You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File photo - cannabis resin via Shutterstock

Man due in court over €250,000 Blarney cannabis haul

Gardaí recovered 42 kilos of the drug in the operation.

A 35-YEAR-OLD man is due before court in the morning charged in connection with a drug seizure yesterday near Blarney, Co Cork.

He was arrested in the course of raid that took place at a wooded area in Kilclough, Vicarstown near Blarney last evening.

38 kilos of cannabis resin was uncovered in the course of the operation, while another 4 kilos has been recovered in follow-up inquiries.

Gardaí are putting the total value of the haul at €250,000.

The man has been questioned in connection with the raid at Gurranabraher Garda Station under Section 2 of the Criminal Justice (Drug Trafficking) Act.

He’s due to appear before Cork District Court at 10.30am on related charges.

Read: Man, 26, injured in Ballyfermot shooting

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

27 Comments
    Mute right-sock-off
    Favourite right-sock-off
    Apr 2nd 2014, 10:40 PM

The blarney stoner

Mute Michael Neagh
    Favourite Michael Neagh
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:09 PM

No doubt a recent Irish happymeal passport holder

Mute Donny Duck
    Favourite Donny Duck
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:17 PM

We could make it a real tourist attraction. Not just the gift of the gab.

Apr 2nd 2014, 11:48 PM

First bit looks like Ireland.

Mute mart_n
    Favourite mart_n
    Apr 3rd 2014, 12:40 AM

Looks more like a dangleberry.. Who would want to smoke this shit?!

Mute Tom Collins
    Favourite Tom Collins
    Apr 3rd 2014, 3:40 AM

Let he who has never been stoned cast the first stone

Mute Pablo
    Favourite Pablo
    Apr 3rd 2014, 9:40 AM

It’s Mostly Maui Waui man, but it’s got some Labrador in it.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Apr 2nd 2014, 10:50 PM

Wouldn’t have a clue where to start looking for hash these days, thank God. Who wants it with the quality of the green available?

Mute Cannabis Freedom
    Favourite Cannabis Freedom
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:11 PM

People are also making their own hash using bubble bags and iced water, lovely stuff too. And Journal, why add a cigarette to the photo? It’s a lot less harmful and a lot more enjoyable if mixed with a bit of green in a pipe or bong, I don’t think we should be encouraging the use of tobacco.

Mute VinHeffer89
    Favourite VinHeffer89
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:18 PM

I know it’s bad but I prefer it mixed with tobacco. Different buzz to just pure green. I like a hit from a bong now and then but it’s joints all the way for the most part. Conditioned, man.

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:25 PM

I prefer green any day but at €450 & upwards per oz, it’s a rare treat.. the filthy brown is filthy but still gets the job done for a far more economical €100..

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:31 PM

… also the Garda abacus seems to be bollixed again..
    By my calculation, their €250k figure works out at €165/oz.
    Nope..

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid
    Apr 2nd 2014, 10:40 PM

The guards would probably seize €250,000 worth of drugs if they dragnetted the boardwalk, Abbey St and O’Connell St at 10am on a weekday morning.

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Favourite Jeremy Usbourne
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:58 PM

Every weekday morning.

Mute alanobrien
    Favourite alanobrien
    Apr 2nd 2014, 10:42 PM

That’s some small bit for that price .!!!

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Apr 2nd 2014, 10:52 PM

The cigarette in the picture is 23 miles long. The whole shot is of Finn McCool’s shoulder (nice new Combat Jacket Finn!

Mute Vril Haarp
    Favourite Vril Haarp
    Apr 2nd 2014, 10:47 PM

Is it the garda press office that keep on dripping out these drug stories every day?
    call me cynical but look like the gards are intentionally staggering their seizure operations to make sure it makes the news…yaaay another bit of grass off the streets..the gardai arent that bad afterall

Mute Madra
    Favourite Madra
    Apr 2nd 2014, 10:59 PM

That photo actually looks like dog pooh before you click into the article.

Mute Jeremy Usbourne
    Favourite Jeremy Usbourne
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:59 PM

Piqued your interest did it?!

Mute Donny Duck
    Favourite Donny Duck
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:19 PM

As Garda Gerry Boyle would say “You feckers always exaggerate”. I’ll bet they weighed the entire plants (if they even bothered to weigh them) and based the price on total weight. Never mind that only the dry bud has any value (about 5% of the total weight) so it’s probably worth a lot less.

Mute An Inquiring Mind
    Favourite An Inquiring Mind
    Apr 3rd 2014, 6:39 AM

The Blarney Rastafarian community are said to be devastated.

Mute Some Feen
    Favourite Some Feen
    Apr 2nd 2014, 11:33 PM

€170 an ounce these days?

Dirty ol muck

Mute David Keating
    Favourite David Keating
    Apr 3rd 2014, 1:55 AM

When i first seen the picture i thought it was really bad imported weed but then i read it was hash and i thought wtf i never seen hash like that before in ireland only soapbar,pollen and slate and it sure didn’t look like anything like that it kind of looks like ice o later hash or the stuff i seen in a documentary about hash making in the riff mountains in morroco

Mute Darren Ennis
    Favourite Darren Ennis
    Apr 3rd 2014, 12:06 AM

That pic looks like they only found the makings of a j ha

Mute Conor J Linnane
    Favourite Conor J Linnane
    Apr 3rd 2014, 11:01 AM

How did you miss the hashtag #blarneystoned. Rookie mistake