You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PA

Pension and social welfare payment rises on the cards for next month's Budget

The Social Protection Minister said ‘very difficult decisions’ around the State pension will have to be made.

TO PROTECT CITIZENS from the rising cost of living, there needs to be a return to budgets that include tax and welfare packages, according Tánaiste Leo Varadkar. 

Asked about what might be included in next month’s budget, Varadkar indicated increases in the state pension and social welfare payments are among some of areas being considered by government.

Speaking at the Fine Gael think-in in Co Meath, the Tánaiste refused to disclose any figures under consideration.

Among the measures expected to be included in Budget 2022 are a tax package for middle income earners, as well as welfare and pension packages.

Varadkar said there will also be financial aid packages for businesses, particularly sectors that have not yet fully reopened.

“I’m not going to mention any numbers because I’d imagine both Heather [Humphreys, the Social Protection Minister] and Micheal [McGrath, the Public Expenditure Minister] would string me up if I did but that’s going to have to be negotiated between now and budget day.

“The reason why Fine Gael is calling for that pensions and welfare package to be in the Budget is because there hasn’t been an increase in the State pension now for a number of years, hasn’t been an increase in the basic weekly payments on welfare for a number of years and I think that was acceptable at a time when the cost of living wasn’t rising.”

The cost of living is rising now, he added, stating: “We’ve seen a return to inflation. Anyone who pulls into the petrol station, anyone who goes to the supermarket will tell you that the cost of living is rising again.” 

“As a party we’re all about protecting people’s incomes and that applies to pensioners and people on welfare too,” he added.

Social Protection Minister Heather Humphreys said she will focus on the vulnerable, and hopes to improve the situation for those reliant on social welfare payments. 

She also highlighted that there has been no pension increase in the last two years. 

Asked about increasing the pension age, she said she had received the report from the pensions commission last week, stating that she plans to bring it to government next week for consideration.

While she said she did not want to go into specifics of the report, she said “very difficult decisions are going to have to be made”. 

“At the end of the day what we want to do is protect the State pension so that young people who start a working life today will get the same benefits as those who retire today or tomorrow and that’s really at the heart of the decisions that we need to make.”

The current situation with Ireland’s State pension is not sustainable, she said.

It was reported over the weekend that Varadkar would oppose suggested hikes in PRSI on self-employed people which would help fund plans to put off increasing the State pension age to 67 until 2031.

Finance Minister Paschal Donohoe was asked about the possible bonus healthcare workers might expect in the upcoming budget. He said work was still ongoing on how best to “define” how the “huge efforts” of frontline workers can be recognised. 

He said he can understand how frontline workers would like to know what they can expect, but Donohoe said such detail is a matter for budget negotiations and won’t be revealed until Tuesday 12 October.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

58 Comments
    Mute Odd Socks
    Favourite Odd Socks
    Sep 13th 2021, 5:01 PM

Somebody is trying to get back into the good books again.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Sep 13th 2021, 5:35 PM

@Odd Socks: There’s a serious whiff of election in the air

Mute Roy Dowling
    Favourite Roy Dowling
    Sep 13th 2021, 6:07 PM

@JusticeForJoe: or you know an up coming budget.

Mute JusticeForJoe
    Favourite JusticeForJoe
    Sep 13th 2021, 6:19 PM

@Roy Dowling: and a load of let’s-test-the-water articles about which way people would vote, can they imagine a SF government, etc.
    I reckon there’s a doings a transpirin’!

Mute Karen Ní Dhochartaigh
    Favourite Karen Ní Dhochartaigh
    Sep 13th 2021, 6:56 PM

@Odd Socks: ah yea the extra 5er to bag the votes. I swear Id love to see politicians try and live off the average state pension and see how they get on.

Mute Clubhouse Barman.
    Favourite Clubhouse Barman.
    Sep 13th 2021, 7:08 PM

@Karen Ní Dhochartaigh: ah stop…. these people are overseeing a public sector pension deficit of about €2.5 billion. Who’s going to fill that hole?!

Mute Dave O'Looney
    Favourite Dave O'Looney
    Sep 13th 2021, 8:31 PM

@Odd Socks: yeah, that’s how politics work….

Mute Stephen Kearon
    Favourite Stephen Kearon
    Sep 13th 2021, 5:18 PM

Rather than across the board rises in welfare, far better to speed up move to a contribution based system, ie dole payment is proportional salary, and are tapered, so a true safety net job between jobs, rather than encouraging dependency

Mute John Michalski
    Favourite John Michalski
    Sep 13th 2021, 5:24 PM

How about no. Lower my already insane taxes

Mute Mr Cylinical
    Favourite Mr Cylinical
    Sep 13th 2021, 9:22 PM

@John Michalski: if they raise income tax, what’s your choice? Vote for Sinn Fein? If they hand out cash and go for the SF vote they might not get crucified at the next election

Mute John Michalski
    Favourite John Michalski
    Sep 14th 2021, 12:30 AM

@Mr Cylinical: if they raise my taxes directly or indirectly then yes. I have no issues voting for SF. Im not saying they will do a great job, but these guys are not listening so something has to be done to be heard.

Mute Quiet Goer
    Favourite Quiet Goer
    Sep 13th 2021, 4:51 PM

Sounds about right. I am just back from a shop that was selling fuppin’ wicker baskets for putting logs in for €99. Prices of just about everything have gone mad. Would hate to be eking out an existence out of the dole these days.

Mute AJ
    Favourite AJ
    Sep 13th 2021, 5:04 PM

@Quiet Goer: that’s the idea. You should be put off.

Mute Johnny Mads
    Favourite Johnny Mads
    Sep 13th 2021, 5:11 PM

@AJ: Bought one of those baskets for €109 lately, great addition to the penthouse.

Mute a
    Favourite a
    Sep 13th 2021, 5:28 PM

@Johnny Mads: No point in getting one unless you have an open fire pizza to accompany it.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Sep 13th 2021, 6:48 PM

@Quiet Goer: 99 euro I can get a proper local willow one made up the road for less and it will last for ever

Mute transik
    Favourite transik
    Sep 13th 2021, 6:52 PM

@AJ: but then again if god forbid for some unforeseen circumstances, you land yourself in that position-payment should be enough for a decent living,short term of course i mean thats why the taxes are so high right?

Mute Pádraigín O'Sirideáin
    Favourite Pádraigín O'Sirideáin
    Sep 13th 2021, 4:56 PM

What constitutes the word ‘hike’ a €2.50 rise a week?

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power
    Sep 13th 2021, 4:59 PM

@Pádraigín O’Sirideáin: and from when, maby April 2022.

Mute #1 Fifthwheel
    Favourite #1 Fifthwheel
    Sep 13th 2021, 5:13 PM

@Pádraigín O’Sirideáin: probably another e5 for a coffee or a sandwich!!

Mute James Reardon
    Favourite James Reardon
    Sep 13th 2021, 5:41 PM

@Pádraigín O’Sirideáin: nothing compared to the hike in berties pension is it?

Mute GrumpyAulFella
    Favourite GrumpyAulFella
    Sep 13th 2021, 5:48 PM

@#1 Fifthwheel: was suffering from a lack of sleep yesterday and went into a well known coffee shop chain. They charged over €7 for a fairly basic sandwich. €5 won’t get you anywhere.

Mute pat seery
    Favourite pat seery
    Sep 13th 2021, 5:29 PM

Good Old Leo Leaking the Budget What’s Another Leak No Harm in Leo’s Eyes

Mute Welk wrangler
    Favourite Welk wrangler
    Sep 13th 2021, 6:55 PM

Can we get rid of the austerity tax/USC as promised Leo?

Mute Joan Murray
    Favourite Joan Murray
    Sep 13th 2021, 6:30 PM

Am I the only pensioner here who thinks that the state pension(contrib and non-contrib) is already generous. It is in no actuarial sense remotely justified on the basis of the contributions currently required to qualify for 20 to 30 years of not working (and thats not counting the cost of the increased health and care supports needed as we age). Pensioners are exceptionally well looked after in this country, but it is future generations who will eventually have to pay for generosity towards my generation today. To even consider raising the pension payment, or other already generous welfare payments, is vote buying that is pure bribery.

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Sep 13th 2021, 8:29 PM

@Joan Murray: Joan that is a very fair point, it really seems like they looking for votes to be honest with you and couldn’t give a fiddlers. about anything but that…

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power
    Sep 13th 2021, 11:15 PM

@Joan Murray: you may think differently when you see the price hikes that’s coming.

Mute Dean
    Favourite Dean
    Sep 13th 2021, 5:30 PM

Apartment I rented 10 years ago has tripled in rent price. Inflation has been soaring while house prices & rents across the border are two to three times cheaper.

We’re losing billions to tax avoidance, which this party NEVER tackles. And losing wages that go to company profits instead of going to the actual workers.

There’s an election in Norway today with indications that they are leaning further Left which will strengthen worker rights.

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    Sep 13th 2021, 5:37 PM

@Dean: And then they will learn and change back like Sweden did when they tried the left life.

Mute Dean
    Favourite Dean
    Sep 13th 2021, 5:49 PM

The 5 Nordic countries have always been Left govts, under a Social Democracy model, which gives strong worker rights.

American companies tried to bust unions in Sweden to pay workers less but failed. They still set up their businesses there.

Mute Daniel Roche
    Favourite Daniel Roche
    Sep 13th 2021, 5:52 PM

@Dean: You might want to look up the swedish.

Mute Paul Mc
    Favourite Paul Mc
    Sep 13th 2021, 6:00 PM

Throw the pensioners and the disabled a few euros a week extra while they enjoy a couple of rises themselves worth thousands,
    Yes we are all in this together comrade Varadakar!

Mute Max Power
    Favourite Max Power
    Sep 13th 2021, 6:01 PM

A lovely tanned picture of Leo for that article of good news …..It will cost a lot more than an extra fiver for OAPs and social welfare recipients in the budget to buy Fine Gael another stint with their snouts in the trough !

Mute Pádraigín O'Sirideáin
    Favourite Pádraigín O'Sirideáin
    Sep 13th 2021, 6:15 PM

@Max Power: perhaps this hint at a SW pension ‘hike’ ( which is a joke) is to justify their 5 grand a year payrise… again.

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Sep 13th 2021, 6:18 PM

@Max Power: That fiver increase would work out as at least a 10% increase, how many employees are getting a 10% increase? For pensioners alone the cost would be over an extra 135 million per year. People give out about tax rates and tax increases but then give out that we aren’t giving large enough increases to social welfare rates, building enough social housing etc., you can’t have it both ways.

Mute Max Power
    Favourite Max Power
    Sep 13th 2021, 6:46 PM

@The next small thing: not giving out about increases….. It is the FG PR stunt to buy power with my taxes what is sickening me

200e social payment increase of 5e is not 10%

Where you getting 10%?

Mute Paul Power
    Favourite Paul Power
    Sep 13th 2021, 7:11 PM

@The next small thing: your maths are way out with 10%.And pensions were cut in real terms in the last two budgets.

Mute The next small thing
    Favourite The next small thing
    Sep 13th 2021, 8:15 PM

@Max Power@Paul Power: Sorry, the 10% is way off alright. Jesus you take a week off work and your brain just shuts down, don’t mind me, I’m just going to lie down in a dark room for the rest of the evening.

Mute Paul Maguire
    Favourite Paul Maguire
    Sep 13th 2021, 6:14 PM

Buying votes

Mute Bala mc blaha
    Favourite Bala mc blaha
    Sep 13th 2021, 5:41 PM

How old? before TD’s can collect their pensions . . . .

Mute El Poblo Escobar
    Favourite El Poblo Escobar
    Sep 13th 2021, 6:13 PM

Couldn’t believe this clown 12 of July he said we can’t give tax cuts to the people because of COVID what a differences a few scandals make
    https://www.irishexaminer.com/news/politics/arid-40335302.html
    No tax cuts in July cause we can’t afford it now he says there will be a tax package remember these lads will give with one hand and take back double with the other

Mute Stephen Maher
    Favourite Stephen Maher
    Sep 13th 2021, 6:38 PM

Reactive instead of proactive, Iv news for FG, the cost of living has been skyrocketing since 2013 mainly driven by the cost of property and rent across residential and commercial property. Wake up.

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Sep 13th 2021, 6:34 PM

Pensioners work all their life and retire to a pittance the state pension should be at least the equivalent of the minimum wage

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Sep 13th 2021, 8:34 PM

@Margaret Kane: All comes down to how much tax is been taken in, the money for state pensions comes from the people working right now…. But make no mistake about it these chancers are not in the slightest worried about “Pensioners work all their life” they simply want votes, nothing less nothing more.

Mute Joan Murray
    Favourite Joan Murray
    Sep 14th 2021, 12:23 AM

@Margaret Kane: you do realise the minimum wage is an hourly rate, which means you would receive precisely zero, for zero hours worked.

Mute Margaret Kane
    Favourite Margaret Kane
    Sep 14th 2021, 3:39 PM

@Joan Murray: im talking about pensioners who worked all their life and put in thousands of hours

Mute Paul Guckian
    Favourite Paul Guckian
    Sep 13th 2021, 9:28 PM

What about the squeezed middle who have to pay for everything and still get up early in the morning?

Mute Dave
    Favourite Dave
    Sep 13th 2021, 8:36 PM

I’m assuming the honest hard working people who kept the country form drowning will get some good news soon maybe? I doubt it…

Mute Stealth
    Favourite Stealth
    Sep 14th 2021, 2:40 AM

@Dave: doubfull, my sector was due an ERO increse in 2020, that was delayed to early 21, then June which became Sep and we are now told early 22 maybe.
    Havent seen an increase since 2018.
    In an industry that was told we were frontline and essental but didnt even get so much as a personal thanks for working throuout the pandemic.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Sep 13th 2021, 8:51 PM

Varadkar gave an interview early this morning saying pension and social welfare payments will be increased. Only problem is later on Drive time Pascal O’Donoghue stated this increase has yet to be discussed with FF/ Greens. Wonder did Varadkar tell the spineless one Martin about his statement or like the Zappone fiasco is he keeping it as a last minute surprise for Martin.

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Sep 13th 2021, 5:38 PM

I won’t be bothering with the pension I can live on fumes now got a good experience of leaving on foraging the supermarket’s for cheap nutrition , in the ten years of the last recession, ha

Mute gavin o brien
    Favourite gavin o brien
    Sep 13th 2021, 8:02 PM

The idea of this rise is to pit the haves and the have nots at each other, while deflecting any criticism at the goverment. For what we all pay in tax(eveybody pays some form) we get short changed in services no matter what part of the social ladder your on

Mute Hugh Mc Donnell
    Favourite Hugh Mc Donnell
    Sep 13th 2021, 9:50 PM

Watch out for the greens stealth taxes given in one hand taken by the other

Mute Craig Clancy
    Favourite Craig Clancy
    Sep 13th 2021, 8:14 PM

Text book move…shocked if they didn’t try pull this one yet again.

Mute Epgenetics29 Declan Christoph
    Favourite Epgenetics29 Declan Christoph
    Sep 13th 2021, 7:20 PM

Cynical Bertie Bowl stuff, freebies for everyone to distract and deflect. I thought this type of side show was a Fine Fail trope? If Martin has any scruples left he should pull the plug before this Punch and Judy party get the stage. The minuscule amount the pensioners will get won’t make a modicum of difference with inflation, rising fuel and electricity prices, plus no mention of tax reforms. Cynical, ignorant and insipid stuff from the party for the wealthy. …. On it goes…..

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Sep 13th 2021, 11:21 PM

I’m planning on saving the fiver for 3 years and then getting a pair of Kanya West trainers.

Mute Stealth
    Favourite Stealth
    Sep 14th 2021, 2:48 AM

A €4 a week increase while taking in an extra €8 from steath tax/increases more likely.

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Favourite Charles Coughlan
    Sep 14th 2021, 12:09 AM

Election on the way, FFG need to improve their poll ratings, beware of the hand that feeds you because it will be taken back as quick as you turn your back, typical of FFG…

Mute Davis Payne
    Favourite Davis Payne
    Sep 14th 2021, 8:23 AM

Less tax for me please