You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Chaos at Barcelona airport as thousands protest over sentencing of Catalan leaders

Demonstrators flooded the streets of Barcelona before marching towards El Prat airport in Barcelona.

spain-catalonia Riot policemen clash with protestors outside El Prat airport in Barcelona, Spain Emilio Morenatti Emilio Morenatti

THOUSANDS OF ANGRY protesters have turned out on the streets of Barcelona after Spain’s Supreme Court sentenced nine Catalan separatist leaders to heavy jail terms over the failed 2017 independence bid.

As the news broke, demonstrators flooded the streets of Barcelona before marching towards El Prat, Spain’s second busiest airport, where they briefly choked-off road and rail access, an AFP correspondent said. 

At the entrance to the airport, police charged at protesters trying to get inside, while the AENA airport authority said some 20 flights had been cancelled. 

Outside, traffic was at a complete standstill up to five kilometres from the airport, with many travellers with suitcases getting out and walking as a police helicopter flew overhead. 

Since the early hours, police have been braced for what activists pledged would be a mass response of civil disobedience.

“I feel very affected by the sentence even though I expected it. I feel fury and a sense of powerlessness,” said Joan Guich, a 19-year-old maths student who was protesting on Gran Via. 

“They have been convicted for an ideology which I agree with.”

spain-catalonia Protesters blocking El Prat airport Bernat Armangue Bernat Armangue

spain-catalonia Protesters and police officers during a demonstration at El Prat airport AP / PA Images AP / PA Images / PA Images

‘An outrage’

The 12 defendants were put on trial in February for their role in the banned 1 October 2017 referendum and the short-lived independence declaration that followed it. 

The harshest sentence of 13 years was handed to former Catalan vice president Oriol Junqueras who served as the main defendant in absence of Carles Puigdemont, the region’s leader who fled Spain to avoid prosecution.

In a tweet from Brussels, Puigdemont denounced the sentences as an “outrage”.

“100 years in all. An outrage. Now more than ever, by your side and those of your families. It is time to react as never before,” he wrote. 

And in a letter released today, Junqueras said the story was far from over. 

“Nothing ends today, you neither win nor convince,” he wrote in remarks directed at Spain’s central government. 

“We will come back even stronger… and win.”

spain-catalonia Protestors crowd a street in Barcelona, Spain Emilio Morenatti Emilio Morenatti

Spain’s government has expressed hope the trial’s end would allow it to move on from the crisis in the wealthy northeastern region, where support for independence has gained momentum over the past decade. 

“Following the Supreme Court decision we need to turn the page… through dialogue,” Prime Minister Pedro Sanchez said, speaking in English.  

But shortly afterwards, a judge issued a new international arrest warrant for Puigdemont, a clear indication Spain would not rest until he and five others who fled abroad had been tried for their role in the crisis. 

‘These are good people’

The separatist movement is hoping the guilty verdicts will unite their divided ranks and bring supporters onto the streets.

“It is time to rise up against the authoritarian fascism of the Spanish state and its accomplices,” tweeted the radical CDR as thousands heeded the call to protest.

Many said they’d taken the day off to protest a sentence they knew would be harsh. 

“I’m not surprised but I still feel really outraged. These are good, peaceful, honest people,” said Carles Navarro, a 49-year-old IT consultant. 

“We have always looked for a peaceful way (to express our demands) but nobody listens. Now we’re forced to resort to civil disobedience.”

independence-protest-against-court-sentences-in-barcelona-spain-14-oct-2019 An independence flag seen in the middle of hundreds of protesters during the demonstration SIPA USA / PA Images SIPA USA / PA Images / PA Images

Huge crowds also blocked Gran Via and halted rail traffic this evening while hundreds of people stormed the rail tracks, halting four suburban lines. 

The Catalan National Assembly (ANC) and Omnium Cultural, the region’s two biggest grassroots pro-independence groups behind some of the biggest separatist protests in recent years, have also called an evening rally. 

Barcelona Football Club also weighed in, tweeting: “Prison is not the solution. The resolution of the conflict in Catalonia must come exclusively from political dialogue.”

Junqueras’ leftwing ERC party, which advocates dialogue with Spain, has said no negotiations would be possible without an “amnesty” for “political prisoners and those in exile”.

In the coming days, demonstrators will march from five towns towards Barcelona where they will congregate on Friday, when a general strike has been called.

© – AFP 2019

View 43 comments
43 Comments
    Mute Johnathan McAuliffe
    Favourite Johnathan McAuliffe
    Jan 1st 2014, 4:40 PM

Well done Colorado. I would rather see people happy and stoned than angry and drunk……

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Jan 1st 2014, 9:02 PM

I like people happy and drunk.

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Jan 1st 2014, 9:52 PM

Of course you do Jack

Mute Joe Valentine
    Favourite Joe Valentine
    Jan 1st 2014, 11:28 PM

Join rehabs for trying to make drugs cool. If you’re all so in favour of it reveal your true identities!

Mute JD
    Favourite JD
    Jan 1st 2014, 11:32 PM

We’re talking marijuana here, not cocaine or heroine.

Mute Joe Valentine
    Favourite Joe Valentine
    Jan 2nd 2014, 12:13 AM

Don’t be afraid! Reveal yourself! But no you won’t because you’re just poo talking pot heads.

Mute Ciaran Purdy
    Favourite Ciaran Purdy
    Jan 2nd 2014, 12:28 AM

It’s not armed robbery ye fool it’s smoking a reef…

Mute SSDP Ireland
    Favourite SSDP Ireland
    Jan 2nd 2014, 12:48 AM

Regulating all cannabis industries is a fantastic move for Irelands economy.

http://www.teagasc.ie/publications/2010/862/862_hemp.pdf

Mute James Moran
    Favourite James Moran
    Jan 2nd 2014, 1:24 AM

What are you on Joe?, oh I forgot its closing time, time for pisshead logic!.

Mute Michelle Dunne
    Favourite Michelle Dunne
    Jan 2nd 2014, 1:40 AM

Joe I’m in favour of it. If you’ve done your research you’d see there are an astounding amount of reasons why it should be legalised. The only reason that props up for the downside is people who liken cannabis to heroin or coke.

Mute Conor Conneally
    Favourite Conor Conneally
    Jan 1st 2014, 4:34 PM

We should legalize, regulate and tax it in Ireland using the same model they’re using in Colorado

Mute Tom the Bomb
    Favourite Tom the Bomb
    Jan 1st 2014, 4:50 PM

Definitely. We should definitely not wait to see if it’s effective, rather let’s just have a knee jerk reaction. It’s the only way. Sure what could go wrong?

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Jan 1st 2014, 4:57 PM

Not going to happen for a good while yet. Still too backward in this country.

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Bruno Bellone
    Favourite Bruno Bellone
    Jan 1st 2014, 4:57 PM

It’s bad enough that we have a nation full of pi$$heads without them going around stoned out of their heads as well.

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Jan 1st 2014, 5:00 PM

Disagree Conor. I don’t trust Irish people to be responsible with it. They’ve shown they have little self control with intoxicating substances and this would be no different.
    Until we’ve solved our existing problems with substances, I would be extremely hesitant.
    What works in Colorado won’t necessarily work here.

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Jan 1st 2014, 5:01 PM

Tom, decriminalisation has already worked in several places. And before they made it illegal, people in the US were able to pay their taxes in pot..
    It’s a much more unnatural and problematic situation to have it classed as an illegal drug.
    Just watch as there are scrambles by vested interests to try and create problems where there are none with these initiatives, after all – it is ENTIRELY because of corporate vested interests that it was made illegal in the first place.

Mute Orla Matthews
    Favourite Orla Matthews
    Jan 1st 2014, 5:03 PM

But they do anyway Bruno, except it’s bought on the black market! We might as well make it legal and tax it, just like alcohol and cigs!!

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Jan 1st 2014, 5:12 PM

It can’t get more common and if it cuts down on our major problem with Alcohol then it will be a blessing.

Mute Bruno Bellone
    Favourite Bruno Bellone
    Jan 1st 2014, 5:21 PM

If alcohol has though us anything it is that people Irish people cannot control themselves when it comes to their use of recreational drugs. Legalise Cannabis and half the country will be walking around in a zombie like state within a month.

Mute Alan Lars
    Favourite Alan Lars
    Jan 1st 2014, 5:33 PM

Not really a fair argument Liam, you dont personally know everybody in ireland so you cant make a blanket statement like that. Secondly, it not really a trust issue, its about health, pot is non toxic and just plain safer than alcohol. There are thousands of pot smokers in ireland and i still have yet to see pot smokers cause violence/vandalism trouble outside pubs and clubs and clog up A&E’s around the country at weekends like drinkers do…..

Mute Alan Lars
    Favourite Alan Lars
    Jan 1st 2014, 5:43 PM

Thats makes no sense???? Are you saying that half the population will suddenly give up work/ college/ family and become full time pot smokers???? Alcohol is a legal rec. drug and most people still act responsibly and balance it….

I havent seen any zombies in Amsterdam, colorado, or washington st….. have you?

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Jan 1st 2014, 6:28 PM

Those who would buy pot for recreational uses are already doing so. They’re just buying an untaxed and unregulated product.
    This is unfortunately funding people that we all – tokers and anti drug campaigners alike – would prefer to see without this source of income.

Mute Seth Cheffetz
    Favourite Seth Cheffetz
    Jan 1st 2014, 8:46 PM

Cause Amsterdam hasn’t been around long enough?

Mute xyz
    Favourite xyz
    Jan 1st 2014, 9:20 PM

Typical :) You can’t control yrself so I’m not allowed. B%#ch please!

Mute xyz
    Favourite xyz
    Jan 1st 2014, 9:21 PM

^response to Liam post

Mute Alan Lars
    Favourite Alan Lars
    Jan 1st 2014, 9:36 PM

na

Mute Kieran Flub Fanning
    Favourite Kieran Flub Fanning
    Jan 1st 2014, 11:21 PM

Well it’s worked pretty well in Amsterdam up until now

Mute Jay Hedge
    Favourite Jay Hedge
    Jan 2nd 2014, 1:10 AM

@ Kieran Flub Fanning. You do know that things have changed in Holland, don’t you?

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Jan 2nd 2014, 1:38 AM

Have they? Everyone I know who’s been there recently and (judging by the photos on Facebook) are there at the moment are having no trouble getting served in the coffee shops..

Mute Seth Cheffetz
    Favourite Seth Cheffetz
    Jan 2nd 2014, 9:41 AM

Yes, for tourists. Business same as usual for residents. Oddly enough there has been no negative effect on society there. No increased drug problems, no increased crime… Imagine that!

Mute Eelco van Rossen
    Favourite Eelco van Rossen
    Jan 2nd 2014, 10:44 PM

And pretty much reverted back to the way it was before… Business as usual…

Mute Eileen Roche
    Favourite Eileen Roche
    Jan 1st 2014, 4:42 PM

Would also ease pain for many, instead of popping 10 meds a day of god knows what from big Pharma.

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Jan 1st 2014, 5:41 PM

Aunty s , would be swinging her hips if it happened here. Reduced crime income

Mute Stabber mac nugget
    Favourite Stabber mac nugget
    Jan 1st 2014, 6:42 PM

Once they pop a few dope pills they’ll be snuffing heroin up there nose every day
    Slippery slope

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Jan 1st 2014, 7:50 PM

Lol – it’s a pity that is essentially the extent of drug education in this country.. Poorly informed and based entirely upon assumption rather than evidence..

Mute jason bourne
    Favourite jason bourne
    Jan 1st 2014, 4:32 PM

Don’t see a problem with it

Mute Jesco White
    Favourite Jesco White

It’s a dirty drug that sucks users of any ambition or drive. I have a cousin who does nothing but sit around and get stoned all day watching crap on his computer.

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Jan 1st 2014, 5:13 PM

Statistically the majority of users are in high level employment or 3rd level education.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Anthony Carroll
    Favourite Anthony Carroll
    Jan 1st 2014, 5:15 PM

You’re cousin is gonna be doing nothing with his life regardless if he’s stoned or drunk

Mute Bruno Bellone
    Favourite Bruno Bellone
    Jan 1st 2014, 5:19 PM

Dead right, some on here seem to think that the legalisation of cannabis is going to solve all the nations problems…
    Well it’s not, unless your a brain dead stoner whose ambition in life is to live in cloud cuckoo land.

Mute Jesco White
    Favourite Jesco White
    Jan 1st 2014, 6:07 PM

Darth care to actually cite these statistics?!

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Jan 1st 2014, 6:24 PM

Legalising pot has far more benefits than just recreational..
    It’s a medicinal product, it’s nutritional, it grows fast and the plant can be used to manufacture pretty much anything except metal and glass.
    You can make fabrics (see Mings lovely suit?), building materials (save on trees that take longer to grow – thus saving forests), biofuels, biodegradable plastics (how much benefit to our environment would that yield?), paper (again – think of the environmental impact) – are you getting the picture yet?

But by all means, keep preaching your reefer madness based ignorance..

Mute Jesco White
    Favourite Jesco White
    Jan 1st 2014, 6:49 PM

Ye Darth, didn’t think so.

Mute Jesco White
    Favourite Jesco White
    Jan 1st 2014, 6:51 PM

@Shanti you make all that stuff with hemp not with cannabis.

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Jan 1st 2014, 7:36 PM

And what, pray tell Jesco – *is* hemp?

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Jan 1st 2014, 7:41 PM

Jesco a simple goigle search will provide all you need.

And are you aware that cannabis and henp are one and the same plant?

Mute Mark Bannon
    Favourite Mark Bannon
    Jan 1st 2014, 9:52 PM

Jesco, is it possible that if cannabis is legalized, regulated and taxed that your cousin would get up off his arse, get a job to pay for it? Because in this country, I’d say it’d be expensive so the only people who will be able to pay for it, are the workers.

Mute Jesco White
    Favourite Jesco White
    Jan 1st 2014, 10:18 PM

My point is that you can manufacture products using hemp without legalising cannabis to get the country whacked out of their minds.

Mute Joe Wallace
    Favourite Joe Wallace
    Jan 1st 2014, 11:26 PM

I think you have to look at the bigger picture, yes for a long time it may not prove to be a good thing and you will have the regular users abusing it even more but the problem is not actually with the drug itself but more so to do with the drug culture i.e. young people buying it from older dealers and not knowing where it was grown, how strong it is etc… If it is regulated and categorized into different strengths (like alcohol) then awareness will hopefully prove to be a positive force.

Personally I don’t consume it any more as in my youth I did over do it and developed cannabis psychosis which was not a nice experience at all. Doctors told me that it was because I have a naturally high level of dopamine production and as cannabis encourages dopamine production that I actually overdosed my brain which started causing bad hallucinations and made me more aware of my elevated heart levels which then led to panic attacks… I must stress however that I was smoking heavily on a daily basis.

On the other side of that, infrequent use does make the mind highly creative and some of the greatest, songs, books, movies, inventions were dreamt up by people who used cannabis. Steve Jobs from Apple in his younger days was a frequent user of pot and I’m sure with a bit of research you could find many other iconic figures that owe a fraction of their achievements to the use of pot or some other so called dirty drug.

And I think it is very biassed Jesco White to base your conclusion of the negatives/benefits of a naturally growing plant on the antics of your cousin.

Mute Jay Hedge
    Favourite Jay Hedge
    Jan 2nd 2014, 1:15 AM

@ Shanti …You should be embarrassed after that, the last sentence really displays the cringe worthy irony… tool!

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Jan 2nd 2014, 1:36 AM

Congratulations, rather than refute you skipped straight to the personal attacks. Well done, you win the Internet :)

Mute Johnathan McAuliffe
    Favourite Johnathan McAuliffe
    Jan 1st 2014, 4:44 PM

It is amazing how alcohol is so accepted when it kills hundreds of thousands all over the world every year…..ZERO marajuana deaths every year…….laughable to be honest.

Mute glen curtis
    Favourite glen curtis
    Jan 1st 2014, 5:01 PM

Zero deaths from marajuana every year? It’s a while since I last heard of the reps from Heineken & guinness taking each other in turf warfare

Mute art vandelay
    Favourite art vandelay
    Jan 1st 2014, 5:09 PM

And yet we have out “leaders” “debating” this issue and ending up with “i smoked a joint once and got an awful whitie and spent two hours on the big white telephone to god therefore I feel that this evil weed is blah blah blah gateway blah blah meth blah blah blah injecting into your groin on the Lisa blah blah blah blah smelly hippies blah blah robbing your grannys false teeth for a joint zzzzzzzzzzzzzz” lets go to the bar…

Mute Mark McNamara
    Favourite Mark McNamara
    Jan 2nd 2014, 1:06 AM

Would that not be negated by legalising it?

Mute Mark McNamara
    Favourite Mark McNamara
    Jan 2nd 2014, 1:06 AM

My comment was directed at Glen btw

Mute Shauna Mooney
    Favourite Shauna Mooney
    Jan 1st 2014, 4:43 PM

A new holiday spot ! Sweet!!!!

Mute Cannabis Freedom
    Favourite Cannabis Freedom
    Jan 2nd 2014, 1:59 AM

Too right, Cannabis Cup 2014 here I come :)

Mute Gary Maxwell
    Favourite Gary Maxwell
    Jan 1st 2014, 4:34 PM

Are ya listening Edna?

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Jan 1st 2014, 4:58 PM

He only listens to Angela.

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Jan 1st 2014, 5:13 PM

I listened.

Your voice sounds like mine and it was in my head.

Weird.

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Jan 1st 2014, 11:27 PM

It’s weird that, because there are many places in Germany where you can purchase cannabis just like in the Netherlands.. They tend to be the parts closer to the Netherlands – but there are coffee shops in Germany..

Mute art vandelay
    Favourite art vandelay

Any educated person knows this is the way forward. Weed has so much positives but propaganda and ignorance makes it out to to be the bogey man. Sick of “all these drugs are bad”shite..all the legal and taxed drugs are just fantastic for you arent they? You are free to do as we tell you.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jan 1st 2014, 5:00 PM

Seems like a very good idea once its strictly controlled and kept well away from the minors.The dirty drink is a lot more destructive than the old herbs.

Mute David Keating
    Favourite David Keating
    Jan 1st 2014, 4:35 PM

lucky bastarrds !

Mute Mark McNamara
    Favourite Mark McNamara
    Jan 1st 2014, 4:42 PM

The dependency they’re referring to is just exacerbated by the fact that every time a minor is caught with weed in most states the judge overs them the choice of treatment or jail. In other words total BS

Mute John Johnson
    Favourite John Johnson
    Jan 1st 2014, 4:48 PM

Whats this? Common sense coming from ‘Muricia? I never thought I’d see the day.

Fair play to them.

Mute Seán O'Sullivan
    Favourite Seán O'Sullivan
    Jan 1st 2014, 5:38 PM

Smart decision there, sense to be had in Colorado.

Mute Kieran Conway
    Favourite Kieran Conway
    Jan 1st 2014, 5:24 PM

weed the writing on the wall
    reduce the use of alcohol…

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Jan 1st 2014, 6:03 PM

Rocky mountain HIGH,

Mute Dualtagh Mclaughlin
    Favourite Dualtagh Mclaughlin
    Jan 1st 2014, 4:51 PM

These comments just go to show what a nation of pot heads we are

Mute John Johnson
    Favourite John Johnson
    Jan 1st 2014, 4:56 PM

You sound like a lad who needs a joint,

Mute Just Chief Now
    Favourite Just Chief Now

Hey hey hey! What are you trying to zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Starvin

Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Jan 1st 2014, 5:14 PM

Well that would be a good thing would it not? Our body’s are set up to receive cannabinoids, hence the fact there are specific receptors in the nervous system for it..
    It’s a far more unnatural state to be without the stuff..

Mute Bruno Bellone
    Favourite Bruno Bellone
    Jan 1st 2014, 5:38 PM

Yeah, you just keep on smoking’ there, Shanti. Amazing the mad sort of stuff you’ll believe / make up.

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Jan 1st 2014, 6:02 PM

Bruno Shanti is correct and you sir need to educate yourself before commenting the usual bullshit rhetoric.

Do you know cannabis can cure certain cancers – I doubt it. But then, why would you, you ignorant mouth piece.

But when you do figure it out, maybe you will then see why it is kept illegal for the vast majority of us. God forbid someone you love will need cannabis one day to help their condition, whatever it is.

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Jan 1st 2014, 6:15 PM

What part of my statement do you take issue with Bruno?
    Do you not realise that there are sites in your brain which are activated and deactivated by cannabinoids (such as those found in cannabis)??
    http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cannabinoid_receptor

Forgive the wiki – purely intended as a starting point for you to do some research and educate yourself out of the abject ignorance you are displaying here.

Mute James Moran
    Favourite James Moran
    Jan 1st 2014, 6:22 PM

Yeah Bruno, just keep believing the horseshit that the mainstream media have been shovelling for years, whereas shanti is stating scientific fact, our bodies are designed to receive cannabinoids and flax seeds , as a preventative for cancer, bowel disorders and many other disorders, nothing comes close, its a shame that so many people still have their heads up their asses where facts are concerned!.

Mute Alan Lars
    Favourite Alan Lars
    Jan 1st 2014, 9:42 PM

Its amazing how ignorant and uneducated people . . .go back to looking at page 3 of the Sun and drinking your cans if you cant keep up on the comments section

Mute Louise Lavin
    Favourite Louise Lavin
    Jan 1st 2014, 11:55 PM

If ur stoned u might let slip who u really are!?

Mute Louise Lavin
    Favourite Louise Lavin
    Jan 1st 2014, 11:56 PM

^ @ Just Chief Now

Mute Michelle Dunne
    Favourite Michelle Dunne
    Jan 2nd 2014, 1:55 AM

Cannabis oil. The ignorant on this subject need to read up on it. Aside from all the hemp products the medicinal side alone should speak volumes of how important this plant is. I am an avid supporter of it, I know it works because I use it. Pharma companies would be a thing of the past. No more taking poison to combat the poison the doctors prescribe.

Mute Stephen O'Callaghan
    Favourite Stephen O'Callaghan

excellent common sense coming from america at last. maybe now they build better cars and I wont have to drive german anymore

Mute Conor Feeney
    Favourite Conor Feeney
    Jan 1st 2014, 7:02 PM

Free the weed

Mute John Breslin
    Favourite John Breslin
    Jan 1st 2014, 10:07 PM

Shanti seems to be one of the many who understands the actual good this God given plant can provide and we have countless governments and C.E.O’s of big pharma co’s who would rather keep us in the dark.Reason being they cannot patent it,therefore no profits to be had.So what do they do..Ban it,make it illegal.IT IS A PLANT GIVEN TO US BY NATURE.If they could they would try to stop the rain falling

Mute Tiny Ó Faoláin
    Favourite Tiny Ó Faoláin
    Jan 1st 2014, 9:19 PM

Hard to believe it’s happening in such a right wing country! im damn jealous too! Logic in action is a great thing.

Mute damien kierans
    Favourite damien kierans
    Jan 1st 2014, 5:18 PM

Great way to get the stoners to pay taxes. I wonder can we do the same with jerking off?

Mute joe power
    Favourite joe power
    Jan 1st 2014, 4:36 PM

There goes the neighbourhood

Mute Peter McKevitt
    Favourite Peter McKevitt
    Jan 1st 2014, 11:47 PM

Now on my must see holiday list!

Mute Cannabis Freedom
    Jan 2nd 2014, 1:46 AM

Well done Colorado! The first domino has fallen, the rest of the world are watching closely and when they see that the sky doesn’t fall and there’s so many benefits to be acheived by ending cannabis prohibition, they’ll follow suit.

Mute SSDP Ireland
    Favourite SSDP Ireland
    Jan 1st 2014, 10:59 PM

Join Students for Sensible Drug Policy if you want to help change these archaic laws.
    http://www.facebook.com/SSDPIreland

Mute Paul Sheehan
    Favourite Paul Sheehan
    Jan 1st 2014, 4:35 PM

Thought they weren’t due to open until April 20th.

Mute Michael Farrelly
    Favourite Michael Farrelly
    Jan 2nd 2014, 1:32 AM

I wish Irish politicians in the main parties would look into the many benefits of doing this. Instead, al we have got is the very uneducated comments from all the mainstream parties to Ming Flanagan’s bill.

If Ireland had a referendum on following Colorado’s model I think many people would be surprised at the % in favour. Let’s do it !!

Mute Fong Wannapho
    Favourite Fong Wannapho
    Jan 1st 2014, 4:56 PM

Ireland loves soap bars.

Mute Patrick Keane
    Favourite Patrick Keane
    Jan 1st 2014, 5:33 PM

Would like to see a review on this in 6 months!

Mute Cannabis Freedom
    Jan 2nd 2014, 1:57 AM

So am I, an employment boost, increased tax revenues, a drop in the level of violent crime & domestic abuse and so many other benefits to be acheived.

Mute gspot
    Favourite gspot
    Jan 1st 2014, 5:47 PM

The only way forward is clubs for swingers ,with special offers for newly weds

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Jan 2nd 2014, 2:24 AM

This is good.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Jan 1st 2014, 9:11 PM

There’s too much propaganda out there about how this is a great drug. It’s not that great ya know. It has been known to have some serious side effects.

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Jan 1st 2014, 9:18 PM

Could you please list some that are conclusively linked to cannabis and cannabis alone?

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Jan 1st 2014, 9:38 PM

Google Side Effects of Cannabis. I’m not your teacher or doctor.

But… between 20% and 30% of users experience anxiety attacks after smoking cannabis. That’s huge.
    Some heavy users start experiencing anxiety attacks after they stop taking cannabis for a while, which might suggest some sort of long term chemical changes to the brain.

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Jan 1st 2014, 9:47 PM

Jack I get anxious if there’s no bacon in the morning. I’m pretty sure the delicious bacon has had some long term effect on brain making me constantly enjoy bacon.

Nice to know you are campaigning against legal bacon.

Mute Red4fred
    Favourite Red4fred
    Jan 1st 2014, 9:57 PM

Smoking cannabis can cause an overproduction of insulin, causing a temporary hypoglycaemic reaction as the blood sugar levels drop. This contributes to the ‘whitey’ experience. A feeling of disorientation and uncertainty. Also provoking hunger as the body looks to replenish sugar levels – The Munchies’. It is not dangerous, but can be unpleasant. A handful of jelly beans or a few slugs of lucozade will help.

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Jan 1st 2014, 10:02 PM

Just came back from the shops with skips, perri spicy rings and terry’s chocolate orange minis. That’ll satisfy me.

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Jan 1st 2014, 10:11 PM

I had an anxiety attack about 10 years ago. I couldn’t breath properly and my heart was beating really really fast and I thought I was going to die. I collapsed on the floor. It lasted for about 3 or 4 minutes then it took me hours to fully recover. I felt exhausted after it. I hadn’t taken cannabis or anything. Hasn’t happened since thank god. I’ve heard of people regularly getting them. That would be a living nightmare.
    Taking cannabis is like playing Russian Roulette with your mental health. Personally I wouldn’t want to risk getting another anxiety attack. I got one without cannabis.
    Of course everyone gets little mini mini anxiety attacks all the time like “Oh dam I left the immersion on. Ahh”

Mute Shanti
    Favourite Shanti
    Jan 1st 2014, 11:23 PM

I get anxiety attacks from caffeine, as do many people I have learned.. Caffeine is in many freely available products such as coca cola, tea, solpadeine, coffee – and in high doses can be lethal – but it’s legal..

You can have anxiety attacks if you’re running low on vitamin B as well.

With regards mental health – did the evidence not show that in persons predisposed to mental illness cannabis *could* act as a trigger? Because this is not the same as “playing Russian roulette with your mental health”.

We have, on the other hand, a far more toxic and dangerous product, legal, regulated and on sale to adults who are made very aware of the consequences.
    They can purchase alcohol by % of volume, they know that the drinks they buy come from manufacturers who have quality control.

When it comes to cannabis (and for the record – most other illegal recreational drugs) the majority of harms come from the fact that they are buying from the black market. No quality controls leads to contaminations, people being unaware of what exactly they are getting – or how strong it may be. When you hear of deaths it’s usually with the caveat of there being a “dodgy batch” going around.

Prohibition doesn’t work, regulation is the only sensible way to go. For the sake of public safety, and taking the revenue away from criminal gangs, not to mention free the Gardaí to do what they’re actually paid to do – protect people from crime (as opposed to protecting them from themselves).

Mute Larry Sneeg
    Favourite Larry Sneeg
    Jan 1st 2014, 11:25 PM

How would you know Jack ? If you have not took canabis and had a severe anxiety attack ?
    Maybe you should try cannabis for your condition.

Mute Davin Lynch
    Favourite Davin Lynch
    Jan 2nd 2014, 2:10 AM

@fred whitey’s! Brilliant,just make sure you’re sitting down.

Mute Alan Lars
    Favourite Alan Lars
    Jan 2nd 2014, 2:12 AM

Your dead right Jack…. you most certainly are not a doctor or teacher! Simply telling people to google side effects is a poor argument. Alcohol causes brain, liver, kidney and nerve damage, regularly induces vomiting and occasionally death and is still socially acceptable so you gotta do better than a little anxiety

Mute Kieran Casey
    Favourite Kieran Casey
    Jan 2nd 2014, 10:45 AM

Their building houses out of hemp in Scotland called hempcrete its a carbon neutral house that plant has some amazing properties.

Mute Ian Stephenson
    Favourite Ian Stephenson
    Jan 2nd 2014, 5:26 AM

Ha ….. Love the picture of the 3 guys in the suits …. Still couldn’t look more like stoners !!

Mute Senan Hogan O' Brien
    Favourite Senan Hogan O' Brien
    Jan 2nd 2014, 3:26 AM

I wonder how ‘high’ the prices are.