You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

A petrol bomb hits riot police after it was thrown by loyalist rioters in the Woodvale area of north Belfast. Peter Morrison/AP/PA

Gilmore condemns 'appalling' attacks on police in Belfast

The Tánaiste said he believed most members of the Orange Order would not condone the violence or the burning of the Irish flag.

TÁNAISTE EAMON GILMORE has today condemned those responsible for the violence which occurred during riots in Belfast over the weekend.

A number of police officers were injured when crowds of loyalists hurled missiles and petrol bombs at them. The violence kicked off after police stopped an Orange Order parade from passing through the nationalist Ardyone area during the Twelfth of July commemorations.

On Friday night alone, more than 30 officers were injured as several were knocked unconscious and one suffered from a broken jaw. The violence continued for another two nights with a number of arrests made last night.

Speaking today, Gilmore said that the attacks on police which led to over 40 in total being injured are “simply unacceptable and appalling”.

“I believe that most members of the Orange Order would not condone the sectarianism we witnessed in recent days, be that the playing of sectarian tunes outside a catholic church or the burning of the Irish flag,” he said.

It’s important to remember that over the period of the 12th there were almost 600 parades. The great majority of these passed off peacefully.  But where individuals who march behind the banners of an organisation commit blatant acts of sectarianism, it is simply not acceptable for that organisation to try to explain or condone it – or even to ignore it.  Its leaders and its members must clearly condemn it.

The Tánaiste added that Northern Ireland’s reputation had been “greatly enhanced” by last month’s G8 meeting and the scenes witnessed this weekend put this good work at risk.

He called for political efforts on both sides to focus on ensuring the scenes are not repeated and said he was hopeful that outstanding issues around parades can be worked through.

The Northern Ireland Assembly is due to meet tomorrow to discuss the violence that took place over the weekend.

Related: Petrol bombs thrown at police in Belfast for third night running>
More: Police knocked unconscious by rioters ‘wielding swords and missiles’ in Belfast>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

48 Comments
    Mute James
    Favourite James
    Jul 24th 2013, 7:13 PM

Somebody’s weekend is fcuked

Mute Ballsnall
    Favourite Ballsnall
    Jul 25th 2013, 2:43 AM

Mine an all

Mute harry ford
    Favourite harry ford
    Jul 24th 2013, 7:25 PM

As there was a potential loss of €9000 does that mean that the price of cigarettes is 75% tax?

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    Jul 24th 2013, 8:13 PM

Yes… if not more!

Mute Niall Murray
    Favourite Niall Murray
    Jul 24th 2013, 11:14 PM

As little as €15 per 200 fags in Lanzarote. Nearly €10 per 10 here… ;)

Mute John Paul O'Callaghan
    Favourite John Paul O'Callaghan
    Jul 24th 2013, 8:12 PM

So 3,000 euro of vodka would make 14,000 euro for the government. How are we in debt with economics like that?

Mute Eamon
    Favourite Eamon
    Jul 24th 2013, 7:40 PM

So its real cash, real cigarettes and counterfeit Vodka! I’d never have guessed them in that order.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Jul 24th 2013, 7:08 PM

As I said before. Legal, regulated and taxed. And still criminals smuggle them.

Mute GorillaGrower
    Favourite GorillaGrower
    Jul 24th 2013, 7:24 PM

Because of the crazy amount of tax !!

Mute Mr Jingles
    Favourite Mr Jingles
    Jul 24th 2013, 7:27 PM

And you think weed won’t be any different?

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Jul 24th 2013, 7:32 PM

And you think legalized Drugs would be any less taxed? And that criminals would say ho hum pack up and do something else?

Mute Superior Dublin
    Favourite Superior Dublin
    Jul 24th 2013, 7:15 PM

Sh*t… Where will I get my counterfeit vodka now?

Mute Paul Madigan
    Favourite Paul Madigan
    Jul 24th 2013, 7:14 PM

Never thought I’d say this but I’m off to louth

Mute Morticia
    Favourite Morticia
    Jul 24th 2013, 7:31 PM

Its the bleary eyes and cough that gives the smugglers away each time.

Mute SilentFugitive
    Favourite SilentFugitive
    Jul 24th 2013, 7:06 PM

What happens to the cash in these situations?

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Jul 24th 2013, 7:11 PM

After the trial. And if there is a conviction the money goes to the Government as its proceeds of crime.

Mute Gerard Walsh
    Favourite Gerard Walsh
    Jul 24th 2013, 7:57 PM

Balbriggan garda station, for safe keeping.:)

Mute Fran ner
    Favourite Fran ner
    Jul 24th 2013, 8:15 PM

Rats out

Mute Tyrone Mc Eleney
    Favourite Tyrone Mc Eleney
    Jul 25th 2013, 7:03 AM

Does it not go to the CAB Mick if its the proceeds of crime,I for one wouldn’t go near real vodka never mind counterfeit vodka meant to full of nasty chemicals,I no of students that I no over in England that drink it because its £5 a bottle and been a student they have no choice to buy and drink it cuz there on a tight budget,over there the off licence sells it to you from under the counter,everything is mostly counterfeit these days because theres a demand for it,and the government taxes the ass out of everything that moves its the governments fault as well partly cuz the more they keep taxing the more demand for counterfeit goods,that’s my opinion on it,sure there selling counterfeit chainsaws which are dangerous at the best of times,anyways that’s my rant over goodbye……….

Mute Jamie Ryder
    Favourite Jamie Ryder
    Jul 24th 2013, 11:27 PM

The gathering cancelled

Mute John Deane
    Favourite John Deane
    Jul 24th 2013, 7:58 PM

Looking at that money I wish I could get a loan :)

Mute Superior Dublin
    Favourite Superior Dublin
    Jul 24th 2013, 9:06 PM

I hate you

Mute Rayne Brogan
    Favourite Rayne Brogan
    Jul 24th 2013, 7:16 PM

Um.. What exactly is counterfeit vodka?

Mute Kevin Manley
    Favourite Kevin Manley
    Jul 24th 2013, 7:20 PM

Are you taking the piss?

Mute Rayne Brogan
    Favourite Rayne Brogan
    Jul 24th 2013, 7:24 PM

Is it paint thinner or something? Cuz they sell that in Tesco and call it value vodka..

Mute CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Favourite CAPT. ADEBAYO FLYNN
    Jul 24th 2013, 8:11 PM

Hi Rayne, apparently it’s homemade madness. Meth spirits and all sorts in it, probably some vodka too just to ‘water’ it down so to speak. You hear stories of lads going blind and getting very, very sick from a sesh on this stuff. I know some Eastern European pals who were telling me about the vats of stuff that would be made back home. Wild.

Mute Patrick
    Favourite Patrick
    Jul 24th 2013, 9:13 PM

Yup that vodka is extremely dangerous its well known in Russia.

Mute john ferguson
    Favourite john ferguson
    Jul 24th 2013, 9:15 PM

You can be sure that cash will not be secure in a garda safe.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jul 24th 2013, 7:28 PM

The vodka is rot gutt!

Mute Warren Collier
    Favourite Warren Collier
    Jul 24th 2013, 11:35 PM

Is the headline name what Charlie sheen eats for his breakfast?

Mute Fergus Gaffney
    Favourite Fergus Gaffney
    Jul 25th 2013, 1:59 AM

Congratulations must go again to the Gardai who have again kicked carreer criminals where it hurts. Hopefully there wil be many many more similar seizures.

Mute Ballsnall
    Favourite Ballsnall
    Jul 25th 2013, 2:45 AM

Ah jasus give us a break , I’m back on the Rollie’s now and will be forced to drink turps again after this bust .
    This shite is killing me .