You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Joan Burton is facing a motion of no confidence next week

David Begg’s appointment sparked political controversy this week.

Updated 6.55pm 

TÁNAISTE JOAN BURTON will face a motion of no confidence in the Dáil next week following her controversial appointment of former union boss David Begg as chair of the Pensions Authority.

Independent Alliance TDs Shane Ross, Finian McGrath, Michael Fitzmaurice, John Halligan and Tom Fleming have put their name to the motion which states simply:

That Dáil Éireann has no confidence in the Tánaiste and Minister for Social Protection.

The motion will almost certainly be defeated due to the government’s majority, but two nights of Dáil debate are likely to keep the issue of Begg’s new role in the spotlight.

Speaking to TheJournal.ie this evening, Ross said:

It’s our opportunity to point out how cronyism is still absolutely endemic in Irish political life. I suspect what we’re seeing here are the farewell honours.

Begg to differ

Earlier, Begg said his new role wasn’t one he would have put himself forward for – and that he’ll step away from the job if Labour wants him to.

However, he said he won’t be forced out of the job by political opponents of the party.

The ex-ICTU general secretary’s appointment sparked political controversy this week, after it emerged that Burton had appointed him directly in her role as social protection minister.

There was no public service advertising or appointments process – and while the move is allowed under state board guidelines opposition TDs have attacked the coalition over it.

Criticism 

Fitzmaurice said the appointment shows that “cronyism is alive and well and still widespread in government circles”.

This kind of carry on is what turns people off politics and I wouldn’t blame them either. It shows that the Labour Party are just as good as Fine Gael at talking out of two sides of their mouth.

Martin Ferris of Sinn Féin yesterday described it as “cronyism” while Ross questioned Begg’s credentials for the job:

Tweet by @Shane Ross Shane Ross / Twitter Shane Ross / Twitter / Twitter

There’s even been criticism from within the Labour ranks, with TD Ciara Conway asking:

Why have the rules in place if you’re not going to abide by them?

Begg will make just over €20,000 a year for five years in the role.

Begg’s defence

Speaking on Morning Ireland today, Begg said he was asked by the Tánaiste late last year whether he’d be interested in the role.

Responding to the criticism from Ross, he said the TD and former senator had been attacking him for 30 years.

“The fact of the matter is I don’t have any other public appointments,” he said, referring the direct criticism in Ross’s tweet.

The appointment was made within guidelines, he said.

“If there is a problem here, if the government or the Labour members in government have a problem with this I have no problem if they want to rethink the situation,” Begg said this morning.

He said he would not “force his way” into the role, adding:

It’s not a job I would have liked or volunteered for. I think it’s a particularly difficult and challenging job, but I was honoured to be offered the job and on that basis I accepted it.

However, he said he was not going to be “driven out of” the role by Shane Ross or anyone else.

- additional reporting from Hugh O’Connell 

Read: Long-serving Fianna Fáil political advisor PJ Mara has died

Read: Only one Republican candidate is dead against Trump’s Muslim ban

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

174 Comments
    Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:09 AM

Absolute Cronyism. Just shows how out of touch Laour are this close to an election and they are rubbing joe public nose in it.

Mute will
    Favourite will
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:10 AM

Couldn’t agree more ..

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:27 AM

Cronyism of the Highest order. So Joan gave a job to a man who has said on national radio that it’s not a job he likes or would volunteer for but the tanaiste decided to give it to him anyway. Shameful.

See 37 more replies ▾
    Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:29 AM

It Beggs believing

Jan 15th 2016, 9:37 AM

He didn’t seek the job and has no interest in it. He’s going to do a great job. Well done Joan. Again.

Mute will
    Favourite will
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:38 AM

Labour know there gone,this sort of political behaviour is unacceptable.

Mute will
    Favourite will
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:39 AM

Interest in the pay and pension…

Mute Euro is Dead
    Favourite Euro is Dead
    Jan 15th 2016, 10:11 AM

No wonder the unions threw the public sector workers to the wolves. I always knew the union bosses would reap the rewards for abandoning ordinary workers…… Wonder how many public sector workers lost their homes during the cuts just so that union officials would get lucrative jobs later…..

Mute ISBA - Seamus F Maye
    Favourite ISBA - Seamus F Maye
    Jan 15th 2016, 10:52 AM

No difficulty believing that Mr. Begg has no interest in the job, just the €20k per year will come in handy.

Mute Bren MC
    Favourite Bren MC
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:04 AM

I wonder will she lose her seat this year?. I predict labour only getting 5 seats in the election.

Mute Paige Turners
    Favourite Paige Turners
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:35 AM

20k per year… about 10k net. 200 per week. Not exactly a kings ransom folks given the work involved.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:46 AM

Piage…….he may have to turn up to meetings about 20 times a year at most for a few hours at a time. It will be only to rubber stamp ideas brought to him by full time staff.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:48 AM

Almost as much as a pensioners income a week that they barely survive on. Not much to those that don’t mind handing out taxpayers money to people not interested in a job but here have it anyways by the tanaiste.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:53 AM

So Paige considering the work pensioners have done from a early age and the amount of tax they have contributed through the years. Then compared to this , they should be receiving quite a high amount of state pension every week since this is the formula for these kind of jobs. Don’t you think?

Mute Eugene Walsh
    Favourite Eugene Walsh
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:57 AM

He’s only saying he doesn’t particularly like the job to give an impression that he was picked for his skills and hey, he’s just an obliging guy. More important, is that a typo that the salary is 20k a yr for 5 yrs? I assume we’re missing a zero?

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:58 AM

Euro is dead, threw public sector workers to the wolves? Are you mad? We have a massively inflated public sector that are very well paid.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:59 AM

Typical FF, FG behaviour. Make a fuss over bringing in new rules/guidelines on state appointments and build into them a back door just in case a crony is needed down the line.

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Jan 15th 2016, 12:16 PM

They know the game is up so their going to load state institutions with their buddies, the last act of a dyeing dog.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Jan 15th 2016, 12:22 PM

He is also the least competent to take the role, as it for years has presided over high pension charges and low returns, under the chair of the previous banking chairs. This guy is a vested interest (in himself), no interest in putting society before himself, and to his own admission has nothing in common with the role. We would be as well appointing a Donegal store manager to the arts council, but that would be cronyism, apparently.

Mute Robbie Redmond
    Favourite Robbie Redmond
    Jan 15th 2016, 12:29 PM

This is the payback for keeping Ictu in line and the others are queuing up waiting for their treacherous paybacks

Mute David Breese
    Favourite David Breese
    Jan 15th 2016, 12:39 PM

@Al ca- If what you say is true, that the role is just a rubber stamp, then all the righteous indignation at Labour, his appointment and his salary should really be directed at the fact that the position exists in the first place. I say this as someone who is not a supporter of Labour and not a member of a union.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jan 15th 2016, 1:11 PM

David….someone has to make decisions between options being placed in front of the advisory board…he will not make them alone but will have input along with the rest of the board, that said, if the pensions go ‘down the toilet’ there will be no repercussions as we don’t do ‘responsibility’ in Ireland, he’ll still get his 20k a year no matter what happens….there is no performance related pay…..if there was most of these guys would end up owning us money.

Mute shane o malley
    Favourite shane o malley
    Jan 15th 2016, 1:13 PM

If he had any credibility he would walk away not pushed,,optics of this look terrible

Mute LesBehan
    Favourite LesBehan
    Jan 15th 2016, 1:26 PM

Oh you should have heard him on Newstalk ” Oh woe is me, they are all picking on me”. Pathetic!

Mute Mary King
    Favourite Mary King
    Jan 15th 2016, 1:38 PM

Em, it was Labour who appointed him

Mute The Guru
    Favourite The Guru
    Jan 15th 2016, 1:45 PM

The scary thing is this isn’t just some harmless quango, this is one of the biggest issues facing the country. Not a lot of people understand the magnitude of the pensions problem Ireland has so it’s imperative that the right people are appointed. Instead Joan goes and sorts out one of her mates. Boils my blood.

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Jan 15th 2016, 2:15 PM

People exist on less!!!!

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Jan 15th 2016, 2:16 PM

Than 10k a year

Mute Pat.F.
    Favourite Pat.F.
    Jan 15th 2016, 2:20 PM

Shame on you

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jan 15th 2016, 5:39 PM

Joan Burton “Gerry Adams blah,blah,blah,IRA blah, blah blah.”

Jan 15th 2016, 6:00 PM

Haha Paige, work? What work? Get real willya

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 15th 2016, 6:22 PM

Shane Ross was a bank adviser ffs

how can he criticize anyone else in any party ????

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Jan 15th 2016, 7:19 PM

most people burst their asses working a 40/50 hour week to earn 20,000. Take off the blinkers and see it for what it is naked political pay back

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Jan 15th 2016, 8:01 PM

How is FF involved in this

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Jan 15th 2016, 10:00 PM

Watch out for may more strokes in the next few weeks Where is the Boss ?Enda in all of this

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jan 15th 2016, 10:21 PM

You mean where’s Wally.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:57 PM

He has no credibility or honour just an other “SLEEVEEN”

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:59 PM

Her and her government have STOLEN €4 yes €4 BILLION out of your and mine private pensions. Please do not forget this.

Mute Tommy Griffin
    Favourite Tommy Griffin
    Jan 16th 2016, 8:07 AM

Almost a pensioners weekly ration

Mute Michael Barrett
    Favourite Michael Barrett
    Jan 16th 2016, 2:11 PM

http://www.askaboutmoney.com/threads/prime-time-on-public-service-union-appointed-avc-providers-vs-notional-service.96883/

The unions looked after their friends in cornmarket on the backs of ordinary members.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:12 AM

So he’s leaving up to Moany to do a u turn that’ll make her look more foolish than she already is..basically he’s covering his ass but has every intention of taking up the post. Usual Punch and Judy show associated with this clique.

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Jan 15th 2016, 3:29 PM

Begg did ask Burton why there was no interviews for the “vacancy”and now a Waterford Labour TD has called Burton out.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 15th 2016, 5:30 PM

So next week the government will vote and support Joan Burton. So it will be a vote that labour and fg support this type of behaviour and have no problem with cronyism. Great message before general election. Not surprising .

Mute Kevin Mernagh
    Favourite Kevin Mernagh
    Jan 15th 2016, 7:07 PM

Plus expenses which will probably double the 20k

Jan 15th 2016, 7:13 PM

You’re dead right littleone. It’ll be sickening watching the media after though when we’ll probably see labour td after labour td trying to put a positive spin on it, overwhelming support, and whatever else bs, etc.etc.etc.

Mute R39CRW8f
    Favourite R39CRW8f
    Jan 15th 2016, 7:17 PM

@Christy

The only thing that Waterford TD has done in 5 years in office.

Looking at you Ciara Conway TD. A mannequin would have done more for the people of Ireland.

Mute Finbarr Barry
    Favourite Finbarr Barry
    Jan 15th 2016, 7:23 PM

Ciara CONway is only looking after her self as usual, useless TD and hope she looses her seat after the GE

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 15th 2016, 8:22 PM

I have total confidence in Joan Burton’s determination and commitment to support FG, no matter how much damage FG policies and actions will perpetrate on lower income families.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:13 PM

I have total confidence that IRA/SF and AAA will attack the labour Party at every opportunity to try to take their voting base.

Mute Francid Dooley
    Favourite Francid Dooley
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:48 PM

The game continues

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:19 PM

The Labour Party are traitors. Joan Burton is a traitor.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Jan 16th 2016, 2:51 AM

It will be difficult for Joan to make a U turn with her broom up her arse!

Mute patrick gilmartin
    Favourite patrick gilmartin
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:57 AM

In typical Oirsh form the good David has managed to make himself out as the hapless victim with the €20.000 a year being forcefully stuffed into his oversized pockets ? F##K off Begg yourself and Joan were caught emptying the till before the voters catch up with ye.

Mute Mick Hannigan
    Favourite Mick Hannigan
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:13 AM

Look after yourselves labour and screw the people,

Mute Peter King
    Favourite Peter King
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:22 AM

Think that’s every party’s motto once they’re in government

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:33 AM

Blame Shane Ross I see?
    Gerry will be disappointed

Mute Armin Tamzarian
    Favourite Armin Tamzarian
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:40 AM

I heard him on the radio – it’s not illegal was his excuse. For God’s sake – they cannot even see when they are out of line! No one said it was illegal – but it flew in the face of what they said they would do, ie advertise. If he wouldn’t have gone for it if it was advertised, then maybe he doesn’t have the necessary interest to do it!

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:54 AM

Good try Christy a very valuable point thanks for your input.

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Jan 15th 2016, 12:27 PM

Yeah, Armin… He’d hasn’t got one job in his life from an interview, so he would have no chance in a public interview! I don’t know what he’s talking about not having public appointments (aer lingus, central bank etc…), unless he is so out of touch, he thinks these are companies his matters in labour started? God knows.

Mute Declan Hickey
    Favourite Declan Hickey
    Jan 15th 2016, 10:16 AM

Just when I think Labour cant’t screw up anymore. BANG!

Mute Brendan
    Favourite Brendan
    Jan 15th 2016, 5:41 PM

Joan is doing a great job all on her own sinking labour to the point it’s like something out of the Simpsons on how not to lead a party and I’m more than happy to see it

Jan 15th 2016, 5:58 PM

Buryon demonstrating how corrupt politics have become. Are you going to vote this useless, , self-serving , liar and her crooked party back in again? People like her ensure that I have more respect for something nasty I find on my shoe than our fat cat TDs

Jan 15th 2016, 5:58 PM

Burton….. Big fingers, little keyboard…….

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 15th 2016, 8:25 PM

Joan Burton, funeral undertaker for the Labour Party.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:15 PM

Fiona deFreyne – mouthpiece for IRA/SF

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 15th 2016, 10:45 PM

Never supported Sinn Fein or the IRA. I did vote for Labour in the last General Election. But I now realise how foolish I was to vote for Labour. Labout won’t fool me twice.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:43 PM

Stretching it there PowerFGy…never known Fiona to support SF.
    Try again your not fooling anyone with your deflection using the stupid FG tactic of calling every objector shinner.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jan 16th 2016, 12:02 AM

Al / Fiona / Paul etc. I know that you think that everyone who challenges IRA/SF is a FG supporter. I know that you post claptrap stating ” I have never voted IRA/SF before – I voted Labour – but never again” Do you honestly think that anyone but your cult believes this. We know that this is orchestrated from Parnell Square.

Incidentally in my constituency I gave my number one to the labour candidate in the last election and I’m happy that the key deliverables have been produced – jobs and stability.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jan 16th 2016, 12:32 AM

Mmm, Powerabby, I myself voted Labour in the last election hoping that they could make a difference. Just for the record the only time I have been in Parnell square was for the birth of my children in the Rotunda. Labour indeed did make a difference, but alas the difference was they sold out the principles of their founding members .I have in the past voted Fianna Fail though never Fine Gael as you well know they have a tendency to look after the wealthy and the big farmers. You are right in one thing and that is I’m going to vote Sinn Fein as thus far they have not endangered the future of my children and my grandchildren.

Mute Tommy Griffin
    Favourite Tommy Griffin
    Jan 16th 2016, 6:51 AM

Here’s your brother Paul cheers

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Jan 16th 2016, 9:44 AM

Normal claptrap as stated.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jan 16th 2016, 10:30 AM

Poor PowerFGy in a spin :D….claiming to be a Labour supporter :D

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:19 AM

He says 20k is hardly a crock of gold, to add insult to injury , this is what is rotten with Union and labour politics , 600k a year union bosses sneering at 20k a year handy number for whatever favour, representing or allegedly representing the interests and rights of people who actually work .

Mute Captain kirk
    Favourite Captain kirk
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:21 AM

It’s more than a minimum wage job, it just shows you his mentality

Mute Em Ni Mhurchu
    Favourite Em Ni Mhurchu
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:36 AM

I have to say Gerry there were lots of things about this appointment that made me sick but hearing him sneering at €100,000 over 5 years added insult to injury. How many people would give anything for the opportunity to earn this much???? Disgusting!!!

Jan 15th 2016, 9:39 AM

It’s more than my daughter makes a year.

Mute Captain kirk
    Favourite Captain kirk
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:45 AM

The union mandarins wouldn’t get out of bed for less than 6 figures

Mute Shane Hogan
    Favourite Shane Hogan
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:59 AM

What union bosses are on €600k a year, Gerry?

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jan 15th 2016, 10:10 AM

Don’t worry Shane…I’m sure someone at home will explain to you what a six figure sum means….maybe.

Mute Shane Hogan
    Favourite Shane Hogan
    Jan 15th 2016, 10:29 AM

Gerry didn’t say “six figure sum” – Gerry said “€600k a year”. I think it’s Gerry that you need to be explaining things to, Al.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Jan 15th 2016, 2:44 PM

Him Shane , the figures were in the indo last year, none of them sued before you ask about my source , all the top ones and some you never heard of , all on between 400k and if memory serves Our friend was on 620k . Open to correction .

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Jan 15th 2016, 2:50 PM

Just checked 140k plus expenses , me bad , I’ll run a whip round for him.

Mute Shane Hogan
    Favourite Shane Hogan
    Jan 15th 2016, 2:57 PM

You were only off target by about 75% then Gerry. And 165 fools green-thumbed it without noticing the obvious mistake. Nice work again from the Journal commentariat.

Mute Gerry Campbell
    Favourite Gerry Campbell
    Jan 15th 2016, 3:04 PM

A they will be grand there Shane with you on duty. I think they may have been thumbing the actual sentiment , it’s not Vincent Brown stuff here you know,shur who would we here from then only ” planted” commentators.

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 15th 2016, 6:27 PM

@ Captain kirk

KKKKKKhhhhhhhhhhaaaaaaaaannnnnnnn!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mute Captain kirk
    Favourite Captain kirk

Pure corruption and nothing else. The hypocrisy is sickening

Mute Finn Mc Cool
    Favourite Finn Mc Cool
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:49 AM

Hypocrisy is endemic in all our political parties…so where do we go from here ?

Mute Captain kirk
    Favourite Captain kirk
    Jan 15th 2016, 2:30 PM

Revolution baby!

Mute IrishGravyTrain
    Favourite IrishGravyTrain

The Labour Party have been on some power trip. Gone straight to their heads and have lost all sense of reality.

Mute Kevin Mullen
    Favourite Kevin Mullen
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:20 AM

Worse then fianna fail in their day, at least with them what you see is what you get, gangsters in suits but burtons mob are worse

Mute Cupid Stunt
    Favourite Cupid Stunt
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:34 AM

I’m delighted cos it shows up the Labour party for what they are, the cheek of them, it’s good ammunition to fire at any Labour candidates knocking at your door to say that they’re in a party that’s open to cronyism and that’s why I’m not voting for you.

Mute EDDIE BARRETT
    Favourite EDDIE BARRETT

I noted that in the RTE radio interview , he appeared to have a Beag only with Shane Ross TD , only , criticism of iPhone Joans cronyism Appointment of him – he completely ignored the other Hundreds of notable people, who criticised the strokery on the part of Liebour and their old Boys Club corruption ?

Of course this tool of cronyism and political corruption should step aside – immediately!

His Party Liebour will be practically redundant anyway – post Election !!!

Mute EDDIE BARRETT
    Favourite EDDIE BARRETT

‘A beef only’

Mute Darragh O'Connell
    Favourite Darragh O'Connell
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:48 AM

*Labour

Mute EDDIE BARRETT
    Favourite EDDIE BARRETT
    Jan 15th 2016, 10:10 AM

Darragh – LIEBOUR – the Party of lies – ask Pat Rabbitte ?

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:42 AM

If this doesn’t shine a light on extremely suspicious role allocation – the fact that she gave the job to someone who doesn’t even really want it (seriously, if you think about that for a second… all her talk about how he’s the best man for the job and he says he wouldn’t even have put himself forward for it) – then literally nothing will.

Mute Luke Sarpish
    Favourite Luke Sarpish

Any picture of Joan makes me want to vomit.

Mute Not_Rod_Ten©
    Favourite Not_Rod_Ten©
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:10 AM

Money for old rope

Mute Podge
    Favourite Podge

Of course he’s not going to be driven out…there’s public money he wants to get his corrupt hands on

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:14 AM

The Liebour way…

Mute SilentFugitive
    Favourite SilentFugitive
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:49 AM

Go on the Labour, suckle like mad at the state teat because you know you’re going to be pulled away from it very soon!!

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Jan 15th 2016, 12:12 PM

Begg and he’s other bearded friend jack o Connor of siptu are just as responsible as cowen and noonan for the misery and heaped on taxes people are facing, they are part of the cosy cartel that have their snouts in the trough while everyone else scrimps and scrapes , shame on the lot of them!

Mute Christopher
    Favourite Christopher
    Jan 15th 2016, 10:33 AM

Part of union members subs go to the Labour Party so it’s pay back time

Mute james walsh
    Favourite james walsh
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:28 AM

You can get a form off your union rep to stop your part of the donation going to liebour, I did 4 years ago. #nofgliebour

Mute Alien8
    Favourite Alien8
    Jan 15th 2016, 12:33 PM

Or you can just so paying your union fees altogether? Are you guys allowed to do that? Look at how much goes straight to union employees (not representatives) like begg, o’connor and king and you would appreciate leaving.

Mute whitecross
    Favourite whitecross
    Jan 15th 2016, 6:29 PM

Some unions dont give anything to Labour party traitors ,If you are in a union check to see where their political contributions go to ,also you can stop your political contributions .

Mute Sternn
    Favourite Sternn
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:53 AM

Begg is proving the ICTU is corrupt as the IFA.

Mute Brian Healy
    Favourite Brian Healy
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:41 AM

Same sh!t different day with this lot. Can they also explain how Apple owes 19 billion in tax??? And they are taxing us to the bo!!ox.

Mute Flick Lit Partizan
    Favourite Flick Lit Partizan
    Jan 15th 2016, 1:35 PM

He was on the central bank board that didn’t regulate during the property bubble and subsequent bank collapse. So what exactly is he bringing to his new role, the kiss of death?

Mute The Throwaway
    Favourite The Throwaway
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:52 AM

Like every government before this one, come close to election time they fill all the state board and quangos they can with their own supporters and those in lieu of favours. FG & LAB are not alone in this; FF/Greens/PDs all did it as well.

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Jan 16th 2016, 9:00 PM

That is very true. Again we were led to believe things wood b very different under Enda, Gilmore all new politics. Lol

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jan 15th 2016, 2:24 PM

Alan Kelly, Joan Burton should not be members of labour party, their agenda is far removed from a labour party’s,which is to protect the working classes and the vulnerable, they hammered both over 5 years,labour will be wiped out in GE because of them.

Mute Roger Clarke
    Favourite Roger Clarke
    Jan 15th 2016, 12:36 PM

Why is it that we can’t get appointees with the relevant competencies and proven track record? Labour’s appointment demonstrate a staggering lack of interest in what’s best for the county and it’s people. We pay a lot tax but in terms of bang for our bucks we receive less than mediocrity. In fact what we receive are the crumbs left after the establishment have filled their snouts and that’s just to keep the peasants from revolting.

Mute Joseph Dempsey
    Favourite Joseph Dempsey
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:49 AM

Hilarious to think someone so astute could be so naive, just because you didn’t want the job doesn’t make it right that you were firstly offered it and secondly graciously accepted it. Got to comment on morning Ireland’s streaming service. It is usually hilarious. Gavin “sorry Doctor ” Jennings seems to be continuously chewing the cudd, Brian the news reader seems to only have one shirt, short sleeved no less and poor Audrey seems to think she’s living in Alaska, seems she has 3 layers of clothes. Finally there is the historical Fiona Kelly who seems to get very excitable at the end of her what the papers say segment. Anyone who hasn’t watched needs to see this comedy show. Perhaps RTE management should tell these presenters the program is streamed live. This all said, Killan Shanly,s voice is quite simply the sexiest on Radio :-)

Mute Pat.F.
    Favourite Pat.F.
    Jan 15th 2016, 2:18 PM

Can’t wait to meet Labour at my door

Mute Tommy Griffin
    Favourite Tommy Griffin
    Jan 16th 2016, 7:01 AM

I won’t be letting them anywhere near my door, roll on the election

Mute TheMoriartyTribunal
    Favourite TheMoriartyTribunal
    Jan 15th 2016, 1:25 PM

You’ll pay for this cronyism labour/RNU!

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    Jan 15th 2016, 2:33 PM

Twenty grand a year may not be a crock of gold to Beggs but I know that every pensioner in this country would love to be so lucky. But then of course, Joan doesn’t care about them. The old Labour Party did.

Mute Rashers Tierney
    Favourite Rashers Tierney
    Jan 15th 2016, 1:32 PM

If it isn’t a job he would have liked or applied for, what’s his problem? It wouldn’t be for the extra twenty grand p.a. Plus whatever expenses attach to it, which might have attracted him? This reeks of corruption and unjust preferment. I remember his performance for postal workers in the eighties – could speak volumes on it but will forbear. suffice it to say that no advances were gained and the posties were induced to give up their valuable civil service status (with civil service pension rights) for a pittance. Also, remember Bertie’ “benchmarking coup? Posties were benchmarked, but got nothing owing to “inability to pay”. Quelle surprise.

Mute Simon Williamson
    Favourite Simon Williamson
    Jan 15th 2016, 12:41 PM

It’s hard to credit that whit all that’s now known about the union pigs at the trough with their Government cronies, some deluded fools still pay over some of their wages to these con artists. A fool and his money etc…

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    Jan 15th 2016, 1:17 PM

All credit to Ciara Conway for her comments on rte yesterday. What a pity more politicians don’t give such straight answers to thorny questions.

Mute Matt Black
    Favourite Matt Black
    Jan 15th 2016, 6:18 PM

Ciara trying desperately to save her seat in Waterford , won’t work I’m afraid , Her and Paudie Coffey look likely to loose their seat , the real vote of confidence will come in a few weeks

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Jan 15th 2016, 5:04 PM

Well if fg tds vote confidence in her, or even labour tds,punish them in GE.

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Jan 15th 2016, 3:18 PM

However, he says he won’t be forced out of the job by political opponents of the party.

I dont oppose the party. But I dont think he should have taken the job.

What I find odd is that labour want to shed the unions (check pat rabbittte on the subject). But on the other hand they have no problem appointing union people to posts like this.Very confusing

Mute Anthony Halpin
    Favourite Anthony Halpin
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:12 AM

Oh dear. Shane Ross wouldn’t be into moonlighting at all now, would he? Books, Stock market, journalism … not to mention his invader heritage.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:14 AM

Shane 10 jobs Ross

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:29 AM

Does that excuse Joan and this blatant type of cronyism? Really . cop on.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:38 AM

Labour cronyism jobs.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:43 AM

So…no one should be allowed to write books or opinion pieces for newspapers in their spare time or do other stuff they enjoy. Sit and do nothing other than your day job…..and watch the world burn from the sidelines…..OK

Mute Joe Phillips
    Favourite Joe Phillips
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:44 AM

Way to wreck your own credibility there, Anthony

Mute Paul Lanigan
    Favourite Paul Lanigan
    Jan 15th 2016, 10:04 AM

Attacking Ross doesn’t exonerate Joan of Snark

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jan 15th 2016, 10:27 AM

It’s always the ploy when someone highlights wrongdoing. Attack the person. Look at Catherine Murphy td. Sad but true.

Mute Matt Black
    Favourite Matt Black
    Jan 15th 2016, 10:35 AM

Good morning Tom , i see your still gnawing on that bone lol

Mute johnr
    Favourite johnr
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:07 AM

Union rules.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Jan 15th 2016, 6:10 PM

Yeah attack the ‘messenger’ while attempting deflection from the ‘message’ itself. See you have been studying Joan and Enid at the Dail chamber.

Mute Enda Kenny
    Favourite Enda Kenny
    Jan 15th 2016, 6:24 PM

@ Anthony Halpin

shane Ross is the closest thing we have to a Brit in our government

to hear him speak in Leinster house makes my skin crawl especially in 2016

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Jan 15th 2016, 5:24 PM

Good luck getting an honest….or even an answer at all from Burton during question time. More attacks on Sinn Fein I’d say. All deflect with Mrs Moan.

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Jan 15th 2016, 5:38 PM

It would be kinda funny to watch the government fall within spitting distance of a GE….

Mute whitecross
    Favourite whitecross
    Jan 15th 2016, 6:20 PM

Joan had to move Begg on to the board as a thank you for keeping some of the unions in line and silent ,Begg is a lapdog for Liebour and for selling out his union members this is her thanks

Mute Bob McShane
    Favourite Bob McShane
    Jan 15th 2016, 4:05 PM

It always strikes me as odd that, in a democratic state, it is normal to have leaders of major unions who are unelected and retain their positions for as long as they want, regardless of any other positions they may hold, which in a political context would be seen as a conflict of interest. I may be wrong about this. If so, inform away.

Mute Maureen Stanford
    Favourite Maureen Stanford
    Jan 15th 2016, 5:36 PM

Hope she gets kicked out any one who votes for that bit+h is mad

Jan 15th 2016, 7:16 PM

“That Dáil Éireann has no confidence in the Tánaiste and Minister for Social Protection.” In fairness most of Ireland has no confidence in Iphone Joan.

Mute Karl Haycock
    Favourite Karl Haycock
    Jan 15th 2016, 5:22 PM

Good – hopefully now we’ll see this one out.

Mute Jim Boland
    Favourite Jim Boland
    Jan 15th 2016, 3:15 PM

Beggs belief

Mute Con
    Favourite Con
    Jan 15th 2016, 6:32 PM

I’m convinced she does all this on purpose. No adult is so clueless

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Jan 15th 2016, 7:16 PM

The political jobs for the boys and the editor of the Indo can’t understand why we get excited about the meagre 20,000 a year plus all the freebies. Yet their are people mr begg represented earning less for working a 40 hour week. Does the man have any principles as we know politicians have none but the great highly principled Labour Party are truly exposed on this one and their media buddies ignore their judicial appointments e.t.c. This is an immoral appointment and Mr Begg just proves all these ex union officials were always on the employers side. The media have gone ease ease on these appointments . Save us from your bias.

Mute the phantom
    Favourite the phantom
    Jan 15th 2016, 6:21 PM

I believe David Begg when he says he has no interest in the job. I doubt he gives a toss what do nothing roles he gets as long as there is a few 20ks plus expenses

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Jan 15th 2016, 6:44 PM

There should be a moratorium on political appoinrments 6 months before and 3 months after an election. Might make life difficult but this is ridiculous.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Jan 15th 2016, 6:45 PM

Oh and Joan burton should resign now

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Jan 15th 2016, 5:29 PM

Expected more from Begg.

Mute Liam O Connor
    Favourite Liam O Connor
    Jan 15th 2016, 10:12 PM

No its exactly what I would have expected of begg and he’s like

Mute Wandy Wilson
    Favourite Wandy Wilson
    Jan 15th 2016, 6:59 PM

About 4 years too late

Mute Kieran
    Favourite Kieran
    Jan 15th 2016, 6:52 PM

Labour /Fg will get smashed on election day. FF will probably take a large share at their expense. They’ve acted like martyrs the past few years when the current govt took flack for FF’s initial mess. We have revolving door politics and the new coalition will cause the next bubble and it is already happening in housing sector. Just need laxed lending from banks and Doc Brown will walk through the door proclaiming ‘where this country is going, we don’t need roads.’

Mute John Mullan
    Favourite John Mullan
    Jan 15th 2016, 7:34 PM

It’s the vote of no confidence by the electorate I would worry about if I was Joan

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Jan 15th 2016, 7:48 PM

If Beggs had any cop-on he’d resign !

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 15th 2016, 7:41 PM

Joan Burton, compassionate for the poor and under privileged, humane, defender of the underdog, passionate devotee of social justice, true socialist and promoter of increased taxes for the wealthy.

Mute Colm Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Colm Fitzpatrick
    Jan 15th 2016, 7:32 PM

#aconfederacyofdunces

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Jan 15th 2016, 8:00 PM

I think Tanaiste and Mr Beg get the reason for people’s anger. Were they not against cronyism in the past. As for Mr Cleg saying he won’t step down because of opposition from other parties, is this not a state board….not a party board.

Mute Alan Long
    Favourite Alan Long
    Jan 15th 2016, 8:11 PM

So let’s get this straight for brain dead people – ie FF, FG,LB people on here, and before you mention the other parties, lets not cause they don’t have a record of this – yet. The unions are there and paid for by (“muppets” let’s come to those later) of this country to represent their best interests – right ! – the government are their go take off the people by cutting etc etc – right ! Now burton gives this clown a very obvious brown envelope as a thank you for keeping their “muppets” mouths shut ! – it’s the people that pay the unions in the first place that should be ashamed of themselves – like you pay for this ! Serves you right – if this is not a “us unions work for the government are controlled by the government and your all muppets for paying us but we will keep taking your money cause you are all brain dead muppets” message then as the yanks would say go figure ! ANYONE that pays unions money should be ashamed of themselves – I have more respect for bacteria !

Mute Geoff Bateman
    Favourite Geoff Bateman
    Jan 15th 2016, 8:32 PM

The only labour we will see after the general election….is a pregnant woman giving birth

Mute Michael Reilly
    Favourite Michael Reilly
    Jan 15th 2016, 8:49 PM

In the course of his interview on radio this morning Begg outlined all the Directorships he held in the past. One I think was the Irish Times Charitable Trust. Anyone know is the Irish Times a registered charity and how or why.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 15th 2016, 8:26 PM

Joan has done a Burton on the Labour Party.

The Labour Party is gone for a Burton.

Mute David A. Murray
    Favourite David A. Murray
    Jan 16th 2016, 4:38 AM

Burton has had a disasterous 2016 and it’s only 15 days old.

Mute Roger Clarke
    Favourite Roger Clarke
    Jan 15th 2016, 8:38 PM

Why can’t we just shoot labour? It’d save a fortune on pensions and unvouched expenses.

Mute Chris Boyd
    Favourite Chris Boyd
    Jan 16th 2016, 12:02 AM

“People Before Profit has condemned Joan Burton’s decision to appoint the former ICTU General Secretary, David Begg, to the post of chairperson of the Pensions Committee. The part time post carries a salary of €20,000 a year and ensures that Mr Begg will earn €100,000 over the five year period of his appointment. Bríd Smith,a People Before Profit spokesperson said, “This appointment is a disgraceful example of old style patronage. Since 2011, there is supposed to be a new system in place whereby positions on state boards must be advertised and the Public Appointment Service then assess candidates who apply against transparent procedures. “In the dying days of her administration, Joan Burton has invoked an exception clause to circumvent this procedure. She has behaved exactly the same as Fianna Fáil Ministers did in the past in rewarding their allies. “In the absence of a clear appointment procedure it is perfectly legitimate to question if David Begg is being rewarded for the role he played in getting the trade union movement to accept the pro-austerity social partnership agreements which were detrimental to workers. “Under his reign as ICTU General Secretary, the unions agreed to the loss of 35,000 public sector jobs and cuts in pay that averaged 16% for public sector workers. “Mr Begg had previously served on the board of the Central Bank and did not openly speak out about the Central Bank’s failure to condemn the insane behaviour of Irish banks. “Workers will have little confidence that David Begg will represent their interests on the Pension Board. “But the Labour Party will be happy that their outlook will be well represented”.

Mute sportsmad
    Favourite sportsmad
    Jan 16th 2016, 8:00 AM

There is a vote of no confidence in Joan Burton coming up by a bigger group than the Dáil shortly, the GE. If Begg had any connection to ordinary working people he would withdraw luckily for him he is the head of a large Union and doesn’t have to worry about real people.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Jan 16th 2016, 12:15 AM

Maybe some Labour TD’S might vote in favour of the amendment collapse this evil government in the hope of saving their own skin because as we all know Labour are finished PG.

Mute Tony Hartigan
    Favourite Tony Hartigan
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:53 PM

Wondering how he proposes to get this gangster government to return the €4 yes €4 BILLION they stole from private pension funds !.

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew
    Jan 15th 2016, 10:36 PM

I keep putting up comments about getting rid of Joan burton. Am I the only one who can see her for what she is?

The dawn raids by loads of Gardai arresting the water protesters is but one example.

If for no other reason this business of appointing him to the pensions job should be enough. Just before a general election. There should be an offence on the books called being a complete fool.

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Jan 15th 2016, 11:22 PM

Has Joan Burton been bribed by Fine Gael to destroy the Labour Party and to ensure that FG gets the former Labour vote?

Mute KevJ
    Favourite KevJ
    Jan 15th 2016, 7:40 PM

What’s the point of a motion of no coincidence its going to lose. Be better off using the dail time to pass some laws that are outstanding.

Jan 15th 2016, 7:53 PM

So people if they pay attention will know what is going on and remember in the coming election?

Mute Andrew Dowling
    Favourite Andrew Dowling
    Jan 15th 2016, 9:40 AM

Why would you accept a job that you are not interested in, nor would volunteer for?

Mute Kieron Murphy
    Favourite Kieron Murphy
    Jan 15th 2016, 10:40 PM

It is situations like this that confirms what we all know about this government a shower of people looking after them and theres massive wages and expenses how big will the whole package be worth i.e expenses,pensions and car