You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

The iPlayer is currently only available to users inside the UK BBC

BBC launches a global version of the iPlayer

An iPad app will allow people to view recent and archived BBC content. The iPlayer will be piloted in western Europe before going global.

IPAD OWNERS IN western Europe will be the first to avail of the global roll out of the BBC’s iPlayer.

A mix of recent and archived content will be available to those who download an app and pay a monthly subscription fee which has yet to be decided, but is expected to be less than €7 a month.

The global iPlayer will be different from the version currently available on the BBC website, which is only available to viewers in the UK and offers a “catch-up” service, reports The Guardian. It will allow access to older shows like Fawlty Towers as well as more current episodes of the likes of Doctor Who and Top Gear.

Music programmes, documentaries and comedies will all be available. It’s expected that the iPlayer will slowly be made available globally, with the roll out in western Europe viewed as a pilot project.

Read more: BBC iPlayer global launch to begin in western Europe>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

13 Comments
    Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:16 AM

Regardless of the outcome I applaud those that got out and voted.
    Well done and respect.

Mute Angela Kelly
    Favourite Angela Kelly
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:31 AM

If a ‘no’ vote is passed, they will run it again citing that people were confused by the ballot papers…they are more or less hinting towards that already. If a ‘yes’ vote is passed, well of course that’s grand for them, Europe will be happy

Mute Duncan
    Favourite Duncan
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:37 AM

I think more people read this article than those who voted yesterday !!

See 35 more replies ▾
    Mute Nigel O Keeffe
    Favourite Nigel O Keeffe
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:43 AM

spot on angela
    seem to be a lot of talk about confusion..laying the ground for a rerun?

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:52 AM

No they won’t Angela. Perhaps most TDs privately want this political cash cow to continue. Wouldn’t you in their position.

Mute Angela Kelly
    Favourite Angela Kelly
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:07 AM

On the up side, I suppose if they are already laying the groundwork for a second outing that means they know it’s going to be a NO vote…great!

Mute Theresa Carter
    Favourite Theresa Carter
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:10 AM

I’m in Laois- didn’t see confusion. Perhaps they’re preparing Charlie for their “mistake” in voting no. A “no” would be good – hopefully “thinking” and “outside the box” is taking off.

Mute conor hickey
    Favourite conor hickey
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:16 AM

Should be Saturday voting. This needs to be fixed.

Mute Sheila
    Favourite Sheila
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:20 AM

Angela, you are undoubtedly right. But they seriously need to look at ballot papers for referenda, which have caused confusion before now. The basic message – that the government always wants a ‘Yes’ answer – does not seem to get through, with all the legalese used. I heard of one woman who voted No, to say she wanted No Seanad! Also, if they “need” to rerun, they will need to give people something they want to vote Yes for, not a meaningless barrage of save 20m (a pittance, in the overall scheme), and fewer politicians (that would be good, if the ones left were also good), etc. It is unlikely to be rerun by this government, if they lose, so it depends on who wins the next Gen Election.

Mute Soneps
    Favourite Soneps
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:21 AM

It’s going to be a no vote to the Seanad abolition. One thing is for certain – there will be no reform – no government is going to touch this issue again even with a barge pole.

Mute Colin McGarrigle
    Favourite Colin McGarrigle
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:23 AM

Someone should sit down with Charlie and bring him through it slowly

Mute Sheila
    Favourite Sheila
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:25 AM

There has been saturday voting, that makes no major difference to overall situation. It’s that people do not feel as involved in the outcome of Referenda and don’t make the effort. Most referenda have low turnouts.

Mute Dublinjonny
    Favourite Dublinjonny
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:39 AM

Angela if we carry a NO vote and they try re run it ….. we will see the seanad and the presidental office step in … Enda wont have the balls to try it

Mute Soneps
    Favourite Soneps
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:42 AM

There will be no re run. There has been complaints about there being too many politicians which cost too much. It is interesting to see that the people have endorsed that system.

Mute gumbridge
    Favourite gumbridge
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:42 AM

No would be one in the jap’s eye for that bell-end Kenny.

Mute michelle cawley
    Favourite michelle cawley
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:46 AM

Exactly what I was thinking Angela.

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:55 AM

Angela, you’re the one yesterday, saying ‘why bother’ – ‘puppet Germany government’ – ‘you’re vote doesn’t count’ – ‘pointless’.

The ballot papers were confusing, multiple people were asked ‘which was which’, the ballot paper should have been simpler:
    Keep Seanad – Tick here
    No Seanad – – Tick here

If it did have to be done again, I hope that the organizers at least have the decency to add a few options:
    Keep Seanad
    Keep Seanad and reform
    Keep Dail
    Keep Dial and reform
    Online voting with PPS No.

Mute Sheila
    Favourite Sheila
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:09 AM

People may not have endorsed the system about too many politicians costing too much – they are also saying they want a decent alternative, which they have not been offered (yet). Plus, the Dublin result does not determine the overall result, because Dublin often votes different to the rest of the country. It depends on how close it is outside Dublin.

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:10 AM

Angela u are like a broken record. I get the feeling it will be a No vote and it will be accepted but I guess you will just delete your twitter account and rejoin under a new name so you can start spouting sh1t again

Mute Lauren Masterson
    Favourite Lauren Masterson
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:27 AM

Well if they do let’s hope that all who voted stick to their guns this time and not let government bully them Into a yes vote !! I’m hoping everyone has learned rom the Lisbon treaty referendum.

Mute Fergal McDonagh
    Favourite Fergal McDonagh
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:50 AM

I was just gonna say the same Angela.

Mute richardmccarthy
    Favourite richardmccarthy
    Oct 5th 2013, 12:05 PM

I voted yesterday,instead of whinging on the Journal,but it does require a degree of intelligence and effort to try to come to a decision,not an easy option for everyone but one where the citizens have the power,not the vested interests.

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    Oct 5th 2013, 12:06 PM

If it’s a no vote, and I really hope it is, there is no chance Enda will run it again. Absolutely none. The result will stand.

Mute Aaron t
    Favourite Aaron t
    Oct 5th 2013, 1:17 PM

If the yes vote wins another piece of democracy in Ireland will crumble away. Reform is the solution

Mute Frank Semple
    Favourite Frank Semple
    Oct 5th 2013, 1:37 PM

I am more concerned about about the vast percentage that did not vote. In this referendum it looks like over sixty percent are not bothered to vote. Referendums should have a minimum percentage turnout to be valid. This is a major problem for the State leaders who are unlikley to solve the problem given that they would not take part in a public debate.

Mute Gaius Gracchus
    Favourite Gaius Gracchus
    Oct 5th 2013, 1:40 PM

Angela, I’ve saved this article and yesterday’s in my favourites, this referendum will not be re-run, the cost of doing so a second time will almost outstrip the savings to be made from abolition of the Seanad, enough of the paranoid ramblings, this is not the same as an EU referendum that impacts millions of people for good or bad

Mute Angela Kelly
    Favourite Angela Kelly
    Oct 5th 2013, 1:42 PM

Very harsh Niall, I don’t have twitter.

Mute Angela Kelly
    Favourite Angela Kelly
    Oct 5th 2013, 1:44 PM

@My dear friend Gaius. I hope I am wrong, and I will be delighted if my paranoia is proven to be unjustified.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Oct 5th 2013, 1:54 PM

One thing is for sure, if it’s a no vote Gilmore is going to be in serious trouble after the recent Lab vote meltdown. Humble pie for Enda. All this with a budget a stone’s throw away?

Mute Mike Igoe
    Favourite Mike Igoe
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:01 PM

The government won’t re-run a referendum, except under extreme duress, like, say, being afraid of the EU.

Mute Brian Foley
    Favourite Brian Foley
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:03 PM

Whatever about confusing ballots, I don’t think you can really legislate for the kind of idiot who, as you say “voted No, to say she wanted No Seanad”.

Mute Tom Keating
    Favourite Tom Keating
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:34 PM

Here here!

Mute Michael Fehily
    Favourite Michael Fehily
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:37 PM

Whats the Seanad referendum got to do with Europe Angela..??

Mute Tom Keating
    Favourite Tom Keating
    Oct 5th 2013, 3:05 PM

@Michael This has nothing to do with Europe.

Mute Derrick Boyden
    Favourite Derrick Boyden
    Oct 5th 2013, 3:30 PM

i would not be surprised if this has a lot to do with Europe,if a YES vote is passed then the government can put into law anything they want without the people having a say .We need reform so there is no party whip and senators can vote how they feel and the people feel not the party line as it is now

Mute Brian Meleady
    Favourite Brian Meleady
    Oct 5th 2013, 6:57 PM

People that can’t tell the difference between YES or NO shouldn’t have a vote.

Mute Barry Mc Kiernan
    Favourite Barry Mc Kiernan
    Oct 5th 2013, 8:50 PM

It’s not about endorsing more politicians synops, for me it was about having a government who thought an educated electorate like ours would not be able to understand that they were giving us no choice at all in this referendum. The governments referendum question,”Should the Seanad be abolished?” or not which means reform the Seanad( real meaning) keep it the same way as it is which is not what people want. They obviously want a representative body that will police this or any government with a certain amount of power at least and maybe voted in through the popular vote possibly. Bottom line government gave us no proper question in this referendum and they got the sensed they deserved trying to be too smart

Mute Dermot Lane
    Favourite Dermot Lane
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:33 PM

Angela no they won’t . This govt will never hold a referendum again, they keep losing.

Mute Betty Doran
    Favourite Betty Doran
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:23 AM

I am glad I made the effort to get out and vote. At least now I can comment on the pros and cons.

Mute Angela Kelly
    Favourite Angela Kelly
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:02 PM

A poem by TheJournals resident poet ‘Lauren Masterson’

‘Yes or No’

Yes or no I’m waiting to see
    I sit here and hope a no it will be
    There is debate and confusion there is yes and no
    Everyone has an opinion and is letting it show
    Will a repeat vote be asked if Ireland says no
    Some people think not but Angela thinks so
    It’s hard to tell what our government will do
    Will this be Lisbon treaty number two
    No one knows what will happen, what way it will go
    My friend Angela is hoping for a big fat no
    All we can do for now is sit and wait
    Get and journal.ie and have friendly debate

Mute Angela Kelly
    Favourite Angela Kelly
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:04 PM

Another poem by TheJouranls resident poet ‘Lauren Materson’ dedicated to her muse, ‘LittleJim’

‘Oh little Jim, Oh little Jim’

Oh little Jim little Jim who went out to the club
    He had a few drinks and a little bit if grub
    On the dance floor he bumped into his mate called big Phil
    Who pulled Jim aside and gave him a pill
    Take this he said their bleedin great
    So little Jim knocked it back and thanked his mate
    Later that night Jim went home and felt happy
    But he started to feel lonely and a little bit crappy
    The door bell rang and made little Jim jumpy
    He answered it and there was his friend lumpy
    Lumpy was a giant dragon and was green and blue
    He knocked on Jim’s door so he could use his loo
    They ended up drinking and doing some shots
    And rang around looking for some motts
    But they weren’t successful so lumpy suggested they go for a fly
    So little Jim climbed on lumpy back and they soared Into the sky
    They flew through the clouds and Jim felt so good
    But all of a sudden he was in a field and was covered in mud
    He looked around looking for lumpy and realised he was indeed in the nip
    Thinking about the pill it dawned on him it was all a big trip

See 20 more replies ▾
    Mute Angela Kelly
    Favourite Angela Kelly
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:10 PM

‘Little Jim, Little Jim’ is my favourite of Lauren’s collection, it reminds me of a weekend I spent in Leitrim many moons ago.

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:17 PM

Angela did you vote in the end? Just curious

Mute Angela Kelly
    Favourite Angela Kelly
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:27 PM

I voted No Niall. It would appear that every single vote mattered a great deal. So I was wrong in one sense, but my rants and annoying self righteousness possibly prompted a handful to vote No just to spite me ;)

Mute Lauren Masterson
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:42 PM

Thanks Angela. All though the red thumbs have hurt my feelings.

Mute Angela Kelly
    Favourite Angela Kelly
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:48 PM

Those red thumbs are for me Lauren love, not you. Some people don’t like me here because I am not a sheep (mba mbaaa sheep talk) So do not take the red thumbs as any reflection to your poems :)

Mute Lauren Masterson
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:59 PM

Some people just don’t appreciate a good poem written with raw emotion from the heart .if anything I hope it took their minds off the heaviness of the voting . These poems were requested by fellow readers. Jim asked me to do one on a random dragon. I am still taking requests. I feel inspired now to write one on red thumbing and the effects it may have on the receivers .

Mute Nigel O Keeffe
    Favourite Nigel O Keeffe
    Oct 5th 2013, 3:52 PM

howya lauren
    how about a limerick in honour of Enda
    There was a taoiseach from mayo
    who never thought we would say no
    he refused to debate
    but still thought he was great
    ?????
    all help gratefully accepted to finish it

Mute Limerick Lassie
    Favourite Limerick Lassie
    Oct 5th 2013, 4:12 PM

Now it’s time for that Taoiseach to go…

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Oct 5th 2013, 4:38 PM

Angela,
    You should be listening to Pink Floyd instead of Zeppelin.
    Lauren,
    Inspirational work, but please don’t be offended if I say Seamus Heaneys place in the Pantheon is safe…
    I hope both of you are enjoying this wonderful sunny day.

Mute Cäcilia Duval
    Favourite Cäcilia Duval
    Oct 5th 2013, 4:49 PM

Angela and Lauren have made my day lol Lauren you may not get a noble prize for poetry but you poems are very welcome here, bring them on!!

Mute Lauren Masterson
    Oct 5th 2013, 6:15 PM

Well done lads !! Paul I feel offended . How can I compete with a dead man.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Oct 5th 2013, 6:17 PM

Ummm…
    Try better poetry?

Mute Lauren Masterson
    Oct 5th 2013, 6:18 PM

Thanks cacilia … Ill definitely have more to come. I won’t let these red thumbers chad away my dreams of being the next top poet !! Anyway… Up the no voters !!!

Mute Brian Meleady
    Favourite Brian Meleady
    Oct 5th 2013, 6:30 PM

Did your car break down?

Mute Lauren Masterson
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:19 PM

Paul Roche the cheek off you
    And you hurt my feelings too
    My poetry is pure and from the heart
    Stop being a Nasty little tart
    You have deeply upset me with your comments mr paul
    If you have nothing nice to say don’t say anything at all

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:03 PM

Thank you for that ditty Lauren,
    Reading it was, for sure, not borin’,
    It was not my intent to cause offence,
    Well, only to Enda, who’s a little dense.
    To you, I say sorry for dissing your art,
    Which I now see truly, comes from the heart.

Mute Elaine Kearney
    Favourite Elaine Kearney
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:22 PM

And said farewell like Capt Adebayo!

Mute Michael Fagan
    Favourite Michael Fagan
    Oct 6th 2013, 1:33 AM

Great poem
    Angela, even if i dont agree with your politics

Mute Mo Ludwig
    Favourite Mo Ludwig
    Oct 6th 2013, 2:43 AM

He sure didn’t expect that KO

Mute James Hyland
    Favourite James Hyland
    Oct 6th 2013, 2:13 PM

and so david norris wants the seanad to remain elitist now does he ?????????
    why and for what reason in any reality is that chain of thought ok.
    get real or get a life norris your starting to sound like spoilt brat

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:12 AM

It really felt like the Government didn’t want people turning out to vote , long established polling stations moved and little debate from enda kenny showed how little he thought of the referendum.

Mute Rocky Dennis
    Favourite Rocky Dennis
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:25 AM

How was there any confusion about which ballot paper was which? Just read the feckin things before you mark them.

Mute Barbara Christopher
    Favourite Barbara Christopher
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:53 AM

There was no confusion on which ballot paper was which. The confusion was Yes for what and No for what!

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute Rocky Dennis
    Favourite Rocky Dennis
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:54 AM

Read the paragraph beside “9.15″ in the article.

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:31 AM

Rocky, unless I am mistaken the words”Court of Appeal” were nowhere to been seen on the ballot paper, I presumed that’s what we were voting on……..

Mute Eoin Meehan
    Favourite Eoin Meehan
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:33 AM

I thought it was just Bray … Why did the polling stations move??

Mute Dano Mulvihill
    Favourite Dano Mulvihill
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:50 AM

it was

Mute terayon100
    Favourite terayon100
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:01 AM

@ Green monkey

Green ballot paper, box at top, second line, in brackets, clear enough?

Mute Marc Euclio O'Connell
    Favourite Marc Euclio O'Connell
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:03 AM

Green Monkey, the words “Court of Appeal” were on the ballot paper, were perfectly visible and it was a yes or no question. Anyone who got “confused” is obviously an idiot.

Mute Owen Brady
    Favourite Owen Brady
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:22 AM

Highest NO vote in poorer areas where there are the least Seanad votes exists …speaks volumes

Mute Gordon Hughes
    Favourite Gordon Hughes
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:24 AM

These are the areas SF concentrated there Yes campaign in !!

There own supporters didn’t vote with them .

Tweets from there reps blaming FG already . Laughable

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:25 AM

Poor Richard is gonna carry the can for this eventhough (Bel) Enda refused to debate.

Mute Sean Burke
    Favourite Sean Burke
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:27 AM

Kenny not engaging in debate didn’t show how little he thought of the referendum, the whole idea of scrapping the Seanad was his idea to start with. He debate on this for the same reason he doesn’t engage on any public debate, that is because he is incapable of doing so.

Mute Lauren Masterson
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:33 AM

Green money… Those words were clearly on the paper !!

Mute Rocky Dennis
    Favourite Rocky Dennis
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:40 AM

@Green Monkey, what they said ^^^

Mute seanmccann
    Favourite seanmccann
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:55 AM

Or perhaps they think if Endas for it then I’m against it. Let’s face it everything else he has done screwed them over. Who can blame them.

Mute seanmccann
    Favourite seanmccann
    Oct 5th 2013, 12:05 PM

Perhaps its a case of , if Endas for it then I’m against it. Everything else hes done has only hurt them.

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:02 PM

Paddy Power tweeted that they are paying out on the No vote.

” It was as big as 5/1 yesterday but we think it’s now done & dusted. We’re paying out on a ‘No’ result in the Seanad Referendum”

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:04 PM

Don’t think so Norman. All the focus will go to Enda not debating.

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:18 PM

Balbriggan they moved to other side of the town.

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:28 PM

So much for theat Ipsos MRBI poll during the week. Were our pollsters trying to people and are our pollsters to be believed???

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:30 PM

*trying to influence people

Mute Niall Sullivan
    Favourite Niall Sullivan
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:36 PM

It could be down to turnout Cowenwatch

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:38 PM

Mattie McGrath has just stated what I said above. The Ipsos poll said 62% in favor of abolishment. The results looks very different though.

Mute Brian Meleady
    Favourite Brian Meleady
    Oct 5th 2013, 7:01 PM

Enda is a Mass debater.

Mute Keith Perdue
    Favourite Keith Perdue
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:17 PM

Jesus Gordon learn your their from your there (and don’t blame it on predictive text).

Mute Ciara Marley
    Favourite Ciara Marley

In fairness, all you had to do was read them to find out which was which. Id assume if you went to the bother of going to your polling station you could take a second to read and see which ballot paper was which.

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:05 AM

You don’t even need to do that. Yes to change the constitution, No to leave it alone. Same as last time, and the 25 times before that.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul

Hmmmm Im not sure why voters were confused. You either approve of the abolition of the Seanad or you don’t. Tick yes if you do, no if you don’t. Its pretty clear. A monkey could do it.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton

Couldn’t have been made any more simple.
    A lot of people will use that excuse to cover for their lazyness.
    There were no issues at all.

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Favourite Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:22 AM

It looks like the questions on the ballot papers could be understood with a little effort.

Mute Orls
    Favourite Orls
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:35 AM

I went to vote yesterday morning before going to work only to find they had moved the polling station! So I came home and had to haul my 14 month old baby and walk (as husband had car) to vote. Glad I did though.

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin

Fair play for putting in the effort! Did they tell you about the new polling station of your polling card?

Mute Orls
    Favourite Orls
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:43 AM

No, had the old polling station on the polling card. Apparently it was on the radio but having spoken to a lot of my fellow towns people mostly wasn’t heard. :)

Mute Lisa Shanley
    Favourite Lisa Shanley
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:48 AM

Our polling station was moved, not far, but we received a letter to tell us that the address on cards was wrong and where new polling station was.

Mute Máiréad Ni Chiardubhain
    Favourite Máiréad Ni Chiardubhain
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:21 AM

The ballot papers weren’t confusing if you read them!

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:51 AM

A big if for some people!

Mute Gary O'Connell
    Favourite Gary O'Connell

There is nothing confusing about the two votes. I went online and simply read the Journals and other online newspaper articles and it was clear. There was a poor vote because people are ticked off about bond holders not being burnt and the governments not putting up a fight for its people. The last thing we need is another commission gobbling up tax payers money. I voted because it matters but the general public don’t trust the governments decisions, and if in doubt do nothing comes to mind for many.

Mute Helen Broderick
    Favourite Helen Broderick

Couldn’t agree more Gary.

Mute anthony byrne
    Favourite anthony byrne
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:36 AM

Are they starting this spin again.that people did not understand the ballot paper. so as to have a re run because we did not vote the way they wanted us to. remember the Lisbon referendum. Glad i voted No and had no problem with the ballot papers.

Mute Dublinjonny
    Favourite Dublinjonny
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:34 AM

FG saying people were confussed ….. admission of defeat already ? Expect it to be done a second time already

Mute pat mustard
    Favourite pat mustard

There was no confusion on the ballot papers if you read them, clear as day to me anyways. I think this is FG acknowledging defeat but blaming the wording rather than their dismal efforts in the campaign. Herr Kenny is responsible for this defeat it it turns out to be so, his inability to debate as leader of the country is reprehensible.

The only downside to this result is those weasels in FF will proclaim it as a victory for them.

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:37 AM

Impact on Enda will be the talking point if No comes in.

Mute Alan Redmond
    Favourite Alan Redmond
    Oct 5th 2013, 6:18 PM

A Victory For No Vote = A Strong Claim For Real Reform in the Seanad and the Dail.

A Victory For Yes Vote = Losing Your Right To Having A Referendum Again – Read the “Referral of Bills to the People” at http://referendum2013.ie/the-seanad-other-changes/

Mute Dublinjonny
    Favourite Dublinjonny
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:56 AM

Could be a Yes vote in Mayo … if it was a vote to bring in canibalism those mulla muppets would follow that Enda plank … either that or there just adicted to being on the losing side for everything

Mute Paddy Murphy
    Favourite Paddy Murphy

Its going to be a long day

Mute Mark Nolan
    Favourite Mark Nolan

The words ‘piss-up’ and ‘brewey’ in a well known sentence spring to mind when thinking of this gombeen administration. The arrogance and contempt for both sides of the argument was breath taking.

Mute Nuala Finnegan
    Favourite Nuala Finnegan

That’s true…also the ballot papers were not clear. People were not sure which was which.

Mute Simon O' G
    Favourite Simon O' G
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:28 AM

I found a way to work out which ballot paper was which.
    I read them.

Mute Curry Chips
    Favourite Curry Chips
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:40 AM

Sure it was printed clear as day on both of them, as in the picture above..

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:04 AM

No, you see voters don’t want to read the papers. They want it all spoon-fed to them, judging from the comments around the media this morning.

Mute Angela Kelly
    Favourite Angela Kelly
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:14 AM

Bull***t! The ballot papers were perfectly clear. More government spin and lies to make us vote again…enough is enough!!!!!!

Mute Nivag Yeoh
    Favourite Nivag Yeoh
    Oct 5th 2013, 12:08 PM

I not no wat do.

I not see werds.

No. I see werds.

Not no wat is werds wosz.

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Oct 5th 2013, 7:11 PM

Strange to think that in a polling station within 10 minutes, 14 people asked the question back to the ballot takers: “I want to vote NO the the first and YES to the second, which is which?”, yes they live outside Dublin, but far from stupid.
    Angela, are you really that perfect, that your opinion always correct, that the government will re-do the vote. Did you print / design the ballot papers and have a insight view of how badly they were done?

Mute Conor Mac Manus
    Favourite Conor Mac Manus
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:27 AM

It’s looking like a no vote,
    is the Irish electorate starting to finally wise up to the b.s?

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:39 AM

by voting to keep the other arm of the same b.s?

Mute Robbie Loughlin
    Favourite Robbie Loughlin
    Oct 5th 2013, 12:16 PM

14 million euros later and they cannot organise 2 pieces of paper with 2 boxes on them?
    They insulted the electorate with taking a Yes vote for granted,don’t further insult them by saying they can’t tick boxes.
    And shame on those who didn’t vote.

Mute Michael J O' Ryan
    Favourite Michael J O' Ryan

Charlie Flanagan tweeted that people were confused as to yes for what know to what. Granted. But it would have held if his own part leader and our Taoiseach went on rte / tv3 and explained it to the people. After all it was his own pet project to deflect away from budget 14.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Oct 5th 2013, 5:21 PM

They were confused about a lot of things Michael, they were also apparently confused how our system works in general, telling canvassers they wanted to vote no to ”protect democracy” apparently not realizing they were saying they wanted to protect it from the elected house, which makes no sense.

I think the YES camp made a balls of it’s campaign with stupid reasons offered like the petty savings when there were plenty of good reasons to abolish it, and they did a very poor job educating the non-politically savvy public about how the Senate actually works in practice as opposed to how it works in theory.

You’ll see now, as I said all along, you probably won’t get reform, and even if you do any reform will make the senate either a source of deadlock or a rubber stamp. It has to be one of those 3.
    No good will come of this vote.

Mute john boyle
    Favourite john boyle
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:46 AM

If It`s a No, will the members of the Seanad who campaigned for a Yes resign? Surely if only on moral grounds they have too.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 5th 2013, 12:00 PM

John I voted no but even I know Irish politicians no matter what party they belong to have one thing in common they have no morals or concept of what a resigning matter would be.

Mute Andrew Potts
    Favourite Andrew Potts
    Oct 5th 2013, 1:16 PM

So why did you vote to keep 60 of them on the gravy train

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Oct 5th 2013, 4:56 PM

Irish politicians don’t have morals!

Mute patrick o keeffe
    Favourite patrick o keeffe
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:23 AM

Massive protest vote against Kenny Noonan Gilmore et al.

Mute Dublinjonny
    Favourite Dublinjonny
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:34 AM

“Dublin might be a NO” ” everywhere else a YES” where the absolute fk are you making this crap up ? Only reports in so far putting a YES ahead are in wicklow and Cork … Laois-Offaly , Donegal, Meath East are NO’s of course far to early to take it either way , but go and stick your government bias BS reporting up your ass

Mute Dublinjonny
    Favourite Dublinjonny
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:33 AM

“TO CLOSE TO CALL” What are you smoking even the Man from Del Monte said fking NO

Mute Rísteard Ó Muineacháin
    Favourite Rísteard Ó Muineacháin
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:28 AM

Confusion… sounds like… if they dont vote yes, we can ask them again!

Mute Ger Madden
    Favourite Ger Madden

‘confusing ballot papers’?! 2 referendums, 2 pieces of paper. Yes or no in each case. I’d worry about anyone who walked in and didn’t know what box to tick to reflect their choice – has to be a tiny percentage of the people that voted doesn’t it?!….. or maybe I just have too much faith in people’s ability to read!!

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Oct 5th 2013, 12:02 PM

Judging from the media hype around the ‘confusion’ this morning, yes, you might be placing too much trust in people!

Mute James Anthony Watson
    Favourite James Anthony Watson
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:05 AM

The no votes seem to winning the day thus far, I am not surprised really as its primarily a protest vote against a government that is unpopular.

Mute Sara McSweeney
    Favourite Sara McSweeney

I think there’s mixed reasons for the No vote. I want to see reform along the lines that Prof John Crown has suggested & if there’s a sliver of hope that it may happen, it was worth voting No (even if it meant voting the same way as FF). Voting in protest at the government is a waste – the General & local elections are the appropriate protest grounds for that.

Mute Soneps
    Favourite Soneps
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:27 AM

The people have endorsed the Seanad. There will be no reform. No government is going to ever touch this again.

Oct 5th 2013, 10:36 AM

I too would dearly love reform Sara, and if only that option had been put before us, sadly it wasn’t. Therefore the status quo remains, and a house of little value continues in it’s existence.

Mute My Views
    Favourite My Views

You’re right. When Micheal Martin is Taoiseach in 2 1/2 years time, just 5 short years after being part of a government that f#*×ed this country, do you think he’ll offer a sniff of the wonderful reform he’s been spouting about?

The country has voted for the status quo

Mute Soneps
    Favourite Soneps

All is forgiven Fianna Fail. Come back.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:48 AM

James not a protest vote I weighed up the pros and cons.I came to the conclusion that I don’t want to see the consititution butchered.

Oct 5th 2013, 11:02 AM

I respect your opinion Norman, personally I feel however, that we are ill served by a mediocrity that passes for a political system, one that endlessly seeks to place it’s own existence and bullish behaviour ahead of the needs and rights of the people. They promise with words the deeds they never enact, this regrettably is the plight we are bound under.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:19 AM

James had Kenny started with serious reform of the Dail I would have voted yes, but every action before and after the election has been a lesson in lies and deceit by the same Kenny.I will not place give my trust in a liar, its that simple.

Oct 5th 2013, 12:00 PM

I didn’t vote yes on account of enda kenny, or his party. I am in sync with you Norman on the man’s ability, which is mediocre at the best of times. I honestly feel it matters not a hoot to him whether or not it passes, he will say I offered an opportunity at reform and the people rejected it. I voted yes to address a failing in our system, I can’t vote on it again as I am not one of those entitled to vote for the Seanad ordinarily.

Mute Laurence The Bird
    Favourite Laurence The Bird
    Oct 5th 2013, 4:06 PM

What a waste of a vote …..

An opportunity to change the system and it is turned down.
    There should be a qualification process to be allowed vote.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 5th 2013, 8:19 PM

What’s the criteria? To agree with your point of veiw only?

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg

Looking like I’m going to have to listen to Ronan Mullen for few more years. What a shame!

Mute Mark Gaynor
    Favourite Mark Gaynor

Do those polling companies not conduct exit polls too?

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin

I would have expected that!

Mute Simon O' G
    Favourite Simon O' G
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:29 AM

They not allowed to on the grounds of a polling station….

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin

Couldn’t they do it just outside?

Mute Lisa Corr
    Favourite Lisa Corr
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:51 PM

A very bad day for Sinn Fein who should have run a No campaign highlighting Enda Kennys refusal to offer the people the option of reform on the ballot paper.
    A campaign run along these lines would have introduced their policies to many people for the 1st time.
    They need to look at their policy advisors and question how they thought rolling in with Fine Gael would in any way highlight them as a possible future alternative for government.

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Oct 5th 2013, 5:10 PM

Conversely, a great day for FF, who manage to look respectable and in touch with the public. Who’d have thought that?

Mute gerbreen
    Favourite gerbreen

On the assumption that each polling station carried enough papers to cover entire electorate, think how much money was wasted by the 65% or there abouts who couldn’t be bothered. How many of this 65% are supported by the state each day.

Also means less than 20% of the people will make this call. Shameful really.

Mute Kevin Gallagher
    Favourite Kevin Gallagher

Disgraceful comments by Leo…“Most people aren’t that pushed whether the Seanad is reformed,” he says.

This is insulting to anyone that went out and voted. People have a myriad of reasons why they voted no…he has no right to dismiss a No vote as voter apathy. I voted because I want reform….and how can you reform something if it ceases to exist?

Mute J.Rudd
    Favourite J.Rudd
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:46 PM

Leo is a sore loser?

Mute Áine Foley
    Favourite Áine Foley
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:36 AM

Leo is an idiot. Not as big an idiot as Kenny, but an idiot nonetheless.

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:22 AM

I’ve made it into a Journal screenshot! Fame is mine!

Mute Denito
    Favourite Denito
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:01 AM

Looks like it’s going to be a great day for Fianna Fáil

Mute Mark
    Favourite Mark
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:45 AM

A person I know received 2 genuine voting cards. One with her maiden name and another with her married name. It wasn’t only a mistake in posting, but the two names were on the list in the polling stations ! (Only 1 was used btw) :P

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:55 AM

Standard fare for an Irish poll. I’m still getting multiple polling cards years after leaving Ireland. They’re very creative: sometimes I’m John, sometimes Ian… Anything to bulk up the ballot box!

Mute Denis Collins
    Favourite Denis Collins

No confusion if the ballot paper was read. It wasn’t phrased as a question though, is that the issue?

Mute Nivag Yeoh
    Favourite Nivag Yeoh
    Oct 5th 2013, 3:45 PM

“Leo Varadkar is having none of it, says the proposal would have been passed if ‘turnout had been over 50 per cent.’”

And if my Aunt had balls, Leo…

Mute liam ward
    Favourite liam ward
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:46 AM

If there’s gonna b a second vote on it they can count me out I won’t b changing my mind

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter

There won’t be.

Mute Kevin McCarthy
    Favourite Kevin McCarthy
    Oct 5th 2013, 12:32 PM

When no actually means yes..
    We want real reform not tokenism…
    My faith in our democracy is being restored..

Mute Laurence The Bird
    Oct 5th 2013, 4:05 PM

@Kevin

And there is no mandate for reform in the vote !
    Thats the whole point.

So what has been voted for is the continuation of the gravy train of a overpaid elitist wafflers never-ending tea-party.

Well done to those who voted no – never again moan about the cost or the ineffectiveness of the Seanád. You missed your chance.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:34 AM

Enda stirkes again. Treats the public with contempt. Gets a kicking. The headline still says too close to call. Based on RTE reports it’s going to be a No. And a No by between 3 and 5 per cent.

Mute sean de paore
    Favourite sean de paore
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:55 AM

Dublin looks like carrying a NO vote over the line. Politicians pay & pension reinstatement to previous levels will not be too many years behind.
    Missed opportunity with an anti government vote taking precedent over getting rid of politicians.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:09 AM

So by your logic people voted no just to stick it to the government, pretty arrogant comment to make.
    I voted no based on the information out forward by both sides.
    The yes side was a populist piece of nonsense save €20 million (well maybe) and the person proposing the abolition of the Seanad not even willing to debate the issue.

Mute My Views
    Favourite My Views
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:32 AM

What swung it for you to vote no Norman?

Mute David Maughan
    Favourite David Maughan
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:50 AM

Would this be the same government who’s Taoiseach refused – on more than one occasion – the opportunity to debate and put forward his views as to why this amendment should be carried? Would it also happen to be the same government who’s Tanaiste came out and pretty much insulted all of his fellow citizen’s intelligence by arrogantly stating that a ‘Yes’ decision was a “very straightforward” choice for people to make?

‘Cos if that’s the same government you’re talking about then an ‘anti government vote’ appears to be a fairly reasonable conclusion to this farce.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:52 AM

My views, the butchery of the consititution the unwillingness of Enda to debate.Lastly just that uncomfortable feeling that there was more to abolition than met the eye.

Mute Andrew Potts
    Favourite Andrew Potts
    Oct 5th 2013, 1:23 PM

Agree with you on this , think its nothing but a protest vote , most people I know complain about politicians but here so many vote to keep 60 of the most useless . A chance to have a few redundancies in Kildare Street I really think it would have been good for the political class.

Mute Laurence The Bird
    Oct 5th 2013, 4:13 PM

So you ‘no’ votes had a lot to do with the leader of the Government not engaging in a TV debate upon request by the leader of a small political party !!

I despair.

Mute David Farrell
    Favourite David Farrell
    Oct 5th 2013, 4:28 PM

a good kick Inda arse – now do what you’re told by the sovereign people!!!

Mute John B. Reid
    Favourite John B. Reid
    Oct 5th 2013, 4:44 PM

My greatest sense of relief is for the Constitution of Ireland; it has not been dismembered. Let’s never allow Enda Kenny to make an executive decision again.

Mute Liam MacSuibhne
    Favourite Liam MacSuibhne
    Oct 5th 2013, 8:54 PM

The first thing to be done now is to forever end the utter corruption of ‘repeat referendums’. The people themselves must get ahead of the government’s curve, and immediately demand that democratic mandates are respected and not undermined by extremists who ‘decide’ that it is their right to force and brow beat the electorate about how they ‘should’ have voted. I suggest anyone and everyone write to/ email their TDs to absolutely demand that no ‘re-run’ referendum occurs. Without wanting to sound alarmist, this behaviour in the past has seriously undermined voter confidence in the democratic process, not to mention perversing the course of democracy.
    We must act now, individually and as citizens, to remind our elected officials that “confusion” excuses or otherwise will no longer be tolerated.

The people have spoken, Mr. Kenny. We’ve taken the unemployment, the utterly bankrupting nationalisation of debt while bond holders are protected. We’ve taken the introduction of water charges, the insulting and infra structurally-deficient demand for such high tv licences. We’ve listened as you explained the need for continued austerity and lack of serious investment. The cuts in education, public sector pay … All of which are for the ‘Common Good’.

The people have spoken. They chose to retain the Seanad, for the COMMON GOOD.
    Now back off.

Mute debbie keegan
    Favourite debbie keegan
    Oct 6th 2013, 2:24 AM

Comment of the month!

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian

I happily voted no yesterday & am very happy that it looks like I’m not in the minority on this issue. We did not get a chance to vote for actual reform and the fact that our so called leader let others debate when he hid away whilst his govt campaigned on an agenda of lies says so much about his brand of dirty politics. Congrats to DDI for all their work on enlightening people on this issue. Leo now arguing that they lost because of a low turnout – deluded sanctimonious arrogant idiot.

Mute Ferg
    Favourite Ferg
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:40 AM

Looks like Mr Norris can relax and keep drawing his Trinity pension that he didn’t work for, take as much time away from the Seanad as he likes so that he can double / triple job and fill in for radio / tv journalists / presenters who go on holidays. Did I mention that he gets a senators wage on top of all that? He epitomises the very reason it should be abolished. Disgusting.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:57 AM

Yawn. You lost. Live with it. Democracy wins in a shocker.

Mute Peace for All
    Favourite Peace for All
    Oct 5th 2013, 4:14 PM

Is that his daughter in the pic?

Mute Laurence The Bird
    Oct 5th 2013, 4:19 PM

Democracy means all sides can express a view.

Thats all thats happening..

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Oct 5th 2013, 5:40 PM

‘Democracy wins’, whatever you can say about this u cant say that, since the senates not a democratic body

Mute Joe Tighe
    Favourite Joe Tighe
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:15 AM

There will be no rerun of this vote. Our ‘government’ have satisfied the wishes of their European masters by putting the proposal of abolishing the Seanad to the people. If we had said ‘Yes’ a little work would have to be done. By saying ‘No’, it means they have to do absolutley nothing, there will be no reform, as always this government will take the course of minimum effort. They produce a piece of legislation from the ‘down with this sort of thing’ school of politics, there was, as always,no interaction with the people, no effort to move the country forward, no open discussion, and after the vote? A quick nod toward ‘the people have spoken’, a shrug and a smirk, and a return to business as usual.

Mute My Views
    Favourite My Views

Do you seriously think that any of the people calling for a no vote will/would reform it in any meaningful way?

The country has voted for the status quo.

Mute Joe Tighe
    Favourite Joe Tighe
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:49 AM

On the face of it,yes we have voted for more of the same. However if asked I beleive that the people, in my opinion, want what they were promised at the last election; reformed, open and accountable government. Will the Seanad be reformed as a result of this vote? Unfortunatley no, it will be more of the same, but with, what the government will claim, or ‘spin’ into mandate to justify it

Mute Soneps
    Favourite Soneps
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:50 AM

Did anyone honestly think there would be a chance of reform? Back to business as usual…jobs for the boys.

Mute J.Rudd
    Favourite J.Rudd
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:49 PM

The message has gone out that the usual shower CANNOT be trusted and the people want accountability.

Direct Democracy Ireland were pushing for this with a NO vote – looks like the population agreed!

The excuses for the next few days will come of course from FG and Labour – meanwhile Sinn Fein will do more backtracking and switch sides again!

Mute Nuala Finnegan
    Favourite Nuala Finnegan
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:18 AM

OK a lot of people say that if voters just read the ballot papers there was no need for confusion. I think that makes sense especially if you’re an active voter and have self informed. However, in designing these papers you need to cater for those who have poor information or understanding about these constitutional articles. Think of all the students who know they should read all their exam questions but don’t!

Mute Ian Mac Eochagáin
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:21 AM

Those people haven’t made the investment in time and effort to educate themselves. It’s their fault.

Mute Sheila
    Favourite Sheila
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:11 AM

Sometimes they were let down by our education system, and find themselves unable to read formal documents.

Mute Laurence The Bird
    Oct 5th 2013, 4:08 PM

@shelia

“Let down by the education system”

You mean “didnt bother their hole even going to primary school”

Don’t always blame ‘the system’ take some personal responsibility

Mute William Geoghegan
    Favourite William Geoghegan
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:56 AM

Confusion? It seemed pretty straightforward to me

Mute tax slave
    Favourite tax slave
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:10 AM

You deserve what you vote for 60 free loaders – the sheep have spoken -

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:21 AM

Sucks to be a loser, huh?

Mute Kieran Doyle
    Favourite Kieran Doyle
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:44 AM

From what I gather many people do not fully understand the implications of a yes vote and how that affects our rights as citizens at least there is a possibility of reform and reform that will work for the population.

Mute ManOnTheStreet
    Favourite ManOnTheStreet
    Oct 5th 2013, 12:14 PM

Wait a minute, so it’s sheep for following the government and it’s sheep for opposing the government.
    Man, it’s hard to not be a sheep I guess. I wish I was as cool as you are Tax Slave.
    For once, people did the right thing and overcome the urge to “stick it to the politicians” and did the right thing.

Mute seanmccann
    Favourite seanmccann
    Oct 5th 2013, 12:23 PM

Thats what I thought. The Dail and the Seanad need reform but when a Government essentially asks you to give them more power I’m suspicious.

Mute Scabber
    Favourite Scabber
    Oct 5th 2013, 4:39 PM

Damn proud to be a Dubliner today

Mute Michael Mc Grath
    Favourite Michael Mc Grath
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:55 PM

Well if Enda wants us to vote yes, then we have to think – No. Because we all know that the no good b*****d is not out for our good, only doing what he is told in Europe. He was too thick to even take part in the debate.

Mute Joe Read
    Favourite Joe Read
    Oct 5th 2013, 5:47 PM

Did anyone notice they removed that horrible blue flag from the dail ,just in case the peasants might think this has anything to do with the mob in brussels .This was an order from brussels to these politicians who would sell their mothers to brussels and their country .Well done to those who voted against the government machine who are lap dogging to europe

Mute Kieran Doyle
    Favourite Kieran Doyle
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:17 AM

My partner was denied her right to vote last night. They would not give her in writing that she had showed to vote and that constitutional right was denied. The referendum was about our constitution. Unreal

Mute Lauren Masterson
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:44 AM

Why Kieran ? On what grounds did they refuse her ?

Mute Kieran Doyle
    Favourite Kieran Doyle
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:55 AM

Apparently she was removed from the register. So in essence she does not exist although she pays her taxes. The response was to check on Monday !!!!!! Voting over by then.

Mute Nivag Yeoh
    Favourite Nivag Yeoh
    Oct 5th 2013, 12:12 PM

Had she voted from the same address in previous elections/ referenda?

Mute Lauren Masterson
    Oct 5th 2013, 12:29 PM

Did she receive a voting card and have all her details up to date ? Bring ID ? Doesn’t sound very fair at all Keiran. I’d look into that !!

Mute Laurence The Bird
    Oct 5th 2013, 4:15 PM

Had she received a voting card ?
    Had she checked the register ?

Mute Kieran Doyle
    Favourite Kieran Doyle
    Oct 5th 2013, 5:19 PM

Yes and had her id with her

Mute Kieran Doyle
    Favourite Kieran Doyle
    Oct 5th 2013, 5:28 PM

No Lauren. No voting card arrived. Apparently she was taken off the register because someone answered the front door one day and gave their details. So instead of checking with her she was taken off the register. However even if she is or us not on the register she should have been immediately put back on when it was shown that she did indeed exist and has voted in past. She is also squeaky clean around her taxes etc. anyway the staff were pleasant enough but would not give her vote nor acknowledge that she was denied the right. Close run but at least the voting dud nit rest on her single vote but it could well have

Mute J.Rudd
    Favourite J.Rudd
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:42 PM

Great day for Direct Democracy ireland who along with FF where pushing for a NO vote.

The others have clearly been rejected – including Sinn Fein and the Socialists (whatever name or group they are trying to mask themselves under from month to month!).

Mute Shayno ZO
    Favourite Shayno ZO
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:08 AM

The leader and active members of the campaign shouldn’t even be allowed in the count centres! (Bruton in the picture there)

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Oct 5th 2013, 12:17 PM

One of the principles of democracy is that it is transaparrent. There is no valid reason why those with an interest can’t attend the count centres.

Mute Michael Fehily
    Favourite Michael Fehily
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:40 PM

It looks like a possible no , but a possible yes for democracy..

Mute Joseph Molloy
    Favourite Joseph Molloy
    Oct 5th 2013, 4:27 PM

Enda you’ve not pulled the wool over us Irish ..turn the result in your favour. you’re beaten by Irish people who see you for what you really are.. a dictator who doesn’t give two shits your fellow Irish man woman and child . Michael has had the last laugh… you’re the fool Enda for not going on for live debate…. who’s making a fool of himself Now… It’s time for you Enda to go back to Mayo and crawl under that rock formation you squirmed out from underneath. Its time now to put leadership under the spot light… Lets Abolish Enda from Daíl.

Mute Veronica
    Favourite Veronica
    Oct 5th 2013, 5:55 PM

Am Actually delighted for once enda didn’t get what he wanted….. A no was def the right decision…

Mute Luke Daly
    Favourite Luke Daly
    Oct 5th 2013, 8:47 PM

NO was only correct if we get reform of the Senate which is never going to happen.

Mute Breda Leech
    Favourite Breda Leech
    Oct 5th 2013, 7:18 PM

First time to comment on the Journal, although I read it every day, so relieved it was a no vote because of the lack of transparency as to the ramifications of the abolition of the Seanad

Mute Adam Hurley
    Favourite Adam Hurley
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:04 AM

Why does it point out Cork-South Central as a FF constituency but not Donegal as a SF one?

Mute Burch Barlow
    Favourite Burch Barlow
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:07 AM

Because until recently Donegal was a FF stronghold.

Mute Frank Lennon
    Favourite Frank Lennon
    Oct 5th 2013, 8:37 PM

Japers, I thought I would never get to the end of the comments treat to add my cupla focal. Anyone would think that a Referendum had just taken place LOL. Seriously though; well done to all who voted NO. You have restored my faith in the discerning ability of the Irish electorate and you have saved our Seanad. Yesterday and today were good days work for the cause of greater Irish Democracy. In voting NO you have forestalled the most cynical attempt, in our nations history, to undermine the Houses of the Oireachtas. What would you have got in return? Promises of some alternative; that’s all: promises and you know how very good the present administration is at keeping electoral promises. In reality the NO vote was a YES vote for Seanad Reform. So, elected representatives ignore that message at your peril. If you head into the long grass and sulk we the people will see you at the next general ballot and we will speak louder that we did in this Referendum. Get on with it folks. The country is watching.

Mute Barry Mac
    Favourite Barry Mac
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:08 AM

In this day and age there should be online voting …… If billions of euro’s can be transferred daily online , the time has come we should be able to vote online

Mute Joe Read
    Favourite Joe Read
    Oct 5th 2013, 5:32 PM

This is a huge middle finger to these politicians who have betrayed our country,who have tried to feed our people to the wolves in brussels and germany .Make no mistake this was an order from the mob in brussels all across this bogus eu,destroy all second parliaments first ,then destroy all parliaments second ,then send in the technocrats from brussels .Ireland was deliberatly bankrupted ,call in the loans brussels think they own Ireland now .This is the Third rejection by Ireland to these gangsters in brussels ,its time to GIVE IRELAND BACK TO THE IRISH ,OUR COUNTRY IS NOT FOR SALE . Wake up labour ,ff and fg its time to withraw from the EU .That sinn fein advocated the abolishing of any second chamber was a huge mistake

Mute Lauren Masterson
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:42 AM

I have to say whenever I have to fill out documents of importance I always seem to panic incase I get it wrong.. I’m not sure why but I’ve always been like that. I’m always terrified I’ll get something wrong. Without fail I always get a tiny bit nervous when going to vote. Yesterday I was in and out. It was easy to read and the instructions were clear and simple to understand. I’m fairly sure my 4 year old would have been able to fill out the paper on his own. To me ‘Confusion’ is just an excuse for those who just didn’t bother to vote and for those who want a re vote, seriously I don’t think they could make it any easier… Unless we attend a class before we vote and the teacher can go through it with us. And maybe go through our ABCs while they are at it.

Mute Andrew Potts
    Favourite Andrew Potts

Lol I felt exactly the same

Mute Conor Kostick
    Favourite Conor Kostick
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:08 PM

A lot of the ‘no’ vote would have been from people like me. I think the Seanad is elitist and in need of reform or abolition, but a) I wanted to hurt a government that are hurting me and my family and b) right now there are senators in place who will articulate opposition to government austerity policies.

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:20 PM

What a stupid reason to vote !

Mute Andrew Potts
    Favourite Andrew Potts
    Oct 5th 2013, 1:15 PM

We get a chance of getting rid of 60 odd politicians who do nothing except cost money and generally delay only something. They have had fifty years to talk about reform but only when faced with abolition did they get off their arses. A cushy club of TDs who lost their seat or trying to gain one. Or somebody with a profile in a university or trade union.
    But we look like keeping it out of spite to Enda hahaha to you Enda. But we are the mugs , because we will have to keep paying these rubber stamp merchants for ever and their replacements too.
    Although I have grave reservations about the FG/Lab government I do honestly believe that redundancies in Kildare Street would be a good thing , then they might realise that joblessness affects people

Mute Paul Keville
    Favourite Paul Keville
    Oct 5th 2013, 1:38 PM

Maybe if we had a proper vote calling, for reduced numbers in both houses of
    Parliament i.e. reduce the Dail to 100 TDs, the Seanad to 30 seats all voted in by the people, abolish the party whips and finally scrap 80% of the local authorities ( why do we need 50 odd councils), then we would have had a better reform of irish politics, not this oh because we’ll save 20 million joke.

Mute Dublinjonny
    Favourite Dublinjonny

Rte making excuse after fking excuse …. we need a vote to abolish that piece ot crap

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:25 PM

The next referendum should be to make it compulsory to vote in elections and referendums. Political parties only interested in where they can corner votes.
    A lot more would be gained if voting was compulsory forcing political parties to engage more and follow through on election promises.

Mute John B. Reid
    Favourite John B. Reid
    Oct 5th 2013, 6:58 PM

What will this mean for Enda Kenny’s leadership now that the Seanad referendum, in which he invested so much of his political capital, has been defeated?

Enda Kenny must resign over this. His credibility with the Irish people is in tatters.

Mute Michael G O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael G O'Reilly
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:35 PM

Will all politicians, of all parties, please note …..WE HAD DECIDED LONG AGO TO VOTE NO !

Mute Bernard Gallagher
    Favourite Bernard Gallagher
    Oct 5th 2013, 4:26 PM

Well done Ireland keeping Bertie’s friends in a well paid job doing nothing

Mute Luke Daly
    Favourite Luke Daly
    Oct 5th 2013, 8:37 PM

Maybe the government missed a trick at bit. They should have encouraged Eoghan Harris to campaign for a No.

Mute J.Rudd
    Favourite J.Rudd
    Oct 5th 2013, 4:58 PM

Where is Enda Kenny today?
    Is the coward still in hiding?

Mute SilentFugitive
    Favourite SilentFugitive
    Oct 5th 2013, 1:24 PM

Paddy Power paying out on a No vote for the Seanad referendum. Just tweeted

Mute Leprechaunxwwwx
    Favourite Leprechaunxwwwx
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:41 PM

Exactly whose opinion was portrayed in the opinion polls. Irish media cannot be trusted it is in the hands of this current government. Putin would be proud.

Mute Laurence The Bird
    Oct 5th 2013, 4:18 PM

What ?

There is no connection whatsoever between *any* market research company and any media group.

Mute Guidojoefawkes
    Favourite Guidojoefawkes
    Oct 5th 2013, 9:01 PM

Well there you have it Enda. Most people don’t trust you to give you more power. They saw it was a knee jerk reaction on your part to losing out to Gilmore in a poll. You kept pushing it because of your ‘I’m always right mindset’. It’s the beginning of the Enda for you.

Mute Krystian Brzezowski
    Favourite Krystian Brzezowski
    Oct 5th 2013, 3:15 PM

It is actually quite hillarious that Irish people wants to keep the government body that they have no direct influence on who is actually chosen to be in it. (Sorry not sure if what I wrote makes sense in English). Something unusual. It would make sense if the people of Ireland would choose each member of Senate during general election but in this case?

Mute Kevin Healy
    Favourite Kevin Healy
    Oct 5th 2013, 3:42 PM

Can we have a referendum to ban FG from government, there agenda is to close to FF & it’s really a waste having so many politicians just trying to look better than each other rather than taking the country’s best interest serious. Just my opinion

Mute Gmurpi
    Favourite Gmurpi
    Oct 5th 2013, 4:10 PM

The Dubs stuff Kenny twice in a fortnight !

Mute Kev Kirwan
    Favourite Kev Kirwan
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:28 AM

There is alot of posts on facebook from people stating that due to an administration error they were refused their right to vote yesterday ! Even though they had voting cards and knew the people in the polling station personally. Is this the new way the government can pick and choose who votes or not? Or saving them having to do a re vote when the outcome doesn’t go their way ?

Mute Soneps
    Favourite Soneps
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:49 AM

Yes, and I read that the moon landing didn’t happen either. Because who could have taken the photo of Neil Armstrong if he was supposedly the first one out of the lunar capsule? And the flag was blowing in the wind in the picture….but there is no wind on the moon !!!

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:25 AM

Yes a government minister spent all day on Wednesday drawing up a list of people that he didn’t want voting. Didn’t you hear? Idiot!

Mute Robbie Loughlin
    Favourite Robbie Loughlin
    Oct 5th 2013, 12:26 PM

People can’t be refused to vote if they have the right ID.
    That sounds very suspicious!

Mute Peter Kearney
    Favourite Peter Kearney
    Oct 5th 2013, 3:40 PM

Twice in as many weeks Dublin says NO to Inda. Add to this the disastrous showing in the Presidential elections, Inda is continuing a Fine tradition of making an absolute bollix of it! Another Fine Own Goal!!!

Mute Fay Fitzgerald
    Favourite Fay Fitzgerald
    Oct 5th 2013, 4:11 PM

It is a shame that it was such a low turnout!.. In a few Months, I suppose we will have the ones who didn’t vote gripe!.. It is a sickener that we the TaxPayers have to pay for it. We could have saved ourselves some Money. But, it is too late now.

Mute Krystian Brzezowski
    Favourite Krystian Brzezowski
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:30 PM

Ehh what was the confusion with ballot papers? If this are the ones that i’ve just seen above than i have to say that as a Polish person even i can understand it! Is this because of declining education levels?

Mute Niall B.
    Favourite Niall B.
    Oct 5th 2013, 1:53 PM

How about a running total of the Yes and No votes. Constituency % is not relevant in this.

Mute Tigerisinthezoo
    Favourite Tigerisinthezoo
    Oct 5th 2013, 1:11 PM

A lot of the tallies are showing a win for the No side.
    If the No side wins we won’t see any Seanad reform in this Dail term. That means another Seanad term is almost a certainty. Almost guarantees there will be no reform for at least 8 more years. But the people voted so what can you do.

Mute Garrett Mullan
    Favourite Garrett Mullan
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:20 AM

Maybe run it again but this time the taoiseach would debate

Mute Nivag Yeoh
    Favourite Nivag Yeoh
    Oct 5th 2013, 12:10 PM

had his chance.

not a leader.

Mute Joseph Molloy
    Favourite Joseph Molloy
    Oct 5th 2013, 5:06 PM

Next time run over Enda himself…. He had his 3 minute fame and screwed it up by lying to Irish People

Mute leanne
    Favourite leanne
    Oct 5th 2013, 12:51 PM

I don’t think the TD’s should be anywhere near the counting! Don’t trust them one bit :P

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:58 AM

Angela, you’re the one yesterday, saying ‘why bother’ – ‘puppet Germany government’ – ‘you’re vote doesn’t count’ – ‘pointless’.

The ballot papers were confusing, multiple people were asked ‘which was which’, the ballot paper should have been simpler:
    Keep Seanad – Tick here
    No Seanad – – Tick here

If it did have to be done again, I hope that the organizers at least have the decency to add a few options:
    Keep Seanad
    Keep Seanad and reform
    Keep Dail
    Keep Dial and reform
    Online voting with PPS No.

Mute Catherine Keogh
    Favourite Catherine Keogh
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:07 AM

Ahhh jeez they going to make us do it again

Mute Paul Somers
    Favourite Paul Somers
    Oct 5th 2013, 7:05 PM

TE HEE – JUST CHECKING

Mute jp tobin
    Favourite jp tobin
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:01 PM

I voted no cause the idiots in government said yes…how many others used this reason ????

Mute Janette Kelly
    Favourite Janette Kelly
    Oct 5th 2013, 12:13 PM

Reading some of the posts which are positive with regard to the way we voted yesterday are good! but the question I would like to put out there woukd be is this government good enough to get this great country of ours off its knees?

Mute Tigerisinthezoo
    Favourite Tigerisinthezoo
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:46 PM

There seems to be two new groups out there. Direct Democracy Ireland and Democracy Matters. Who are they and who finances them?

Mute Luke Daly
    Favourite Luke Daly
    Oct 5th 2013, 8:50 PM

Most people who voted No yesterday will never get to vote for the Senate. This result is absolutely Baffling. Reform will never happen.

Oct 5th 2013, 10:17 PM

Sometimes in politics you get a wallop but he’ll get more than a wallop at the GE.

Mute Paul Harrington
    Favourite Paul Harrington
    Oct 5th 2013, 3:27 PM

I just mentioned on another forum that the Dublin football team is to be thanked for swinging the referendum result. The Yes side got its biggest kicking in Dublin where the electorate told Enda Kenny – we stuffed your football team, this is what we think of your referendum!

Mute Brian Meleady
    Favourite Brian Meleady
    Oct 5th 2013, 7:06 PM

Chairman Mayo?

Mute Dublinjonny
    Favourite Dublinjonny
    Oct 5th 2013, 1:41 PM

Good job Kildare

Mute Gavin Scott
    Favourite Gavin Scott
    Oct 5th 2013, 3:14 PM

In terms of Irish politics and in the very best Northern Irish accent, ‘Dublin says no’! The masses have spoken. Perhaps the culties did not get the memo?

Mute Sal
    Favourite Sal
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:08 PM

Totally agree with you JP that’s exactly why I voted no. People are always giving out that we are a country that doesn’t protest – well we just did with our votes instead of our feet. FG was for it so I was always going to vote the opposite and it didn’t matter what the subject was.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Oct 5th 2013, 5:31 PM

So it’s over, and one of the following is going to happen:

1. [most likely] the govt will spin this as an endorsement of the status quo and change nothing
    They will just let the opposition call for reform and run out the news cycle clock until people stop talking about the issue, and be glad their failed Dail candidates still have a place to go.

2. They’ll propose token reform like opening the university seats, which won’t require a referendum.

lets say they did do reform though….second chambers are only ever one of two things

1. A source of deadlock if it can be controlled by the opposition with total gridlock, budgets not passing etc OR
    2. A rubber stamp, which means that deep down nothing will have changed.

They won’t give you reform, but even if they do, it will be deadlock or rubber stamp.

Mute Ivan Kelly
    Favourite Ivan Kelly
    Oct 5th 2013, 1:08 PM

Can you show a tally by constituency?

Mute Brian O'Conchubhair
    Favourite Brian O'Conchubhair
    Oct 5th 2013, 3:02 PM

If you want a higher turn out then tie it in with Arthur’s day, or whatever it gets rebranded as, and let people vote in the pub! The results should be interesting.

Mute Thomas McGrath
    Favourite Thomas McGrath
    Oct 5th 2013, 10:46 PM

I voted no because Kenny and Gilmore proposed this referendum to abolish the Seanad. I also voted no to the other one, the new court of appeal. 99.9% of those who voted to set up this new gravy tain for barristers and solicitors could never afford to go to the Circuit court or High court never mind the new Court of appeal. It is only for those with serious money or free legal aid, not for you and me.
    Thomas McGrath

Mute Ang Ledave
    Favourite Ang Ledave
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:34 PM

Charlie Flanagan whingeing about the confusing wording on the ballot papers. He’s had weeks to comment on the wording and waits until the No vote is winning to speak out. Maybe he thought the “confusing wording” would help the Yes camp win. I voted No because I don’t trust that sleeveen Enda. He hid in the long grass and wouldn’t debate his pet project because he’s too dense to defend his own ideas. ( BTW, I’m not sure if the predictive text is the Journal site or my iPad, but how the f… Does a computer know what I want to say?. get rid of it.)
    A victory for the ordinary Joe at last, smug Enda can go and lick his wounds while he tries to figure this one out. He can always blame Bruton as Director of Elections. That will teach him to mount a push against his leader. FG and Labour totally discredited, no idea what the electorate want, time for a reform of the Dail. Old school party politics are not working, we need honest politicians, people with integrity and ethics, not failed schoolteachers.

Mute Andrew Potts
    Favourite Andrew Potts
    Oct 5th 2013, 11:56 PM

Looking at the comments it looks more like a vote no to stick one to Enda rather then vote yes to stick one to the whole political class.
    I would say they are all quite pleased more sweeties for them.

Mute Ciaran McCann
    Favourite Ciaran McCann
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:18 AM

Turnout was low, but better than expected!! That just says it all really!! When less that 40% vote I don’t think anything should be passed !

Mute Martin Hoey
    Favourite Martin Hoey
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:32 PM

a minimum of 51 % turnout should be required before anything is accepted

Mute Áine Foley
    Favourite Áine Foley
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:57 AM

Hopefully reform of the Seanad will be on the agenda come the next election. Glad it has been retained but it needs to more participation from the people – special interest groups need to be represented and it needs to reflect society in general, not just the elite.

I’m also hoping that people realise they don’t have to vote for FF, FG and Labour!

Mute Stephen Howlin
    Favourite Stephen Howlin
    Oct 5th 2013, 5:06 PM

will you be covering the other referendum results Hugh?

Mute vv7k7Z3c
    Favourite vv7k7Z3c
    Oct 5th 2013, 5:16 PM

Hi Stephen,

Sinéad here at the minute – we’re both reporting and, yes, we will be covering the Court of Appeals rer. No word on when to expect a result yet.

Thanks
    S

Mute Prof. Bernard Feck
    Favourite Prof. Bernard Feck
    Oct 6th 2013, 9:18 AM

Great, we get to keep the Seanad!, more of the likes of Ivor Callaly and syrup head Donie Cassidy, and listening to David Norris spouting sh1te for the sake of gaining more air time, BRILLIANT!

Mute Martin Hoey
    Favourite Martin Hoey
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:28 PM

well i voted yes and so no longer recognise the seanad it is an outdated british remider like the house of lords with no power but eats up lots of money by the well paid politicians who were voted out by the public but saved from the dole by giing them this ludricous waste of taxpayers money.
    As far as im concerned we only have the dail no seanad

Mute tom
    Favourite tom
    Oct 6th 2013, 10:15 AM

Everybody agrees the Seanad needed to be sorted. What Inda did was say I’m only giving you the option of keeping it or losing it. If you keep it I’m not making any commitment to reforming it. Keep it or lose it. That’s it. And by the way, I’m not debating it”.

A serious lesson in politics Inda. Don’t treat the electorate with such disrespect.

Mute Lucy Hassett
    Favourite Lucy Hassett
    Oct 6th 2013, 1:42 AM

This referendum being defeated lies in the fact that enda kenny refused to debate what his government was proposing. As someone who has worked in the Seanad I can vouch that it is a total waste of the taxpayers money but how can anyone vote for something that our country’s ‘leader’ is too afraid to debate on national television. Disgraceful.

Mute Jazz O'Gorman
    Favourite Jazz O'Gorman
    Oct 5th 2013, 2:12 PM

I knew I should have voted, damn.

Mute J.Rudd
    Favourite J.Rudd
    Oct 5th 2013, 3:11 PM
    Mute Noel Ryan
    Favourite Noel Ryan
    Oct 6th 2013, 12:24 AM

Any chance of another vote like the Nice Treaty one. Wasn’t it kinda where voting no meant yes and voting yes meant no. Come on lads give us a replay- we’ve already lost out on the Galway v Limerick debacle