You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
THE UK AND EU have agreed a ‘flexible’ Brexit extension until 31 October after a marathon summit.
Here’s how the negotiations played out.
10 Apr 2019
3:37PM
Well, here we all are again.
“I sometimes have the feeling that I’m in the waiting room waiting for Godot, and Godot is never coming,” Luxembourg prime minister Xavier Bettel mused, last time we had an EU summit.
Believe it or not, that was less than three weeks ago.
We may still have to wait a while for a resolution to the Brexit crisis. But we’ll have some indication by tonight, at least, on quite how long we need we need to wait.
Theresa May is due to arrive at the summit at around 4pm (Irish time).
The summit starts at around 5.
After that, May and her advisors will head off and dine on their own while the other 27 leaders discuss their position over dinner.
We’re expecting an announcement and press conferences later in the evening (possibly late into the night).
All times given in this liveblog will be Irish time for sake of clarity.
PM Theresa May says she is pushing for a flexible #Brexit delay that would still allow the UK to leave the EU before May's European elections, as she arrives for an emergency summit with EU leaders in Brussels https://t.co/b5uq2MUBkWpic.twitter.com/6cq4qHv3MV
May said the UK wants to leave the EU as soon as possible.
She restated her position that she was seeking an extension until the end of June, but said the key point was that the UK must be able to leave when it has passed the withdrawal deal.
Meanwhile Leo Varadkar has been attending a pre-summit meeting of nations most at risk of disruption from Brexit.
Important day for #Brexit here in Brussels. Just leaving an informal meeting of European leaders from countries directly affected by Brexit. Now en route to @EPP meeting where we’ll be preparing for this evening’s special @EUCouncil summit pic.twitter.com/b5OXkZ8jca
Not lost on politicos in Brussels and at home the black hole is being revealed across town from where EU leaders are opening discussions about delaying Brexit https://t.co/JcX9jikf63
In a letter last night, Tusk set out a number of conditions that the UK would have to agree to, before the EU would grant an extension.
They include:
no re-opening of the Withdrawal Agreement;
no start of the negotiations on the future, except for the Political Declaration;
the UK would have to maintain its sincere cooperation also during this crucial period, in a manner that reflects its situation as a departing member state. We should remember, however, that the United Kingdom will remain a member state with full rights and obligations. And, in any event, the UK can revoke Article 50 at any time, as stated by the European Court of Justice.
If the EU 27 agree to an extension, there will be further talks between Labour and Theresa May about how to get the Withdrawal Agreement through parliament, and Brexit done.
If there is no agreement between the UK and the EU, then we’re looking at a no-deal Brexit on Friday or a revocation of Article 50.
In a piece just posted on the Sky News website, that channel’s political correspondent Tamara Cohen observes that the EU is now firmly in the driving seat when it comes to the Brexit timetable.
If May manages to come away from Brussels with just a short extension, Cohen notes, the momentum could stay with the Downing St-Labour talks.
“If they fail, she has said there would be a process in Parliament for MPs to hold binding votes on different Brexit options, including possibly her deal for a fourth time.
“There is no guarantee, as we saw with indicative votes last month, that these would yield a majority for anything.”
Cohen continues:
“The exit doors are closing, and the EU is now in full control of the timetable.
“Mrs May promised to leave office if Brexit was delivered. If there is a long extension, and divisions sharpened by European elections, many Tories say she won’t get that far.”
You can read the full piece below.
She wanted to deliver Brexit before leaving office, but as talks with Labour stall, a long extension could be May’s last act https://t.co/fGC1Zr2Gyj
Ireland's Leo Varadkar says the length of any #Brexit delay agreed by EU leaders will depend on the plan put forward by UK PM Theresa May - adding he has "an open mind"
Varadkar said he was very confident an extension would be agreed but noted that the length of the extension and the conditions attached were still up for discussion.
He said he had an open mind over the length but that the key thing leaders would want to know from Theresa May is “what the plan is”.
He said May would speak first at the summit, making a presentation and taking questions from the other 27 leaders.
The French President, asked about the extension, told reporters “nothing should be taken for granted”.
He said nothing was certain about the decision and that the EU needed to know why an extension was being sought.
Macron ramps up pressure on the UK: "We have a European renaissance to run and I don’t want Brexit to come and block us on this. The time for decision is now… it’s with lots of impatience that I am going to listen to Theresa May. Nothing is decided" #eucopic.twitter.com/8qGNzGB5xg
Merkel said she would listen to Theresa May’s pitch to EU leaders openly and constructively, and that it was ”very important” that any extension would involve the UK preparing to hold EU elections.
This picture from chief political photographer of the Press Association Stefan Rousseau sums up the whole situation pretty well…
Stefan Rousseau
10 Apr 2019
5:46PM
The summit is now under way.
10 Apr 2019
5:47PM
AFP has filed full details of those Macron comments, from his arrival:
French President Emmanuel Macron warned Wednesday as he arrived at Brexit crisis talks in Brussels that EU leaders have yet to agree on how long to delay Britain’s departure.
“For me, nothing is decided, nothing, and in particular, since I hear rumours, not a long extension,” he said, as leaders met to consider Prime Minister Theresa May’s request for a postponement.
May has asked for Brexit to be delayed from Friday to June 30, to allow her more time to ratify Britain’s orderly divorce, and other EU leaders arriving in Brussels suggested she could have even longer.
But Macron has been keen to project a tougher stance, insisting May must provide more guarantees that the delay would serve a purpose and that London’s crisis will not disrupt EU business.
“For me, nothing is given,” he said. “We need to understand why this demand is being made, what is the political plan behind it and what proposals are clear. For my part, I’ll hold to that.
“I’m looking forward very much to hearing Theresa May,” he said. “The time for decisions is now.”
EU leaders and PM have started the talks about the delay to Brexit - might not have any answers until very, very late tonight - catch up with how it's looking on #bbcnewssix and a live #brexitcast on 5 live at 6.30
Merkel, May and Tusk have been sharing actual LOLs ahead of the summit meeting.
The German Chancellor showed the other leaders something on her iPad as they gathered, with apparent hilarity ensuing.
Here's the pic of Merkel and May having what I can only describe as a proper lol at something on the German Chancellor's iPad... pic.twitter.com/fyvPc9vMIJ
Here’s the early word on how it went from the Europe Editor at BuzzFeed News:
EUCO: I’m told PM May’s intervention is so far more solid than usual, though not many specifics. Sense is that May is open to a longer extension, as long as it can be terminated early, source says. Leaders have many questions.
Not strictly Brexit-related, but the always entertaining Michael Crick has announced he’s leaving Channel 4 News.
I have left Channel 4 News and ITN after seven and a half great years. Farewell to all my fabulous colleagues. I’m looking forward to an exciting new life writing books again, and all sorts of other activity in journalism and other fields.
Back in 2012 he offered this encouragement to a bemused Enda Kenny as the then-Taoiseach carried out a less-than-enthusiastic canvass of voters at Pearse St.
Shouldn’t you be diving in there and saying hello. Bertie Ahern would have been right in there. You’re missing all these opportunities to persuade them.
IPAD NEWS! the gag was apparently a side by side pic of May and Merkel taking questions in their own parliaments this afternoon, wearing the same colour of jacket..... #brexitbantz, kind of
FOOD NEWS: EU27 emergency #Brexit summit dinner menu (leaders eating now as they talk) Starter - warm scallop salad Main - loin of cod with brown shrimps & mini mushroom arancini Desert - iced macadamia nut parfait
Meeting due to continue long after food cleared away...
Some reports around now on what’s being discussed between the remaining 27 leaders.
The Guardian’s Daniel Boffey says Merkel and Macron are at odds over the length of the proposed extension – with the German leader advocating one until the end of the year and the French president seeking a much, much shorter one till just before the EU elections.
Fleming says a paragraph of the draft agreement has been changed to specify the UK’s role in the European decision-making process and that lines have been added stipulating that other EU countries can meet without the UK present when Brexit-related issues are being discussed.
EU27 leaders considering updated draft conclusions on #Brexit extension. Beefed up para 7 to stress UK’s good behaviour in decision-making. Much longer para 8 stressing that the EU can meet at 27 at all levels. Date is still XX.XX.XXXX.
May’s pitch to the EU 27 went better than last time around, according to Dave Clark of AFP.
Whoops!
We couldn't find this Tweet
Meanwhile, more here on what’s being added to the draft by EU leaders.
Draft conclusions now state that the EU demands that the UK will refrain from undermining the bloc from within through participating in the decision-making process.
It's really something that the UK is so distrusted now that this would need to be inserted. #EUCO
Here’s what the main players were saying this afternoon.
What do EU leaders think about PM May’s request for a #Brexit extension? Watch what they say before their special meeting today in Brussels. #EUCOpic.twitter.com/8PA5rrUm3m
NEW: As expected, Macron making waves in the room. Current Brexit documents don’t include serious guarantees to avoid a long extension AND No Deal is not the worse option. EU runs higher risk of an obstructive UK still being in the tent
More on that from Jennifer Rankin of The Guardian:
Emmanuel Macron is taking the strictest line at the summit, as expected. Senior French source says that endangering the functioning of the EU "is not preferable to no-deal".
Many EU leaders asked Theresa May about the EU elections, according to a senior source. France is proving hardest to convince that Theresa May is serious about UK participation in elections if long extension.
Several senior politicians, including Leo Varadkar and Theresa May, have noted today is the 21st anniversary of the Good Friday Agreement.
If you’re on the hunt for some bedtime reading, here’s our explainer from last year on the agreement (what’s in it, how it came about), and here’s an interesting piece on lower level, long running talks between community leaders that took place at Glencree in Co Wicklow as part of the peace process.
I imagine this would be well worth a listen too:
The Good Friday Agreement is 21 today. Way way way back in the day @EnglishRachael and I made a radio documentary about Mo Mowlam's role in it. Today seems like a good day to share it again.
From James Rothwell of the Telegraph, on that apparent Macron v everyone else dynamic.
EU source says there seems to be concerted effort in the room by France to push other 26 leaders into backing short extension because it wants Brexit over and done with as soon as possible
Sources say all member states have backed an extension of some duration. Understand France leaning towards June extension. But whispers also that Macron thinks leaving with no deal is less risky than UK disrupting EU from within
Macron is yet to speak at the EU 27 meeting and may choose to go last, according to Deborah Haynes of Sky News.
Nervousness at #EUCO that France's @EmmanuelMacron could make things tricky at closed-door #Brexit meeting of EU27 given opposition to long extension "It could all go belly up as soon as the French president speaks" a source says. He may choose to be last of 27 leaders to speak
Our political correspondent Christina Finn reports:
“At tonight’s Fine Gael parliamentary party meeting, Tánaiste Simon Coveney said solidarity among the European Union countries on Brexit was stronger than it has ever been.
“Coveney said he expects an extension will be granted to the UK this week. He told party colleagues that all needed to remain patient.”
BBC News correspondent Chris Morris is reporting that Macron has asked for a paragraph to be added to the draft which would commit the UK to ”uphold the rules and behave” if they remain on temporarily.
Morris notes that language may change before anything is made official.
Macron was the main voice calling for a shorter extension, according to Morris, while the Austrian chancellor also backed a short extension.
And from the BBC’s Katya Adler:
While 17 EU leaders in favour of longer #Brexit extension, France is refusing to countenance anything beyond 30 June at the moment. At least 4 other countries in favour of extension cut-off to be the autumn NB EU leaders need to reach unanimity by law
On the 20th March, at PMQs, I asked the PM about an extension to Article 50. She said “As Prime Minister, I could not consider a delay further beyond the 30th June.” So, if the PM intends to keep her word, can we expect her resignation later tonight?
Ain’t no sign of that unanimity, according to the BBC’s Europe editor.
Gonna be a loooooong night at this #Brexit summit. Unanimity is needed amongst EU leaders on how long to grant new extension for and which conditions to attach. 23.30 local time and unanimity ain’t nowhere in sight
This via @haynesdeborah: talks resumed. Majority happy for long ext. Four want short ext but can live with long one but France making play that it can’t & digging in https://t.co/RsSf76KJEx
PM is back from the ambassador's residence, sounds like meeting pretty much wrapped up, which means Tusk may be about to break the news to May, with press conferences to follow shortly after - let's see if it's really done or not
From the Prime Minister of Malta, confirming the Halloween date:
A #Brexit extension until 31 October is sensible since it gives time to UK to finally choose its way. The review in June will allow #EUCO to take stock of the situation -JM
Tory backbenchers are already rattling their sabres.
From Christopher Hope of the Telegraph:
Members of the 1922 tell me PM will be gone by late May.
One says: “If we are in the European elections the calls on her to resign will be massive. Even her supporters would say she is a dead duck. Then we will be into a position of runners and riders and a new leader by July.”
There is a scheduled EU Council Summit on 20 and 21 June. Presumably this will be the June review (only one other EU Summit - in May - between today and June review). https://t.co/naJCPy36Q0
A good summary of the night so far just posted by AFP (below). That 31 October date is yet to be made official and as always the usual warning applies: nothing is agreed until everything is agreed.
European leaders offered Britain a six-month delay to its Brexit departure Thursday, apparently saving the continent from a chaotic no-deal departure at the end of the week.
If May accepts the extension and London remains in the EU after May 22, British voters will have to take part in European parliamentary elections.
France’s President Emmanuel Macron was the strongest voice opposing a long extension, but most leaders backed it and the French had to settle for a promise that the delay will be reviewed at an EU summit on June 21.
“EU27 has agreed an extension of Art. 50. I will now meet PM @theresa_may for the UK government’s agreement,” summit host and EU Council president Donald Tusk tweeted as May returned to the summit to give her verdict on the plan.
Most of the 27 European leaders gathered in Brussels, including German Chancellor Angela Merkel, had backed a plan for Brexit to be postponed for up to a year.
But as the talks went late into the night, Macron — with backing from Belgium, Austria and some smaller EU states — held out for a short delay of only a few weeks and demanded solid guarantees that London would not interfere in EU business during that time.
May has already said that if Britain is still an EU member when the European parliamentary election begins on May 23, UK voters will take part. But some EU leaders are unconvinced that she is sincere, despite one official telling reporters her presentation had been “solid”.
Without a postponement, Britain would be due to end its 46-year membership of the European Union at midnight (2200 GMT) on Friday with no deal, risking economic chaos on both sides of the Channel.
May agreed a divorce deal with the EU last November but MPs in London have rejected it three times, forcing her to turn to the main opposition Labour party in a bid to find a way through.
In the UK, council elections are taking place on 2 May.
Sky’s Beth Rigby reckons the pressure will build on the prime minister to quit after that date.
* Extension offered until Oct 31. Review in June. Suggest that she might not have that automatic exit mechanism if secures deal * Which means...UK will take party in EU elections. * Watch pressure build for PM to quit after May locals to get new leader in by Oct party conference
And we’re done. (1) Flextension to Oct 31st (2) We’ll take stock of situation at our regular summit in June (3) UK to take part in @Europarl_EN election or must leave on June 1st without a deal.
Read our full report on developments so far, here.
11 Apr 2019
1:19AM
Tusk and Juncker have been speaking to the media.
The European Council President said the Brexit process was now in the UK’s hands, and that a range of options remained available to it.
The UK will remain a full member of the EU with all the rights that that entails.
Tusk says the extension is as flexible as he expected if a little shorter than he expected.
He ends his initial address by speaking directly to the UK, appealing that its politicians don’t waste the time they’ve been granted.
11 Apr 2019
1:21AM
Juncker says EU meetings may take place without UK representatives present to discuss Brexit related matters.
In response to any accusations that leaders are setting up a system whereby some members are being treated differently, he says there’s a precedent for this – a separate group of nations was set up when negotiations to establish the Euro were taking place.
11 Apr 2019
1:22AM
On the fact that EU elections must take place in the UK he admits it’s “a bit odd” but offers: “rules are rules”.
Juncker prompts laughs by suggesting be may have to leave halfway through any emergency Halloween Brexit summit. 'I have to leave my job on Nov 1 this year so my guess would be that we will have not a night session because if we have I’d have to leave the meeting at midnight.'
30 June review of extension is for Tusk to inform EU leaders about #Brexit outlook - not discuss with them. Juncker says it’s to take stock. Not a cliff edge
Tusk asked about the decision making process tonight: We are united enough to have a common conclusion. It doesn’t mean all member states had the same position but we were able to reach a compromise.
He jokes (in a tone bordering on ‘mirthless’) that it’s easier to agree on things in Brussels than it is in Westminster.
PM opens as always likely, talking up chances of still being able to leave EU well before the new deadline, maybe even in May - hard to find many people who really believe that is realistic
She again points out that the withdrawal agreement has been resoundingly rejected three times and insists she will redouble her efforts to get it ratified.
She insisted her “key request” had been granted – that the extension could be terminated if the Withdrawal Agreement passed.
Approaching 3am in Brussels (I’m in Dublin, but still) we’ll end our liveblog there.
This piece will be updated shortly with all the detail from the press conferences.
Goodnight and … happy Halloween?
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
To embed this post, copy the code below on your site
38 Comments
This is YOUR comments community. Stay civil, stay constructive, stay on topic.
Please familiarise yourself with our comments policy
here
before taking part.
Ray D’arcy is full of his own self importance. I thought we were rid of him when Enda Kenny was elected Taoiseach. That was the only reason I voted for Fine Gael. Ray, like the good politician he is, was just talking rubbish and looking for attention.
I’m liking Sean Moncrief more and more these days. It’s most still against my will. Perhaps it’s Stockholm syndrome having being captive in the car listening to him so much. Anyway in general I much rather radio. It allows me to do other things whilst being entertained or informed.
there a shower of overpaid morons in RTE how they can justify their wages is crazy that’s why the licence is so high ,you know if they shut down the station most of us would be €160 a year better off and we still would not be at a loss for entertainment
I ONLY listen to Radio Nova – although NOT a National Radio Station – at least I get decent music without the CRAP the Biggie Boyos dish out to an unsuspecting National populace. AND I don’t have to listen to inane DJs pretending to understand politics or some pseudo-nationalistic beliefs …
Way to ignore all the regional and local radio stations – in many areas, they easily have 40-66% of the Audience share in the places they broadcast to. But yet none of them merit any praise?
Why don’t they contact me when they do theses so called survey s and I will b able to tel them why I don’t listen to RTE radio I prefer independent radio from round d country coz it gives me local stories in Dublin especially radio Kerry from 9am each morning
Marty Whelan is pure genius. So happy he’s on Lyric in the morning. There is no competitor to him to my mind. Lyric overall is a great station, John Kelly Ensemble, Jazz, Movies and Musicals, Niall Carroll etc., etc. a great mix. I predict Lyric’s star will continue to rise into the future. Its a bit undiscovered maybe. Marty is introducing people more and more to it.
Teenage boy charged with assault after 15-year-old girl hit in the head with a brick in Belfast
36 mins ago
Seanad
Senators propose Israeli arms embargo to block gun exports and transit through Ireland
56 mins ago
RIP
'An uber-creative firecracker': Tributes as film star Val Kilmer dies aged 65
6 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 161 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage .Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 110 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 143 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 113 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 83 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 39 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 35 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 134 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 61 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 74 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 83 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 37 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 46 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 27 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 92 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 99 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 72 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 53 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 88 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 69 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say