You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
U2 FRONTMAN BONO is to publish his memoir, Surrender, this November.
It will be the first time the musician has written in detail about his own life, from his early days in north Dublin to U2’s success worldwide, as well as his charitable work.
The book’s subtitle – 40 Songs, One Story – is a reference to its 40 chapters, each of which are named after a U2 song. The singer has also created 40 original drawings for the memoir.
Bono this week said: “Surrender is a word freighted with meaning for me. Growing up in Ireland in the seventies with my fists up (musically speaking), it was not a natural concept.”
The book “is the story of one pilgrim’s lack of progress … With a fair amount of fun along the way”, he added.
We want to know: Will you read Bono’s memoir?
Poll Results:
No (9667)
Yes (1999)
I'm not sure (638)
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
32 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
@Brinster:
Which one can be the most populist.
Remember SF were for water charges, then they were hammered in a Dublin west by-election by Paul Murphy, then SF tried to take over the anti water campaign.
The firt line of the article should put it in perspective
“Sinn Féin has voted in favour of water charges across the EU in a European Parliament report penned by Sinn Féin MEP, Lynn Boylan, today, according to NW MEP Mariead McGuinness (FINE GAEL)”
In response, and led by an Irish MEP, Sinn Fein’s Lynn Boylan, the Parliament compiled its own Report, a far stronger response with most of the aims of the Right2Water campaign addressed.
Included in that Report is the following clause: ‘Calls on the Member States to introduce, in accordance with World Health Organisation guidelines, a pricing policy by the application of a progressive charge that safeguards people’s right to access a minimum quantity of water for living and cracks down on waste.’ That ‘progressive charge’ in Ireland is and must remain a charge taken from general taxation, with those who earn the most paying the most. It does NOT mean the introduction of a separately applied water-charge, something I would never support.”
No brinster, stop spoofing, you’re embarrassing yourself.
@For Connolly: You are misquoting the text as passed by the EP where all SF MEPs voted in favour:
It actually says:
“Calls on the Member States to introduce, in accordance with World Health Organisation guidelines, a pricing policy that respects people’s right to a minimum quantity of water for living and cracks down on waste, providing for the application of a progressive charge that is proportional to the amount of water used”
How can that mean anything other than water charges based on metered readings?
@Brinster: I’ll believe an independent MEP commening on the matter before I’ll believe a rival MEP of sinn feins. I’ve posted Luke Ming flanagans comment on the matter and I’m happy to let people reading the comments section to decide for themselves.
@Brinster: I’ve just given you a thumbs up Brinster- now there’s a first! But we actually agree on the hypocrisy of SF here. Of course, I also see them as hypocrites because they pose as left wing while behaving as Fianna Fail Nua- imposed austerity in the North, supported the bank guarantee, buy into the EU’s ‘fiscal space’ and only came out against water charges when the socialists (myself included) forced them to!
@Brinster: And AGAIN, here is an INDEPENDENT MEP, Luke Ming Flanagan, commenting on that clause and its application in Ireland:
“Included in that Report is the following clause: ‘Calls on the Member States to introduce, in accordance with World Health Organisation guidelines, a pricing policy by the application of a progressive charge that safeguards people’s right to access a minimum quantity of water for living and cracks down on waste.’ That ‘progressive charge’ in Ireland is and must remain a charge taken from general taxation, with those who earn the most paying the most. It does NOT mean the introduction of a separately applied water-charge, something I would never support. ”
Now, the spin you’re chancing your arm with didn’t stick when tory boy Hayes tried it on RTE, so I really don’t know who you’re trying to fool.
‘Sinn Féin’s position is clear – we are absolutely opposed to domestic water charges’
..Boylan has slammed the comments as an attempt by Fine Gael “to distract from the fact that in the parliament today they failed to vote in favour of a report which enshrines the human right to water. In fact, they were the only Irish MEPs to vote against the report. Irish MEPs who have also consistently opposed Fine Gael/Labour’s water charges voted in favour of this report highlighting Fine Gael’s dishonesty.
Sinn Féin’s position is clear – we are absolutely opposed to domestic water charges.
The wording they mention came from another political group. I did not write it and did not vote in favour of the wording in question during the committee stage and unfortunately Fine Gael have blocked all attempts to remove the wording in the plenary.”
There ya go cupcake.
Now, pray tell, if SF support water charges, why have they blocked them in the 6 counties since 2007? Why have they signed up to right2change, which includes a pledge to abolish them?
See, you can cherrypick all of the sentences you want, actions speak louder then words.
@For Connolly: Sinn Féin had the opportunity to vote against the report, including the wording about charging proportional to usage, at the plenary stage, but they chose to vote in favour of it, Lynn Boylan’s attempts at spin notwithstanding.
It is cut and dried: SF MEPS voted in favour of a report that includes a recommendation to charge for water proportional to usage i.e. water metering.
@Denito: Then they would have been voting against the ENTIRE report including the right to water. Fine gael repeatedly blocked the section brinster mentioned being removed, and then used it as a stick to beat SF with
Filth politics 101.
You’re fooling nobody lads. SF are the only party on the island with a track record of blcoking water charges, are signed up to right2water, have pledged to end water charges and have voted to do so in the Dail.
But please, tell us again how voting FOR a bill which includes the phrase ““providing for the application of a progressive charge that is proportional to the amount of water used” is somehow anti water charges.
@Brinster and gabby ye are like to broken records at this stage the anti sf drivel is unbelievable from ye when it was the two civil war partys that killed their own people.Also we all know there have being massive cover up by fianna geal in the mary boyle missing person case and other cases as well.Your partys sold our country off to the cheapest bidder and evicted people from their homes in the 21 st century how many suicide victims have came out of your austerity policies in order to facilitate the banking cartel how many homes have ff fg wrecked how many familys have your partys smashed in order to keep the corrupt wealthy elite in power the answer is uncountable.
Neither FG nor anyone else forced SF to vote for the final report (which included the clause on metering). If they are so implacably opposed to water meters and charges, surely they should have abstained or voted against the final report.
@Bobby Phelan: Its actually comical Bobby. Its going to be even funnier when the dail is back and SF bring their bill forward to end water charges, to see the same YFG party hacks jumping up and down howling ‘Sinn Fein support water charges…Sinn Fein support water charges’.
@Michael Bride: You are a Socialist, you wear the name of a mass murdering failed ideology with Pride ?
I find it mad that no one would dare refer to themselves as a Nazi but don’t bat an eye lid at being compared to Socialism a far greater evil that has murdered hundreds of millions of people.
@Denito: “If they are so implacably opposed to water meters and charges, surely they should have abstained or voted against the final report.”
If they are so implacably FO water charges, why are they moving a bill to end them when the Dail returns? Why have they blocked them in the 6 counties since 2007?
See denito? You have your sentence which FG wouldn’t allow be removed from the report, whereas we have everything SF have done and are doing in relation to water charges.
We as a country have allowed ff fg liebour to squander 20 billon that was allocated for water since 1997.Where did the money go we should have a top of the range water system in this county.Jesus Christ its only 26 counties we have,but the money wastage here from ff fg liebour is biblical thats what happens when corrupt partys get into government .Scandalous stuff
@Bobby Phelan: Its comical to hear a shinner talk about guilt of the past of ‘civil war parties’ while conveniently forgetting the bloodied hand that the provos had in the troubles… but there you have it the sphere of delusion that surrounds the mind of an indoctrinated foot soldier. And out of curiosity to which party are you attaching me to?
@For Connolly: what these fianna gealers are forgetting is they allready had 20billion to fix the water network but this isn’t about water is it,It’s about facilitating the banking cartel the 64 billon private debt that was converted to public debt an “odious debt”we should be stripping ff fg labour of all their assets and let them pay for their own cockups.Even to this day ff fg are still receiving 1.2 billion for our water infrastructure the days of gombeen paddys are disappearing fast.
If Sinn Féin reps are in the habit of voting for measures which they actually oppose, then it’s hard to know what they stand for or against. Their vote in favour of water charging and metering in the EP suggests that their position on the issue is more equivocal than they make out.
@Denito: SF supported the report while also highlighting the efforts FG blocked continuously to have the clause removed. It created a catch 22 where had SF not supported this report, which acknowledges the right to water, FG and all its little minions would have been the first to jump all over it as SF are a member of right2water
Like I said, filth politics 101 from FG.
I’m happy with Boylans explanation as supported by an independent MEP, backed by their record on actually blocking water charges.
Oh, and I look forward, when SF bring the bill to the Dail next month to abolish water charges, to the same FGHQ accounts trying to convince us all that SF support water charges.
What you’re saying here is that we should judge Sinn Féin based on their political spin (i.e. the Lynn Boylan excuses blaming FG meanies) rather than on their voting record. I know which I find a more reliable basis on which to make an objective judgement.
@TheWalkingBread: Genuine socialism hasn’t murdered anybody, that’s why people like me opposed the perversion that existed behind the Iron Curtain for decades. Do a bit more study ‘Walking’, begin with ‘USSR-Left Opposition.’ I do indeed wear the name of socialist with pride, not just because I understand the history of Stalinism and its obnoxious outgrowths, but the history of capitalism too- do you?!
Brendan yes of course in front of TV. Because everything that happens in front of us on television is to be believed.. and if you can’t believe the people who run SF then who can you believe? It’s like when the current leader gets elected repeatedly because no one else puts themselves forward.. i mean if its good enough for soviet russia to have a leader for thirty years then its good enough for anybody.
@FC: my GAA club’s senior hurling manager is not actually a member of the club either, since he’s from a different parish and retains membership of his club there. But that doesn’t mean he’s not involved in what we do.
Obi, of course its not a court of law, but in the interests of sensible discussion, if you make a claim, you should be able to produce the evidence to back it up if you want to be taken seriously. Otherwise whats the point in making the claim.
For those of you sneering you might want to read some history. No major party in this state has clean hands
FFs predecessors went against the publics support for the treaty’s “stepping stone” approach to freedom, and waged a war against the lawfully constituted govt, doing so mostly over the oath, which despite being worth a civil war in 1921 was suddenly “just words” in 1932 when they’d a shot at power. The war they waged included murdering TDs and Senators inc burning their homes with kids dying inside. In 32 they took handguns with them to the Dail chamber afraid CNG wouldn’t give up power.
One of their cabinets authorised arming nationalists being attached then the Taoiseach lost his bottle and decided to blame it on two ministers after a failed attempt to cover it up.
Fahd predecessors running the govt in that same war engaged in extrajudicial summary executions, sanctioned war crimes like tying prisoners to mines and machine gunning survivors. It’s not black and white
Tír let’s have a leader of SF not connected to the IRA or the murder of a mother of ten..how’s that for true leadership. Ps that’s the mood of the country and it’s what held back SF from cleaning up at the last election gerry Adams
Schrodinger’s Provo. Any given Provo is neither a member of Sinn Fein nor a member of the IRA until one of those outcomes is observed to be embarrassing, and the waveform collapses.
I’ll take your dancing around the question as an admission of having no evidence to support your claim and as such have just wasted your time and mine in bringing up the claim in the first place.
P.s. Could you tell me if you hold the Old IRA in the same disdain as you did the provos?
I said “dancing around the question”. The question where I asked you to provide the evidence for your suggestion that the current SF leader was connected with the death of Jean McConville. And you have repeatedly danced around my request, making it abundantly clear you have no evidence to back up your claim. Wasting time for us both.
Poor Will is scurrying off to try to figure out how he’s supposed to explain away his disdain for the Provos for their disappearing 13 people in a 30 year campaign while at the same time eulogising and saluting the Old IRA of his great-uncle’s time, which disappeared over 200 (mostly innocent) people in a 2-3 year campaign.
It will be interesting to see who takes over from Adams as the older generation retire. There are some excellent potential leaders there and the new additions to the Dail, such as O’Broin, Cullinane and O’Reilly have been stand-out performers.
@LITTLEONE: Not after we remind people of SF’s clear criminal and terrorist connections, as well as economic policies that would bankrupt and ruin the country :-)
OK. Fred. Is that after they read all the news on nama, watch BBC spotlight, listen to secret tapes, see that government prefer helping apple get away with tax while they get taxed again in the budget. Or after the see they are not getting the promised usc cut or that their families members are once again lying on trollies. Good luck. You do realise there is whole new generation of people who are living in the future not the past.
Yes Fred, We should all ignore the past. Except for other parties, their past is open for discussion at all times. Discussing sinn feins past is partionist, political point scoring, and a direct attack on the peace process. Oh and scurrilous too. Almost forgot.
Ah Fred. Had to re read this. Have you been under a rock . Isn’t this exactly what has happened to the country. Under the previous last governments of ff, fg , labour, greens. Aren’t people still paying for that.
well as economic policies that would bankrupt and ruin the country :-)
Best laugh I had this morning.
Must say Fred . That be a great one to use in election campaign.
Do you according to Fred and his affiliated party which is either fg or ff . My bet is fg.
Want a party that MAY bankrupt and ruin the country. If yes vote sf.
Or do you want a party that Has bankrupt and ruined the country.
Then vote fg and ff.
The decision is yours.
Makes great slogan Fred.
Do you want MAY or do you want HAS.
Fred…I say this as someone who wouldn’t vote SF, what specifics are you talking about?
Most of their policies are not much further left than FF or where Labour is in theory (tho never practice) so..centre left? You could hardly throw them in with the ULA. Because of FF stealing their clothes on some issues we’ve never had an obvious left right split but you could fit half of FF all of SF and Lab into one party easy without much policy disagreement
The only thing that makes me ball is scrapping USC but that’s also FG policy…free at point of use health care…also FF and FG policy just using diff models..just like the others they pay lip service to Senate reform knowing full well they’ll keep it as ‘backup plan’ for people who don’t make it to the Dail..higher taxes on high earners isn’t exactly a new idea, keeping banks nationalised until they pay us back seems ok to me..where’s the bankrupting?
@ericm: I wish every party would disband so we could start again with new rules. Rule 1 being if you want to be a politician then you can’t have the job.
Caoimhin held the fort for SF prior to the present line up. I for one believe he is a great debater and can stand out in any issue that may arise. I do miss his input to the dail arguments
No more dodgy socialist passive aggressive northerners please. Never forget Pearse Doherty and his entourage flying out to Athens to congratulate his comrades in Syrizia. 4 months later, the banks were shut..lol
@Fred Johnson: to be fair to O’Caolain he was the only southern SF TD before Adams came on the scene and he has done a lot for Co. Monaghan. I think that he is getting towards retirement at this stage of his career.
Mary lou is another party nodding donkey. she was (rightly) fire and brimstone over child abuse in the Catholic Church but became strangely muted and deflectionary when similar stories appeared regarding provos children and moving abusers south of the border.
I hope Jurry stays on, he must be doing something right when the Sunday Indo devotes so much time and effort trying to undermine him whilst spoon feeding its readership crap handed to them by the spin doctors in the FF/FG cartel.
Nigel Farage is looking for a job when Britain pulls out of Europe. He would lead Irelands campaign to exit the EU, while SF have in the past talked about it but have no balls to do anything about it.
@PaulJ: SF are like the weather vane always changing direction. Take Martin Kenny for instance TD for the new constituency Sligo/Leitrim/West Cavan. Before the last election he was knocking on West Cavan doors looking for votes and promising the sun, moon and stars. Now he has put his name to a campaign to ‘reunite’ Cavan to it’s previous position, therefore abandonning the people of West Cavan who voted for him. If it comes to another election in the next year he can feck off from looking for Cavan votes, traitor.
Brinster are you seriously that idiotic yesterday you cannot understand the difference between wanting to stay in the EU as is but being against further losses of sovereignty as each of these referendums was? There are some amount of uneducated clowns on this site!
@Seamus Og: That makes no sense at all, the only advantage it serves is for the opportunist Cavan/Monaghan TD’s who lost votes in the last general election because of the boundary change.
West Cavan has significant tourism potential from being designated part of the UNESCO Global Geopark, clearly the east Cavan TD’s don’t see it that way. because they never represented the need of the people anyway.
Martin Kenny has the opportunity to speak up for West Cavan, but he has turned his back on us.
Mary Lou is a very good media performer but never gets any questions about SF dark past and armed struggle
Is there a gentlemen agreement with the mainstream media not to ask about the days of the armed struggle
Well I have listened many times to interviews with Mary Lou and not once have I heard her asked about say the Enniskillen bomb or killing of policeman Asked to condemn it or justify it or even give a fudge answer
She is only ever asked about present day political question
There is a media bias there
John why isn’t Minister John Halligan asked about money laundering operations on a mass scale his Workers Party colleagues. Also why aren’t the Labour party asked about OIRA decommissioning or criminality?
lol good man John. I was going to post up an exhaustive list of links to stories of McDonald being quizzed about the IRA etc but I haven’t the time nor the energy. Suffice to say a quick google of the term “Mary Lou McDonald IRA” should provide ample evidence of your utterly delusional and bizarre claim!
@Henri Poincaré: Future leader or deputy leader material all right. Seriously intelligent and a calm, level headed debater. Plus a genuinely nice bloke who does a lot for our constituency.
Will it be the Fianna Fail reject and only party member with a 3rd level education? Will it be the two time college drop out who’s never had a job outside of politics? Or maybe you’ll go for the convicted murderer and terrorist?
Brinster banging on about the past again and gabby like two broken records at this stage. how about all the murdering of the civil war partys did in their fantastic past.time for ye oldies to move on and the the peace process move on.
@The spokesman: He was a Monaghan county councillor shortly before he got the MEP job and is still wet behind the ears. Leadership is something that needs maturity rather than be parachuted into a role. Adams is a joke and so would be any northern politician who don’t have experience of how this country works..
@Chris Kirk, I agree with you but I have followed Matt’s progress as I’m from this part of the world and he has come on leaps and bounds over the past two years and ia hugely respected within the party and to my mind is definetly in with a shout compare to some of the other clowns mentioned.
@The spokesman: We have no way of measuring Matts progress in Europe and compared to other Irish MEP’s like Mairead McGuinness and Marion Harkin who have a track record and are respected within the EU parliament. I would rather see Matt stay in Europe for a few more years to improve his knowledge of international politics. Perhaps you can tell us what did he achieve with Monaghan CoCo.
@Chrid Kirk, hes spent 18 years or so in Monaghan co co and Carrickmacross town council and was always a man who got things done on a local level his achievements are various and across the spectrum but all local councillors agree on decisions so it’s hard to pin any achievement to any one of them. Any problem I needed resolved he was the first person id contact and I’m not a sinn fein national voter. Hes a good speaker and debater and has no military past unlike Conor Murphy, Kelly and any other of the nordie ones. O coalaon will probably retire soon and Mary Lou is not connected enough up north. Carthy is a half way candidate who will get a fair share of support on the all island among sinn fein voters.
@The spokesman: Thats fair enough I know that Matt Carthy is a family man and I won’t press you further on his achievements with Monaghan CoCo while Carrickmacross is a fine town that has come on leaps and bounds over the past decade or so.. I will say this though that while Matt was a Co.Councillor there was a lot of corruption in Monaghan over zoning of building land in areas which were considered flood plains.
@Chris, building on the flood plains was a FG man now an independent who sorted that out and Carthy was only on the Carrickmacross town council when that was approved so he can’t get blame there for not stopping it. Carrickmacross is probably the nicest town in the north East and had great amenities. SF are too left wing and liberal for my liking but on a local level very good.
I’d never vote SF, and I don’t like the idea that the leader should be a woman, but Mary Lou is the best candidate for the job, regardless of her gender
I must say that I think Mary Lou is a complete spoofer. I really don’t understand how she got this far. She’s far from intelligent and full of complaints. I don’t remotely like SF but I think O’Doherty is a very able politician and would make SF a viable alternative to the main parties…in other words, I’d like Mary Lou to get the nod
I think SF would get No 1 vote from many people like myself who are reluctant to support the gunmen. Adams has blood on his hands, that’s why I wouldn’t vote SF. When he goes, SF could become the main player in this island.
Does it really matter who will lead the eternal opposition ? I presume it will be another synical head with no ears. As they say it’s the Sinn Fein’s leaders way or no way and Jerry will always be hiding in the tall grass.
Nobody wants to put their head above the parapet and declare an interest in a heave against Dear Leader. They’d probably end up being disappeared and their families searching for the body for 20 years.
I hate to break it to everyone, but the Party’s not going to decide it’s next ” Leader “, based on this Poll. That will be decided by the Party’s Membership, just like it is every year. If you want to have your say on who takes over from Gerry, then join the Party and pass the ” Probationary Period “. Then again, this Poll will be closer to the election for our next Leader, compared to the election of who’ll replace Enda.
MI5 will decide that. As they’ve always done. Only a fool would think otherwise given that the SFers do more to promote the British Royals than even the Unionists these days.
Labour room built for less medicalised births cost €100,000 but rarely used
Adriana Casserly
7 hrs ago
lgbtq rights
Leo Varadkar: 'Connecting Pride to child protection concerns is the oldest trope in the book'
8 mins ago
As it happened
Trump hits EU goods with 20% tariff and rails against foreigners 'pillaging' US
Updated
8 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say