Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Gardaí at the scene in Ballymun. RollingNews.ie

Death of man found in Ballymun being treated by gardaí as 'personal tragedy'

Officers have launched an investigation after the discovery earlier today.

LAST UPDATE | 25 Nov 2019

GARDAÍ INVESTIGATING THE discovery of a man’s body in Ballymun are now describing his passing as a “personal tragedy”. 

The body was discovered in a shipping container in the Balbutcher Lane area of Ballymun.

The discovery was made at approximately 10.50am this morning.

The man was pronounced dead at the scene. His body has been removed for a post-mortem examination. 

In statement this evening, gardaí said that they are treating the death as a personal tragedy. They added that the death is not connected with any other ongoing investigations in the north Dublin area.

It’s understood the victim had received serious injuries consistent with an assault prior to his death. However, gardaí do not believe at this time that they are the reason behind his passing.

With reporting from Garreth MacNamee

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

82 Comments
    Mute Punters Pal
    Favourite Punters Pal
    Nov 25th 2019, 12:35 PM

HELLO IRISH GOVERNMENT WE ALL HAVE ENOUGH OF THIS NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Mute Anthony David
    Favourite Anthony David
    Nov 25th 2019, 1:48 PM

@Punters Pal: at what point do the public become accountable? I am in no way a FG supporter,but blaming the government on everything is a cop out….more work needs to be done from those inside the community to educate THEIR children on this lifestyle..its not always the governments fault if your son/daughter grows up to be a toerag, its most like the fault of the parents….. And before anyone says “what do I know?”….I am born, raised and living in Ballyfermot for 34 years so I know well…the guards try but the community has to help….people need to take ownership of problems in their own locality instead of blaming everyone else

I expect some to say “but what about this that and the other”

If your son or daughter is a toerag, do what my grandparents done and discipline them. They’ll soon learn.

Mute Tony Henry
    Favourite Tony Henry
    Nov 25th 2019, 1:54 PM

@Anthony David: I would be interested in a survey to see how many journal readers have tried some from of drug, including weed …even once or recreationally, the general public are equally feeding this crime and drug epidemic

See 29 more replies ▾
    Mute Anthony David
    Favourite Anthony David
    Nov 25th 2019, 1:56 PM

@Tony Henry: True that….I’ve tried drugs…i accept my actions have contributed to this violence whether its at the top of the pyramid or not.

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Nov 25th 2019, 1:56 PM

@Anthony David: grow up, we all know this and previous governments have not allocated nowhere near enough adequate resources to combat ongoing and continuous criminality! But by not apportioning blame to where it should rightly lay…… in your words, is a cop out!

Mute Anthony David
    Favourite Anthony David
    Nov 25th 2019, 1:58 PM

@Niall Binéad: your rebuttal to debate a point is “grow up”….should probably take your own advice if thats the case…

My points show everyone needs to pull in the same direction instead of pointing fingers…like you just have.

Mute Rehabmeerkat
    Favourite Rehabmeerkat
    Nov 25th 2019, 1:59 PM

@Niall Binéad: jaysus. A shinner complaining about organized criminality. The irony.

Mute Anthony David
    Favourite Anthony David
    Nov 25th 2019, 2:00 PM

@Anthony David: PS I am putting blame exactly where it should be…at the parents door.

Mute Ali Ní Dhomhnaill
    Favourite Ali Ní Dhomhnaill
    Nov 25th 2019, 2:04 PM

@Anthony David: tell me how would you discipline? (Without being arrested/charger/social work involvement etc)

Mute Tony Henry
    Favourite Tony Henry
    Nov 25th 2019, 2:04 PM

@Niall Binéad: A whole community are aware of an elected shinners kids dealing Persian Rugs…. the party are aware everyone is aware and no action…. I suppose that’s the government’s fault too is it?? And for the record I only vote independent!!

Mute Ali Ní Dhomhnaill
    Favourite Ali Ní Dhomhnaill
    Nov 25th 2019, 2:05 PM

@Ali Ní Dhomhnaill: charged

Mute Tony Henry
    Favourite Tony Henry
    Nov 25th 2019, 2:10 PM

@Ali Ní Dhomhnaill: Better parenting and accountability for a start…… there’s a cohort of kids out there with little or no parenting, no role models and no direction….

Mute Anthony David
    Favourite Anthony David
    Nov 25th 2019, 2:28 PM

@Ali Ní Dhomhnaill: that depends on the age of the child/teen…and what they have done..

I was smacked….not beaten but smacked…didnt do me any harm…but I am not saying being violent towards a child is the best thing to do..I would prefer to communicate with my kids which is what I do and try to explain in simple terms the difference between doing right and wrong…Not saying I am correct, just how I feel.

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Nov 25th 2019, 2:47 PM

@Anthony David: I’ll always point in the direction of those accountable! The public deserve every resource available from the government of the day to combat criminality! It’s government incompetence and lack of will to take criminality on head on that has brought us to this juncture!

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Nov 25th 2019, 2:49 PM

@Niall Binéad: could you be any more contemptuous?

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Nov 25th 2019, 2:49 PM

@Rehabmeerkat: jaysus. An anonymous commenter deflecting from the original post!

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Nov 25th 2019, 2:50 PM

@Niall Binéad: do you not remember your Great Leader told members not to be hurling abuse at people in the internet?

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Nov 25th 2019, 2:51 PM

@Anthony David: don’t forget this incompetent government while you’re at it or is it just the parents fault, grow up (I put that remark at the end for you, is that okay?).

Mute Anthony David
    Favourite Anthony David
    Nov 25th 2019, 2:53 PM

@Niall Binéad: you’re making a mug of yourself….

Mute Anthony David
    Favourite Anthony David
    Nov 25th 2019, 2:55 PM

@Niall Binéad: Ok then, how bout you point at your good friend,Aengus O Snodaigh,and his extended family.

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Nov 25th 2019, 2:55 PM

@Tony Henry: in that case you ahould contact the proper authorities instead of doing it on Social Media! The spiralling, never ending cycle of criminality from within our communities lays at the door of this government, unless you think they’re doing enough!

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Nov 25th 2019, 2:57 PM

@Chin Feeyin: yes!

Mute Anthony David
    Favourite Anthony David
    Nov 25th 2019, 2:59 PM

@Niall Binéad: By the way Niall…..what about your own criminality….do you blame the government for that???

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/sinn-fein-td-denies-allegation-he-took-part-in-horrific-act-1.1168450

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Nov 25th 2019, 3:00 PM

@Anthony David: ok then, how about you try stay on topic instead of your continual deflection of the original post! You’re beginning to sound like a government troll now!

Mute Niall Binéad
    Favourite Niall Binéad
    Nov 25th 2019, 3:01 PM

@Chin Feeyin: your point is what exactly?

Mute Anthony David
    Favourite Anthony David
    Nov 25th 2019, 3:01 PM

@Niall Binéad: Ill tell you what, Ill tap you on the shoulder next time I see you on Ballyer road and we can chat like men, face to face…

Mute Anthony David
    Favourite Anthony David
    Nov 25th 2019, 3:02 PM

@Niall Binéad: My original points stand and don’t need to reiterated…

Mute Chin Feeyin
    Favourite Chin Feeyin
    Nov 25th 2019, 3:21 PM

@Niall Binéad: “your point is what exactly?”

is that SF speak for “What are you lookin’ at?”

Mute Tony Henry
    Favourite Tony Henry
    Nov 25th 2019, 3:31 PM

@Niall Binéad: Already aware….. as for the shinners they are aware too….. still nothing done!!

Mute Derek Carty
    Favourite Derek Carty
    Nov 25th 2019, 8:16 PM

@Niall Binéad: you are a class A moron

Mute DublinTim
    Favourite DublinTim
    Nov 25th 2019, 9:00 PM

@Punters Pal: did you not read it was a personal tragedy. How’s that governments fault ?

Mute Alan Carthy
    Favourite Alan Carthy
    Nov 25th 2019, 9:26 PM

@DublinTim: cause they all jumped the gun n just took it was a murder n not waiting till get the full story

Mute Jacqui Curtis-owens
    Favourite Jacqui Curtis-owens
    Nov 25th 2019, 12:17 PM

Another mother getting bad news in the last 24 hours….so sad…

Mute Gareth Keenan
    Favourite Gareth Keenan
    Nov 25th 2019, 12:51 PM

@Jacqui Curtis-owens: what about the fathers?

Mute Jacqui Curtis-owens
    Nov 25th 2019, 3:18 PM

@Gareth Keenan: them to….

Mute Paul Duffy
    Favourite Paul Duffy
    Nov 25th 2019, 7:41 PM

@Gareth Keenan: and the brothers, sisters and extended family and friends. I think Jacqui was just using a turn of phrase and was not excluding or ignoring anyone affected by this tragedy.

Mute Spiderman
    Favourite Spiderman
    Nov 25th 2019, 1:25 PM

Don’t worry, it’s just the sting from a dying wasp. It amazes me how some of those condemning these acts are the very ones purchasing their wares

Mute Arek Pierozynski
    Favourite Arek Pierozynski

@Red Pirate 71: they would switch to another high income criminal activity, pimping or other. They have it in blood and making drugs legal will not make them suddenly work 9-5 in the office.

Mute Bryan De B'stard
    Favourite Bryan De B'stard
    Nov 25th 2019, 1:23 PM

Everywhere in Dublin is under siege right now.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Nov 25th 2019, 2:16 PM

@Bryan De B’stard: really? What a drama queen. Calm down ya sap.

Mute Martin Gordon
    Favourite Martin Gordon
    Nov 25th 2019, 1:47 PM

we make all this effort protesting climate change.. how about we spend that energy protesting against the pathetic Irish judiciary support our police

Mute Tom Tony Byrne
    Favourite Tom Tony Byrne
    Nov 25th 2019, 7:14 PM

@Martin Gordon: you never heard of multitasking ?

Mute lambda sensor
    Favourite lambda sensor
    Nov 25th 2019, 9:57 PM

@Tom Tony Byrne: on a roll tonight!

Mute bombacho
    Favourite bombacho
    Nov 25th 2019, 1:12 PM

This is a symptom of government’s failure to deliver their promise to tackle gang violence and increase the garda presence in all hotspot areas and also their failure to solve the chronic homelessness in our country.

Mute Spiderman
    Favourite Spiderman
    Nov 25th 2019, 1:25 PM

@bombacho: how about some public accountability too

Mute EillieEs
    Favourite EillieEs
    Nov 26th 2019, 12:03 AM

@bombacho: it’s a personal tragedy, absolutely nothing to do when criminality.

Mute Layne Humphries
    Favourite Layne Humphries
    Nov 26th 2019, 1:00 AM

@Spiderman: Well you weren’t any use were you, Spiderman? This is a job for batman. Useless web slinging dole jockey fan boy.

Mute Rebecca De Stanleigh
    Favourite Rebecca De Stanleigh

@Red Pirate 71: it’s not always about drugs.

Mute Tony Henry
    Favourite Tony Henry
    Nov 25th 2019, 1:48 PM

@Rebecca De Stanleigh: Good chance this was a TV licence dispute

Nov 25th 2019, 5:06 PM

@Tony Henry: gas

Mute Conoroconnor
    Favourite Conoroconnor
    Nov 25th 2019, 7:04 PM

@Tony Henry: I hope you’re proud of yourself

Mute Yorkie1892
    Favourite Yorkie1892
    Nov 25th 2019, 7:05 PM

@Conoroconnor: he hardly knew it was a personal tragedy at the time…

Mute Tony Henry
    Favourite Tony Henry
    Nov 25th 2019, 7:08 PM

@Conoroconnor: I am actually

Mute Conoroconnor
    Favourite Conoroconnor
    Nov 25th 2019, 8:34 PM

@Yorkie1892: then he should have kept his gob shut until the circumstances were confirmed instead of jumping to conclusions.

Mute Yorkie1892
    Favourite Yorkie1892
    Nov 25th 2019, 8:41 PM

@Conoroconnor: it was a joke?

Mute Tony Henry
    Favourite Tony Henry
    Nov 25th 2019, 9:02 PM

@Conoroconnor: The response had a hint of satire without any conclusion as to what happened, no offence meant and this obviously was a tragedy….. for the record the original article did indicate this was a violent incident!!

Nov 25th 2019, 11:16 PM

@Tony Henry: to be clear. It’s not always about drugs.

Nov 26th 2019, 11:39 AM

@Yorkie1892: not a good one pal

Mute How's She Cuttin'
    Favourite How's She Cuttin'
    Nov 25th 2019, 1:14 PM

Stop shoving powder up your noses you selfish cokeheads.

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Nov 25th 2019, 5:49 PM

Rip, and shame on you all.

Mute Mill Lane
    Favourite Mill Lane
    Nov 25th 2019, 6:22 PM

@Matt Connolly: Shame on us all for what exactly??

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Nov 25th 2019, 9:00 PM

@Mill Lane: you know exactly what.

Mute Paul Dooley
    Favourite Paul Dooley
    Nov 25th 2019, 3:14 PM

Up the dubs

Mute Conoroconnor
    Favourite Conoroconnor
    Nov 25th 2019, 6:49 PM

Sean and Journal staff can you delete the distasteful comments from the usual shower on here please?

Mute Sisi R
    Favourite Sisi R
    Nov 25th 2019, 7:42 PM

They said in the news all they he was beaten to death. There is a big difference between that and drug overdose.

Mute Jacqui Curtis-owens
    Nov 25th 2019, 7:46 PM

Thinking of his mam+dad and family right now…so sad..R.I.P young man..

Mute Geraldine O'Brien
    Favourite Geraldine O'Brien
    Nov 25th 2019, 6:39 PM

Shame on you all for using this mans tragic death to use this article to post absolute rubbish with your fake accounts. RIP young man and condolences to his family.

Mute Conoroconnor
    Favourite Conoroconnor
    Nov 25th 2019, 7:03 PM

@Geraldine O’Brien: absolutely. Some people
    should just wait to find out what happened before they post. RIP to the young man.

Mute Gerry Cummins
    Favourite Gerry Cummins
    Nov 25th 2019, 7:50 PM

So a quick poll! How many keyboard warriors that jumped the gun before this was declared a “personal tradgedy” would like to have a “delete button” on the Journal?…

Mute Thewestisbest
    Favourite Thewestisbest
    Nov 25th 2019, 6:50 PM

The government should increase the Gardai’s budget to whatever is required so people don’t say “we need more resources.” They should do the same for health and transport. Then tell the public the figure and the tax increases we will have to pay in order to fund such increases.

Mute Conoroconnor
    Favourite Conoroconnor
    Nov 25th 2019, 7:01 PM

@Thewestisbest: what’s that got to do with what is being described as a ‘personal tragedy’?

Mute the-baldie-lad
    Favourite the-baldie-lad
    Nov 25th 2019, 8:06 PM

Not evident from the story text but from the comments this seems to be drugs related. Many of us have dabbled. Very many will be hoofing coke this weekend because they work hard and deserve it! Society gets what it deserves because it’s clear we really don’t give a shit about the collateral damage.

Mute my name
    Favourite my name
    Nov 25th 2019, 8:16 PM

@the-baldie-lad: you take your facts from the comments section of the journal?

Mute the-baldie-lad
    Favourite the-baldie-lad
    Nov 26th 2019, 8:39 AM

@my name: context. Not facts. My point still abides. Are you one of the guilty coke hedonists. Get up early in the morning. Working hard.

Mute my name
    Favourite my name
    Nov 26th 2019, 12:44 PM

@the-baldie-lad: you don’t get that context from the article because it’s unknown what the cause of death was in the case. You decided to agree with every other clueless comment on here that it was drug related. When unless anyone of the posters here are aware of all the facts in this case it’s a guessing game

Mute my name
    Favourite my name
    Nov 26th 2019, 12:45 PM

@the-baldie-lad: I’ve take drugs in my youth but that wasn’t today or yesterday. What’s your point

Mute sandra grehan
    Favourite sandra grehan
    Nov 26th 2019, 3:27 PM

Guards say there is “no reason” behind his passing… WTF is that all about. I’m sure we r all seriously getting sick of this shit at the moment. It’s time for the Guards to do their Job and be OPEN with the public…. The PUBLIC HAVE A RIGHT TO KNOW!!!!