You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Runners queue to board busses ahead of the 118th Boston Marathon AP Photo/Matt Rourke

One year on, runners head to the starting line of the Boston Marathon

About 36,000 runners have registered for the race — the second-largest field in its history.

Updated at 1.39pm

RUNNERS HAVE STARTED preparing for the start of this year’s Boston Marathon.

About 36,000 runners have registered for the race — the second-largest field in its history, many of them coming to show support for the event and the city that was shocked by last year’s attack where a pair of homemade pressure-cooker bombs killed three people and wounded more than 260 others.

“I can’t imagine the number of emotions that are going to be there,” said Katie O’Donnell, who was running the marathon last year and made it 25½ miles before she was stopped less than a mile from the finish line when the twin bombs exploded.

“I think I’m going to start crying at the starting line and I’m not sure I’ll stop until I cross the finish line.”

Bob Hillard from Clonakilty, Co Cork, was just minutes from the first blast, and said he had no idea what was happening until much later.

“We thought it was a gas explosion or something because there was a lot smoke,” he told RTÉ’s News at One.

“It all happened so quick for us we didn’t realise what had happened until we got back to our hotel room”.

He said the attitude in the city has turned what hate was present after the attack last year into love and support.

Hillard added that the atmosphere has been “electric” all week,

The most obvious change for the 118th edition of the world’s oldest annual marathon was the heavy security presence with State and local police officers were everywhere, even on the rooftops of some buildings.

“Boston Strong”

A bus dropping off runners had the words “Boston Strong” on the electronic sign at the front that usually posts the bus’s destination. A banner posted on a commercial building in Hopkinton read: “You are Boston Strong. You Earned This.”

Spectators coming to the start line have to pass through police checkpoints.

“There’ll be considerably more police presence,” Massachusetts Gov. Deval Patrick said Sunday on CBS’ “Face the Nation.”

But we also don’t want to have it, you know, kind of a race through a militarized zone. So it’s about striking a balance, and I think we have struck that balance.

Runners attending the event will have to use clear plastic bags for their belongings, and fans hoping to watch near the finish line are encouraged to leave strollers and backpacks behind.

More than 100 cameras have been installed along the route in Boston, and 50 or so “observation points” will be set up around the finish line “to monitor the crowd,” the Boston Athletic Association said.

Patrick said there have been no specific threats against the race or the city for the Massachusetts holiday of Patriots’ Day.

“We’re not taking that as a sign to sort of stand down,” he said.

‘We’re prepared’

“We’re very prepared, and we’re assuring people as much as we can that it’ll be a fun day and a safe one.”

Race organizers expanded the field from its recent cap of 27,000 to 36,000 make room for more than 5,000 runners who were still on the course at the time of the explosions, for friends and relatives of the victims and for those who made the case that they were “profoundly impacted” by the attack.

Authorities say two ethnic Chechen brothers who lived in the former Soviet republic of Kyrgyzstan and the Dagestan region of Russia planned and orchestrated the marathon bombings on April 15, 2013.

Tamerlan Tsarnaev, 26, died following a shootout with police days after the bombings. Dzhokhar Tsarnaev, 20, has pleaded not guilty to federal charges and is awaiting a trial in which he faces a possible death sentence.

Prosecutors say the brothers also killed MIT police Officer Sean Collier days after the bombings in an attempt to steal his gun.

Originally published 1.28pm. Additional reporting by Nicky Ryan.

Read: Unfinished business for one Boston Marathon competitor >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

10 Comments
    Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:06 PM

23rd of May. Labour wipeout day.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:22 PM

FG ought to get a whipping too for their minister threatening to abolish a local council cos they didn’t like it’s voting decisions. How can any FG candidate not distance themselves from the govt after that?

Mute brndnbnr
    Favourite brndnbnr
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:26 PM

and don’t do what we did in the general election – wipe one party out with exactly the same part. If the box says any of the following, leave it blank: FG/Lab/FF/SF.

Vote for a local independent candidate who won’t:
    1. Pass local budgets because FG told them to (under threat)
    2. Increase expenses and payments because the rest of the lads are doing it
    3. Decrease spending on services, because they are probably affected as well/
    4. Spend most of their time being invisible
    5. Roll over at the drop of a brown envelope

Mute sly dog
    Favourite sly dog
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:37 PM

What’s wrong with Sinn Fein do they not deserve a chance?

Mute Gaius Gracchus
    Favourite Gaius Gracchus
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:50 PM

Agree with all except Sinn Féin, the only one of the 4 you mentioned who I am at least willing to give a chance to prove themselves, if they fail to do so, back in your original list they shall go

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Jan 22nd 2014, 2:20 PM

“FG ought to get a whipping too for their minister threatening to abolish a local council cos they didn’t like it’s voting decisions. How can any FG candidate not distance themselves from the govt after that?”

@ Ryan: What are you talking about?

If you are referring to Donegal County Council, you should know that it is required under the Local Government Acts that a council needs to pass a budget each year and, if no budget is passed, the same law allows a minister to intervene.

This fact was reported in several articles on this site, but unfortunately facts like these can slip people’s minds between the story and the comments section!

Mute Susan Lloyd
    Favourite Susan Lloyd
    Jan 22nd 2014, 3:00 PM

Time to give sinn fein a shout..

Mute Dwayne Denton
    Favourite Dwayne Denton
    Jan 22nd 2014, 3:56 PM

to brndnbnr.

That’s exactly how i’m thinking too.

Vote for one good independant. No transfers.

A Dail of genuine local people.

The people in my town are mostly smart and decent people. There are a few independents to vote for.

Mute brndnbnr
    Favourite brndnbnr
    Jan 22nd 2014, 4:16 PM

Sinn Fein are still a party, and a very insular party at that. I have no doubt that they will gain most in the local elections, but when push comes to shove they will vote with the party line rather than the right thing to do at the time. For independent politics to work, it is essential that no one group dominates locally or nationally.

And also beware of the “recently resigned from the party” independents who would turn FF again at the first chance.

Mute Dwayne Denton
    Favourite Dwayne Denton
    Jan 22nd 2014, 6:28 PM

To Brendan.

Yes I thought about the recently resigned. There are a few. I would hope that in the context of things that nobody would be blind enough to vote for a party defector. They participated in lies and will continue with lies.

The entire crop must be changed and I mean everybody. The decent ones will see the writing on the wall and accept the will of the people and will likely still play an important part in the running of the country. New, decent and educated people is what we need to put in to the Dail.

I have a question about transfers. What about giving transfers to other new independents to offset the liklehood of some hardliners going all out voting with parties ?

go raibh maith agat.

]
    ]
    ]
    ]
    ]
    ]
    ]

To Susan.

It’s good to see your frustration with the current crop besides SF. SF though are as involved in the political game that plagues this island as any other. If FG had won the last election outright and continued as they have then L would win this upcoming election by an absolute landslide. SF wouldn’t even be considered while the L option was untested.

But they have been tested and have failed spectacularly. If SF is our default last hope then the political game is surely over.

I’m in Meath East. Whoever is independent, intelligent and decent I will vote for. I don’t know you yet but you will get my vote. And maybe transfers to the rest of the independent, intelligent and decent people.

I can’t wait.

Mute Pete Foley
    Favourite Pete Foley
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:17 PM

Tick tock labour tick tock time is running out

Mute Danny Southgate
    Favourite Danny Southgate
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:02 PM

now it is time to show these morans what you really think of them,

Mute Cillian_Durkin
    Favourite Cillian_Durkin
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:20 PM

Most of the people who are peeded off will stay at home and cry in to their tea, that they are all the same.

Meanwhile Fianna Fáil’s vote will turn out en masse like they always do.

The only person worse than a FF voter is a person who does not vote because they are too busy moaning.

Mute Annemarie Dunne
    Favourite Annemarie Dunne
    Jan 23rd 2014, 10:26 AM

@cillian unfortunately you speak the truth.

Jan 22nd 2014, 1:24 PM

Looking forward to see reps of FG, Lab and FF on my door step. Been looking to talk to those wasters for some time. It will be interesting to see if any have the neck to knock on doors.

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Jan 22nd 2014, 2:24 PM

Of course they’ll knock on doors. For all the talk of the Fighting Irish among the keyboard warriors on here, us Irish are generally very polite when (potential) politicians come knocking.

I’ve heard many times “Oh I’ll give it to that fella when I see him” followed by silent nodding when “that fella” turns up on the doorstep.

Of course there are exceptions now and then, but all the “I’ll set the dogs on them” talk can be taken with a large pinch of salt.

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    Jan 22nd 2014, 2:57 PM

Wanna bet Ryan?

Mute Alan Parkinson
    Favourite Alan Parkinson
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:19 PM

Time to give all the parties a straightener in these elections. If you are going to vote, which I hope the majority will (not going to hold my breath though), please make clear to the candidates when you are canvassed that you are going to CAST ONE VOTE ONLY on the ballot paper. Don’t vote for any other candidate as a second or third preference etc. and make sure that the candidates know that they will NOT receive any transfers. This is only a small step but I feel that it will help to focus the minds of those who seek our votes. Lies on the doorstep and other places where canvassing occurs cannot be tolerated any longer and that the gratuitous waste that they tolerate and foster will come back to haunt them. Ask the hard questions and do not be afraid to let the candidates know if you aren’t happy with their responses. It is high time that we, as a people, exercised our power over the bootlickers and showed them that one tick of the pen is truly mightier than the sword.

Mute Pete Foley
    Favourite Pete Foley
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:36 PM

Good plan

Mute Con Ó Domhnaill
    Favourite Con Ó Domhnaill
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:25 PM

Can’t wait for the austerity candidates from Fine Gael, Labour & Fianna Fail to come knocking on my door. The property/bondolder tax and water tax is going to wipe them out. Did the clowns actually think they were going to get away with this. Wipe them out.

Mute Pete Foley
    Favourite Pete Foley
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:40 PM

As long as people do go and vote and not sit at home. Get out and vote show your anger

Mute Con Ó Domhnaill
    Jan 22nd 2014, 2:14 PM

You are frightening the life out of the Fianna Gael/Labour austerity clowns Pete. Red thumbs mean they’re panicking :)

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Jan 22nd 2014, 2:31 PM

@ Con: Nope, just wondering what other option there is other than austerity when the State is spending more than it takes in through taxes and can no longer keep borrowing to close that gap?

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jan 22nd 2014, 2:43 PM

Minus the cost of servicing the private banking debt inflicted on us without our consent, the exchequer about broke even last year…..but you know that already.

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Jan 22nd 2014, 2:52 PM

@ Were Jammin: That was last year but, omitting the banking debt, what about the period from 2008-2012?

Even if there was no private bank debt, the collapse of tax revenue would still have necessicated austerity.

Mute Coddler O Toole
    Favourite Coddler O Toole
    Jan 22nd 2014, 2:55 PM

Ryan,

Most countries run a budget deficit most of the time and it makes perfect macro economic sense to do so. It’s really only the Eurozone countries that are required to borrow their own currency in the market at an interest rate determined by the market. Fiat currency issuing nations like the U.S and U.K do not need to obtain their own currency in the market to finance a budget deficit for example. When they do choose to issue government bonds the primary objective is to implement monetary policy, not as a necessity to raise revenue. In addition, when those countries do ‘borrow’ in the market, they effectively decide what the yield/interest will be unlike the Eurozone nations subject to the tender mercy of the speculators.
    If they wished, the Federal Reserve and the Bank of England could simply create as much money as their host nations require by pressing keys on their central bank computer. In practice, they are a little more discrete in their money creation. The usual mechanism is that the government will issue new bonds and ‘sell’ them to the commercial banks etc. A government selling its bonds reduces the total money supply, and so tends to increase the market interest rate, as the central bank reserves (base money) held by the commercial banks are exchanged in return for the government bonds.
    In the reverse transaction, the central banks ‘buy’ the previously issued government bonds in return for central bank reserves in an asset swap. This has the effect of increasing the money supply and so reducing the interest rate to try and stimulate economic activity as has been seen in the massive Quantitative Easing programs of the past few years.
    The central bank reserves are created electronically at will on a keyboard by the central bank as necessary to maintain liquidity in the interbank market. In this way a sovereign country can never really default on its own currency denominated debts as the central bank can always ‘buy’ back that debt with newly created central bank reserves which every commercial bank requires to function.
    In contrast, the Euro single currency was deliberately designed to allow speculative financial capitalism to profit massively from member state sovereign debt as monetary policy is now in the hands of the neo liberal ECB instead of democratically elected governments.

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Jan 22nd 2014, 3:00 PM

@ Coddler: Yes, I am aware of all of that but would describe it differently.

With all of the above in mind, does that mean the Anti Austerity Alliance (AAA) proposes that Ireland leaves the Euro and the EU?

Mute Susan Lloyd
    Favourite Susan Lloyd
    Jan 22nd 2014, 3:05 PM

Always enough money to pay themselves well, but cut the poor.needy etc.. lab/df/df sicken me! Roll on May

Mute Susan Lloyd
    Favourite Susan Lloyd
    Jan 22nd 2014, 3:10 PM

Lab/fg/ff should read

Mute padser123
    Favourite padser123
    Jan 22nd 2014, 3:13 PM

@Coddler

I’d like to ask you a question Coddler…………since the US QE regime, whereby effectively devaluing their currency……..why does the Dollar still float at about $1.35?

Mute Coddler O Toole
    Jan 22nd 2014, 3:21 PM

Ryan,

Yes, it may be necessary to ultimately leave the Eurozone if it continues down the current destructive neo liberal path. The EU project may yet be salvaged but there is also a reasonable chance that the Euro will break up anyway if there is not a reversal of current policy as it’s too damaging for the peripheral countries like Ireland, Spain, Portugal and Greece.
    In the short term, as part of the Euro, my own proposal (not AAA policy) would be that Ireland borrow directly from the commercial banks to cover any budget deficit and implement a stimulus program. The commercial banks create most of the new money in circulation today when they extend credit. In issuing credit, banks simultaneously create brand new electronic deposits in our bank accounts. The central banks create around 3% of the total volume of money in circulation in the real economy, that is the physical notes and coins. (They also create central bank reserves which are not in circulation).The remaining 97% approximately of money in circulation is created by the commercial banks when they issue credit.
    This capability of the commercial banks to create new fiat currency money by just pressing keys on a computer can be harnessed by Ireland if we chose to do so. Governments borrowing directly from the commercial banks is not prohibited under the current treaties of the EU. In addition, the banks should value this approach as loans to governments would be classified as the highest class of risk weighted asset under Basel 3 and so would help the banks meet higher capital adequacy ratios.
    The credit to the Irish state would take the form of long term loan contracts to be repaid over period of say 30 years. The terms and interest rates payable would be very favourable they would be ‘negotiated’ with the almost entirely state owned but nominally still private banks like AIB and PTSB and so much cheaper than the yield demanded by the sovereign bond markets.

Mute Coddler O Toole
    Jan 22nd 2014, 4:00 PM

Padser,

I’m not an FX expert by any means but I would guess that since the ECB has also been engaged in massive QE , both the Euro and the Dollar have devalued roughly in parallel leaving the exchange rate between the two relatively unchanged.
    Unfortunately the ECB’s trillion euro plus QE stimulus has primarily benefited the commercial banks who precipitated the crisis in the first place. Instead of finding its way to the real productive economy to create jobs, much of the liquidity has been used to speculate on the stock markets fuelling the beginning of another unsustainable bubble. The Irish banks responded to this injection of cash by refusing to lend it to viable businesses or households. Instead they purchase Irish government bonds yielding a much higher interest rate precisely because the Irish sovereign is a much higher risk due to the private, illegitimate, odious bank debt imposed on us due to the collapse of those self same Irish banks. It’s an ingenious Catch 22 and we are the chumps.

Mute Annemarie Dunne
    Jan 23rd 2014, 10:30 AM

@conor thanks for your explanation, please explain in laymen terms, my tiny brain just had a major malfunction due to information overload.

Mute Annemarie Dunne
    Jan 23rd 2014, 10:32 AM

I meant @coddler

Mute Nigel O Keeffe
    Favourite Nigel O Keeffe
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:21 PM

Bring it on..cant wait to see the ff/fg/labour wannabees on my doorstep..not even a transfer for any “party”
    Why do they call themselves “parties”..is it because the people on the inside get to have a great time?…at the expense of everyone else..?

Mute Daithi O'Laoghaire
    Favourite Daithi O'Laoghaire
    Jan 22nd 2014, 12:58 PM

On your’ marks, get set, brown envelope!

Mute Coddler O Toole
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:06 PM

Neo liberal economics is a cancer devouring our society. It continues to increase the obscene wealth of a tiny layer at the top at the expense of the majority.
    The Anti Austerity Alliance are building a Left alternative and are running 42 candidates in the local elections.
    http://antiausterityalliance.ie/

Mute Were Jammin
    Favourite Were Jammin
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:28 PM

Time to take a stand boys and girls and let this shower know whats waiting for them in 2016 thanks to their lies and deceit.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:40 PM

May 23rd payback day

Mute james r
    Favourite james r
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:31 PM

LB FG !! Local revenge day is coming FF don’t even bother running ..

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:23 PM

“Wannabes”or “parasitic leeches”i know which description I prefer.

Mute Barry Ryan
    Favourite Barry Ryan
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:36 PM

Is there really a need for so many ?! Anyone who votes for FF/FG or Labour deserves every tax and pay cut and slap in the face by the Goverments who ruined this country and looked after each other with massive wages and jobs for the boys! We live in one of the most corrupt countries in the world and you all smile and take it. I’m sick of this atitude in Ireland of voting for someone because your family or someone said they’re a lovely person. They clearly are not. They are voted by us to look out for us and they only look out for themselves. If people vote for FF/FG or Labour you deserve a few punches to the face for stupidity! I’m not telling anyone who to vote for, just leave them off your ballot. Give Sinn Fein a craic, at least they promote Irish and want to fight for Irish people and not give all our money and tax to Europe vote all Independents. Again at least they try to fight for us! and when they do the current regime bang their hands like monkeys in a cage! I’m disgraced to say these idiots represent me!

Mute Luke Mac an Bháird
    Favourite Luke Mac an Bháird
    Jan 22nd 2014, 12:57 PM

Using the word “wannabe” sounds a little condescending. Perhaps using ‘prospective’ or ‘hopeful’ is more appropriate for an article like this.

Mute Simon Barnes
    Favourite Simon Barnes
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:25 PM

yeah more bad reporting from the journal

definition wannabe – a person who tries to be like someone else or to fit in with a particular group of people.

just what we don’t need in politics

Mute ipsum oleum
    Favourite ipsum oleum
    Jan 22nd 2014, 2:54 PM

Just as I started to read this the postman dropped in a card from one of these,a chap claiming to be an MEP and I swear that I never heard of him ..ever. I’m a wannabe serial killer so I hope he and a few others drop by….. Oh wait ,did I say that out loud?

Mute Gerald Gallagher
    Favourite Gerald Gallagher
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:59 PM

FF\FG\LAB welcome to the turkey shoot and you all are fair game.
    I will vote none off the above.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:44 PM

They shoild fine people for not voting. But they’ll never do that here because the big 3 know they’d be soon out of business

Mute Sean Baylon
    Favourite Sean Baylon
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:45 PM

Time to decimate party politics and vote independent and no transfer of votes.. This is only a waste of our voting tbh and it gives the bigger parties the chance to change their ways before the big game.. But still, let’s practice not voting in these shower of absolute Cnuts.. Some old fogey landing at the door saying he’s heard it all along the road and understands and empathises with your situation and will look to strengthen local opposition to national problems and will do his best for the area because he’s lived here all his life and knows the people.. How about “go fcuk yourself, CNUT” I’m educated enough to make my own decision without you here to talk down to me.. So here “take this double ended dildo and you and your lackey go fcuk youselves” and yes, I keep a double ended dildo in my house for just such occasions..

Mute Bill Conlan
    Favourite Bill Conlan
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:11 PM

“Hopeful” of being on the gravy train rather than “Wannabe” on the gravy train……Yeah I can see the difference!!

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:57 PM

Local councillors are like the space ship that has just woken up. Now they are all jockeying for position, sorting out the potholes on private roads and coming up with far fetched schemes.

Mute Ryan Carroll
    Favourite Ryan Carroll
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:23 PM

I understand wanting to be a TD, I understand wanting to be an MEP.

Why the hell would anyone want to be a councilor? Unlike the above 2 you have virtually no impact on policy which is in the hands of an unelected county manager and if you vote a way the govt does not like they can abolish your entire council…and on top of that the pay would be insulting to a college student packing shelves in Dunnes.

Mute Noel Otley
    Favourite Noel Otley
    Jan 22nd 2014, 1:37 PM

Councillors have the power to rezone land, one of the few functions where they, not the manager, exercise power.
    Rezoning increases the value of land enormously. Need I say more?

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Jan 22nd 2014, 2:37 PM

@ Ryan: Being a councillor for most of them isn’t a full time job. It involves clinics now and then as well as a full council meeting once a month and possibly some committee meetings.

So considering the part time nature of the job €16,565 a year isn’t that bad. Not to mention the payoff should you fail to get re-elected.

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Jan 22nd 2014, 5:31 PM

Hopefully this time round there will be plenty of candidates running as a vocation – because they KNOW they can do a better job.

Mute Con Ó Domhnaill
    Jan 22nd 2014, 5:34 PM

Government party Councillors get rewarded by being appointed to the boards of those hundreds of mostly useless quangos. Example: Councillor Hilary Quinlan, Waterford, appointed to the Board of Irish Water

Mute Dwayne Denton
    Favourite Dwayne Denton
    Jan 22nd 2014, 3:13 PM

As a one time event if we vote independent with no transfers we can, in one move, wipe out the party system.

A Dail of genuine local people not one specific group lording it over the other.

I have never voted before but I will this time and I will wait outside my local polling station with a placard or a t-shirt urging others to do the same. Nothing profane just a request. Then I’ll vote once at the end of the day and transfer to none.

Also we have to ask ourselves can we keep this momentum until polling day ? Which is roughly 121 days away.

Mute padser123
    Favourite padser123
    Jan 22nd 2014, 2:16 PM

May 23rd…………….big day for wannabe maggot’s!

Mute padser123
    Favourite padser123
    Jan 22nd 2014, 3:15 PM

Dodo day for Labour May 23rd!

Mute Patricia Ann McCarthy Moore
    Favourite Patricia Ann McCarthy Moore

All aboard for the Gravy Train express to Brussels! Brussels is surely one of the most horrible places on earth, full of Fat arrogant Rats.

Mute J.Rudd
    Favourite J.Rudd

We have not yet reached the end of the beginning for this national government in Dublin – but we have reached the beginning of the end for Labour closer to home!

Bring it on!

Mute padser123
    Favourite padser123
    Jan 22nd 2014, 3:19 PM

May 23rd………..Colm Keavney’s foresight day!

Mute Dwayne Denton
    Favourite Dwayne Denton
    Jan 22nd 2014, 2:51 PM

Two questions for a voter.

What is the point in electing councillors when they are powerless ?
    Why do we send people to Europe when they also have no power and only serve to destroy this country ?

go raibh maith agait.

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly
    Jan 22nd 2014, 5:28 PM

erm – because mep’s do actually have power. With the exception of spending on agriculture and defence, all matters must be decided by the European parliament and the council of the EU jointly.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Jan 22nd 2014, 4:52 PM

I wonder how many people will actually get off their backsides and vote.
    I would also like to see a “None of the above” option for those that simply have no faith or for their own reasons don’t wish to vote for the selection.
    I would also like to see the “transfer”system being an option on the ballot sheets.
    Just one last thing….. Rest in hell labour.

Mute Ciaran Morgan
    Favourite Ciaran Morgan
    Jan 22nd 2014, 3:50 PM

Judgement day

Mute colin
    Favourite colin
    Jan 23rd 2014, 1:39 AM

The south park episode of giant douche v turd sandwich immediately springs to mind.