You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
JOE BIDEN HIT out at US President Donald Trump today accusing his rival of surrendering to a surging pandemic, as the Democrat took his campaign to the Republican stronghold of Georgia one week before the US election.
While the former vice president went on the attack, seeking to expand the campaign map and his state-by-state path to victory on November 3, Trump electioneered the Midwest in a bid to shore up states which voted for him in 2016 but which polls show are tilting Biden’s way.
And with the campaign narrowing down to its final days, Biden tapped one of his top supporters, popular former president Barack Obama, to deliver a closing argument for Democrats in Florida, a must-win swing state for Trump if he is to defy the odds and earn reelection.
Biden, buoyed by poll numbers that show him leading the incumbent, drilled in on Trump’s handling of the coronavirus, reminding voters that Trump’s chief of staff Mark Meadows conceded at the weekend that “we’re not going to control the pandemic”.
Biden, speaking in Warm Springs, Georgia, branded the response “a capitulation” by a White House that “never really tried” to halt a pandemic which has now killed more than 226,000 Americans.
Instead of acting as a wartime president to battle Covid-19 as he promised, Trump “shrugged, he swaggered and he surrendered,” Biden said.
“I’m here to tell you: We can and we will control this virus,” he added.
“If you give me the honour of serving as your president, clear the decks for action,” he said. “For we will act… on the first day of my presidency to get Covid under control.”
‘Working my ass off!’
Biden, 77, was holding a socially distanced drive-in rally later in Atlanta, Georgia’s largest city.
Trump defeated Hillary Clinton by five points in Georgia in 2016 but polls have the 74-year-old running neck-in-neck with Biden in the state.
Georgia last voted for a Democrat for president nearly three decades ago — Bill Clinton in 1992 — but the Biden campaign has high hopes of flipping the state and also winning its two US Senate seats up for grabs.
Trump meanwhile maintained his hectic campaign pace, holding an open-air rally in Michigan followed by two events in Wisconsin.
Both are Midwestern battlegrounds which he won by razor thin margins four years ago, but Trump insisted “we’re leading almost everywhere” thanks to his frantic campaign schedule.
“I’ve got to say I’m working my ass off here!” he boomed in Lansing, Michigan, eliciting a huge cheer.
Trump also said his pandemic policies and economic chops would serve the nation better than Biden.
“This election is a choice between a Trump super-recovery or Biden depression,” he said.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
55 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
I think the Government should offer him citizenship. Then he could just tour Ireland indefinitely, travelling from county to county… putting right what once went wrong. Like Quantum Leap only with country music.
In fairness he was torn asunder by the builder working at Croke Park… He kept spluttering “As I explained to your researcher Joe , i have a prior engagement and I have to go!!! …. I’m clueless get me out of here !!!
It’s not money lost if it was never there to begin with. On your logic why don’t we just have 10 concerts? Make even more money with no ramifications whatsoever.
160,000 tickets will now have to be refunded. Average cost of a ticket was what? €70? Which means from VAT alone the country would have made over €11million. Factor in the loss from hotels, Pubs, Public transport etc and its probably much much bigger.
Every hotel room in Dublin was booked and obviously now they will all be empty, having turned away countless holiday makers etc. and now with very little time to fill them again. There’s an uncanny amount of money lost in the area alone. So to say you can’t lose what you never had in response to above comment spells an obvious picture of your IQ .
Jack. How am I been selfish about making a point about the money that won’t be spent in dublin city now. I am not making money out of it. Do you not believe in people spending money in Dublin (if 160k people spend even €10 each that’s 1.6m to the economy). I won’t throw insults back at you because us Culchies don’t think we are great putting up stupid off topic comments.
Apologies jack. My culchie spelling fails me yet again.
On a serious note though, do you live beside croker. And how bad does it be for concerts for residents.
I wonder how many hotel rooms were booked on special pay-up-front deals that are non-refundable ? Probably quite a lot given the demand for rooms. Those rooms are paid for and the hotels and B&Bs are well within their rights not to offer refunds……..any concert cancellations are not their fault. Could be the same situation with flight tickets. People gambled and lost. Only Bondholders and the like are allowed to do that in Ireland. Allegedly.
There is a simple solution to avoid this in future but it involves common sense, planning and dialogue so I won’t waste my, and your, time outlining it, as those three are never seen in the same room in these parts.
What % of people in the area want some of the concerts cancelled? I doubt very much that it’s a majority of them. Hell, only a very small minority of them are part of the residents association.. yet they can hold everyone else to ransom. Pathetic whining gee-bags
And what’s the alternative? We allow concert promoters and other event organisers to go ahead and book whatever acts in whatever locations at whatever times of day with utter disregard for planning permission? Why stop there, why dont we allow builders to develop wherever they like, I’m going home to extend my house now..
I think anyone that had tickets for the two cancelled shows should set up camp outside the stadium (or the residents houses) with a big pa system and play Garth Brooks for the duration ha. I wouldn’t mind I can’t even stand the guy but I really think this is awful for individuals having to organise accommodation/rotas and even the amount of money the city is gonna lose out on. I hope the GAA is going to reimburse these people.
Katie it is sad for those fans affected. I know some of them. But at least now the big promoters and the buying public will pay more attention to the term ‘Subject to license.’ The GAA and promoters knew that by trying push for 5 nights in a row they’d be heading into trouble. They’re ultimately to blame for being so cavalier in such a contentious situation.
I have to be honest though ‘subject to licence’is something if never have paid attention to. Least we all know now. I am really disgusted at the organisers and especially the GAA. Surely they knew this was going to happen. But it’s typical isn’t it.
They knew full well they were chancing their arm. But it paid off for them. They pushed for 5 and got 3. Oldest tactic in the book. Pity two fifths of their customers were exploited and used as a bargaining chip. And Ticketmaster or whoever will pocket all of the interest that accrued on the Mon and Tues tickets over the last 5 months. Nice profit for them.
Really? I’d have thought with all the shit we put up with from politicians not budging on things that we’d be applauding these residents. They are not a minority, there was a huge amount of people from the area lobbying. I feel really sorry for those who can’t now go to the concerts. But I think we as a people don’t get out and lobby enough. Residents have a bloody awful time when concerts go on like this. And the arrogance of the promoters selling tickets for 5 unlicensed concerts is mind blowing when Croke park was already over subscribed is unbelievable.
It’s about time money didn’t win. Every time someone has a legitimate concern they’re told to shut up , suck it up and let the euros roll in.
The tickets should not have been sold without the license for the gigs being confirmed, this argument has been ongoing since the gigs were announced so its not like its a major surprise
Your letting the country lose out on hundreds of millions in revenue . People coming from all over the world spending money on hotels , food, taxis , beer & they bow down to a few hundred People who’s main argument is anti social behaviour . Don’t make me laugh it’s a garth brooks concert not Swedish house mafia !!!
Your opinions are pathetic he is still doing 3 nights so plenty of hotels and local businesses will do well,Croke park is a sports stadium and all residents have no problems with matches been played there ,Concerts are a whole different ball game and Special planning permission is required for it ,The Gaa agreed with the residents to allowing 3 gigs a year not 8 so they have every right to object.
There was a lot of dodgy overpriced jobs being done on people’s homes during the celic tiger so this isn’t the first time Irish people have been shafted by a fat cowboy!
Yes of course. Everyone loves paying for hotels and flights that are now pointless.
160000 people are now massively disappointed and in some cases massively out of pocket thanks to this decision
So is the state through lost taxes, businesses through lost revenues and all for what?
To placate professional whiners who are already bitching and moaning about how the other three are going to cause them such misery….
God help them if they had to live in Iraq or Afghanistan…
Rubbish. You clearly don’t know what the surrounding area is like. People, particuarly old people are afraid to leave their houses. It was mis sold, industry thought it could win and tough, they lost. I feel really sorry for those who can’t go. But maybe the promoters will think twice in future.
Pull the 5 of the concerts, move them all to the Phoenix park & stick 2 fingers up at the residence who will be complaining next year that the area has no money blaa blaa blaa
The residents don’t give a shite about the “money” this is supposed to bring in. Were the Garth Brooks fans going to go around putting euro coins in my letter box or something? What money are you talking about? The money hotels like the Skylon were going to gouge people for? The money Centra were going to get for fags? The money some market stall owner was going to make on cheap cowboy hats?
Yeah, as a resident I’m really going to miss that money. If only we had enough Garth Brooks concerts I could afford to send my children to college.
If you are a resident of the actual half dozen streets that people walk down to get to Croke Park I assume that you’ll be happy enough not to get free “residents” tickets to All Ireland Finals to Sell on Ebay?
Almost every concert ticket sold in this country is done so subject to planning permission! Be it Marley Park, the Aviva, Croke Park or any other venue around the country!
Reading all the comments makes me laugh “welcome to Ireland friendliest country in the world” The amount of bitching in these comments sections. If ye don’t like the story don’t read it.
I for one don’t care if he comes or not be good for economy I suppose but if dublin council object why not play in another county.
(Also, if it helps: articles about the CRC, Leaders’ Questions, Property Tax, Paddy Kenny and a lunch time news round up were all published in the last few minutes if you’re looking for something non-Garth related).
@Christine – in all fairness its about advertising to keep the site going no? – clicks etc like the Daily Mail does… now its a great site with lots of great stuff – but surely now and again you go for the easy clickable articles – ? :) No?!
Too disruptive ??? What about the disruption of people coming into the country. All over the world. Just heard on Joe duffy that a someone’s friend got two weeks off from work and coming from new zealand. For a cancelled gig on tuesday. …. Not the only person coming from abroad…. Its a joke, a national embarrassment to the Irish.
That’s nothing. I heard a friend of someone who worked with my niece read that one of the astronauts in the International Space Station caught an early Soyuz back to earth so he could go to the concert. Cost him $90 million. And he’s not the only person coming from space. Wasn’t that on Joe Duffy?
They had one of the residents on the radio this morning and he sounded a reasonable bloke – just sounds like the GAA don’t care much and the residents have had enough – If you have a stadium in a residential area it’s taking the p1ss to disrupt people’s lives for a week
Yes the council is right. What a fu king liberty on Aiken thinking they could sell tickets for 5 shows they didn’t even have a license for. Well they got caught out. And there out a lot of money what ever way you look at it. Garth Brooke’s party still want there wonga. It’s Amateur hour in Ireland yet again
if the money needs to be refunded and the promoters are sitting on roughly 7 million euro for the weeks and until a decision is made who gets the considerable interest on that amount? Seems like a win win situation for the promoters or will someone challenge this clearly fraudulent selling of tickets and even give the interest to charity
Time for the GAA to stop pandering to these “local” community groups. The vast majority of whom do not live in the streets immediately surrounding Croke Park (30, 000 residents claim to be effected).
The residents of streets from as far away as Phibsboro have decided that they would be so inconvenienced by people walking past their house, or driving to the centre of our capital city, that they’ve resorted to legal action. Good! From now on the GAA should insist on its legal right to trade in its own premises with out being extored to supply free tickets for “local residents” to sell on Ebay. The GAA should do no more than comply with their legal minimum requirements.
As a GAA member I’m deliggted that several thousand All Ireland Final tickets will be available to GAA members rather provided to unfortuates, who didn’t notice the proximity to one of Europe’s latgest stadiums when they bought their house. I’m also delighted that several hundred thousand euro which would have been handed over to these people will be distributed to local GAA clubs.
I’m not a Gareth brooks fan but this is horrible , it makes us as a nation look like a bunch of knobs who can’t be trusted to attend a concert or all hell will break loose . Seriously what kind of image must the US have of us
Hitler is alive and well in Ireland. The world must be laughing at us again. I bet his family will be in the corporate box for one of the concerts and to hell with the rest. Another case of the minority bullying the majority.
This decision was made by one man.the councilors voted not to sell the bin collection but we’re over ruled by the co management.he is a law on to himself.All the concerts should have been allowed its generateds millions for the economy. We have to cop on???
What is totally ridiculous is that the gigs were advertised and sold without even receiving a license. This “subject to license” business is nonsense – apply for the license and get a decision well in advance of the gig actually happening so that it is either confirmed as going ahead or not. I personally wouldn’t cross the road to see GB but 160,000 ticket-holders should not have been disappointed at this late stage.
Eoin Keegan has cancelled our enjoyment so what new plan will he come up with for raising the lost revenue? Oh yes taxes taxes taxes. All fun now stopped and it’s work to keep the county councillors in clover and pay for their junkets and expenses!!!!
The permission was for a total of three concerts per year. There were three in May. The GAA and Aiken promotions knew this. The residents knew this. All five concerts should now be cancelled. If two are allowed in excess of the three in May, then the trick will be pulled again quoting precedent. Chancers!!!!!
Come off it Niall , the residence are looking for a pay off €€€ nothing else . They have no problem with football nearly every week in the summer months plus .It lies dormant for the rest of the year . It’s a minority of people complaining too so move all the nights else where & future concerts & the residence will soon complain that the area has no money
This I purely the fault of the GAA, they made an agreement and then did what they wanted anyway. I hope it costs them a fortune as thats all the GAA UNDERSTANDS – money.
With a bit of luck the agreement signed with Aiken will have to be honoured and the GAA get paid for 5 nights and only have to hold 3. Tidy little profit
It doesn’t matter who fault it is. The people affected are decent people who where looking forward to seeing his show. They are the only losers here (that and local business, hotels, bars, restaurant, public transport, venders, the staff of croke park who will be down two nights wages and of course Irelands reputation)
I’ve said yes, purely due to sympathy with those who have tickets for the two cancelled. GAA and promoters should however be warned
1stick to the agreement, next time there will be cancellations
2 don’t start selling tickets until licence is granted
Aiken should be punished in some way for their doing the latter.
Wonder if Brooks management wiil sue for breach of contract?
What to me is astounding… That these concerts were arranged without having secured the licence… It is totally absurd.. As if the only consideration is the money to be made….well done, DCC
Ticketmaster laughin their asses off either way..400000 handling fees they wont refund if all five concerts cancelled..That works out at over €2.5 million..
Woman (60s) dead and three seriously injured after three-car crash in Waterford
14 mins ago
Allianz Football League
Kerry get the better of Mayo to win 24th Division 1 title
The 42
35 mins ago
social welfare changes
If you lose your job and have worked for 5 years you'll get up to €450 a week under new rules
21 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say