You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Brendan and Jenny O'Carroll

Brendan O'Carroll makes sure 2,800 families will have Christmas dinner

The cast and crew of Mrs Brown’s Boys have made a “very substantial” donation to the Society of St Vincent de Paul.

BRENDAN O’CARROLL AND his wife Jenny have made a donation to the Society of St Vincent de Paul (SVP) on behalf of the cast and crew of Mrs Brown’s Boys.

As a result, vouchers for a Christmas dinner are once again being distributed in the SVP East Region to families supported by the society.

This means that over 2,800 families in Dublin, Kildare and Wicklow will have a turkey and ham on Christmas Day.

SVP described the donation, now an annual tradition, as “very substantial”.

Liam Casey, president of the SVP East Region, said the generosity of O’Carroll and others involved with Mrs Brown’s Boys means that many families who might have missed out on the traditional Christmas meal will not be disappointed.

We have seen an increase in requests for food this year and these vouchers will make a huge difference to many families. The vouchers, signed Brendan, Jenny and all the Brown and O’Carroll families also make the vouchers themselves special.

SVP said calls for support in the East Region are continuing to be received at record levels – they will have dealt with over 65,000 calls before the end of the year.

“The Irish public have been extremely generous to the SVP in the past through their financial donations and we are dependent on them to continue their support into the future.” Casey added.

PHOTOS: Famous faces bring Christmas cheer to Crumlin

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

27 Comments
    Mute scoop delivery
    Favourite scoop delivery
    Dec 22nd 2016, 1:28 PM

Brendan does this every year, Say what you like about the style of comedy and how it grates on some people. The man looks after the needy. Fantastic Brendan

Mute Sean Higgins
    Favourite Sean Higgins
    Dec 22nd 2016, 1:31 PM

Not a fan of Mrs Browns Boys but fair play to Brendan……..

Mute John Power
    Favourite John Power
    Dec 22nd 2016, 1:38 PM

Brendan O’Carroll was always genuine. While working in the catering industry he always recognised service with a decent tip for hotel staff. Decent bloke.

Mute Dingleberrycity
    Favourite Dingleberrycity
    Dec 22nd 2016, 1:39 PM

Brendan never forgot his roots..
    A great man.

Mute James O'leary
    Favourite James O'leary
    Dec 22nd 2016, 1:37 PM

Class act.great gesture

Mute Gerry Ivie
    Favourite Gerry Ivie

An unsung hero. Well done Brendan!

Mute Jed I. Knight
    Favourite Jed I. Knight
    Dec 22nd 2016, 2:03 PM

I realise some people don’t like the Mrs Brown Character, personally I do, but how many other celebrities can you say this about with such regularity. Fair play.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Dec 22nd 2016, 2:04 PM

I’d say there’s plenty that do something but don’t court any publicity.

Mute Darrell Doyle
    Favourite Darrell Doyle
    Dec 22nd 2016, 2:10 PM

In fairness I think SVP probably publicised it. Smart to do so, as there is nothing like a celebrity headline to get your charity noticed

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Dec 22nd 2016, 2:14 PM

It’s not a criticism if Brendan publicised it or that he allowed SVP to do so. It’s just that many prefer to keep things private.

Mute William Clay
    Favourite William Clay
    Dec 22nd 2016, 1:34 PM

It’s great to see people do this kind of thing and Brennan does this every year, fair play to him. But what are the government doing? Burying their heads in the sand (read free Dail bar) and hoping it goes away? FF/FG truly are the enemy of the people.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc

Yes I suppose you’re right at least Joan Burton opened up a food bank William.

Mute Reg
    Favourite Reg
    Dec 22nd 2016, 1:44 PM

The government (our taxes) has donated significantly to St Vincent de Paul and other charities at Christmas time over the years. €770,000 is 2013.

Dec 22nd 2016, 2:06 PM

Yes Paul, that was funny. One day she was telling people to stop whinging any be happy with their imaginary recovery, and the next day, she was opening a food Bank. I miss joan! Classic comedy. Whose gonna fall out of boats now! Kenny won’t even stick his head outside the front door in case he gets asked something he can’t answer, which is a lot.

Dec 22nd 2016, 2:01 PM

Fantastic donation fantastic man.

Mute Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Favourite Lazlo Saint Pierre
    Dec 22nd 2016, 2:06 PM

Love Mrs Brown!, love Brendan O’Carroll more, what a great guy, and well done to the crew too.

Mute David Conroy
    Favourite David Conroy
    Dec 22nd 2016, 2:22 PM

Not a fan but no doubt a decent man !

Mute dannyboy
    Favourite dannyboy
    Dec 22nd 2016, 2:09 PM

Great stuff from Brendan and the team and very generous,…never forget you’re own..

Mute jill coogan
    Favourite jill coogan
    Dec 22nd 2016, 2:33 PM

What a decent guy .A true gent . Feck the begrudgers!

Mute John Kenny
    Favourite John Kenny
    Dec 22nd 2016, 2:04 PM

Well done brendan

Mute Anon Ymous
    Favourite Anon Ymous
    Dec 22nd 2016, 3:12 PM

Fair play Brendan, and thank you.

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Dec 22nd 2016, 3:36 PM

who red thumbs these compliments?

Mute Mary Connolly
    Favourite Mary Connolly
    Dec 22nd 2016, 2:35 PM

Well done brendan and family

Mute Babs McMahon
    Favourite Babs McMahon
    Dec 22nd 2016, 7:39 PM

SVP rely on donations from the public. My local SVP toy collection was very low this year. In fact donations this year are down overall due to the likes of charity scandals such as Console. People are reluctant and you can’t blame them. Brendan is a member of the public who has shown again this year that he’s happy to donate to ensure people have a Christmas dinner. Reading about the SVP in Cork who literally had no funds for the hamper appeal this year was upsetting. If the likes of Brendan’s donation encourages other celebrities to donate then I’d put it on the sides of buses. He was bankrupt years ago so has been in the shoes of many of the families he’s helping. Good on him. Never forgets where he came from. Merry Christmas

Mute Patrick Gough
    Favourite Patrick Gough
    Dec 22nd 2016, 3:34 PM

Mrs browns boys is too high brow for me but a well done brendan

Mute Sean Lyons
    Favourite Sean Lyons
    Dec 22nd 2016, 5:32 PM

Well done Brendan and Jenny.

Mute ARIS
    Favourite ARIS
    Dec 22nd 2016, 6:42 PM

I think it is pathetic the way it is advertised every year. Do good and don’t tell anyone would be honourable. You know I saw someone who looked as though they didn’t have much themselves give to others as well. No headlines. Photos or ads