You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

New Antrim Street, Castlebar Google Streetview

Taoiseach condemns “savage murder” of two men he “knew well”

Two elderly brothers were found dead in Castlebar this morning. Gardaí are expected to give an update on the investigation later this afternoon.

Updated at 5.12pm

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has condemned what he’s described as the “brutal and savage murder” of two elderly brothers found dead at a house close to his constituency office in Castlebar this morning.

The bodies were discovered at a house in New Antrim Street in the County Mayo town at around 7am today. The scene has been preserved as initial examinations are carried out by investigators, and it is expected full post-mortems will take place later today.

Gardaí said earlier they were treating the deaths of the two men in their 60s as ‘suspicious’ and are now appealing to anyone who may have seen anything unusual or suspicious in or around the New Antrim Street, Tucker Street and Linenhall Street area between 9pm last night and 7am this morning.

The brothers’ names are not being released until next of kin have been informed.

Paul Dunne, a first cousin of the two men, told Mid West Radio the brothers were “harmless” and said he had been left “numb” at the news of their deaths. Local councillor Ger Deere said the town was in “total shock”.

Reporting from the scene, Mid West Radio’s Teresa O’Malley said that tea had been brought to the men from the pub across the street last night, and that they had been found dead by a home help assistant this morning.

The Taoiseach condemned the killings as an “act of savagery” and said he hoped those responsible would be brought to justice:

Might I just say I was shocked this morning to get a call from my own town, where there has been the brutal and savage murder of two men that I knew well, two brothers who were residents of the street where my office is for very many years, and I find this is an act of savagery.

I hope that person or persons responsible are brought to justice in due course.

Anyone who can assist with the investigation is asked to contact the incident room at Castlebar Garda Station on 094-9022222, the Garda confidential telephone line 1800 666 111 or any Garda Station.

Read: North Belfast bomb a ‘blatant attempt to kill’

More: Orange Order banned from marching through Ardoyne area

Today: Man in ‘critical but stable’ condition after Luas stop attack

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

73 Comments
    Mute P O Leary
    Favourite P O Leary
    Jul 10th 2013, 1:43 PM

This is sickening. Two elderly men beaten to death in there own home. A very sad day for Castlebar. Hope the culprits are cought and locked away for life. RIP.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Jul 10th 2013, 2:16 PM

Or 2 years suspended for each crime to run concurrently

Mute P O Leary
    Favourite P O Leary
    Jul 10th 2013, 3:22 PM

Sadly your are probably right……

Mute Declan Conway
    Favourite Declan Conway
    Jul 10th 2013, 4:11 PM

Human trafficking, child slavery, savage brutal murders, escalating and widespread serious drug crimes, the menace now apparent in any sort of urban area, not least from underage drinkers who flagrantly flout the law while the guards are nowhere to be seen.
    Crimes unheard of, or rare at least not so long ago.
    It is the cost of prosperity turned to austerity, while cuts are being made in law enforcement, which this pathetic story demonstrates from Castlebar last December. http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=16674:crime-wave-escalates&catid=23:news&Itemid=46
    What has happened to our country? And what can we do to fix it before it’s too late?

Mute End of the beginning
    Favourite End of the beginning
    Jul 10th 2013, 11:22 AM

Two old men have died and all you can talk about is the fact that it’s near his constituency office?

Mute HARRY MARKOPOLOS
    Favourite HARRY MARKOPOLOS
    Jul 10th 2013, 12:00 PM

This government has hung the elderly out to dry.
    They have handed them over to the criminal scam artists of the banking world and the murdering looters that roam the country.
    God bless these poor men.
    RIP.

Mute HARRY MARKOPOLOS
    Favourite HARRY MARKOPOLOS
    Jul 10th 2013, 12:48 PM
    Mute GatheringYourMoney
    Favourite GatheringYourMoney
    Jul 10th 2013, 1:48 PM

Whose constituency office?
    Enda “What happened in Ireland was people went mad and borrowed a load of money” Kenny’s?
    Enda Kenny instigates policies that puts paying the debts of gamblers and enriching elites, over the well being and safety of his people including the Elderly.
    Enda Kenny foists debts of faceless banks (that in no way benefit the Irish public) on the Irish public.
    Enda Kenny cuts basic services to reward criminal banking elites for their fraud, their corruption and their crimes.
    The elderly who have contributed to the country all their lives are not safe in their own homes.
    Wake up Government.

Mute Linda Dunne
    Favourite Linda Dunne
    Jul 10th 2013, 5:12 PM

Enda felt it was worthy of mention …..

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Jul 10th 2013, 5:40 PM

Who would you have running the country as an alternative?

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Jul 10th 2013, 5:42 PM

That q to gathering your money

Mute GatheringYourMoney
    Jul 10th 2013, 6:00 PM

Someone who severely punishes the criminals (white collar and political included) who go around the country
    tying up, beating, robbing, intimidating, scamming, and defrauding helpless elderly people.

Someone who puts criminals away for a long time.

Someone who does not believe in a revolving door prison system.

Someone who does not empower the offenders (white collar and political included) at the expense of the victims.

These disgusting occurrences are becoming far too frequent.

Mute James Gorman
    Favourite James Gorman
    Jul 10th 2013, 10:15 PM

Neat side step but I mean the alternative govt choice to the current one???

Mute Ronan Clarke
    Favourite Ronan Clarke
    Jul 10th 2013, 1:19 PM

Poor men beaten to DEATH !!! What the hell is going on in ireland how can this be it’s madness , how filth think they can do this it boils my blood !!!!!! R.I.P. to the poor souls at least there at peace now.

Mute Gerard
    Favourite Gerard
    Jul 10th 2013, 4:47 PM

Only going to get worse if the judges don’t come down hard on these thugs. They are laughing at the justice system! They don’t fear Gardai or the courts! They act like they are untouchable. If they do get to court and convicted their barrister tells the presiding judge about their sad up bringing. Makes me sick :( Rip.

Mute GatheringYourMoney
    Jul 10th 2013, 6:01 PM

Hear Hear
    Well put Gerard.

Mute Tom
    Favourite Tom
    Jul 10th 2013, 8:13 PM

This country is a tinderbox at the moment, it won’t take many more sparks before something catches and the law abiding people of Ireland vent their anger.. And all the bleating in the world from liberals won’t stop it then.

Mute Kevin Smyth
    Favourite Kevin Smyth
    Jul 11th 2013, 12:09 PM

All the public ask, is that the judges make sure that the ‘time fits the crime’. The killer/s in this case is a massive danger to the public, meaning that a light sentence would be a huge slap in the face to the Irish people.
    A few years in solitary, followed by a lengthy stay in a cell.

Mute Warren Collier
    Favourite Warren Collier
    Jul 10th 2013, 3:14 PM

To the insensitive muppets commenting about politics here show some fecking respect for two elderly brothers who where brutally murdered in their own home. R.I.P

Mute Barry McSweeney
    Favourite Barry McSweeney
    Jul 10th 2013, 3:18 PM

Hear, hear!

Jul 10th 2013, 3:36 PM

They’re talking as if its the governments fault that these innocent men are dead. They should be ashamed of themselves.

Mute Linda Dunne
    Favourite Linda Dunne
    Jul 10th 2013, 5:16 PM

With all due respect to the family on this tragic loss of life …. it is the government’s fault …….

Jul 10th 2013, 6:05 PM

Yeah clearly the government spurred on the murderer(s). Oh get some sense!

Mute GatheringYourMoney
    Jul 10th 2013, 6:23 PM

No EOTB.
    However this government have created (and continue to support) a perfect environment for criminal activity to survive and thrive.
    Austerity
    Unemployment
    Emigration
    Little to no consequences/punishment for criminals who commit heinous crimes.
    Etc

I am very aware of the recent influx of crime in our quiet area.

Mute P1
    Favourite P1
    Jul 10th 2013, 10:18 AM

RIP

Mute GatheringYourMoney
    Jul 10th 2013, 11:18 AM

RIP
    A few yards from Enda Kenny’s constituency office.
    May God protect the elderly in Ireland.

Mute James Brown
    Favourite James Brown
    Jul 10th 2013, 11:20 AM

Yes – He’s doing a great job on that at the moment

Mute Dexter Gordon
    Favourite Dexter Gordon
    Jul 10th 2013, 5:40 PM

So the Gardai are treating the ‘brutal and savage murder’ as suspicious.

Mute Declan Mannix
    Favourite Declan Mannix
    Jul 10th 2013, 7:19 PM

Until the pathologists give the official cause of death, it’s termed as suspicious, then it’s murder.

Mute Claire Brampton
    Favourite Claire Brampton
    Jul 10th 2013, 1:47 PM

Those poor innocent men lost their lives in such a brutal way and all for someone else’s greed, makes me sick!! R.I.P

Mute Karolyn Cassidy
    Favourite Karolyn Cassidy
    Jul 10th 2013, 4:00 PM

Death penalty for the $cumbags! Red thumb away!!

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    Jul 10th 2013, 4:30 PM

The red thumbers, are internet zombies and unable to get a brain cell working!

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Jul 10th 2013, 5:35 PM

@Karolyn BIG green thumb

Mute Diarmaid Twomey
    Favourite Diarmaid Twomey
    Jul 10th 2013, 1:52 PM

Rural isolation is a very serious issue which means elderly people are being targeted in rural areas. There should be a zero tolerance approach to anyone that commits a crime against children or the elderly! Life imprisonment till natural death, no exceptions!

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Jul 10th 2013, 2:07 PM

@Diarmuid. I totally agree. It was in the middle of Castlebar though, not exactly in the middle of nowhere. I used to see those two men around town all the time. Characters! Such a shame. Locals are well aware of all the robberies in the area lately and everyone knows who’s doing it! Don’t have to be a rocket scientist to work it out. A guard told my friend recently that unless they are of caught red handed they will get off when the case gets to court. There lies the problem!

Mute Diarmaid Twomey
    Favourite Diarmaid Twomey
    Jul 10th 2013, 2:13 PM

I know what you mean re castlebar not being a rural area, but in terms of police presence and service provision it certainly ain’t urban. These incidents are always happening outside of the main cities for a reason I suppose is my point. But I get what you’re saying too. RIP! So bloody sad! Animals, that’s all they are!

Mute Niall H
    Favourite Niall H
    Jul 10th 2013, 2:18 PM

Sppt on D! And the ironic thing is their house is less than 50 yards from Enda Kennys constituency office.

Mute Barry McSweeney
    Favourite Barry McSweeney
    Jul 10th 2013, 3:17 PM

Castlebar is the Garda HQ for Mayo!

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Jul 10th 2013, 2:15 PM

In the Ireland that is fast becoming a Garda free zone, an Ireland that allows a householder to use fatal force if necessary, Judge Geoffrey Browne in Roscommon court said that householders should use maximum force to repel burglars and such slanders!

Mute Niall Sheridan
    Favourite Niall Sheridan
    Jul 10th 2013, 2:16 PM

That’s skangers!

Mute Marcus Reynolds
    Favourite Marcus Reynolds
    Jul 10th 2013, 4:18 PM

Rest in peace for those two gentlemen. I cannot believe people are defending Enda Kenny here. I’m not trying to be disrespectful but if this is not the forum to discuss why this awful event happened then where else? Enda has repeatedly favored foreign bankers and interests over his own people and this is the net result. Anyone that thinks otherwise needs to wake up. It’s not only cutbacks to the Gardai but also the corrupt politics that has dozens of Gardai assigned to protecting corporate interests in the nearby communities of rossport and belmullet. Any normal individual would realise his mistake when his close friends and neighbors are repeatedly robbed and murdered, but lets face it Enda is no normal individual, he is a failed teacher, leader and human being. Even if the animals that done this are caught they’ll be given 3-6 years max by our awol justice system. I despair at the direction this country is going. Enough is enough. We need a real leader with balls and a brain.

Mute Clodagh Carroll
    Favourite Clodagh Carroll
    Jul 10th 2013, 6:12 PM

Couldn’t agree more. I can’t believe the reaction of some people posting here, claiming this is not the time or place to discuss the failings of Ireland’s criminal justice system and failure to protect vulnerable people in their homes. We need policies not prayers, action not rosaries!! Wake up Ireland because we’ll be a long time waiting for politicians to take the initiative.

Mute Jim Walsh
    Favourite Jim Walsh
    Jul 10th 2013, 8:03 PM

Oh please. One would think crime only started in 2011 to read your rant. It’s completely over the top.

Mute Clodagh Carroll
    Favourite Clodagh Carroll
    Jul 10th 2013, 8:41 PM

So when will be time to act Jim Walsh, in your opinion? When it’s you and your loved ones that have been directly affected by a brutal murder? No, we’d best not overreact, you’re right. Let’s ignore the problem in the hope it’ll go away by itself. Gimme a f-ing break.

Mute Thosj Carroll
    Favourite Thosj Carroll
    Jul 10th 2013, 4:31 PM

Poor two brothers die together…..it’s a really frightening. RIP.

Mute Kevin Smyth
    Favourite Kevin Smyth
    Jul 11th 2013, 12:15 PM

Violence against defenceless old folks is sick, cowardly and twisted, almost akin to beating up on a child. There is no rehabilitating this sort of animal.

Jul 10th 2013, 5:07 PM

Horrendous murder of two elderly gentlemen in their own home. If the savage(s) responsible are caught, they should spend 20 years breaking rocks in a yard. R.I.P. to the two brothers.

Mute Gavin Cooke
    Favourite Gavin Cooke
    Jul 10th 2013, 7:30 PM

That would be too good for them,whoever did this should be tied up and beaten to death themselfs,an eye for an eye!!!!

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    Jul 10th 2013, 3:37 PM

Welcome to light touch regulation Ireland, value on human life in the courts is non-existant and rights of criminals protected. If this is, what it’s rumoured to be? I wonder what the Irish people will demand, as a result and will it be more prayers for these two guys? What will it take, to say enough is enough and doing nothing is not an option anymore?

Mute GatheringYourMoney
    Jul 10th 2013, 6:05 PM

Well said Stephen.

Mute Daniel Horvath
    Favourite Daniel Horvath
    Jul 10th 2013, 1:50 PM

Jeanie Mac! Awful.

Mute Jason Woodhouse
    Favourite Jason Woodhouse
    Jul 10th 2013, 5:21 PM

Animals
    Lower than animals
    And I suppose the people or persons be caught and let off no doubt or released early

Mute Shane O Malley
    Favourite Shane O Malley
    Jul 10th 2013, 5:59 PM

words fail me,,may they rest in peace

Mute Pat Mullan
    Favourite Pat Mullan
    Jul 10th 2013, 6:39 PM

Sadly a good friend of mine met the same fate in Sligo Town late last year. The actions of a few leave a devestating wake not only amongst the family but the wider community. At first you blame yourself for not calling in or what if. Fortunately someone was made to hand themselves in by their own family but this means nothing as the loss goes onn. I dont know the law well but one question comes to mind. Why do we tolerate it and move onn?

Mute Margaret Martin
    Favourite Margaret Martin
    Jul 10th 2013, 4:45 PM

May they rip.

Mute Neil Carroll
    Favourite Neil Carroll
    Jul 10th 2013, 8:37 PM

we all know who beats up the older folk of our country for gain, windy travellers. if they cant get there cash tarring drive ways of vulnerable people they attack and beat them in there own home.

Jul 10th 2013, 8:45 PM

This was not an attack by travellers. It’s not something they would do. Robbery maybe, but no traveller would beat a defenceless, harmless man to death. It’s stereotypes like this that gives all members of the travelling community a bad name.

Mute Martina Lavin
    Favourite Martina Lavin
    Jul 10th 2013, 9:03 PM

End of world, it DID happen last year in Sligo unfortunately!

Mute Martina Lavin
    Favourite Martina Lavin
    Jul 10th 2013, 9:04 PM

*end of beginning. Sorry.

Mute Neil Carroll
    Favourite Neil Carroll
    Jul 10th 2013, 9:14 PM

I knew travellers where I grew up and yes they do beat defenceless harmless people, and I happened to make a mistake when I was younger and ended up in jail for a short spell and I got to know why most of them where in there…

Mute Hank
    Favourite Hank
    Jul 10th 2013, 9:15 PM

No traveller would do that?? Bullshit. They’ve done it before..

Mute Christopher Kelly
    Favourite Christopher Kelly
    Jul 10th 2013, 6:29 PM

Oh i’m sure with this dreadful news that the Government will pay testament to these two poor men by closing a few more Garda Stations – Enda Kenny and this Mickey Mouse government make me sick to the core.

Mute joe o shea
    Favourite joe o shea
    Jul 10th 2013, 5:49 PM

pure evil hopefully they are caught and quickly

Mute Catherine Kelly
    Favourite Catherine Kelly
    Jul 10th 2013, 8:54 PM

R.I.P truly shocking. Hope they catch those responsible but unlikely. But sadly everyone in castlebar knows how they are

Mute Daniel Murphy
    Favourite Daniel Murphy
    Jul 10th 2013, 7:58 PM

I’m sorry to hear about the poor gentlemen but is enda only trying to look like a decent person

Jul 10th 2013, 8:08 PM

No. He genuinely knew them. Everyone here did.

Mute Stephen Murphy
    Favourite Stephen Murphy
    Jul 10th 2013, 8:41 PM

Enda sleeps well at night, he has garda protection!

Mute GatheringYourMoney
    Jul 10th 2013, 11:47 PM

“I knew well, two brothers who were residents of the street where my office is for very many years, and I find this is an act of savagery”.

I’m sorry to have to bring it to your attention Taoiseach
    but your constituency office is on Tucker street, around the corner from New Antrim Street where these poor men lived.

Mute William Mcgee
    Favourite William Mcgee
    Jul 10th 2013, 10:39 PM

Perhaps Enda might have a word with Shatter and close a few more Garda stations , money is more important to Enda than people .

Mute John B. Reid
    Favourite John B. Reid
    Jul 10th 2013, 9:17 PM

This appears to have been a savage attack on two vulnerable people, and justice must be seen to be done.

However, the hypocrisy of Enda Kenny is staggering. It is just too bad that Mr Kenny is not so concerned about the “savage murder” inflicted on the most vulnerable of all, through the practice of abortion.

Mute Tommie Commins
    Favourite Tommie Commins
    Jul 10th 2013, 11:58 PM

this was a dispicable crime and hope who ever done it is caught and hanged but yet again hitler enda kenny got his few minutes of publicity out of this and of course mentioned that his office was at their door why did the media even think of giving this hypproycrit the chance to publicise himself this isnt the first time and it should be his last

Jul 13th 2013, 1:01 AM

Enda should have shut his mouth about decency when he doesn’t practice that principle himself.

Jul 13th 2013, 12:54 AM

Yes, it is an act of savagery Enda and they were two decent men. You hit the nail on the head there and I think you should take a leaf out of this tragedy to become a decent man as well. May the two brothers rest in peace.