone
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:33 PM

So the fact that both petitions have names associated to them, which is in breach of their acceptance criteria doesn’t matter.

Just make up these laws as we go lads…………sure no one will notice.

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:30 PM

Michael Noonan says No.

Mute Paddy o'brian
    Favourite Paddy o'brian

Idiots and complete gimps, what if we ban trump and he becomes the 45th president? We’d better start digging bunkers because in revenge he’ll have b52 bombers over Dublin and cork and other towns

Mute Johnneary
    Favourite Johnneary
    Jan 13th 2016, 11:30 PM

“That man wants to put a temporary ban on a certain group of people (a percentage of which are murderers and terrorists) coming in to his country”
    “That’s terrible!”
    “That’s not PC!”
    “We’d never do that over here in our country!”
    “I know a solution”
    “Let’s ban him from our country!”

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:34 PM

Seems like someone should have read over the rules before making the effort to gather signatures.

Mute Vinnie_the_yute
    Favourite Vinnie_the_yute
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:56 PM

BAnning Donald Trump from Ireland? They are actually going to discuss this?!?

This is beyond pathetic.

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:16 PM

Did you read the article? They’re going to discuss it exactly this much:

“Petition to ban Donald Trum-”

“Names an individual. Denied. Next item.”

Mute Celtic Fern
    Favourite Celtic Fern
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:36 PM

Ireland will grease its derriere in submission when the Donald takes up residence at 1600 Pennsylvania Ave.

Mute Kal Ipers
    Favourite Kal Ipers
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:45 PM

He won’t make it there. People here really don’t understand US elections at all. The same way Gerry Adams will never run this country nor SF being a majority party in government.

Mute BannerBoyDesmond
    Favourite BannerBoyDesmond
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:00 PM

We allowed Wagdy Abd El Hamied Mohamed Ghoneim an extremist Muslim preacher, to come to Ireland at least twice in the last few years. Despite the fact that he regularly endorses suicide bombers. Despite the fact that he is banned from the UK and Canada. Canada said he was a member of Hamas and the Muslim Brotherhood. And yet he was let into Ireland, invited by the Clonskeagh mosque.

And we want to ban Trump for not being politically correct?

Allahu must really be Akbar..

Mute captain ireland
    Favourite captain ireland

On what grounds , more nonsense from left wing liberals

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:45 PM

I don’t think anyone ever expected it to work. It’s more a way of indicating we don’t like him very much.

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:48 PM

How about a petition to cut number of TDs and Senators by half They seem to have too much time on their hands despite 3 weeks holiday at Christmas

Mute Eddie Nugent
    Favourite Eddie Nugent
    Jan 14th 2016, 2:07 PM

Declan dumbest comment yet, so we start a national petition on people we don,t like, what a waste of money and resources, time to get back to proper politics and stop this luvey survey crap

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:45 PM

Why not ban everyone ? Its not as if its a different Donald trump that got welcomed with s red carpet by this government. He is what he is. The same man. Same attitude, same everything.

Mute Permo Dermo
    Favourite Permo Dermo

Considering we can’t manage to kick a known ISIS supporter from this fair land then the likely hood of stopping that Jackass from entering Ireland is nada

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen

Why are we trying to deport that guy though? If he’s an ISIS recruiter, let’s put him on trial and imprison him. Deporting him means he goes recruiting somewhere friendlier to him.

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:51 PM

Don’t think ISIS is an illegal organization here His deportation would be on warrant from another country where it is

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:52 PM

Is that true? Seems like we have two problems to fix in that case. Beggars belief that ISIS would not be a banned organisation.

Mute P-anti matter
    Favourite P-anti matter
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:05 PM

@Declan. The BBC, June 2014 : UK outlaws Isis, the militant group behind Iraqi attacks. The Islamist militant group that has seized control of parts of Iraq has been outlawed in the UK. The Home Office said it would be a criminal offence to associate with or give financial backing to the Islamic State of Iraq and the Levant (Isis)……..outlawed in the UK but not here.

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:08 PM

So is the intention here to deport him to the UK so someone else can do our dirty work for us? We stay off ISIS radar for a little while longer, as if we aren’t on it anyway?

Mute P-anti matter
    Favourite P-anti matter
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:23 PM

I don’t know Declan to be honest, and also,don’t know why Isis is not outlawed here. Seems to me that it would be the right thing to do. But hey, our glorious leaders are just back from their holiers, let them check their filo’s and they’ll get back to us.

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 7:12 PM

They are banned by the EU, but since the UK took the trouble to do it separately, I guess that’s not binding to member states.

Mute P-anti matter
    Favourite P-anti matter
    Jan 13th 2016, 7:29 PM

@Declan. I wasnt aware they were banned by the EU, The group has been designated a terrorist organisation by the United Nations, the European Union and its member states, the United States, India, Indonesia, Israel,Turkey, Saudi Arabia, Syria, Iran and other countries. Over 60 countries are directly or indirectly waging war against ISIL. Ive searched for any info on an EU ban, but couldn’t find any. As I’ve said, they should be.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Favourite Eamon Mac Gowan

Why not ban warmonger Hillary?
    Trump was against the Iraq war, at least he has no blood on his hands.

Mute Gerry Dunne
    Favourite Gerry Dunne
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:07 PM

Not going to happen hes rich.Our spineless politician’s lick up to people like him.

Mute Rosa Parks
    Favourite Rosa Parks
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:15 PM

He has created jobs in Ireland. If we’re prepared to trade with the tyrannical regimes of China and Saudi Arabia and Iran, then I think banning Trump for comments he made would be hypocritical.

Mute Tina Kanayo
    Favourite Tina Kanayo
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:39 PM

Trump is a trojan horse sent by the Clintons to destabilise the Republican party and to pave the way for Hillary Clinton. Hopefully Bernie Sanders wins.

Mute Celtic Fern
    Favourite Celtic Fern
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:41 PM

Another Commie in the White House , I think not.

Mute Brian Lowe
    Favourite Brian Lowe

I wish.

And yeah, Bernie has high chances now. In New Hampshire and Iowa, he’s beating Hillary by +13 points. Apparently that’s madly good news but few report it. So lets just hope then.

Mute Monty Wuggy
    Favourite Monty Wuggy
    Jan 13th 2016, 2:48 PM

Yep, I still think Clinton will win the nomination, but it’s not the foregone conclusion it once looked. Don’t agree with Sanders on everything but I’d much prefer him to a careerist, hawk like Hillary.

Mute Len Brennan
    Favourite Len Brennan
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:09 PM

Yep. A ringer for Clinton. The Clintons and Trump are personal friends.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:35 PM

Trump has a better chance than many think. His opinions are representative of the average american. Sanders, while noble, took his economic policy from the Ppl before profit handbook of lunacy.

Mute Monty Wuggy
    Favourite Monty Wuggy
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:49 PM

People who subscribe to neoliberal economics have no ground to stand on when it comes to lecturing about someone’s credibility on economics. Bernie has broader support than Trump, and it’s precisely because people want an alternative to the neoliberal system which has led to the burgeoning income inequality in the US. The negative connotation socialism has had in American politics is waning.

Mute Tina Kanayo
    Favourite Tina Kanayo
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:50 PM

Trump is not a representative of the average American. He is a representative of ignorant Republicans. Do you really think Corporate America will allow a man who says ignorant and racist things about nations and religion to be a president? This is a global economy and you need good relations between countries you hope to do and continue to do business with.

Mute Tina Kanayo
    Favourite Tina Kanayo
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:54 PM

Brian Lowe I’m not suprised, the corporate media don’t want Bernie so they won’t report him beating Hillary. It’s a shame they under play how much people are supporting him though.

Mute Mr. Rightside
    Favourite Mr. Rightside

If Sanders wins the Democrat nomination then prepare for President Trump. Americans will not elect a man who openly and proudly states he is a socialist.

Mute Tina Kanayo
    Favourite Tina Kanayo

Sadly I agree Montu Wuggy, I think Clinton will win the nomination because she is backed heavily by so many powerful coperations. American elections is not about the people but which rich corporation is backing a canidate.

Mute Tina Kanayo
    Favourite Tina Kanayo
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:01 PM

Mr Rightside I hate to admit it but your right. The establishment would never allow Sanders into power to disrupt the current system.

Mute Monty Wuggy
    Favourite Monty Wuggy
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:06 PM

Except polling indicates the opposite, that Sanders has a much better chance of winning the general election than Trump. They also said America wouldn’t elect a black man and Obama managed to win.

Tina: I agree, Clinton has the endorsement of Wall Street which has always been influential in an election. Perhaps though, Bernie can buck this trend. He’s certainly proving to be a relentless candidate.

Either way, the US political system is still plagued by so many structural issues, which regardless of who wins will remain intact.

http://www.bbc.com/news/blogs-echochambers-27074746

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/h-a-goodman/bernie-sanders-destroys-donald-trump-by-13-points-6-more-than-clinton-_b_8936840.html

Mute Gavin Carton
    Favourite Gavin Carton
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:12 PM

Mr. Rightside:
    Check out the latest polls. In 2 of the swing states (Iowa and New Hampshire) Sanders is crushing both Cruz AND Trump. Hillary is only ahead to Trump by 1 percent and is losing against Cruz!
    With the primaries only about 3 weeks away these numbers are pretty significant!!

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:39 PM

Bernie Sanders, bernomics: This week, Reuters columnist Daniel Indiviglio added up how much that would cost over a 10-year period and came up with a total of $12 trillion. But the Bernie Sanders tax proposals intended to pay for it all – including a tax on overseas corporate profits and higher taxes on the wealthiest Americans – only add up to about $4 trillion. That’s a gaping $8 trillion hole.

Mute Cal Cryton
    Favourite Cal Cryton
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:24 PM

Trump, Le Pen & AfD are the only people/parties that will actually do something about this disastrous libtard experiment in social engineering. It’s probably too late for Germany given their demographics but the rest of us at least have a chance of halting it.

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:31 PM

If he becomes President, they’ll all be kissing his ass.

Mute Mr. Rightside
    Favourite Mr. Rightside
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:20 PM

Aniq Jawad has no right to be here.

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:32 PM

Why not?

Mute Jeff Bridges
    Favourite Jeff Bridges
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:08 PM

Send over his daughter Ivanka instead..

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy

Why would we want Conor McGregor on a coin???

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:48 PM

The lowest point in FG style crawling, cap tipping , and servility, was Noonan meeting Trump in Shannon , complete with red carpet treatment, and Paddywhackery. Trump will be asking himself ” where did it all go wrong” if the petition succeeds ( unlikely) .

Mute Eamon Mac Gowan
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:32 PM

I hope either Trump or Sanders wins.

Mute Louise McMahon
    Favourite Louise McMahon
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:46 PM

Trump owns property here and a business, I am sure that entitles him to a right of way, as many other non EU nationals who invest here?? Check it out….

Mute Neil O Brien
    Favourite Neil O Brien
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:31 PM

As Ian Hislop said about the Daily Mail, “you don’t ban it…you don’t BUY it”

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:15 PM

One should be done for a certain person we all know

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:26 PM

Banning him from the country is not stopping freedom of speech. He can say whatever stupid nonsense he wants, it doesn’t mean that we have to listen or tolerate it in our own country.

Mute Avril Smith
    Favourite Avril Smith
    Jan 13th 2016, 6:54 PM

can we ban that evil wagon Hillary Clinton too ?

Jan 13th 2016, 3:30 PM

Ban this redneck gob shite racist from Ireland.

Mute Declan Madsen
    Favourite Declan Madsen
    Jan 13th 2016, 3:44 PM

To be fair, Trump’s no redneck. His parents were worth $300 million due to his dad’s real estate business. The rest is accurate though.

Fun fact- in 1973 Trumps dad was found guilty of refusing to rent properties to renters on the basis of their skin colour. The apple doesn’t fall far.

Mute BannerBoyDesmond
    Favourite BannerBoyDesmond
    Jan 13th 2016, 4:07 PM

I’m sure if most Irish landlords were approached by members of the travelling community, they wouldn’t be too eager to rent a property to them either! Were not that differant.

Jan 13th 2016, 5:18 PM

Declan he appeals to American rednecks like Hitler did to a section of Germany in the early days, nasty character.

Mute Eddie Nugent
    Favourite Eddie Nugent
    Jan 14th 2016, 2:11 PM

you don,t know much about history do you son, Hitler did not just appeal to a section of-red-necks, buy a history book, or keep stumm, your just embarrassing yourself and appearing uneducated

Mute Hilary Stundon
    Favourite Hilary Stundon
    Jan 14th 2016, 9:42 AM

I don’t agree with a lot of trumps views but I have to be honest and say some of his points I do agree with. I won’t know about other people but I am sick of seeing Muslims walking around my city with just eyes peeping through their burkas. It’s just weird.

Mute mrmeade
    Favourite mrmeade
    Jan 13th 2016, 5:12 PM

This government don’t have the balls to ban a person who has big money. Trump is the type of person this government love. The money comes first. Just look at what Denis O’ Brien gets away with.

Mute Steve stevenage
    Favourite Steve stevenage
    Jan 13th 2016, 7:59 PM

So why was the petition included to add Conor mcgregors name to the euro coin. Surely that “included the name of an individual”

Mute Denis Doyle
    Favourite Denis Doyle
    Jan 15th 2016, 10:42 AM

The Donald is a true leader we could do with someone just like him here for real leadership

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:35 AM

How about Ban the ritual slaughter / torture (Halal) of animals in Ireland Mr. Jawad? Since you’re so fond of procedure? Just because some people live in the stone age that doesn’t justify animal torture – which is against the law.

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:32 AM

The hazards of Democracy. Freedom of speech, but let’s ban anyone who says stuff we don’t like!

Mute Ryan Savage
    Favourite Ryan Savage
    Jan 13th 2016, 7:39 PM

This man should not become president,he is a very dangerous man

Mute DubKid
    Favourite DubKid
    Jan 14th 2016, 8:05 AM

Should ban Enda Kenny from Ireland