You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Mary Hanafin slammed by Brian Cowen's wife in deleted Facebook post

Mary Molloy Cowen made the remarks in a post which has since been deleted.

MARY HANAFIN HAS been criticised and accused of being disloyal to Fianna Fáil leader Micheál Martin by the wife of former taoiseach Brian Cowen.

Mary Cowen, who goes by the name Mary Molloy Cowen on Facebook, wrote a message critical of Hanafin, a former minister and now a councillor in Dún Laoghaire, on a private Fianna Fáil members discussion page earlier this week.

She said that Hanafin, who is seeking to win back her Dáil seat, appeared to think she is “running the party” and warned Martin to “watch his back as there wouldn’t be to (sic) much loyalty there”.

18/01/2011. An Taoiseach Brian Cowen and his wife /Photocall Ireland /Photocall Ireland

The post referred to comments Hanafin made to the Irish Independent earlier this week in which she claimed party members wanted her to influence Fianna Fáil policy.

It’s understood the Facebook post, which was first revealed by the Irish Independent, has since been deleted. It read:

Have just read the Irish Independent and I see an article about Mary Hanifin (sic) stating that Fianna Fáil members have called on her to influence  party policy she not elected yet and she is running the party. Michael (sic) Martin better watch his back as there wouldn’t be to (sic) much loyalty there !!!!!!

In a response to a comment on the post, Cowen also noted that Hanafin is getting “plenty of air and press time”.

This refers to Hanafin’s appearance on a number of media outlets in recent days, discussing the future of Fianna Fáil. She has clashed with the party on a number of occasions in recent years.

25/4/2010. Fianna Fail 1916 Arbour Hill Commemorations /Photocall Ireland /Photocall Ireland

Contacted by TheJournal.ie today, Hanafin said she would not be commenting.

The former minister was a vocal critic of Cowen after the collapse of the Fianna Fáil government in 2011.

In a subsequent RTÉ documentary about the Cowen government, she recalled how she’d warned him of the consequences of the botched cabinet reshuffle which led to his resignation as party leader.

‘Zero, zilch, nothing’: Enda’s withering smackdown got the Dáil all rowdy

Read: Fianna Fáil wants gardaí on the Luas to stop burglars escaping

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

82 Comments
    Mute Paul Corcoran
    Favourite Paul Corcoran
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:32 PM

I just wish she would go away…..forever.

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:08 PM

Imagine getting paid this money every year for doing f#ck all.ff fg labour are leaches on our society people need to wake up to that fact we need change badly.

Mute Kevin Gibb
    Favourite Kevin Gibb
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:20 PM

1Yi

1 year initiative

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:25 PM
    Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:28 PM

Its a good idea kevin and its badly needed

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Jan 20th 2016, 7:08 PM

She has reminded me of why I gave a protest vote at the 2011 GE.
    Dangerous woman.

Mute anthony campion
    Favourite anthony campion
    Jan 20th 2016, 8:09 PM

She’s never off the radio and has been a constant since she was tossed out, Marian finucane is the first port of call for her, and as for Mary o Rourke she must have her own studio in rte and she’s a darling of Pat Kenny as well

Mute John Joseph McDermott
    Favourite John Joseph McDermott
    Jan 20th 2016, 8:55 PM

http://www.rte.ie/iu/pensions/
    sickening to read that list, Ivor Callely, Ray Burke, Martin Cullen etc etc.
    What a roll call of outright gangsters and con artists.
    The FBI’s “most wanted” list have done less harm.

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:51 PM

Good grief JJ McD……..it reads like a list of lotto winners looking at the payments.
    We really are being milked. No wonder they fight tooth and nail to get back into the trough.

Mute Josephine Sweeney
    Favourite Josephine Sweeney
    Jan 21st 2016, 9:13 AM

Sick? ? Is miss Cowan sick?! Cos I can’t understand her

Mute Fran Rooney
    Favourite Fran Rooney
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:29 PM

This is shocking stuff…Brian Cowen has a wife?????

Mute Matt Connolly
    Favourite Matt Connolly

sure why not – my mate Paul is a seriously ugly sob. Met the girl of his dreams last year and they’re getting married next month. Lucky bugger. He even won the lotto 2 weeks before meeting her.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:40 PM

I even have one myself. ……

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:52 PM

Who was sleeping with whom?

Mute Patrick Agnew
    Favourite Patrick Agnew
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:15 PM

@matt – brilliant!

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:26 PM

Even more shocking is Cowen’s runny nose in the second picture.

Mute The Pope
    Favourite The Pope
    Jan 20th 2016, 8:40 PM

Is that what it is?

Mute Christy Nolan
    Favourite Christy Nolan
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:31 PM

Matt, Was her name Hanafin?
    Hano likes the sob?

Mute Keith Wizzy
    Favourite Keith Wizzy
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:38 PM

Had the misfortune of sitting at the dinner table with Hanafin while on placement in Chicago in 2009. Witnessing her milking a free holiday while a minister and throwing platitudes at poor Irish emigrants personified her ego and greed.

Mute Vinnie_the_yute
    Favourite Vinnie_the_yute
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:31 PM

Hanafin has a big ego for a lowly councillor. Know your place MAry.

Mute Sean Kelly
    Favourite Sean Kelly
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:59 PM

” Mary Hanifan slammed by Brian Cowens wife ”

For a minute there I thought that was gonna be a whole different story..

Mute Ryan Anthony
    Favourite Ryan Anthony
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:34 PM

It’s disturbing how fanatical party loyalty has to be in this country. Even a’ ”journalist” Gay Byrne, praised Simon Harris the other day for never ever breaking from the party script / talking points…a journalist praising a govt minister for that is so depressing. Even when you are out of govt apparently now if you admit the govt made any mistakes or disagree with anything it’s treason. No wonder we’ve learned absolutely nothing from the 08 crash and are making the same mistakes all over again already

Mute Charlie Fogarty
    Favourite Charlie Fogarty
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:22 PM

I think Harris is the perfect example. Been in the system for so long, and at such a young age, it is harder than usual to see him as another but a politician. One of the most patronizing people ever to grace The Dail and still not even 30.

You should post more often Ryan. You save many a trip to google with that memory and fairly objective opinion.

Mute Ryan Anthony
    Favourite Ryan Anthony
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:37 PM

Harris depresses me for many reasons. They all voted for him down there “cos he’s young”…well ok. I think the idea they had was if he’s young therefore he’s gonna have fresh ideas, less likely to have an establishment hack outlook but…that’s exactly what he’s turned into.
    If, a few years into the Dail, a journalist praised me for never breaking with the party line I’d be absolutely horrified. I remember once saying to a backbench TD who was furious at a govt policy the entire country thought was moronic “so say that, you signed a deal to stick to the whip, not to rent out your mind to them you’re allowed have dissenting thoughts”, “no sure head office would be onto me with a bollocking”

He said this the way you say “that gangster will shoot me if I got witness”, but I was thinking “er…so?”

Mute Bren MC
    Favourite Bren MC
    Jan 21st 2016, 2:48 AM

@ ryan a journalist praising another journalist.

Mute Len Brennan
    Favourite Len Brennan
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:33 PM

I hear Mary Hanafin has put a brick in her handbag. She fights dirty.

Mute D'unredactable
    Favourite D'unredactable
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:04 PM

Who’s briiiick?…..ah she loves that ould brick!

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Jan 20th 2016, 8:29 PM

Remember this witch is the one who increased the retirement age for us normal workers,While her and the rest of the FF party collected theirs at 50

Mute Richard boyle
    Favourite Richard boyle
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:29 PM

(Sic) x 3

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:16 PM

Gramatically known as a Sic pack!

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:23 PM

Even the idea of Hanafin is unpleasant. Is there a hole for me to get sick in?

Mute Paul Minogue
    Favourite Paul Minogue
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:31 PM

This is a non news story. It might be relevant if Fianna Fáil had a snowball’s chance in hell of getting into power. Does Hanafin even have any prospect of being elected?

Mute Ryan Anthony
    Favourite Ryan Anthony
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:35 PM

Yep, she is fairly certain to get in. DL will prob be 1FG 1FF 1 Indo then whatever depending on Barret.

Mute bazhealy
    Favourite bazhealy
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:43 PM

Unfortunately yes she does, anecdotally at any rate. She is a good operator around the constituency and has the respect of a lot of the older generation who would be a big cohort in this area. Had blazing rows with my parents over this, they knew her from her Sion Hill days when my sister was at school there. They both said they’d give her a preference. In a little defence as a junior minister and before the sh|t really started hitting the fan she wasn’t bad at her various positions. When the crash came though they were all proven to be worse than useless and actually a liability to the nation’s well being and safety.

Mute Ryan Anthony
    Favourite Ryan Anthony
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:53 PM

I don’t know why you focus like a lazer beam on one minister (who was in a non-economic portfolio) when the entire socio-political establishment was engaged in a circle jerk over how amazing the exact policies that later led to a crash were (endless tax cuts, financial deregulation, narrowing the tax base). All three main political parties (and the PDs, then later the Greens) agreed on those bad policies to such an extent that in 2007 the main talking point was”we’ve fixed the economy, this election is about what to do with the cash”. Pretending it was one individual or set of individuals, or one party is just re-writing history. We do ourselves no favors pretending everyone but the people WE like was wrong.

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:17 PM

I know a parent of a kid who went to Sion hill. They got a mail shot from Hanafin the politician. They guy went to see Hanafin the principal and asked about the unique way the address was formulated and whether it came from the school database?
    I’m not making any accusation.

Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:30 PM

Loyalty indeed, they haven’t gone away you know.

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:06 PM

Twas a bit of disloyalty in FG that resulted in Hogan & Reilly promotion. And look at the state of their departments.

No difference between. Sure didn’t Enda’s missus switch sides.

Mute Robert Moore
    Favourite Robert Moore
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:17 PM

So, Mary Molloy Cowen, how’s BIFFO getting on in his big job at TOPAZ???

Mute Al Ca
    Favourite Al Ca
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:55 PM

…and the Beacon Hospital now owned by {redacted}

Mute Bernard mgiolla
    Favourite Bernard mgiolla
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:42 PM

…says the auld dog married to biffo, who helped bring the country to its knees

Mute Martin O' Neill
    Favourite Martin O' Neill
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:29 PM

Undoubtedly THE worst education minister we’ve EVER had from the WORST government to ever take office! She’s a muppet!

Mute watersedge
    Favourite watersedge
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:38 PM

Bad idea from FF running her. When you see her picture, you just get a flashback to their time in government and the crash, same with Willie and Micheal.

Mute Rasputin
    Favourite Rasputin
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:59 PM

You obviously don’t remember Paddy Cooney… .Don’t get me wrong… She was bad but it was primarily down to incompetence…. Cooney was just malicious….

Mute Beachmaster
    Favourite Beachmaster

U OK hun? PM me if u wan talk

Mute Proinsias O Foghlù
    Favourite Proinsias O Foghlù
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:44 PM

Mary Hanafin is her fathers daughter alright, she is an ultra catholic prehistoric witch, I am surprised she ever get elected.

Mute Elaine O' Connor
    Favourite Elaine O' Connor
    Jan 20th 2016, 11:54 PM

Yeah, the apple not far from the tree there, her dad one of Haughy’s inner circle. She took the severance pay in 2011 the same time they pulled pay for student nurses that were already on the course. Has she returned the severance pay? Doesn’t she have a permanent teachers post kept open for her somewhere? Does she really need to work at all?

Mute Daniel Carry
    Favourite Daniel Carry
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:12 PM

How do people vote for her?

Mute Tom Burke
    Favourite Tom Burke
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:21 PM

She is a politician to her fingertips.
    I hilariously remember when she challenged Cowan for the leadership of FF while he was Taoiseach.
    It would be unforgivable to topple him as Taoiseach so she said she has confidence in him to be Taoiseach but not to lead FF.

I haven’t stopped shaking my head since.

Mute Wexford pikeman
    Favourite Wexford pikeman
    Jan 20th 2016, 8:00 PM

I implore young voters to study the political cancer that has brought leeches like Hanafin to suck more of the lifeblood from the vulnerable in this society.. Please use your vote wisely and hopefully create some change for yourselves and your children going forward.. I voted Labour all my life as indeed my parents did.. I despair how much this present administration is so far removed from its former supporters..

Mute WC Herren
    Favourite WC Herren
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:28 PM

Amarach!

Mute Bobby Phelan
    Favourite Bobby Phelan
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:41 PM

Ff another party of corruption and sell outs no thanks ye had yer chance

Mute Gene Parmesan
    Favourite Gene Parmesan
    Jan 20th 2016, 7:17 PM

amárach nó leadránach?

Mute Robin Tobin
    Favourite Robin Tobin
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:01 PM

Bobby I love this , did you hear it , see it read it,

That is all politicians become Stoke politicians for their wades of cash, free travel on flights, free electricity, phone, gas, and they do not pay property tax.

Ross told Joan tonight she stated David Begg was appointed by her because he supports labour.

A Jesus if you can’t beat them idiots get like them.

Bobby I voting for the party who immediately abolishes water tax / illegal charge,the property tax, reduces the vat rate off my gold fish food and dog food.

This means labour, finna fail ,Fine Gael won’t get my vote.

Bobby get like them.

Mute The Dublin Cynic
    Favourite The Dublin Cynic
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:36 PM

Surprised she didn’t wheel out politicians excuse #37 her account was hacked

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:46 PM

I wonder if Mrs. Cowen gets ‘hoarse’ and ‘suffers from nasal congestion’ from time to time. It might explain the embarrassing comments, not to mention the three spelling mistakes. Hanafin, much as I dislike her, must be loving all the attention.

Mute ballyshannygrad
    Favourite ballyshannygrad
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:32 PM

She muscled in on joe Duffy show when Paisley died to portray him as a big cuddly teddy when in fact his every sectarian utterance was a source of sheer terror to Catholics when loyalist thugs were on the rampage. She is an utter devious opportunistic cow and I appeal to voters to bin her

Jan 20th 2016, 6:29 PM

I guess its an indication of the phenomenal exorbitant rewards they get from being a politician in ireland. Martin, stuffing his pockets from a fund that was supposed to be scrapped in 2011, but they just renamed it instead and claimed away. Hamafin, probably thinks she’s young enough to cream more money from the political gravy train, despite being part of a toxic gov, and the cowans probably bitter that brian’s political careers is over and they’ll have to just live off brians mulitmillion political pension from now on in. It also shows just how deluded they become from the unjustifiable luxurious lifestyle they get used to while being a politician when they won’t go back to being teachers or whatever their career was.

Mute John Kinsella
    Favourite John Kinsella
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:51 PM

The whole b***** lot of them. Please just GO AWAY. Mrs. C needs to go back to Junior Infants to sort out her spelling skills. What a SHOWER .

Mute Spoddgy
    Favourite Spoddgy
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:45 PM

Time for Ireland to have a good purge!! Don’t bother voting just go out on election night and kidnap all those politians and we can sort them out for good!! Voting isn’t going to change anything the next crowd will be the same as the one and the ones before that!

Mute DamoDeMan
    Favourite DamoDeMan
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:57 PM

There could be back stabbers in FF

I am truly shocked……………..

Mute Martina Kealy
    Favourite Martina Kealy
    Jan 20th 2016, 6:04 PM

Some trickery going on, and just before an Election.

Mute Christmas Carol
    Favourite Christmas Carol
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:49 PM

What’s that camera app called where people can switch faces? Well anyway Brian and Mary Cowen look like they’ve done that in the first pic :D :D Sorry but….

Mute Christmas Carol
    Favourite Christmas Carol
    Jan 20th 2016, 5:53 PM

…and it should say ‘Hic’ instead of ‘sic’ in those brackets because that Woman was obviously left alone for too long with a bottle of wine and a laptop…

Mute Rt Hon Kevin Ward
    Favourite Rt Hon Kevin Ward
    Jan 20th 2016, 10:27 PM

Please people, do not even give these leeches a transfer, even a transfer vote could result in them tagging along in a coalition propping up another party, research independent candidates too, some of them have former links to FF/FG/LAB and would prop up another party if it meant a ministerial pension further down the line. bottom line, not even a transfer to these people

Mute SMcB
    Favourite SMcB
    Jan 21st 2016, 12:32 AM

Ah 3 pensions Hanafin… Entitled to a Minister, TD & Teacher pension. And I’m sure there’s a few quid hopping around for the council gig too. There’s no end to this woman’s brass neck…

Mute David Cagney
    Favourite David Cagney
    Jan 20th 2016, 8:28 PM

Why are all the female politico bog trotters called Mary?

Mute Dave Murray
    Favourite Dave Murray
    Jan 20th 2016, 8:00 PM

I’m (sic) of this election already.

Mute whitecross
    Favourite whitecross
    Jan 21st 2016, 12:15 AM

The whiskers above the snouts are twitching in Fianna Failures the smell of the trough is getting stronger only weeks away . Their sense of entitlement to be in power and Mrs Biffo writes about loyalty ,Its a pity her husband was not loyal to the country during his tenure as finance minister and Taoiseach Will go down in history of the country as the most useless bumbling idiot ever to lead the country .Thankfully for Mrs Biffo she wont starve ,be evicted. or as in some countries face a firing squad along with the clown

Mute Paul Dunne
    Favourite Paul Dunne
    Jan 21st 2016, 8:50 AM

biffos Mrs should just live a fabulous life off her husbands immoral pension(s) and say f@ck all.

Mute Ciarán Masterson
    Favourite Ciarán Masterson
    Jan 20th 2016, 7:52 PM

I’m not a Fianna Fáil supporter but I regard Mary Hanafin as one of the better education ministers in the history of the State because of her positive relationship with the teachers’ unions.

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Jan 20th 2016, 11:26 PM

Does she have 2 pips numbers or 4 pips numbers or 6 pips numbers – one for each name she can pick, maiden name, married name, double barred married name, and all these in Irish. Did Bertie have an Irish name , what is Bertie in Irish?

Mute francis hughes
    Favourite francis hughes
    Jan 20th 2016, 8:34 PM

Shes a let the market decide woman