You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

RollingNews.ie

Poll: What do you think will happen on Brexit day?

Things haven’t really gone to plan for the Brits.

IT MIGHT BE the greatest understatement of the 21st century -  but Brexit is just a mess. 

Deal or no deal. Hard border or soft border. “Taking back control” – blue passports – immigration control. The rise of the British far-right – the House of Commons rows, the votes – the speeches – the statements and the seemingly never-ending cluster of chaos. 

But on March 29 (61 days from now) – the British are supposed to be gone. But will they really go?

So this morning we want to know: What do you think will happen on Brexit day?

Poll Results:

Delayed Brexit (7079)
No deal Brexit (3989)
Brexit with a deal (1514)
I don't care (1032)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

81 Comments
    Mute BaaB
    Favourite BaaB
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:31 AM

Ireland launches a surprise invasion of Britain.
    Totally unexpected ,nobody seen it coming.
    Britain from that day on will be known as east Ireland.

Mute Damo.f
    Favourite Damo.f
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:39 AM

@BaaB: If our one plane got shot down. We’d have to abandon the takeover.

Mute BaaB
    Favourite BaaB
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:49 AM

@Damo.f:
    Willie O Dea would be leading the invasion in our only Tank singing
    “yippee ki yay”
    Queen Mother.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Damo.f
    Favourite Damo.f
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:51 AM

@BaaB: Ya. Maybe send him in first actually. Test the waters.

Mute Colonel Grant
    Favourite Colonel Grant
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:56 AM

@BaaB: We have No Tanks.

Mute Ali Ní Dhomhnaill
    Favourite Ali Ní Dhomhnaill
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:59 AM

@BaaB: send jedward as the distraction and hit from the back. Dustin with an RPG and boom, we win

Mute rory conway
    Favourite rory conway
    Jan 26th 2019, 10:29 AM

The

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Jan 26th 2019, 11:15 AM

@Damo.f: Hope Leo is the pilot, Coveney the co pilot… That would leave the deputy leader of the blueshirts Michael Martin in charge. He loves Westminster so much he will demand that his old party F.F. be given seats in Westminster.

Mute alan
    Favourite alan
    Jan 26th 2019, 11:16 AM

@BaaB: Create a propaganda network in the UK, attempt to remove the family as the center of society, divide men from woman by telling woman they are victims, encourage mass immigration until tribalism takes hold, remove the peoples power slowly by encouraging a hatred of Nations and so their peoples assembly, send in the Corporations to take over, Chem-trails, France.

Mute Jumperoo
    Favourite Jumperoo
    Jan 26th 2019, 11:18 AM

@BaaB: and we’d re-name their capital. We could call it Derrylondon.

Mute Stephen Curry
    Favourite Stephen Curry
    Jan 26th 2019, 11:24 AM

@BaaB: I heard Willie O Dea’s mustache can paralyse a man from 200 meters! They won’t know what hit them

Mute David Malone
    Favourite David Malone
    Jan 26th 2019, 11:27 AM

@Jumperoo: this comment is pure gold

Mute Tom Kelly
    Favourite Tom Kelly
    Jan 26th 2019, 11:28 AM

@BaaB: and hand it back the next day..

Mute BaaB
    Favourite BaaB
    Jan 26th 2019, 11:31 AM

@alan:
    AKA
    FCUK,
    French
    Connect
    United
    Kingdom

Mute Robert Moore
    Favourite Robert Moore
    Jan 26th 2019, 12:02 PM

@Colonel Grant: we could sneakily borrow a few of the big white ones from the UN. We’ll just let on that it’s for a training weekend in the Curragh. :-)

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Jan 26th 2019, 12:35 PM

@Jumperoo: you win!

Mute David Jordan
    Favourite David Jordan
    Jan 27th 2019, 12:37 AM

@BaaB: 74 county Ireland! https://i.redd.it/i9qaom6holb11.jpg

Mute Tuskar Rock
    Favourite Tuskar Rock
    Jan 29th 2019, 3:09 PM

@Colonel Grant: And we will get no tanks eider.

Mute Willy Mc Caul
    Favourite Willy Mc Caul
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:28 AM

Brexit with us under the bus .. EU has form ..

Mute Karen Wellington
    Favourite Karen Wellington
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:32 AM

@Willy Mc Caul: it’s unprecedented situation, how could the EU have form?

Mute Willy Mc Caul
    Favourite Willy Mc Caul
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:35 AM

@Karen Wellington: Maybe bank debt is an indication of form..

Mute Aisling
    Favourite Aisling
    Jan 26th 2019, 10:55 AM

@Willy Mc Caul: what? We caused that debt! They, thankfully, bailed us out. It was our own countries fault we were in that position.

Mute Mick.
    Favourite Mick.
    Jan 26th 2019, 11:01 AM

@Jayo Breathneach: Why is it you anti EU crowd love flogging a dead horse. It wasn’t the EU that made, what was private banking debts, Sovereign Government debt, our own Government did that.
    And at the time the EU told the Irish Government that what they had done was crazy. That if the Irish Government had asked the EU for advise before doing anything they would been advised to just guarantee the 2 main high street banks and let the rest fail or not as the case may be. But because the Irish Government had “Fully” guaranteed “every” banks debt they were then obliged to cover “All” debts owed (including non secured bond holders). So blaming the EU for something they did not cause is flogging a dead horse.

Mute Karen Wellington
    Jan 26th 2019, 12:32 PM

@Willy Mc Caul: we borrowed beyond our means, caused the collapse, offered the bank an incredibly shit deal (shit for us, they did great out of it). What was the EU supposed to do; override our sovereignty and tell us we couldn’t offer that deal? The Irish government screwed you over, and probably will again.
    There are a million legitimate criticisms of the EU but that isn’t one of them.

Mute GorillaGrower
    Favourite GorillaGrower
    Jan 26th 2019, 1:00 PM

@Karen Wellington: I think you’ll find about 100 people, owned 90% of that debt !! Do your bloody research instead of saying everyone partied

Mute Karen Wellington
    Jan 26th 2019, 1:18 PM

@GorillaGrower: jeez relax, it’s just the collective we (a well known feature of common parlance) not an accusation.

Mute Juan Fangio
    Favourite Juan Fangio
    Jan 26th 2019, 1:18 PM

@GorillaGrower: I think you’ll find the 100 people who partied and borrowed beyond their means in your own parish.

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    Jan 26th 2019, 2:03 PM

@Juan Fangio: not to the level of the FF cronies/developers. Hundreds of millions borrowed to a few people.A few hundred people should have gotten life sentences for what happened ,this would have acted as a deterrent to the same thing happening again. PCP ticking clock.

Mute Daniel Dunne
    Favourite Daniel Dunne
    Jan 26th 2019, 8:16 PM
    Mute gureth
    Favourite gureth
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:25 AM

Procrastination until it doesn’t happen

Mute Peter
    Favourite Peter
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:55 AM

@gureth: I think that, too

Mute The Irish Tory
    Favourite The Irish Tory
    Jan 26th 2019, 5:25 PM

@gureth: you can never leave the club

Mute Richard Cronin
    Favourite Richard Cronin
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:29 AM

Journal.ie will have to find something else to write 5 articles a day about

Mute Karen Wellington
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:33 AM

@Richard Cronin: the hard border will tide them over for a bit.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Jan 26th 2019, 12:36 PM

@Richard Cronin: trumps still there

Mute Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig
    Favourite Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:30 AM

The currency boys are usually right, sterling against the Euro has strengthened from 1.10 to 1.16 in the past week, albeit from a weak base. They are leaning towards a deal.

Mute John Horan
    Favourite John Horan
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:50 AM

@Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig: or no Brexit at all

Mute Robert Deane
    Favourite Robert Deane
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:38 AM

They have no option but to leave, it would be embrassing if they go back to the people again. What happens then if they get a vote to leave again. Just get on with it and leave, they will be fine it is us i would be worried about. The north has had a hard border before and can again it is not the end of the world.

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Jan 26th 2019, 12:45 PM

@Robert Deane: fine you say? Have you got Alzheimer’s or something? You’re memory seems to be deficient
    If they set up borders they will need a security force to protect it. This gives a target to dissidents. Things will get blown up and people will be killed.

Mute Michael Lynch
    Favourite Michael Lynch
    Jan 26th 2019, 2:30 PM

@Robert Deane: The Slab will be walking his cattle up and down his yard again. Collecting double subsidies.

Mute dick dastardly
    Favourite dick dastardly
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:31 AM

The Brits are getting desperate they have decided to play a game of chicken with the EU to see who’s going to swerve first.when it comes to the crunch they will delay brexit and probably another referendum be called

Mute Jamie
    Favourite Jamie
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:26 AM

Oh look this poll again

Mute Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig
    Favourite Deaglan Macgiollaphadraig
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:34 AM

How about a United Ireland and Scotland with capital in Belfast.
    Spoke with some Unionist friends up north who would be on for it. Might take a while to organise, but not as long as this Brexit carry-on!!!!

Mute wattsed56
    Favourite wattsed56
    Jan 26th 2019, 10:57 AM

There’ll be a compromise, Leo will be given a knighthood (the one that’ll get stripped off Bob Geldof), he’ll then run for UKIP, Teresa May will be given the freedom of Dublin and Michael O’Leary will head FF and be nominated as Taoiseach. Mary Lou will emigrate to Venezuela and open an Irish pub in Caracas.

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:30 AM

Brexausted, but it will be catastrophic to see the violence returning to Ireland due to a minor group of clowns, what will be will be.

Mute Peter donnelly
    Favourite Peter donnelly
    Jan 27th 2019, 12:34 PM

@Trevor Hayden: what violence? the only one talking about violence is our own stupid govt with varuca trying to make a name for himself with his stupid comments the other day….

Mute Trevor Hayden
    Favourite Trevor Hayden
    Jan 27th 2019, 1:02 PM

@Peter donnelly: The violence we remember during the 70s and 80s, if British troops start manning the border or if there is any structure erected we’ll be back to the violence of then.

Jan 26th 2019, 10:46 AM

I think initially, there will be total confusion everywhere. The UK will sort themselves out fairly rapidly. The rest of the EU will sort out their UK borders, and because we have no political leadership in Ireland, we will stumble into a default arrangement. And then when things have settled down, our clueless political idiots will be going around telling everybody they’re great lads altogether for sorting out brexit while everthing Irish and everybody Irish gets checked at EU borders.

Mute Sarah
    Favourite Sarah

@Adrian: This is eerie…are you clairvoyant?

Mute Dave Harris
    Favourite Dave Harris
    Jan 26th 2019, 12:50 PM

@Adrian: the Uk has not managed to sort out even the basic problems of Brexit in 2 years so there goes your argument right there.

Jan 26th 2019, 1:07 PM

@Dave Harris: the UK problem is in agreing a deal with the EU. When and if a no deal brexit happens, they will know what to do. Meanwhile with our incompetent idiots, it will be a nightmare and they’ll just start blaming brexit for everything.

Jan 26th 2019, 1:29 PM

And we’ll then see our incompetent gombeen career politicians, how far will their county council level experience will get them, i suspect not very far because their record on managing anything so far, on their own, is horrendous.

Mute dowthebow
    Favourite dowthebow
    Jan 26th 2019, 7:40 PM

@Adrian: why don’t they know what to do now?? Sounds like fairy land to me…

Mute Myles Fleming
    Favourite Myles Fleming
    Jan 26th 2019, 10:15 AM

It’s the year after that will reveal all. I’d say both Irish and English governments will be out due to a total lack of belief in their ability to govern. Then it will be head scratching with another year of uncertainty eventually leading to a new government. Lots of chaos in the wind. Can’t believe some people are advocating a united Ireland in all of this.

Mute Diogenes
    Favourite Diogenes
    Jan 26th 2019, 10:15 AM

Real wrath-of-God-type stuff. Fire and brimstone coming from the sky! Rivers and seas boiling!
    Forty years of darkness! Earthquakes! Volcanoes!
    The dead rising from the grave!
    Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together, mass hysteria!

Mute Myles Fleming
    Favourite Myles Fleming
    Jan 26th 2019, 10:31 AM

@Diogenes: no more mass hysteria after mass hypnosis . Long live the F.A.NG.S.!!!

Mute Paudie Ireland
    Favourite Paudie Ireland
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:36 AM

The reunification of the Pale to mainland Britain

Mute Eddie Mc Keown
    Favourite Eddie Mc Keown
    Jan 26th 2019, 10:39 AM

Ireland will be left to the wolf’s and suffer as a result of Europe .
    We’re being used as a pawn.

Mute deise
    Favourite deise
    Jan 26th 2019, 11:22 AM

@Eddie Mc Keown: we are the eu

Mute GorillaGrower
    Favourite GorillaGrower
    Jan 26th 2019, 12:25 PM

@deise: I’m not the EU ..i’m not European… I’m Irish… The big plans for the eu were formed in Germany cira1940. I’ll try posting a link to the document.

Mute Kath Noonan
    Favourite Kath Noonan
    Jan 26th 2019, 11:03 AM

No matter what happen with Brexit u can be sure somehow the Irish will be screwed out of money.

Mute deise
    Favourite deise
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:49 AM

What ever happens, I hope we (the eu) tale them out to dry!

Jan 26th 2019, 10:23 AM

Leo will decide we need troops on the border. It’ll cost a couple billion euro, and shortly after everybody’ll start wondering where’s all the money going as nobody will see any of it.

Mute Sarah
    Favourite Sarah
    Jan 26th 2019, 11:14 AM

The fifth seal with be broken tearing the earth asunder and from the great gaping chasm will spring forth lovecraftian beings of unimaginable horror…

Mute Liam Neeson
    Favourite Liam Neeson
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:55 AM

British troops to arrive in Ireland on the 10th February worrying times ahead.

Mute emer caffrey
    Favourite emer caffrey
    Jan 26th 2019, 9:50 AM

Where’s the ‘another referendum ‘ option?

Mute Jonathan Baum
    Favourite Jonathan Baum
    Jan 26th 2019, 1:31 PM

Things haven’t gone to plan because they haven’t got a plan.

Mute tommytukamomo
    Favourite tommytukamomo
    Jan 26th 2019, 10:02 AM

All the explosives from decommissioning will go off along the border and Northern Ireland will be towed over and welded to the UK.

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    Jan 26th 2019, 2:07 PM

@tommytukamomo: There will be very few bombs in the North. 25 years to plan an attack, where would you blown up first?

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    Jan 26th 2019, 2:15 PM

@Cathal: Sorry, ” blow up”

Mute Pip
    Favourite Pip
    Jan 26th 2019, 11:44 AM

Nothing will happen, just like y2k, a big fizzle out

Mute Cathal
    Favourite Cathal
    Jan 26th 2019, 2:13 PM

@Pip: Wee difference, Y2K was a marketing ploy, people updated equipment for little reason. Brexit is basically the rebuilding of the Berlin Wall off the coast of Mainland Europe. Most Europeans don’t know the difference between us and the UK and will happily carry on without us.

Mute Ashling Visser Bishop
    Favourite Ashling Visser Bishop
    Jan 26th 2019, 11:53 AM

It will be my daughter’s 16th Birthday!

Mute Seriously stunned
    Favourite Seriously stunned
    Jan 26th 2019, 10:34 AM

I think the media will have blown it up to such a proportion that we’ll all be wrecked and won’t give a toss.

Mute Garreth Byrne
    Favourite Garreth Byrne
    Jan 26th 2019, 2:56 PM

On Brexit Day it could be raining cats and dogs, but in Dublin there’ll be a mad rush for imported British biscuits and aspirin tablets.

Mute anthony o cathain
    Favourite anthony o cathain
    Jan 26th 2019, 3:15 PM

Britain’s difficulty, Ireland’s opportunity. Invade, asset strip and flog to Qatar.

Mute Jonny
    Favourite Jonny

What does npsp mean

Mute Karen Wellington
    Jan 26th 2019, 12:26 PM

@Jonny: do you mean nbsp? If so; non-breaking space, it’s used in programming to create a space in a line that can’t be broken by word wrap

Mute James Gorman #FBPE
    Favourite James Gorman #FBPE
    Jan 27th 2019, 3:42 AM

What about people’s vote?

Mute dave mc nevin
    Favourite dave mc nevin
    Jan 27th 2019, 11:44 AM

Yup the FG trolls they voted out so let them f##k off out of the EU and Ireland

Mute Paul Daly
    Favourite Paul Daly
    Feb 16th 2019, 12:21 AM

You can checkout any time you like but you can never leave !!!