You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Paul Tierney

Boland’s Mill will soon look VERY different - €150m different

And it’s thanks to Nama.

DUBLIN CITY COUNCIL has approved a €150 million plan by Nama for Boland’s Mill.

The landmark site will be rebranded Boland’s Quay and see three new buildings constructed, while others will be restored.

The three new buildings will comprise approximately 36,851 square meters (about 397,000 square foot) of office, residential, retail and cultural space over a two-level basement.

A new civic plaza on the waterfront to Grand Canal Dock will be developed and a number of protected Mill buildings will also be restored.

Demolition works are to commence immediately, and the project is expected to be completed in two years.

The planning application, which was submitted to DCC in December 2014, is the latest to be approved since the Dublin docklands were designated a strategic development zone (SDZ).

bolands mill Wikimedia Wikimedia

Mark Reynolds, a director at Savills who is acting as the receiver, said the decision to grant planning permission for “one of the city’s most iconic sites” is “great news for the Docklands and Dublin as a whole”.

“The planning approval will now facilitate the examination of options regarding the provision of badly needed commercial and residential accommodation to meet pent-up demand from local occupiers and foreign direct investment.”

The Nama Board may now consider proposals from the receiver for funding or otherwise facilitating the development of the site.

Nama Chief Executive Brendan McDonagh also welcomed the decision, saying it shows the organisation’s commitment to “increasing the value of secured assets in our portfolio and maximising the amount we can recover for taxpayers”.

Read: Nama has a €150 million plan for Boland’s Mill

Read: Boland’s Mill redevelopment hasn’t started yet but people are already criticising it

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

43 Comments
    Mute bacoxy
    Favourite bacoxy
    Jun 3rd 2015, 4:33 PM

KPMG must not be involved

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Jun 3rd 2015, 4:55 PM

Just give us a General Election and stop stalling the Citizens Rights to get you out you corrupt fools ?

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:03 PM

Ilovekerry – why would a successful government who are recognised as doing a great job just walk out and leave?

As to this new report – looks like the government have gone over and above what Catherine Murphy has asked for. As can be seen – this is all huff and puff in the hope of slinging mud and getting it to stick

Have you brushed up on your old politics yet? Lot to learn wee lad. A lot

See 43 more replies ▾
    Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:09 PM

@Baz,
    will this report join the que of all the other sat on/inappropriate reports in Edna’s top drawer of denial?

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Jun 3rd 2015, 6:01 PM

General election now

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jun 3rd 2015, 6:16 PM

Of course they will be involved. This is the government we are talking about. The only ones that think its OK and perfectly fine for people to investigate themselves. Now I wonder why cabinet has changed its mind.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jun 3rd 2015, 6:30 PM

report by the end of the year mybackside noonan will set the terms and await the expected answer

November at latest general election

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jun 3rd 2015, 6:32 PM

Think government have made themselves look like fools and they have been laughing stock of everyone. Now they have had to do a major u turn but not before all the shenaghins of last week. But think the public have seen and heard enough to know that they have been found out. A silent taoiseach that should have came out in support of all 166 TDs but didn’t.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jun 3rd 2015, 6:33 PM

noona blames dukes while being savaged by rte news oh times they are a chagin… at last

Mute Gill B
    Favourite Gill B
    Jun 3rd 2015, 6:38 PM

General Election, Fine Gael will get back in to power.

It wide open for FF, SF, IND, SL, PBP & L.

Fine Gael will decide who they share power with if needed at all.

Look what happened UK elections.

Unless the left join together united, nothing will change in this country.

The political system is set up to keep 1% interests priority, since beginning of ‘Democracy’.

As such, only radical shift in thinking, will tilt the power towards the people of this country.

Why can’t all the left parties join together? For the better of this country and it’s Citizens.

The only reason I can think of is Ego’s, who be the new party leader? Why not have a party council, no leader, equal representation and decision making.

Shift of power is coming, but the shift could be all the power to Fine Gael, unless all the left parties join together.

I couldn’t careless who is in power, if they protected the rights/resources of Ireland and it’s people.

Jun 3rd 2015, 7:19 PM

Well then Gill I guess you will not be voting for FG, FF or Labour if your looking for someone to protect the rights and resources of Ireland and its citizens?

Mute Anne Collins
    Favourite Anne Collins
    Jun 3rd 2015, 7:25 PM

Catherine Murphy for Taoiseach!

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Jun 3rd 2015, 7:30 PM

BAZ – CORRUPT FG/Lab – Corruption has got them sizzled BAZ !!!!!!!

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jun 3rd 2015, 7:46 PM

filing error wha?
    changes nothing but fact…… excruciating eh hugh?

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jun 3rd 2015, 7:47 PM

Ciarraioch, what person are you accusing of being guilty of corruption?

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Jun 3rd 2015, 7:53 PM

Gill I don’t think anyone wants a left wing government just as much as no one wants the current viciously right wing government, people want fairness and only a centrist party offers that,I and I assume most like me want to pay a fair amount of tax and see services and welfare serviced by them,it used to be fine Fail were the party of choice because of that centrist attitude but at the minute they’re poison, the closet thing to a centrist party at the minute shockingly is Sinn Fein, I see the next election rallying young people who normally don’t vote to get out and basically protest vote for Sinn Fein leading to a either a rainbow or some mixture of Sinn Fein/Fine Gael, red line issues being water, noonan, Kenny and Adams all being out of the picture. Interesting times ahead no matter what

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:00 PM

Well let’s just hope there’s a real change.. Sick of civil war politics.. Give the left a try why not see what there like in government? What’s the worse that can honestly happen? Nothing but scare mongering from finne gael. Hope people see past it

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:17 PM

I want transparency on all ibrc deals. SiteServ is 1. My tax dollars have been used. IBRC is a publically funded bank. #transparencynow. Anything less is unacceptable.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:20 PM

Its not about deals having to be done necessarily to clean up a mess. It is about transparency. Taoiseach needs to lead. Accountability is important.

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:24 PM

If u can find the leader of our country let me know please. Need to have a word.

Mute Kate Ellen Egan
    Favourite Kate Ellen Egan
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:26 PM

Now there’s a good idea , Catherine would be a brilliant Taoiseach

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:27 PM

If anyone can find kenny can u ask him why there’s no 24/7 A&E unit between NAAS & Limerick anymore after today’s announcement.

Mute tom flynn
    Favourite tom flynn
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:28 PM

Maybe it’s the cynic in me,but the delay in this has given kpmg time to cover up all the leaks and cracks in siteserv??

Mute jim bob
    Favourite jim bob
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:32 PM

@baz , or should i say ba, ba,ba, bhaaaa

Sheep like you peddeling party line tripe are well past the sell by date, trot off now down to the curragh with ya and chomp on some grass…..

This govt implemented FF policy that was already in motion and then introduced a few disasters of their own like upping USC, introduction of IW and backroom deals like IBRC for their friends – complete disgrace

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 3rd 2015, 9:16 PM

Thomas Sinn Fein are not a centrist party when it comes to their economic policies.

Mute Eugene Conroy
    Favourite Eugene Conroy
    Jun 3rd 2015, 9:19 PM

baz I rechon you spent a spell as president of UCD branch of YFG

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Jun 3rd 2015, 9:24 PM

“Filing error” just another of their go to lines when found out. Same thing happened when Kenny insisted there was no letter or minutes in his department regarding the night of the bank guarantee.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Jun 3rd 2015, 9:29 PM

@ Diarmuid – “what person are you accusing of being guilty of corruption?” Well anyone who was, and still is, a member of the party when they were found to be involved in the fraudulent activity of paying people under the table and into their hand!

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jun 3rd 2015, 9:59 PM

Catherine Murphy has Noonan and Dukes by the balls…..and it obviously hurts !!

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:00 PM

Keep squeezing gal…….

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:06 PM

Jane I’ll help you out, I never said they were a centrist party,
    ” the closet thing to a centrist party at the minute is shockingly Sinn Fein”
    the normal middle/working class and self employed people of this country are sick of being blatantly attacked by the current government for the benefit of the well off.

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:15 PM

the finding a dept. of finance filling error covers noonans backside re answering dail q’s when bryan Dobson asked him tonight on 6 one news why he did not give an answer when he already knew about siteserv and dept of finance issues yet he pretended he answered it in full…..caught misleading the dail noonan or 6 one news?

cunning plan but no cigar noonan

also note update of story at 7.45 and again 9, 3 updates in one day very good but ask about the guy misleading the dail

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:21 PM

Sorry Thomas but still don’t think so. SF are as left as can be on economic issues. Thanks for the help though.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:44 PM

Dobson was very good this evening

Mute Gill B
    Favourite Gill B
    Jun 3rd 2015, 11:21 PM

Very true, I never vote for any political party that sells off our national resources and puts more children in poverty through austerity policies.

Next Election I have no idea who I vote for, truly wish the left join together, it only chance we have to impact change.

The water protests and marriage referendum have awoken people, large, large numbers of us now have protested & canvassed for greater good of this country & it’s people.

Every left party knows that divided they cannot, will not hold absolute power.

People are screaming for something progressive and radical.

Can the Left Please Stand Up !!!

Mute Tallaght two
    Favourite Tallaght two
    Jun 3rd 2015, 11:37 PM

viciously right wing @Thomas?? with most social welfare protected from cut and €20 BILLION in state handouts you must be joking.

Mute Tallaght two
    Favourite Tallaght two
    Jun 3rd 2015, 11:40 PM

@supernova… ‘what’s the worst that could happen’ is your method for choosing a govt? Please point out a successful left wing govt from around the world. north Korea doesn’t count.

Mute Tallaght two
    Favourite Tallaght two
    Jun 3rd 2015, 11:44 PM

@Thomas… don’t let the tax percentage paid by the ‘well off’ get in the way of your rant.

Mute Repeating history
    Favourite Repeating history
    Jun 4th 2015, 12:03 AM

@ Gill – the left can’t stand together because there is slightly veering left, like Labour, to actual left wing. On the other side there is the party with the largest number of seats and the Taoiseach is nowhere to be seen? Going too left I honestly think is not the option, yes there has been hardship / austerity and significant personal suffering but it does seem like we are crawling out of this mess! Car sales are on the up, unemployment is continuing to fall, wages increases are starting (slowly) – now let’s compare this to Greece, each day there is another crisis, will they / won’t they, can they / can’t they? They may get a once off deal, but it will be a number of years before their economy and hence the futures of the Greek people find some stable ground.

Mute molly coddled
    Favourite molly coddled
    Jun 4th 2015, 12:41 AM

Tallagh two,
    And there is at least one person I know of, who should pay his whack here, seeing as he controls most of our terrestrial media. But does not, choosing instead to live upon some foreign shore.
    And believe me, there are many more like him.

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Jun 4th 2015, 2:07 AM

Martin Quinn?

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Jun 4th 2015, 2:13 AM

Jane why are they left wing? Because of a third rate of tax ?A wealth tax? Transaction tax? Actually apply the 12.5% cooperation tax rate?That’s not left wing it’s reasonable,myself and I’m sure people who can afford it more than me would pay an extra bit of tax for the good of society, would we like it no but it would still be paid for public services and welfare for people that need it, what’s left wing is the aaa lunatics, so again Sinn Fein are the most centrist viable party at the minute

Mute Thomas Maher
    Favourite Thomas Maher
    Jun 4th 2015, 2:19 AM

Tallaght two single parents allowance cut off, job bridge scam to massage unemployment figures, cuts in child benefit, medical cards withdrawn ( subsequently reinstated after public uproar) the likes of people availing of these payments aren’t scrounges as the likes of you likes to pretend, there is societal need for these payments, yes there will always be a tiny minority’s abusing the system much as there will be people at the opposite end of the scale abusing the system as in the moriarty findings

Mute Sean Mac Diarmada
    Favourite Sean Mac Diarmada
    Jun 4th 2015, 8:45 AM

Can the terms of reference be extended to enquire as to why there appears to be an unwritten conspiracy among all of the media in Ireland,to prevent the beautiful and poignant songs written and sang by an artiste,who is arguably Ireland’s greatest living balladeer;from being played on the airwaves.?
    http://youtu.be/9sAowRrD4hg
    Please share.

Mute BERTIE
    Favourite BERTIE
    Jun 4th 2015, 11:51 AM

In Cork Baz is slang for pubic hair, nuf said

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jun 4th 2015, 1:00 PM

thanks sean good song, just listened to the others as well posting on facebook

Mute Aidan Duggan
    Favourite Aidan Duggan
    Jun 3rd 2015, 4:27 PM

All credit to this courageous lady.

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 3rd 2015, 4:29 PM

I wish we all had a Catherine Murphy in our consistent to vote for.

Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:06 PM

Where is the leader of this country, or should i ask, who is leading this country.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:24 PM

Where’s Wally?

Mute jane
    Favourite jane
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:26 PM

He’s busy in the aviva with very important national interest issues.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Jun 3rd 2015, 6:31 PM

Catherine Murphy seems to be leading this country at the moment…more shame on Edna..

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:41 PM

PeriGuon, our leader is busy collecting (1) Dual abode allowance (2) travel & accommodation allowance (3) public representation allowance and shortly a) termination lump sum b) gross lump sum c) termination payment d) ministerial pension e) td’s pension f) teachers pension g) teachers lump sum.

Mute Ann Reddin
    Favourite Ann Reddin
    Jun 3rd 2015, 9:35 PM

You left out his €10,000 leaders allowance!!!

Mute An Ciarraioch
    Favourite An Ciarraioch
    Jun 4th 2015, 1:07 AM

Doesn’t it look like that Michael Noonan may have to Resign over this alleged cover up ?

This whole Government is truly falling apart and doesn’t have far to travel now, before Enda will have to make that call to The Park , to seek dissolution of it ?

I cannot wait now, for the very near General Election – big changes should occur , when the Corruption is removed by Ireland’s Citizens in the Ballot Box !

Mute Sean Costello
    Favourite Sean Costello
    Jun 3rd 2015, 4:30 PM

Full credit to Catherine Murphy. A mark of what a public representative should be. Not like those who sell mobile phone licences to people in return for cash and funding for a corrupt party.

Mute Barry Mac
    Favourite Barry Mac
    Jun 3rd 2015, 4:36 PM

Well done Catherine Murphy
    ……………They should be investigating all transactions from IBRC not just certain ….. Who knows what else has been going on!

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:25 PM

#whereiskenny

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:23 PM

No leader’s questions this week …..

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:32 PM

dukes has to be worried now. so much for his smug denials

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:41 PM

Mr. Dukes holding his press conference in a solicitors office is all one needs to know …..
    Quarry will always retreat to its den when threatened ….
    Why did Mr. Dukes feel the need for a solicitor’s office ?

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Jun 3rd 2015, 11:19 PM

Whole thing shifting towards criminality? Who knows

Mute Itsthe Law
    Favourite Itsthe Law
    Jun 3rd 2015, 11:46 PM

#searchforenda

Mute Were [redacted]
    Favourite Were [redacted]

Brilliant news. Catherine Murphy completely snookered the government by introducing the bill to allow the C&AG to investigate, effectively calling kennys bluff.

What a public representative, we need a few dozen more like her.

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz

You worried about the libel & defamation you did towards DOB yet chuck? That why the new account?

Let’s hope you hid your ip chum

Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:20 PM

Great to see ye back Baz, It has’nt been the same here without your defensive?derogatory comments about anything other than FG?LAB.

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:20 PM

“Were”… thought you didn’t like people with multiple anonymous accounts… how’s the old hypocrisy treating you?

Mute In The Name Of....
    Favourite In The Name Of....
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:23 PM

‘Were jamming’ found the edit button on twitter! Did you get lessons?

Mute In The Name Of....
    Favourite In The Name Of....
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:28 PM

Someone on Sinn Fein HQ spend some foreign money on twitter lessons, ‘were spamming’?

Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:34 PM

“Were” was here while you hid under the DOB/FG bo**oxology of events. At least “were” stood up to be counted.

Mute Pantytoetoejam123
    Favourite Pantytoetoejam123
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:37 PM

Patjoe is very quiet – must be writing exams today

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:39 PM

You mean stood up to troll?

Mute Baz
    Favourite Baz
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:39 PM

Sorry but I’ve been around. pushing loads. You must not have seen them over the amount of DOB libel & BS from the journal trolls.

Look after the new account jammin. If anyone knocks at your door just say your phone was hacked

Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:41 PM

Lovin’ the name,

Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:43 PM

That was at Panti- briiiiliant.

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:48 PM

‘Were’ – your hypocrisy knows no bounds.

Mute Bobby Moore
    Favourite Bobby Moore
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:26 PM

Just take a look at his green thumbs @Jason and see your red thumbs, i’d say he is speaking for the majority here. So “were” would seem to be appropriate.

Mute Eamonn coughlan
    Favourite Eamonn coughlan
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:10 PM

Why is it that all the idiots on here have some sort of monkey as a profile picture it seems to be a common theme?

Mute Tom Kenny
    Favourite Tom Kenny
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:23 PM

In fairness to Jason Bobby, the self opinionated clowns that spend all their time on here, most likely clear their cookies to allow them to continue red/green thumb and boost their little ego’s ….. sad

Mute MGrey #siteserv
    Favourite MGrey #siteserv
    Jun 3rd 2015, 4:41 PM

When will it report? Still no sign of Fennelly. Imagine what we could do if we had 166 TDs like Catherine Murphy!!

Mute goo
    Favourite goo
    Jun 3rd 2015, 4:47 PM

Very handy to launch inquiry probably report back after election very handy corrupt school teachers Kenny / Noonan

Mute Ken McCarthy
    Favourite Ken McCarthy
    Jun 3rd 2015, 4:44 PM

Can we be certain that there wasn’t a few solid months of shredding while all this gagging, toing & froing was going on? This seems like a very sudden U-turn. Common sense told u this KPMG inquiry was never going to wash!

Mute Thomas O' Donnell
    Favourite Thomas O' Donnell
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:06 PM

And this isn’t the first time that files have gone “missing” in the Dept of Finance. I seem to remember the same thing happening around the time of the bank guarantee (open to correction on timing).

Mute Ken McCarthy
    Favourite Ken McCarthy
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:11 PM

I told Minister Noonan if he told the truth, he wouldn’t have to remember anything. The smell off this just gets stronger & stronger.

Mute rosemarie slamon
    Favourite rosemarie slamon
    Jun 4th 2015, 12:21 AM

Where do you think Edna is , busy getting rid of all that paper work.

Mute Sean Costello
    Favourite Sean Costello
    Jun 3rd 2015, 4:28 PM

KPMG investigating who should carry out the investigation of KPMG investigating KPMG interaction with ibrc.

Mute Paul Furey
    Favourite Paul Furey
    Jun 3rd 2015, 4:41 PM

They have recommended a dynamic new company called PKMG.

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    Jun 3rd 2015, 6:55 PM

Company or quango?

Mute George Stagg
    Favourite George Stagg
    Jun 4th 2015, 10:17 AM

And don’t forget. .. KPMG also have been official auditors for FIFA world wide for decades and never noticed or suspected the hundreds of millions in bribes floating about the place. And it now transpires that FIFA also had office in IFSC in Dublin involving, FAI officials and past CSOs, specifically to launder the bribes and cheat the taxpayer before transferring them to Switzerland..

Mute Peter Higgins
    Favourite Peter Higgins
    Jun 3rd 2015, 4:43 PM

This whole thing stinks to high heaven. A can of worms is about to be opened if this investigation is robust.

Watch this space !!!

Mute James Mc Loughlin
    Favourite James Mc Loughlin

this should be done by someone outside of this country

Mute Alan
    Favourite Alan

Preferably not by someone from Malta though.

Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:14 PM

or the Caribbean, same shit in a different language down there, but the same player.

Mute Mike O Neill
    Favourite Mike O Neill
    Jun 3rd 2015, 6:17 PM

It took the military junta in Burma to tell redacted where to go!

Mute Clark Griswold
    Favourite Clark Griswold
    Jun 3rd 2015, 7:23 PM

The FBI seem to be on a roll at the minute!

Mute ciaran
    Favourite ciaran
    Jun 3rd 2015, 7:35 PM

they brought in an outsider to referee gsoc(under duress) and then hounded him out, thanks alan shatter again Kenny went to ground, then came out expressing 100% confidence in shatter and callinan, still awaiting how that turns out or did I miss something?

Mute Denis Maher
    Favourite Denis Maher
    Jun 3rd 2015, 4:48 PM

They are “considering” nothing. As per usual the are being dragged kicking and screaming into doing the right thing. Having painted themselves into a corner and having little other option. Remember Noonan refused, on 19 separate occasions to answer questions put to him on this issue by t.d. Murphy in the national parliament, questions about a wholly state owned bank with 30 billion if citizens money sucked into it, and he blanked her.

Mute Periguin
    Favourite Periguin
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:29 PM

Wich seems to be the crux of the matter.

Mute Caitríona McClean
    Favourite Caitríona McClean
    Jun 3rd 2015, 4:37 PM

This is a farce. When will we ever hear the truth! What about Moriarty Report? What about Taoiseach and Callinan? I have no confidence in Kenny or his people. Look at medical card denial. All civil servants now are agents of what seems like a policy of hiding truth. Fail is a farce too.

Mute The Sinister Fringe
    Favourite The Sinister Fringe
    Jun 3rd 2015, 4:49 PM

In a normal county with a normal police force,there would be no inquiry, the “Organised Crime Squad” would have made numerous arrests by now.

This inquiry is designed to kick the can down the road and ensure that anybody that did anything wrong will never face jail.

Mute Mary Mc Carthy
    Favourite Mary Mc Carthy
    Jun 3rd 2015, 4:37 PM

Sorry Government, its too little too late. The time to do an investigation was before this and other banks screwed the country.

Mute Alan O'connor
    Favourite Alan O'connor

So launch an investigation before something has happened?

Best. Comment. Ever.

Mute goo
    Favourite goo

This kicking issued down the road until after Election people !

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South

it would also be nice to know who exactly whose debts we liquidated on prom night…names please?

Mute Geoff Bateman
    Favourite Geoff Bateman

Go Catherine Go….a proper Rotweiller

Mute Seth Cheffetz
    Favourite Seth Cheffetz
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:05 PM

I have no faith that any inquiry will go far enough. Most likely it will just be a hollow gesture.

I hope that I am wrong.

Mute Hermes
    Favourite Hermes
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:42 PM

There’s hope and there’s false hope !

Mute The whistler
    Favourite The whistler
    Jun 3rd 2015, 4:43 PM

Ah yes, the commision of investigation, the governments version of kicking to touch

Mute Stephen Fagan
    Favourite Stephen Fagan
    Jun 3rd 2015, 7:04 PM

This has all come about from the direct opposition to Irish water, and the massive protests. Thanks to Catherine Murphy for investigating as nothing would have been said had we all laid down and taken it. And they called us spongers for protesting?

Mute Johnny Downes
    Favourite Johnny Downes
    Jun 3rd 2015, 6:23 PM

Kenny’s silence says it all. Catherine Murphy has shown real courage, and tenacity. She has shown that Independents have power too, when they have determination, staying power, and a strong mind.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jun 3rd 2015, 6:34 PM

yeah, he’s Taoiseach and wasn’t going to pre-empt an obvious clarification from the judiciary.

Thankfully we don’t live in North Korea and he was ordering executions on the back of innuendo and supposition based on sources double checked with the source by someone with zero knowledge of commercial banking in a crisis.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jun 3rd 2015, 6:42 PM

Take it has taoiseach he knows how to read the constitution. Broadsheet did . pity he didn’t. Are you saying our taoiseach and government would not have known that article 15.12 actually stands for. Pull the other one.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jun 3rd 2015, 6:47 PM

Onetruevoice since this wasn’t about what was said. It was about a billionaire trying to silence anyone reporting on what an elected member of the dail said. A dail that he is taoiseach of . he decided to say nothing. That’s the crux . not what was said but what someone tried to do.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:03 PM

Vote independent and clear the buggers out .

Mute gregory
    Favourite gregory
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:30 PM

LittleOne, ur wasting ur time. #FindKennyFirst.

Jun 3rd 2015, 5:38 PM

I think the sneaky gov had two options, fight the rumours and acquasations, end up being found out early, bring down the gov and have an early election, or call an inquiry that will drag on giving the gov the full term in office, then hope they get reelected on scare news of stability needed and improving economy.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Jun 3rd 2015, 6:05 PM

Great work Catherine. Keep it going. Shameful that our taoiseach is still silent after last week . he should have stood up in support of all 166 TDs of the dail. But he didn’t . he is silent and hiding. Not the actions of a leader.

Mute Kevin Doherty
    Favourite Kevin Doherty
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:25 PM

So if you are the big tree
    We are the small axe

Mute 1.25% media ban
    Favourite 1.25% media ban
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:37 PM

Only some, should they all not be investigated including the politicians that are involved

Mute Mick Rooney (TIPM)
    Favourite Mick Rooney (TIPM)
    Jun 3rd 2015, 7:11 PM

Ah, here we go. The Irish solution… a scandal, followed by an investigation, leading to a report that recommends a commission, followed by the set up of a tribunal which lasts ten or more years. Talk about kicking the can down the road!

Mute Supernova
    Favourite Supernova
    Jun 3rd 2015, 7:05 PM

We need more tds like Catherine

Mute Sandra Walsh
    Favourite Sandra Walsh
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:05 PM

We have a few like Ruth, Wallace , Daly, Donnelly , Murphy, It’s a lesson for Enda, Bertie and Cowan & their cronies in How to Serve your Country

Mute Paul Harvey
    Favourite Paul Harvey
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:36 PM

Catherine showing Labour how it should be done.

Mute TeaRex
    Favourite TeaRex
    Jun 3rd 2015, 7:52 PM

That woman is a champion….!!!!

Mute jim bob
    Favourite jim bob
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:53 PM

Question – how did Denis OBrien not wind up in NAMA surely his debt to the irish people were the same as all the others , yet its eems he was not only able to avoid NAMA and have his loans sold on but managed to buy Siteserve for a knowdown price and in some shape or form have it financed by the irish taxpayer and then get IW contract to force water meters on the people even against their will.

Only in Ireland – a vote for FG/Lab is a mandate to this shower of cheats to do more of the same

If you have any pride in Ireland then make sure FG/Lab dont get a vote in GE when it roles around.

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Jun 3rd 2015, 9:34 PM

Media influence will guide the electorate to produce a GE result to DOB’s liking.

There are ordinary citizens and there are ” super citizens”.

Mute Eddie Byrne
    Favourite Eddie Byrne
    Jun 3rd 2015, 7:45 PM

The smelly stuff is about to hit the windy thing me thinks and rightly so

Jun 3rd 2015, 7:03 PM

Wow I can hear Chinese walls going up all over the place. Some government we have about a year behind an independent deputy would make you wonder what that are up to when their in Leinster house.

Mute Get Lost Eircodes
    Favourite Get Lost Eircodes
    Jun 3rd 2015, 6:27 PM

Great all we need now is an enquiry into the corrupt #Eircode tender.

Imagine British consultancy firm PA Consulting were gifted the tender to determine if the original decision by PA Consulting to award British PLC Capita the postcode tender was correct.

#LaughingAllTheWayToBank

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:37 PM

Filing error? Ha pull the other one. An enquiry is coming so they didn’t want to be found to be hiding the truth. Catherine Murphy gives me hope about politics in this country.

Mute Deco James Connolly
    Favourite Deco James Connolly
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:05 PM

Is that a Guillotine i hear being sharpened.

Mute Joseph Pilking
    Favourite Joseph Pilking
    Jun 3rd 2015, 7:59 PM

The paper work gone missing…Call the FBI…

Mute Caitriona McClean
    Favourite Caitriona McClean
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:32 PM

More rubbish! Report will be out after the GE. Just how much can we wait now! Many many looking forward to the GE! Bring it on! What happened to the Moriarty Report and what about Callinan…. the list goes on

Mute Greg Power
    Favourite Greg Power
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:55 PM

Lol @ filing error. Sounds like something taken straight from Father Ted. Bunch of liars.

Mute PJ Berry
    Favourite PJ Berry
    Jun 3rd 2015, 8:50 PM

Lot of flannel from Noonan.. not his finest hour

Mute Kevin Carroll
    Favourite Kevin Carroll
    Jun 3rd 2015, 11:03 PM

amazing how the government seem to be moving towards a legitimate enquiry and the department miraculously find missing documents. amazing!!! heads should roll

Mute Michael Purcell
    Favourite Michael Purcell
    Jun 3rd 2015, 11:12 PM

Liars, one & all! I wouldn’t trust the radio in Noonans car!
    Catherine Murphy is a shining light in an otherwise big pile of shite, caused by & including Govt ministers!

Jun 3rd 2015, 9:07 PM

“I gave an adequate answer” sounds like John brutal when he said you didn’t ask the right question…….

Mute John O'donnell
    Favourite John O'donnell
    Jun 3rd 2015, 11:36 PM

Not a single word from the great and powerful leader .. Enda.. As usual . Spineless windbag..

Mute An Observer
    Favourite An Observer
    Jun 3rd 2015, 10:41 PM

Pity there are no babies for Enda to kiss, we’d have him out in force…

Mute Anthony Lang
    Favourite Anthony Lang
    Jun 3rd 2015, 9:32 PM

Plenty of well resourced legal teams will ensure effective damage limitation. DOB won’t lose any sleep.

Mute OneTrueVoice
    Favourite OneTrueVoice
    Jun 3rd 2015, 5:53 PM

I just hope Murphy’s source isn’t Tony O’Reilly.

Mute Dave Doyle
    Favourite Dave Doyle
    Jun 4th 2015, 7:52 AM

This proves that Catherine Murphy has been telling the truth all along. The injunction got by DOB was to stop more truths coming out. Enda Kenny’s silence on all of this says it all.

Mute Niall Donnelly
    Favourite Niall Donnelly
    Jun 4th 2015, 7:11 AM

FG and DOB have a proven history of corruption

Mute George Stagg
    Favourite George Stagg
    Jun 4th 2015, 10:18 AM

And don’t forget. .. KPMG also have been official auditors for FIFA world wide for decades and never noticed or suspected the hundreds of millions in bribes floating about the place. And it now transpires that FIFA also had offices in the IFSC in Dublin, involving FAI officials and past CSOs, specifically to launder the bribes and cheat the taxpayer before transferring them to Switzerland..

Mute rpmc
    Favourite rpmc
    Jun 4th 2015, 8:58 AM

That €10M could have been used to bring the World Cup to Ireland, see also
    http://thebottomline.ie/fifa-forensic-accounting-and-the-fbi/.

Mute Noreen Lunney
    Favourite Noreen Lunney
    Jun 4th 2015, 1:07 PM

There’s no evidence at all that any of these allegations are correct, but they are now a cause of concern, and I believe it’s in the public interest to ventilate what happened

switcharoo