You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

‘Bogfit’ is the newest (and greatest) fitness craze to sweep Ireland

Haven’t you heard? Come on, keep up.

BORED OF THE gym? Looking for a cheap way to get fit? Bogfit is the workout for you.

Bogfit, if you haven’t already guessed, is inspired by the Crossfit fitness craze. But you only need two very easily obtained bits of equipment:

A bog, and turf that hasn’t been turned.

We’ll let your instructor Mattman explain the rest.

Mattman84 / YouTube

Important thing to keep in mind:

Make sure you turn it over properly. Don’t lean too hard on it or you’ll squash it and make shite of the turf.

flipturf

There will be DVDs and Bogfit franchises popping up all over Ireland next. You mark our words.

Written by Valerie Loftus and originally published on DailyEdge.ie 

DE Syndication (1)

11 things that could have only happened during the Celtic Tiger>

We listened to the top 10 songs in Ireland… and gave our honest opinions>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

17 Comments
    Mute Luke Byrne
    Favourite Luke Byrne
    Jun 12th 2015, 11:09 AM

Ya wouldn’t get it anywhere else only Ireland

Mute Drew TheChinaman :)
    Favourite Drew TheChinaman :)
    Jun 12th 2015, 11:06 AM

That man in no way looks fit or athletic…. If anything he looks malnourished and devoid of any muscle tone what so ever.

Mute Vincent Wallace
    Favourite Vincent Wallace
    Jun 12th 2015, 11:11 AM

Like a lot of crossfit “atheletes”

Mute Karol Doran
    Favourite Karol Doran
    Jun 12th 2015, 12:12 PM

It’s a joke Drew.

Mute Rob O'Brien
    Favourite Rob O'Brien
    Jun 12th 2015, 12:26 PM

jaysus drew we can’t bring ye anywhere!

Mute potty o shea
    Favourite potty o shea
    Jun 12th 2015, 12:58 PM

Mad Bogstards!

Mute Drew TheChinaman :)
    Favourite Drew TheChinaman :)
    Jun 12th 2015, 1:02 PM

I get that… What I don’t get is if his body is part of the joke?

Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin
    Jun 12th 2015, 1:17 PM

@Rob, i now defo agree with you.

Mute THE BIG LAD
    Favourite THE BIG LAD
    Jun 12th 2015, 11:55 AM

Too funny !!!!

Mute Hair of the Dog
    Favourite Hair of the Dog
    Jun 12th 2015, 11:04 AM

Boggers.

Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin
    Jun 12th 2015, 1:17 PM

Concrete jungle bunny.

Mute Conor Geoghegan
    Favourite Conor Geoghegan
    Jun 12th 2015, 12:40 PM

Grup d yardddd….

Mute Kieran Roche
    Favourite Kieran Roche
    Jun 12th 2015, 1:11 PM

Come around to my gaff and chop some wood,whilst I drink wine.I promise it will make you fit

Mute chris smith
    Favourite chris smith
    Jun 12th 2015, 2:21 PM

Brilliant he should bring it to the dragons den

Mute Roy
    Favourite Roy
    Jun 12th 2015, 12:31 PM

Bog fit will be taxed in coming budget , will be seen as a fauna and flora protection measure…. FFS Michael we cant let the boggers back on the bog ! The Ming will be up roaring again!

Mute D Waters
    Favourite D Waters
    Jun 12th 2015, 6:19 PM

it won’t catch on there is no mirrors.

Mute David Kennedy
    Favourite David Kennedy
    Jun 12th 2015, 3:16 PM

Hero