You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Runners head to the finish line in the 121st Boston Marathon on Monday. AP Photo/Elise Amendola

Adidas sorry for email praising those who 'survived' Boston Marathon

On social media, customers quickly reminded the company about the real survivors of the 2013 Boston Marathon bombing.

ADIDAS HAS APOLOGISED for sending out a marketing email praising customers it said “survived” this year’s Boston Marathon.

The subject line of the email sent yesterday by Adidas Running read: “Congrats, you survived the Boston Marathon!”

On social media, customers quickly reminded the company about the real survivors of the 2013 Boston Marathon bombing. Three people were killed and more than 260 others were wounded when two bombs exploded near the finish line in that attack.

The sports apparel company quickly apologised, saying it was “incredibly sorry” for the “insensitive” subject line about Monday’s race.

At least two survivors of the 2013 bombing participated in this year’s race.

Adidas says the marathon is “one of the most inspirational sporting events in the world.”

“Every year we’re reminded of the hope and resiliency of the running community at this event.”

Read: ‘Crush the saboteurs’: Here’s how the British press reacted to Theresa May calling an election

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

42 Comments
    Mute Guill Ire
    Favourite Guill Ire
    Apr 19th 2017, 7:50 AM

Jesus Christ people need to lighten up.

Mute Pj Windgap
    Favourite Pj Windgap
    Apr 19th 2017, 10:56 AM

@Guill Ire: snowflake generation

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Apr 19th 2017, 11:16 AM

@Pj Windgapp: agreed the snowflake generation call it “tone deaf” when its actuality it’s f*cking dumb as it comes

Mute Rave Bennett
    Favourite Rave Bennett
    Apr 19th 2017, 4:18 PM

@Pj Windgap: me bollox

Mute Rave Bennett
    Favourite Rave Bennett
    Apr 19th 2017, 4:19 PM

@Boganity: youre a snowflake generation

Mute Padraig Corcoran
    Favourite Padraig Corcoran
    Apr 19th 2017, 7:57 AM

As a member of the “Non Running Community” I am offended that we were excluded from the apology.

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Favourite Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Apr 19th 2017, 7:59 AM

@Padraig Corcoran: buy a pair of runners and try to assimilate

Mute Ciara Baines
    Favourite Ciara Baines
    Apr 19th 2017, 7:52 AM

People are way too easily offended.

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Apr 19th 2017, 11:18 AM

@Ciara Baines: yes correct, who aren’t white, male and a boomer like your good self

Mute Karen Wellington
    Favourite Karen Wellington
    Apr 19th 2017, 7:55 AM

Cue people getting offended that other people were offended; “wah, wah, wah, snowflakes need to get over their trauma, PC is ruining my life, boo hoo”

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Apr 19th 2017, 11:22 AM

@Karen Wellington: let me put it in context…ffs I’m kidding myself, no one can cut through that level of prejudice…as you where !

Mute Eamonn Sheen
    Favourite Eamonn Sheen
    Apr 19th 2017, 12:37 PM

@Karen Wellington: Cue someone complaining about people complaining.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Apr 19th 2017, 12:41 PM

@Eamonn Sheen: yep, that’s what I already said……

Mute TeaRex
    Favourite TeaRex
    Apr 19th 2017, 1:18 PM

@Karen Wellington: Karen has been offended by people getting offended that other people were offended.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Apr 19th 2017, 1:25 PM

@TeaRex: have I offended you somehow?

Mute Eamonn Sheen
    Favourite Eamonn Sheen
    Apr 19th 2017, 2:18 PM

@Karen Wellington: No Karen. You are the tired cliche that always appears to make the same boring comment.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Apr 19th 2017, 3:09 PM

@Eamonn Sheen: I agree, the term ‘snowflake’ is a cliché, but that’s not my doing.

Mute Scundered
    Favourite Scundered
    Apr 19th 2017, 7:57 AM

Ha, people really do go out of their way to find offence in everything. What is interesting is what has caused this shift in attitudes. Thanks internet.

Mute Pj Windgap
    Favourite Pj Windgap
    Apr 19th 2017, 1:03 PM

@Scundered: it all started when Fr Ted was almost shamed into saying they all have lovely bottoms.

Mute OU812
    Favourite OU812
    Apr 19th 2017, 7:54 AM

…and United Airlines are now off the hook…

Mute Boganity
    Favourite Boganity
    Apr 19th 2017, 11:19 AM

@OU812: till the neck-minute

Mute Ronan McDermott
    Favourite Ronan McDermott
    Apr 19th 2017, 8:08 AM

I Think people were offended as the email seemed to make light of an act of terror that happened only a few years ago. If it happened on our doorstep and something like this emerged from adidas everybody would be up in arms over it .

Mute Alex Olsen
    Favourite Alex Olsen
    Apr 19th 2017, 8:28 AM

@Ronan McDermott: i think everyone knows why people got offended. No need to explain.

Mute Anon Ymous
    Favourite Anon Ymous
    Apr 19th 2017, 4:53 PM

@Ronan McDermott: It’s not so long ago that 29 people died in Omagh, yet you don’t see the Irish go ape-sh!t over the fact that, on Paddy’s Day, the Americans serve a drink called an Irish Car Bomb.

Mute Ronan McDermott
    Favourite Ronan McDermott
    Apr 19th 2017, 4:59 PM

They serve the car bomb every day , not just paddys day. Not only in the us but other countries too. Adidas advertised this in the us and specifically to the runners in this years marathon . Nobody serves csr bomb drinks in Ireland , only abroad

Mute Anon Ymous
    Favourite Anon Ymous
    Apr 19th 2017, 6:21 PM

@Ronan McDermott: Nobody serves Car Bomb drinks in Ireland, only abroad” I’m not sure why this makes it OK in your eyes? There are millions of Irish living in America.

I don’t like the fact that the yanks have named an alcoholic drink after some of the most awful atrocities in the history of the troubles, but I’ll get over it (despite losing a relative to an IRA bomb). In the grand scheme of things, it’s not a big deal. I think there’s a huge big deal being made out of nothing here.

Mute Big Red
    Favourite Big Red
    Apr 19th 2017, 8:40 AM

That’s the great thing about social media – it gives people a chance to be outraged about things that they aren’t outraged about in the hope that they can get a few ‘likes’. Sigh.

Mute Nick O Donnell
    Favourite Nick O Donnell
    Apr 19th 2017, 10:03 AM

@Big Red: I’m outraged by your comment

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Apr 19th 2017, 9:11 AM

Political correctness is getting out of hand. What are our kids going to be like if it keeps going?? I think I might invest in cotton wool stocks.

Mute Anne Marie Devlin
    Favourite Anne Marie Devlin
    Apr 19th 2017, 8:04 AM

Do you really think it was a ‘mistake’? More likely a cynical marketing ploy to get the company name in the headlines.

Mute Brian Murphy
    Favourite Brian Murphy
    Apr 19th 2017, 9:14 AM

I very much doubt that’s true.

Mute George Orwell
    Favourite George Orwell
    Apr 19th 2017, 8:03 AM

So Liberals have dropped all pretense, and have started flat out silencing any sort of reminder of Islamic terror.

Mute Soccer T's
    Favourite Soccer T's
    Apr 19th 2017, 8:34 AM

@George Orwell: You’re like a broken record. This “liberal” thinks that the apology was ridiculous and uncalled for. I would suggest that most “liberals” would agree that this is political correctness gone mad!!

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Apr 19th 2017, 11:18 AM

@Soccer T’s: the term liberal is ridiculous anyway, most so called liberals i know have various views on multiple topics, some liberal, some more conservative. The world is more nuanced than you seem to think Soccer Ts, its not as simple as liberals and conservatives. Grow up.

Mute Jimmyjoe Wallace
    Apr 19th 2017, 11:19 AM

@Soccer T’s: sorry that comment was for George Orwell

Mute David Dineen
    Favourite David Dineen
    Apr 19th 2017, 7:56 AM

We live in the age of accountability in our pockets,it doesn’t mean that companies cant hide wrong doing ,they just get better at it, everything is open to questioning and scrutiny by our phones,even dancing skills..

Mute Johnnie Sexton
    Favourite Johnnie Sexton
    Apr 19th 2017, 10:43 AM

What’s wrong with saying that? A marathon is a grueling event and well done to all participate and manage to finish. People need to cop on and stop being so sensitive about the way things are said. PC gone bonkers.

Mute Conor Power
    Favourite Conor Power
    Apr 19th 2017, 8:37 AM

0 chill

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Favourite Revolting Peasant
    Apr 19th 2017, 9:34 AM

This isn’t about oversensitive snowflakes being outraged about a non-pc missive. This is about a marketing department being thick, about people in positions that they are obviously too stupid to hold. And we can all think of examples of that. The only question is how did they get there?

Mute Ryan Comiskey
    Favourite Ryan Comiskey
    Apr 19th 2017, 9:15 AM

It was a mistake – cop the f*ck on.

Mute SuzukaYuiMoa
    Favourite SuzukaYuiMoa
    Apr 19th 2017, 11:45 AM

Whoever created that email is so fired.

Mute Louise MacMahon
    Favourite Louise MacMahon
    Apr 19th 2017, 8:17 PM

Resiliency? Illiteracy more like. Whatever happened to bog standard resilience?