You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

“We told the drivers: if you can go, keep going": What happens behind the scenes at Dublin Bus

Ever wondered what goes into taking a bus journey? We went behind the scenes to find out.

IT’S EARLY ON a Monday afternoon and things are quiet before the lunchtime rush at Dublin Bus’s central control and operations building.

Based in a modular set-up deep within the Dublin Bus base in Phibsborough, the office is surrounded by, of course, buses – and the sound of roadworks.

The new Luas line servicing Grangegorman is being noisily laid down right next door, but it’s business as usual inside central control.

dub bus

Inside, a TV screen flickers above one of the central command pods. Each pod houses up to eight staff. “On a really busy day, you nearly wouldn’t be able to hear yourself thinking,” says Joe Stobie, Area Operations Manager at central control, as the screen above him changes to show CCTV footage of yet another busy Dublin road.

A controller called Mark Drew flicks through the different CCTV channels. In one location, a fly crawls across the screen. Seconds later, two starlings are captured happily staring out at a different vista below them.

“You couldn’t get this nature if you tried,” chips in Drew, who’s one of the staff members that keeps an eye on what every bus in the fleet is up to. Access to the 368 Dublin City Council street cameras means that the controllers’ eyes can be everywhere.

They can tell when a bus route needs to be diverted, can phone a driver when a road gets blocked, or give someone a push when they need to get to their next bus stop on time. With a 900-strong fleet, it’s essential that every bus can be accounted for.

IMG_7096

Tracking a journey

This neat modular building is where every single bus is tracked from the beginning of its journey, as it travels along its route picking up passengers from the city streets and depositing them at their destination.

An AVL – auto vehicle location – system on each bus sends information back to the staff in central control, who can watch as the buses make their journeys. Every time a bus stops, it’s logged. Every time a door opens, it’s logged.

“He’s two minutes behind where he should be,” says Mark Drew as he points to a coloured box (which represents a bus) travelling along the screen. The box turns yellow when a bus is three minutes behind; it turns orange when the bus is up to five minutes ahead. If it turns red, that means it has no layover time once it reaches the terminus.

Real-time information

There’s a real-time passenger information (RTPI) display unit at central control, so that staff can see what passengers see.

These displays are what passengers’ journeys hinge on – they depend on them to get to their destination quickly. They need the time on them to be correct.

IMG_7101

That’s what the AVL system is for: to update the RTPI so that the time is real-time information. When you’re waiting for a bus and the display says three minutes, then changes to five, that’s because the AVL has let controllers know that the bus is delayed.

There were 119 million customers carried by Dublin Bus in 2014, meaning there are thousands of people every day who count on this RTPI to be as up-to-date as possible.

To try and make their journeys even speedier, Dublin Bus is currently taking part in a Traffic Light Priority project. It’s working with DCC and the National Transport Authority to get green light priority for buses in parts of the capital.

Under the pilot project, some traffic lights will detect the buses approaching, and hold a green light for them. So far, it’s seeing positive results.

A learning curve

All of Dublin Bus’s control rooms were centralised to Phibsborough in 2009, and in the past few years they’ve moved from the old notebooks and radio system to the AVL system.

This meant retraining tens of staff, some of whom had never used a computer before, in a brand new system. It was a “huge learning curve”, says Stobie.

But the benefits were also huge: “Now you can see absolutely everything.” What controllers do hasn’t changed, he says – the tools have changed.

The data picked up through the system is reviewed every two to three weeks, and is 96% accurate, the company says. The reason the data is analysed is so the RTPI info is correct. They review how long each bus is taking on its route, and the factors influencing this (like roadworks or diversions) and adjust times accordingly.

Dublin Bus meet up with DCC and the Luas operators regularly to discuss any issues, like a junction that needs to be widened, or roadworks that are causing delays.

“If and when there’s something going on, all we have to do is pick up the phone and we can ask the people in DCC and they will always oblige,” says Stobie. “We have a great working relationship with them.”

IMG_7091

‘You see people doing really stupid stuff’

Watching the roads every day means that the Dublin Bus controllers have a solid idea of what not to do on Dublin’s roads.

“You get some people doing really stupid stuff,” says Stobie, pointing to CCTV footage of Upper Rathmines Road. “You could very easily get a guy coming down here with a truck and he’ll just stop in the middle of the road and start unloading.”

People often drive the wrong way down O’Connell Bridge, with coaches said to be particularly bad offenders. Then there are the yellow boxes.

“The yellow box junctions, if we could get a message out to motorists, the yellow box junctions are sacrosanct.” That’s Stobie again:

No matter what’s going on, if they stayed out of the junctions everybody would get home. But when things get really, really congested, people get panicky. And they’re the last car on the line and they just say ‘feck it, I’ll drive it into the yellow box junction’. Now, when the lights go red and they go green the other way, nobody can move.

Blocking yellow boxes is even enough to kick the city “into chaos” when the heavy snow or flooding arrives. Speaking of heavy snow, during 2010′s terrible snowfall the buses were the last form of public transport left on the streets.

“We basically just told the drivers, if you can go, keep going,” says Mark Drew.

The Mad Dash Home

Dublin Bus / YouTube

In an effort to show how much work goes into getting a bus to the bus stop, Dublin Bus has just launched a new campaign, the Mad Dash Home. It follows TV funnyman Baz Ashmawy and his mother Nancy, and is clearly inspired by the 50 Ways to Kill Your Mother show that the pair brought to the telly.

The ad follows as Baz and Nancy make the aforementioned mad dash home, Nancy on board a Dublin bus, and Baz in a race car.

There are no surprises over who makes it there first (Nancy even has time to bake a loaf of soda bread), but the focus on the Dublin Bus staff in the ad is a clever one. It anthromorphosises the company, showing that it’s not just an orange light blinking on an RTPI screen.

Social Media

matt mad dash gif

Starring in the ad is social media staff member Matt, one of the nine-strong team who deals with Dublin Bus passengers on Twitter. One person at a time monitors the Twitter page, with an aim of answering queries within an hour.

During the recent rail strike, the pressure on social media was so intense that the whole team decamped upstairs to the central control office so that queries could be answered as quickly as possible.

Matt uses the real-time bus tracker, and the Dublin Bus website, to get the right information to passengers. He can call the central control staff with any messages from passengers, or ask them what’s going on.

Embracing Twitter and Facebook (customers also contact Dublin Bus by email and phone) showed the company “that we need to be more savvy on social media”, says John Phelan, the customer services manager at Dublin Bus.

IMG_7107

“The controllers are great to come back and say ‘this is what happened, this is why there’s a gap and this is why such and such has happened’,” he says, nodding towards the multiple windows open on Matt’s computer screen.

A glance at the tweets sent to Dublin Bus shows that the staff have to deal with the ire of those who aren’t happy with the service.

Matt is sympathetic: “If you’re standing at a bus stop for 40 minutes in the rain, you’re obviously going to be annoyed. But usually we give them the information and after that they usually come back and say thanks. Some people won’t, but you can’t please everyone.”

They have regular tweeters: “You can tell from what time of day [it is] that they’re going to tweet,” says Matt. “A lot of the time they’re just checking where [the bus] is. They can ask us directly because then they know that it’s going to arrive at this time.”

The most common questions are the basic ones, like what time is my bus due, or how do I get to a certain place. There’s a huge amount of learning involved for social media staff – routes; bus stop details; the common areas that most buses go to, like hospitals.

IMG_7105

“When you come in on the first day you say, ‘Oh God, I’ll never take all of this in,” says Phelan. “But then you find that most of our customers are going to town, they’re going to shopping centres, going to hospitals, going to places they don’t normally go to.”

Twitter isn’t just for complaints. It’s also handy when people don’t want to, or can’t, talk to the bus driver. “People will tell you that an accident has happened or something has happened,” says Phelan.

Even anti-social behaviour on buses sometimes, they’ll tell you that has happened and the driver might not even know it. The driver might not see it, so we might pre-empt that, get straight on to the guards and say the bus is on such-and-such and tell the driver something is going on on the bus. If people don’t want to be seen talking to the driver, at least they know they can talk to somebody here.

A look behind the scenes at Dublin Bus shows that there’s more going on than you might realise.

Yes, there are the everyday complaints, the usual queries, the delays and the blocked-up yellow boxes, but, says Matt, there’s the broader picture too:

“There are a lot of [Dublin Bus employees] trying to get the buses through as quick as they can. And we are trying our best. It’s just the way the city is, we’re doing our best to get around it.”

Read: These are the people who know if your Dublin Bus is going to be late>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

54 Comments
    Mute f m
    Favourite f m
    Nov 7th 2015, 5:11 PM

Very slow to react to real issues though..

Over crowding on route 15 for one. Three, four, five buses driving past full. Been happening for years. No matter how many times the issue is brought up no one seems to care
    Anyone who needs a 15 anywhere near rush hour can only agree with me.

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Nov 7th 2015, 5:24 PM

Got to say that out of all the routes the 15′s have a high number of buses, it’s just a busy route which for the most part of its journey has additional routes running parallel.

Mute North Korean General
    Favourite North Korean General
    Nov 7th 2015, 5:30 PM

Very true, route 15 is an overcrowded disaster waiting to happen. You can’t get on a peak time bus no matter how hard you try.
    Why don’t Dublin Bus increase the timetable on route 15 at peak times????

Mute Neal Ireland Hello
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello
    Nov 7th 2015, 5:52 PM

Buses are supposed to be full. If they’re going around half empty, they’re being mismanaged.

Mute f m
    Favourite f m
    Nov 7th 2015, 6:02 PM

Not so full that you leave hundreds of people behind and they wait up to an hour for a 15 during rush hour ..

Mute Brian Meagher
    Favourite Brian Meagher
    Nov 7th 2015, 6:08 PM

Great article Aoife!

Very interesting & informative!
    Articles like this take time & work to put together. Proper writing!
    It gives people an insight & perspective of all that’s involved in running a city bus service.
    This is what the Journal.ie should be full of!

Mute Aoife Barry
    Favourite Aoife Barry
    Nov 7th 2015, 6:25 PM

Thanks so much, glad you enjoyed the article Brian!

Mute The Viking
    Favourite The Viking
    Nov 7th 2015, 7:12 PM

I also thought it was a good article Aiofe.. Be actually good if you could follow up with this and say pick 5 of the commenters who think DB dont know what their doing and invite them to go with you on another day and see if it changes their perspective or not. I’m sure DB managment would be welcoming.. They could perhaps write a section to see if they had a change of heart or not.

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Nov 7th 2015, 8:30 PM

Management can put all the lipsick they like on the pig, the proof of the pudding is with the commuters. Do you know anyone who leaves thei car at home and takes a bus in Dublin?

Mute Conor Doran
    Favourite Conor Doran
    Nov 7th 2015, 9:49 PM

I love exclamation marks!!!!!!!

Mute Niall O' Sullivan
    Favourite Niall O' Sullivan
    Nov 7th 2015, 5:19 PM

“Based in a modular set-up deep within the Dublin Bus base in Phibsborough,” – you can sex it up all you like and make it sound like a high-end nuclear war bunker, but in reality it’s a few blokes looking at a screen and messing on Twitter.

Mute Niall O' Sullivan
    Favourite Niall O' Sullivan
    Nov 7th 2015, 5:28 PM

with headsets, walkie talkies, free bus passes and non-stop coffee drinking. Oh, – and bird watching.

Mute Carol C.
    Favourite Carol C.
    Nov 7th 2015, 6:11 PM

‘messing on Twitter’ lol. if only you understood the responsibility and work involved in Digital Marketing and Customer Communications. It’s so much more than it looks. Additionally, taking that much aggression every day ain’t for the fainthearted and remaining incredibly professional at all times can be very testing. Worth it for the nice customers though :)

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Nov 7th 2015, 6:09 PM

Dublin bus is a million times better than it used to be but I’m lucky to have 3 different bus options into town.

The real time signs are deadly. I remember the days of standing around waiting for busses not knowing of they were coming or not. Stress me out thinking about it.

Mute Martin Walsh
    Favourite Martin Walsh
    Nov 7th 2015, 9:35 PM

I remember waiting for buses, not knowing if they were coming or not too! Today for example…

Mute Alan Kilmartin 艾伦
    Favourite Alan Kilmartin 艾伦
    Nov 8th 2015, 2:50 AM

Couldn’t agree more the difference between 5 and 10 years ago is amazing. Still not perfect though I hope they stay working on it

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Nov 7th 2015, 5:07 PM

Well that was exciting

Mute f m
    Favourite f m
    Nov 7th 2015, 5:18 PM

And that chap Matt must send that tweet reply…
    Please send details to @customerservice and we will investigate…

But if you read further into the tweets the passengers think they never investigate.

Mute The Viking
    Favourite The Viking
    Nov 7th 2015, 6:40 PM

@f m ….. Yes you are a driver and so am I.. Yet I am a positive hard working kinda guy. I try to be as safe and effecient as possible.. Where as you are the opposite. A person who doesn’t like his job, doesn’t try , runs it down at every turn. It’s drivers like you that add a lot of the problems that passengers complain about.. If you don’t like the job you know were the door is.. DB will be a much smoother operation with out your sort..

Mute The Viking
    Favourite The Viking
    Nov 7th 2015, 6:45 PM

Take a look at this comment by The Viking on the article “These are the people who know if your Dublin Bus is going to be late ” from TheJournal.ie: http://c.jrnl.ie/4408013

Mute The Viking
    Favourite The Viking
    Nov 7th 2015, 6:48 PM

Winge winge winge winge… Come on people.. Quite honest if you look at everything DB drivers have had thrown at them. The Luas works.. Roads closing.. Extra jams.. because of it.. Passenger numbers increasing .. Even the fleet is 400 buses down compared to 2008 numbers. I know theres grumpy a$$ drivers out there. Grumpy a$s people in all walks.. Just dont agree with all the stick thrown our way.. I always try to be helpful in what can be frustrating times.. Cheer up people.. Try and look at positives instead of slating all the time…

Mute f m
    Favourite f m
    Nov 7th 2015, 8:37 PM

@the Viking
    Yes I am a driver on the 15s. My safety record and indeed trip completion record are nothing short of excellent.
    And I do like my job. I get on very well with my colleagues and indeed passengers. Many people on my route know my name and I know their’s. The simple fact is I leave people behind after only three or four stops on the 15 during rush hour. That can last from anything from 30-90 minutes.
    I genuinely feel sorry for these people; as they have tickets or are trying to pay cash but it’s impossible for me to take them. My bus the bus ahead of me the bus behind me are all full.
    Im not out for a slagging match but if you are from either garage the 15 operates from and haven’t done it yet do a rest day on it and you will see.
    Of course it’s not all Dublin Bus’ fault the NTA are ultimately to blame. They now have final say on the network. The people need about 10 more buses in a 90 minute gap but the NTA deny this. The NTA is essentially the government; remember that everyone.
    I’m not sure if you are marked in or not but trust me it’s tough talking to the same people daily for the last eight years saying the exact same thing. Rightly so they just do not believe anything you say to them.

Mute f m
    Favourite f m
    Nov 7th 2015, 8:39 PM

Actually @The Viking
    I just reread your message and I am a little bit offended.
    If you wish to try find a way to private message me maybe we can compare records ?
    Passenger numbers times estimated miles driven possibly ??

You do not know me and I do not like how you described me above.

Mute The Viking
    Favourite The Viking
    Nov 7th 2015, 9:07 PM

@f m. Now if you had of wrote your 1st reply to me as your initial comment to all I would have been 1st to green thumb you. Stating the facts that its the NTA that are not allowing the xtra buses and not DB . Just felt that your initial comments were anti DB. Your reply is much better factually and you sound like a better person than what I took you for initially. So apologies for any offence caused. Just re-read your initial comments and think how there portrayed. Again. Apologies.

Nov 7th 2015, 9:15 PM

FM. As a customer I just wish the clowns in the NTA and the new CEO in Dublin Bus would take their finger out and put more buses on route 15 because I’m running out of excuses with my boss for being late!!

Mute f m
    Favourite f m
    Nov 7th 2015, 9:32 PM

Sadly North Korean general we possibly
    see each other a bit.
    I guessing your profile pic is fake though :)
    Otherwise I’d recognise you immediately !

Mute Tony Delaney
    Favourite Tony Delaney
    Nov 7th 2015, 5:37 PM

Dublin bus never seem to get it. If routes continue to go through the city center and I know a lot of them have to,then because u have so much buses and particularly taxis,the bus lanes have become clogged and its slowed down the buses to a crawl. Some of the routes have become so long that u nearly need to bring a sleeping bag with u on them ie 27,40,13,44,. More orbital routes are needed to the west of the city to link up with services coming both out from the city and into the city. It has never been a strong point for Dublin bus. They can monitor buses all they like but unless they introduce bus streets only in the city which is very unlikely or invest in orbital routes then there’s always going to be problems. U can have five buses on half an hour on any route through town but if the road space is not there then it doesn’t really matter how many buses you have. Cannot see it ever changing.

Mute Fergal fay
    Favourite Fergal fay
    Nov 7th 2015, 7:54 PM

Your right some bus routes are too long shorter routes would be easier to control and be on time more o

Mute Tony Delaney
    Favourite Tony Delaney
    Nov 7th 2015, 7:59 PM

Regardless of whether Dublin bus monitor buses or not,the problem is if u work on the north side and live on the south side or the other way around,u have no choice but to go through the city,this is the main problem,no orbital routes,except the 239 which barely crosses the Liffey. I use two of the best services going in the evening,151 and 140and it still takes 1 hour and forty minutes to do the journey. After a long days work who wants to be doing that everyday. No amount of monitoring vehicles will change that unfortunately. Orbital routes will keep us away from a totally clogged city center.

Mute Shane Bradley
    Favourite Shane Bradley
    Nov 7th 2015, 7:06 PM

I cannot believe that there are (any) favourable comments…everyday I use Dublinbus, I could add a tale of inefficiency and poor service…just today.. Was on a route, scheduled to be serviced every 15 minutes with a bus and instead had to wait over 30 mins…the timetables/schedules in my experience are aspirational, far removed from reality.
    The Real time information stretches the meaning of ‘Due’ to anything from less than 1 min to 15 mins and the buses at rush hour time are either dangerously overcrowded and/or simply fly past.
    The drivers range from down right rude to wonderfully respectful. Mind you, that in this day and age they are still expected to manage payments/ non payments is archaic. Having to ask for fares creates delays and time consuming arguments.
    In the end, the lack of proper and adequate investment in public transport in Dublin means that whatever happens in the modular office, it will only ‘paper over the cracks’ of a service that is highly inadequate… And all stakeholders (Drivers, customers & managers) know this…
    And to add insult to injury, fares just keep going up… Making the system less affordable/ convenient and attractive for potential users.

Mute Martin Walsh
    Favourite Martin Walsh
    Nov 7th 2015, 8:33 PM

…. Is this a joke!?

Dublin Bus don’t have a central control unit. Dublin bus do not have a “modular set-up” staffed with anyone who has the slightest interest in providing a half decent service. If Dublin bus has all this technology to pin point exactly where all buses are at any given time, why is the service so terrible?

Real time information is a great idea!!! That is until a 10 minute wait for your next bus turns into a 30 minute wait and 3-4 buses turn up at once, or just not at all!

I think Mark Drews’ quote was cut short above, the complete version is “…told the drivers, if you can go, keep going. Of course if it’s your lunch time or you didn’t realise that your shift finishes ten minutes into the journey you’re about to start, remember to kick everyone off the bus at a random stop and make them wait another 30 minutes for the next bus.”

But I love to hear that Dublin bus are paying people to sit at a monitor and “watch people doing really stupid stuff”. This is a dream job! I’d love to get paid to watch you’ve been framed all day!!

They didn’t pay you enough to write this, Aofie

Mute Andrew Weir
    Favourite Andrew Weir
    Nov 7th 2015, 9:40 PM

Talking from your backside.
    There is a Central Control staffed by a fantastic bunch of lads and lasses who do a great job.
    Problem is the travelling public have been spoiled by the frequency of services so when they have to wait 5 minutes they start throwing tantrums.
    Haters be hating.

Mute Martin Walsh
    Favourite Martin Walsh
    Nov 7th 2015, 9:45 PM

Yes, of course the people who use the service are the problem. All organisations should exist to serve themselves, and not their customers. Work in the public sector by any chance Andrew?

5 mins for a bus!? wow, I’d love to be on your bus route!

Mute Andrew Weir
    Favourite Andrew Weir
    Nov 7th 2015, 10:00 PM

Still talking from your backend.
    Ask visitors to this country what they think of our bus service and the response you’ll get will be overwhelmingly positive. Unless it’s the Japanese of course. Nothing will beat their transport :-)

Mute Martin Walsh
    Favourite Martin Walsh
    Nov 7th 2015, 10:08 PM

Well I really hope you enjoy your visit to Dublin, Andrew.

Unfortunately, those of us who use the service on a daily basis know how terrible a service it really is.

Mute Del
    Favourite Del
    Nov 7th 2015, 5:27 PM

You are doing a very bad job, dublin bus is an overpriced mess

Mute lotto blotto
    Favourite lotto blotto
    Nov 7th 2015, 5:40 PM

I don’t agree @Del. The time displays are a great addition and it’s a company that appears to be moving quickly with the technology times. More improvement needed for sure but certainly going in a good direction.

Mute Fergal fay
    Favourite Fergal fay
    Nov 7th 2015, 7:56 PM

Talking shite as usual Del

Mute Carol C.
    Favourite Carol C.
    Nov 7th 2015, 6:12 PM

Can we have a moment for Matt’s awesome moustache.

Mute Andrew Weir
    Favourite Andrew Weir
    Nov 7th 2015, 6:52 PM

Rubbish about giving a driver a “push” to get to next stop on time.
    Control will NEVER advise a driver to push on or make up time. NEVER.
    Screen over drivers head will advise if driver is AHEAD of schedule or on time.

Mute John Strahan
    Favourite John Strahan
    Nov 7th 2015, 5:42 PM

What a load of boll@cks. Route 16, the 17.15 left early, the 17.30 arrived 9 minutes late. And this despite two buses parked across the road, at the terminus, that just fu¢ked off.

Mute Mark Ryan
    Favourite Mark Ryan
    Nov 7th 2015, 5:52 PM

What?

Nov 7th 2015, 6:04 PM

That’s Siptu in Summerhill garage for problems on route 16

Mute Matty Reese
    Favourite Matty Reese
    Nov 7th 2015, 8:20 PM

I have travelled on public buses in many European city’s. None came close to being as poor as Dublin Bus.
    In other countrys buses run generally on timetable to every stop with a mininum of fuss. I would hold dublin bus up as an example of how public transport should not be run. Who paid the journal to write this shameless propaganda piece?
    Has the author ever used a bus?

Mute Brendan McKiernan
    Favourite Brendan McKiernan
    Nov 7th 2015, 5:37 PM

That’s one impressive tash Matts got!

Mute Wayne Kelly
    Favourite Wayne Kelly
    Nov 7th 2015, 6:12 PM

Great, all we need now is some technology to monitor some of their drivers road behaviour!!

Mute Niamhs
    Favourite Niamhs
    Nov 7th 2015, 6:02 PM

Haven’t heard anything about Dublin Bus for ages and suddenly 3 marketing things in a row.

Mute Toirdhealbhach Ó Ceallaigh
    Favourite Toirdhealbhach Ó Ceallaigh
    Nov 7th 2015, 5:49 PM

46a service is awful

Mute Bobby Fox
    Favourite Bobby Fox
    Nov 7th 2015, 6:54 PM

Whiteboards and multicolored printouts stuck to cardboard ? That command center looks so inefficient .

Mute Brian Rusk
    Favourite Brian Rusk
    Nov 7th 2015, 6:43 PM

How comes with all this technology they don’t see the busses running red lights

Mute Robert Beatty
    Favourite Robert Beatty
    Nov 7th 2015, 8:18 PM

Located deep within the phisborough depot you almost make it sound like it’s norad good article though

Mute All Aboard To China
    Favourite All Aboard To China
    Nov 7th 2015, 8:40 PM

Chancers