You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

AP Photo/Darko Vojinovic/PA

'Banking union' plan to shift cost of bank losses from taxpayers

European Commission says new framework will be primarily based on preventing and preparing for banking problems.

THE EUROPEAN COMMISSION has released details of its new proposals for protecting taxpayers against future bank losses through greater economic integration and a ‘banking union’.

The Commission is proposing a new four-pillar ‘banking union’ and says a new framework for tackling future banking problems will be based foremost on prevention and preparation, followed by early intervention.

The proposed banking union incorporates a single EU deposit guarantee scheme for all EU banks, one uniform ‘rule book’ for bank supervision, a single EU supervisor with ultimate decision-making powers for systemic and cross-border banks, and a common resolution authority and fund for the resolution of systemic and cross-border banks.

The proposals favour resolution over insolvency proceedings, because the Commission says that the former protects certain stakeholders – such as depositors – and keeps the banks operational. The latter can take years in order to ensure maximising the value of the assets involved in the interest of the creditors.

The cost of any such resolution “should be borne by the banking sector rather than taxpayers” and a single European resolution fund should be set up in time but that for now, “setting up a single pan-EU fund would be difficult”.

The Commission says in a memo today that although using public funding to bail out troubled banks may have been necessary to prevent widespread market disruption, “it is clearly undesirable for public funds to be used in this way at the expense of other public objectives”.

It also says that high-profile banking failures such as Anglo Irish Bank and Lehman Brothers have revealed “serious shortcomings” in the current framework for coping with such crises while demonstrating that “supporting banks which are too big to fail with squeezed public finances is becoming increasingly unsustainable”.

ECB leaves main interest rate unchanged at 1pc >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

9 Comments
    Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Feb 19th 2019, 6:13 AM

A farce show for a farce channel,both should be cancelled.

Dec
    Mute Dec
    Favourite Dec
    Feb 19th 2019, 6:42 AM

@Trevor Hayden: if people want to spend a night in front of the telly with a bowl of popcorn and a bottle of wine listening to a mixed bag of songs from around Europe then so be it… to be fair it’s not RTEs fault that the PUBLIC voted Israel’s song as the winning entry last year (it was 2nd or 3rd after the national juries vote).

I actually like that all of this is helping to highlight some of the Palestinian/Israeli issues. Hopefully people will learn more about the conflict as a direct result of the contest and use this knowledge in a meaningful way.

“farce show, farce channel” …cancel then both? Ahh stop!

Mute Curious
    Favourite Curious
    Feb 19th 2019, 6:55 AM

@Dec: Trevor is what one might call ‘triggered’.

Mute Chewey Bacca
    Favourite Chewey Bacca
    Feb 19th 2019, 7:02 AM

@Dec: around Europe and Australia… there wasn’t a cow milked in Oxford St when they let Oz joined the comp.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Feb 19th 2019, 7:15 AM

@Curious: Triggered, I’d prefer ” Boycie’d” Rte trying to sell a second rate farce to the public as entertainment.
    Jesus it makes the X factor entertaining and that’s real tripe.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Feb 19th 2019, 7:58 AM

@Dec: I suppose Dec ,we could see the style and glamour, of the huge amount of palastinians that will be in the audience?

Mute Damon16
    Favourite Damon16
    Feb 19th 2019, 9:48 AM

@Gerry Campbell: There would be as many Israeli Arabs present that would have the inclination to go – as like all such events in Israel. As for the “huge amount of Palestinians” in the audience – well if it was in Ramallah or Hebron then maybe but its in Tel Aviv in Israel so probably not.

Mute CouncilWatch
    Favourite CouncilWatch
    Feb 19th 2019, 12:33 PM

@Gerry Campbell:

Gerry. It’s been highlighted elsewhere in this thread that maybe you don’t read “good” but the Arabs became Palestinian for the 1st time in 1964. Jerusalem east (no such thing btw) wasnt held by Arab Palestinians it was held by Jordan. To regain this capital they talk about. Christians there milenia would have to be expelled as Jews who lived there milenia were expelled when Jordan invaded

Just to let you know as well. 20% of the Israeli population are Arab. They are judges, Doctors, lawyers, Teachers and Nurses

They’ve the exact same rights as Jews

Sorry you’ve never been to beautiful Israel and believe such bs

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Feb 19th 2019, 12:37 PM

@Damon16: Israel considers Palestine part of its territories. The reason you wont see Palestinians there is because they are living in an apartheid regime.

Dec
    Mute Dec
    Favourite Dec
    Feb 19th 2019, 1:11 PM

@Gerry Campbell: I don’t know who’s going to be in the audience but you’re almost certainly right. It’s up to individual nations, tv stations and participants to highlight what it is that they see and to broadcast that to their own national audiences. The show itself is one part of an event that spans across an entire week.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Feb 19th 2019, 3:11 PM

@Damon16: maybe …maybe, you think they chance dressing up and socializing there either …

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Feb 19th 2019, 3:17 PM

@CouncilWatch: Shalom oh Nameless one, now Israel is a state stolen by the Jews ,bargained for ,by wealthy American Jews to save Britain’s arse as they were losing WW1…..that I’m sure means as little to the likes of you as that young girls teeth your soldier knocked out last week , brave boys and girls you have there ,ye will be grand .

Mute Paul McDonald
    Favourite Paul McDonald
    Feb 19th 2019, 3:19 PM

@Cal Mooney: That is true, the Palestinian people are living under an apartheid regime of Hamas and the Palestinian authority who won’t allow their own people to live in peace, take the money given to better the lives of the Palestinian people by the UN, US and EU, (our taxes) to line their own pockets and keeps their own people oppressed for their own murderous ideology.

Mute Dave Connolly
    Favourite Dave Connolly
    Feb 19th 2019, 8:05 AM

1. Israel is not in Europe, just because they cant play nice with the neighbors they should not be allowed use this or Eufa as propaganda for their illegal activities.

2. Criticism of Israel is not antisemitism.

3. RTE need to listen to who pays the licence fee and not be bullied by Israel like our Government have been in the past.

Mute Kieran Shortt
    Favourite Kieran Shortt
    Feb 19th 2019, 8:59 AM

@Dave Connolly: Not in continental europe , but is part of european broadcasting union who organise event, as is turkey and most north african countries. Competition is open to them if they choose to take part.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Feb 19th 2019, 9:00 AM

@Dave Connolly: “can’t play nice with their neighbours” neighbours who are calling for the destruction of Israel since the beginning?

Mute Clifford Brennan
    Favourite Clifford Brennan
    Feb 19th 2019, 9:00 AM

@Dave Connolly: Several contestant countries aren’t in Europe. Membership of the EBU is the only qualifier. If RTE are to listen to who pays the license fee, the average viewing figures for last years contest was 690,000 – it peaked at 1 million during the results segment, then yes it’ll be a worthwhile show. We shouldn’t be bullied by moral relativists who hate Israel.

Mute Dave Connolly
    Favourite Dave Connolly
    Feb 19th 2019, 9:20 AM

@Seamus Mac: start of what? When they first kicked people off their land or the more modern ethnic cleansing ?

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Feb 19th 2019, 9:25 AM

@Dave Connolly: there two sides to that story Dave but you are only interested in one.

Mute Seamus Mac
    Favourite Seamus Mac
    Feb 19th 2019, 9:25 AM

@Seamus Mac: there are

Mute CouncilWatch
    Favourite CouncilWatch
    Feb 19th 2019, 12:14 PM

@Dave Connolly:

Have you been to Israel Dave or are you another armchair educated who listens to the lies the racist IPSC who replicate the actions of the Nazis in the 1930s spin?

How many of the tiny 11000 signatures are actually Irish when the Nazis leading the boycott charge called on their international co Jew haters in the international BDS campaign to sign?

Silly boy

Mute CouncilWatch
    Favourite CouncilWatch
    Feb 19th 2019, 12:16 PM

@Dave Connolly:

Kicked people off their land ???

History much Dave?

You’re embaresing yourself

Mute Dave Connolly
    Favourite Dave Connolly
    Feb 19th 2019, 12:34 PM

@CouncilWatch: ah look the voice of imperial Israel is out in force. Back under your bridge troll

Mute Dave Connolly
    Favourite Dave Connolly
    Feb 19th 2019, 12:35 PM

@Clifford Brennan: I dont hate Israel. but what they are doing is illegal and morally wrong. They are acting like bullies and need to be called out for what they are.

Mute Nathan Mawhinney
    Favourite Nathan Mawhinney
    Feb 19th 2019, 3:32 PM

@Dave Connolly: yeah they keep bullying the people who are trying to blow up there kids. Israel is a leader of human rights in the Middle East.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Feb 19th 2019, 3:53 PM

@CouncilWatch: don’t ye get a tea break atall in the Embassy ?or is it near going home time in Tel Aviv…

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Feb 19th 2019, 7:03 AM

And here I thought the point was to win the competition not get political.

Mute Sarah
    Favourite Sarah
    Feb 19th 2019, 7:29 AM

@John Flood: that’s adorable.

Mute George O Neill
    Favourite George O Neill
    Feb 19th 2019, 7:58 AM

@Sarah: I agree with RTE’s stance, Eurovision is non-political event but it is a human one; and anyone with an ounce of basic human dignity or any belief in human rights should shun this event while it is being held there

Mute DavidOReilly
    Favourite DavidOReilly
    Feb 19th 2019, 8:09 AM

@George O Neill: your taking the mick . The Eurovision in recent years is as political as you get. Voting or not voting for allies or foes. Ukraine expelling Russian singer. This is no longer a contest. It’s influencing you neighbours.

Mute John Flood
    Favourite John Flood
    Feb 19th 2019, 11:16 AM

@Sarah: so are you. Never change.

Mute CouncilWatch
    Favourite CouncilWatch
    Feb 19th 2019, 12:34 PM

@George O Neill:

You won’t be watching the world either I guess?

Mute Valthebear
    Favourite Valthebear
    Feb 19th 2019, 5:33 PM

@George O Neill: nonsense. Israel has far more human rights than any of the states around it. Check out its neighbours track records on lgbt rights and tolerance of religious difference

Mute Frank Emerson
    Favourite Frank Emerson
    Feb 19th 2019, 7:11 AM

Maybe the Rte cameramen etc , could refuse to film it like the Dunnes Stores staff who refused to sell fruit from Apartheid South Africa.

Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    Feb 19th 2019, 10:29 AM

@Frank Emerson: it’s probably a central TV crew / system for most of the show. RTE don’t necessarily need to be at it.

Mute CouncilWatch
    Favourite CouncilWatch
    Feb 19th 2019, 12:43 PM

@Frank Emerson:

Lol. So one of the few Countries where Arab Women can vote (Israel), where LGBTQ Arabs can be openly gay (Israel) and where the Lord Mayor of Tel Aviv is Arab is……apartheid????

Lolololol

You were being satirical right

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney
    Feb 19th 2019, 2:15 PM

@CouncilWatch: I am pretty sure women are allowed to vote in all middle East countries except in the likes of US backed Saudi Arabia, Bahrain etc. Palestinian women are not allowed to vote in Israeli elections even though Israel claims Palestine as part of its territories. In Bahrain, 70 percent of the population are not allowed to vote. In Egypt, no one is allowed to run as President except the US backed coup leader. Israel has diplomatic relations with both of those countries. No surprise there.

Mute J. Reid
    Favourite J. Reid
    Feb 19th 2019, 8:30 AM

The anti-Israelism and left-wing control of the media in Ireland is just all-consuming. The fact that RTE dithered for a month as to whether to confirm their participation in an event, popular with Irish people, shows how willing RTE is to bend-the-knee to the hard-left.

I haven’t been a big fan of the Eurovision since the turn of the century, but I have to point out that those petitioners, mentioned in the above story, certainly don’t represent me and would not represent the vast majority of Irish viewers who will tune-in the watch the 2019 Eurovision held in Israel this May.

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Favourite Squiddley Diddley
    Feb 19th 2019, 10:52 AM

@J. Reid: Left-wing control of media is a myth. The private media is owned by corporations, RTE is very supportive of our centre-right government parties.

Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan
    Feb 19th 2019, 11:14 AM

@Squiddley Diddley:
    @J.Reid
    Above is an excellent example of the confirmation bias BS all accross social media .
    If RTE put nothing more than a brown circle on the TV screen for a day one side would screem RIGHT WING CONSPIRACY while the other would Bellow LOONY LEFT MEDIA CONTROL.

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Feb 19th 2019, 11:46 AM

@Patrick Nolan: I don’t think I fall into one of those categories. Have you an issue with what I said?

Mute Squiddley Diddley
    Feb 19th 2019, 11:57 AM

@Patrick Nolan: I would actually tend to agree with you. RTE is pretty middle-of-the road, like most our main political parties, and does get flak from both extremes, which is probably a good sign. They do give a platform to all sides but are generally quite accepting of official statements and tend to be more questioning of Sinn Fein and other small parties. As such they support the status quo, which is to be expected of a State broadcaster. That’s hardly screaming “right-wing conspiracy” is it?

Mute Ann Moynihan
    Favourite Ann Moynihan
    Feb 20th 2019, 8:08 PM

@J. Reid: I most certainly will not.

Mute Ibhar Mac Suibhne
    Favourite Ibhar Mac Suibhne
    Feb 19th 2019, 6:31 AM

The difference between the wars in Yugoslavia in 2008, Georgia in 2009 and the situation in Ukraine and in Azerbaijan is that the oppressed Palestinian peoples themselves through civil society groups are calling for the boycott…its quiet evident that all people observing the boycott support peoples being oppressed worldwide, this is evident by the massive public support for the Occupies territories bill that was passed by both houses of parliament which targets thieving bas**ards who handle stolen goods worldwide….do we support criminality? certainly not .

Mute CouncilWatch
    Favourite CouncilWatch
    Feb 19th 2019, 12:18 PM

@Ibhar Mac Suibhne:

Massive public support????

You are kidding right

Frances Black, elected with 75 votes and zero mandate apart from being Shinner light supported by terrorists pushing an illegal bill ?

You’re funny

Mute Paul McDonald
    Favourite Paul McDonald
    Feb 19th 2019, 3:36 PM

@Ibhar Mac Suibhne: Palestinians are not calling for any boycott if Israeli goods, their shops are full of them, the Universities in Israel are full of Palestinians, including the hypocrite who started the BDS movement, they use Israeli techknowledgey and work in Israeli factories, stores and farmlands earning 4 times the Palestinian national income, BDS ruins their lives not the Israeli, don’t be fooled by the propaganda. I will never stop buying produce from Israel no matter what bill is passed making it illegal to do so, no one will tell me who I can or cannot purchase from. BTW, that bill will never pass in Ireland anyway, it would destroy our own economy and send us into another worse recession and the government know that.

Mute Colm A. Corcoran
    Favourite Colm A. Corcoran
    Feb 19th 2019, 7:24 AM

If we had no problem with them being in the Eurovision every year before, then we have no problem with the possibility of them winning it, which we did.

Besides, the Eurovision isn’t a political platform.

Any idea of a boycott stinks of popularism.

Mute Colm A. Corcoran
    Favourite Colm A. Corcoran
    Feb 19th 2019, 7:25 AM

@Colm A. Corcoran: … which THEY did. Slight typo there!

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    Feb 19th 2019, 6:19 AM

Israel and Eurovision – Twin Journal Triggers!

Mute deise
    Favourite deise
    Feb 19th 2019, 10:44 AM

Looking forward to watching 2019 Eurovision from Tel Aviv! Im sure it will be a great show!

Mute Mark Broderick
    Favourite Mark Broderick
    Feb 19th 2019, 12:20 PM

@deise: terrorist sympathizer

Mute deise
    Favourite deise
    Feb 19th 2019, 12:23 PM

@Mark Broderick: indeed!

Mute Nathan Mawhinney
    Feb 19th 2019, 3:34 PM

@Mark Broderick: nah, It’s the country around Israel who have the terrorists.

Mute deise
    Favourite deise
    Feb 19th 2019, 4:34 PM

@Nathan Mawhinney: well said!

Mute Wade Wilson
    Favourite Wade Wilson
    Feb 19th 2019, 9:02 AM

We pay TV license fees. If those fees are going to a broadcaster who is activeily supporting war crimes we are within our rights to boycott the TV license fee. If RTE do this then I say we boycott the TV license fee as I do not want my taxes going to fund war crimes.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Feb 19th 2019, 9:24 AM

@Wade Wilson: It most certainly does not fund war crimes. It may fund crimes against entertainment however.

Mute Damon16
    Favourite Damon16
    Feb 19th 2019, 9:41 AM

@Wade Wilson: I assume you are as outraged at the money that the Irish government gives every yr to the Palestinian authority – half of whose budget is spend on lifetime pensions for terrorists and the families of suicide bombers.

Mute CouncilWatch
    Favourite CouncilWatch
    Feb 19th 2019, 12:20 PM

@Wade Wilson:

You go for it Wade. Do what you want.

Mute CouncilWatch
    Favourite CouncilWatch
    Feb 19th 2019, 1:15 PM

@Wade Wilson:

War crimes?

Do tell.

Oh and I will laugh at you if you mention the UN who have the Gulfies managing Women and children’s affairs and the just given Senegal a leading position in human rights

Mute CouncilWatch
    Favourite CouncilWatch
    Feb 19th 2019, 1:27 PM

@Wade Wilson:

How do you feel about the €9,000,000 2018 of Irish tax payer money given to billionaire Abbas who pays arabs to kill Jews and Christians ?

The rest is used to build palaces and buy new jets

Mute An_Fear_Liath
    Favourite An_Fear_Liath
    Feb 19th 2019, 9:21 AM

Great to see RTE not giving in to the bigots at IPSC. And make no mistake they are bigots.

Mute Mark Broderick
    Favourite Mark Broderick
    Feb 19th 2019, 12:19 PM

@An_Fear_Liath: Said the bigot

Mute CouncilWatch
    Favourite CouncilWatch
    Feb 19th 2019, 1:13 PM

@Mark Broderick:

Mark. You’re all emotional again

Shouldn’t you be down in Tesco removing Israeli products from Israeli companies who employ Arabs and give them a bigger minimum wage than the UK does?

Craggy island is live and well with you

Mute Adeel McDangerson
    Favourite Adeel McDangerson
    Feb 19th 2019, 3:40 PM

@CouncilWatch: mate shouldn’t you be defending some idf goon as a victim?

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Feb 19th 2019, 7:55 AM

They have had a year to figure their diplomacy, a year hoping the Israeli’s would get them off the hook by behaving, but nope,still knocking children’s teeth out with the butts of rifles ,will RTE show some backbone, not a chance ,out we’ll go like sheep …

Mute CouncilWatch
    Favourite CouncilWatch
    Feb 19th 2019, 12:45 PM

@Gerry Campbell:
    Knocking children’s teeth out with the butt of rifles??? How dramatic !

You’ve been to Israel obviously

Not

Mute tooler doogan
    Favourite tooler doogan
    Feb 19th 2019, 1:04 PM

@CouncilWatch: I have been to Israel and i can confirm your talking shite!

Mute CouncilWatch
    Favourite CouncilWatch
    Feb 19th 2019, 1:24 PM

@tooler doogan:

You’ve been to Israel?? Lol
    No you haven’t ‘Tooler’

No one who goes on as you do has.
    It’s okay though, 99.9999% of those who use ‘all the IPSC/Nazi buzzword haven’t been to Eretz Israel either

You need to keep your emotions in check. Just breathe. It will probably not be okay but your opinion matters

Mute Dave Connolly
    Favourite Dave Connolly
    Feb 19th 2019, 2:34 PM

@CouncilWatch: say anything against Israel and your a Nazi. Typical troll

Mute tooler doogan
    Favourite tooler doogan
    Feb 19th 2019, 3:28 PM

@CouncilWatch:ill send you a postcard from east jerusalem when i go there in may, hope its not intercepted by the idf!!!!!

Mute tooler doogan
    Favourite tooler doogan
    Feb 19th 2019, 3:29 PM

@CouncilWatch: and you treally spout some shite, picking figures out of your arse, but you’re good craic in fairness!!!

Mute Sean Ryan
    Favourite Sean Ryan
    Feb 19th 2019, 10:27 AM

“11,000 signatures pleading for a boycott“
    This literally means nothing. RTE should broadcast it IMO.

Mute Keith G. Mills
    Favourite Keith G. Mills
    Feb 19th 2019, 11:13 AM

Interesting insight but nowhere does ot mention that NOT ONE country is boycotting Eurovision in Israel and that RTÉ has twice before attented Eurovision in Jerusalem.
    The left-wing fantatics who cheer on the Palestinian regime should not be allowed to dictate what our national broadcaster does.

Mute DavidOReilly
    Favourite DavidOReilly
    Feb 19th 2019, 8:13 AM

The Eurovision is now a political arena with minipulated voting to friend or foe , Ukraine expelled Russian singer over Crimea. So let’s now say this is above politics.

Mute Damon16
    Favourite Damon16
    Feb 19th 2019, 9:35 AM

Dont care for Eurovision but the public voted for that song because they liked it (different strokes etc) and the tradition always has been that the winning country hosts the next yr. Talk of boycotting is stupid. No country boycotted Russia when it hosted it or the winter olympics etc. Its a cultural event being hosted in Tel Aviv in Israel proper – not the occupied territories. That’s like arguing that the academy awards or whatever should have been boycotted when the US invaded Iraq – it makes no sense.

Mute Hans Vos
    Favourite Hans Vos
    Feb 19th 2019, 9:33 AM

We allowed Israel to compete but now they became first we sit on our high horse and will boycott them? Not really taken a moral standard here.

Mute Jonathan McDonnell
    Favourite Jonathan McDonnell
    Feb 19th 2019, 12:36 PM

I hope the contest goes well and I’m delighted it will be hosted in Tel Aviv. Israel is a unique and interesting setting for this year’s Eurovision Song Contest.

Mute Josh Hanners
    Favourite Josh Hanners
    Feb 19th 2019, 9:18 AM

More racism from the anti-racist PC Brigade!

Mute Willie Penwright
    Favourite Willie Penwright
    Feb 19th 2019, 9:21 AM

RTE participating in this charade would be shameful, not just to the clique in Montrose, but for the Irish people. It’s time we took a stand against our nationality being abused by the spineless, mindless drones in RTE.

Mute CrabaRev
    Favourite CrabaRev
    Feb 19th 2019, 9:30 AM

@Willie Penwright: I think the vast majority of Irish people would disagree with you. A well organised political petition can only get 11,000 signatures. That says a lot. Thats 0.3% of the total number of people who voted in the last GE. Noise, both statistically and literally.

Mute CouncilWatch
    Favourite CouncilWatch
    Feb 19th 2019, 12:23 PM

@Willie Penwright:

“Our Nationality” ???? You’re one of those who signed this petition to boycott aren’t you

From Wales lol

Mute CouncilWatch
    Favourite CouncilWatch
    Feb 19th 2019, 1:30 PM

@Willie Penwright:

Lol

I’m still laughing at your comments so go raibh mile maith agat

Your national beer being called Brains has always me laugh too

It the simple things right

Mute Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Favourite Cormac Ó Braonáin
    Feb 19th 2019, 6:59 PM

@CouncilWatch: you might be trying a bit of too hard there. Although you did give me a chuckle at the trying to portray that you were laughing and not offended.

Mute m_murphy
    Favourite m_murphy
    Feb 19th 2019, 10:01 AM

I like Eurovision but will not be viewing it this year because it is being held in a country which is being ran by psychopath despots.

Mute Raymond Power
    Favourite Raymond Power
    Feb 19th 2019, 10:18 AM

@m_murphy: when will the journal introduce laughing me bollo##s off emojis? Talk about delusional.Pick up a history book and jump off the left wing band wagon!

Mute m_murphy
    Favourite m_murphy
    Feb 19th 2019, 11:32 AM

@Raymond Power: History books will rightly reflect the genocide, and you Raymond will be on the wrong side wondering where it all went right.

Mute CouncilWatch
    Favourite CouncilWatch
    Feb 19th 2019, 12:25 PM

@m_murphy:

Eh. No He wont

Mute Mark Broderick
    Favourite Mark Broderick
    Feb 19th 2019, 12:25 PM

@Raymond Power: delusional.. that would be you

Mute CouncilWatch
    Favourite CouncilWatch
    Feb 19th 2019, 1:18 PM

@m_murphy:
    A million Irish people, not the majority who signed that Jew hating position disagree with you and will watch

The fact is you will watch the finals.

Otherwise your have nothing to kvetch about

Mute CouncilWatch
    Favourite CouncilWatch
    Feb 19th 2019, 1:31 PM

@m_murphy:

Eh Murph.

The genocide thing.

The Arab population has grown X 10 since 1948

Mute Paul McDonald
    Favourite Paul McDonald
    Feb 19th 2019, 3:06 PM

@m_murphy: Hahahaha there’s that word again that the anti Israel/Jews haven’t a clue about the meaning, genocide, funny how there are 7 times the amount of palestinians now than there were in 1948 when Israel became a nation. Over 7 million today, genocide means less not more. educate educate educate.

Mute Paul McDonald
    Favourite Paul McDonald
    Feb 19th 2019, 3:11 PM

@CouncilWatch: 11 thousand, not a million, a million Irish people wouldn’t sign anything put to them by the IPSC antisemite liars, and I would say most who signed did so on Grafton street on their stall, people ignorant about Israel just passing by doing their shopping trying to make themselves feel good about themselves. Trust me on that, I see them all the time.

Mute colm mc sweeney
    Favourite colm mc sweeney
    Feb 19th 2019, 10:21 AM

Darude for Finland! https://eurovision.tv/story/darude-to-represent-finland-in-2019 .I will be watching anyway even if it comes from North Korea.

Mute Dave Barrett
    Favourite Dave Barrett
    Feb 19th 2019, 9:15 AM

This should be a no brainer. This contest has is a farce. It costs a fortune , hosted by over paid presenters ,tax payers money wasted ,and entries by people who lost a fortune in the recession. Enough is enough, regardless with what is happening in other parts of the world its time to get rid of.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Feb 19th 2019, 1:27 PM

It is terrible to think that as people watch it on TV, that there will be human beings murdered just down the road at the same time.

Mute CouncilWatch
    Favourite CouncilWatch
    Feb 19th 2019, 2:43 PM

@@mdmak33:

Agree. Last week a Jewish kid, 19 was raped, tortured and beheaded in Israel.

The terrorists family will be getting hundreds of thousands of dollars as the Palestinian have a Pay for slay policy when their people kill a Jew or a Christian or a Ba’ai or a Drueze or a Bedouin

Her name was
    Ori Ansbacher

So you can sleep soundly in your bed

Mute Paul McDonald
    Favourite Paul McDonald
    Feb 19th 2019, 2:59 PM

Three points made is this piece fro the IPSC are inaccurate and in my opinion lies, (1) Israel does not occupying Gaza, Israel pulled out in 2005, receiving rockets and mortars on their communities in return. (2) there is no mass slaughter being conducted just a few kilometres down the road.” and if they were referring to the 50 Hamas terrorists killed last year at the boarder fence while trying to enter Israel to slaughter Jews, then it just shows the type of people they are. Terrorists supporting terrorists. (3) There is also no occupation of Jerusalem, it has been the capitol of Israel for the past 3 thousand years, just because the moors invaded Israel and occupied Jerusalem in 636ad, doesn’t mean it belongs to the arabs. Jews have always lives there, arabs have not. 11 Thousand signatures to boycott Eurovision does not represent 4.5 million Irish people, and certainly not me.

Mute Nathan Mawhinney
    Feb 19th 2019, 3:30 PM

I love Israel, Ireland is openly hostile to a democratic, modern people. Hopefully Israel win it again!

Mute anthony o cathain
    Favourite anthony o cathain
    Feb 19th 2019, 1:49 PM

WITHOUT PREJUDICE: CANCEL CANCEL CANCEL.

Mute Carlin Ite
    Favourite Carlin Ite
    Feb 19th 2019, 1:16 PM

RTÉ can’t even bring themselves to say illegally occupied. as if they would now take a moral stances on the subject.

Mute CouncilWatch
    Favourite CouncilWatch
    Feb 19th 2019, 1:20 PM

@Carlin Ite:

Your mind is the only thing illegally occupied

Mute thejamer
    Favourite thejamer
    Feb 19th 2019, 1:21 PM

Don’t care where it’s held it’s a complete waste of the licence fee.

Mute Nuala Corkery
    Favourite Nuala Corkery
    Feb 19th 2019, 2:03 PM

On a personal level, I will be boycotting eurovision, not because I’m anti semitic but because of appalling abuse of Palestinian people, their land and civil rights.

Mute CouncilWatch
    Favourite CouncilWatch
    Feb 19th 2019, 2:45 PM

@Nuala Corkery:

Why don’t you do a Virtual Tour of the palestinian museum online free Nuala?

We were the ‘Palestinians’

Never the arabs

Mute NoneOfYourBusiness
    Favourite NoneOfYourBusiness
    Feb 19th 2019, 1:10 PM

I don’t watch it, but if I would query anything, it would be, why is Isreal (and others) in the Eurovision, but not in Europe?
    Yes I know technically why, but it’s just weird, but so is the Eurovision, so who cares, sing your hearts out wherever you want.

Mute J.P. Ness
    Favourite J.P. Ness
    Feb 19th 2019, 4:27 PM

I have a dilemma. I am a rabid anti-Semite as the Joos own all the banks and caused Communism too. But I can’t support the Palestinians because of all the lefties who support them.

I say bring bac

Mute Hugo Lopes
    Favourite Hugo Lopes

Eurovision. A music show for people that don’t really like music.

Mute Hugo Lopes
    Favourite Hugo Lopes
    Feb 19th 2019, 3:37 PM

Meh…

Mute J.P. Ness
    Favourite J.P. Ness
    Feb 19th 2019, 3:39 PM

I have a dilemma. I am a rabid anti-Semite but the amount of lefties who support Palestinians puts me off their cause too.

Give it back to the Cannanites and kick all both Joos and Pals out

Mute Hugo Lopes
    Favourite Hugo Lopes

Mute Louis O'meara
    Favourite Louis O'meara
    Feb 20th 2019, 8:37 PM

I am not saying whether we should or should not participate . Just on whether or not Israel is in Europe or not. May I just point out they are certainly closer to Europe than Australia

Mute shmuel ben jakob
    Favourite shmuel ben jakob
    Feb 19th 2019, 8:44 AM

Again, Ireland’s unhealthy obsession with Israel. Watch Eurovision or don’t watch it..who cares what you do