Take our survey • Win a prize

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Rui Vieira/PA Wire

Iceland forced to withdraw ad that claimed Irish food authority was "unaccredited"

The British Advertising Standards Authority said that an ad that claimed horse meat had not been found in Iceland’s burgers “denigrated” the Food Safety Authority of Ireland.

FROZEN FOOD CHAIN Iceland has been forced to pull a newspaper ad that denied that any of its products had contained horse meat.

The company’s burgers had been found to contain 0.1 per cent equine DNA by the Food Safety Authority of Ireland, but the company took out an ad in a British newspaper that said that these tests were untrustworthy.

Stating that no horse meat had been found in their British beef burgers, the ad carries text saying “The testing method used by the FSAI was not an accredited test.

“Two subsequent tests of the same batch of burgers carried out by two accredited independent laboratories found no evidence of contamination,” the ad reads.

A reader of the newspaper complained to the Advertising Standards Authority (ASA) in Britain, who ordered that the ad not be repeated. The ASA said that Iceland had altered the ad after being contacted by the FSAI, but said that the ad “denigrated” the FSAI.

“We told Iceland to ensure their advertising did not discredit or denigrate organisations in future,” said the ASA.

“We considered that … the overall impression created by the ad was that the FSAI had not taken due care to ensure the accuracy or validity of the tests used, and therefore that its findings were questionable.

We understood that was not the case. We concluded the ad discredited the FSAI and therefore breached the code.

Read: Consumer confidence is up, but disposable income is down, says report

Read: Bored shop workers created these incredible store displays

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

40 Comments
    Mute ckr00
    Favourite ckr00
    Aug 21st 2013, 8:54 AM

What was it that Icelands CEO said about the report ‘well, that’s the Irish for you, isn’t it?………..such arrogance and disdain.

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Aug 21st 2013, 9:01 AM

Yep, its the exact same ignorant so and so

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dampwsOE0xI

Mute Tim Higgins
    Favourite Tim Higgins
    Aug 21st 2013, 9:17 AM

He looks like some wineo pulled in off the street. Good luck ever opening up an iceland Here!

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Aug 21st 2013, 9:22 AM

Tim, Iceland worryingly enough have a number of stores in Ireland

http://iceland.ie/

Mute Who's Yer Man
    Favourite Who's Yer Man
    Aug 21st 2013, 9:37 AM

Ah Jaysus Tim, there’s one in Carlow

Mute Wild Rover
    Favourite Wild Rover
    Aug 21st 2013, 10:04 AM

That’s why mums not going to Iceland .

Mute Bilbo Baggins
    Favourite Bilbo Baggins
    Aug 21st 2013, 12:18 PM

I have never set foot in an Iceland store but after seeing that arrogant excuse for a CEO’s comment I certainly never will, and would question anyone that does. He hasn’t exactly lost a customer in me but I hope the response has helped shelve his ‘expansion’ plans in Ireland

Mute Rúairí O’ Sullivan
    Favourite Rúairí O’ Sullivan
    Aug 21st 2013, 1:02 PM

I’ve never eaten “food” from Iceland, nor will I.

Worst if the worst type of food. You’d be lucky if you had horse meat in the burgers!

Mute J. Dunn
    Favourite J. Dunn
    Aug 21st 2013, 1:39 PM

78% beef B-E-E-F.

Mute Joe Maher
    Favourite Joe Maher
    Aug 21st 2013, 1:43 PM

Yeah 2nd attempt here went bust before trying again probably do better because they’re cheap

Mute Tim Higgins
    Favourite Tim Higgins
    Aug 21st 2013, 7:57 PM

Dooh! I never new that. Never seen one either, defenetly none here in cork but I stand correction Again!

Mute Tim Higgins
    Favourite Tim Higgins
    Aug 21st 2013, 8:00 PM

So I’ve heard lol, none in Cork that I know of.

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Aug 21st 2013, 8:57 AM

Nasty company that uses thrashy b-rate celebs to lie about buying food for their families there.

Mute GatheringYourMoney13
    Favourite GatheringYourMoney13
    Aug 21st 2013, 10:03 AM

More like z rated celebrities.

Mute Sandbag
    Favourite Sandbag
    Aug 21st 2013, 11:42 AM

Kerry Katona is delighted with the upgrade to the B-list.

Mute Barry
    Favourite Barry
    Aug 21st 2013, 8:59 AM

So they are claiming they have no horse meat,

Grand, but their meat still looks like it contains ash and cardboard, wouldn’t touch the stuff in a million years

Mute Justin Donoghue
    Favourite Justin Donoghue
    Aug 21st 2013, 11:03 AM

Not forgetting beak and hole.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Aug 21st 2013, 11:09 AM

If it had horsemeat, at least it would have actual meat in it! It’s the non meat ingredients that I’d be more worried about.

Mute rotund jocularity
    Favourite rotund jocularity
    Aug 21st 2013, 11:35 AM

‘Beak and hole’
    Gave me a great laugh. +100

Mute itiswhatitisMF
    Favourite itiswhatitisMF
    Aug 21st 2013, 8:58 AM

Nasty food in that place. If you want to get fat eat Iceland

Mute Tom Dallas
    Favourite Tom Dallas
    Aug 21st 2013, 9:33 AM

Simply vote with your money and your feet, don’t go next or near the shop.

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Aug 21st 2013, 9:42 AM

@ Tom Dallas….
    Nail on the head there .

Mute Abi Dennis
    Favourite Abi Dennis
    Aug 21st 2013, 8:51 AM

went into an iceland once…not a single bit of fruit, veg or meat (as in say plain chicken breasts as opposed to burgers) in sight!

Mute Tomtoms
    Favourite Tomtoms
    Aug 21st 2013, 9:05 AM

Chicken dinosaurs £1

Mute Joe Traynor
    Favourite Joe Traynor
    Aug 21st 2013, 11:17 AM

Be fair , Iceland customers need to buy the cheapest food for their kids after all you don’t want to spend all the children’s allowance on food. Cigarettes, drugs alcohol and fake tan are very expensive.

Mute Anne Marie Darby
    Favourite Anne Marie Darby
    Aug 21st 2013, 3:28 PM

Not a fair comment. I don’t buy food there but some families have no choice. Not fair to tar them with the same brush

Mute Wham Wham
    Favourite Wham Wham
    Aug 21st 2013, 8:51 AM

It wouldn’t be the first untrue article in a newspaper!

Mute Niall Mullins
    Favourite Niall Mullins
    Aug 21st 2013, 8:45 AM

I’m sure the Icelandic people are devastated!

Mute Matt
    Favourite Matt
    Aug 21st 2013, 9:57 AM

It’s an insult to Iceland to have a store like this with the same name. Cheap nasty muck they sell. And they rip off irish customers compared to Britain.

Mute rubberspandex
    Favourite rubberspandex
    Aug 21st 2013, 10:02 AM

Well, I am Icelandic, and I am devastated. How dare they take a horse and call him a burger. It’s a disgrace, a shame, and tasty

Mute eastpoint
    Favourite eastpoint
    Aug 21st 2013, 12:30 PM

Wouldn’t step foot inside one of their stores after the blatant anti-Irish comments of their CEO. My money is better spent in a retailer that does not denigrate or besmirch my country.

Mute Darren Englishby
    Favourite Darren Englishby
    Aug 21st 2013, 11:12 AM

It shouldn’t have any place in Ireland I wouldn’t go near the kip …. The stuff they sell shouldn’t be compared to real food …

Mute Mike O'Connor
    Favourite Mike O'Connor
    Aug 21st 2013, 1:24 PM

That’s why terrible Mums go to Iceland.

Mute Morticia
    Favourite Morticia
    Aug 21st 2013, 10:35 AM

Are they really that bad? Never been in one.

Mute Daisy Chainsaw
    Favourite Daisy Chainsaw
    Aug 21st 2013, 11:10 AM

Iceland makes Lidl look like Marks and Spencer.

Mute Abi Dennis
    Favourite Abi Dennis
    Aug 21st 2013, 11:15 AM

to be fair to lidl, they sell food. not always displayed/packaged prettilly but its actual food with nutritional value

iceland on the other hand…

Mute Eoin Meany
    Favourite Eoin Meany
    Aug 21st 2013, 11:53 AM

Yes Morticia. Yes they are that bad. Like you wouldn’t believe

Mute Stephen O'Connell
    Favourite Stephen O'Connell
    Aug 21st 2013, 8:47 AM
    Mute John Curry
    Favourite John Curry
    Aug 21st 2013, 10:39 AM

Well look on the bright side. at least it was only horse meat and not whale meat which is commonly found in Iceland

Mute Kitty Con Carne Burnell
    Favourite Kitty Con Carne Burnell
    Aug 22nd 2013, 10:11 AM

Is the sudden outpour of hate for the very ground Iceland stands on really justified?

Iceland have a fresh fruit and veg section (and an entire aisle of frozen veg). It’s toward the back of most of them where the fridges (not freezers) are. Weight watchers meals are cheaper there than tesco (and lidl, when lidl have them in the weekly specials) and their takeaway meals are cheaper and more than likely better for you than actual takeaway, while still tasting decent.

I live mostly off the lidl and aldi super six, but I do go into Iceland about once a month to stock up on freezer stuff. The majority of the food is junk, yes, but it knows well it is.

Don’t get me wrong. What the CEO said is WAY out of line. But holy overreaction in the comments, batman.