Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Matt Rourke/PA

Joe Biden denies sexual assault allegation made by former staffer

This is the first public comment Biden has made on the accusation.

JOE BIDEN HAS denied a former staffer’s allegation of sexual assault, saying the accusation is “not true”.

“This never happened,” Biden, said in a statement today. 

The statement is the former vice-president’s first public comment on an accusation of sexual assault by his former Senate staffer, Tara Reade.

He is appearing on MSNBC’s Morning Joe today to discuss the allegation for the first time on television.

The presumptive Democratic nominee for the presidency is expected to duel with Donald Trump for the keys to the White House in November.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 94 comments
94 Comments
    Mute Sgt Pepper
    Favourite Sgt Pepper
    Sep 29th 2015, 11:37 AM

Varadkar has been feeding the media with information for years. That’s why they give him a free pass. That, and he played the gay card nicely. He’s like a tap, with info. And he’s also been useless in Health/Angola.

This guy is doing exactly what Michael Martin did 20 years ago. He became media savvy, and used the media in every way possible for his own advantage. The way he has been allowed go unchallenged by our servile media is a disgrace. There’s not a political journalist left in this cesspit. And the Journal were the ones leading the Leo worship for the last few years.

It’s quite pathetic.

Mute Chris O Neill Cabra
    Favourite Chris O Neill Cabra
    Sep 29th 2015, 11:38 AM

Nail, hammer, head!

Mute MuckyMoo
    Favourite MuckyMoo
    Sep 29th 2015, 11:39 AM

Couldn’t have put it better if I tried.

Mute Josephine Campbell
    Favourite Josephine Campbell
    Sep 29th 2015, 11:49 AM

agree

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:08 PM

True, Sgt. Pepper. And if it wasn’t Leo they were lionising, it was Lucinda. That actually was a good thing as we saw exactly what Lucinda is like!

Mute david garland
    Favourite david garland
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:13 PM

It’s a pity Paul Kimmage wouldn’t branch out into politics..

Mute Sgt Pepper
    Favourite Sgt Pepper

It’s the media number 1 job to maintain an unhealthy relationship with politicians. They are our checks and balances. That stopped years ago and now we have drone reporters and columnists instead. It can;t continue as they no longer represent us. When was the last (or first time) Hugh O’ Connell asked a hard question of a serving senior politician?

He seems to prefer picking off low hanging fruit and making a fool out of lowly councillors and senators that happily oblige through their own stupidity.

My attitude is that they should have their press passes revoked as not only are they not provided the service they should be, but they are actively abusing it.

Mute Seamus Og
    Favourite Seamus Og
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:19 PM

Sgt Pepper When Leo came out I said all this about playing the gay card and using the media, yet so many people were taken in by it. I was shouted down by one poster after another. Hopefully people will start to see just what he is and how dangerously right wing he is.

Mute rory conway
    Favourite rory conway
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:24 PM

Pepper , FF are saying this solely because it is their own modus operandi. They think everyone acts like them arrogance , and not a shred of proof.

Mute Sgt Pepper
    Favourite Sgt Pepper
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:26 PM

Michael Martin is saying this, because it’s exactly what he did himself for years. He’s just another hypocrite and he can spot himself in Leo and Vice-versa.

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:11 PM

Eyes will roll!

Mute John Clarke
    Favourite John Clarke
    Sep 29th 2015, 2:27 PM

His own head is not beyond rolling when it comes to this issue…

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Sep 29th 2015, 6:39 PM

The buck never stops with the top brass in charge of the mess. They’ll deal with people on trollies by taking away the trollies.

Mute Alan Hanley
    Favourite Alan Hanley
    Sep 29th 2015, 11:40 AM

I hope the plan to deal with the problem is a little more substantial than ‘heads will roll’, assuming there is a plan. It just seems a bit short on detail at the moment.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:58 PM

Ah come on leo. Heads should have rolled a long time ago especially yours. Fg were quick to always lay down motion’s of no confidence in previous ministers when scandals arose, but amazingly they don’t mind scandals now. Will wait for the investigation of how an internal email from the minister got leaked and see will heads roll for that. Of course they won’t because this is the government that takes no responsibility.

Mute McGuckin Annette
    Favourite McGuckin Annette
    Sep 29th 2015, 2:48 PM

The plan Alan is for the DG of the Directorate to Chair the Task Force and they’ll implement a range of measures that should have been implemented by the HSE in the first place. Heads will roll is HSE speak for an internal transfer to the other side of the country when you fupp up.

Mute Miguel O'Reilly
    Favourite Miguel O'Reilly
    Sep 29th 2015, 11:37 AM

If true surely we can’t exactly be surprised? A self-serving politician? Never!

It’s the start of 7 months of pre-election self praise and financial giveaways to buy the election.

The fools are those that still believe this nonsense

Mute For Connolly
    Favourite For Connolly
    Sep 29th 2015, 11:39 AM

7 months?

Try 8 weeks.

But you’re right, buying votes, auction politics and tough talk at odds with their actions will be the name of the game.

Mute david garland
    Favourite david garland
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:06 PM

FG are well into election mode already. Has anybody noticed all the FG posters plastering the lampposts of South Dublin? It seems all their sitting TD’s have some excuse or another to have their posters up advertising some meeting or think in with the locals their trying to scam..

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:30 PM

Scam?

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Sep 29th 2015, 11:46 AM

Heads will roll, with their golden handshakes and enormous pensions. Having said that when was the last time a higher civil servant was sacked.

Mute Michael Sheahan
    Favourite Michael Sheahan
    Sep 29th 2015, 11:59 AM

They just retire after they get a visit late at night!

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:11 PM

….er, didn’t we lose an AGS commissioner…………..oh wait, sure of course he wasn’t ‘fired’, he just had an accelerated retirement decision process imposed on him………..

Mute anthony campion
    Favourite anthony campion
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:27 PM

The higher echelons of the Civil Service no matter how incompetent they are, are never sacked just moved to another Dept or to the EU to spread their wisdom and knowledge

Mute Enda Ireland
    Favourite Enda Ireland
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:32 PM

Leo Varadkar, Minister for leaks and broken promises.

Mute Brian Deane
    Favourite Brian Deane
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:45 PM

Is Varadkar actually taking responsibility for Health? Seems to be behaving more like the Commentator on Health than the Minister for Health. And yet, the view among large sections of the media seems to be that Leo ‘is doing a good job’. No wonder he’s expending valuable time on selective leaking to the commentariat – beats doing what he’s supposed to be doing.

Mute Leo Conway
    Favourite Leo Conway
    Sep 29th 2015, 11:35 AM

his turnip head should be the first to roll!

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Sep 29th 2015, 11:36 AM

If Leo was a lollipop he’d lick himself.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:02 PM

Was just about to say the same!

Mute Mer Curial
    Favourite Mer Curial
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:04 PM

If he was a dog, he’d lick his own nuts.

Mute Ben Redline
    Favourite Ben Redline
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:23 PM

@Paul, I can’t help but think he’s already tried that a few times.

Mute Toddimus Maximus
    Favourite Toddimus Maximus
    Sep 29th 2015, 11:33 AM

You wouldn’t a script like it on Corrie

Mute Bobby Connolly
    Favourite Bobby Connolly
    Sep 29th 2015, 11:42 AM

Ahh to be fair. .. he’s the first minister of health in years that’s not obese and can use an iPhone. He can’t be expected to be good at EVERYTHING.

Mute Willie the kid
    Favourite Willie the kid
    Sep 29th 2015, 11:59 AM

What is he the minister of again ?.

Mute Setrakian
    Favourite Setrakian
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:18 PM

Typical FG politician trying to be a cute hoor & failing miserably at the same time. Leo hasn’t the brains or desire to really make a go of his health brief. If he really cares about helping those who are unwell he should quit politics & practise medicine. Obviously the pay & perks don’t match his current employment or come close but he may actually make a positive difference if he did so. Heads must roll – yours included Leo for damn sure.

Mute Peter Nolan
    Favourite Peter Nolan
    Sep 29th 2015, 11:45 AM

As per Yes, Minister…

“That’s another of those irregular verbs, isn’t it?
    I give confidential press briefings;
    you leak;
    he’s being charged under section 2A of the Official Secrets Act.”

Mute willr
    Favourite willr

His head will have to be first. His in charge and it’s deteriorated further under his watch. And also I am not surprised at all with him leaking emails like that. His a FG politician…they have shown beyond any doubt the contempt they have for the people of Ireland. They think us fools that such an amateurish stunt like this would not be noticed. Shame on them. And shame on anyone who supports them…when theor coinduct and behaviour proves how little they think of Irish people’s intelligence

Mute Willy
    Favourite Willy
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:54 PM

Leo is top of the class in Bluffology…

Mute Richard Barrett
    Favourite Richard Barrett
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:45 PM

Jaysus get this shower out of office ASAP.

Mute Martin Hayes
    Favourite Martin Hayes
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:39 PM

Heads will have to roll,rock on tough talking Leo. We have had a FG Minister for Health for four and a half years during which time the situation has worsened. Didn’t Reilly say much the same thing before the last election and yet we still have the same bloated structure in existence today? All bluster and buffoonery from Leo, there’s more substance in a bubble.

Mute Denis Maher
    Favourite Denis Maher
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:25 PM

For Connolly, spot on, pencil in Nov. 20. 7 months is too long to be waiting around do nothing except Tring to avoid a banana skin, and with village idiot Kenny at the helm the handlers can’t take that chance, so FG strategy will be ditch labour in the same contentious manner that they ditched their base, go early and mop up all those lovely transfers, from the stupid transfer pact that the dozey fcekers in liebour agreed to, that the labour wipeout will give them as they topple like skittles

Mute Sgt Pepper
    Favourite Sgt Pepper
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:33 PM

You’re dreaming if you think there’ll be an election this year.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:32 PM

his head should roll

Mute Piotrek Król
    Favourite Piotrek Król
    Sep 29th 2015, 3:17 PM

A detestable liar of a man. What about his own head? The audacity of this criminal makes my eyes water.

Mute Denis Maher
    Favourite Denis Maher
    Sep 29th 2015, 12:55 PM

Sgt. Pepper that’s a statement, please expand on why you think so, without saying the feel good factor of an extra 5-10 euro in the paypacket/welfare, which is a pittance and will not assuage public anger at the lies, cronyism, ineptitude and total detachment from reality of these clowns.

Mute Shakka1244
    Favourite Shakka1244
    Sep 29th 2015, 2:45 PM

Speak for yourself. That’s any extra 3 pints per week my friend. I’d vote for anyone that can get me 3 extra pints.

;-)

Mute Sgt Pepper
    Favourite Sgt Pepper
    Sep 29th 2015, 4:47 PM

In case you hadn’t noticed FG will be in the next government going on the polls alone. FF most likely in coalition. Why? Because all this public anger will be forgotten about as the public get bought off with their own money. It’s party time again between now and the budget. They intentionally front loaded the first budget so they could use this one as a giveaway of sorts. Of course, we are still bankrupt and have unsustainable debt now, just as then, but that won’t matter for two reasons. A:) No alternative party to vote for if you are a realist. B:) An artificial feelgood factor making its way back that FG will capitalise on.

Mute Rebecca Hegarty
    Favourite Rebecca Hegarty
    Sep 29th 2015, 2:17 PM

So we’re supposed to be impressed by the fact that the minister for health was angry about the amounts of patients on trolleys? Like we were supposed to be impressed by the “strongly worded emails” he sends everytime there’s a crisis or massive failure within the hse? How about we all just admit that mr varadkar has as much power over the hse as the family dog? The hse answer to no one and that is a very dangerous fact indeed

Mute Michelle Flatley
    Favourite Michelle Flatley
    Sep 29th 2015, 1:51 PM

Look at the number of beds 10 years ago and the number of beds now. If these beds were open the trolley crisis may not exist – I didn’t say wouldn’t exist but it would be a huge factor in helping easing the situation But since the embargo forced so many abroad they don’t have staff to look after the people in the beds that have so just reopening them isn’t an option either – years of mismanagement coming back to roost but just before flu season is when panic sets in ‘heads will roll’… yeah right

Mute damien o brien
    Favourite damien o brien
    Sep 29th 2015, 1:39 PM

Reminds me of a leaked ISIS email I once saw…

Mute Barry Walsh
    Favourite Barry Walsh
    Sep 29th 2015, 1:47 PM

I hope the heads of patients won’t be rolling off trolleys!

LOL!

Mute Dan Waters
    Favourite Dan Waters
    Sep 29th 2015, 2:16 PM

I passed this guy on Grafton street one day and I am not religious, but this guy has a very dark energy talk about Lord Vader lol.

Mute Brian Moore
    Favourite Brian Moore
    Sep 29th 2015, 6:48 PM

Varadkar always has to get himself in the media. I think he see’s himself as Taoiseach down the road. Wouldn’t trust him as far as I could throw him.

Sep 29th 2015, 8:07 PM

This smarmy individual is worse even than that liar before him. We do not believe ONE word from his lips anymore…

Mute von
    Favourite von
    Sep 29th 2015, 7:28 PM

Hahahahahaha so funny. He thought he wouldn’t be caught. Poor Leo.
    Now back to business next elections Leo out and every other FG hopefully.

Mute Garwig
    Favourite Garwig
    Sep 29th 2015, 10:00 PM

what a prat