You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Banking inquiry could be up and running within ‘four to five months’

The make up of the new committee both in terms of size and who will sit on it has yet to be decided.

THE PROPOSED BANKING inquiry could be in place within four to five months TheJournal.ie has learned.

Party chief whips were briefed this evening by senior Government officials including Government chief whip Paul Kehoe on changes to Oireachtas procedures to allow for the establishment of a new committee to undertake inquiries.

The make up of the new committee both in terms of size and who will sit on it has yet to be decided.

The Committee on Procedures and Privileges (CPP) would oversee the operation of any inquiry the committee undertakes.

The CPP is to meet tomorrow where the issue is expected to be discussed before it is required to make a final decision by 4 February.

The Public Accounts Committee and the Finance Committee had both expressed an interest in hosting the banking inquiry.

Members of the committees could still be on the investigative committee but Labour Party Chief Whip Emmet Stagg has said that all members would have to be screened so as not to be considered biased.

“It is a difficult process because a lot of people have had a lot to say,” he explained. “If somebody for example had said that all bankers are this, that and the other than that might be considered biased.”

Stagg said that is was important that no committee members be considered biased to ensure that no challenge could be taken against the findings of an inquiry.

Read: Government wants to use banking inquiry as ‘a political show trial’ – Micheál Martin >

Read: The Department of Finance has lost letters connected to the bank guarantee >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

65 Comments
    Mute DigitalA
    Favourite DigitalA
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:01 PM

No government official, no one in any way associated with any party or government organisation, and no one in banking should sit on this. It should be impartial foreigners to ensure it’s done right.

Mute Ignoreland
    Favourite Ignoreland
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:29 PM

Except it’s a parliamentary inquiry so it has to be TDs or senators. If it wasn’t a parliamentary inquiry then it would have to be a tribunal presided over by a judge, and we all know how long they take and how expensive they end up being.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Jan 22nd 2014, 3:44 AM

Surely it should be a criminal investigation instead

Mute iver vanrental
    Favourite iver vanrental
    Jan 21st 2014, 9:58 PM

Up and running just in time for the summer recess.

Mute SAFEASHOUSES
    Favourite SAFEASHOUSES
    Jan 21st 2014, 11:46 PM

Up and running in 4 or 5 months?
    That’s just 4 or 5 years too late.
    Not a bad reaction time for the Irish government.
    Clerical abuse inquiry was 40 or 50 years+ too late.

Mute Philip
    Favourite Philip
    Jan 22nd 2014, 10:26 AM

Just in time for local and european elections

Mute Shane O'Connor
    Favourite Shane O'Connor
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:00 PM

They said that in July 2013!

Mute Brian Stewart
    Favourite Brian Stewart
    Jan 22nd 2014, 12:54 AM

They did Shane but the elections are on the horizon now

Mute Declan Conway
    Favourite Declan Conway
    Jan 22nd 2014, 11:42 AM

There’s more chance of Michael Schumacher up and running in four to five months.

Mute Mitch Cumstein
    Favourite Mitch Cumstein
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:30 PM

Probably turn out like those PAC “grillings”. The culprits answer in grunts and “I’m not sure” answers. Everyone then goes home saying at least we tried. End result: Zero convictions.

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:03 PM

A paper chase that has been shredded

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid

No rush, guys. You’ve only been in government for three years.

Mute Garry Coll
    Favourite Garry Coll

Like everything these clowns do, a day late and a dollar short.

Mute P o leathlobhair
    Favourite P o leathlobhair
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:06 PM

Another mahon tribunal just what the poor barristers need .

Mute Patricia Ann McCarthy Moore
    Favourite Patricia Ann McCarthy Moore
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:09 PM

P o. Loved that one. :-)

Mute Ignoreland
    Favourite Ignoreland
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:30 PM

Except that it’s a parliamentary inquiry and NOT a tribunal.

Mute P o leathlobhair
    Favourite P o leathlobhair
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:34 PM

True . I really didn’t want to go too deep into it . I meant it as a lighthearted quip. The end result will matter as much as the mahon tribunal ie nothing . The high court will be kept busy that is a fact . Thanks for taking the fun out of commenting .

Mute m-o-r-m -j--ordi-l
    Favourite m-o-r-m -j--ordi-l
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:34 PM

patricia my muse! what does it matter in the great scheme of things? is it a human concept! no such thing in the bigger spectrum… we are the result of the big bang, basically dust! to dust! ashes! to ashes!. Patricia, p.s. dont fear fear! its just words. mean nothing! hatches matches despatches?? not sure the driven licence loced lost!? Be funny to go somewhere safe muse!

Mute John B. Reid
    Favourite John B. Reid
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:26 PM

This will, no doubt, be another kangaroo court which will provide another set-piece opportunity for politicians to get up on their soapboxes in order to make headline-grabbing, hyperbolic statements and allegations. That being said, it can’t go without remarking how comical it is that six years after the Americans completed their banking inquiry, our legislature is only getting around to starting theirs. Shouldn’t we be embarrassed by this inefficiency and slothfulness?

Mute D
    Favourite D
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:03 PM

This enquiry should not start until AFTER the current crop of cases are finished. We should not give any of the accused any possibility of an out from it.
    I suggest an enquiry into the governments inaction regarding the recommendations and findings if the recent raft of Tribunals. Specifically focused on why there had been no action on Messrs Aherne and O Brien.

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Jan 22nd 2014, 6:23 AM

This enquiry has no teeth. No right to hold anyone to account. The Garda and Revenue are the ones who should have been doing this from the outset. FG and FF have too many skeletons in the cupboard or in FF case one live one.

Mute Joe Conway
    Favourite Joe Conway
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:24 PM

We haven’t seen anyone in court yet facing charges over what happened that led to the banking crisis. One reason for this is that we didn’t have in place the laws that made the actions of those responsible illegal. Five years later we still don’t have such laws. That’s the real scandal.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:05 PM

Theyve had nearly 6 fing yrs

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Jan 21st 2014, 11:17 PM

A bag of wind ,wait and see as previously stated nice timing on the run up to elections ,this government is to strong they are able to run amuck and there is no real acceptable opposition ,frightening times and the people don’t seem to be reacting to unacceptable taxes under all different headings ,FF shit on us and FG are rubbing it in

Mute Siobhan O'Mahony
    Favourite Siobhan O'Mahony
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:44 PM

Arrested and in front of the courts is where they should be, with a jury of the Irish people they destroyed, not their fellow cronies asking them “did you gamble with the people of Ireland’s money?”
    “NO”
    Ok then run along….
    *wink wink*

Mute Danny Southgate
    Favourite Danny Southgate
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:46 PM

It will be up and running to make FF look guilty b4 next elections

Mute Michael Conway
    Favourite Michael Conway
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:19 PM

It’s either really late for the last banking crisis or really earlier for the next one! You’ve just to ask is the glass half empty or half full :-)

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Jan 21st 2014, 11:26 PM

In Ireland the Rule Of Law and proper ethical standards only apply to to those in receipt annual incomes of less than €120,000 per annum.

There will be no revelation of the truth, no accountability, no personal culpability, just a few bland generalisations. Systemic fault and collective irresponsibility will be the themes.

Mute Danny Southgate
    Favourite Danny Southgate
    Jan 21st 2014, 11:38 PM

None of these bankers will answer anything in case they tell the truth and might get charged, don’t forget the clock is ticking and if they can carry this charade on for a total of 7 years then no charges can be brought, and don’t forget we are at the 6 / 7 year mark already

Mute Ryleigh kane
    Favourite Ryleigh kane
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:18 PM

Will the bankers have to apply themselves or will they be nominated by an independent body .If such a body exists ,Who selected them?Will it be a whose who of the disgraced banking sector, and Will they be paying and how much will they be paying to a group of consultants to select the said selectors and final committee? Basically ,How much will this sham cost?

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Jan 22nd 2014, 12:25 AM

It’s an Oireachtas inquiry. So that means only TDs and Senators will be on the committee.

Mute Ryleigh kane
    Favourite Ryleigh kane
    Jan 22nd 2014, 12:29 AM

So then it is not a sham as I first thought.Will this committee be sitting in the Gaiety or Olympia,and can you book tickets through ticketmaster.

Mute Eugene p Harrington
    Favourite Eugene p Harrington
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:06 PM

Up and running: cost millions and get not result but to make lawyers rich.

Mute rita martin
    Favourite rita martin
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:21 PM

Sure what hurry is on them!

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:21 PM

Who is the FF rep on this Committee. In the interests of impartiality, if that is possible, it should not be a TD who was in the Ahern Govt.

A “clean skin” to use a FF term for someone without a track record.

Otherwise they are in effect investigating themselves and their past boss.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:28 PM

5/1 barry cowen id say

Mute Sean Mckevitt
    Favourite Sean Mckevitt
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:31 PM

in the interest it should not be anybody from the country of ireland

Mute Jimmy Thompson
    Favourite Jimmy Thompson
    Jan 22nd 2014, 12:49 AM

Leslie ,I wouldn’t be too mad about Barry Cowan either being a brother of biffo i wouldn’t trust , blood thicker than water and all that ….
    Cillian_d, i think you’re on the right track ,it cant or shouldn’t be anyone tainted from the ahern era …………. eerum that leaves, f….all i can think of… perhaps ur man Seanie who post here :)

Mute Bill
    Favourite Bill
    Jan 21st 2014, 11:09 PM

Put in John McGuiness and Shane Ross they will sort it fast both men of integrity

Mute Jimmy Thompson
    Favourite Jimmy Thompson
    Jan 22nd 2014, 12:36 AM

Bill , You must be joking, integrity & mcguinness = oxymoran …
    He has either, found God in the last couple of years, A Born again Moralist , got a bang on the head or the guilt got to him

People have short memories , He was a staunch Bertie man, & firmly sat in Ahrens corner to the end during the indefensible, and a right spendthrift with public money , remember the 250K facelift to his office and lots more … He’s pandering to the masses ….. very dubious !

Mute Ciaran Whyte
    Favourite Ciaran Whyte
    Jan 21st 2014, 11:17 PM

An inquiry up and running 5 years after the collapse. Wonder how long it will take for its findings

Mute Aireach
    Favourite Aireach
    Jan 21st 2014, 11:33 PM

Government just trying to decide which crony consultants to use before they appoint a few ex politicians/judges/special advisors or CEO’s in need of a top up and sure if they wait long enough another more important issue like the jailing of a criminal for protesting on a runway will get the publics back up so much that they’ll forget about a bank inquiry.

Jan 21st 2014, 10:04 PM

Oh goody goody. Doews that mean they will bring back the ‘Moolaqh’. I am only asking because I didn’t get any Moolah last time they were giving it out. I wasn’t well in during the Celtic Tiger era. But I have to admit I can still use my claws.

Jan 21st 2014, 10:08 PM

There are a couple of spelling mistakes in the above post. I want to make sure the Professional grammer police at Mary Immaculate college in Limerick are doing their job. I have to think of everyone. Its part of my policy.

Mute Ryleigh kane
    Favourite Ryleigh kane
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:19 PM

luks gud tu me…

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    Jan 22nd 2014, 6:10 AM

:D

Mute Sean Mckevitt
    Favourite Sean Mckevitt
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:27 PM

the word COULD is sticking out a mile ,
    its means it WON’T

Mute Raymond Breen
    Favourite Raymond Breen
    Jan 22nd 2014, 12:09 AM

Wow six years on and not one banker or developer arrested or held accountable. Typical Ireland hold out long enough and the people will lose interest.
    Why is it that in other countries like America they have arrested and jailed bankers. While in Ireland bankers and developers are free to leave the country with their massive depths behind for everyone else to foot the bill.

Mute Anna Kirby
    Favourite Anna Kirby
    Jan 22nd 2014, 12:18 AM

If it was the US, they would have served time. In Ireland (ref CRC Kiely it seems to pay to be corrupt). Why do the enquires take so long?

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Jan 21st 2014, 11:33 PM

Some expensive heavy is going to have a field day.

Mute Larry Smierciak
    Favourite Larry Smierciak
    Jan 21st 2014, 11:02 PM

And lasting 10 years with no outcome.

Mute Aireach
    Favourite Aireach
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:05 AM

Or an outcome like Smithwick. No evidence but “they did it” and no further action to be taken.

Mute Peter Murphy
    Favourite Peter Murphy
    Jan 22nd 2014, 2:27 AM

let me think about this? You dont pay your tv license and you end up in court! emmm . You fxck up the country and you get this exclusive treament!!! wtf

Mute Richie Rodgers
    Favourite Richie Rodgers
    Jan 21st 2014, 10:55 PM

My real concern is the potential for contaminating the impending trials against named bankers. I don’t believe there are enough members of the current House with sufficient experience to create a Committee that can avoid the mistakes defending lawyers will feast on in those trials.

Mute Peter Richardson
    Favourite Peter Richardson
    Jan 21st 2014, 11:29 PM

There is no prospect of any convictions. The trails are a sop. No one involved in these trials takes the exercise as a serious and responsible exercise. It’s a gesture.

Likely there are pending efforts to defer the trials due to prejudice.

Mute Tristan Ua Ceithearnaigh
    Favourite Tristan Ua Ceithearnaigh
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:55 AM

I doubt any serious enquiries into the banking curruption. It seems to me to be just another money spinning quango. I have lost faith in the system. Gardaí are out stopping and searching people on the street while banksters and politicians go about free to mess the country up unharrassed.

Mute Peter Murphy
    Favourite Peter Murphy
    Jan 22nd 2014, 2:29 AM

Agree there Tristan, social media is a great thing but we all need to wake up and smell the coffee and start marching in our hundred of thousands to send a stronger message.

Mute John Larkin
    Favourite John Larkin
    Jan 22nd 2014, 6:46 AM

Oh I can’t wait. Heads will roll. We will finally see justice done. Not…

Mute sydney shaw
    Favourite sydney shaw
    Jan 22nd 2014, 12:18 AM

Yeah…………

Mute Aislinn Matthews
    Favourite Aislinn Matthews
    Jan 22nd 2014, 2:50 AM

Emmet stagg??? (rent boy in the phoenix park) yet another cover up by the top brass. I wouldn’t trust anything these knobs say or do.

Mute Natalie May
    Favourite Natalie May
    Jan 22nd 2014, 8:37 AM

Can charges be brought after the inquiry or is this just another astronomically expensive fact finding exhibition?

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Jan 22nd 2014, 12:23 PM

A banking inquiry in 4 to 5 months! Well done the lads in Leinster House! Next week they’ll unveil plans to combat the Y2K problem!

Now if you’ll excuse me I’ve to go tell my boss that I will urgently get on top of my work, and expect to see some possible action in 5 years time.

Mute Phil Quinlan
    Favourite Phil Quinlan
    Jan 22nd 2014, 9:23 AM

“Could be”? Grand…

Mute brian magee
    Favourite brian magee
    Jan 22nd 2014, 8:09 AM

Havn’t heard anything from stag since the Phoneix park scandal