You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Beyoncé turned Croke Park into a sea of purple last night

Croker was looking well.

BEYONCÉ PLAYED A much-anticipated gig in Croke Park yesterday, and initial reviews say you missed one of the best nights of your life if you weren’t there.

Soz mates.

The queen bee ran from watching her friend Serena Williams take her 22nd title at Wimbledon, to perform in Croker for over two hours.

All in a day’s work.

She even made an effort to turn the stadium into a sea of purple in tribute to the late Prince, who died back in April

It looked spectacular

Purple Rain played out over the speakers, a touching tribute to the legend she once dueted with at the Grammys

She has performed the tribute at most stops of her Formation tour, but did they look as glam as Croker? Nah.

Miss I Show / YouTube

Not one to just leave it at that, Bey gave her best rendition of The Beautiful Ones

Princes hardest songs, some might argue. Beyoncé first performed the cover at Glastonbury in 2011, and she killed it.

Lovely.

DailyEdge is on Snapchat! Tap the button below to add!

Written by Nicola Byrne and posted on DailyEdge.ie

[image alt="" src="http://cdn.thejournal.ie/media/2016/07/img2-thejournal-465.png" width="600" height="115" credit-url="" credit-source="" credit-via="" credit-via-url="" wp-id="wp-image-2871126" class="alignnone" /end]

Read: Beyoncé showed up at Wimbledon before her Croker gig and people can’t cope

Read: This skip of prosecco perfectly sums up the crowd at Kodaline’s Marley Park gig

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

67 Comments
    Mute Ciaran OHalloran
    Favourite Ciaran OHalloran
    Jul 10th 2016, 12:54 PM

I’ll survive

Mute Alan Kelly's Ego
    Favourite Alan Kelly's Ego
    Jul 10th 2016, 12:56 PM

But will you though? Thank god the journal stuck in a load of twitter shots from random people yet again just to show us all exactly what we missed

Mute Welshhibby
    Favourite Welshhibby
    Jul 10th 2016, 1:27 PM

I doubt I missed the best night of life!….Karaoke singer

Mute Del Haven
    Favourite Del Haven
    Jul 10th 2016, 1:36 PM

Feck, I’ve just missed the best music gig show in the world. Damn it. Gutted.

Mute John Clarke
    Favourite John Clarke
    Jul 10th 2016, 2:14 PM

Did ye take those pictures on your iPad?

Mute Aoife Dooley
    Favourite Aoife Dooley
    Jul 11th 2016, 12:10 AM

After seeing her in Dublin last year, never again wasting my money to watch her lip-sync. If you can’t dance & sing at the same time then don’t claim you can, simples!

Mute Dave Smith
    Favourite Dave Smith
    Jul 10th 2016, 1:26 PM

“missed one of the best nights of your life” hyperbole much or a life unlived?

Mute Cowboys Ted
    Favourite Cowboys Ted
    Jul 10th 2016, 8:03 PM

Flew in at 6, flew out at 12, probably collected about 5 million cash. Not bad. Everything about her is unbelievably hyperbolic, not a bad performer though.

Mute Max Power
    Favourite Max Power
    Jul 10th 2016, 1:47 PM

Beyonce is a racist. Give me a free ticket and 100e and I still wouldn’t go.

Mute Gavin Carton
    Favourite Gavin Carton
    Jul 10th 2016, 2:48 PM

How is she a racist?

Also why would you get the 100 quid if you already had the ticket? What’s that for?

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Jul 10th 2016, 2:56 PM

€100 for having to get shit faced to listen to Beyoncé…frankly it should be several times that amount.

Mute Gavin Carton
    Favourite Gavin Carton
    Jul 10th 2016, 2:59 PM

How much would you reckon you’d need?

Mute Eamonn O'Riain
    Favourite Eamonn O'Riain
    Jul 10th 2016, 3:39 PM

Nail on head Dave.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Jul 10th 2016, 3:41 PM

9 pints of Heineken, 4 shots of sambucca and a jagger bomb or two just for luck.

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Jul 10th 2016, 3:42 PM

For starters.

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Jul 10th 2016, 4:40 PM

I take the money & the ticket then sell the ticket to some sap who cant get a ticket & will pay over the odds for it

Mute Max Power
    Favourite Max Power
    Jul 10th 2016, 6:31 PM

Gavin I said if someone gave me a ticket and paid me 100e to take it I would still say no. What don’t you understand? And yes she is a racist Google it. Her and her Black Panther salutes

Mute Gavin Carton
    Favourite Gavin Carton
    Jul 10th 2016, 6:40 PM

So doing a Black Panther salute makes you racist?
    Is that all it takes?

And with regards to the ticket, do you often say no to possible situations where you can make money?
    How must you feed yourself?!!?

Mute Wynnner
    Favourite Wynnner
    Jul 10th 2016, 1:14 PM

I’m not really into the Beyonce thing, I’m not convinced by the whole did Jay-Z cheat, what a pile of publicized crap as for the available on tidal only crap, PUBLICITY STUNT

Mute Alan Rothwell
    Favourite Alan Rothwell
    Jul 10th 2016, 1:57 PM

Great reviewer above. “She’s literally a machine”?! And you sir, don’t know what literally means!

Mute Malvolio32
    Favourite Malvolio32
    Jul 10th 2016, 2:23 PM

Dictionary meaning was changed last year Alan. Meaning of words is based on how they’re used, and the usage tends to change over time. Literary can now legitimately be used for emphasis.

Mute Malvolio32
    Favourite Malvolio32
    Jul 10th 2016, 2:23 PM

Literally, and it was all going so well.

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Jul 10th 2016, 1:12 PM

Shame on you using your Ipad, phone, tablet to record the concert. I hope you were all wearing 100% cotton as requested

Mute Aimoo
    Favourite Aimoo
    Jul 10th 2016, 1:31 PM

That was Adele mate. Cringe for you.

Mute Ryan Hardy
    Favourite Ryan Hardy
    Jul 10th 2016, 3:56 PM

LOL Aimoo Totes Cringe, LMAO

Mute Aimoo
    Favourite Aimoo
    Jul 10th 2016, 4:01 PM

Totes cringe Ryan totes lol lmao sexy and I know it sorry for party rocking.

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Jul 10th 2016, 4:38 PM

I have to disagree with you it was here yesterday

Mute RandomAct Of Kindnes
    Favourite RandomAct Of Kindnes
    Jul 10th 2016, 1:30 PM

I heard iPads were banned from the show. Was that enforced? Beyonce demands also included — 25 active international phone lines, Cans of Pepsi, rose-scented candles, heavily seasoned roast chicken, organic whole milk, bottles of Champagne. Chardonnay.
    All of her crew had to wear 100% cotton so she didn’t get any allergies.

Mute Tomasz Kuchnik
    Favourite Tomasz Kuchnik
    Jul 10th 2016, 1:17 PM

Paying and going for Beyonce’s gig is a form of perversion.

Mute Gavin Carton
    Favourite Gavin Carton
    Jul 10th 2016, 2:50 PM

so is whinging!

Mute Eric
    Favourite Eric
    Jul 10th 2016, 1:09 PM

Beyonce in Croke park?! What s wrong with that world!!

Mute bings
    Favourite bings
    Jul 10th 2016, 4:41 PM

Is gaa there next week???

Mute simon
    Favourite simon
    Jul 10th 2016, 2:02 PM

The writer of this Is fackin deluded if they think the rotten false beyonce is what any sane person would pay money to see or hear

Mute Jonny Lennon
    Favourite Jonny Lennon
    Jul 10th 2016, 3:06 PM

Stone Roses >Beyonce

Mute Odhran MacMurchadha
    Favourite Odhran MacMurchadha
    Jul 10th 2016, 3:08 PM

Margo > Beyonce.

Mute Shane Kinsella
    Favourite Shane Kinsella
    Jul 10th 2016, 2:59 PM

If she was playing in the back garden I’d probally burn down me house.

Mute Odhran MacMurchadha
    Jul 10th 2016, 3:12 PM

Very unlikely Beyonce would be playing in your back garden Shane.
    20 people and a garden shed would not constitute a Beyonce audience.

Mute Lord mountainbaton
    Favourite Lord mountainbaton
    Jul 10th 2016, 4:47 PM

Is that not where the black panthers meet?

Mute Garreth Mc Mahon
    Favourite Garreth Mc Mahon
    Jul 10th 2016, 1:10 PM

So tell me, did she tell the Irish crowd that she loved them and all that crap whilst not spending the day here because she was at Wimbledon. Private jet or not she should’ve been here all day to prepare for what was an expensive gig for a lot if people.

Mute Alan Kelly's Ego
    Favourite Alan Kelly's Ego
    Jul 10th 2016, 1:10 PM

Huh?

Mute Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Favourite Wayne O'Fathaigh
    Jul 10th 2016, 1:11 PM

Strange logic?

Mute Alan b
    Favourite Alan b
    Jul 10th 2016, 1:15 PM

Gareth you’re mad

Jul 10th 2016, 2:07 PM

Seriously? Wtf …

Mute Veruca Salt
    Favourite Veruca Salt
    Jul 10th 2016, 4:25 PM

Scarlet for ya

Mute Michael Kavanagh
    Favourite Michael Kavanagh
    Jul 10th 2016, 3:51 PM

Well, I had the misfortune to be driving into the city from the M1 yesterday evening and had a slow crawl from Drumcondra to Bolton Street. However, the good nature of all going to Croker, and the Garda doing their best to manage the traffic amid the mobs was infectious – and the procession of pretty young girls in extremely summery outfits a constant and welcome diversion! Lighten up all ye curmudgeonly auld bitter balls out there!

Mute Joan Featherstone
    Favourite Joan Featherstone
    Jul 10th 2016, 2:37 PM

Wouldn’t go if I got a personal invite, by limo…rubbish.

Mute Malvolio32
    Favourite Malvolio32
    Jul 10th 2016, 1:41 PM

Hon wexford

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jul 10th 2016, 2:21 PM

Aw de Purple an’ Gooold
    Is my heart an my sooooouuuul

Mute The Mooooose
    Favourite The Mooooose
    Jul 10th 2016, 2:00 PM

Well there was no fear of her turning the place into a sea of ‘blue’!

Mute Wynnner
    Favourite Wynnner
    Jul 10th 2016, 1:26 PM

Give me Adele any day

Mute archer 12
    Favourite archer 12
    Jul 10th 2016, 4:14 PM

She pretty much sums up everything I despise.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Jul 10th 2016, 4:37 PM

I really hope Beyonce doesn’t take things to heart while she’s reading these comments here at the journal.

Mute Ryan Hardy
    Favourite Ryan Hardy
    Jul 10th 2016, 3:55 PM

Roses were better, soz mates!

Mute Donal O Neil
    Favourite Donal O Neil
    Jul 10th 2016, 4:20 PM

At least she turned up not like other high priced singers of a cowboy persuasion

Mute simon
    Favourite simon
    Jul 10th 2016, 5:32 PM

Beyonce not turning up would have been better too

Mute Odhran MacMurchadha
    Jul 10th 2016, 3:00 PM

More importantly.
    What colour knickers was she wearing?
    Purple?

Mute Gavin Carton
    Favourite Gavin Carton
    Jul 10th 2016, 3:48 PM

Was there any scenario that you played in your head were you posted that comment and DIDN’T come out sounding like a massive creep?

Mute Odhran MacMurchadha
    Jul 10th 2016, 4:33 PM

Yes.
    Quite a few.
    You wouldn’t understand them though Gavin.

Mute Gavin Carton
    Favourite Gavin Carton
    Jul 10th 2016, 4:42 PM

Trying to take the high road after a comment like that?
    Good luck!!

Mute michael
    Favourite michael
    Jul 10th 2016, 2:24 PM

It’s a great country really

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Jul 10th 2016, 5:14 PM

Always in the underpants. Very empowering

Mute lez ferguson
    Favourite lez ferguson
    Jul 10th 2016, 6:12 PM

Would not cross the road

Mute Charles Martel
    Favourite Charles Martel
    Jul 10th 2016, 1:52 PM

Boo-hoo, I had to settle for a nice Tempranillo and this, – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LzP5xGcKa1k

Mute Veruca Salt
    Favourite Veruca Salt
    Jul 10th 2016, 4:24 PM

You’re all Ragin… Closest thing to a religious experience

Mute Niall Maher
    Favourite Niall Maher
    Jul 10th 2016, 8:39 PM

I heard she was rubbish, sang very few songs and depended on videos. Neutrals felt cheated I heard.

Mute Ken Pepper
    Favourite Ken Pepper
    Jul 10th 2016, 5:58 PM

” she killed it…”
    Exactly…..only she could make such a soulful and devastating song so bland…
    Not fit to lace his high heels.

Mute Orla Collins
    Favourite Orla Collins
    Jul 11th 2016, 4:31 PM

Bet she was amazing alright. Amazingly bad LOL