You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Ashfield Park. Google Maps

Two bodies discovered at house in Kildare

The deaths are not being treated as suspicious.

GARDAÍ ARE INVESTIGATING after two bodies were discovered in a house in a Kildare estate.

The bodies of a man and a woman (both aged in their 70s) were discovered in a house in Ashfield Park estate in Naas, Kildare at 11.30am yesterday morning.

A garda spokesperson confirmed that they are investigating the incident.

The deaths are not being treated as suspicious at this time.

The house has been closed off for a Garda technical examination and the state pathologist has been notified.

A post-mortem on the bodies is to be arranged, the results of which will determine the course of the investigation.

No foul play is suspected in the deaths.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

10 Comments
    Mute Fifth Province
    Favourite Fifth Province
    May 28th 2015, 7:47 PM

I wonder how they will do the player stats? Will it be relative, or exactly the same scale as the men? A woman with the same physical stats as a man wouldn’t make much sense.

Mute UndercoverGarda
    Favourite UndercoverGarda
    May 28th 2015, 8:43 PM

I think they’re making their own seperate scales for men and women. Unfortunately it won’t be possible to play female sides versus male sides.

Mute MAN UTDS IRISH REDS
    Favourite MAN UTDS IRISH REDS
    May 29th 2015, 12:38 AM

Get your tlts out for the lads Andy gray be delighted

Mute Philip
    Favourite Philip
    May 28th 2015, 7:53 PM

Will they bouncy bounce…..

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    May 28th 2015, 8:10 PM

intelligent input, cheers

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    May 28th 2015, 8:16 PM

Dave we wouldn’t expect you to understand.

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    May 28th 2015, 7:53 PM

Well after about 20 games or whatever they’re gonna have to come up with something new.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    May 28th 2015, 7:54 PM

Women’s football is dire.

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    May 28th 2015, 7:48 PM

it raises the profile of the women’s game and the players on the teams probably get a fee for using their names and faces that’s the only reason i can see…

Mute Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Favourite Mrs Shalakalananaka
    May 28th 2015, 8:23 PM

Or maybe it’s so women playing the game can play as women?

Mute Eoin Mulhern
    Favourite Eoin Mulhern
    May 28th 2015, 7:51 PM

I’m more annoyed that fifa 16 is more the same as 15 and nothing has changed.

Mute Niall O'Grady
    Favourite Niall O'Grady
    May 28th 2015, 7:55 PM

Like every other year?

Mute Hardly Normal
    Favourite Hardly Normal
    May 28th 2015, 7:58 PM

your’re complaining about fifa not changing on an article about how fifa has changed to iclude women’s teams ???

Mute Carmo Vanderval
    Favourite Carmo Vanderval
    May 28th 2015, 8:48 PM

Some people are never happy, huh!?

Mute Eoin Mulhern
    Favourite Eoin Mulhern
    May 28th 2015, 9:50 PM

I was thinking more of adding new leagues like the Ukraine one, being able to change how much of a crowd there is, less bugs and crashes online and making it more real like handballs and such. I don’t mind women football in it but it will be forgotten about when the game comes out as it only really a few international teams and no club league team at all.

Mute Monty Wuggy
    Favourite Monty Wuggy
    May 28th 2015, 8:05 PM

The inclusion of women teams will have no negative impact on other modes in the game so the indignation appearing on social media would appear to be attributable to misogyny. This isn’t being imposed on people, they can simply ignore the women teams and continue playing as they would any other year.
    Gamer culture is rife with sexism, especially the Fifa, GTA and COD subcultures.

Mute Jebus
    Favourite Jebus
    May 28th 2015, 8:55 PM

I agree a lot of gamers are sexist and to be a woman playing video games online must be infuriating.

But women like Anita Sarkeesian (I think that’s how you spell her name?) and her followers really don’t help that at all. She thinks up ways games are sexist from no where. Examples being in the game “Hitman Absolution” at one point of the game you walk through a strip club and are able to shoot the people in the strip club and even though you are penalised for doing it she said its sexist because its advocating violence against women. She’s done the same with the GTA game series too.

Mute Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Favourite Jimmy Jim-Jim
    May 28th 2015, 10:19 PM

She makes up shite about games and is lauded on this site for it. That lad last week made up shite about mad max and was slammed by the same writers. The pair of then are more alike than different.

Mute Jebus
    Favourite Jebus
    May 28th 2015, 10:36 PM

You should watch “reviewtechusa” on YouTube and his most recent video about her inclusion in times most influential people and how she got there.Very interesting stuff.

Mute Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Favourite Jimmy Jim-Jim
    May 28th 2015, 10:42 PM

I’ll have a look at that. I always have a bad feeling about people who are placed above criticism, especially when they are in the business of criticism themselves. Still, there’s a part of me that can’t help admire how she can rake in the cash while having the tumblratchikks do all of the donkey work. Not admire in an approving way, it’s more like the admiration I feel watching Wolf of Wall Street.

Mute Jebus
    Favourite Jebus
    May 28th 2015, 10:54 PM

The thing I can’t understand is how people can actually agree with what she is saying. It literally makes no sense what so ever and people still listen to her.

Mute Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Favourite Jimmy Jim-Jim
    May 28th 2015, 11:08 PM

It’s bit about right and wrong, it’s about confirmation bias and agendas . Victim status has its own advantages so they just lap up whatever suits their current view.

Mute Unknown
    Favourite Unknown

So many sexist comments there…

Mute Joanna
    Favourite Joanna
    May 28th 2015, 7:54 PM

Did you expect anything less?

Mute JustAoife
    Favourite JustAoife
    May 28th 2015, 9:20 PM

What are you on about? There’s no such thing as sexism, *especially* among journal commenters

Mute Unknown
    Favourite Unknown
    May 29th 2015, 8:22 AM

I meant the tweets.

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    May 28th 2015, 8:02 PM

My wife’s a girl and she thinks it’s a step back, she says them girls should be at home making the dinners not playing keepy upies

Mute Lee :-)
    Favourite Lee :-)
    May 28th 2015, 8:54 PM

Your wife is a girl? Well thank heavens for that

Mute Eric Lensherr
    Favourite Eric Lensherr

Will be interesting to see the women player’s stats compared to the mens. And how accurate the models are. Feels like a pointless nod to progressives at the moment.

Mute Ciarán Lee
    Favourite Ciarán Lee
    May 28th 2015, 8:01 PM

Firstly, IT’S A GAME!! Stats are fictional. They’re abitrary numbers.

Secondly, for someone who thinks it is some weird progressive nod, you seem to hold the character Magneto in high esteem using him as your avatar & name where the entire basis of his character was an analogy (Malcolm X) for the struggle of LGBTQ & African American people…. unless you were doing it as some pointless nod to progressives…

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    May 28th 2015, 8:15 PM

Malcolm X did not care for LGBTQ people that’s incredibly inaccurate.

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe

Sorry google suggests Malcolm X was actually a rent boy while it was Martin Luther King that was no fan of the LBGT’s.

Mute Ciarán Lee
    Favourite Ciarán Lee
    May 28th 2015, 8:40 PM

“Incredibly inaccurate”. That is perfect. You made my day Joe :)

Mute Joe
    Favourite Joe
    May 28th 2015, 8:49 PM

In fairness Ciaran I’ve corrected the record, I mixed my black revolutionaries up and had never realised Malcolm X was in to blokes.

Mute Ciarán Lee
    Favourite Ciarán Lee
    May 28th 2015, 9:12 PM

I never said he was first of all. Secondly if you read the original comment I was saying how the character was an analogy for both of these issues. You were the one who was calling him a “rent boy”. You’re a terrible homophobe & sexist! The entire thread of comments here has been a pure torrent of sexism & misogyny. What is wrong with you people?!

Mute Eric Lensherr
    Favourite Eric Lensherr
    May 28th 2015, 9:15 PM

Why are you talking about lgbt and race issues Ciaran? Neither have anything to do with what I posted.

Mute Jimmy Jim-Jim
    Favourite Jimmy Jim-Jim
    May 28th 2015, 10:20 PM

Are you denying Ciaran a safe space? Bigot!

Mute Jebus
    Favourite Jebus

I think it’s a cool feature to add but for this instalment it will get boring for people quickly since there are no women’s leagues going to be in the game. Maybe in a few years time we will be seeing a women’s football FIFA game on the shelves in GameStop since its quickly rising in popularity.

Mute JustAoife
    Favourite JustAoife
    May 28th 2015, 9:23 PM

To all the people enraged and upset by this allow me to add a bit of perspective-

IT’S A F*”KING COMPUTER GAME!!! GET OVER IT!

Mute Rust Cohle
    Favourite Rust Cohle
    May 28th 2015, 9:17 PM

FIFA and a fap. Great news!

Mute David O Connor
    Favourite David O Connor
    May 28th 2015, 8:33 PM

Wonder will they be wearing extra tight shorts just like Sepp advises.

Mute Cathal Healy
    Favourite Cathal Healy
    May 28th 2015, 8:40 PM

It would be interesting to see how many people would like to play as female football players. As mentioned in one of those tweets, one would imagine there are other features the community want more.

Seems they are just looking for easy press for a stale old franchise and usual rags have obliged. In years to come I’ll laugh when people look back and remember the years of ‘femsploitation’ and the idiots who fell for it.

Mute alessandra
    Favourite alessandra
    May 28th 2015, 8:01 PM

So u mean that it’s a woman in the picture??? !!

Mute Eoin Bond
    Favourite Eoin Bond
    May 28th 2015, 10:17 PM

Adds women… Doesn’t add Stephanie Roche!… EA for you folks!

Mute Sean Stevenson
    Favourite Sean Stevenson
    May 28th 2015, 7:47 PM

Shocking that EA isn’t making it a paid DLC.

Mute Sean Stevenson
    Favourite Sean Stevenson

Shocking EA isn’t releasing it as a paid DLC.