You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo from December 2008 of Bernie Madoff in New York. Jason DeCrow/AP/Press Association Images

Bernie Madoff's wife says couple attempted suicide over ponzi fraud fallout

In her first television interview, Ruth Madoff says that she was “glad” the couple woke up after taking pills they thought would kill them.

THE WIFE of the Wall Street financier sentenced to 150 years in prison for orchestrating a $64.8 billion ponzi scheme says she and her husband attempted suicide at their home in Manhattan after he confessed to the crime.

Thousands of Bernie Madoff’s clients lost money in his fraudulent investment scheme.

Speaking to the CBS programme 60 Minutes, Ruth Madoff said she and her husband Bernie received threatening phone calls and hate mail “beyond anything”.

The Madoffs’ son Andrew told the programme that he had received a package containing some of his mother’s jewellery around this time, but did not find out why for some time.

and decided to take a number of pills together on Christmas Eve 2008.

“It was very impulsive and I’m glad we woke up,” she said in a clip released by the broadcaster:

The couple’s son Mark took his life in December 2010. His wife Stephanie recently published a memoir about their life and the impact of his father’s ponzi scheme on the couple and on the family.

She told ABC News recently that she blames Bernie Madoff for her husband’s death, saying that Bernie’s confession “destroyed” her husband

The full CBS interview is due to air this Sunday.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

14 Comments
    Mute Dave Higgins
    Favourite Dave Higgins
    Apr 1st 2012, 2:25 PM

Why doesn’t he get a life and pay this charge? I’m sure Shatter will be on to him to pay this without delay also….

Mute Declan Cotter
    Favourite Declan Cotter
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:39 PM

really doubt we have all the facts on this. Certainly would not trust the indo as a source.

Mute Unitedpeople Ireland
    Favourite Unitedpeople Ireland
    Apr 1st 2012, 6:14 PM

The Indo is NOT the only source today that reports this.
    Its reported in a number of major papers!

If you bothered to look, you would learn this – but I don’t think this would suit your attempt to just spin the matter and/or have a go at a paper in attempt to muddy the issue – would it?

Mute Stray Mutt
    Favourite Stray Mutt
    Apr 1st 2012, 7:25 PM

Yawn…should I be surprised?
    Of course not.
    They are politicians.
    Enough said.

Mute Sheila Byrne
    Favourite Sheila Byrne
    Apr 1st 2012, 11:28 PM

HOLD ON JUST ONE MINUTE HERE!!!!!!! What the hell is James Reilly, Minister for Health doing answering for that gombeen Hogan for? Who f . . king asked him for his opinion. Hogan is big and bold enough to answer his own bloody questions! Or is it because he’s crying in the toilet and won’t come out because everyone doesn’t like him? Big thick! Both of them.

I have to pay EUR700 for my property maintenance charge in my home because Fingal bloody county council decided to allow developments have one main garden and a few bushes in it. I have to pay it or else there is a solicitor’s letter sent to me. I don’t have a choice. As you said to us Mr. Hogan, ‘just pay it – it would be very unpatriotic of you, not to!

Mute El Brujillo
    Favourite El Brujillo
    Apr 2nd 2012, 3:49 PM

The household charge is unjust, D4 residents paying the same and appreciating the local services they get from their finely manicured lawns and wide chiselled pathways… While those in pavement cracked Ballymun and Finglas wonder what local services they are being asked to pay (exactly the same) fee for.

However, many people are jumping on a false opposition here. It is well known that there is a lot of corruption in Spain and Portugal over property buying and maintenance, especially suffered by foreign owners.

So, while we can justly inveigh against Hogan for the unjustice that is the Household charge (an injustice he has consistently failed to recognize), it may not be fair to call him a hypocrite based on this news, until more evidence comes to light.

Mute Teddy O Shea
    Favourite Teddy O Shea
    Apr 1st 2012, 2:34 PM

One rule for them another for us

Mute Mike Scott
    Favourite Mike Scott
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:29 PM

Ouch!!!!

Mute Anel Cceram
    Favourite Anel Cceram
    Apr 1st 2012, 6:51 PM
    Mute Fiona O'Sullivan
    Favourite Fiona O'Sullivan
    Apr 1st 2012, 10:18 PM

In my area the local council is in the red to the tune of €77million. Our own county manager is refusing to give grants over to disabled people who have applied and are entitled to Housing Adaptation Grants even though he has received the allocation from the Government. Yet again, it is the needy who are suffering. Who gave this county manager the right to withhold these funds is beyond me.

That 77 million in the red is just in my area and they reckon €160 million will cover the whole country?

Also, the fact that Mr Hogan is refusing to pay for services to his luxury penthouse apartment just reeks hypocrisy of the highest level.

Apr 1st 2012, 2:36 PM

As I have stated on boards.ie under the name “Biggins”:

FACT.
    He owns a home.

FACT
    He uses utilities there.

FACT
    His home has charges upon it for those services.

FACT
    He is refusing to pay for those services.

….Let the FG spin and bullschite continue upon these facts.

Mute jimbo
    Favourite jimbo
    Apr 1st 2012, 2:37 PM

Howya biggins that debate is interesting been following it the past hour

Mute Lar Hayden
    Favourite Lar Hayden
    Apr 1st 2012, 2:45 PM

What has this to do with you Rafa Benitez!!!

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Apr 1st 2012, 4:23 PM

FACT
    The debt he owes is to a mangement company and not a legislative obligation.

This guy has done enough to justify being sacked already, if only for those stupid photos and soundbytes. I don’t think it’s necessary to try and introduce something not remotely relevant to show him up. it just smacks of desperation

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Apr 1st 2012, 4:36 PM

@Sean semantics, still doesn’t look good now does it.

Apr 1st 2012, 4:52 PM

@ Sean Beag

“…not remotely relevant” ???

Are you for real?

A BILL – A SERVICE CHARGE that is supposed to be paid upon a building that he makes the most out of.
    A payment that is expected from him for same services that we at home in Ireland are also expected to pay – regardless of whom the money is payable to!

As expected and stated above, the FG spin continues… but it won’t go undisputed!

Mute John Scott
    Favourite John Scott
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:18 PM

dont do as i do do as i say

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:39 PM

It’s not a service charge, it’s an invoice from a private management company for a particular service, generally related to groundskeeping, security and maintenence.

The household charge is a government levy.

By saying they are related you are effectively saying that you can go into a shop and refuse to pay vat because one of the employees is late paying their ESB bill.

Apr 1st 2012, 5:49 PM

Its a BILL

…On a HOME

….for SERVICES to that home.

…That HAS to be paid

….ALL of which is similar to what the Irish people are expected to pay…

…Carry on with the useless blind spin though!

Mute Fiachra Maolmordha Ó Raghallaigh
    Favourite Fiachra Maolmordha Ó Raghallaigh
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:51 PM

Seán Beag – if only he was so robust in his defense of the people of Ireland’s right to not pay private bank debt, as he is in his refusal to pay his own personal debt. Not another red cent indeed…

Mute Susie Chester
    Favourite Susie Chester
    Apr 2nd 2012, 12:31 AM

FFS Sean Beag
    You have skin as thickas the elephant we saw running through the carpark in Cork. If nothing else I admire your tenacity to spin a story around this bullshit. ha ha ha ha !!!!!!

Mute Sean Beag
    Favourite Sean Beag
    Apr 2nd 2012, 1:57 PM

I’d prefer to have thick skin than to be so thick as to not understand the difference between a statutory charge and a contract.

Mute Susie Chester
    Favourite Susie Chester
    Apr 2nd 2012, 5:26 PM

Sean Beag
    Do you know what it is to choose between paying the said statuary charge or feeding your family AND paying for your childs state exams fee (€116) So call me what you want ,My children will ALWAYS come first .

Mute jimbo
    Favourite jimbo
    Apr 1st 2012, 2:35 PM

Where is youbetterpayup gone…. THIS TIME WE WILL ALL AGREE FOR ONCE

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll
    Apr 1st 2012, 2:42 PM

Give it time, jimbo. He’s charging his batteries !!

Mute Daffy Duck
    Favourite Daffy Duck
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:14 PM

I was just thinking the same jumbo you beat me to it.

Mute Sheila Byrne
    Favourite Sheila Byrne
    Apr 1st 2012, 11:34 PM

@Jimbo,

Maybe he just realised that he’s paid this EUR100 and is sorry after reading the headline on Hulk Hogan today! Hopefully he’s eating his words.

Mute Susie Chester
    Favourite Susie Chester
    Apr 2nd 2012, 12:25 AM

There are a good few of these delightful people missing lately ….. licking their wounds me thinks. The weekend of their ard fheis and they lose ,trying to get the elderly frightened and vulnerable to get them to pay €100 charge. Ha ha , and then big jim is speaking on big phils behalf as to why he is not paying his legal obligations ….You just could not make this stuff up . So all the little minnions are gone to ground .

Mute censored truth
    Favourite censored truth
    Apr 2nd 2012, 8:29 PM

The Journal only allows opinions from the Echo chamber

Mute censored truth
    Favourite censored truth
    Apr 2nd 2012, 8:32 PM

And don’t worry about Phil, he’ll be fine once we’ve finished counting out all dosh from those black sacks.

Mute Silent P
    Favourite Silent P
    Apr 1st 2012, 2:40 PM

Come on Phil.. Don’t be bringing unwanted attention on the party. Just pay it off as an unvouched expense. Good lad.

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Favourite Revolting Peasant
    Apr 1st 2012, 2:42 PM

but he is right, it is a different thing, however why pay a service charge for services you dont receive? the people outside urban areas do not have street lights, footpaths or council workers cleaning up their areas, they pay road tax for their cars and most towns now have paid parking, what services do they mean? the ministers holiday home isnt receiving acceptable services to justify the cost from a private company, i will pay the household charge when a footpath is built to my house, street lights are installed all along it and the council starts cutting the grass verge outside my wall, and before anyone asks i have my own well for water

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:08 PM

For starters, you shouldn’t be living outside urban areas/villages unless you are working the land. Farmers get grant aid (REPS) for keeping the countryside clean.

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:11 PM

i shouldnt be living outside urban areas? pray tell why? is there some kind of rule that non farmers shouldnt live in the countryside? i find that to be completely ludicrous, the farmers around here need to stop driving over the bit of grass outside my gate

Mute JOSEPHINE GILL
    Favourite JOSEPHINE GILL
    Apr 1st 2012, 6:11 PM

totally agree, dont receive any service from the council, the past two winters when we were snowed in do you think we saw a snow plough or a gritter, not a chance we were left to fend for ourselves. Oh im not a farmer and i live in the country.

Mute Brian Daly
    Favourite Brian Daly
    Apr 1st 2012, 9:57 PM

@revolting peasant – face up to the facts. Urban/sustainable dwellers are subsidising your rural existence. EVERYTHING in terms of services costs more to provide in the country. We’re tired of this bleeding heart nonsense.

Mute Rommel Burke
    Favourite Rommel Burke
    Apr 1st 2012, 11:03 PM

Subsidising what exactly Brian?

Mute Susie Chester
    Favourite Susie Chester
    Apr 2nd 2012, 12:36 AM

R P
    Ignore this person . Who says only people working the land should be living outside an urban areas. What complete and utter tripe. Daniel Dunne , why would you say such a stupid thing ? Ludicrous.

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Apr 2nd 2012, 12:44 PM

lol bleeding heart, talk about completely missing the point, sigh, whats the use?

Mute Thevoice Ofreason
    Favourite Thevoice Ofreason
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:06 PM

The Sunday Independent’s Jody Corcoran reported that Hogan has been “annoyed” that details of a private matter had been disclosed and quotes him as saying: “Would you pay a charge if you were unhappy with the service?”.

No I wouldn’t Phil, thanks for the advice.

Apr 1st 2012, 3:12 PM

I must remember his advice when I get my next semi-state bill for my ESB electricity, gas bill and for my viewing of RTE on TV!

Cheers Phil!

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Apr 1st 2012, 10:00 PM

I will also use his quote about refusing to take a voluntary pay cut.
    This guy hogan is an uncouth oaf with the manners of boss Hogg.

Mute William Ruane
    Favourite William Ruane
    Apr 1st 2012, 2:49 PM

Mr Reilly, I wont pay the household charge because I’m unhappy with the service we are being given by our government, the bending over and taking it in the ass service our leaders seem to excel at. When our leaders stand with their people and not with the bankers and technocrats of europe, then I will support them fully and with my life, otherwise a big F-off to Reilly and Phillo.

Mute jimbo
    Favourite jimbo
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:34 PM

I think we have found the perfect excuse for when we face court,in fact its true i have not seen anybody out doing anything and i bet you all you wont see any council working doing anything tomorow or the next day.
    A week ago when that tit o dowd was asked will the funds become available on the 31st march he said he did not know,he tried to avoid the question,so up your swiss hogan and co i will see you in court using your excuse..

Mute Michael Stone
    Favourite Michael Stone
    Apr 2nd 2012, 11:24 AM

yes William Ruane I agree 100% with you

Mute Keith Twamley
    Favourite Keith Twamley
    Apr 1st 2012, 2:47 PM

And now knowing that part of the reason for his personal circumstances that prevented him from taking a 10% cut for the good of the country was a penthouse apartment in Portugal, come down to our level Phil and maybe then you might start to understand.

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Apr 1st 2012, 8:39 PM

Josephine
    I DON’T live in the country and during the snow, we had no water and our estate, in a fairly built up area in Dublin county, was a total ice rink for over a week, not a fucking sign of the council. Had to get out myself and try to break up the ice with a shovel. I don’t mind paying if I get a service…but it’s third world service and I’m not happy with that considering all the tax I pay already.

Mute Pat Mullally
    Favourite Pat Mullally
    Apr 1st 2012, 8:59 PM

Thoroughly agree with you here. This man is so arrogant it is beyond belief he is still a Minister. What has he got on Kenny, that he has to ignore this pompous gobshite. Do the patriotic thing now Hogan, and fall on your sword, you ignoramus.

Mute Susie Chester
    Favourite Susie Chester
    Apr 2nd 2012, 11:26 AM

Keith Twamley
    I understand what you mean when you say ”come down to our level ”…. etc ,I believe that you and me and almost every body else is way above his level …. We are the people , he is a blackguard. I would never want to be like him , I am a far better person and human being than he is , was or ever has been in my own opinion. He is a horrible individual.We MUST reign them in.

Mute Aisling o Sullivan
    Favourite Aisling o Sullivan
    Apr 1st 2012, 2:59 PM

“If you are not happy with a service, would you pay for it?” we’ll mr. Reilly we are not happy with the service we are getting from your dept of health, so we should not pay our PRSI/ USC Household charge ect

Mute jrbmc
    Favourite jrbmc
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:06 PM

You hit the nail right on the head there Aisling!

Mute Éamonn Tiernan
    Favourite Éamonn Tiernan
    Apr 1st 2012, 2:41 PM

So he wouldn’t take a pay cut earlier in the year because he said he couldnt afford it and now he won’t pay this. Wtf is he doing with his massive salary and almost bottomless expense account. I paid my EUR 100, he should pay this!

Mute Susie Chester
    Favourite Susie Chester
    Apr 1st 2012, 2:51 PM

Éamonn
    I will never pay it and , this is why …Liars all of them.

Mute Eddie Walsh
    Favourite Eddie Walsh
    Apr 1st 2012, 6:21 PM

Who can afford to take a pay cut.

Can’t afford to pay my property tax Phil because my circumstances won’t allow me..:):)

Good for the goose and all that .

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll

I own my own apartment in a nice wee complex & I have been paying a service fee for last 17 years. I’m not happy with a few things but I pay up. We are paying ourselves to maintain our property. Pay up & take up your issues at your yearly A.G.M.

Mute franco
    Favourite franco
    Apr 1st 2012, 2:40 PM

ha ha reilly defending the indefendsible what a joke….

Mute damien chaney
    Favourite damien chaney
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:03 PM

No wonder he refused to take a pay cut what with trying to run multiple homes on his wages it’s not easy you should try it sometime…… sound like anyone we know?

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:14 PM

Pee Flynn eile !!!

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:13 PM

He’s dead right not paying, nobody should be expected to pay a charge on a house which only benefits a few developers and private institutions, I stand in solidarity with Hogan on this issue and refuse to pay a charge that will indeed only go into the coffers of already wealthy individuals or companies :P

Apr 1st 2012, 3:03 PM

Whats the Portuguese news papers going to say tomorrow?
    “Irish state minister tell his people to pay their bills even if they have a dispute with it – but refuses to pay one himself!”

Should be interesting reading what the Portugal is going to think of this double standards!

Mute Marty Simpson
    Favourite Marty Simpson

Of course it’s a completely matter James … Refusing to pay money unjustly sought to a private company is different to refusing to pay money unjustly sought to a state organisation …

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:11 PM

You’ve got to love the spin being put on this by FG and their cronies. Ah sure it’s not the same thing.. a tax is different altogether.

Fuck off! He is contractually obliged to pay the service charge on the apartment, and last time I checked; contracts were legally binding. I’m so glad that I have not paid the household charge.. now to put my feet up and enjoy the comedy unfolding in front of us.

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:19 PM

Hollywood scriptwriters couldn’t make it up, eh ?!

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:54 PM

There’s a good point.. 
    Presumably when he signed this contract he was of sound mind and body and entered into the contract of his own free will.
    The household charge required people to register – to give their consent to enter into this contract, which a large number of people have decided not to as it is a bridge too far.

So if anything he is MORE liable to pay this than those who did not register for the HHC, yet he pours scorn upon those who didn’t register.. 

Good man Phil, keep it up, only a politician could pull off that level of hypocrisy.. 

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Apr 1st 2012, 8:51 PM

Aah, but he’s refusing to pay because he feels he has not received the service he’s paying for.
    Exactly like the household charge then. :-D

Mute Karl O Flynn
    Favourite Karl O Flynn
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:20 PM

Still no sign of youbetterpayup!!!!Gone into hiding like the rest of the fine Gael spoofers and trollers. Impossible to defend this double standard. What a shower we have running our affairs.
    Nice to see your leading by example bully boy hogan!!!! Fascist!!!!

Mute jimbo
    Favourite jimbo
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:38 PM

Afraid to face the truth he is

Mute Martin Grehan
    Favourite Martin Grehan
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:29 PM

stopped reading after “with the exceptions of…”

Mute 1 Human Being
    Favourite 1 Human Being
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:05 PM

Is this a Aprils fool joke as well. What a complete tool he’s so patriotic himself. Giving Irish people a bad name in Portugal, he has a neck like a jockeys bollix. Don’t register don’t pay this house hold up bully can feck off. With the wastage and all the other corruption that goes with all the politicians I don’t trust any of them anymore from any of the parties I think eliminate the politicians and bring in a phone/Internet voting system. Get rid of the middle men that are lining there pockets while the rest of us get poorer.

Mute jimbo
    Favourite jimbo
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:36 PM

neck like a jockeys bollix
    Lol i said exactly that on twitter…

Mute B7584
    Favourite B7584
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:25 PM

Fine Gael you are a JOKE.
    And what a bigger joke is LABOUR – pull that plug and save yourselves SOME face.

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:37 PM

what a horrible profile pic! manure needs me? i certainly dont need them

Mute B7584
    Favourite B7584
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:42 PM

Wow! GREAT comment. Have a biscuit. Go on, actually have two. G’lad.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Revolting Peasant
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:50 PM

i seem to remember you spouting much drivel about racist klan members etc, i would suggest it is actually you that needs the odd biscuit

Mute B7584
    Favourite B7584
    Apr 1st 2012, 4:23 PM

So whats your problem? Oh! Youre a liverpool fan! :D
    Try and keep your anti united digs in a football story, like i keep mine.

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Apr 1st 2012, 4:48 PM

my problem is the vile flaming drivel you constantly spout

Mute B7584
    Favourite B7584
    Apr 1st 2012, 4:58 PM

NO, your problem is you support Liverpool & you lost today, and last week, and the week before & you are JUST ABOUT safe from relegation so if youre looking for drivel its in Anfailed. Now Im pretty sure nobody on this thread wants to read MUFC fans handing your sorry over sensitive sore loser arse to you all day long so take it over to The Score or just shut it for good.

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:08 PM

shut it for good? are you sure? am i to understand that you think you can tell me to shut up and i will? not exactly a cerebral juggernaut are you? i never mentioned football once, try rereading my posts, only you are talking about football here

Mute B7584
    Favourite B7584
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:22 PM

Ahahaha what a joke you are. It was YOU who attacked my post, nothing football related but you had to insult my profile picture and use the term ‘manure’ so yes, please do us all a favour and either take it to the score or shut it. YAWN.

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:33 PM

yes bwana i will do as you say zzzzzzzzzzz

Mute B7584
    Favourite B7584
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:45 PM

:D whats even worse is you dont even realise how unbelievably childish & stupid you sound with your bitter try hard digs on a thread that has NOTHING to do with football WHATSOEVER, so for the 3rd time – take it over to the matchday thread on The Score and leave people rage at the government in peace (So to speak)

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:52 PM

once again, i didnt mention football, you did, i didnt realise it was such a hard concept to grasp, or maybe it just is for you

Mute B7584
    Favourite B7584
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:54 PM

Ok, you didnt mention football. I made it all up.

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Apr 1st 2012, 6:01 PM

calm down! calm down! eh? maybe you arent able to read or something, no need to get all worked up lad

Mute B7584
    Favourite B7584
    Apr 1st 2012, 6:37 PM

Oh. Dear.

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Apr 1st 2012, 6:54 PM

oh dear indeed

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:15 PM

Ah Mr Hogan sir,i think someone ran off with your moral authority if your quick you might catch him/her.You couldn’t make this crap up could you.

Mute HI SPRUIKER
    Favourite HI SPRUIKER
    Apr 1st 2012, 4:48 PM

”The Sunday Independent’s Jody Corcoran reported that Hogan has been “annoyed” that details of a private matter had been disclosed”

Yet Phil the failure has no problem changing our Data Protection Laws so that he can poke his snout into our personal ”private” information.

Household Charge

More like Arsehole Charge.

Mute Tim Nelligan
    Favourite Tim Nelligan
    Apr 1st 2012, 8:59 PM

Well said. HI SPRUIKER.

Mute Sheila Byrne
    Favourite Sheila Byrne
    Apr 2nd 2012, 12:25 AM

@ Hi Spruiker

Hear, Hear, two rules eh?! B . . t a r d s!

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:16 PM

And let’s not forget this little gem of a story regarding Reilly and the tax breaks he avails of to maintain his 13 bedroom mansion – http://www.independent.ie/national-news/for-hire-ministers-taxrelief-mansion-2630237.html

Mute Simone Gahan
    Favourite Simone Gahan
    Apr 1st 2012, 4:54 PM

Oh god, enough to make me sick!

Mute john g mcgrath
    Favourite john g mcgrath
    Apr 1st 2012, 10:02 PM

And the alleged spat with a bank debt which ended with a consented judgement

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Apr 1st 2012, 4:53 PM

“Would you pay a charge if you were unhappy with the service?”. Phil Hogan. No, Phil, I wouldn’t and I won’t!!

Mute Mac Ready
    Favourite Mac Ready
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:59 PM

Hogan knows he is safe in his role he had Enda’s back when the heave against him two years ago as is Reilly, this guy is running with himself he seems to be untouchable, if this was the UK he would be made to resign or forced out by a cabinet reshuffle! We are going to be screwed over by this crowd for another 3 years God help us!

Apr 1st 2012, 6:00 PM

@ Mac Ready
    Great comment, you’ve hit the nail on the head. EK is ‘firewalled’ by these 2 mouthpieces for the moment, incompetence surrounded by ineptitude.

Mute Tim Nelligan
    Favourite Tim Nelligan
    Apr 1st 2012, 8:53 PM

@John It is NOT incompetence, you know….. It is all quite deliberate. Adept at feathering their own nests and robbing ours, they also feather their cronies’ nests. Two different worlds, theirs and ours; two different laws.

Mute Karl O Flynn
    Favourite Karl O Flynn
    Apr 1st 2012, 6:17 PM

Just amazing!!!! No mention of this topic on the news at 6 on RTE.
    Control of the state media by gag order. Very interesting!!!! Fascism at its best. Anyone who was looking for proof of what we are dealing with need look no further. Disgraceful!!!!!!

Apr 1st 2012, 7:38 PM

Typical RTE being ultimately kissing ass to the government of the day.
    Nothing new here.

Mute Sheila Byrne
    Favourite Sheila Byrne
    Apr 2nd 2012, 12:38 AM

@Unitedpeople Ireland

RTE know exactly what they are doing and what they did. They knew about Hogan and his penthouse in Portugal. They did the same during the Presidential election. They wanted M D Higgins and they went out of their way to get him there. The tweet was done on purpose. They were in a sweat because Gallagher was so close, they had to find something/or make up something to stop him. They knew McGuinness wasn’t going to make it but they needed Higgins to win.

Nothing new with RTE or the Sindo. David Norris, during the RTE debate thanked McGuinness for his part in the Good Friday Agreement. The Sindo was so pissed off with him, that Sunday two day later, and four days before the voting took place, they had a two page spread on the Presidential election. The candidates photos and reports on their experience in life and politics were on these 2 pages. The only candidate that was NOT in the report was David Norris. Very unprofessional and very childish!

Apr 1st 2012, 3:20 PM

This says it all and is spreading across the net: http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/8370/signals.jpg

Mute Dave O'Shea
    Favourite Dave O'Shea
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:34 PM

Spreading like the plague and their better be a head rolling tomorrow but maybe we should hold n just in case it’s an April fools :-)

Apr 1st 2012, 4:30 PM

No joke – the original comes via a VERY serious political source who are also in no mood for joking over this issue.
    For those with Facebook access: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=1133356920

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Apr 1st 2012, 8:45 PM

This is disgusting..who is she, anyone know?

Mute jimbo
    Favourite jimbo
    Apr 1st 2012, 2:56 PM

Nothing wrong with that it sums them up to a tee….

Mute Aurfur
    Favourite Aurfur
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:48 PM

Bins were not emptied last week, paid for service.

Not going to get anything in the country for household charge so why do we have to pay Hogan?

Obviously its a case of don’t do as I do, do as I say!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Apr 1st 2012, 4:32 PM

I think Phil is lucky, imagine if this came out in yesterday or Fridays papers,i think the numbers registering might be different.The Indo done you a favour Philly boy.

Mute Ann Connolly Dinan
    Favourite Ann Connolly Dinan
    Apr 1st 2012, 6:43 PM

On Thursday, 2nd February, this year the Chairman of the Committee of Public Accounts raised the issue of the Poolbeg Incinerator for debate. To date, you and I and all the other taxpayers in Ireland have shelled out €76.9 million on that debacle. But, as the Chairman pointed out, we do not have any powers, not a single watchdog body or all-powerful auditor or office to check up on how local government and Departments spend our money.

Councillors, both the knee-benders intent on their own promotion and those honestly trying to represent the people who elected them, are utterly without powers of investigation. That €76.9million, call it €77million, has been levied on the four Dublin Councils:
    Fingal
    South Dublin
    Dún Laoghaire–Rathdown
    Dublin City
    Even if every householder in Ireland were to pay up, the full €160million would only cover half of last year’s Dublin Council tax trashing.

In other words, anyone in Ireland with half a brain can see that the household charge is going to need more noughts on the amount levied on all of us next year if we pay up without demanding transparency on how it’s being spent.

There is the fairness issue of people who bought in the boom and paid hugely unjust levels of Stamp Duty now being levied again and there’s the fairness issue of people stuck in ghost estates and there’s the issue of people who saved and scraped to buy properties for rent as a ‘pension’, but let’s forget compassion. It’s not in the vocabulary of government power just now and hasn’t been there for a long time.

We need an auditor. A watchdog body that brings all local Government and Government Departments under scrutiny for where and how taxpayers’ money is spent. Until that happens I’m voting “No” to anything and everything proposed by the ruling Government Parties.

Mute Tom Goss
    Favourite Tom Goss
    Apr 1st 2012, 6:20 PM

Apples and oranges are both fruit, pal.
    One grows here and the other in Portugal.

Mute fizi_water
    Favourite fizi_water
    Apr 1st 2012, 4:15 PM

What a muppet, I bet you his is mad now at journalists so they have found out and at his schoolboy error, bad press he is getting now probably worth spending 40K never mind 4K. This government is rotten is there any 1 honest and decent and not robbing politician?

Mute Declan Carroll
    Favourite Declan Carroll
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:11 PM

U can add hypocrites & double standards to that, too. Let’s finish it off with the “don’t do as I do. do as I say” philosophy.

Apr 1st 2012, 4:33 PM

…Or in his case “Do as I say but as I don’t do!”
    …”I don’t pay a charge”

Glad to hear it Phil – either will we, ya schyster!

Mute Joe Reynolds
    Favourite Joe Reynolds
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:20 PM

”The household charge is a state charge by local authorities. This matter of Minister Hogan and a private company that provides services to the property he owns in Portugal is a civil matter between him and a private company.” how rediculous the only difference here is that the money he owes is ACTUALLY for services rendered unlike our household charge.

Mute Joe Reynolds
    Favourite Joe Reynolds
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:23 PM

or are they finally admitting that this ”state charge” has nothing to do with services and that is why you cant compare them.

Mute Steve McNally
    Favourite Steve McNally
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:57 PM

That doesn’t really hold up tho because when you sign your contract to buy a property in a multi unit development it states that you must pay your service charges. As someone said before, he would have signed this, volunteering to be bound by it. It is a legally bound contract so the FG spin is as usual, Horseshit!

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Apr 1st 2012, 4:58 PM

Jesus. He’s an awful scumbag not paying his way! Sure his lot would complain about paying anything. Spongers and parasite!

Mute Marie Reilly
    Favourite Marie Reilly
    Apr 1st 2012, 10:01 PM

I completely agree with Phil. You should not have to pay for poor service, which is why I will not be paying the household charge.

It just goes to show that these politicians really are living in cloud cuckoo land – a penthouse holiday apartment in portugal? people here are struggling to pay mortgages on their family home.

Mute Barry McSweeney
    Favourite Barry McSweeney
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:23 PM

At different times in history, both England and Russia had a Beard Tax.

Perhaps Ireland should try it. Over to you James Reilly!

Mute Karl O Flynn
    Favourite Karl O Flynn
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:42 PM

United People of Ireland
    “That photo says it all” What a shower of tramps. Their day will come too. Only a matter of time!!!!!!

Mute joseph mcgee
    Favourite joseph mcgee
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:03 PM

Strange the lack of any FG members on this thread….
    Wonder why?
    Any thoughts?

Mute Elliot Moriarty
    Favourite Elliot Moriarty
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:29 PM

Any thoughts?
    Any regrets?

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Apr 1st 2012, 6:06 PM

Sindo awful pri@ks sitting on this till today? Imagine had it come out few days ago?

Anyway. How are you after your scuffle with Phil yesterday. Lmfho

Mute joseph mcgee
    Favourite joseph mcgee
    Apr 1st 2012, 8:55 PM

still feelin molested,
    and can’t shake the image of enda leanin over me
    with that ‘come hither handsome’ look in his eye :-)

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Apr 1st 2012, 10:06 PM

Read it out on the train on the way home. You’re a fuckin panic

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Apr 1st 2012, 10:34 PM

Consider yerself lucky necroPHIL did’nt get his slobbery chops all over yer cojones.

Mute joseph mcgee
    Favourite joseph mcgee
    Apr 1st 2012, 10:48 PM

Thanks John!!
    I won’t sleep tonite with that one in me head! :-)

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Apr 2nd 2012, 12:14 AM

Lol

Mute Sheila Byrne
    Favourite Sheila Byrne
    Apr 2nd 2012, 12:29 AM

@ Reada Quinn

They had this information days ago and decided to hold on to it until today! Nothing new, they do this kind of thing all the time. Sad really, I am sure there are many people that are sorry they paid before midnight last night.

Disgusting behaviour by not just Hogan/Fine Gael but by the media, Sunday Inde.

Mute censored truth
    Favourite censored truth
    Apr 2nd 2012, 8:28 PM

The Journal does not allow dissenting opinions.

Mute roy scott
    Favourite roy scott
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:35 PM

F-me I really thought was an apr1 joke , now i wish it was……oh Ireland what have u done to deserve gobsheens like this…..

Mute meehaneo
    Favourite meehaneo
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:33 PM

Wonder what color the sky is in Hogan and O’Reilly’s world? ‘Cos it’s not the one the rest of us live in!

Mute Adam Magari
    Favourite Adam Magari
    Apr 1st 2012, 7:24 PM

Philip Hogan, yet another Minster for hypocrisy and double standards. He bullies the public with various threats while most of those who wrecked the economy live charmed lives. Anglo collapsed almost four years ago but criminal investigations are stuck in slow motion. But any unfortunate failing to pay the house tax will feel the full weight of the Law and political opprobrium. Always the same old story, chop off the low hanging fruit.

Mute Kevin Doyle
    Favourite Kevin Doyle
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:22 PM

great comments looks like Phil theShit is in the Shit himself now theyre all stinkin bastards anyway
    lynch the rats

Mute Seamus McGrath
    Favourite Seamus McGrath
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:24 PM

hypocrisy

Mute Sarah Bermingham
    Favourite Sarah Bermingham
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:13 PM

Sums it up perfectly!!!! Couldn’t have Said it better myself!!!!!!

Mute paul
    Favourite paul
    Apr 1st 2012, 7:29 PM

why are ye all so worked up about this. its clearly an april fools. as if the man could introduce a household tax in our country and not pay for services on his holiday home, nobody could be that foolish, ignorant, idiotic, hypocritical, not even phil hogan could stoop to this. or could he?

Mute David Green
    Favourite David Green
    Apr 1st 2012, 10:19 PM

If hogan go’es after the people who have not payed the house hold charge do you think that FG will get back in the next general election. 750+ thousand people is a lot of votes.

Mute Paul Little
    Favourite Paul Little
    Apr 1st 2012, 7:21 PM

A case of “Pot, Kettle & Black , Springs to mind.
    He’s a Hypocrite, End Of ……

Mute Patrick Minford
    Favourite Patrick Minford
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:15 PM

I am not pleased with my local council – the grass at the front of the house hasnt been mowed for ages – I am not paying the E100

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Apr 2nd 2012, 1:35 AM

Well don’t pay it so whats the big deal.

Mute David Grogan
    Favourite David Grogan
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:35 PM

Marie Antoinette did something similar by her famous quote, “Let them have cake”.

Mute Shane Mullally
    Favourite Shane Mullally
    Apr 1st 2012, 4:03 PM

They did David-they took her head!!..:-)..

Mute Ronan McDonnell
    Favourite Ronan McDonnell
    Apr 1st 2012, 7:57 PM

Although she actually said let them eat brioche. At the time there was a grain shortage which meant that brioche, due to its butter content, was more economical.
    Which, of course, has nothing to do with Phil “Do As I Say, Not As I Do” Hogan.

Mute justsaying
    Favourite justsaying
    Apr 1st 2012, 9:17 PM

Never cease to amaze… The double standards!!! You couldn’t make stuff like this up.

Mute J D
    Favourite J D
    Apr 1st 2012, 8:23 PM

I had a quick look at the set up in Portugal for apartments- Phil is saying the €4000 is for “management fees”. However, they are normally called “community fees” and set by a committee of owners in the community .

Mute Daffy Duck
    Favourite Daffy Duck
    Apr 1st 2012, 3:18 PM

But your right Susie

Mute Sheila Byrne
    Favourite Sheila Byrne
    Apr 1st 2012, 11:41 PM

@Sean Beag,

Smacks of desperation alright when he has to get big James Reilly to speak for him. Sad. Tell him to come out of those toilets and stop hiding. Just drop the household charge, pay his own and we’ll all sit around the table and sort this properly, together, without being told that we are being ‘unpatriotic’ and that we don’t have a life.

I have no problem in paying for something if it is explained properly, and I’m asked, and not told, and that we are treated like equals. Doesn’t matter what you or Hogan calls this property payment he hasn’t paid. I have to pay EUR700 for my property maintenance here, because we all have to agree that we need the dam grass cut and the bushes trimmed. The Fingal Co Co allowed these type of complexes to be built and yet we end up paying for their decisions, once again.

Mute Michael J Hartnett
    Favourite Michael J Hartnett
    Apr 2nd 2012, 12:16 AM

You couldnt invent these characters for a soap opera & they manage to get elected. We the Irish electorate have a lot answer for.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Apr 2nd 2012, 1:20 AM

Whats this we business?

Mute michael cuthbert
    Favourite michael cuthbert
    Apr 2nd 2012, 2:32 AM

Seems there 2 of him. ..

Mute Dermot Murphy
    Favourite Dermot Murphy
    Apr 1st 2012, 8:42 PM

The bollocks

Mute DubInNaas
    Favourite DubInNaas
    Apr 1st 2012, 7:35 PM

Its is a disgrace that someones private business was published by a national newspaper.

The man is entitled to privacy.

This is a private dispute with a management company which is nothing to do with paying a tax.

Its like comparing your road tax payment with owing a mechanic for not fixing your car properly.

But of course, the army of moaners don’t want to hear that.

Apr 1st 2012, 7:43 PM

…Nor do his blind supporters want to hear that he says one thing at home and refuses to cough up himself abroad!
    Some example he is setting too!

As to privacy – LOL – don’t make us laugh.
    He isn’t concerned about privacy when it comes to dipping into EBS bills to gleam personal data off others is he?

MORE hypocrisy and double standards!!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Apr 1st 2012, 8:19 PM

Sorry pal but he is in the public eye and wether you agree or not his actions and behaviour will be examined by the media.Phil pay your charge please.

Mute Sheila Byrne
    Favourite Sheila Byrne
    Apr 2nd 2012, 12:45 AM

@ DublinNaas

Cop on will you. He is a public figure, laying down laws for others. Then there’s another for them that is in power. A little power is a bloody awful thing to have, because you begin to believe that you are entitled to more than your people that elected you, to represent them.

It’s public information whether you or he likes it. If he doesn’t like it he knows what to do. There’s enough pens and paper in his big office to write his resignation on! Tomorrow hopefully!

Mute gingerman
    Favourite gingerman
    Apr 1st 2012, 4:12 PM

Cheap journalism from the Sindo. All the high horses on this thread would be better served paying the charge that the law abiding of us have just paid. We are all in this together my ass.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Apr 1st 2012, 4:17 PM

When i see big Phil’s receipt i’ll consider paying

Mute Noel Carroll
    Favourite Noel Carroll
    Apr 1st 2012, 4:27 PM

Both issues are the same despite what Dr. O’Reilly spins. It’s tine for Hogan to go, for the sake of the country and the party.

Apr 1st 2012, 4:31 PM

The matter is not just in the Indo’ – its in a number of todays papers – but nice try!

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Apr 1st 2012, 4:42 PM

@gingerman no matter how high my horse Phil will be still looking down on me from his penthouse.Com’on Phil pay your charge.Oh but this is fun.

Mute Simone Gahan
    Favourite Simone Gahan
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:02 PM

Never broke the law in my life but I’m willing to do it this time…. Enough is enough!! I stand strong by this

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Apr 1st 2012, 5:25 PM

I’m law abiding, just not gullible enough to believe the spin on where this HHC goes or servile enough to follow every direction a hypocritical out of touch government tells me to do..my horse is high enough to see you and Phil hogan sitting in your ivory tower gingerman.

Mute Brian Daly
    Favourite Brian Daly
    Apr 1st 2012, 10:01 PM

It’s a sign of really poor jourmalism that a newspaper would try and compare Hogans dispute with management fee with the household charges. They are chalk and cheese. There are plenty of people who are in dispute or witholding management charges but are paying the Household charge (and vice versa). The two are entirely different.

I presume that there’s some Irish connection at the complex in question.

Mute John Murphy
    Favourite John Murphy
    Apr 1st 2012, 10:39 PM

Yeah! Maybe NAMA are trying to get a judgement on it.

Mute Susie Chester
    Favourite Susie Chester
    Apr 2nd 2012, 8:38 PM

Brian Daly
    Are you having a laugh ? Don’t even try to talk your way out of this one ….. Big Phil has made a boo boo…

Mute Jay Meehan
    Favourite Jay Meehan
    Apr 2nd 2012, 1:27 PM

Don’t ya just hate those charges on your holiday homes. He’s some tool

Mute Mike Mullins
    Favourite Mike Mullins
    Apr 1st 2012, 4:22 PM

HAPPY FOOL’ S DAY EVERYONE

Mute Mike Mullins
    Favourite Mike Mullins
    Apr 1st 2012, 4:20 PM

H A P P Y FOOL’S D A Y EVERYONE-

Mute Tom Kelleher
    Favourite Tom Kelleher
    Apr 2nd 2012, 1:11 PM

Phil hogan has a flawed pedigree when in government last time, and now the arrogant man is also refusing to allow any investigation in planning problems in his own area council.He should reflect that he has the luxury home on Portugal .We got rid of the Sapranos and now we have have the Russian Mafia ,I rest my case and labour have been neutered again.
    DoBe56

Mute Rita Cahill
    Favourite Rita Cahill
    Apr 24th 2014, 3:05 AM

We all need to Lash These Corrupt Whitewash Politicians out by Getting Rid of the Evil Corrupt Politicians and Liars and cheats by sending them a real Democracy Election by Voting them out complete, Like FG, LB, FF, SF, and GP, and PD , Losers the mafia Thieving Gangsters,

Mute Michael J Hartnett
    Favourite Michael J Hartnett
    Apr 2nd 2012, 12:17 AM

You couldnt invent these characters for a soap opera & they manage to get elected. We the Irish electorate have a lot answer for.

Mute Michael Stone
    Favourite Michael Stone
    Apr 2nd 2012, 11:27 AM

Byron Smith
    Surely you ment HERR ENDA KENNY

Mute Caroline Locke
    Favourite Caroline Locke
    Apr 17th 2012, 3:04 PM

SHAME ON YOU PHIL HOGAN